ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Horror

The Bloody Doll: The Sublime Adventure of Benedict Masson

| £4.99 | €5.61 | Ca$8.10 | Au$7.99
by Gaston Leroux & Stephen Metcalf
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Bloody Doll: The Sublime Adventure of Benedict Masson by Gaston Leroux & Stephen Metcalf

THE BLOODY DOLL: "La Poupee Sanglante", the classic novel of vampirism and serial murder by Gaston Leroux, author of The Phantom Of The Opera, is finally published in a new and completely unexpurgated translation. One night, the voyeur Benedict Masson spies on Christine, the watchmaker's beautiful daughter; after witnessing the watchmaker murder Gabriel, her handsome lover, he is propelled into a fantastic carnival of encounters with a series of grotesque characters, including a voracious, ancient vampire known as the brucolac, and his servants, the sinister members of an oriental death cult. Masson must now attempt to find the answers to several vexing questions. Who was the mysterious Gabriel - in what way might he be connected to the watchmaker's experiments in mechanics and his claim to have achieved perpetual motion? What has this got to do with the sinister Marquis de Coulteray, the watchmaker's landlord? Why have a series of young women disappeared in the vicinity of Benedict's villa in the countryside? But nothing is ever as it seems in the world of Gaston Leroux. THE BLOODY DOLL was written in the aftermath of the trial and execution of Henri Désiré Landru, also known as "the French Bluebeard", one of the most notorious serial killers in French criminal history. A mixture of detective fiction, horror and romance that will be familiar immediately to readers of Leroux's more famous works, the book will also appeal to fans of Poe, Conan Doyle and Stoker, refracted through a lens of early 20th Century proto-steampunk pulp fiction. It can be read as either a satire on the famous case of Landru, or simply enjoyed as an incredibly entertaining, blood-splattered adventure from the archives of a master storytelle

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 860303

Ebook Details
Size: 870 KB
Publisher: Elektron Ebooks
Date published:   2016
ISBN: 9781909923706 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following category:

Fiction > Horror

These authors have products in the following categories:

Fiction > Classics
Nonfiction > Drama > English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Fiction > Action & Adventure
Fiction > Romance
Fiction > Romance > Historical
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Classics
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Comics & Graphic Novels
Nonfiction > Non-Classifiable
Fiction > Horror
Fiction > Mystery & Detective
Fiction > Romance > Suspense
Fiction > Romance > Gothic
Fiction > Fantasy > Dark Fantasy
Fiction > Psychological
Fiction > Crime
Fiction > Historical
Nonfiction > Foreign Language Study > English as a Second Language
Fiction > Literary
Fiction > Anthologies (multiple authors)

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

© 2016