ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Nonfiction / Music / Musical Instruments / Piano

Heavenly Harmony: Organs and Organists of Exeter Cathedral

| £11.78 | €13.72 | Ca$20.78 | Au$20.55
by Malcolm Walker & David Davies
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
Heavenly Harmony: Organs and Organists of Exeter Cathedral by Malcolm Walker & David Davies

Heavenly Harmony tells the fascinating story of the organs and organists of Exeter Cathedral. Beginning in 1284 when Roger de Ropford and his wife and heirs were given responsibility for making bells for the cathedral and repairing the clock and organ, the book contains pen portraits of all of the cathedral's organists since the late sixteenth century and also mentions assistant organists, masters of the choristers and many of those who pumped the bellows in the days before electric blowers. The story of those appointed to play the organs is one of variable standards of behaviour and musicianship, from the high quality of the decades before the Civil War, through the nadir of cathedral music in the eighteenth century, to the brilliance of today. This book addresses questions including: who built and repaired the organs of the cathedral down the centuries? How have the organs evolved and why? What happened to the organ during the English Civil War? How badly damaged was the organ when a bomb struck the cathedral in 1942?

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 659791

Ebook Details
Pages: 228
Size: 5.0 MB
Publisher: Impress Books
Date published:   2014
ISBN: 9781907605666 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following categories:

Nonfiction > History
Nonfiction > Music > Religious
Nonfiction > Music > Musical Instruments > Piano

These authors have products in the following categories:

Nonfiction > Performing Arts
Nonfiction > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Nonfiction > Sports & Recreation > Swimming
Nonfiction > Philosophy > Aesthetics
Nonfiction > History
Nonfiction > Music > Religious
Nonfiction > Music > Musical Instruments > Piano

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2017