ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy

The Big Brush-off: A Jake & Laura Mystery

| £2.49 | €2.80 | Ca$4.04 | Au$3.99
by Michael Murphy
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Big Brush-off: A Jake & Laura Mystery by Michael Murphy

The irresistible Jake & Laura return in Michael Murphy??s witty, fast-paced mystery series??"perfect for readers of Dorothy Cannell and Christopher Fowler. In The Big Brush-off, the charming and indomitable duo heads to the Midwest to solve a chilling cold case of a young girl??s murder.

Blackie Doyle is dying. That??s what Jake Donovan??s literary agent tells him. Sales are falling, and the rough draft of Jake??s latest Blackie novel doesn??t look promising. Maybe Jake has been distracted by a recent barrage of real-life homicides, or by his marriage to the beautiful up-and-coming actress Laura Wilson, now slated for a part opposite Clark Gable himself. Whatever the reason, Jake decides to return to his roots. Which is why he and Laura hop the next train to the small town in Pennsylvania where Jake once worked as a Pinkerton detective.

Ten years ago, the murder of a teenage girl interrupted life in quiet, God-fearing Hanover. The unsolved case has always gnawed at Jake, and it seems no coincidence that as soon as he starts digging up old ghosts, he??s once again writing like a dervish. Nor is it surprising that some townfolk would rather see the truth stay buried??"and maybe even Jake and Laura with it. But the glamorous crime-solving pair refuse to leave before sorting through a bevy of suspects??"and at long last nailing the one who almost got away with the not-so-perfect crime.

Praise for Michael Murphy??s Jake & Laura mysteries

“Glittering with a hint of Nick and Nora, Michael Murphy??s 1930s Manhattan provides a witty setting for murder and mayhem.”??"Mary Daheim, bestselling author of The Alpine Yeoman, on The Yankee Club

“[Jake and Laura] are fun, witty, and charming, and [All That Glitters] is filled with the same kind of 1930s Hollywood glamour that made the film of The Thin Man such a classic.”??"Popcorn Reads

“The third installment in Murphy??s series is just as much fun as the first. The mystery is full of twists with an ample amount of red herrings, suspects, and action.”??"Mystery Please!, on Wings in the Dark

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 816028

Ebook Details
Pages: 228
Size: 1.3 MB
Publisher: Alibi
Date published:   2016
ISBN: 9780553393385 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will NOT be sold to customers with a billing address in:
American Samoa, Canada, Guam, Micronesia (Federated States of), Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Puerto Rico, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Mystery & Detective
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Historical
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Cozy

This author has products in the following categories:

Fiction > Romance > Historical
Nonfiction > Computers > Digital Media > Desktop Publishing
Nonfiction > Social Science > Ethnic Studies
Nonfiction > Philosophy
Nonfiction > Philosophy > Political
Fiction > Historical
Fiction > Romance
Fiction > Romance > Contemporary
Fiction > Gay
Fiction > Humorous
Fiction > Coming of Age
Nonfiction > Travel > United States > South > West South Central (General)
Fiction > Science Fiction
Fiction > Romance > Short Stories
Fiction > Romance > LGBT > Gay
Fiction > Literary
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Historical
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Private Investigators
Fiction > Mystery & Detective
Fiction > Romance > Suspense
Fiction > Romance > New Adult
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Cozy
Fiction > Romance > Adult
Nonfiction > Travel > United States > South
Nonfiction > Music
Nonfiction > Computers
Nonfiction > Body, Mind & Spirit
Nonfiction > Social Science > Women's Studies
Nonfiction > Education > Higher
Nonfiction > Social Science > Men's Studies
Nonfiction > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Nonfiction > Business & Economics > Human Resources & Personnel Management
Nonfiction > Reference
Nonfiction > Business & Economics > Reference

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

© 2016