Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

1079 ★★★★★ reviews
108 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
54 ★★★★★ reviews
73 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1381 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Spirit Slate

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 29 November, 2020)

Spirit SlateThis is an unusual and startling slate effect. It's a natural for seances, but it can also be effective for all kinds of performances. You can find everything you need for a few dollars at your craft store and grocery store. Recommended!


Hypno-Trix

reviewed by Jean-Baptiste Prevost (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 17 November, 2020)

Hypno-TrixNothing new for those who already know the subject, some things that today are ridiculous and for the flower...it's cute.


Mental Foursome

reviewed by Michael Cook
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 31 October, 2020)

Mental FoursomeI bought this pdf just for the first effect. It states that when the cards are spread face up that the spectator selects a card. Not true! The performer selects the face up card. Had I known that I wouldn’t have purchased this. Having said that the other three effects are pretty good.


Scripted #33: Ring and Rope

reviewed by Karsten Meyerhoff (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 October, 2020)

Scripted #33: Ring and RopeI have fiddled with the Ring&Rope-concept for quite a while, but it never made it into my repertoire as I couldn't find a story that I thought was interesting enough for the audience and that fit my style. So, I was pleasantly surprised to find a routine that comes with 'a killer script' by the author of 'How to write a script' - or so the ad goes. Ordinary, examinable props, nothing to bring in or out, simple, clear moves: That ticked all the boxes for me.

I will have to say that personally I am rather disappointed. Without giving too much away, I will say that the script is of the type: 'I once saw a magician do this ... and then this ... and then this ...'. Sure, it comes with: 'That's what got me hooked on magic as a child.' and that does add an emotional layer, but I am sorry: That's not a 'killer script' in my book. The story doesn't justify the props at all: The ring is a ring and the rope is a rope. It doesn't give meaning to the threading and unthreading of the rope: It just happens. Yes, it is interesting to read in the script where the author got the moves and the other inspirations from and how he made them 'his own', but that still doesn't make for a killer script. I am stressing all this, since the scripting is presented as the unique selling point of the routine.

Having said that: It is a nice routine that does everything else it claims to do and to be. The props are simple and examinable (at any time), no additional gimmicks are necessary, nothing has to be rung in or out and the moves are simple and clear for both, the magician and the audience. There is no endless fiddling with the rope or the ring, no handing stuff from one hand to the other and back again. The moves flow nicely into one another giving the routine a good flow and a clear structure and the angles are really good on this one. The routine is short and sweet, too: Many Ring&Rope-routines are too long for my taste, so that's another plus.

I wish I could give this two marks: For the script and for the routine as such, because that way I could say that I like the handling and the 'technical' aspects of the routine, but don't care much for the script - which is emphasized so much in the ad.


Echo Force

reviewed by Garry Darby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 October, 2020)

Echo ForceHi, I have just downloaded “Echo Force”. I am disappointed. This seems an incredibly complex and complicated system for any force. I can’t see it having any use for me. I have been more than happy with all the other downloads I have purchased.


Hints and Tips 2

reviewed by Ferry Gerats (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 09 October, 2020)

Hints and Tips 2These are clearly tips from a performer who has got lots of experience under his belt. There are commercial tips, performing tips and tips on the handling and maintenance of props. It is amazing that he offers more than 20 tips all for free!

P.S. For the card guys, he describes a way to make a slick card.


Paradoxes

reviewed by Enrico VARELLA
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 07 October, 2020)

Paradoxes[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

This book is slightly different from most of Paul's books. Then again, it is not. There is a paradox. Firstly, this book is punctuated with many funny and brain-shifting visuals that showcase optical illusions. These reinforce the idea of the book's title. Secondly, the three effects demonstrate the notion of how an object can 'seemingly' be in two places at one time. Thirdly, as familiar as some of these plots appear to be, they have a slight 'twist' to them - twisted, perhaps. And, a twisted perception of reality can be magical for your audience. Enjoy these 'paradoxes'!


Paradoxes

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 October, 2020)

Paradoxes[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

If you’re not familiar with Paul’s work, now is a good time to jump in. He is a true, in the trenches, full-time performer who knows what sells & entertains in the real world. For highly commercial pleasing, magic I highly recommend you check out his other works too.


Legacy: Yin Yang Pot

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 02 October, 2020)

Legacy: Yin Yang PotThis is a well-thought-out and easy version of the "Think-a-Drink" or "Any Drink Called For" plot. While I figured out what this was from watching the demo, I'm glad I purchased the ebook since it describes some touches that help to make the routine deceptive.

Sidebar: Brick mentions one place to buy the necessary prop, but I bought it from Grand Illusions in the UK: https://www.grand-illusions.com/assassin-s-teapot-c2x21140265

This is recommended for anyone looking for a "Think-a-Drink" routine that isn't going to cost a small fortune!


Paradoxes

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 30 September, 2020)

Paradoxes[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

Paradoxes, by Paul A. Lelekis, is another great example of what a great magician with magical writing abilities can accomplish. Paradoxes features three effects with varying levels of skill. Although none are true knuckle-busters, they are something the intermediate card guy will appreciate. The advanced beginner can watch the included videos and perform these effects after a little practice. Unlike the typical pick-a-card effects, Paul uses his included videos to teach you how to confound your spectator by making them see something they don't actually see... they only think they see you perform moves you don't actually do. Cards are there.. and then they aren't. Cards are in a packet.. and then they are back in the deck. Cards are in the deck.. and then they're face down on the table. Not your typical stuff. Paradoxes is something a little different from Paul. And if you're ready for something different.. Paradoxes is IT...


Paradoxes

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 September, 2020)

Paradoxes[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

What better time than now to learn some great new card magic? Paradoxes by Paul Lelekis fits the bill for sure! This e-book opens with a short definition of what a paradox is and some very cool and some very funny and clever examples to whet your appetite for what’s to come. This includes a drawing by one of my favorite artists, E. C. Escher. Paul is known for his clear and concise instructions with numerous tips and subtleties to help enhance your performance. This book is no exception. Within the three card effects contained here, you’ll find many bits of sound advice to help you not only “sell” the effect but to make these and all of your magic more entertaining. Four demonstration videos plus a link to others are included to aid you with some of the more advanced sleights. Paul is a master at finding sleights that streamline effects and are easier to perform and yet take nothing away from the effect. In many cases, his choice of sleights actually makes the effects better by letting you keep your mind on your audience and the fun and entertainment that these effects will bring to them and to you! These three card effects are all beautifully constructed gems and have a very logical flow to them. The storylines lend themselves to plenty of great patter possibilities in addition to Paul’s recommendations. I would recommend doing what I did for example with Revenge of the Knerds and A “Dill”-Y of A Paradox and that is read through the entire effect, then go back with deck in hand and work through slowly, a segment at a time. You’ll find that in no time the fluidity will come alive and you’ll be settling in with these little masterpieces of magic! Enjoy the ride!!


Best Sellers

reviewed by Tim Brown (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 25 September, 2020)

Best SellersTom Sellers is sooo underrated!!! His ingenuity and proliferation of ideas into effects makes him one of my most favorite magician/creators! You should have seen the look on my face when viewing some material by Ali Bongo and Rachel Colombini to find out that they were using material that Tom Sellers came up with. His ideas are that good! Plus, I love DIY! I get giddy re-reading his material because of the diagrams that accompany the text, my hands can't wait to get started making up some new miracles that really do work and look amazing. If you can find any of his material, I'm sure there'll be something for you to enjoy, I always do.


Dancing with the Cards

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 04 September, 2020)

Dancing with the CardsWonderful array of easy-to-do card magic that is artfully "choreographed"...and will make you laugh! Dance like nobody's watching...it's great misdirection!


Eddie's Dumbfounders with Cards

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 30 August, 2020)

Eddie's Dumbfounders with CardsThese are the fooler and innovative. Some of them can be done over the phone, blindfolded, and all of them (except one you need a bit of work) can be done with borrowed deck. Most of them can be presented as mentalism.


The Expert at the Cod Table

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 27 August, 2020)

The Expert at the Cod TableMichael's e-book is refreshingly clever and fun to read. His magic is very strong and he provides complete patter that is very original! I HIGHLY recommend this e-book to magicians at any level...top-notch magic and excellent patter!


Poker Chip Mystery

reviewed by Ralf Laue
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 27 August, 2020)

Poker Chip MysteryIt's really great principle that has been used in many other tricks later (including a Tenyo trick in 1997). Before buying, have a look into your library. It is not unlikely that you already have a description as it has been also published in Bob Hummers Seleted Secrets, Fulves' Self-working Number Magic and Gardner's Mathematics, Magics and Mystery.


Force X

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 22 August, 2020)

Force XAgain, Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST ! I personally believe FORCE X is well done and will have quite an outstanding effect for the spectators. Also, I believe that most of your other effects in this area are equally effective and impressive to people. These are nice effects with the Covid Virus going on. Especially for the price these would be great additions to anyone's mentalism library. The only suggestion that I have is that I would like to see these eBook's printed without the background ink color on the pages because it takes a lot of ink to print these. Having said this, I give these effects my highest rating.


Thought of Card at Thought of Number

reviewed by Michael Cook (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 17 August, 2020)

Thought of Card at Thought of NumberWas looking for a good simple ACAAN. I thought maybe this would be good. Nothing really good about it. To much dealing and counting. It’s just too confusing. Way to much procedure. Not recommended. There are better ACAANs out there this isn’t one of them. The Untouchables by the same author is the same convoluted ACAAN.


Stark Horizon

reviewed by D L
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 14 August, 2020)

Stark HorizonUsually you get better info on how the effect my fit you in performance from the reviews that are critical of the effect. An all glorious review do not help that much...


Flick: coin into bottle

reviewed by Bernardino Diza (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 13 August, 2020)

Flick: coin into bottleThe trick looked real good, so I bought it. The explanation sucks, it show's you how to use one of the coins and thread to make one gimmick period. So how are the tape and magnet used. What's the setup of this trick? It doesn't show or say anything else. What the Hell, this was waste of $15.00.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1381 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
© 2020 Lybrary.com