ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Nonfiction / Social Science / Archaeology

The Prehistory of the Mind: The Cognitive Origins of Art, Religion and Science

| £22.91 | €25.77 | Ca$37.17 | Au$36.69
by Steven Mithen
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Prehistory of the Mind: The Cognitive Origins of Art, Religion and Science by Steven Mithen

"A truly pioneering work, perhaps the first by a practicing archaeologist to review coherently the evolution of human cognitive abilities." —Colin Renfrew, author of Before Civilization and Archaeology and Language

Here is an exhilarating intellectual performance, in the tradition of Roger Penrose's The Emperor's New Mind and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. On the way to showing how the world of our ancient ancestors shaped our modern modular mind, Steven Mithen shares one provocative insight after another as he answers a series of fascinating questions:
  • Were our brains hard-wired in the Pleistocene Era by the needs of hunter-gatherers?
  •  When did religious beliefs first emerge?
  • Why were the first paintings made by humankind so technically accomplished and expressive?
  • What can the sexual habits of chimpanzees tell us about the prehistory of the modern mind?
This is the first archaeological account to support the new modular concept of the mind. The concept, promulgated by cognitive and evolutionary psychologists, views the mind as a collection of specialized intelligences or "cognitive domains," somewhat like a Swiss army knife with its specialized blades and tools. Arguing that only archaeology can answer many of the key questions raised by the new concept, Mithen delineates a three-phase sequence for the mind's evolution over six million years—from early Homo in Africa to the ice-age Neanderthals to our modern modular minds. The Prehistory of the Mind is an intriguing and challenging explanation of what it means to be human, a bold new theory about the origins and nature of the mind.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 733136

Ebook Details
Pages: 288
Size: 9.0 MB
Publisher: Thames & Hudson
Date published:   1996
ISBN: 9780500772850 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will only be sold to customers with a billing address in:
American Samoa, Canada, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Philippines, Puerto Rico, United States, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

This product is listed in the following category:

Nonfiction > Social Science > Archaeology

This author has products in the following categories:

Nonfiction > Science > Earth Sciences > Hydrology
Nonfiction > Social Science
Nonfiction > Social Science > Archaeology
Nonfiction > History > Ancient

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2016