Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1289 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Heart Matricks

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 23 July, 2016)

Heart MatricksI had to read this a couple of times but it is another GREAT effect by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST. While MIND MATRICKS cannot be beat for entertainment value this is a great companion value. The effect CAN be done both humorously and seriously/emotionally. I'm glad to have purchased MIND MATRICKS, HEART MATRICKS, and TRIALOGUE from a great friend!!!

By the way, if you like the principle found in MIND MATRICKS and HEART MATRICKS, you might also want to purchase the ebook by Sam Dalal called 'Magic with an ESP Deck'. (Sold by Lybrary.com) The effect is called 'One in 14,400'. I have used it for quite a few years as it is very effective for the spectators as it makes THEM look psychic.

Thanks for updating this principle!

Again, my compliments to the Unknown Mentalist.

David W. Burmeister


Mind Matricks

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 23 July, 2016)

Mind MatricksThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again. This is an old effect that is modernized. I would recommend buying this immediately. It is a great effect with a great theme.

David W. Burmeister


Trialogue

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 23 July, 2016)

TrialogueThis is another great effect by the Unknown Mentalist. I have so many great effects of his that I can't keep up with everything but I know that this will keep the spectators in awe. I will definitely print these cards up in the future.

David W. Burmeister


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

Golf Ball in GlassDevin Knight has covered all that is important use items that spectators would not expect or have seen used in a magic effect routine with amazed responce


52.13 ACAAN

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

52.13 ACAANI purposely wont give a revue on this work instead I recommend purchase, learn, perfect, practice and perform for your self and you too will soon like this writers creative thinking mind. You wont be sorry for your small investment it will also inspire your own mind too


The Milky Way

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

The Milky WayThese three entertaining effects with real drinkable milk ( Yes: real fresh cold milk! ) - in a real glass - have been revived and modernized from a lost U.F. Grant description. They can be performed for adults and children, and two of them are made for using at least two participants at a magic show. They are baffling. Devin explains how to inexpensively make the props yourself, and has figured out how to always keep the milk fresh and cold. His instructions for performance are clear and well written. This really is a lost and unattainable manuscript, and you will enjoy performing Devin’s updated versions of these three effects. Don’t pass this up. These effects could be the hit of your magic show.


Untraceable

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 19 July, 2016)

UntraceableNice applications of an old principle. Especially like the first effect, it is very clever.


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 15 July, 2016)

Golf Ball in GlassThe golf ball in glass was used on the Penn & Teller Fool Us TV show. The magician used a force to have an item chosen from a list. It was a golf ball. He showed a duplicate empty jar which was secretly switched. A golf ball appeared inside the jar; he showed it could not be removed, proving it must have materialized inside. (Otherwise, how else did it get inside the jar?) This was a clever use of this idea, showing how this impossible object can be applied to magic routines and not just as a novelty to look at. A clever idea worth knowing.


Advanced Card Control Volume 2: False Deals

reviewed by KEITH FALER (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 13 July, 2016)

Advanced Card Control Volume 2: False DealsGreat video, highly recocommend it. I have 17 video clips of this series, also. I don't like the zip download format though. You'r paying $29 for the video, which is expensive, so why not watch it, several times?? Instead of just watching clips that suit your particular needs. I like to watch the video, several times, just to get the general overview, and a better perspective, of what's being taught.Then after that, I will then pick out several clips, that I can use, for my own card manipulations. You can't get that from books. Books are very limited, not enough illustrations, and a waste of time to go through. With videos, you can eliminate the guessing games, you'll get, in reading books.

This is in response to the product description.


Let's Take A Breather

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 12 July, 2016)

Let's Take A BreatherHere is another outstanding contribution to card magic from Paul Lelekis. Written in Paul's pleasant and easy to grasp style he explores some practical uses for the Breather Crimp. For those new to the Breather Crimp, Paul fully explains this secret device used as a tool to locate cards and aid in the execution of some amazing card magic. The making of the crimp is clearly illustrated and very easy to construct. Paul starts by giving some easy to understand and very practical advice that will help you incorporate the Breather Crimp into your own routines and generally improve your magic overall. As always his advice and performance suggestions are very solid "down to earth" based on real life experience from a person who has as we say in the education field, clearly learned by doing! The routines are all very approachable by the average magician and as with much of Paul's material the impact on the audience far exceeds the technical effort the magician has to put into them. These routines work great and they are comfortable to perform with most of your concentration on the presentation. Take advantage of this opportunity to learn all about this amazing card utility. Here is another solid winner from Paul Lelekis for all of us to benefit from and enjoy!


Winnebago: an experiment in remote viewing

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 12 July, 2016)

Winnebago: an experiment in remote viewingWinnebago is essentially "Calling the Cards"--or in this case, card--with the twist of having the spectator as mentalist. (Watch Richard Osterlind's version of Calling the Cards on a few of his DVDs with the spectator's having three cards in his pocket. It is fantastic.) The routine, played as remote viewing, is OK; it will definitely work if you have a standard mentalism technique down cold; and although I haven't performed it yet, I am fairly certain that I could get a nice reaction out of it. But it's just not worth $15, more like $8 or $5--or maybe even less as one of nine effects in a version of Mark Elsdon's classic Conversation as Mentalism booklets that go for $30 each. Anyway, I hate to be negative to sincere, hardworking mentalists who put out material, but my rating reflects a good effect that is way overpriced.


The Best Short Change Scam Ever

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 11 July, 2016)

The Best Short Change Scam EverThis is really very well done. Devin first explains this scam in a way that that he plays the part of a scammer, and Devin’s writing fooled me and several other people - we would have lost money. Then he gives a clear unambiguous explanation of how the scam works, and Devin, in addition, gives good instruction on how to defend yourself from the scam by detecting that someone is attempting to pull it on you. This is necessary because several former storekeepers told me that they were once swindled by it, and that it is still practiced by scammers today. Good reading, and worth knowing.


Otzi the Iceman

reviewed by Randy Arnold
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 11 July, 2016)

Otzi the IcemanThis version of how Otzi died is clearly more plausible than the Museum's Neolithic arrow shot conclusion. This book is loaded with pictures that make the case for why Otzi was at 10,500 feet, where he came from and where he was headed. It will most probably change the nature of the discussion.


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Alfred Dowaliby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickToday I acquired "Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick. As a professional magician for over 20 years who believes that patter (aka script) and presentation are the most important component of selling a routine to the audience, I was delighted. Mr. Brodahl has combined and incorporated elements of deception, psychology, comedy, and what Dai Vernon called an "emotional hook," into this very cleverly devised routine. The 21 Card Trick is a very old trick and quite likely the first card trick learned by the overwhelming majority of people who try their hand at doing a card trick. In its original incarnation, it is still a baffling effect: After all, when asked in an interview how he got into magic, Ed Marlo said [paraphrased], "I saw the 21 Card trick and that was it; I never turned back."

Mr. Brodahl has cleverly camouflaged the fact that, in essence, the trick is the 21 Card Trick. The hook is a test of the spectator's psychic abilities which from the outset, diverts the focus upon it being a hackneyed mechanical/mathematical card trick. I am sure that, at least laymen, will not recognize it as the trick they themselves learned. Without the necessity for difficult or complex sleights, there are a number of ruses and deviations from the classic handling that create impermeable layers of disguise that will not be seen through by any but perhaps the most ingenious of observers - and that's what this script and routine created by Larry is: ingenious.

Postscript: Despite my many years in magic, I had never come across the Jay Ose false cut, which is utilized to great advantage in the routine. It is amazing and ironic to me that if the cards were cut into three piles (as in the initial part of the cut) and then reassembled "fairly," i.e., in a manner that would result in the cards being truly cut, it would look like a false cut, whereas when the procedure of the Jay Ose false cut is followed in the reassembly of the three piles, it looks like a real cut. I will be definitely using the cut in my card magic.


Just Think

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Just ThinkThis one goes way back. I got Just Think because I was curious. I had an idea of how it worked--and I was right. And for those of you who get this, you will immediately note that this effect uses the same principle as a famous item that has been on the market since the 1950s, though this version is 100% pure and uses no gimmicks whatsoever. I like Devin's use of this effect as after-show individual future telling and also his performance hints. I don't think that you can effectively use it for a main act unless, of course, you are a real fortune teller because to quote Rick Maue, "TERASABOS." Pros will know what I mean and could make some use of this. Mentalism neophytes, despite your skepticism, this kind of stuff really does work. But it takes chutzpah, audience management, personality, and experience.


Ask Pythagoras

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Ask PythagorasThis is a great effect and Robin Gillett is another nice mentalist that I consider a friend.

This might scare some of you at the beginning because of the mathematical equations are shown. The mathematical equations just show you how this mathematical puzzle started. It even has a crib sheet so you can literally read the reading to the spectator.

But don't be afraid...This is Great!

If you can add and subtract YOU can do this.

Plus THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST has a routine that I know a lot of us will be doing also.

I now have four different effects I can do with the illusion of numerology and all really boggle spectators.

I definitely give this a 5+ star rating

David W. Burmeister


Getting Started with Polymer

reviewed by Vladimir Shnurkov
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Getting Started with PolymerIt's really awesome to read this book. The author is explaining every important detail about Polymer and Material Design. Thank you!


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Ferry Gerats
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 09 July, 2016)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickVery good publication. Amazing that it is free. Mr. Brodahl shows you how to turn the old hackneyed 21 cardtrick into entertainment. At the same time the given presentation obscures the fact that a mathematical procedure is the modus operandi for locating the chosen card. On top of that Mr. Brodahl also gives you an insight how the presentation came about. So if you want to acquire the skill to make your own presentations there is a wonderful lesson to be learned here!


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Dave Arch
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 09 July, 2016)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickWho can make the 21 Card Trick entertaining? Larry Brodahl and does in his Scripted #4 manuscript. In addition, I found several of his script ideas immediately applicable to other routines I currently perform. The greatest mystery of all is why it's free. Some very fresh thinking.


Elemental 2

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 09 July, 2016)

Elemental 2Again I want to compliment THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST about doing a great job with ELEMENTAL 2 and ELEMENTAL.

I do want to say that this requires a lot more memory work than SIGNATURE and STAR SIGNATURE but is well worth it.

Imagine revealing pretty much everything regarding the zodiac sign etc as these routines describe.

I'm proud to have this effect in my STAR SIGN collection from the UNKNOWN MENTALIST.

David W. Burmeister

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1289 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
07/23/2016
© 2016 Lybrary.com