ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Nonfiction / Drama

J.B. Priestley: Plays Three

| £14.25 | €16.35 | Ca$24.70 | Au$24.66
by J. B. Priestley
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
J.B. Priestley: Plays Three by J. B. Priestley

Three plays by J.B. Priestley which illustrate well his desire toexperiment. All three were written between 1938 and 1940, thoughEver Since Paradise was not produced till 1946. It was a very creativetime for him, but interrupted by the war. There are elements of hiscontinuing interest in Time in each of them.

Music at Night centres on a group of people attending a musicalevening to hear a new work. Each act follows a movement in the music,which inspires the listeners to react each in their own way, lookinginside themselves for their true feelings and sometimes rememberingsignificant moments from their past. As often in Priestley's work, therelations between the sexes play an important part, a theme whichrecurs in the other two plays. The Long Mirror recounts the meetingbetween a composer and a young woman who seems to have beentelepathically connected to him for some time, and has experiencedmuch of his life before actually meeting him. Her knowledge of hispast can help his future as an artist and a husband. It was based on atrue incident. Ever Since Paradise Priestley described as 'A DiscursiveEntertainment, chiefly referring to Love and Marriage, in Three Acts'.

Three couples are made up of The Musicians, the Commentators and TheExample, and together they illustrate various aspects of relationships,accompanied by appropriate music on two pianos. None of the playsare truly conventional but are disguised as such. A fascinating trio.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 862363

Ebook Details
Size: 658 KB
Publisher: Oberon Modern Playwrights
Date published:   2012
ISBN: 9781849436434 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following category:

Nonfiction > Drama

This author has products in the following categories:

Nonfiction > Drama
Nonfiction > Art > Performance
Nonfiction > Performing Arts
Nonfiction > Drama > English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Nonfiction > Literary Collections

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2017