Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1514 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Mindipulation

reviewed by William Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 24 March, 2017)

MindipulationDone impromptu....this super fries and books gigs...plain and simple...Hope this secret is not exposed on YouTube...it makes me money! Can be customized too, this is a must have. Keep it secret damn you...


Psycherotika

reviewed by Jack McCoy (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 23 March, 2017)

PsycherotikaHere's the lowdown on this interesting creation by The Unknown Mentalist. I'm not an expert by any means when it comes to mentalism creations, though I'm not unfamiliar with it either. I'm 54 and been involved in magic my whole life, and have thousands of performances under my belt. Historically, I've never seen this structure before. It's very clever, and to most laypeople will be shocking or at least in-explainable. There may be an exception or 2 due to the structured procedure the spectator has to go through. The routine the Unknown Mentalist created for Psycherotika is well thought out however, and creates a nice and convincing excuse for it being done this way. It's presented as a certain aspect of mind-reading, an exercise-of-sorts. I made a set and tested it twice with my usual guinea pig immediate family members and got the desired reactions. 1 family member fell for it, hook, line, and sinker. Magician's brains will churn with delight, trying to figure it out. All in all, it's a very clever trick.

Effect: A card is handed to the spectator. A decent number of words are written on it. He/she looks them over and chooses one. Now another card is handed to them. On both sides are many individual words. The spectator looks over both sides over and decides on a word that starts with the same letter as his / her secret word (from the 1st card). Now, he / she travels through the words by, noting the last letter in their current word and selecting another word that starts with that letter. They do this as many times as the birth month (numerically). They finally concentrate on that final word and the mentalist reveals not only it, but the word they began on as well!

After reading that, you may be going "Ah,,,,,,,hmmmm, interesting.", but don't bother figuring it out. You won't, and for the reasonable price, don't bother trying.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 21 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyThis is typical Paul.. effects that require well-thought-out handling, but explained in a way that make your job easy. I appreciate that most ebooks now include a variety of effects for virtually anyone.. performing any type of magic. There are card effects for those who love to completely fool an audience.. or a table of fellow magicians. And there are effects for those wanting to make an audience laugh and entertain adults or children. Paul has also included videos that bring the coin effect to life. Watching the video is guaranteed to make you want to learn the effect. Reading the descriptions of each effect offers a great overview of Magic Medley, and shows the amount of thought and skill Paul puts into each ebook.. guaranteeing readers far more than the meager cost. Highly recommended..


Magic Medley

reviewed by Marc DeSouza
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 20 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMagic Medley is Paul Lelekis' latest manuscript of, primarily, close-up magic. This well written booklet is 28 pages of very commercial magic. The skill level is from novice to intermediate. Paul begins with an excellent essay on taking control of your audience. This is simple yet important advice that all should strive to adhere to. The material that follows are mostly Paul's variations and personal handlings of some terrific magic created by others. Some are known, but most are hidden in the recesses of rarely referred to texts. There are four card routines (Miracle Sandwich is especially good, although a little challenging), three coin routines, a very strong Ring on Wand handling, a comedy silk vanish (spoiler alert, this involves exposure of a magic secret to your audience) and even a Blendo routine based on a Milbourne Christopher effect. Although these are not original effects, Paul always provides good crediting and helps rescue some great magic that might otherwise be forgotten. This is really good value for money, since you are likely to find something here to add to your own repertoire.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 20 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMAGIC MEDLEY is analogous to the tough pool event that incorporates four major swim strokes. With the ability to swim different strokes (sleights and techniques), you have more versatility in how you achieve your results (performance impact). In this case, Paul presents his working repertoire with a medley of cards, coins, silks and mentalism. Although simplicity is the key here, Paul’s effects are not always simple and require some degree of skillfulness. Presenting yourself is a key to success in performing magic. He demonstrates his chops with coins in the accompanying two videos for ‘Coin(s) Production’. A much easier version of his coin-work (but no less spectacular) is ‘Coin Gone’. As always, I urge you to read his essay ‘Taking Control’ that is laced with his tacit wisdom and experience for the working professional and dedicated performer. Enjoy this book, as I did.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 18 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyCards, coins, silks, rings, ESP & more. The strength of Paul's work is in its simplicity in achieving direct, commercial/real world magical entertainment. Advise from a pro is priceless. I found subtle, practice nuances here I will immediately use too in my day to day handlings.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 18 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMagic Medley by Paul Lelekis has something great for everyone. Here is a wide variety of well thought out effects, any one of which will enhance your close up performance. Cards, Coins, Silks, Rings and even a little ESP. As with all of Paul’s books, there is plenty of great advice and professional tips given with each effect throughout the book. Two chapters, “Taking Control” and “In Conclusion” are dedicated exclusively to sound professional advice learned from years of experience as a professional entertainer. The effects and methods presented here are all very practical and entertaining. Check out “Comedy Vanishing Silk” for sure if you want a good laugh! Some outstanding utility moves presented throughout like some very useful coin production and vanishes, and I particularly enjoyed the advice and methods on the “Tilt” move in both “Miracle Sandwich” and “Jackwich”. A perfect example of learning a new move or a nuance that will enhance and likely make stronger effects that you already perform! Paul has a fantastic way of finding just the right way of simplifying difficult moves without having anything taken away from the effect. In most cases, the effect has even more of an impact on your audience and is stronger overall! Even if you are using a different method for a similar effect you will likely find yourself substituting some of Paul’s moves into your effect to make it easier with a better flow to it. For example, I’m now sold on using Paul’s method presented in “Miracle Sandwich”. I have been performing a Collectors (Sandwich) effect that had many more moves including some palming and in “Miracle Sandwich” I discovered a method that has less moves and has eliminated the palming and leaves the effect as strong as ever! Sold! Magic Medley shows you ways you can take control, improve your presentation and performance, and have loads of fun at the same time!


S.P.I.T: Secretly Peeked Information Technique

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 14 March, 2017)

S.P.I.T: Secretly Peeked Information TechniqueVery Deceptive, Very Easy

You can do it with a few business cards/index cards or the whole stack.

Method 1, Impromptu.

Method 2, Require set up which is really 3 seconds to make, few minutes to tune. Improve method 1 with more safe option. In my opinion it is more reliable than method 1.

Method 3, Variation of method 2


Three Cheers for the Underrated

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 10 March, 2017)

Three Cheers for the UnderratedThree routines for $95! I understand Jermay's thinking about price: If it's high, then it will keep curious amateurs away. I like all three routines. Are they worth $95 together? Probably not. But I didn't feel burned or buyer's remorse from my purchase.

Taking a look at the routines, the first one, Three Questions, is my favorite because it puts three insanely clever propless mentalism gambits together so that you can name somebody's Zodiac sign in three questions, without using a progressive anagram. Actually, it's better than that. The three questions are basically just phony cover. As an added bonus to this effect, Jermay gives you a cool principle to apply to a progressive anagram for phobias. (OK, so it's an unadvertised four routines for $95.)

Next up is the Ultimate Add-a-Number. I love the classic Add-a-Number effects because they play big to crowds, and you can do them either with gimmicks or with basically nothing. (In other words, you can use a leather-bound Basil Horowitz locking pad, a gimmicked calculator, Dan Harlan's small pad of PostIt Notes, or Banachek's two 3x5 cards glued together. It's up to you.) Jermay leaves it to you to choose your favorite way of doing the add-a-number method itself, but he adds a DR element and an obscure Ed Hess principle (which reminds me of, which I'd never seen before. This one is very cool. Batting average so far: two for two.

Finally, there is Strength, a light-heavy effect, using playing cards and a card box. It, too, is good and a worker, but of the three, probably the one routine that would ordinarily be a $9.95 download at Penguin magic.

If you are a pro, you will definitely add one or more of these routines to your show if you spend the money. If you are an amateur, ask Santa to put the ebook in your stocking for Christmas.


Diagonal Peek Wallet

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 10 March, 2017)

Diagonal Peek WalletI have an addiction to tricked-out wallets because I am fascinated by the ingenuity that goes into the various features. (I have a drawer filled with them.) The most fundamental thing that a wallet can do is give you a peek. There are several different ways to do that, but generally you either get the peek by placing the billet into the wallet and opening it a second time (making sure that you have a good justification to do so) like the Stealth Assassin or Infinity wallets, or you glimpse it immediately after closing it, as in the many iterations of Mark Strivings SUC. For a small amount of money, you can build your own no-reopen peek wallet. The plans here cost a fiver--and you will have to look around for a particular style of wallet and one other special item--but this is a great DIY wallet, one that you can use for mentalism and carry around as your everyday wallet. (If you are familiar with Acidus Novus, then you'll immediately recognize how it works.)

If you like easy DIY projects and want the pride of making your own cool peek wallet for about $20 total, this one's for you. For further research, Pablo Amira's Free Wallet works on a different principle--and the ebook is a bit more expensive--but you also get your own DIY peek wallet. And if you can find the long out-of-print Mind2Mind DVD by Marc Paul, he shows you how to make a peek wallet using the Diagonal Peek Wallet principle for absolutely nothing but your existing wallet and one item that you'll already have. I recommend these in addition to the cheap, but highly useful, Diagonal Peek Wallet.


Mind Index

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 09 March, 2017)

Mind IndexYou might think to yourself after reading the description of Mental Index by Dr. Bill that it is overpriced by about $10--eight effects for $40. But I'm here to tell you that it's not. In addition to those eight clever routines using only index or business cards, you get a reprint of the original instructions for Acidus Novus written by Millard Longman as well as a very short video of Longman himself showing you the move. Now any mentalist should know how to do Acidus Novus because it allows for some good impromptu routines. I know and use the move, but Longman's instructions taught me a few small nuances. In addition, there is a fairly clever one-ahead Mental Epic routine as well as a one-behind one too. Overall, this is a well written little manual on a universally applicable utility technique. I liked it a lot.


Snip-Snip Want Ad Test

reviewed by trevor fletcher (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 08 March, 2017)

Snip-Snip Want Ad TestI thought I was getting a new idea with this purchase. Maybe I should have read the 'fine print'. I have known this method since before I started getting into the performing side of mentalism/magic. If you know a method for this effect that can be done impromptu, this is probably the same one.

However, if this effect is new to you, then by all means, grab this one right now, it IS a great method for a nice effect. I just expected a new/different method is all.


Mental Zen

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 01 March, 2017)

Mental ZenI was familiar with Jason's Tube effects, which are really fun, modern, high-tech things, but I didn't know what to expect with one of his other ridiculously low-priced mentalism books. When I read it, I realized that he had taken one hoary, tried-and-true, classic mentalism method and applied it to some hoary, tried-and-true classic mentalism routines like Dead or Alive, Bank Night, and Q&A. And while I'm tempted to tell you what the classic method is, I won't--but you'll know it. (Hint: If you have Nardi and Spelmann's wonderful impromptu mentalism DVD, The Unexpected, you'll see the inspiration.) I'm still smiling. The method is not original, nor are the routines themselves, but I couldn't help but really enjoy this little ebook. There is good thinking involved here, very good thinking indeed, to take a single concept, refine it, and apply it across the board to such disparate routines. There's even a bonus routine by the great Ted Karmilovich that, with a tiny bit of pre-show, would be a killer. I'm going to check out more of Jason's $4.95 bargains. One small word of advice: Jason, please fix the layout of the ebook. Double-spaced text with no paragraph indentation and triple spacing between paragraphs is not only ugly with all that white space, but it's also hard to read. Otherwise, for the cost of a Starbucks, you'll definitely pick up a routine or two to add to your repertoire.


Word Sight

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 01 March, 2017)

Word SightDevin has another winner here with a dictionary book test. Once I saw how it worked, I slapped my head, and said, "Of course. Leo Boudreau would just chuckle and get a big kick out of this." (Bourdreau is one of my idols. His legendary stuff is so original and baffling that it looks exactly like real mindreading. No shit...ake mushrooms!") Anyway, while it is technically a restricted range book test--you'll be able to divine two out of a couple of hundred different words--it's totally baffling. You simply have one or two spectators choose a couple of words off of a "word enrichment" list, look them up in the dictionary, and concentrate on them. The spectators say absolutely nothing. You then can immediately tell them the two words. That's it. There is no force, no peek, no progressive anagram, no impression pad, no MOABT gimmicked book, no need to know the page number... You just need to get a dictionary and type up some word lists. in other words, while this is an Al Mann concept, it is exactly the kind of thing Boudreau has in his lybrary ebooks like Psimatrika. If you love book tests--and who doesn't?--try this one. For $18 and the price of a cheap paperback dictionary, you have a mentalism miracle in your pocket. Highest recommendation.


Far Sight

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 01 March, 2017)

Far SightDon't get me wrong. This is an ingenious method to suss out a card from 15 to 20 feet away. (Devin claims that his outer limit is 30 feet. Wow!) That's amazing. If you pay close attention to the working of the trick--and I'm not going to give you that and spoil it--you'll figure out how it's done. And for $5, this is a real corker of an effect. (You can go down the hall and predict what card the spectator has selected. Just awesome!) The downside is that you are going to have to spend some money to make this one work. If you don't have everything that you need lying around--and I didn't--be prepared to spend up to $40-$50. But once you've done that, you are set for life with this showstopper. Two other points aren't necessarily negatives, but you should be aware of them: (1) this really can be the only mentalism-with-cards routine in your show; and (2) you need some audience management--the spectator has to follow your directions exactly--because the cards cannot be inspected. If you are still interested, your fiver plus will be well spent. Recommended.


No Jacket Required: The Tiepit

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 28 February, 2017)

No Jacket Required: The TiepitThis extremely innovative idea by Enrico Varella is nothing short of genius! Now you can perform vanishes and ditches of an enormous number of props, gimmicks, coins, decks, paddles, bills, eggs, billets etc. - with NO JACKET! Many creative ideas and tricks are presented to bring the level of your magic up several notches! Thank you Enrico for finally releasing your "pet" utility item! This will be the wave of the future...do NOT hesitate to get this!


PYO Book Test

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 24 February, 2017)

PYO Book TestI love mentalism book tests. They are classic, crowd-pleasing, and just plain fun to do. I also love the many different methodologies and routines--from Marc Paul's hilariously bold AAA Book Test to Ted Karmilovich's MOABT to Rick Roth's spooky Outlaw Effects stuff. I have dozens of them. Some are relatively inexpensive (Paul Romhany's travel book, for example, is a bargain) while others like the aforementioned MOABT are quite pricey. Out of the pack comes crazy--and I mean that in a good way--Dee Christopher who gives you his book test which you can customize and print anyway you want. For cheap. Really cheap. Someone spilled coffee on your "Print Your Own" book? No sweat, replacement is about $5. Want to do something different and add Larry Becker's Flashback feature to the book? It's easy to edit the file and do so. Don't like the cover options? Make one of your own. The possibilities are unlimited--and you have an endless supply of replacement books.

As others have said, this is a bargain, a great bargain. Dee obviously spent many hours putting together the files that you need to print your own books, including giving you a choice of five different color covers. And if you follow his instructions and zip on over to www.lulu.com, you can put together a book and have it in the mail to yourself in no time for a pittance. (I live in a far flung place off the grid. The U.S. postage for shipping cost more than printing the book, but the total was still about $7.) With a little more work, you don't even have to get it printed you can make an ebook. You can't beat that deal.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention, the book test itself is pretty awesome. It's not just about divining the first or last word on a page. By just knowing the page number, you can tell your spectators pretty much what is on the page in a lot of detail. (Dee candidly admits that he took a "page" from Outlaw Effects stunningly brilliant methodologies.)

So to sum up, here's a DIY book test that is fast, cheap, and terrific. What else do you need to be convinced? Highest recommendation.


MAC: The Mentalist's Ambitious Card

reviewed by Ryan fricke (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 19 February, 2017)

MAC: The Mentalist's Ambitious CardHello everyone,

I have recently purchased this ebook (MAC). First off I was immediately impressed with the idea of a mentalist ambitious card routine. I was more than pleased with what I have received. Initially reading this I was not super impressed because of the explanation of his handling is not much different from all the other ambitious cards you may run across. However, once I continued to read is where I was truly impressed with the thinking. I believe at one point or another we have performed the method, but the concepts he teaches when it comes to the mentalism side of the "mentalist" ambitious card are very well thought out and performed properly are very strong.

Thanks for this offering Nico keep up the hard work.


Clock Your Boston Qualifier: By Running Less, and Running Faster

reviewed by Andre Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 18 February, 2017)

Clock Your Boston Qualifier: By Running Less, and Running FasterEnrico’s book applies to anyone wishing to take their running to the next level. It draws from his experience as a runner. Enrico's journey -- which starts off with his first marathon in Hong Kong and finally qualifying for Boston -- is impressive, and a strong motivator. It certainly helped me return to running after suffering a massive ankle fracture.

The book changed the way I thought about training. It doesn’t go into technical details nor does it require adhering to rigid rules. Instead, it sets the stage for you to draw up your own training plan, and to train smarter.

This is a great all-round book, whether you aim to finish your first 5K or qualify for Boston.


Crisis

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 14 February, 2017)

CrisisCrisis is a set of four routines using currency, Post-it notes, and a Sharpie. That's it. Minimalism at its best. Let's get right to the point, as the author candidly admits, that there's really nothing new here. And there isn't.

Game is a prediction of what the result of three rounds of "which hand" will be. Lots of people do this--and Marc Paul taught it on his classic, but now out-of-print, Mind2Mind DVD. Bothra does make fairly cool use of two Post-it notes for his MOs prediction. The technique, though, reminded me a lot of Gerard Zitta's somewhat similar "Janus."

Location is another effect done by a lot of mentalists. It kind of resembles the commercial effect Espionage in predicting the location of objects using a variation of the Free Will Principle by Deddy Corbuzier,,

O Dear is a Post-it note version of Dead or Alive. I've seen a similar routine on a Dan Harlan video, as well as in Julian Moore's epic masterpiece on all the things you can do with Post-it notes, Post-Justify.

4 Thoughts is a straight OA Mental Epic with four folded slips of paper. The only thing that I hadn't seen before was the force that he suggests for the fourth choice. It's different, but it's not necessarily better than what folks usually use.

Overall, this is not a bad little ebook. I do variations of all four of these routines because they are classics and pretty effective. Richard Osterlind's working of the OA principle used in 4 Thoughts is much superior, and the only way that I do that routine. The book comes with a short, somewhat error-ridden, but overall helpful MP4 file.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1514 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
03/26/2017
© 2017 Lybrary.com