Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1442 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Eating Your Onion: God's Business Plan Template

reviewed by Eta Eteta-Ita
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 26 June, 2016)

Eating Your Onion: God's Business Plan TemplateEating your onion is a must read for anyone held back by self-doubt and the fear of staying poor. The book is inspiring and expository. Thanks to the author


Elemental

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 25 June, 2016)

ElementalI haven't wrote a review for this effect yet but always meant to.

I like using the ELEMENTAL card backs for this with the Zodiac signs and dates on it also.

Then I can reveal a lot of memorized information starting from this point.

I also print the cards out full size on card stock and laminate them. I call these my ELEMENTAL CARD PLAQUES instead of cards.

I like using SIGNATURE at the spur of the moment when meeting someone and like using ELEMENTAL to give a lot more detailed information to the spectator when time permits.

There is another effect on the market that you can reveal a zodiac sign and birth date on the market with just one card, but this is nice because even though you use 5 cards instead of one, ELEMENTAL is roughly half the price and you can print up more cards if you need them. David W. Burmeister


Psych Aerious

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 25 June, 2016)

Psych AeriousThe Unknown Mentalist has done it again.

This is a GREAT ROUTINE and also a very unusual presentation.

Actually, I think sooner or later I'm going to the printers and get these made wallet sized and have them laminated.

I would HIGHLY recommend this.

David W. Burmeister


Coin'cidence

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 25 June, 2016)

Coin'cidenceCoin'cidence is a great trick. I like to use it with 5 imaginary coins as the original routine. This effect didn't impress me that much in the beginning BUT, the effect it has on spectators is astounding!

I think that sometimes we focus too much on the methodology that we are going to use as performers when we should be trying out the effect and see the impact on the audience.

I can wait till a couple of weeks from now when I buy the 2 ebook bundle for this routine.

Again, another great job Unknown Mentalist.

David W. Burmeister


Grace to Grow

reviewed by Dennis Kelley
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 24 June, 2016)

Grace to GrowI can tell you, as a minister of the Lord, that Laura prayed over every word she said, and this book is Spirit Led. You are sure to be blessed by it's pages, and be inspired and anointed to grow.


Verbuggin'

reviewed by Drew Fayze
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 23 June, 2016)

Verbuggin'I bought this for my 4 year old daughter. Now she is running around the house repeating the poems, an absolute hit, and a MUST buy.


The Unswami

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 22 June, 2016)

The UnswamiRecipe for mentalism ebook success: take one forgotten tool out of mothballs, explain its uses comprehensively well, add some nice routines, and add a few variations on those nice routines. Voila! Great ebook, an essential primer really for this gimmick. The unswami or stylus writer--no, I'm not giving things away here since it's already been mentioned in one of the headliner reviews--was completely forgotten by most...until now. (It's mentioned in Corinda, but then again, so many people don't want to read Corinda because "it's outdated." Right. Keep up that thinking. The Unknown Mentalist and I will run rings around your mentalism with all the "out-dated" stuff that we read in Corinda.) I can't hype this book enough. If you use a swami gimmick--and even if you have Corinda memorized and are familiar with how this all works--you'll need this package set. Your swami may be weapon #1 and the unswami #2 or vice versa. Both have their pros and cons but can be equally effective. Now not everyone uses or even likes swamis. They take practice and a large amount of absolute confidence in presentation. If you are a swami-addict, however, then take the plunge and go in--or "un"--on the unswami.


Unusual Clue

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 22 June, 2016)

Unusual ClueOnce again this creative thinker delivers the goods with this new contribution to the magic and mentalist fraternity well done


Julio's Psychic Pizza Menu

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 22 June, 2016)

Julio's Psychic Pizza MenuHere's a new trick from the prolific Ben Harris, where you, the mentalist, successfully predict the type of pizza and accompanying beverage the spectator will choose. You get simple instructions and some nice graphics to create your own full-color "menu" using your own color printer. The effect is nearly self-working. You merely have to remember one easy principle; the menu then does all the work for you.

This is a cute trick. As a theme, everyone likes pizza, and the thought of "Wouldn't it be great if you could just think of the kind of pizza and drink that you wanted?" will make you smile. As for the working, there's nothing new here: It's Phill Smith's Quinta-like "counting" plus Bill Goldman's Mental Yarn "principle," the latter making the trick clever after the much weaker initial process.

As I'm fond of saying, "This is no world-beater." It's one of those in-betweener routines for the middle of a show, bordering on an effect you toss-off for your friends. But I use the thought of pizza in a much different routine, so this could work as a nice follow-up to that one. For $8, you can't go wrong with the instant download, though it would be nice for the money if you got the pre-made, laminated menu. Overall, it's a polite "golf clap" to Julio's Psychic Pizza Menu, rather than a full-blown standing ovation.


Novel Publicity Ideas For Magicians

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 21 June, 2016)

Novel Publicity Ideas For MagiciansThis is a useful book because Devin Knight explores ways to create publicity that other books do not go into, making these areas "novel" by comparison. In addition, these ideas have all been tested by Devin, except for the White House Easter Egg Roll. Devin names the magicians who have used this avenue, and magicians who have benefited by using the other "novel" publicity ideas. I knew little about some of these methods and knew nothing about the others. Devin has educated me, and in his easy and careful teaching style, there are, no doubt, many other magicians who can benefit from this well written book.


Signature

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 19 June, 2016)

SignatureI bought this Ebook yesterday.

This is a GREAT approach to Diving a spectators zodiac sign and giving away your business card.

It took me just a little while to come up with my particular twist on this but done in the right way, especially in a close up environment, you will be credited for having very unusual and perhaps paranormal powers.

Basically, I go with the original effect and then add my interpretation (Which I credit to Larry Becker out of Larry Becker's STUNNERS PLUS Ebook. It is a Graphology routine in the post decade years of the book.) of the spectators zodiac sign if they selected their own sign.

Again, I recommend this effect very highly. Why night have another zodiac sign divination.

David W. Burmeister


This Far By Faith: My Story, Secrets and All

reviewed by Sameera V. Thurmond
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 19 June, 2016)

This Far By Faith: My Story, Secrets and AllI so enjoyed reading this book by Evangelist Washington. The flow of the language was good, making it was easy to follow and read. I was particularly moved by her emotional and physical struggle with her mother and, no doubt, the scar that it left with her psychologically. However, the greatest impression was that of her faith to rely on the Heavenly Father's guidance to move her along in life with decisions that many of us have to face. It was indeed inspirational and moved me to follow her footsteps in spiritual growth.


Flip and Tell

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2016)

Flip and TellFlip and Tell uses a 50-year-old Martin Gardner principle dressed up in a new routine. If you watch the video, you'll see exactly how it plays out, and if impromptu effects are to your liking, you'll like this. It reminds me of something that you'd see in one of Mark Elsdon's Conversations as Mentalism books (He's up to four now. Get them all because they're great.) in that you can do it anywhere on the spur of the moment with just a bunch of coins, a wallet, and a flat surface. By itself, it's not an effect that will get you your own BBC mentalism series, but as a supplement to a "which hand" or positive/negative routine, it's nice and quite baffling. I followed the instructions, turned coins over, and BAM! It works great. There is one small move, and if you watch the video a few times, you probably can figure out the essence of what it is, but when you do it once for a spectator, it will fly by without much thought. And the price is around you'd pay for a single trick out of one of Elsdon's "CAM" books. In other words, here you have a slick, inexpensive impromptu effect. It's one of many different propless or nearly propless things that I can do. Recommended.


Rush: Close-Up Russian Roulette

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2016)

Rush: Close-Up Russian RouletteFor a while there, it seemed that every magician that you saw on TV did the death defying Russian Roulette feat with the nailguns or the spike under the paper bags. Dee Christopher, among others, has downsized the effect for close-up performance using Bic lighters. It's a pretty good trick, and perhaps slightly more dangerous looking than Cobra Kiss, which uses the mini-staplers, but I have to ask, to what end? The big-brother stage versions have been so overused that they have lost their novelty so the miniturized versions, which are much less dangerous, are even more muted in effect.

The instructions here are good, and you'll need a bunch of a specific type of disposable lighter that you will need to modify. The fabrication of the effect is fairly easy. Pulling it off effectively is somewhat harder because there is a move involved that you have to execute multiple times, which I personally think is fishy. (The best way to do it is probably misdirect your spectator to examine another lighter in a kind of "one-behind" way.) For what this effect is, it's clever, and it does work as promised. For me, I prefer a completely non-dangerous version by Titanas using shaken-up soda cans. The worst that the audience thinks could happen is that a can explodes, and I get soaked (just like in the old SCTV Doug & Bob McKenzie bit called "The Beer Hunter"). While that routine removes the danger element, it's much more devious and easier to do. I'm not really sold on Rush with the lighters, but you may prefer it.


The Underground Penny Bend

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2016)

The Underground Penny BendSo you want to bend a penny but don't have an expensive custom bending tool, two sets of pliers, or appropriate door hinges? Well, if you are in a certain type of kitchen and have a certain type of penny, you are in luck. I've experimented with this technique, and while it works, I can't just use my hands to bend the penny, and the penny that I eventually make is bent a lot less than using a bending tool, pliers, or hinges. Still, this is quite ingenious and well worth knowing. The only problem is that useable pennies are becoming scarce, and in perhaps ten years or less, this will not be a practical method. But until then, enjoy. It's quite clever.


The Impromptu Mystifier

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2016)

The Impromptu MystifierKennedy is one of the best up-and-coming UK mentalists. This book, his first, is loaded with sage wisdom about using off-the-cuff performances to build your reputation and get jobs. Ken speaks from experience, and his essays are spot-on. He then outlines his impromptu routine, which--if memory serves me--has five effects. They are all at least good, a couple are excellent, and one, his Window of Opportunity peek, I think is fantastic. I always keep a few of the specially folded business cards with me to do it and have, in fact, expanded his original presentation. While it's a tad more complicated than Acidus Novus, the Corinda peek, or that cool billet opening thing that Richard Osterlind has demonstrated on a couple of his DVDs, a few days of practice idly doing the move with my left hand was more than enough time to get pretty good at it. It's a worker.

I'm fairly sure that the title The Impromtu Mystifier is a tip of the hat to the great Bob Cassidy and his The Impromptu Psychic. While that work may have more routines, I think that this book is the better value for its outstanding advice on mentalism in general--and that great peek.


Messing with NCR Paper

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2016)

Messing with NCR PaperAnyone who has seen a few episodes of the classic TV series Mystery Science Theater 3000 is probably familiar with the tag "...at first." It's a brilliant way of commenting on something that initially appears to be good or encouraging but on reflection is not, as in "Charles Manson looked like a quiet, unassuming guy...at first." That's kind of how I feel about Messing with NCR Paper. I'd heard about the book, tracked it down, read it, and was excited...at first. It even begins with a thrilling fax between experts that sounded like Fermat's Last Equation had finally been solved. But alas, reading the book, I learned something that I and many others already knew, that NCR paper could substitute for carbon paper, and one more thing that I didn't know, the properties of using a fluorescent highlighter with NCR paper. That latter principle, while interesting, has limited utility. The author entreats folks to do further research in this area, but nothing came of it that I am aware of. It's interesting but a dead end. But messing with NCR Paper did have my attention...at first.


Forces, Peeks, Stacks and Gaffs

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2016)

Forces, Peeks, Stacks and GaffsHere's another ebook from the amazingly prolific Mr. Creasey. It shows you some non-knuckle-busting sleights that you can apply to mentalism. I like books like this because they allow you to expand your horizons and, as I've mentioned about Scott before, "think outside the box." He has put together a useful collection of sleights and gaffs and routines using them. While this book doesn't fall into the category of "essential," I would rate it as "nice to have." For example, a peek explained here is similar to a one that I learned as a teenager back in 1974 when I first read it in The Amateur Magician's Handbook by Henry Hay. (Here's another review of mine with a familiar refrain: Buy that book, Bob Cassidy's favorite too. Nuff said!) I've lost track of how many times that I've used it, and I've always gotten away with it. Never been burned. Not once. And it's not that I'm an A-student sleight-of-hand worker. Trust me, I'm not. It's just one of those sleights that on paper looks like absolute garbage--fishy deck handling with lots of heat when the peek is taken--until you try it. And to be honest, as a kid, I didn't really pay much attention to nuances like doing things on the offbeat. But it didn't matter. It worked. It always worked so I just stuck with it. I realize that everybody's different and things are all subjective. What works for you might not work for me. What works for me might make you think that I'm an idiot. That's OK too. But more mentalists need to realize that something that sounds stupid--like using a weird card peek--or looks bad on paper might just be what you need. Or as the Rolling Stones said, "You can't always get what you want. But if you try sometimes, well, you might find you get what you need." You need to experiment and find your own path. Scott's good little book is a first step.


UNO-IT

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2016)

UNO-ITScott Creasey, while perhaps not as well known as some of the other UK mentalists, is a real hero of mine. To put it simply, he rocks. He has so many good DIY projects, books, tricks, and routines that I have no hesitation in using overused words like "brilliant" and "genius" because he really is. Here's a prime example: a multi-part routine of nice duration using, of all things, Uno cards. I love it. Everyone has seen Uno cards. They have numbers and pretty colors. For folks who want to engage in the silly, pointless discussion about whether mentalists should use cards, how about using Uno cards? They are common the world over and don't shout, "Not mentalism, card trick!" This is great outside-the-box thinking by Scott.

Scott gives you a three-part routine and some bonuses. I am not a fan of doing multi-part routines copied chapter-and-verse from another mentalist--I want to be my own performer--but the parts here are easily divisible and independent, and you can mix and match. There isn't anything new in the methodology, but these are excellent effects. Some books are so sparsely written that it's hard to grasp what kind of presentation the effect needs, while others are so overwritten--with every supposedly hilarious one-liner and snide remark--that you have to separate the good from the bad. In all of Scott's routining, he strikes a nice balance: enough on presentation and nothing overdone. He's a fine writer.

One more thing for educational purposes--and I'm not giving away trade secrets because without the context of Uno-It, this will be cryptic, but I want to encourage you to check it out. As I said, there's nothing new in the methodology here. Perhaps, more correctly, I should say that in one aspect, the methodology relies on something so old and obscure that even some card guys may not be fully aware of it, the corner short. Richard Osterlind is a big proponent, and the Uno-It routine uses it effectively too. Until you play around with it and see that it can also save you in an emergency, you may not realize that it's something good to know about if you handle card decks. Get out your copy of Hugard and Braue in addition to purchasing Uno-It and check it out. You won't be disappointed. You might even be enlightened.


The Mati Envelope

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 15 June, 2016)

The Mati EnvelopeThroughout mentalism history, there have been a lot of different gimmicked envelopes--slit, window, Shaxon, impression, etc.--all designed to secretly learn what the spectator has written. Obviously, this comes in handy in not only direct mind reading routines, but also design duplications, Q&A's, and more elaborate routines such as Cassidy's 4th Dimensional Telepathy and Name and Place. Imagine if you will, an envelope that allows you to learn the information while the envelope, which is normal looking (in the interest of full disclosure, "looking" is the operative word here, friends), remains in the spectator's hand. With his writing inside. Sealed. And you can get your peek of the information in the next room. And unless the spectator knows exactly what to look for, he's going to be able to look at the envelope and see nothing. How is that possible, you ask. Well, I'm dying to tell you about the Mati Envelope, but Jiminy Cricket says let your conscience be your guide so I can't. And even if I did, this review would get edited. So this secret--and oh my, it's a good one--comes at a price, a really reasonable one, I think.

So what can I say about this thing? Well, it combines an underground technique from about 40 years ago that has recently resurfaced with a classic bit of envelope handling. That handling, unless you have cloven hooves for hands, is pretty easy. So if you can use a stack of Shaxon flapless envelopes, you can do this. [Note: Part of the working uses the same principle as the commercially manufactured effect, Steam 2.0. But while that method is brilliant, I think that the Steam effect has a flaw that spoils its effectiveness, at least in the standard handling. If you go on Penguin Magic's website and watch the trailer, that part of the trick is edited out--which should tell you something. With the Mati Envelope, this flaw is completely eliminated.]

How hard is it to make? It's not complicated at all, but you'll need to get some supplies at your office supply store and most likely order one essential item from Amazon. Don't fret. It's not something weird that's going to scream "gimmick." It's an ordinary object on the outside with a different composition than usual on the inside. It will pass completely undetected as ordinary. The comprehensive ebook gives good instructions, and it doesn't take long, but truth be told, I had to stop and reorient my thinking to get back on the right track. But once I did that, I quickly made up a stack of about a dozen envelopes.

When all is done, you will have a utility envelope that is far beyond anything that you've seen. Looking over comments on the various magic websites, I'm struck by how little commentary there is about the Mati Envelope. This thing is revolutionary actually, and I would have thought that more people would be raving about it. But they aren't (maybe it's the fear of the unknown or the DIY aspect)--which is good for those of us who get it and use it. I see a lot of things, many of which are excellent and useful, but this is at the highest echelon of the gimmicked envelope field. Now some are going to say that they use a slit/window/Shaxon/impression envelope, and it works just fine. My response is "great," whatever works for you. Maybe you don't need an envelope that--unless someone scrutinizes it super closely before it is finally torn open--allows you to end totally clean, something that you can't do with the others. But this innovation is so devious and seductive, it would be hard to turn away from it once you read about it. It's that good.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1442 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
06/27/2016
© 2016 Lybrary.com