ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Fiction

The Woman in the Yard: A Novel

| £7.49 | €8.42 | Ca$12.15 | Au$11.99
by Stephen E. Miller
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
The Woman in the Yard: A Novel by Stephen E. Miller

Set in the Deep South in 1954, this is a gripping literary tour de force, in the tradition of Montana 1948 and Peter Dexter's Paris Trout about a series of murders in a small town that reveals the tidal wave of social change sweeping over America at the time of integration

"He stopped at the first good place he found. After all, he had just killed someone. He was scared. He wanted to get rid of the evidence. He parked the truck with its back to the river and sat there for a second. No traffic. If it was night he'd be invisible back in the tangle of scrub. He went to the edge of the bank and tried to imagine throwing Cora Snow into the high water of the Cape Fear."

Acting Sheriff Q.P. Waldeau has returned from his tour of duty in Korea to the small coastal town of Wilmington, North Carolina. Eager to build a career in law enforcement, Waldeau confronts the challenge of a lifetime when the body of a black prostitute washes up out of Cape Fear. When the first suspect must be released for lack of evidence, Waldeau vows to pursue the case in the face of his colleagues' willful disinterest in the fate of a poor black woman. But when the killer strikes again and one of his victims is a white woman, racial tensions -- exacerbated by the passage of "Brown vs. the Board of Education" -- explode. As the trail begins to lead to several well-to-do white men, Waldeau finds his life -- and that of the woman he has come to love -- in serious jeopardy. The violent and surprising conclusion rends forever the social fabric of a small North Carolina town and foreshadows the coming of the New South.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 717266

Ebook Details
Pages: 304
Size: 363 KB
Publisher: Picador
Date published:   2015
ISBN: 9781466893269 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will NOT be sold to customers with a billing address in:
American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guam, Guernsey, Guyana, India, Iraq, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Martinique, Mauritius, Montserrat, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Pitcairn, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, St. Helena, Swaziland, Tanzania (United Republic of), Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Virgin Islands (U.S.), Zambia, Zimbabwe

This product is listed in the following category:


If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

© 2016