Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1495 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Crisis

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 14 February, 2017)

CrisisCrisis is a set of four routines using currency, Post-it notes, and a Sharpie. That's it. Minimalism at its best. Let's get right to the point, as the author candidly admits, that there's really nothing new here. And there isn't.

Game is a prediction of what the result of three rounds of "which hand" will be. Lots of people do this--and Marc Paul taught it on his classic, but now out-of-print, Mind2Mind DVD. Bothra does make fairly cool use of two Post-it notes for his MOs prediction. The technique, though, reminded me a lot of Gerard Zitta's somewhat similar "Janus."

Location is another effect done by a lot of mentalists. It kind of resembles the commercial effect Espionage in predicting the location of objects using a variation of the Free Will Principle by Deddy Corbuzier,,

O Dear is a Post-it note version of Dead or Alive. I've seen a similar routine on a Dan Harlan video, as well as in Julian Moore's epic masterpiece on all the things you can do with Post-it notes, Post-Justify.

4 Thoughts is a straight OA Mental Epic with four folded slips of paper. The only thing that I hadn't seen before was the force that he suggests for the fourth choice. It's different, but it's not necessarily better than what folks usually use.

Overall, this is not a bad little ebook. I do variations of all four of these routines because they are classics and pretty effective. Richard Osterlind's working of the OA principle used in 4 Thoughts is much superior, and the only way that I do that routine. The book comes with a short, somewhat error-ridden, but overall helpful MP4 file.


Credit Kard Tantra

reviewed by Sarin Suriyakoon (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 13 February, 2017)

Credit Kard TantraYes! It is classic principle but "powerful" with "Credit Kard Tantra" as well. Like any other "principle" you won't believe what you just read. Super Easy to Learn. 12 routines and 5 methods. IMHO, Only first 2 methods is worth a price. Oh some of them can be done over the phone,video call even facebook chat!


Clock Your Boston Qualifier: By Running Less, and Running Faster

reviewed by Jamal Ismail
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 12 February, 2017)

Clock Your Boston Qualifier: By Running Less, and Running FasterExcellent and essential read for anyone who runs! As an overweight runner and beginner triathlete in my mid-40s I have always struggled with recovery and weight. This book provides some useful tips to train, recover and proper nutrition for my upcoming races. I'm not planning on a Boston Marathon anytime soon, but like the writer said, "First to complete, then to compete!" Also includes several frank interviews with other highly accomplished marathoners on how they train and recover - priceless!


Running Cut Force

reviewed by Sarin Suriyakoon (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 09 February, 2017)

Running Cut ForceOkay. If you are a beginner buy this! If you like simplicity buy this! Super Easy!


Clue and other Mysteries

reviewed by Joe Mckay
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 08 February, 2017)

Clue and other MysteriesHere is what David Acer said about the book on the GENII Forum (back in 2002):

"Its a shame that Martin Breese's books don't get around more in North America. After having read (and enjoyed) David Britlands EQUINOX, I decided to explore some other Breese publications, starting with Jack Yates, CLUE, AND OTHER MYSTERIES. This little collection contains some wonderful material that actually reminds me of Barrie Richardson's work. The opening trick, "Monty," is an absolute killer: three spectators each choose a card, then exchange them so that no one has his original selection, whereupon you tell each spectator the identity of his card! And bear in mind, the cards are not marked, and you don't watch as the exchanges are made!

The title trick ("Clue") is also excellent (trivia break: Can you cite two other magic books that were named after a title trick?). One of 6 spectators secretly chooses a black poker chip among five whites, and is thus deemed "the murderer" at a mystery party. All six chips are freely chosen, and you really have no idea who picked the black one, yet you are instantly able to determine which of the six audience members committed the murder. If I were doing "Killer Red Caps", I'd be inclined to replace it with this trick immediately."

-----------------------

As for my thoughts?

It is a small book and worth getting.

The material reminds me a bit of Lewis Jones, Bob Hummer and Stewart James. What you are getting here is clever thinking that is buried away in the methods. This is mentalism that relies on hidden logical principles. As opposed to gimmicks or clever bluffs. Still - at least it makes use of logical principles as opposed to mathematical principles, since I find most mathematical magic to be pretty weak. So at least you don't have to worry about that here.

My favourite trick is the 'P&S System'. It is a new principle and for me the book is worth it just for that. You have 6 cards in unmarked envelopes and the spectator freely chooses one for you and one for him. And you are able to divine the one he chose thanks to the new principle Jack Yates managed to uncover. Very smart stuff.

You can't go wrong with this one.


Memorable Mentalism: Mysteries With the Mnemonic Deck

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 08 February, 2017)

Memorable Mentalism: Mysteries With the Mnemonic DeckMEMORABLE MENTALISM: Mysteries with a Mnemonic Deck

Enrico Varella has presented an enormously important work to the magic community. This e-book begins with the value(s) of a Mnemonic or Memorized Deck (‘Mem Deck’) and some history of the Mem Deck including many renowned magicians and mentalists. The magic/mentalism that can be obtained with a Mnemonic Deck is profound. DO NOT take this form of entertainment lightly…it is very ‘disturbing’! Enrico also provides some huge differences between the Mem Deck and “cyclical stacks” such as the ‘Eight Kings’ and the Si Stebbins orders, as well as a glossary of terms. This book begins by teaching a VERY clever system, step-by-step, to more easily learn the Memorized Deck and make it “stick” in your mind…including the PPAP principle and Enrico’s own EV System by using ‘associations’. Also included are some very resourceful methods to “Ring in a Cooler” or make seamless, deceptive deck switches. If you learn Enrico’s methods, your audience will be left with their ‘jaws hanging open’!

Enrico provides FIVE excellent, close-up routines with the Mnemonic Deck that will have your spectators completely baffled! Included are Enrico’s methods of utilizing “Jazz Magic” that will further distance the method from the ‘Retrograde Analysts’. Important advice here! Also included are a number of ‘Stage’ and/or Television multi-phased routines for larger audiences, including a BONUS EFFECT that utilizes some brilliant and ‘sneaky’ effects by some well-known professionals, including all patter and presentations. Mr. Varella's references and credits are numerous and complete and are to be commended.

I truly feel that this book is a very important work in a field of magic that has not been well explored…the enormous range of magic and mentalism possible cannot be fully appreciated until you go out there and actually ‘Wow’ your spectators with something that they’ve never seen before!

Thank you Enrico Varella!

Paul A. Lelekis


Clock Your Boston Qualifier: By Running Less, and Running Faster

reviewed by Khairil Anuar
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

Clock Your Boston Qualifier: By Running Less, and Running FasterAn excellent read by an excellent coach and trainer. How to get to Boston, the holy grail of marathons, dissected and served up in an easy to read piece. This ebook will give you insights to what it takes to earn that ticket, how to do it and the pitfalls to avoid. Whether you want to earn your ticket to Boston or clinch a PB in your home race, who better to learn from than someone who has been there, done that and keeps coming back. Multiple Boston finisher, Ironman EV is the man to go to.


Think of Anything in the World

reviewed by Sarin Suriyakoon
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

Think of Anything in the World-This is a great Psychological force. If you are an Asian you would know that most of the "Western" Psychological force is not work with your culture. Here is a good example to internationalize it.

-A lot of Gerard principles for "propless" is explained here.

-Good for casual situation.

-If you want something Bold and Challenge to perform. This is for you!

-I will you use this!


Dead Beckoning

reviewed by W.K Gloss
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

Dead BeckoningUnique characters, packed with action. Loved every single minute of it.


Demonspawn

reviewed by W.K Gloss
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

DemonspawnOnce I started I couldn't stop. Binge read all of her books. Loved them all. Brilliant story lines and great characters that jump out of the pages.


Blachart

reviewed by W.K Gloss
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

BlachartAgain I have said it all before! All of Christina's books are amazing, colourful and vivid storyline :) In love with her writing!


Loderunner

reviewed by W.K Gloss
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

LoderunnerThis would by far be my favourite book that Christina has written. The story and lesson is clear and inspirational. I truly love her writing!


Space Vacation

reviewed by W.K Gloss
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

Space VacationAs always a brilliant story. Loved the humour and the adventure. Best sci-fi I have ever read.


Space Sucks!

reviewed by W.K Gloss
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

Space Sucks!I loved all of these stories. However if I had to pick a favourite it would be Little Green Men. I would recommend Christina's books to anyone who loves sci-fi with a small twist of humour.


The Thirteenth Ship

reviewed by W.K Gloss
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 07 February, 2017)

The Thirteenth ShipLoved it. A great twist on a love story :)


Positive Positive

reviewed by Sarin Suriyakoon
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 06 February, 2017)

Positive PositiveThis is my first Positive/Negative purchase after I heard that for a while. Plain simple method with beautiful patter.


Birthday Card

reviewed by Sarin Suriyakoon
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 06 February, 2017)

Birthday CardNo math operation unless you can count 1 to 10. The method itself is self-working. Practice your patter then you can blow people away!


The Grow Devils Principle

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 03 February, 2017)

The Grow Devils PrincipleThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again!!! I give this a 100 + rating. I have to agree with the other review. This is ABSOLUTELY GENIUS! I would have never thought of it. I thought my variations in the UNKNOWN MENTALISTS other word EBOOK was great but this knocks it out of the water. Atlas Brookings THE PRODIGAL is an encyclopedia of PA'S but this EBOOK is another SIMPLE, system on the same level as long as you use a prompter. Again, I hope people don't buy this EBOOK so I can have these secrets all to myself!!! I bought 2 other products from the UNKNOWN MENTALIST but it will probably take awhile to review them because I'm so amazed with this. Also, IMAGINE what it would be like to MEMORIZE a few of these effects and do them totally impromptu at any time with any spectator. To sum it up this is a really incredible demonstration of psychic phenomena and I believe that no matter what effect(s) you do from this EBOOK will drive the sceptics crazy!!!


Magic Variety Pack 2: Curtain Call Encore

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 02 February, 2017)

Magic Variety Pack 2: Curtain Call Encore‘Magic Variety Pack 2 (Curtain Call Encore)’ follows Pack 1, its predecessor, with no need to for Paul Lelekis to abdicate his throne as a professional walk-around magician. Start the regal procession with eight pages of his first essay ‘Shuffles, Cuts & Misdirection’. This is a Worker’s approach to assuring your audience ‘deck is shuffled and in use’. I enjoyed ‘Psychic Collapse’ where an emptied water-bottle is crushed mysteriously with no visible direct contact. ‘Goldfish Creation’ is a clever way to produce ‘living gold’ according to the ‘packs small, plays big’ condition. I also enjoyed ‘Imagine’, Paul’s take on B’Wave, and also ‘Marlo’s Diminishing Lift Sequence’. Another royal addition to your EBook collection!


Through The Drinking Glass

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 31 January, 2017)

Through The Drinking GlassI like pseudo-hypnotic effects using the spectator's senses and do a routine with scratch-and-sniff stickers, so it was only natural that I'd enjoy Matt Mello's take on the sense of taste. This is a cool little effect and easy to accomplish. You just need a couple of red Solo cups, a lemon, and a little prep, and you are on your way. It requires a little bit of spectator management and some good showmanship, but it works pretty well. If this type of routine interests you, this is a good one.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1495 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
02/21/2017
© 2017 Lybrary.com