Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

1290 ★★★★★ reviews
145 ★★★★ reviews
97 ★★★★★ reviews
65 ★★★★★ reviews
96 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 43 (of 1693 reviews)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


Tops Treasury of Illusions

reviewed by joe danciger (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 February, 2023)

Tops Treasury of IllusionsA classic for builders.


Twist plus Bonus

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 February, 2023)

Twist plus BonusNot an improvement in my opinion. The added climax is weak and illogical.


Beyond Reloaded

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 February, 2023)

Beyond ReloadedOverly complicated in my opinion. The ACAAN effect loses clarity and impact due to the structure of the routine. I feel the audience could get confused quite easily.


Elbow, Knee, and Neck

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 January, 2023)

Elbow, Knee, and NeckI have seen Daryl perform this at a Convention and at a lecture at ring 42 in Clearwater...it is a really cool routine - and easy to do!


Diception

reviewed by Christopher Weber (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 January, 2023)

DiceptionDiception is a really great trick and a fooler for sure! The setup on the video takes a couple of viewings for sure and takes a little time to get it right. Once you get it all together, you're good to go. The basic presentation is very good as it is and you do get a couple more ideas to enhance the presentation, but again, the basic presentation is excellent as is. A terrific trick that lets you concentrate on the presentation since there are no real slights and it's basically self-working. I would have given it 5 stars but again, the setup part of the video was a little hard to follow after a viewing or two you'll get it with no problem. It is a one-trick deck that can't be examined but it is a good one to have if you do table hopping. Resets instantly with a different outcome each performance which is always a plus! Let's say this trick gets 4.5 stars. 5 for the trick and 4 for instructions. Awesome price for what you're getting!


MINT III Unauthorized

reviewed by Howard Port (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 January, 2023)

MINT III UnauthorizedWhile I was much more into magic years ago (performing at The Forks Hotel and attending many FFFFs) I haven't performed in years and am now more of a hobbyist. My true love has always been cards and I really enjoy all of James' books. This one is especially good and begins a trend that goes through all of his M.I.N.T. books: effects from Ed Marlo are presented then James gives his take on the effect with perhaps technical variations, different presentation, and/or history. James was lucky enough to have spent a lot of time with Marlo and many other magicians and he has drunk deep from the well. I recommend these books for any thinking card man who wants to learn from Ed Marlo and Wesley James, two magicians with broad knowledge and the ability to take things a step or two further than others. (I never got the chance to see Marlo perform, but Wesley James gave a wonderful performance and lecture at our club years ago. Ever since I have gathered everything I could of his writings.)


Third Eye Peek

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 January, 2023)

Third Eye PeekMark Stone's Spy Cat wallet is a favorite of mine. In the Spy Cat eBook, Mark shows you how to make an incredibly effective peek wallet, or modify an existing peek wallet to improve it, for a small price. Now he's released Third Eye Peek, a business-card peek that uses essentially two gift cards and two rubber bands. And it's excellent, super easy to make and, like the Spy Cat, super deceptive with no dodgy moves. Even if you're lousy with arts and crafts, you'll be able to make this peek device in less than five minutes because Mark holds your hand with clear instructions and color pictures. And when you're done, you'll have a small peek device that you can carry with you everywhere in your wallet.

There are so many new peek devices on the market, like POV, Room 66, The Peak, Blindz, and Slick, that all cost more. Some are good; some are not. If you're looking to peek a business card without using an expensive peek wallet, it's hard to beat this Mark Stone gem. It's simple, creative, and gets the job done. Highly recommended.


Annotated Secret Professional Pseudo-Hypnotic Methods

reviewed by Shane Lootes (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 January, 2023)

Annotated Secret Professional Pseudo-Hypnotic MethodsAwful waste of time book regrettably, nothing practical at all that you don't already know.


Commercial Gems Volume 3

reviewed by Brian Reaves (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 18 January, 2023)

Commercial Gems Volume 3Mel delivers some great jokes here and two of the routines are easily doable in a pinch. The Q&A Teapot routine requires a little work and probably will fly by most non-British audiences who don't see teapots very often, but the other two are fun. I wouldn't call any of them mind-blowing or incredible finales, but these are nice asides to have ready for the right audience and situation. Mel's sense of humor is evident here and I can only imagine how much fun he must be live. For the price, you're getting a couple of great routines and one you probably won't use as-is, but all of it can be adapted to your performing style, I think.


Toronto Kufference 2011

reviewed by Brian Reaves (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 18 January, 2023)

Toronto Kufference 2011This is a varied collection of effects. Some of them are good, and some are just an interesting read that you'll probably never perform. The glow stick trick in particular requires a good bit of financial commitment on your part for a single trick that may be strong for Patrick but I don't know who else will go to the expense. There are card tricks and mentalism in here as well, and as I mentioned, even the tricks you won't do might give you a few ideas for something else.


Balls

reviewed by Brian Reaves (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 18 January, 2023)

BallsIn the right situation, this is nice. You can do it alone, but the assisted version is much stronger. Once you construct the props necessary, you'll be set to go from that point forward (except for the prediction, of course). This is a cheap alternative to the expensive prediction chest models out there that accomplishes the same thing using a very similar method, so if you're just wanting to see if it fits in your act before investing in shiny expensive props, get this. The single-person version of this isn't as strong as some other methods out there though.


R.C. Buff's The Best of Buff

reviewed by Daniel Rowan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 January, 2023)

R.C. Buff's The Best of BuffThe Best of Buff is a collection of rope tricks – most without the use of gimmicks or special rope preparation. The effects that I thought were particularly interesting and largely unknown are as follows.

The Pretzel Knot – Buff suggests you create the pretzel knot on the knee. This results in an easier and tighter tie.

Mustache Rope Cut – A way of cutting a once cut rope again (seemingly in four pieces) to restore the rope to its full length.

A Ladies Influence – Tying two ropes together side by side with a slip knot. A man tests two ends of the rope and shows that the knot is tight. A woman easily pulls the other two ends of the rope and the knot melts away. This can be used as a test of strength with a dad and a young child. As a lead in to a Grandma’s Necklace effect this would be excellent. The Encyclopedia of Rope Tricks has an entire chapter on rope tricks using multiple ropes. It is easy enough to use standard methods to tie the slip knot. The slip knot given for use with the trick is unnecessarily complicated and unnatural in my opinion.

A Sliding Knot Sequence – Using a slip knot tied using the Hunter Puzzle Knot as an easy method to gain slack for a sliding knot effect. The slack is obtained easily as the left hand is in perfect position to grab some slack.

Thumb Penetration – An impromptu thumb penetration that I had not seen before.

I was very happy with this booklet. It contains a lot of useful stuff. The patter was dated and probably would be considered crude by today’s standards but describing the rope as a solar clothes drier is a good line in this era of carbon neutrality. 5 stars.


Card Control

reviewed by Eric Fry
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 January, 2023)

Card ControlThis e-version's photos are far superior to the ones in the Dover print edition. And the text is much more readable in this e-version.


Trip Mentale

reviewed by Matteo Perlini
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 January, 2023)

Trip MentaleDal punto di vista tecnico, "Trip Mentale" è un effetto di mentalismo propless in cui viene divinata una nazione solo pensata. Sono presentate diverse varianti, tra cui versioni con un numero diverso di partecipanti. Nel libro sono incluse tantissime finezze psicologiche e linguistiche che rendono la routine estremamente potente e che possono essere riutilizzate in molti altri effetti.

Dal punto di vista esperienziale, "Trip Mentale" è un modo per connettersi alle persone in modo così profondo da poter condividere emozioni e sensazioni. E, letteralmente, viaggiare con loro nella loro mente.

Se sei interessato al mentalismo e ti esibisci in italiano, non c'è alcun motivo per non avere "Trip Mentale". Il metodo è solido, l'effetto è potente, il libro più che economico.


New Pentagram Magazine Volume 1 (March 1969 - February 1970)

reviewed by Craig Brooks
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 January, 2023)

New Pentagram Magazine Volume 1 (March 1969 - February 1970)I am going to review three of the issues I downloaded with one generalization. All of the material in the New Pentagram was wonderful, as in its predecessor The Pentagram. That having been said there is a very minor issue in three of the volumes. This one, volume two, and volume twenty. They all had page duplications that can make it appear that there are a few pages missing. There are no pages missing, but the page numbers 43 and 72 were duplicated in volume one. In volume two the page number 36 was duplicated, and in volume 20 the page number 89 was duplicated. To clarify, the numbers at the bottom of the page were duplicated and not the pages themselves.


Limitless: more than 50 effects using the Romero Box

reviewed by Kevin Fleetwood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 05 January, 2023)

Limitless: more than 50 effects using the Romero BoxI got started in magic back in 1975 when a magic shop opened in a nearby city, I have done close-up magic for over 30 years and have seen lots of new magic created the Romero box is something I will use it has lots of possibilities. I have been making my own gimmick boxes for a while now but never one like the Romero Box. Switching, vanishing, and producing cards has always been what I want to do. If you are knowledgeable in magic you can build this. It's not hard. I have been making two of the box gimmicks this is basically the same except the gimmick is inside he shows a couple of pictures of the gimmick at the end so you would know where to put the magnets. I'm going to get started building one now, I have a few ideas to use with this. I give it 5 stars.


Nu Way Out Of This World

reviewed by Fredrick Turner (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 January, 2023)

Nu Way Out Of This WorldLet’s start by saying that this is the routine that Eugene Burger used for most of his career. It’s direct, straightforward magic. Well worth the small investment.


The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorial

reviewed by Fredrick Turner (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 January, 2023)

The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorialI found this ebook extremely helpful in learning the dry mount process. It’s thorough and detailed to get you started. You’ll need to experiment and practice to get the quality of cards you’ll want to use. Since the book’s publication, some of the specific materials are no longer available however you can quickly find substitutes.


Exhale

reviewed by Stuart Millward (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 01 January, 2023)

ExhaleNeeds proofreading badly.


Silent Two-Person Codes Revealed

reviewed by Larry Finley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 31 December, 2022)

Silent Two-Person Codes RevealedActually, I don't remember ever purchasing this but obviously, I did. It has some pretty neat stuff and if it was under $10 then it's worth it.


Spirited Pasteboards

reviewed by Larry Finley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 31 December, 2022)

Spirited PasteboardsThis is excellent and has one of the first de Bruijn methods used. Like all of Leo's works, this is very good and a must-have.


Si Stebbins Pro

reviewed by Larry Finley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 31 December, 2022)

Si Stebbins ProI am delighted with this product.

SSPro: To keep an easy "next card calculation" the SSPro has a modified version of the original Si Stebbins thus it is definitely faster and easier to calculate the "next card" than some other stacks but to do this "next card calculation" SSPro could not use the Harry Riser pairs concept thus SSPro is a little slower at the "ACAAN calculation" IMO. The whack-a-mole trade-off.

Bottom line: If a fast easy "ACAAN calculation" is primarily what you want then go with a shadow stack such as 7QS or the Sequoia stack. If a fast easy "next card calculation" is primarily what you want then go with the SSPro.


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by Larry Finley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 31 December, 2022)

Karma Deck ProVery good. I especially like the clock face analogy and the ability to calculate ACAAN.


The Master of Misdirection

reviewed by Josef Fortier (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 December, 2022)

The Master of MisdirectionI read the Fulves Slydini book as a teenager, which had an enormous effect on me. This book spells out much of the ideas I absorbed then but fleshes them out. The book is a wonderful window on "lessons from Slydini" by someone who has thought about those lessons a lot.


10-Card Trick

reviewed by David Cottrell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 December, 2022)

10-Card TrickThis is a well thought out fun routine that should entertain and please every audience! However in order to learn the "false count" one must also purchase "Alan Ackerman Advance Card Control #7". #7 has this routine on it.


Advanced Card Control Volume 7: False Counts

reviewed by David Cottrell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 December, 2022)

Advanced Card Control Volume 7: False CountsThis is great! The magic is tremendous and the production is of great quality! Alan Ackerman may be the best!


Quodlibet (Italian)

reviewed by Biagio Fasano
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 December, 2022)

Quodlibet (Italian)Ho avuto la fortuna e il piacere di poter leggere "Quod Libet" del collega Davide Rubat Remond (col quale io e Renzo Grosso abbiamo collaborato nello scrivere i 3 Volumi di "Bending Minds") fin dalla sua prima stesura, ed ora che é stato ultimata e finalmente pubblicato l'ebook su www.Lybrary.com sia nella versione Italiana che Inglese, non posso che confermare la mia prima impressione: é un lavoro magnifico che, partendo da un classico del mentalismo matemagico e sorretto da un'idea brillante, lo sviluppa fino a portare alla creazione di nuovi incredibili effetti. Molti conosceranno l'effetto da cui tutto parte e che personalmente adoro e non perdo occasione di insegnare nei corsi base e laboratori di Magia per ragazzi: "il gioco dei cartoncini" o "pensa un numero" nel quale si chiede ad una persona di pensare un numero e di indicare poi su quali dei cartoncini, che a seguire gli verranno mostrati, compaia il suo numero. Essendo il trucco basato sulla matematica binaria e richiedendo dei semplici calcoli, da molti viene oramai ingiustamente snobbato, ritenendolo di scarso impatto ed essendo comunque abbastanza conosciuto anche tra i non maghi. Davide ha pensato di rendere più interessante il trucco, lasciando che lo spettatore trattenga per sé tutti i cartoncini dove compare il numero pensato e l'illusionista riuscirà ugualmente ad indovinarlo basandosi solamente sull'osservazione rapida dei cartoncini scartati, senza necessitare di calcoli complessi o particolari sforzi mnemonici. Ma non si é certo limitato a questo, ma presenta a seguire 3 diversi effetti, tutti basati su questa semplice ma brilante idea, che riescono a rendere il trucco indecifrabile anche alla maggioranza dei prestigiatori, in un crescendo di stupore che mi sento di garantire per tutti coloro che saranno testimonii della performance. - Nel primo effetto allo spettatore viene chiesto di scegliere mentalmente un numero da 1 a 100, controlla quindi tra le 7 cartelle colorate che gli vengono sottoposte, dove appaia tale numero e le trattiene per sé. Il mentalista, osservando con un semplice colpo d'occhio i colori delle cartelle rimastegli perché scartate ,indovinerà immediatamente il numero pensato! - Nel secondo effetto, "la classifica dei migliori film di sempre" non si fa alcun uso di numero, ma allo spettatore viene presentata una lista di ben 14 film giudicati da esperti del settore tra i più belli della storia del cinema. Egli potrà scegliere mentalmente il suo preferito e trattenere per sè quali schede, tra le 4 che gli verranno esposte, lo contengano al loro interno (ogni scheda riporta 7 titoli). Il mentalista saprà subito, tramite una semplice associazione mnemonica, indicare il film scelto. - Il terzo e ultimo effetto é quello che preferisco in assoluto, tanto da volerlo inserire sin da subito nel mio "repertorio di mentalista": Quod Libet (Cosa ti piace, in latino), che dà appunto il titolo all'intero ebook. L'illusionista depone sul tavolo un mazzo di carte legato fermamente da un elastico e chiuso nel proprio astuccio, poi chiede allo spettatore di pensare liberamente ad una delle 52 carte e gli vengono consegnate 8 cartelline, ognuna riportante all'incirca metà carte del mazzo. Ancora una volta, mentre il mago é di spalle, dovrà controllarle attentamente e trattenere per sé solamente quelle contenenti la carta pensata. Fatto ciò, il mentalista si volta e, osservando rapidamente le poche cartelle scartate (che NON contengono quindi la carta pensata), indicherà un numero (da 1 a 52) e inviterà lo spettatore stesso a contare le carte nel mazzo rimasto sempre a vista, fino a ritrovare la carta nella posizione indicata. Incredibilmente quella carta coinciderà con quella solamente pensata dallo spettatore! Praticamente una sorta di effetto ACAAN (Any Card At Any Number) che può essere seguito tranquillamente sul palco. Aggiungo a quando detto sinora il fatto che Davide sia stato così bravo non solo a tradurre in inglese questo ebook ma ad adattare perfettamente anche gli aiuti mnemonici forniti per l'effetto sui film, e a fornire per entrambe le versioni tutte le schede a color (template) pronte da stampare per eseguire ognuno dei tre effetti di fronte a qualsiasi pubblico. In conclusione ho trovato questo ebook davvero ben realizzato, con tre solidi effetti di sicuro interesse non solo per gli appassionati di magia matematica, quale io mi reputo, ma per qualsiasi buon mentalista. Lo potete trovare anche disponibile da scaricare come PDF in inglese, sempre su Lybrary.com.


Quodlibet

reviewed by Biagio Fasano
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 December, 2022)

QuodlibetI have had the good fortune and pleasure to be able to read "Quod Libet" by my colleague Davide Rubat Remond (with whom Renzo Grosso and I collaborated in writing the 3 Volumes of "Bending Minds") since its first draft, and now that it has been completed and finally published the eBook on www.Lybrary.com in both the Italian and English versions, I can only confirm my first impression: it is a magnificent work that, starting from a classic of mathematical mentalism and supported by a brilliant idea, develops it to the point of leading to the creation of incredible new effects. Many people will be familiar with the effect from which it all starts and which I personally love and never miss an opportunity to teach in basic courses and workshops in Magic for kids: "guess the age" or "think a number" in which a person is asked to think of a number and then to indicate on which of the folders, which will be shown to him afterwards, his number appears. Since the trick is based on binary mathematics and requires simple calculations, it is now unfairly snubbed by many, believing it to be of little impact and yet being fairly well known even among non-magicians. David thought of making the trick more interesting by letting the spectator keep for himself all the cards where the thought number appears, and the illusionist will still be able to guess it based only on the quick observation of the discarded cards, without needing complex calculations or special mnemonic efforts. But he certainly did not limit himself to this, but presents to follow 3 different effects, all based on this simple but brilliant idea, which manages to make the trick indecipherable even to the majority of magicians, in a crescendo of amazement that I can vouch for all who will witness the performance. - In the first effect the spectator is asked to mentally choose a number from 1 to 100, he then checks among the 7 colored folders submitted to him, where that number appears and holds them for himself. The mentalist, observing at a glance the colors of the folders left to him because they have been discarded, will immediately guess the number thought up! - In the second effect, "the ranking of the best films of all time" no use is made of numbers, but the viewer is presented with a list of as many as 14 movies judged by experts in the field to be among the finest in the history of cinema. He will be able to mentally choose his favorite and retain for himself which of the 4 cards that will be displayed to him contain it (each card carries 7 titles). The mentalist will immediately know, by simple mnemonic association, which film he has chosen. - The third and last effect is my absolute favorite, so much so that I wanted to include it right away in my "mentalist repertoire": Quod Libet (What do you like, in Latin), which precisely gives the title to the entire ebook. The illusionist lays on the table a deck of cards tied firmly by a rubber band and enclosed in its case, then asks the spectator to think freely about one of the 52 cards and he is handed 8 folders, each bearing approximately half the cards in the deck. Once again, while the magician's back is turned, he will have to check them carefully and retain for himself only those containing the thought card. When this is done, the mentalist will turn around and, quickly looking at the few discarded cards (which therefore do NOT contain the thought card), will point to a number (from 1 to 52) and invite the spectator himself to count the cards in the deck that has always remained in sight, until he finds the card in the position indicated. Amazingly, that card will coincide with the one merely thought of by the spectator! Basically a kind of ACAAN (Any Card At Any Number) effect that can be safely followed on stage. I would add to what has been said so far, the fact that David has been so good at not only translating this ebook into English but also perfectly adapting the mnemonic aids provided for the effect about movies, and providing for both versions all the color cards (template), ready to print, to perform each of the three effects to his audience I would add to what has been said so far the fact that David has been so good at not only translating this ebook into English, but also perfectly adapting the mnemonic aids provided for the effect about the movies, and providing for both versions all the color cards (template), ready to print, to perform each of the three effects in front of any audience. In conclusion, I found this ebook really well done, with three solid effects sure to be of interest not only to fans of mathematical magic, which I consider myself to be but to any good mentalist. You can find it available to download also as a PDF in Italian.


Professional Impromptu

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 December, 2022)

Professional ImpromptuPaul Lelekis has graciously given me a copy of his new ebook "Professional Impromptu" for me to share my opinion. I have had an interest in magic for over 50 years and I enjoy close-up magic as my primary interest. I am not a professional performer by any means. I consider myself an amateur/hobbyist with a solid overall knowledge of close-up magic and magicians. Most of the performing that I have done has been for fun social events for friends and family and I frequently did little performances for my music students throughout my career as a public school music teacher. This is an excellent collection of no setup or very little setup card tricks to perform at any time, even with a borrowed deck of cards. The routines use subtle moves and principles rather than difficult sleight of hand to produce entertaining card effects that can be performed at a moment’s notice. All are impromptu and designed to pack the maximum amount of magical punch with the least amount of sleight-of-hand skill on your part. Poker, Mental discoveries, Spelling effects, Amazing Coincidences. Some of my favorites include Rainbow Match, Four Way Coincidence, A Principal Principle which is a wonderful adaption of a classic principle of self-working impromptu card magic, and if you are into algebra and interesting explanations and analyzing the general theory of a trick, you will enjoy Paul’s The Trick That Can’t Be Explained- or Can It? I highly recommend you give these wonderful effects a try. I hope you get as much enjoyment out of this collection as I have.


Ask Roberto Giobbi

reviewed by James Russell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 December, 2022)

Ask Roberto GiobbiThis is an invaluable resource to have on my devices! I can read and reread anytime!


Die-Bolical ACAAN

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 December, 2022)

Die-Bolical ACAANThis is not strictly ACAAN, but close, and quite clever. I fooled myself when I tried it out. Probably the best dice and cards trick I have seen.


Thought Transcribed

reviewed by Curtis Foster
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 08 December, 2022)

Thought TranscribedThoughts Transcribed is the solution for sealed message reading that I have been looking for.

Why? In addition to what the true ad copy reads and in no particular order: 1. More can be written on an index card than a business card, including a sitter’s whole thought or question; not just a word or a doodle. 2. There are no fishy moves; nothing unnatural or unnecessary. (There’s only one move or sleight if you can call it a sleight). 3. *Important: Thoughts Transcribed allows you as much time as you need to do the READ, which makes it ideal for longer messages or questions. It’s NOT just a quick peek unless you want it to be. 4. All you need is a pen, a stack of cards, and an envelope (and an ashtray, some lighter fluid, and a match if you want to destroy the envelope with the card inside instead of keeping it). 5. Can be performed seated, or with minor adjustments, standing up.

Five stars for sure.


The Invisible Thread Manual or The String Book

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 29 November, 2022)

The Invisible Thread Manual or The String BookFrom studying Finn Jon I would say that these are the most incredible levitation methods. The one where a real solid hoop is passed really over a gold stick is amazing. The light and thread advice also helps a lot. As a printed book this could sell for $40. Look at Who's Afraid of Invisible Thread. Highly recommended as one of the few workable books here. These work better with the new smaller plastic zombie balls. Or Christmas ornaments. Aluminum balls are a few ounces too heavy.


Numbered

reviewed by David Goldberg (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 28 November, 2022)

NumberedA regular deck, a Sharpie marker, and a little bit of time and practice with this video creates an incredible piece of magic that's suitable for walk around, casual performances for friends and even those at the club meetings. I myself am a serious hobbyist who will perform on occasion and this is one that I would do. I really like to perform close-up walk-around magic. The best thing to do is come up with your own intriguing presentation that fits you and your style. That is something I'm still working on.


Bammo Brainwave Brainwaves

reviewed by David Magicorthodoxy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 26 November, 2022)

Bammo Brainwave Brainwaves


Psycho Path

reviewed by Bruce Littleboy (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 November, 2022)

Psycho PathThe kernel of the method is very interesting, but the procedure currently involves clumsy equivoque at step one. Participants also need to be quite alert and literate (i.e. can spell well in their heads) – or cards with the keywords on them need to be provided (make sure you get them back). I think it needs more work on the scripting at step one: there must be a solution. It nevertheless receives “Notable Mention” in Unbiased Magic Reviews, Top 5 Propless Mentalism Effects Part II. Perhaps David has refined the procedure successfully. I can see why a disappointed reviewer here has awarded one star only, and this was my immediate feeling on the first page. However, I think there’s certainly some potential… 3.5 stars from me on the trick as it stands: toss a coin whether to round up or down. I'm glad I bought it at a half-price sale though, which makes it better value for money and thus four stars.


Al Mann's Sensational Boiler Escape: A Psychic Dematerialization

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 November, 2022)

Al Mann's Sensational Boiler Escape: A Psychic DematerializationThis is t.v. special material. The cost to make this is too much. You need permission to do it on t.v. but otherwise, it could really boost ratings. The secret was used by Houdini as I have seen in his books. Highly recommended as this could eventually be performed again someday.


The Magic of Mahadevananda

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 November, 2022)

The Magic of MahadevanandaGood ideas are taught. For the price, I do recommend it. Easy methods but nothing spectacular. The drink production is unique.


X-Ray Eyes

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 November, 2022)

X-Ray EyesNot a good book for me. Mostly covers what is already in 13 steps in mentalism by Corinda and mental effects by Annemann.


Undetectable Stooges

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 November, 2022)

Undetectable StoogesThis is a good book that all mentalists need. Even regular magicians need stogies just to force a design on a force card to have it appear in an impossible place. Highly recommended.


Limitless

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 November, 2022)

LimitlessNice idea. The newest method uses dry-erase ink but this is another method that doesn't require erasing several marks which are evident using more than 4 objects. The stained clothes idea can really add a visual element that most mentalism lacks. Recommended.


202 Methods of Forcing

reviewed by Scott Reed (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 21 November, 2022)

202 Methods of ForcingThere is a ton of useful information in here! As you may have expected, some of it is a bit dated and may be something you don't wish to try. But I can assure you that you will find plenty of gold in the pages of this book!


The Very Best of John Carey

reviewed by Scott Reed (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 21 November, 2022)

The Very Best of John CareyPlain and simple, It is John Carey! If you like his style then you will love this book! It is loaded with his brand of magic that is powerful, yet pretty easy to do. The amount of quality material you get makes it well worth the price of admission in my opinion!

Displaying 1 to 43 (of 1693 reviews)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >