Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1520 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Happy Birthday Stranger

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 24 April, 2017)

Happy Birthday Stranger80 products in my working lybrary of books all by this Author along with physical props where available some of which are not my own style but are stimulating of this old brain to re think what is already known about mentalism recommended Author to follow.


The Cantora

reviewed by Paul Cohn
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 23 April, 2017)

The CantoraEarly Praise for Paul Cohn's The Cantora

•A Lyrically Stunning Novel . . . A 16th Century Jackie Evancho. Five Stars!

"Picture this: Colonial Brazil and a little Caeté Indian girl who sings the Latin Mass with the voice of an angel. She becomes the darling of the Church clergy, and is hailed as the first True Miracle of the New World. Then a rebellion by the Indians enslaved by the Portuguese in the brutal dyewood trade turns this child into a symbol of rebellion. Now her fame and success become a savage nightmare as she and her mentor, Sister Mae Docura, flee into the jungle to escape the Inquisition. After many travails and struggles, and some triumphs--both in Brazil, and later in North Africa--they arrive in Europe under the protection of an intrepid sea captain. But again the Inquisition catches up with them, and they take flight once more, this time to territories unknown. This novel is impossible to put down. Remarkable writing and fine storytelling. I highly recommend it."--Justin Haldeman, Author of the forthcoming novel The Duke's Jubilee

•If You Enjoyed The Book Thief, You Will Fall In Love With Cantora

"There are some interesting parallels to "The Cantora" and "The Book Thief" relative to a child in great peril and surrounded by overwhelming forces. In this case, she falls out of grace with the Church and becomes a fugitive from the inquisition. The child has an adult mentor, Sister Docura, who also becomes a fugitive. And there are many others that protect the girl as she and Docura travel from one place to another, trying to find a place of peace. Cantora's real name is Yema, and at the start of the novel she is a 9 year old Brazilian Indian with several unusual talents including her remarkable singing voice. (I don't want to give too much away here) We travel with the two of them as the nun reclaims her true identity, and Yema becomes assertive, courageous, and wise as she grows older. "This is a beautifully written and interesting novel. I read the author's first book in this series, "Sao Tome,"and enjoyed its fast pace, though not typical for historical fiction. It kept me awake at night. This second novel (The Cantora) is just as compelling, but takes the time to immerse the reader in the personalities and environs of colonial Brazil and many other locations as we journey with the two women. A great read for all who love a compelling (and somewhat unsettling) story." --Hailey Zwanzig, Illustrator, Left Hand Tree by Jay Gunter

•"You are immensely skilled at setting and scene building; you bring Brazil during the 1500s to vivid life for the reader, infusing these pages with details that make for an utterly transporting reading experience." --Carina Guiterman, Fiction Editor Little, Brown & Company.

• The Cantora, Remarkable Story, Breathtaking In Scope, A Cadre Of Unforgettable Characters

"This book gives us a cadre of unforgettable characters who take us on an epic journey from the jungles & settlements of Brazil in the early 1500s, to the Caribbean, the Cape Verde Islands, northern Africa, France, The Netherlands, and finally to lands beyond. "The little girl Yema (Cantora) starts out as a compliant and eager student of the Catholic faith, but soon runs afoul of the church. Forced into fleeing for her life, she and her benefactor (a nun whose origins are Jewish), head north along the coast into tribal lands, then on to many destinations, each one fraught with dangers while the Inquisition relentlessly pursues them. I am certain many readers will totally enjoy this novel." --William T. Goodman, Author of Desert Sundays, An Obvious Slam Dunk, & the forthcoming Go With The Night Wind

• Through Narrative & Song: Explore Intersecting 16th Century Cultures in Colonial Brazil, North Africa, & Europe

"I first want to inform readers that I am the cover artist for this novel. Regardless, I admire this fine literary work which will appeal to both Young Adults and Adults. That said, here is my review: In The Cantora, the song of a young Caeté (native Brazilian) girl serves as a catalyst for a historical journey fraught with difficulty and discrimination. The reader is plunged into the early 1500s and carried along as Yema and her protector, a woman called both Doçura the Catholic Nun and Leah Saulo the Portuguese Jew, grapple with the consequences of their marginalized lives in the jungles of Brazil, the variable Atlantic, North Africa, and western Europe, attempting to outrun prejudice and danger. A musical element threads through the story all the while--Yema's lovely voice guiding the reader through an exploration of the complexities of identity and intersecting cultures, and the pain and beauty that lies therein. --Nicole Brauch, Cover Artist - The Cantora


Bullet Proof

reviewed by Carmine Soltan
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 21 April, 2017)

Bullet ProofVery good read. Very honest and inspirational!!!


Happy Birthday Stranger

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 18 April, 2017)

Happy Birthday StrangerYou have a spectator focus on a laminated card and without having anything written down or any questions asked, you divine the spectator's Zodiac sign and date of birth. It sounds that simple--and it really is. (Not a progressive anagram in sight!) The method is diabolically clever and is a tip o' the hat to concepts from two of my favorite mentalists, the "nothing book" of Leo Boudreau and Paul Carnazzo's Dream Weaver card. When you buy Happy Birthday Stranger, you will not only get the ebook download but also two plastic cards--one for stage, the other for close-up--and a crib sheet. The cards are absolutely beautiful, very colorful and eye-catching. My only regret here is that because of the detail on the card necessary to pull off this miracle, the close-up card is bigger than wallet size. But when you see how this works, you won't mind that small trade-off.

The Unknown Mentalist puts out a tremendous amount of quality material, but this is one of his best items. I am almost certain that with a little thought and practice--and it won't take much of either--you'll love this too. I just wish he'd have kept it for himself, Marc Paul, Richard Osterlind, and me. Get it while it's on sale. It's exceptional. Highest recommendation.


Mastering Blockchain

reviewed by Miles
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 11 April, 2017)

Mastering BlockchainThis is a Brilliant book. Right balance of theory and practice. Highly recommended.


The Cerebral Approach: Book One

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 10 April, 2017)

The Cerebral Approach: Book OneExcellent value and very practical material too and beautiful when practised well before performing to any audience


Bedminster Boy

reviewed by Derek Jay
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 09 April, 2017)

Bedminster BoyChurch of England folk are inclined to be very middle class and their clergy more so. It is refreshing, therefore, that a scheme to recruit working class priests got underway and that the author was one of its products. We have much to learn from the likes of him and his questioning faith.

I don’t know what to make about the mystical experiences recorded in this book. I am inclined to be cynical but Des is a down to earth bloke so I guess I take these at face value.

I’ve heard many of these stories before: air raids, the loss of community in modern life, a questioning faith, and I can hear Des’s voice in my head as I read this book. This story deserves to be told.

It’s almost as if the bombs were coming for Des since day one of the Bristol Blitz. Yet they got so near yet so far.

I too loved the department stores where the change went on overheard wires.

I know several of the people mentioned, including Michael Jarvvie, hospital chaplain, who’d previously been a curate in my church in Leeds. I also knew the lat David Isitt, much undervalued in this diocese. We both owe a lot to him.

Some of the jokes are corny but were probably original to Des’s generation e.g. about condom vending machines.

There’s a good story about how to get a fruit machine to pay out the jackpot.

The ending has a lovely description of Iran and its people.

All in all, a most enjoyable read – I hardly put it down from start to finish.

It’s a bit repetitive in places e.g. he tells us about the coming of a very cold winter on p. 57 and again on p. 60; pp.111 and again on 112 converting a shop into a lounge.

p. 24 Kelham is in Nottinghamshire, not Yorkshire.

p. 134 should read ‘Cropthorne’ as it does on p. 136

I don’t think he was alive in 1024 – p. 174!

I am not sure what a ‘essxaaxa traumatic divorce’ is (p. 156)

Minor point – there US such a thing as a gay parrot, contrary to what is asserted by Des – see "Animal Homosexuality and Natural Diversity" by Bruce Bagemihl (1999).


Psycherotika

reviewed by William Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 06 April, 2017)

PsycherotikaNot practical...Feels set up...Looks like a trick...Not an easy sell...Not an easy follow for spectators. Too many moving parts. This one is a pass. All his other stuff rocks. This is a misfire...


Mastering Blockchain

reviewed by Mark Naylor
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 05 April, 2017)

Mastering BlockchainReading this book now, almost halfway through and I find it very comprehensive and thorough. I would give this book 4.5 , not 5 because I think there are a few areas where it could be improved. I think this is the only book you need to jumpstart your career as a Blockchain engineer or business analyst.


Couvert Peek

reviewed by angularjs reactjs
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 04 April, 2017)

Couvert PeekThis method is a worker. I spend one week to get familiar with a move then I went out and performed. After I performed yesterday, I found out that it doesn't have to spend one week. The move can be delay or even pause a little bit. Once you understand a core concept you will perform easily. Trust me, This one is deceptive as Dark Arts. I tested it already.


Mastering Blockchain

reviewed by Carla Stephen
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 04 April, 2017)

Mastering BlockchainThought provoking and very insightful.


Odd Conceptions

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 29 March, 2017)

Odd ConceptionsThe author gives you six, as he calls them "odd," performance tips over 20 pages, such as getting a spectator to smile or empowering them with a game of RPS. So for $12 or $2 per tip currently, you get tips, most of which wouldn't be worth it if they were free. Maybe these things have some effect in the author's home country, but here they mostly come off as childish, stupid, ridiculous, or all of the above. I have purchased many ebooks from lybrary over the years. Most have been spectacularly great--I've given very few reviews lower than 4/5--but buying this one made me really angry. It's easily, by a wide margin, the worst purchase that I've made here. It was like taking my $12 and setting it on fire. (Actually, that would have been more fun to watch than reading this ebook.) I was tempted to purchase the author's two Pure Mentalism books, but this one was such a colossal waste of time, I think that I'll pass. And to think that the price is going up to $18 soon. Ridiculous.


The Business of Table Hopping

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 26 March, 2017)

The Business of Table HoppingPublisher Malcolm Forbes got it right when he said, “The biggest mistake people make in life is not trying to make a living at what they enjoy.”

If there is ONE field of magic that has been thoroughly ignored, it’s Table Hopping. I’ve visited hundreds of websites, perused dozens and dozens of magic shops around the country, and explored the catalogs of all the major magic companies looking for good, solid material on working restaurants. Unfortunately, the material simply isn’t there…

At least not until now…

Table Hopping is my type of magic. I’ve performed in a variety of restaurants, all owned by the same corporation, and I consider myself extremely lucky. I’m the exception though… My friend, Paul Lelekis, is the REAL deal – a guy who has performed at EVERY type of restaurant imaginable, under every sort of condition imaginable. And now, after considerable arm twisting, Paul has decided to talk…

Why is this important? Because many of the top magicians in the country make the majority of their money table hopping. These guys produce dozens of DVDs each year explaining the latest card moves, sleights, twists, and theory… but nothing about table hopping. It’s as if they don’t want to share something that might actually make you a working performer. Duh…

This is where Paul’s latest ebook, THE BUSINESS OF TABLE HOPPING, fills this glaring gap. Many of you know Paul as a staple of THE LINKING RING and author of more than a 40 books on magic, as well as many articles on magic and card magic in publications like the Magic Roadshow and Lybrary.com, My Lovely Assistant, The Magician’s Forum, The Linking Ring, The Card Corner, Magic New Zealand, Magicana, The Magic Café, The St. Pete Times, as well as several European Magic Newsletters. I know Paul as a professional restaurant performer with over 28 years of experience…

To quote Paul:

“I never intended to write this e-book, however I have received numerous requests by other magicians to share my “secrets” of table-hopping with the magic community since I have performed for over 28 years in restaurants, often six or seven times a week! Table-hopping is my favorite form of magical entertainment. You may already have a “real job”, however, you can supplement your income with this “side job” that will not only make you a performing professional, but will also lead to many other gigs that will snowball over time!”

The amazing fact about Paul’s book is that, in addition to revealing all the small details that make table hopping profitable, he reveals a number of the actual effects he performs…and not simply the type of effects, but detailed instructions with pictures. How many magicians do you know are willing to reveal their actual repertoire in detail?

Learn how to approach and what to say to the customers. Learn how to deal with the wait staff. Learn how to get your first ‘gig’, and how to keep it. Paul will teach you what to charge, whether to work for tips or salary, and how to dress appropriately for the different type restaurants. No stone is left unturned.

Honestly, I cannot think of a BETTER way to spend Ten bucks. Don’t simply learn a trick you’ll show two or three times and put on a shelf…learn a TRADE that will put money in YOUR pocket, increase your overall bookings ten-fold, and make you a true professional..

The Magic Roadshow gives ‘The Business of Table Hopping’ our highest recommendation…


Mindipulation

reviewed by William Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 24 March, 2017)

MindipulationDone impromptu....this super fries and books gigs...plain and simple...Hope this secret is not exposed on YouTube...it makes me money! Can be customized too, this is a must have. Keep it secret damn you...


Psycherotika

reviewed by Jack McCoy (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 23 March, 2017)

PsycherotikaHere's the lowdown on this interesting creation by The Unknown Mentalist. I'm not an expert by any means when it comes to mentalism creations, though I'm not unfamiliar with it either. I'm 54 and been involved in magic my whole life, and have thousands of performances under my belt. Historically, I've never seen this structure before. It's very clever, and to most laypeople will be shocking or at least in-explainable. There may be an exception or 2 due to the structured procedure the spectator has to go through. The routine the Unknown Mentalist created for Psycherotika is well thought out however, and creates a nice and convincing excuse for it being done this way. It's presented as a certain aspect of mind-reading, an exercise-of-sorts. I made a set and tested it twice with my usual guinea pig immediate family members and got the desired reactions. 1 family member fell for it, hook, line, and sinker. Magician's brains will churn with delight, trying to figure it out. All in all, it's a very clever trick.

Effect: A card is handed to the spectator. A decent number of words are written on it. He/she looks them over and chooses one. Now another card is handed to them. On both sides are many individual words. The spectator looks over both sides over and decides on a word that starts with the same letter as his / her secret word (from the 1st card). Now, he / she travels through the words by, noting the last letter in their current word and selecting another word that starts with that letter. They do this as many times as the birth month (numerically). They finally concentrate on that final word and the mentalist reveals not only it, but the word they began on as well!

After reading that, you may be going "Ah,,,,,,,hmmmm, interesting.", but don't bother figuring it out. You won't, and for the reasonable price, don't bother trying.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 21 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyThis is typical Paul.. effects that require well-thought-out handling, but explained in a way that make your job easy. I appreciate that most ebooks now include a variety of effects for virtually anyone.. performing any type of magic. There are card effects for those who love to completely fool an audience.. or a table of fellow magicians. And there are effects for those wanting to make an audience laugh and entertain adults or children. Paul has also included videos that bring the coin effect to life. Watching the video is guaranteed to make you want to learn the effect. Reading the descriptions of each effect offers a great overview of Magic Medley, and shows the amount of thought and skill Paul puts into each ebook.. guaranteeing readers far more than the meager cost. Highly recommended..


Magic Medley

reviewed by Marc DeSouza
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 20 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMagic Medley is Paul Lelekis' latest manuscript of, primarily, close-up magic. This well written booklet is 28 pages of very commercial magic. The skill level is from novice to intermediate. Paul begins with an excellent essay on taking control of your audience. This is simple yet important advice that all should strive to adhere to. The material that follows are mostly Paul's variations and personal handlings of some terrific magic created by others. Some are known, but most are hidden in the recesses of rarely referred to texts. There are four card routines (Miracle Sandwich is especially good, although a little challenging), three coin routines, a very strong Ring on Wand handling, a comedy silk vanish (spoiler alert, this involves exposure of a magic secret to your audience) and even a Blendo routine based on a Milbourne Christopher effect. Although these are not original effects, Paul always provides good crediting and helps rescue some great magic that might otherwise be forgotten. This is really good value for money, since you are likely to find something here to add to your own repertoire.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 20 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMAGIC MEDLEY is analogous to the tough pool event that incorporates four major swim strokes. With the ability to swim different strokes (sleights and techniques), you have more versatility in how you achieve your results (performance impact). In this case, Paul presents his working repertoire with a medley of cards, coins, silks and mentalism. Although simplicity is the key here, Paul’s effects are not always simple and require some degree of skillfulness. Presenting yourself is a key to success in performing magic. He demonstrates his chops with coins in the accompanying two videos for ‘Coin(s) Production’. A much easier version of his coin-work (but no less spectacular) is ‘Coin Gone’. As always, I urge you to read his essay ‘Taking Control’ that is laced with his tacit wisdom and experience for the working professional and dedicated performer. Enjoy this book, as I did.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 18 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyCards, coins, silks, rings, ESP & more. The strength of Paul's work is in its simplicity in achieving direct, commercial/real world magical entertainment. Advise from a pro is priceless. I found subtle, practice nuances here I will immediately use too in my day to day handlings.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 18 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMagic Medley by Paul Lelekis has something great for everyone. Here is a wide variety of well thought out effects, any one of which will enhance your close up performance. Cards, Coins, Silks, Rings and even a little ESP. As with all of Paul’s books, there is plenty of great advice and professional tips given with each effect throughout the book. Two chapters, “Taking Control” and “In Conclusion” are dedicated exclusively to sound professional advice learned from years of experience as a professional entertainer. The effects and methods presented here are all very practical and entertaining. Check out “Comedy Vanishing Silk” for sure if you want a good laugh! Some outstanding utility moves presented throughout like some very useful coin production and vanishes, and I particularly enjoyed the advice and methods on the “Tilt” move in both “Miracle Sandwich” and “Jackwich”. A perfect example of learning a new move or a nuance that will enhance and likely make stronger effects that you already perform! Paul has a fantastic way of finding just the right way of simplifying difficult moves without having anything taken away from the effect. In most cases, the effect has even more of an impact on your audience and is stronger overall! Even if you are using a different method for a similar effect you will likely find yourself substituting some of Paul’s moves into your effect to make it easier with a better flow to it. For example, I’m now sold on using Paul’s method presented in “Miracle Sandwich”. I have been performing a Collectors (Sandwich) effect that had many more moves including some palming and in “Miracle Sandwich” I discovered a method that has less moves and has eliminated the palming and leaves the effect as strong as ever! Sold! Magic Medley shows you ways you can take control, improve your presentation and performance, and have loads of fun at the same time!

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1520 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
04/28/2017
© 2017 Lybrary.com