ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / War & Military

The Dressmaker's War: A Novel

| £22.50 | €25.30 | Ca$36.50 | Au$36.02
by Mary Chamberlain
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Dressmaker's War: A Novel by Mary Chamberlain

For readers of Amy Bloom, Sarah Waters, and Anthony Doerr, The Dressmaker??s War is the story of a brilliant English seamstress taken prisoner in Germany during World War II: about her perseverance, the choices she makes to stay alive, and the haunting aftermath of war.

London, 1939. Ada Vaughan is a young working-class woman with an unusual skill for dressmaking who dreams of opening her own atelier. When she meets Stanislaus von Lieben, a Hungarian aristocrat, a new, better life seems to arrive. Stanislaus sweeps Ada off her feet and brings her to Paris. But when war breaks out and Stanislaus vanishes, Ada is abandoned and alone, trapped on an increasingly dangerous continent.

Taken prisoner by the Germans, Ada does everything she can to survive. In the bleak horror of wartime Germany, Ada??s skill for creating beauty and glamour is the one thing that keeps her safe. But after the war, attempting to rebuild her life in London, Ada finds that no one is interested in the messy truths of what happened to women like her. And though Ada thought she had left the war behind, her past eventually comes to light, with devastating consequences.

Gorgeously written and compulsively readable, The Dressmaker??s War introduces us to an unforgettable heroine??"Ada Vaughan, a woman whose ambition for a better life ultimately comes at a heartbreaking cost.

Advance praise for The Dressmaker??s War

“Mary Chamberlain??s clear, bright prose is river-swift and Ada Vaughan is a character rich with beautiful, flawed humanity. This is a gripping story about limits and the haunting, brutal way they can be drawn and redrawn in war.”??"Priya Parmar, author of Vanessa and Her Sister

“A thrilling story, brilliantly told??"I couldn??t put it down. Ada Vaughan is a character to fall in love with: utterly real, flawed, and beguiling.”??"Saskia Sarginson, author of The Twins and Without You

“I found myself completely swept up in this tale of love, ambition, and vanity.”??"Juliet West, author of Before the Fall

The Dressmaker??s War is a powerful and gripping tale of longings and dreams, and how a chance meeting that seems to offer the answers and more instead comes with devastating consequences. It??s a story about what a person will do and can do under force. The world before, during, and after World War II is amazingly well-drawn. But it is the character of Ada Vaughan that lingers: her resolve, her passion, and her flaws.”??"Cecilia Ekbäck, author of Wolf Winter

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 815595

Ebook Details
Pages: 320
Size: 3.1 MB
Publisher: Random House
Date published:   2016
ISBN: 9780812997385 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will only be sold to customers with a billing address in:
Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bouvet Island, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote D'Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, Gabon, Georgia, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-bissau, Haiti, Heard and Mc Donald Islands, Honduras, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea (Democratic People's Republic of), Korea (Republic of), Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Macau, Madagascar, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mayotte, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Niue, Norfolk Island, Oman, Palestinian Territory (Occupied), Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Reunion, Rwanda, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin (French Part), Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Singapore, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Wallis and Futuna Islands, Western Sahara

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Literary
Fiction > Historical
Fiction > War & Military

This author has products in the following categories:

Nonfiction > Social Science > Anthropology
Nonfiction > Social Science > Anthropology > Cultural
Nonfiction > Education > Teaching Methods & Materials > Arts & Humanities
Nonfiction > History
Nonfiction > Medical > History
Fiction > Literary
Fiction > Historical
Fiction > War & Military

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2016