Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Chet Cox

Read What Chet Cox Is Saying

28 ★★★★★ reviews
Displaying 21 to 28 (of 28 reviews) Pages: <   1  2 


200 More Tricks You Can Do

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 August, 2010)

200 More Tricks You Can DoThis is the review I wrote for the first volume (200 Tricks You Can Do); it applies just as much to this sequel. The one improvement for which I would hope, would for these two books to be translated to PDF so I could carry them in my Kindle-for-iPod.

(ahem! the aforementioned review)--

Don't dismiss this as "just for beginners," though it is very good for beginners. Don't be surprised if you find many effects which are being performed by the big stars, or which are being sold as "new" magic today! I gave up counting the number of these effects which I use in public speaking and home teaching. That's not even counting the card magic or cigarette tricks!

Be sure to pick up the companion volume!


200 Tricks You Can Do

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 August, 2010)

200 Tricks You Can DoDon't dismiss this as "just for beginners," though it is very good for beginners. Don't be surprised if you find many effects which are being performed by the big stars, or which are being sold as "new" magic today! I gave up counting the number of these effects which I use in public speaking and home teaching. That's not even counting the card magic or cigarette tricks!

Be sure to pick up the companion volume!


Nu Way Out Of This World

reviewed by Grandpa Chet (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 October, 2008)

Nu Way Out Of This WorldEXCELLENT version of Out of This World! I've heard about it for years, but it's hard to find.

Correction: It WAS hard to find. And it was worth the wait.


Tarbell Course

reviewed by Grandpa Chet
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 October, 2008)

Tarbell CourseNot only do I agree with previous reviewers, I think this - the original course - would be a better course of study than the hardback books. True, there is more in eight volumes of hardbacks - but they do not have the careful linear learning that the original course had - and still has. That is, everything builds on what precedes it. This course will start you off either teaching you the basics or correcting any bad habits you have. It entirely depends on where you are in your current knowledge and skill. And then it builds - and builds - and builds.

Lest you think this course is only for beginners, let it be noted that the great Fu Manchu (David Bamberg), disappointed by magic and not wanting to imitate his father, was about to quit magic when Dr Tarbell sent him a copy of this very course. David studied the course lesson by lesson, and built up an act from the early lessons. From there, he built up a larger act from the later lessons. Eventually, he received backing to put on a full illusion stage show -- and he built that stage show from lessons in this course. And he never forgot the lessons on showmanship, acting, publicity, advertising (He would later speak of how he took Dr Tarbell's samples and used them almost verbatim!), and audience direction that he learned from this course.

He had one of the most successful acts to date, and his name was synonymous with entertainment in South America.

Thirty-nine bucks? Each lesson is more valuable than almost every single item in the Lybrary.com catalog. But even if one undervalued each lesson at $10.00 apiece, you would get something like $700.00 worth of working material from this course.

*jeep!


The MagiCIAn: John Mulholland's Secret Life, 2nd Edition

reviewed by Grandpa Chet
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 03 October, 2008)

The MagiCIAn: John Mulholland's Secret Life, 2nd EditionJohn Mulholland marked the field of magic with a stamp that perhaps changed much of history. Yet even though he edited the Sphinx (the longest-running magic periodical and the most influential of its time), was friends with the greatest names in magic, and influenced them and many others -- his name just isn't that well known outside our little circle. Even within our subculture, how many of us know just who John Mulholland is?

There have been ugly accusations that he may have helped kill a scientist in the 1950s.

There have been rumors about his moral and immoral activities.

There have even been accusations that he did not write the many articles and books with his by-line.

There is even at least one generation who has no idea who he is.

Ben Robinson spent almost as many years researching this, the first biography of John Mulholland, as Mulholland spent editing the Sphinx. He interviewed key personnel and uncovered many previously classified documents -- thank goodness for the Freedom of Information Act!! And from the zillions of jigsaw puzzle pieces he discovered, he put together a fascinating document which is compelling reading.

The CIA in the title of MagiCIAn refers to Mulholland's work for the newly-formed CIA. You'll have to read the book to learn just what that was, but it well blends the profession of magician with that of intelligence agent. When there was serious research into possible defense uses of ESP, mind control, and remote viewing; anything could - and did - happen.

Magicians will enjoy this. Mentalists will find much to learn herein, and will catch subtleties which might be lost on others. Soldiers and military historians will find this to be exciting reading.

I've been all the above, and I loved this book!


Three Cheers for the Underrated

reviewed by Grandpa Chet
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 August, 2008)

Three Cheers for the UnderratedIt doesn't quite come together as a BOOK, per se. As a volume which collects, explains, and tutors three effects, it's quite effective. The three effects might even blend together well enough to make a full show, but you'll surely want to personalize them.

The first effect, "Three Questions," is simple to personalize. Luke's detailed presentation example proves that presentation is everything - it's extremely personal, entirely Luke, and really sneaky in gathering the information. Work hard to adapt this to yourself and you'll have an eerie show-stopping effect that creeps up on your guests and will have them thinking about it throughout the rest of the night. It doesn't just "reveal zodiac signs," it reveals something of the personality of the person - and it can become intimately spooky. Again, work on your personal presentation. It's worth the effort.

"Phobias Anagram" is another spooky effect, where you'll tell entire groups their specific phobias. It's extremely powerful in practice. More importantly, it's an example, and is used to teach you, of something Luke calls "the Invisible Selection Range." Let's just say that it's Luke's way of turning the anagram branching on its head. A key sentence in his article is "An invisible restriction would be a selection from a field that seems completely open but in fact is not." For those who have ears...

By the way, all the above is included as one of the "three cheers." In short, you are getting two effects and a theory/principle for the price of one effect. Not bad!

The next effect is "the Ultimate Add a Number." I normally dislike titling anything as "Ultimate," since that indicates there will never, ever, ever be anything to add to or improve the item. This piece may have something to its title though. The numbers involved actually MEAN something. Any good mentalist will tell you that when you bring in things which have personal meanings, the audience's emotional involvement goes way, way up. The methods (yes, methodS) are deviously clever, and the whole thing doesn't even seem to whisper a hint of "magic trick."

And then there's "Strength." For those who think that this book is overpriced, I challenge them to use "Strength" as close-up or walkaround and NOT be able to use it to get repeated bookings. Imagine Jean Robert-Houdin's "Light and Heavy Chest" - but with a deck of cards. Some clients can lift the deck; others cannot. Some can take the cards out of the box; others cannot. You should have no trouble convincing them that this has nothing to do with the box, and everything to do with your ability to influence them. In short, you can become a veritable Svengali or Rasputin.

This is not a book for the casual reader. If someone studies this and uses these effects for actual work, the book is well priced and a good value.


A Magical Upbringing: Collected Letters and Articles from June Barrows Mussey

reviewed by Grandpa Chet
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 21 August, 2008)

A Magical Upbringing: Collected Letters and Articles from June Barrows MusseyCall it a labor of love to a book. And this is the book which reflects the man who begat the book we love. June Barrows Mussey was an even deeper man, a better magician, a better "understander" of people than we even suspected. Look behind the curtain and learn of the man who you knew as "Henry Hay." Not only will you find his life and his attitude fascinating, you'll find he teaches you, once again, how to become better at magic, entertaining, and at being a person.


Samuel Cox Hooker and his Rising Cards

reviewed by Grandpa Chet
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 May, 2008)

Samuel Cox Hooker and his Rising CardsIt's more than just "Let's find out how this works." If you're looking for an exposure book, this isn't it. What we have is a study into how a person creates, and perhaps we'll improve our own creative abilities along the way. And S. C. Hooker turns out to be a fascinating man! I hope Chris continues to receive and ferret out more data about this fellow, and that future updates of this book reflect that. And there WILL be future updates of this book. It reads, feels, and tastes like an ongoing project -- something that I'll tune in every few months.

Displaying 21 to 28 (of 28 reviews) Pages: <   1  2 
© 2020 Lybrary.com