Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Larry Brodahl

Read What Larry Brodahl Is Saying

15 ★★★★★ reviews
6 ★★★★ reviews
2 ★★★★★ reviews
2 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)


Commercial Gems Volume 3

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 3This booklet is the third in the series, and it doesn't disappoint either.

The first item mind reading teapot left me completely cold. It wouldn't fit my style, persona, or personal likes. But it is clever, well-thought out material.

#2 is PUNCH LINES, and it's worth the price of the booklet to a good comedic performer. Technically, it's a yawner, but if you're doing magic to learn techniques, you won't like any of Mr. Mellers' books.

Finally comes YOU READ MY MIND AND I'LL READ YOURS. Technically not that tough, but will require some courage to do. And once you learn it, you'll have an effect that is really solid. And I can't imagine a lay audience unraveling it at all.

It's a good solid book.


Commercial Gems Volume 2

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 2This booklet has one problem. There's so much good thinking in it.

The POCKET POWER is so stupidly clean and clever it almost makes you just blow past it. As I've said before, I read Mr. Mellers' to get ideas on HOW to think, not what. And this trick isn't new. But the premise is, and it makes great sense.

#2 in the booklet is the BREAD KNIFE CARD STAB...and much as it kills me to say this, "WHY DIDN'T I THINK OF THIS!". It's a brilliant idea. A super easy way to do a knife stab. And he gives you an excellent reason to DO the knife stab. His supplied script gives you enough info to see which way to go without giving you a complete script to just copy.

#3 TOSSED OUT DECK - with some clever handling twists, and VERY clever presentational twists that really make this look like a fun trick to do.


Commercial Gems Volume 1

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 1Conflicted on this booklet, since there's not a single item in it that I will do - and there's only 3 items.

But each item is nice. The problem is that I already do a version of the Gypsy Thread, although oddly enough, he and I picked the exact matching premises.

The Six card repeat isn't really my cup of tea, and again...I already have a version. HOWEVER...he does have a cute bit with this trick that could be applied to any other trick with counting, so I'll say this one's a plus.

Finally, the final trick "Scattered" just isn't something I'd do. But I do appreciate the thinking behind the trick, and I'm sure if I actually saw the trick, it would fool me completely.

So why a 5 star? Because I don't necessarily want to learn a new trick, or a new line or script. I think the big value of reading magic books is seeing how the author thinks. And this booklet does that perfectly.


Pickpocket

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

PickpocketFirst off, understand that I love Mel Mellers' work. Not necessarily to learn a NEW trick, but to learn about NEW presentations. New ideas for how to make the tricks entertaining. Different approaches.

This booklet is no different. It's basically a SINGLE trick explained in a decent fashion. But, it's a trick you probably already know at least 1 if not more ways of doing.

Mr. Mellers' method is not new by any means, but the presentational aspects of it are!

It's a clever idea...and that's what I paid for.


The Sliding Knot

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 25 February, 2022)

The Sliding KnotThis is a brilliant little bit of handling. Every move looks exactly as it would, and yet the knot slides.

I've used this as a standalone piece for years now and it gets gasps, puzzled looks, applause and a nice laugh.


Centermental

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

CentermentalAnything by J.G.Thompson is worth a read. In this manuscript, he has some very clever ideas (from credited sources) on ways to read the center tear, some nice presentational ideas. Just good stuff.


Big Ring on String

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

Big Ring on StringFairly standard set of moves described competently. The one thing I do like is that there are not any of the thread/unthread/twisty moves that don't actually look magical.


Best Tricks with Slates

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

Best Tricks with SlatesInteresting read and has several methods of getting writing on a slate without flaps or gimmicks.


A Boon For All Seasons

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

A Boon For All SeasonsThis manuscript is interesting...perhaps a little overpriced though. It takes you through a short history of the BOON, different ways to use it, including a truly bizarre thought using a wristwatch and another with a tie. Both very clever thoughts.

The wristwatch idea would be an insane way to do a variant of Karrel Fox's LITTLE RED TABLE.

Good read.


4 Most

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

4 MostI like Peter Duffie's material. He's fairly clean in handling and avoids knuckle busters. In this particular collection, I really like GHOST BUSTER. It's cute, simple, odd, and lends itself to many different scripts.


100% Magic

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

100% MagicPavel's magic is always interesting. But, since there's very few words written, you do have to THINK about what you're seeing. His magic is clean, usually very simple in execution, but can sometimes make you do a little DIY.


The Jastrow Illusion in Magic

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 26 June, 2020)

The Jastrow Illusion in MagicA pretty good read. Has a lot of history and research that I didn't know about the 'boomerangs'.


Tips

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 November, 2019)

TipsIt's a dated book for sure, but still have a couple of ideas that I like. And any idea I can get is almost priceless.

If you are a DIY guy or gal, it's not a bad book. Some good ideas.


TC Tahoe Re-Thinks Vol. 3: Salt Pour

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 November, 2019)

TC Tahoe Re-Thinks Vol. 3: Salt PourTotally misleading copy for this. Although, if I'd have been paying attention, the PAGE COUNT information might have saved me some $.

The copy reads "two different routines". In only 4 pages of text - AFTER teaching me about making the gimmick?

Yeah, there is the briefest of mentions of a routine(s), but no teaching. No "here's the props needed, here's how you steal the gaff, etc". Just a very brief mention of a theme to use.

However, this will prevent me from buying any of the other items in this series.


My Best

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 July, 2019)

My BestA great book. One that I donated to the local club years ago, and just repurchased because there was material in here I wanted to see. J.G. Thompson is one of my favorite authors, since he writes clearly and plainly.

Add in the wide mix of talent that donated to this book, and you've got a winner.


The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorial

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 June, 2018)

The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorialThis book is good. Very good. He gives a clear and thorough explanation of joining cards using dry mount materials. And the method works.

I have not tried everything in his book, as I'm just starting. But I have made double backers and double facers with little effort. A split facer took 1 try.

And because dry mount is used, the cards have the correct feel to them and they coalesce into the deck unlike the rubber cement versions I've built in the past.

I do NOT use his exact method of splitting the cards, nor do I use anyone else's exact method. I think splitting cards is somewhat idiosyncratic, so it might help if you've seen several other tutorials on splitting cards to give you alternative ideas.

But all in all, good book. And if I graduate to the more complicated builds - next up, the Hofzinser card - well, then it's a great book.


Lager Switch

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 March, 2018)

Lager SwitchLike everything Mr. DeCova does, this is simple and clever and clean. It looks as good as it is.


It's A Stage I'm Going Through

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 04 July, 2017)

It's A Stage I'm Going ThroughI was hoping for more from this book, since I'm a fan of parlor and stage trapped in a world of card tricks and mentalism.

But, there's not a ton of stuff here. The tricks are all pretty standard, although, to be fair, there's some cute touches here and there. The CONFABULATION routine has a nifty idea with price tags that seems really usable.

But the patter and routines never rise above the "50 gags shoehorned into a trick" level. Which may fit your style - and if so, you'll love the book.

AND - like I said - there's a few threads of gold in here, and it's an easy read.

Do be advised though that pages 184 through 198 are all ads for other books and things he sells.


Empty Multiple Out Envelope

reviewed by Larry Brodahl
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 December, 2016)

Empty Multiple Out EnvelopeWell, I purchased this thinking it might work...and it might fit a routine I had. It not only fits the routine, this is really really practical and usable. It takes about 1 minute or so to do the necessary work, and I'm not a DIY type guy. The handling is so simple and so natural, that it literally takes about 30 seconds to learn.

I did have one small problem with this, and I contacted the author. Mr. Creasey responded quickly and fixed me right up. If you want an envelope that does EXACTLY what the demo shows, this is a really good buy!

Well done!


The Funniest Three Card Monte in the World

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 15 August, 2016)

The Funniest Three Card Monte in the WorldWhat a cute, clever trick. The handling is easy-peasy, the jokes and set ups are clever, and it resets so quickly. Even the concepts and presentational ideas are transferable to other routines.

I like it!

Definitely a good purchase.


Self-Publishing: Immortality on a Budget

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 07 July, 2016)

Self-Publishing: Immortality on a BudgetGood book. Slightly dated, but still very usable. I've used these methods quite a few times, and am very pleased.


The Sticky Head Game

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 May, 2016)

The Sticky Head GameNot impressed. The description of what happens does not even come close to what you have to do. I'm not saying it's horrible, just not what was represented. Of course, if what "really" happens was described at all, pretty much everyone would know the method.

Cute plot.....lousy handling.


Angel Card Rise Plus

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Angel Card Rise PlusA good book(let). It gives you a completely practical method to make a card rise that will fool people. The material he recommends using can probably be replaced with more modern "stuff", but the handling, etc. is top-notch.

It gave me a ton of ideas to play with.


Losing Control

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 10 October, 2013)

Losing ControlThis is NOT the be-all, end-all of controls, but it is a pretty clever little idea. It plays quite well (ie: I've never been caught), and doesn't take years to master.

On the other hand, it's not a control that I would repeat over and over. I use it sparingly, and usually only after I've done a few other items.

Strangely enough, I seem to perform it for the local magicians more than laymen, simply because it does often fly past them, which makes me smile.

Like I said, it's not the last word in controls, but it is a nice little tool to have floating around for when you need it.


The Amateur Magician's Handbook

reviewed by Larry Brodahl
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 January, 2008)

The Amateur Magician's HandbookOne of the absolute best books ever written. It concerns itself not only with how the tricks are done, but why. It talks about when apparatus is better than sleight of hand, and when it's not. Some of the coin work seems supremely complicated, but every book should leave you with something further to learn. This book covers about every basic sleight imaginable, along with many prop items. The updated chapter on close up stuff is also very nice.

Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)