ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Juvenile Fiction / People & Places / Africa

The Bitter Side of Sweet

| £14.99 | €16.86 | Ca$24.32 | Au$24.00
by Tara Sullivan
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan

For fans of Linda Sue Park and A Long Way Gone, two young boys must escape a life of slavery in modern-day Ivory Coast

Fifteen-year-old Amadou counts the things that matter. For two years what has mattered are the number of cacao pods he and his younger brother, Seydou, can chop down in a day. This number is very important. The higher the number the safer they are because the bosses won??t beat them. The higher the number the closer they are to paying off their debt and returning home to Moke and Auntie. Maybe. The problem is Amadou doesn??t know how much he and Seydou owe, and the bosses won??t tell him. The boys only wanted to make some money during the dry season to help their impoverished family. Instead they were tricked into forced labor on a plantation in the Ivory Coast; they spend day after day living on little food and harvesting beans in the hot sun??"dangerous, backbreaking work. With no hope of escape, all they can do is try their best to stay alive??"until Khadija comes into their lives.

She??s the first girl who??s ever come to camp, and she??s a wild thing. She fights bravely every day, attempting escape again and again, reminding Amadou what it means to be free. But finally, the bosses break her, and what happens next to the brother he has always tried to protect almost breaks Amadou. The old impulse to run is suddenly awakened. The three band together as family and try just once more to escape.

Tara Sullivan, the award-winning author of the astounding Golden Boy, delivers another powerful, riveting, and moving tale of children fighting to make a difference and be counted. Inspired by true-to-life events happening right now, The Bitter Side of Sweet is an exquisitely written tour de force not to be missed.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 816110

Ebook Details
Pages: 1
Size: 1.1 MB
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Date published:   2016
ISBN: 9780698184299 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will NOT be sold to customers with a billing address in:
American Samoa, Canada, Guam, Micronesia (Federated States of), Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Puerto Rico, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Juvenile Fiction
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues > Violence
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > People & Places > Africa

This author has products in the following categories:

Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues > Violence
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > People & Places > Africa
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2016