ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction / Historical

The Wandering Falcon

| £12.56 | €14.01 | Ca$20.49 | Au$20.19
by Jamil Ahmad
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Wandering Falcon by Jamil Ahmad

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels -- the Federally Administered Tribal Area -- has become a political quagmire known for terrorism and inaccessibility. Yet in these pages, eighty-year-old debut author Jamil Ahmad lyrically and insightfully reveals the people who populate those lands, their tribes and traditions, and their older, timeless ways in the face of sometimes ruthless modernity. This story is an essential glimpse into a hidden world, one that has enormous geopolitical significance today and still remains largely a mystery to us.

Jamil Ahmad is a storyteller in the classic sense -- there is an authenticity and wisdom to his writing that harkens back to another time. The Wandering Falcon reminds us why we read and how vital fiction is in opening new worlds to our imagination and understanding.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 617301

Ebook Details
Pages: 256
Size: 140 KB
Publisher: Riverhead
Date published:   2011
ISBN: 9781101547953 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will only be sold to customers with a billing address in:
Afghanistan, Algeria, Antarctica, Argentina, Aruba, Bahrain, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bouvet Island, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, French Southern Territories, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Haiti, Heard and Mc Donald Islands, Honduras, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea (Democratic People's Republic of), Korea (Republic of), Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Macau, Martinique, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Nicaragua, Oman, Palestinian Territory (Occupied), Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin (French Part), Saudi Arabia, Singapore, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Western Sahara

This product is listed in the following categories:

Fiction > Literary
Fiction > Historical

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2016