ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Nonfiction / Social Science / Sociology

Evil and Silence

| £32.64 | €37.80 | Ca$54.43 | Au$53.49
by Richard Fleming
What is this?EPUB by download  |  $39.95
What is this?PDF by download  |  $39.95
add to wish list
Evil and Silence by Richard Fleming

Inspired by Ludwig Wittgenstein and Stanley Cavell, this book is a profoundly original philosophical work put together as a network of quotations, to show that our language is never our own and that ethics can be understood as an effect of our attitude to language. It is a meditation on justice and addresses the question of how to lead a non-violent life and acknowledge the humanity of others following 9/11 and extending right up to the current moment.

Using extensive interdisciplinary sources, "Evil and Silence" investigates the nature of evil and the ways to make a life worth living in the face of such a fact of existence. It argues that we must reject the choice of violence as a justified way of life and embrace the creative efforts of nonviolence. The text begins with Socrates argument that it is never just to harm another and ends with Cage s exploration of silence as all the sounds we don t intend. Drawing on his past work in philosophy of language and music, Fleming develops arguments for the logic of nonviolence and the value of silence. He demonstrates that living consistently by way of silence and meaningful sound, understanding the music and language of our lives, is a justified response to the truth and miseries of evil.

Links to Musical Illustrations and Scores Mentioned in the TextMozart's "Symphony 40," Beethoven's "Symphony 6," and Ives' "The Unanswered Question" http: //'s "Symphony 40"Beethoven's "Symphony 6"First page of Wagner's "Tristan und Isolde" http: // page of Wagner's "Parsifal" http: // and second pages of Debussy's "Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun" http: // original manuscript page from Schoenberg's Opus 23, "Five Piano Pieces" http: // central tone-row from Berg's "Violin Concerto" (section B) and the last page of "Wozzeck" http: // page of Mahler's "Symphony 9" http: // page of Stravinsky's "Petrushka" http: // from Bernstein's "Mass" http: // from Tchaikovsky's "Symphony 6" http: //'s "4'33''" manuscript page and precursor materials: http: // "

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 797433

Ebook Details
Pages: 157
Size: 1.4 MB
Publisher: Routledge
Date published:   2015
ISBN: 9781317260004 (EPUB)
9781317260011 (PDF)

This product is listed in the following category:

Nonfiction > Social Science > Sociology

This author has products in the following categories:

Fiction > Native American & Aboriginal
Nonfiction > Social Science > Sociology

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2017