ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Nonfiction / Sports & Recreation

Tumblehome: Meditations and Lore from a Canoeist's Life

| £13.32 | €14.98 | Ca$21.62 | Au$21.33
by James Raffan
What is this?DRM-EPUB | by download   add to wish list
Tumblehome: Meditations and Lore from a Canoeist's Life by James Raffan

Tumblehome: a term to describe the way the side of a canoe arcs inward toward the center, toward home.

James Raffan has always followed his own arc in life. Like his mentor and friend Bill Mason, Raffan has taken his love of the wilderness and integrated it into his life and his work, becoming not just a master canoeist and outdoorsman, but an accomplished and thoughtful writer. In Tumblehome, Raffan explores the notion that canoeing has the power to teach and transform us, even if the closest we've come to the wilderness is in front of the Discovery Channel.

Tumblehome is written in a series of vignettes that cover a breadth of wilderness experience and a wide-ranging timeline, from Raffan's early childhood to the present. Many of the essays are funny: in "Wet Wellies and Frozen Drawers" Raffan discovers that compared to the lessons learned from riding floes of spring ice, school looks rather easy. Others are about connecting: in "The Glow of Green Eyes" a chance encounter with an Arctic wolf engenders hope instead of fear. Some offer an epiphany: in "River of Life" the migration of the magnificent caribou creates a sense of infinite wonder and comfort in the cyclical patterns underpinning both human and natural worlds.

In the tradition of Sharon Butala's Coyote's Morning Cry, Tumblehome is evocative and affirming, a testament to the power of nature and the author's gift of intelligent and lyrical interpretation. Packaged in a compact and artful hardcover format, this is a wonderful book for canoeists and outdoor enthusiasts, and an inspirational guide for all those who know that the world of natureis very much a part of their own spiritual landscape.

To view this DRM protected ebook on your desktop or laptop you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. It is a free software. We also strongly recommend that you sign up for an AdobeID at the Adobe website. For more details please see FAQ 1&2. To view this ebook on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device you will need the Adobe Digital Editions app, or BlueFire Reader or Txtr app. These are free, too. For more details see this article.

SHARE  Share by Email  Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on Linked In  Share on Delicious
or call in the US toll free 1-888-866-9150 product ID: 690998

Ebook Details
Pages: 140
Size: 2.2 MB
Publisher: HarperCollins
Date published:   2010
ISBN: 9781443402606 (DRM-EPUB)

DRM Settings
Copying:not allowed
Printing:not allowed
Read Aloud:  not allowed

Territory Restrictions
This ebook will NOT be sold to customers with a billing address in:
American Samoa, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guam, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Micronesia (Federated States of), Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Palau, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

This product is listed in the following category:

Nonfiction > Sports & Recreation

This author has products in the following categories:

Nonfiction > Social Science
Nonfiction > Sports & Recreation > Reference
Nonfiction > Sports & Recreation > Canoeing
Nonfiction > Sports & Recreation
Nonfiction > Transportation > Ships & Shipbuilding
Nonfiction > Transportation > Ships & Shipbuilding > Pictorial
Nonfiction > Biography & Autobiography

If you find anything wrong with this product listing, perhaps the description is wrong, the author is incorrect, or it is listed in the wrong category, then please contact us. We will promptly address your feedback.

Submit 5 page SummaryWhat is this?

© 2016