Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

1051 ★★★★★ reviews
106 ★★★★ reviews
64 ★★★★★ reviews
47 ★★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1335 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


EZ Prediction

reviewed by Harry alexander (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 31 March, 2020)

EZ PredictionNot my cup of tea, second video shows better out come of number selection for the count. Prediction can't be handled in effect number one, unless you use a gimmicked envelope etc.


Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the Stage

reviewed by Max Y
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 15 March, 2020)

Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the StageDisclaimer: I didn't purchase this item from Lybrary but rather directly from Paul some years ago.

Recently Jermay released his "Tarot Psychometry" routine (end of 2019) and there was a reference to this item as well.

First of all let me tell you the review below by "Greg" is unfair - this manuscript details the entire "script" or presentation of this routine in front of an audience. The idea in itself (even without the script) is novel and worth knowing in itself.

Of course you need to provide your own readings; this manuscript is the script and outline on how to present this routine.

If you are interested in the idea, then I believe you will like this inexpensive ebook.

On the other hand, Jermay does not credit Paul, and probably he should.


Scripted #19: Sidewalk Shuffle

reviewed by James Wood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 05 March, 2020)

Scripted #19: Sidewalk ShuffleLarry Brodahl's presentation of how to perform the Sidewalk Shuffle is very helpful. He has made two innovations. First, he has changed the script so that the magician, rather than the spectator, is the naive victim who gets fooled by the Three-Card Monte. In my opinion, this is a genuine improvement because it removes any "sting" in the presentation and makes the routine even more humorous than the original. Second, Larry explains how to perform the slights while keeping the cards vertical at all times. This is also an improvement over the original version where the cards are held horizontally for some of the shuffling/mixing. I slightly modified Larry's script and presented it to a group of about 100 retired people. It went over extremely well. It's very fooling and very humorous. Larry's routine is now a regular part of my adult act. I recommend it highly.


25 Methods For Switching Decks

reviewed by Maximiliano Sanchez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 14 February, 2020)

25 Methods For Switching DecksAn awesome & devious book! LOL Love this read. PRACTICAL!


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

reviewed by Ricky Smith (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 February, 2020)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionHello! I love the Fine Art of Magic and was very excited that a new edition was coming out, especially one with an introduction by Juan Tamariz. I feel like the hardbound version that I received wasn't a great value for the price. Fleming did such a lovely job with their printing, so I was sad that the new version is just a print on demand level job...especially with the high price.


Telling Tales

reviewed by Peter Nordstrand (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 February, 2020)

Telling TalesThe second effect will not work, for one simple reason: Google search results are individualized, not universal. So even if you and I search for the same exact words, the search results are likely to be different.

I do find the document inspiring, but be advised that you’ll only be able to perform the first of the two effects.


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

reviewed by William Rugh (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 31 January, 2020)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionThis is a large book with 371 pages that should be in every serious magician's bookcase (or computer as a PDF). While almost 73% of the book deals with cards, a wide variety of other props are also covered. George G. Kaplan wrote (with Jean Hugard) the first edition in 1948. In 2019 Warren J. Kaps (who served as National President of S.A.M. during 2001-2002) created this second edition by updating some of the methods and adding some of his own effects. Really the best praise for this book comes from the Parent Assembly of the S.A.M. in 1995:

"His book, The Fine Art of Magic, is now considered one of the most important books on magic ever published. Like its author, it relies on effective presentation, subtleties, and clarity to create miracles. The entire world of magic is grateful to George for his contributions to its literature."


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 January, 2020)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionWe’d heard about George Kaplan and about his Fine Art of Magic* for a very long time. Never thought we’d see a copy we could afford, and I wasn’t sure it deserved its reputation. So few things do. This is one of those happy exceptions - It actually exceeds my expectations. Frankly, I find it as fun to read as Greater Magic - maybe more so. You ever try to run a search on that humongous book? Not so easy when it’s not digitized.

Kaplan seems unduly modest in his Foreword, not seeming to realize how this isn’t just another magic trick book, but a well-written book about how to perform magic. The whole project starts out on the right foot with this opening: “A good trick, properly executed, is as individual a work of art as a fine painting, and, like every work of art, is a reflection of the skills of the artist. Gone is the day when magicians sought merely to ‘fool’ their audiences. The present-day performer aims both to mystify and entertain.”

That last sentence may have been true in 1948, but a casual walk today at a magic convention or through You(too?)Tube belies the statement. Or worse, the guy performing to the public who ruins, ruins, ruins the reputation of magicians and ensures that THAT particular customer will never ever hire a magician again. Because we desperately need a lot of new magicians, real magicians, who know how to perform and entertain, who know that humans have a sense of wonder and want that itch scratched.

Yes, we need more books (BOOKS!) such as Kaplan’s Fine Art of Magic, Tarbell’s lessons, and the Amateur Magician’s Handbook**. And not only do we have them in our libraries (and in our Lybrary) but in a second edition which has been gently and respectfully seconded editionated by Warren Kaps. It’s not that the original text was wanting - it was, after all, edited and evidently written, by Jean Hugard from the work, research, and drafts of Kaplan. So there are no egos to bruise here, but there are tender feelings of the living generations of magicians and authors who want to see credits, historical origins, and possible methods which just didn’t exist in the 1940s.

See how many of today’s hot new tricks (many available as download videos for more than the price of this PDF) you find within this book. The immortal Denny Haney and I once went through his showroom and tried to find something which didn’t come out of Tarbell. We could have done much the same with this book. Because, I do not tire of repeating this, you have a choice of learning methods of tricks or learning how to perform magic.

Buy this book. Study. Practice. Your audiences will thank you.

-------------

* Please excuse me for “fixing” the title. As past librarians and editors know, leaving the article “the” at the front of a title absolutely wrecks the ability to alphabetize anything with a title.

** Yes, here’s an exception to the aforementioned rule. Thank goodness I don’t need to alphabetize herein.


Memory Catcher

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 January, 2020)

Memory CatcherThis is worse than gimmick method and completely misleading.

The method is not new and not even really "no gimmick". Look at Luke Jermay or Marc Paul's work is a better way to go and worth more money.

THIS IS NOT PRACTICAL. I REPEAT THIS IS NOT PRACTICAL.


Coin Games

reviewed by Steve Forster (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 08 January, 2020)

Coin GamesWarning: This is not repeatable...for the same audience or for anyone witnessing the performance. This weakens the effect to the extent that it is completely worthless. With this type of effect it is necessary to perform it more than once for it to have any "credibility". For what it is, it is way over priced for what, to me, is essentially a trick based more on semantics and is no more than a gag. Like all of us, I've bought a lot of useless, worthless crap but this is the first time I'm writing to give anyone a heads up. My suggestion is to spend your hard-earned money (or however you've earned it) on something more worthwhile--maybe some X-ray glasses or a gizmo which allows you to throw your voice.


Bouncer: Two Card Monte

reviewed by Donald Lehn (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 07 January, 2020)

Bouncer: Two Card MonteI am a loyal Lybrary follower, and not, by nature, very critical, but ... The idea contained in this brief text isn't a bad idea. But that's all there is - one idea that isn't bad, but that isn't earth shattering either. Simply explained, with no additional help on the rest of the handling of the two cards, or suggestions of a presentation, or ideas about the "effect" created, it seems like a very poor offering for $10.00.


McDonald's Aces and Freak Out

reviewed by Roy Eidem (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 05 January, 2020)

McDonald's Aces and Freak OutPaul is a gifted magic writer. Here is a venerable Classic of magic that is worthy of study & performance. The tutorial videos alone include sleights which alone are worth the price. If you want to learn a magic classic & potentially new sleights & not a u-tube one trick pony, this is easily money well spent.


McDonald's Aces and Freak Out

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 04 January, 2020)

McDonald's Aces and Freak OutTwo awesome effects for one low price! It’s the bargain of the year and it’s only January! Paul’s clear and clean handling of the classic McDonald’s Aces is sensational. This beautiful presentation is well worth studying and absorbing so you’ll always have a blockbuster effect ready to go. The effect flows along brilliantly and makes perfect sense. A concise history of McDonald’s Aces is included as well as a very interesting short essay on the History of the Jacks that could provide some great patter and presentation material for you. You’ll learn a number of effective moves along the way that you can utilize with countless other card illusions in your repertoire. Don’t skip the Preface and Introductions! Here as with all of Paul’s books he gives a ton of real-world advice on presentation, entertainment, audience management, and humor. Well worth the price of the book right there! You’ll be reminded of the power of entertainment in all art forms! Freak Out! is a Knockout ESP experiment that you will have a lot of fun performing. Easy set-up and a very puzzling effect with a very strong amazement factor! There are lots of excellent presentational ideas and patter here as well as a few more nice moves that can be used with other effects. Here’s some stuff you’ll use for sure.


Nelmar's Spirit and Hypnotic Tricks

reviewed by B. W. McCarron
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 31 December, 2019)

Nelmar's Spirit and Hypnotic TricksReview by Lloyd E. Jones, published in the Feb. 1934 issue of The Diebox.

"A collection of stunts apparently performed by hypnotic power. I wish that some of the hypnotists I have seen would get this material and use it. The first purpose of any entertainer is to entertain. The stunts in this book are good . . . you will use them if you do mental, hypnotic or related effects."


The Annotated Royal Road to Card Magic

reviewed by Barrie Segal (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 December, 2019)

The Annotated Royal Road to Card MagicThis is an absolutely marvelous update to this classic book. The annotations and added photographs are incredibly helpful. Mark Lewis has created a classic book for all magicians.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Kevin Peshick
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 December, 2019)

Karma DeckWhile the thinking behind this is brilliant, I didn't find the advantages were sufficient for the added complexity, when compared against a standard Si Stebbins set up. I decided to go the extra mile and memorize a deck.


Secrets of Mental Magic

reviewed by Brett McCarron
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 December, 2019)

Secrets of Mental MagicPartial review from Burling Hull in "The G-D D--n Truth About Magic" Vol. 2:

"THORNTON'S SECRETS OF MENTAL MAGIC

"At last here is a really top value and PRACTICAL series of effects and routines that work by Dr. Thornton (medical doctor) who plainly PERFORMS mentalism feats. The best publication of practical effects in five years in my judgment."


Nu Way Out Of This World

reviewed by Peter Nordstrand (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 December, 2019)

Nu Way Out Of This WorldGreat effect!


Satan's Calculator Trick

reviewed by Michael Cook
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 24 November, 2019)

Satan's Calculator TrickExcellent effect. Very easy and will fool anyone who sees it. Use any phone. Any time. A perfect trick. Go buy this now. Support this man and his many contributions to this wonderful art.


Tips

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 November, 2019)

TipsIt's a dated book for sure, but still have a couple of ideas that I like. And any idea I can get is almost priceless.

If you are a DIY guy or gal, it's not a bad book. Some good ideas.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1335 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
© 2020 Lybrary.com