Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1339 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


My Favorites

reviewed by Mark Dilliway (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 22 September, 2016)

My FavoritesThere are lots of kids publishing lots of card effects. But if you want quality effects by a true professional, then look no further than Mr. Lelekis! This man earns his Buckolas' by performing and creating TOP QUALITY material. The sort of material that will leave your audience's jaws all agog! This book is no different, his version of the Dream Card is literally the very best card effect I have ever learned / read. Top notch thinking with a truly amazing climax. This guy knows his onions, there's no silly hype which proves to be hot air. These are effects to get excited about. If you haven't already indulged in any of his works, now is a great time to start, and I guarantee that you won't be disappointed. At the end of the day, if you want to perform truly outstanding effects that WILL please your spectators, then learn from the man that does this day in, day out. Yes, I am a fan, but why wouldn't I be. This is true working material. Two words 'BUY NOW'.


Kommando Kard

reviewed by Robin Gillett (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 21 September, 2016)

Kommando KardI love the Karma Deck, but it only allows casual examination by the spectators. The Kommando Kard allows you to perform many of the effects that require a stacked deck, but (1) WITHOUT a deck of cards AND (2) it will withstand examination by the audience. Like the old American Express commercial. "Don't leave home without it!"


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVTHE KANNIBAL KARDS is the reason for my purchase of this quality work other accompanying effect are practical too well done to the author.


Osmosis

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

OsmosisMy review will not do this work justice but those who have already contributed their thought's example Rick Carruth from magic road show fame and Magic Tips and Tricks which can be purchased from Amazon in paperback and kindle, Rick knows the quality of this author's work which can quite often be found in issues of the road show so don't let the lemon float by give the work some purchase and reading and practice time you will not be sorry.


Thaumatology

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

ThaumatologyI like Jazz Ace routines so a chance to read the authors ideas one of which Michael Skinner - Skinner's Jazz Aces was a reason enough to purchase English born Peter Kane (1938-2004) created many memorable close-up magic effects. He also contributed articles/routines to various magic periodicals. His routine Jazz Aces which is an Ace Assembly card routine done with the aces and only four other cards which was first published in Another Card Session with Peter Kane (1971). Peter also used to perform this effect with 2 jumbo cards. It's a simplification of Seven Card Assembly by Edward Marlo. And excellent reading /recommended research is Jerry Mentzer jazz combo.


Help Me! I Am Losing My Sight! Critical Tips And Techniques To Help You Cope With Vision Loss

reviewed by Richard Metts
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

Help Me! I Am Losing My Sight! Critical Tips And Techniques To Help You Cope With Vision Loss"Help Me! I'm Losing My Sight - Critical Tips and Techniques to Help You Cope with Vision Loss" written by Darlene G. Smith is the best source of information for those with a visual impairment I ever read! This work just mixes a lot of common sense with humorous stories and technical information on the tools and services available for you and your visually challenged family and friends. For me the book helped me to understand important points for my visually challenged wife. Richard Metts, CPC


Thaumatology

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

Thaumatology“Thaumatology” by Paul Lelekis is an awesome, fun book. The title definition is perfect: Study of the performing of miracles. I love the great mix of material in this new book by Paul. Each one of these effects is indeed a little, or a big miracle. The non-card tricks are the kind of effects that are the perfect little trick to perform at a moment’s notice when asked to do a trick for someone. You will likely recognize many of these effects as they have been around for a while. Paul gives them new life in his fun and entertaining approach to each one of them. I particularly enjoyed revisiting “Match Burns Twice”, “Voodoo Ashes”, Marble Matrix” and “Math Magic”. These are terrific, ageless little miracles that are just so much fun to perform for people. Fantastic icebreakers that will get people talking! The card effects presented here are all killers that stand alone. “Jazz Aces”, “27 Card Trick”, “Color Changing Deck” (Marlo) are classics in their own right. As always, Paul’s style is very clear, easy to understand and to the point. His teaching is easy to follow as he illustrates the important points and finds just the right techniques to use so all unnecessary moves are eliminated. The emphasis is always on entertainment. Just reading through these effects really put a smile on my face. I know they will do the same for you.


Thaumatology

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

ThaumatologyPaul has done it again. Pure worker material to delight the paying public. Marbles, matches, math, & of course cards. Drop the dime, you will use this material to delight your friends & audiences.


The Amazing Memory Test

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

The Amazing Memory TestThis is Luke Jermay's take on Corinda's Step 3 Amazing Memory Test. While anything Luke Jermay says is worth reading, I'm not sure this is worth $25. First, Jermay has some ideas on adapting Corinda's objects to make them more personal and vivid. This is the kind of memory stuff that you can find elsewhere and was not of much use to me since long ago I'd committed Corinda's system to memory without change. Jermay's discussion of how to do a memory routine was useful, however, as was his idea to link it with a backward alphabet recitation. (Though I disagree with him on how to do that parlor trick. Get Devin Knight's fantastic, inexpensive book with great mnemonics from Lybrary, and you'll be able to recite the alphabet backward in under an hour of study. No kidding.)

I liked the material here, especially for someone who hasn't studied the Corinda step. (But why haven't you?) But it's just not worth the price.


The Best Short Change Scam Ever

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

The Best Short Change Scam EverIf you've ever seen the movie The Grifters, you will see John Cusack do a version of the short change scam. As Devin reminds us, this ebook is for educational purposes only because if you pull this routine on a shopkeeper, you are stealing, plain and simple. I've seen it used exactly one time in my life, many years ago, so I'm sure that there still are some practitioners of this out there. This ebook should probably be required reading for anyone who works in retail or at charity events. The short change is an insidious flim-flam.


How Psychics Locate Missing People

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

How Psychics Locate Missing PeopleFor $10 and 12 pages, I was intrigued, so I bit. And five minutes later, after finishing this ebook, all I could do was shake my head at a scam so ingenious, yet so diabolical, that I'd never have come up with it on my own in 10 lifetimes. Of course, I'm not a con artist. Anyway, you are getting a really obscure--and dangerous--phony psychic scam, one that if you do it, you will be committing a serious federal crime. It's an interesting read, but you have been warned. (Devin warns you too.)


Phenomental!

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

Phenomental!It's almost de rigueur in the mentalism field to put out a book, usually with nine effects, and slap a price tag of $30 on it. And the old adage goes that if you find at least one thing that you'll use, it was a good purchase. I have mixed feelings about Phenomental. First, you get eight effects, but it's more like five effects and three forces/subtleties, not full routines. I'm going to have to try out Vaporize even though I'm not a fan of dual reality. The Up Force is intriguing, like something that should be in Banachek's next volume of Psychological Subtleties. I think Influenza is the strongest routine here, though truth be told, it's a variation on an old Annemann idea, one that Looch and now Alexander Marsh have also gussied up. (And the video performance of it, in front of what appears to be a women's lavatory at a park, is completely underwhelming, especially since it edits out the move that you need to do.) The other stuff, like yet another handling of Out of this World and the WatchStop Principle, which is hardly original, really didn't do anything for me. I will say though that I was impressed that a few things actually used sleights, something that you don't see much of in mentalism, and that's good.

Overall, is it worth the 30 clams? Probably not quite for me. I had kind of the same tepid feeling with the author's Hand Which, where I liked a couple of his ideas, didn't like one in particular at all, and wasn't blown away. Influenza by itself might be worth about $15, Vaporize $9.95, and the Up Force belongs in a larger collection of psi-forces. I think the tipping point for purchase might be if you want another handling of OOTW. If not, Phenomental is probably a pass.


Underground Bottom Tear (UBT)

reviewed by Christian Fisanick
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 18 September, 2016)

Underground Bottom Tear (UBT)I've posted a review of UBT on another site, but I like it so much that I am going to tell you here that if you are new to mentalism and don't have a good billet peek, or you are not comfortable with the one that you are using, then you must give this a try. Once you work on it--and it's not that hard to do--you'll use it forever. As I said in my other review, it is a tear of the "instant/real-time peek" variety, unlike a traditional center tear. Bob Cassidy would question why one would use a technique where you take the peek when the audience is burning your hands as you rip up the billet instead of being more traditional and taking the peek on an offbeat or after a logical disconnect. That you have to answer for yourself. Whatever accomplishes the result deceptively is what you should use.

If you use another peek such as a classic center tear, Osterlind's Perfected Center Tear, etc., and it serves you well, you might not need this. Then again, for me, this is a real thing of beauty. It's quick, clean, and straightforward. Highest recommendation.


Couvert Peek

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 18 September, 2016)

Couvert PeekCourvert Peek shows you how to do a drawing duplication in the most minimalist way possible using three things: a business card, a coin envelope, and a pen. Nothing is gimmicked, and both the envelope and card may be given to the spectator because you draw the dupe on the outside of the envelope with the spectator's drawing on the card sealed inside. The peek move will take a little practice to get fast and smooth. (If you do it correctly, you get a split second to make the peek.) But if you are familiar with Paul Carnazzo's stuff like his brilliant Lookout Wallet, referenced here, or PaC Stack, you will understand the workings of this quickly.

This was a real treat to read. (And you get access to a very short private Youtube video which shows you just the move, both fast and slow--but not how to do it. For that you'll have to read the PDF.) If you take the time, it's cheap, simple, deceptive, and excellent, a mentalism effect that you can do anytime and anywhere. I note that creator Dan Dent gives a shout-out to Matt Mello's gimmicked Dark Arts envelope as an inspiration. I always carry a couple of those around with me to do a design duplication, but I think that I'm switching to Couvert Peek. Done well there's no downside, and there's nothing to clean up. And while the Dark Arts gimmick isn't at all difficult to make, it looks highly suspicious when compared to the ordinary, unaltered envelope of Couvert Peek. And you have to use some audience management skills with Dark Arts to keep the gimmick hidden--and you end dirty, unless you switch out the envelope. Once you get comfortable doing Dent's peek, all the dirty stuff is over before the spectator even realizes it. Highly recommended.


Perpetual Calendar for your iPod/iPhone/PDA/cell-phone

reviewed by Ferry Gerats (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 18 September, 2016)

Perpetual Calendar for your iPod/iPhone/PDA/cell-phoneHow wonderful to make this available. Thank you Scott Cram!


Advanced Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 17 September, 2016)

Advanced Brain KnewmerologyI thought I had better write a review on this. This in my opinion is ONE OF THE BEST EFFECTS OF THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I give it a 20+ rating. If you like this make sure you also check out ELEMENTAL, and his STAR SIGN DIVINATION effects also. THEY ARE GREAT!!! Not from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST, you might check out ASTRO GEMS which is a STAR SIGN divination and a different type of mental effect called FARMACOLOGY also. In my opinion they are also good mental effects and are sold by lybrary.com


Farmacology

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 17 September, 2016)

FarmacologyI don't know why I didn't get this sooner. It is another GREAT printable prop that can be used for close up mentalism. This effect may take a bit of practice and memorization to pull off effectively. I give it a 10+ rating. Again, don't let the price make you think of passing this by. In my opinion BUY IT NOW!!!


Astro Gems

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 17 September, 2016)

Astro GemsI LOVE mentalism effects which are simple, and have printable props that are interesting.

This is an effect I would definitely give a 10+ rating and I will use it along with my other printable props.

Well done !!!


Dark Horizon

reviewed by Michael Critchley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 16 September, 2016)

Dark HorizonA Very Clever piece of Mentalism and Very Clever Thinking.

Multiple Phases and Different Routines are possible with the methods covering both Prediction and Divination.

The plot and premise of Lost Languages is very unusual and makes for a very interesting and engaging presentation.

Something different and Highly Recommended.


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceThis is a short and direct way to force any one of six coins or other objects by a selection/elimination process. It takes a little bit of thought and practice, but it's good and certainly much better than the artificial looking "hot rod" force which involves counting or spelling. Add it to your arsenal of forces such as equivoque, PATEO, Quinta, and psi forces. It's a worker.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1339 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
09/25/2016
© 2016 Lybrary.com