Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1378 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Karma Deck Psyclical

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 25 May, 2016)

Karma Deck PsyclicalI am amazed and speechless! With Psyclical, I think Karma Deck becomes the ONLY stack which can be used both as a memorized deck as well as a cyclical stack and still maintains random values and suits - that too with 7 different stacks. IMHO, this is absolutely unbeatable. No other stack can offer so much - I'm pretty sure. All this without any memory work. There is no problem even if I do not perform stack magic regularly. Truly ideal benefits. Planning to pick up Deckcelence & Amazers soon. The routines in Psyclical as well as Karma Deck Pro are fab and solid. This whole set along with some of my own routines should give me a lifetime of stack magic. Incredible!


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 24 May, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVI love this series of card magic! I would definitely recommend new card-workers to focus on these classics. What Paul has done in this instalment, in his signature style, is re-boot them slightly to meet contemporary audiences: simplified handling, sensible patter, and relevant use of sleights. Of these six effects, Kannibal Kards went straight into my performing repertoire! It is almost a card act in itself, with a fascinating story and 'twist'. It is hard to single out 'classics' as each creator designed it with a specific 'plot' in mind, so the performer would benefit from learning them all, and integrating them all in your show. You will know each originator/creator intimately by the end of your practice: Searles, Marlo, Steinmeyer (9-Card Principle), Gardner, Trost, and of course, Lelekis. Paul breathes new life and enthusiasm into each of these 'classics', and I assure you that you will likely and rightly perform these strong, time-tested, routines - which Paul has already done for us. Each of the four 'classes' in the Classic Card Magic series is a 'class act' in itself. Buy them, study them, and apply them, and enjoy your applause.


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Doug Lippert
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 24 May, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVI'm so glad Paul has decided to share more of his expert card technique with the magical fraternity. Paul is one of the top card magicians in the world and it shows when he tips his professional routining of such famous card effects such Lin Searles's "The Kannibal Kards," Nick Trost's "Brain Wave," Martin Gardner's "Spectator Cuts the Aces," and Steinmeyer's "9 Card Principle." But Paul really shines when he tips his own card magic. Lelekis's "Psychotic Bluff Aces" is not to be missed. The big Ace reveal at the end will floor them!

Paul's handlings are superb. But, what really stands out is his attention to detail to deliver maximum impact. These routines are not the work of a fly by night 12 year old card mechanic. Paul is a pro and you'll know it by reading his card handling tips. Paul's advice on how to perform the Ascanio Spread and the Olram Subtlety are worth the price of admission by themselves. The book is professionally produced and proof-read. An excellent addition to my magic library.


I Am Somebody Special

reviewed by Matie Gonzalez
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 24 May, 2016)

I Am Somebody SpecialThis book is great. I love Penelope. I wish I could go outside and play with her right now. Children do need to want to be friends with others no matter what they look like. This is so important. I wish there were more books with this message.


Trialogue

reviewed by Angela X (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 24 May, 2016)

TrialogueI could perform this a few times so far. Always, the reaction has been one of stunned silence. This appears so real. What a fantastic routine !! Very mysterious and unfathomable. The props are ingenious and the test card is fabulous. I will now always have this on me. The entire routine and alternatives are so well structured. Highly recommended.


Uncle John's Bathroom Reader Wonderful World of Odd

reviewed by Jayden Asay
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2016)

Uncle John's Bathroom Reader Wonderful World of OddThe book "Wonderful World of odd" by The Bathroom readers institute is a extremely mind grabbing book. I personally liked how the book was layed out in sections, and that the sections were random, and all of the facts went with the subject. After each section I read, I wanted to read another, and another. Although there were not many pictures at all, so sometimes I couldn't understand what the fact meant, or what they were describing looked like. Some facts that stood out to me were, that spider silk as thick as a pencil can stop an airliner jet, and that a swarm of bees defecate(Pee) on light colored vehicles. I really enjoyed reading this book, if you like to read random things, this is the perfect book for you.


Dark Horizon

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2016)

Dark HorizonThis is another great effect with a minimum of props. I use it very frequently and it leaves the spectator stunned.

David Burmeister


Con-spy-ring

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2016)

Con-spy-ringThe CENTURY of COINCIDENCE in my opinion is a must have effect. It is easy to do and has a strong effect on the spectator.

David Burmeister


Karma Deck Psyclical

reviewed by Kumar BNS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2016)

Karma Deck PsyclicalTo me the Karma Deck system seems like a deep diamond mine - the more you dig the more gems seem to come out. I have them all - Karma Deck, Pro, Kommando Kard, Deckcelence, Amazers - and what a great investment this has been. The 'Psyclical' idea is fantastic - simple and effective and more importantly - very easy. The 3 routines included are superb - again very simple with high impact. I am really enjoying this 'Karma Deck' journey.


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVPaul is serious full-time pro with decades of experience whose audience tested routines entertain people in the real world.


MPAC: Mentalist Propless. Audience Clueless

reviewed by David Burmeister
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

MPAC: Mentalist Propless. Audience CluelessI personally like this MPAC routine also even though it requires some math skills it is very nice.

David W. Burmeister


Kommando Kard

reviewed by David Burmeister
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Kommando KardThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again. I would recommend buying the KARMA DECK and KARMA DECK PRO first, and then you might as well buy this.

What you get is a dynamite card you can print off to do various mentalism and super memory stunts. Of course if you don't buy it you'll only have yourself to blame and I'll be glad to use these effects for myself.

David W. Burmeister


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by David Burmeister
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProI just ordered and read KARMA DECK PRO.

I am amazed with this ebook. It is a very thorough explanation of various KARMA deck stacks. One thing for sure, the Unknown Mentalist knows his deck stacks along with various other mentalism routines. I'm proud to have him for a friend.

In my opinion you HAVE to get anything to do with the KARMA deck, SLOKA deck, SI STEBBINS, and YOGIK decks. Not to mention the SUIT ORDER SYSTEMS.

I have used and like stacked decks for over 30 years but this author really opened my eyes and amazed me with his ideas.

I am all the better with this and you will be too!

David W. Burmeister


Angel Card Rise Plus

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Angel Card Rise PlusA good book(let). It gives you a completely practical method to make a card rise that will fool people. The material he recommends using can probably be replaced with more modern "stuff", but the handling, etc. is top-notch.

It gave me a ton of ideas to play with.


Karma Deck Psyclical

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Karma Deck PsyclicalThe Deck That simply continues to grow in size with more routines from it creative thinker and creator The Unknown Mentalist. Who is still one of the newest writers I follow with great interest and pride.


Businessassins

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

BusinessassinsWhen someone like Paul Hallas gives a great review, there will be nothing more for me to add except that I too love these unusual ideas and routines. I got this a few weeks back and could perform each of the 3 routines over a dozen times, so far and got great reactions. My favs are Telepathy Test and Lucky Fingerprint, although I feel Digital Destiny is an absolutely new principle and holds a lot of potential. The best part of the routine construction here is that the 'effect' happens many hours or even days after I hand over my business card and many times it happened remotely over phone. That's a killer feature. Looking forward to getting Businessassins 2 as soon as possible. This is a great buy, highly recommended.


Elemental

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

ElementalThe original fantastic classic principle was unfortunately reduced to a toy. But in Elemental it gets resurrected as a powerful mind reading tool. The author has given a clever new direction to the way this can be performed. The attention to detail is very deep. An enormous load of highly useful information is made available. The ideas behind the printable props are marvellous. I got this a while ago and could perform this many times so far. Easy to carry, very easy to perform and always gets stunned reactions. Apart from the main trick, there are couple of other tricks like day for date and magic square etc which are really cool. I am enjoying performing this. Strongly recommended.


Dark Horizon

reviewed by Paul Hallas (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 20 May, 2016)

Dark HorizonI loved this one. A truly wonderful theme and presentation. So far I've only used it in close up situations, but at some point I know it will graduate to larger performances.


Businessassins

reviewed by Paul Hallas
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 20 May, 2016)

BusinessassinsBusinessassins 1 and 2 Review by Paul Hallas.

It makes sense to me to review these e-booklets together. The introduction to both books is identical as the theme of each booklet is the same: routines with business cards for the mentalist (though some magicians may be interested too). There are three detailed routines in each booklet with variations on some of them included and material to print out so you can get them printed on your business cards or print on stickers to add to your business cards while you experiment with the routines. If you like the first book, you’ll want the second.

There have been booklets on routines with business cards before (I wrote one myself decades ago) but these are aimed more for those who lean towards mentalism. The mentalist might write a prediction on a business card before leaving it with someone or do a ‘flash’ magic square a la Roy Johnson or Doug Dyment but the routines in these booklets are meant to be more interactive and in some cases done over the phone later. The idea is that the person you give the business card to prompts the demonstration by asking about what he sees on your card.

Just as there are some mentalists that don’t like to use playing cards I’ve come across some that don’t like to use printed lists so if you’re one of those then walk right on by. For the most part the routines use mathematical principles and clever forces so the mere mention of math has lost some more readers unless you’ve previously read anything by The Unknown Mentalist in which case you might stick around.

The first routine in the first booklet is called Telepathy Test. On the back of the business card is what looks like a word search puzzle and a list of words. After the performers introductory patter the participant chooses a word and looks for it in the puzzle. The performer is able to reveal the word he is looking at.

Routine two is called Digital Destiny. Apart from information on the business card (a list of words) another small card is used with different years on in three different colors. One side of the card has dates from the past and the other the future. In the simplest version of the routine as soon as someone picks a color you know which word they will eventually end up with.

Other versions of the routine are given where the color is never used. If I were to make this up I’d eliminate the first line on the future dates side of the card as they are years that have already gone. Also you’d pick younger people to do this with, if someone my age picked some of the later dates they’d be dead before the date arrived so the final word arrived at would not be significant in any way. A very unusual limiting force is used with this routine involving digital numbers and whilst I found it interesting, I thought it too many hoops to jump through to reveal a word. Maybe it will open the door to people giving readings based on the digital segments in someone’s date of birth?

The third routine is a humorous one, the spectator’s fingerprint apparently appears on your business card. It’s taken as a bit of a joke but eventually an ESP symbol he is concentrating on appears in the fingerprint. No mathematics in this one, but you need a Frixion pen. And if you have one, there’s also a killer use for it in the second booklet.

Universal Answer is the first routine in Businessassins 2. I found this one amusing as the spectator finds the answer to the meaning of life. A 25 square grid full of words is on the back of your business card. An alternative grid with symbols/pictures could also be used and while that does look better, the word grid is far more practical if you were going to do this over the phone, as pictures can be described by people in different ways, and in the end the participant has to use words for the images anyway. At first I thought the use of ‘traffic light’ seemed out of place as a choice and something else could be substituted, but then realized it doesn’t matter as the climax shows this is not to be taken too seriously (which is not to say the person won’t be baffled).

This is an unusual application of an old force and whilst the author mentions in passing that some of the routines in the booklet with a little thought could be sized up for bigger audiences it made me think of some of Martin Gardner’s bigger prediction squares and using words perhaps for those (see The Magic Magazine, February 1975 or Martin Gardner Presents p.141) but I know I never will.

The second routine in book 2 is Zodiac Zap. A mixture of principles here, one is the use of a Friction pen but I can imagine this having quite an impact as everything written on the back of the business card disappears except for the date you met and the participants zodiac sign which you could not possibly have known.

The final routine in this booklet, Fast Forecast is another routine with a list of words on the back of your business cards. These forty five words represent positive development for the subject at different times. Under the guise of a numerological experiment the participant is guided through a series of calculations with information the mentalist could not know and the resultant number leads to a word on the list which the performer is able to slowly reveal. All the possible words can be milked for a positive future forecast.

If you get just one routine from these booklets that you are going to use a lot, then it’s a good investment. The principles, thinking and presentations described may very well spark your own imagination.


Rupert Howard Magic Course: Lesson 09: Handkerchief Magic

reviewed by KEITH FALER (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 20 May, 2016)

Rupert Howard Magic Course: Lesson 09: Handkerchief MagicI just owned 7-out of 25 lessons, and I will just give a general review, for those lessons.They're a great start for the beginner, but limited in scope and depth of material. The black & white photos are not close up, so it can be hard to see small objects. They have some drawings, as well. They are a good supplement to any magic library, but not a complete course, by itself.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1378 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
05/25/2016
© 2016 Lybrary.com