ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Nonfiction / Music / Genres & Styles / Classical

Les Six: The French Composers and Their Mentors Jean Cocteau and Erik Satie

| £9.50 | €10.90 | Ca$16.46 | Au$16.44
by Robert Shapiro
What is this?DRM-EPUB by download  |  $11.99
What is this?DRM-PDF by download  |  $11.99
add to wish list
Les Six: The French Composers and Their Mentors Jean Cocteau and Erik Satie by Robert Shapiro

The absorbing, comprehensive story of an absolutely unique experiment in classical music, involving many key figures of the Dada and Surrealist movements Les Six were a group of talented composers who came together in a unique collaboration that has never been matched in classical music, and here their remarkable story is told for the first time. A musical experiment originally conceived by Erik Satie and then built upon by Jean Cocteau, Les Six were also born out of the shock of the German invasion of France in 1914-an avant-garde riposte to German romanticism and Wagnerism. Les Six were all-and still are-respected in music circles, but under the aegis of Cocteau, they found themselves moving among a whole new milieu: the likes of Picasso, René Clair, Blaise Cendrars, and Maurice Chevalier all appear in the story. But the story of Les Six goes on long after the heyday of Bohemian Paris-the group never officially disbanded and it was only in the last 20 years that the last member died; moreover, their spouses, descendents, and associates are still active, ensuring that the remarkable legacy of this unique group survives

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 856809

Ebook Details
Pages: 478
Size: 4.3 MB
Publisher: Peter Owen Publishers
Date published:   2014
ISBN: 9780720617740 (DRM-EPUB)
9780720617764 (DRM-PDF)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will only be sold to customers with a billing address in:
Canada, United States

This product is listed in the following categories:

Nonfiction > Music > History & Criticism
Nonfiction > Music > Genres & Styles > Classical

This author has products in the following categories:

Nonfiction > Science > Astrophysics & Space Science
Nonfiction > Music > History & Criticism
Nonfiction > Music > Genres & Styles > Classical

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2017