ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction

A Toaster on Mars

| £16.66 | €18.73 | Ca$27.02 | Au$26.67
by Darrell Pitt
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
A Toaster on Mars by Darrell Pitt

For fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams comes a hilarious new space and time adventure.

The year is 2509 and Earth is a rather polluted blue dot that suffers from global warming, overpopulation and not enough people using deodorant.

Blake Carter, star agent with the Planetary Bureau of Investigation, isn't having a good day. First he's beaten up by a bunch of religious zealots, and then he's assigned a robot-sorry, cyborg-as his new partner, right before his ex-wife calls to tell him his daughter has gone missing. His car keeps criticising his driving, and finally, to top things off, the world is held to ransom by his nemesis, evil genius Bartholomew Badde.

Can things get any worse?


Darrell Pitt began his lifelong appreciation of Victorian literature when he read Sherlock Holmes stories as a child, quickly moving on to H. G. Wells and Jules Verne. This early reading led to a love of comics, science fiction and all things geeky. Darrell is the author of A Toaster on Mars and the Jack Mason Adventures, a series of five novels including The Firebird Mystery (a Notable book int he 2015 CBCA awards) and, most recently, The Lost Sword. He lives in Melbourne.

'The adventures of Blake Carter and Nicky Steel, along with commentary by editor Zeeb Blatsnart, bring a lighthearted science fiction story to life. A Toaster on Mars is a laugh-out-loud and thoroughly enjoyable read!' Melanie Nemer, Austrek President

'This is a fun, exuberant book to read which sees the main character, Blake Carter, on a non-stop race around the solar system ending up on the titular Mars (Carter on Mars anyone?)...

The book is an obvious homage to Douglas Adams but is not slavish in its interpretation and what I really liked, as an SF fan, was picking up on all the other SF references in the story. I particularly enjoyed the inclusion of an immersive 3D version of Plan Nine from Outer Space...4.23657 toasters out of 5.' Dallas Jones, Doctor Who Club of Australia

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 857713

Ebook Details
Pages: 240
Size: 2.3 MB
Publisher: Text Publishing
Date published:   2016
ISBN: 9781925095760 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Young Adult Fiction > Action & Adventure
Fiction > Young Adult Fiction > Science Fiction

This author has products in the following categories:

Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Family > Orphans & Foster Homes
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Science Fiction
Fiction > Action & Adventure
Fiction > Science Fiction > Steampunk
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Steampunk
Fiction > Young Adult Fiction > Action & Adventure
Fiction > Young Adult Fiction > Science Fiction

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2016