ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural

The Fiddling Man

| £2.50 | €2.79 | Ca$4.08 | Au$4.02
by James Oliver Curwood
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Fiddling Man by James Oliver Curwood

This early work by James Oliver Curwood was originally published in 1917 and we are now republishing it with a brand new introductory biography. In the short story "The Fiddling Man," Sergeant Fitzgerald investigates a mysterious dead body that arrives at Northwest Mounted Police outpost barracks. James Oliver 'Jim' Curwood was an American action-adventure writer and conservationist. He was born on 12th June, 1878, in Owosso, Michigan, USA. In 1900, Curwood sold his first story while working for the Detroit News-Tribune, and after this, his career in writing was made. By 1909 he had saved enough money to travel to the Canadian northwest, a trip that provided the inspiration for his wilderness adventure stories. The success of his novels afforded him the opportunity to return to the Yukon and Alaska for several months each year - allowing Curwood to write more than thirty such books. Curwood's adventure writing followed in the tradition of Jack London. Like London, Curwood set many of his works in the wilds of the Great Northwest and often used animals as lead characters (Kazan, Baree; Son of Kazan, The Grizzly King and Nomads of the North). Many of Curwood's adventure novels also feature romance as primary or secondary plot consideration. This approach gave his work broad commercial appeal and helped drive his appearance on several best-seller lists in the early 1920s. His most successful work was his 1920 novel, The River's End. The book sold more than 100,000 copies and was the fourth best-selling title of the year in the United States, according to Publisher's Weekly. He contributed to various literary and popular magazines throughout his career, and his bibliography includes more than 200 such articles, short stories and serializations. Curwood was an avid hunter in his youth; however, as he grew older, he became an advocate of environmentalism and was appointed to the 'Michigan Conservation Commission' in 1926. The change in his attitude toward wildlife can be best expressed by a quote he gave in The Grizzly King: that 'The greatest thrill is not to kill but to let live.' Despite this change in attitude, Curwood did not have an ultimately fruitful relationship with nature. In 1927, while on a fishing trip in Florida, Curwood was bitten on the thigh by what was believed to have been a spider and he had an immediate allergic reaction. Health problems related to the bite escalated over the next few months as an infection set in. He died soon after in his nearby home on Williams Street, on 13th August 1927.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 782760

Ebook Details
Pages: 35
Size: 152 KB
Publisher: White Press
Date published:   2015
ISBN: 9781473372337 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Short Stories (single author)
Fiction > Action & Adventure
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Police Procedural

This author has products in the following categories:

Fiction > Action & Adventure
Nonfiction > Poetry
Nonfiction > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction
Nonfiction > Performing Arts
Nonfiction > Social Science > Anthropology
Fiction > Historical
Fiction > Westerns
Fiction > Short Stories (single author)
Fiction > Literary
Fiction > Classics
Fiction > Juvenile Fiction > Animals > Dogs
Fiction > Romance > Suspense
Fiction > Mystery & Detective > Police Procedural
Fiction > Suspense
Fiction > Family Life
Fiction > Romance > Historical
Fiction > Romance > Western
Nonfiction > Nature > Animals > Wolves
Fiction > Mystery & Detective
Fiction > Romance

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

© 2016