ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Crime

Devil Take The Hindmost

| £4.99 | €5.61 | Ca$8.10 | Au$7.99
by Martin Cathcart Froden
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
Devil Take The Hindmost by Martin Cathcart Froden

Winner of the Dundee International Book Prize At £10,000, the Dundee International Book Prize is the richest prize for an unpubished novel in the UK. This year's winning title, Devil Take the Hindmost, is a gripping historical noir set during the amphetamine-fuelled craze for velodrome racing which took London by storm in the late 1920s. Into this world stumbles Paul, a bewildered Scottish farmboy running away from home. Powerfully built with a fierce passion for cycling, he is taken under the wing of Silas, a local loan shark, and from there enters a world he is ill-equipped to survive. As the races get harder, the bets get larger, and the terrifying Mr Morton starts to take an interest in Paul's career. For fans of Peaky Blinders and Brighton Rock, Devil Take the Hindmost is a thrilling ride through a historical London that is rarely visited. 'A Graham Greene-esque noir with suspense and peril. I loved the cut back and forth of the time line to create drama..." Denise Mina, author and judge, Dundee International Book Prize 'Intriguing, thrilling and brilliantly realised. A fantastic debut.' Danny Wallace, author, broadcaster and judge, Dundee International Book Prize 'Perhaps the first cycling noir I've ever read, Martin Cathcart's excellent debut, Devil Take the Hindmost, is filled with early twentieth century period detail and a slow-burn sense of menace that builds over the course of its twisting plot. But a good plot is nothing without character, and in the innocent abroad Paul and his new 'friend' Silas, we have one of the finest double acts I've read in a while. Devil Take the Hindmost is an assured first novel from an author who deserves to overtake the competition and race to take first place.' Russel D McLean, author of the J McNee detective serie

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 854483

Ebook Details
Pages: 318
Size: 976 KB
Publisher: Freight Books
Date published:   2016
ISBN: 9781910449929 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following category:

Fiction > Crime

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

© 2016