ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical

Contrary Cousins: A Regency Romance

| £2.49 | €2.80 | Ca$4.04 | Au$3.99
by Judith Harkness
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
Contrary Cousins: A Regency Romance by Judith Harkness

To thwart an earl was Lady Pendleton's dearest desire, so she had taken it into her head to invite her two delightful young American nieces to England. Her brother, the pompous Earl of Cumberford, positively loathed the American branch of the family, and when the Powell cousins took London society by storm, he would be livid with rage. Lady Pendleton was certain her plan would succeed, for lively Antonia was irresistibly pretty, and Serena merely required the attentions of a first-rate dressmaker and a more confident manner to attract the notice of London's most eligible bachelors.

But if Lady Pendleton could have foreseen how well her scheme would work and just which lords would soon be courting her charges in earnest, she would never have let Antonia and Serena off the boat from America.

Jane Austen fans will delight in the reissue of this classic Regency Romance. With a light touch and witty eye for human foibles, Harkness paints the fashionable world of Regency England, when styles were dictated by Beau Brummel, the Duchess of Devonshire held court, and dandies paraded in their phaetons and four. Groomed by their mamas to capture the hearts of the most eligible bachelors of the day, fashionable young ladies passed the Season in London and at Bath, where they were presented at a string of assemblies and balls in all their finery and feathers.

Brimming with period detail, Contrary Cousins will delight readers craving a good, old-fashioned romantic caper in the tradition of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer.

Judith Harkness is the author of five classic Regency Romances: The Montague Scandal, The Admiral's Daughter, The Determined Bachelor, Contrary Cousins, and Lady Charlotte's Ruse, all originally published by Signet. She is the co-author of a screenplay, EMMA in New York, an updated version of the classic Jane Austen novel set in contemporary Manhattan. As J.H. Richardson, she writes non-fiction on subjects ranging from children with learning and developmental issues to profiles of notable creative artists. She lives in Rhode Island with her husband, Will Taft.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 647194

Ebook Details
Pages: 324
Size: 661 KB
Publisher: Argo-Navis
Date published:   2014
ISBN: 9780786755141 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Historical
Fiction > Romance > Regency
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Historical

This author has products in the following categories:

Fiction > Historical
Fiction > Romance > Regency
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Historical

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

© 2016