ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Short Stories (single author)

Droll Stories

| £5.02 | €5.56 | Ca$8.07 | Au$8.05
by Honore de Balzac
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
Droll Stories by Honore de Balzac

Balzac's Contes Drolatiques, published in three installments in the 1830s, offers a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. These thirty stories in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais were claimed by the author to have originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Abounding in episodes of good-humored licentiousness, the tales scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers.
French novelist and playwright HonorĂ© de Balzac (1799–1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 647315

Ebook Details
Pages: 576
Size: 1.1 MB
Publisher: Dover Publications
Date published:   2014
ISBN: 9780486799384 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Classics
Fiction > Historical
Fiction > Short Stories (single author)

This author has products in the following categories:

Fiction > Short Stories (single author)
Fiction > Classics
Nonfiction > Literary Collections
Fiction > Action & Adventure
Nonfiction > Performing Arts
Nonfiction > Drama > English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Nonfiction > Poetry
Nonfiction > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Nonfiction > History > Europe
Fiction > Literary
Fiction > Historical
Fiction > Mystery & Detective
Nonfiction > Non-Classifiable
Fiction > Psychological
Fiction > Romance
Fiction > Thrillers
Nonfiction > Drama
Fiction > Suspense
Nonfiction > Family & Relationships
Nonfiction > Humor
Nonfiction > Psychology
Nonfiction > Foreign Language Study > French
Fiction > Horror
Fiction > Westerns
Nonfiction > Literary Criticism > European > French

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

© 2016