Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

1084 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
52 ★★★★★ reviews
73 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1385 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Best Sellers

reviewed by Tim Brown (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 25 September, 2020)

Best SellersTom Sellers is sooo underrated!!! His ingenuity and proliferation of ideas into effects makes him one of my most favorite magician/creators! You should have seen the look on my face when viewing some material by Ali Bongo and Rachel Colombini to find out that they were using material that Tom Sellers came up with. His ideas are that good! Plus, I love DIY! I get giddy re-reading his material because of the diagrams that accompany the text, my hands can't wait to get started making up some new miracles that really do work and look amazing. If you can find any of his material, I'm sure there'll be something for you to enjoy, I always do.


Dancing with the Cards

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 04 September, 2020)

Dancing with the CardsWonderful array of easy-to-do card magic that is artfully "choreographed"...and will make you laugh! Dance like nobody's watching...it's great misdirection!


Eddie's Dumbfounders with Cards

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 30 August, 2020)

Eddie's Dumbfounders with CardsThese are the fooler and innovative. Some of them can be done over the phone, blindfolded, and all of them (except one you need a bit of work) can be done with borrowed deck. Most of them can be presented as mentalism.


The Expert at the Cod Table

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 27 August, 2020)

The Expert at the Cod TableMichael's e-book is refreshingly clever and fun to read. His magic is very strong and he provides complete patter that is very original! I HIGHLY recommend this e-book to magicians at any level...top-notch magic and excellent patter!


Poker Chip Mystery

reviewed by Ralf Laue
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 27 August, 2020)

Poker Chip MysteryIt's really great principle that has been used in many other tricks later (including a Tenyo trick in 1997). Before buying, have a look into your library. It is not unlikely that you already have a description as it has been also published in Bob Hummers Seleted Secrets, Fulves' Self-working Number Magic and Gardner's Mathematics, Magics and Mystery.


Force X

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 22 August, 2020)

Force XAgain, Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST ! I personally believe FORCE X is well done and will have quite an outstanding effect for the spectators. Also, I believe that most of your other effects in this area are equally effective and impressive to people. These are nice effects with the Covid Virus going on. Especially for the price these would be great additions to anyone's mentalism library. The only suggestion that I have is that I would like to see these eBook's printed without the background ink color on the pages because it takes a lot of ink to print these. Having said this, I give these effects my highest rating.


Thought of Card at Thought of Number

reviewed by Michael Cook (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 17 August, 2020)

Thought of Card at Thought of NumberWas looking for a good simple ACAAN. I thought maybe this would be good. Nothing really good about it. To much dealing and counting. It’s just too confusing. Way to much procedure. Not recommended. There are better ACAANs out there this isn’t one of them. The Untouchables by the same author is the same convoluted ACAAN.


Stark Horizon

reviewed by D L
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 14 August, 2020)

Stark HorizonUsually you get better info on how the effect my fit you in performance from the reviews that are critical of the effect. An all glorious review do not help that much...


Flick: coin into bottle

reviewed by Bernardino Diza (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 13 August, 2020)

Flick: coin into bottleThe trick looked real good, so I bought it. The explanation sucks, it show's you how to use one of the coins and thread to make one gimmick period. So how are the tape and magnet used. What's the setup of this trick? It doesn't show or say anything else. What the Hell, this was waste of $15.00.


35 Miracles with a Mirror Glass

reviewed by David Nethery (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 13 August, 2020)

35 Miracles with a Mirror GlassThis is a useful reference book on various uses for this classic prop. I would recommend it.

Something that would improve this e-book would be to update it with recommended sources to purchase a good well-made tumbler or goblet that has been gimmicked in this way. Sadly, there are many cheap, poorly made versions available, but not many good ones. Most of the models currently available are not very deceptive looking; these cheap versions use a plastic glass and a piece of polished metal (a highly polished piece of stainless steel can be very effective, but many of the cheaper glasses on the market don't use highly polished stainless steel.) One of the common mistakes made in these type of glasses (both older models and current models) is to have the edge of the gimmick extend to the very top edge of the tumbler. This makes it too likely that the edge will flash at some point without very careful handling. The best versions are made in such a way that the top edge of the gimmick is lower than the edge of the glass. Some types of acrylic or lucite tumblers or goblets are appropriate for making this prop, but it's hard to beat the use of a heavy, fluted real glass for disguising the presence of the gimmick. Even if some good versions of this prop could be recommended for purchase, magic props tend to come and go - example: a few years ago there was an excellent version made by Steve Dick called the "Diamond Cut M***** Goblet" , but this has been discontinued and is hard to find - so perhaps another valuable way to update this e-book would be to include instructions on how to make your own, with suggestions for appropriate types of heavy fluted glasses or glasses with a "diamond" or "waffle" cut pattern that could be used (antique markets or websites dealing in antique glassware are a good source), also the right kind of material that can be used to make the gimmick. Many of the effects with this kind of glass use a gimmick that is removable, but it would also be useful to provide instruction on how to permanently mount the gimmick with the right kind of clear-drying waterproof adhesive for effects that involve the use of liquid. Some of this may be covered (?) in the e-book Magician's DIY Tips and Tricks by Chris Wasshuber also available here on Lybrary.com, which I don't own (yet), but if not then a section on how to make this sort of prop might be a worth addition to 'Magician's DIY Tips and Tricks' as well.


Linxed

reviewed by Kyoko Sato (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 07 August, 2020)

LinxedAttention. This is "Magic" and not "Impossible Object" or "Impossible folding". I want to know how to make impossible objects so this is not what I wanted. But if you like this kind of magic. It's OK and as you know, the price is not expensive. (Sorry my English is broken.)


Quantum Reality

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 03 August, 2020)

Quantum Reality[I am a colleague of Paul and received this ebook free of charge.]

If you are new to the work of Paul Lelekis, I assure you that you will invest in a spectrum of routines tried-and-tested and relevant for your audiences. Quantum Reality, follows on the enthusiastic wavelength of Lelekis's previous written library of over-50 books (which is enormously impressive and prolific even for a magic author). Admittedly, I read his book in 'packets': I started with his Introduction Essay, the table of contents, and then the 8 Brain-Fryers (I got a good buzz) at the conclusion. Thereafter, I read and played with the effects present in random order. Like the concepts in quantum mechanics, Lelekis made the mechanics of card sleight-of-hand and magic principles within achievable reach (his instructional videos are illuminatingly clear), and by presenting any of his energetic pieces of strange - you may make a quantum leap in your audience impact and interaction!


13 Steps to Mind Maintenance for Magicians and Mentalists

reviewed by James Perry (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 02 August, 2020)

13 Steps to Mind Maintenance for Magicians and MentalistsI have been a fan of the Unknown Mentalist for some time now. The several effects I have purchased from this person have all been fantastic. This free gift being offered will help anyone new to mentalism get started on the right foot. It's a great introduction to what the Unknown Mentalist has to offer.


Zodiac Oracle

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 25 July, 2020)

Zodiac OracleThis is another great effect from Michael Daniels. You can use it on the phone because of covid and I don't believe that it would be that difficult to memorize the effect If you are interested in revealing a person their Zodiac sign AND AGE! One thing for sure, the spectator will be amazed!!! Well done Michael Daniels!


Propless Tarot

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 25 July, 2020)

Propless TarotThis is another winner by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST, at least to me anyway. With the COVID virus here this will be a great effect to do by phone or maintaining a space between you and the spectator. I believe it will also sound quite believable to the average layperson. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST.


Kalendeck

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 25 July, 2020)

KalendeckThis is another GREAT deck stack that belongs in every mentalists collection. I don't know how the UNKNOWN MENTALIST has a gift to come up with these stacked decks but it's a steal at the price. I recommend it very highly. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST!


Quantum Reality

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 July, 2020)

Quantum Reality[I have received a review copy of Paul's ebook. Here is my review.]

Quantum Reality is Paul A. Lelekis' latest ebook. Paul has taken full advantage of this Covid mess and utilized his time well. Most of Paul's ebooks are in the twenty to thirty page length .. but THIS one is over sixty pages and includes 14 effects and a couple of valuable 'lessons'.

Paul is a simmering pool of magic knowledge, having spent many years as a professional performer. He has worked tables for thousands upon thousands of customers and righly deserves a platform to talk about what's inportant .. and what to avoid.. at the table. Not everything is strictly close-up or walk around magic. Some can be performed for small crowds in a parlour setting, depending on your situation.

I'll tell you straight up.. I consider this ebook to be for the advanced beginner to intermediate performer. It's not for the beginner. Although Paul is well known for writing effects for every level of performer, he has put considerable thought into QUANTUM REALITY and created a treatise of considerable worth. ( 'Treatise' is one of my favorite words, and is described as "..a written work dealing formally and systematically with a subject." QR is exactly that...)

** I'm not going to call QR a 'formal' work.. as Paul has a very easy and relaxed way of explaining an effect, but it IS a total work, since he goes into great detail to explain some of the finer points.. and includes three videos to better explain the most difficult or lesser known moves.

This is a full list of the effects Paul teaches in detail:

- QUANTUM OPTICAL TRIUMPH - - SHE HAS QUANTUM POWER - - QUANTUM NUMBERS - - QUANTUM JUICE TO SILK - - QUANTUM GREATNESS – - QUANTUM MARKED CARD – - QUANTUM MENTALISM - - QUANTUM QUICKIE, QUICKIE - QUANTUM QUARKS AND QUIRKS - QUANTUM COINS ACROSS - - QUANTUM CARD-(H)ISTRY – - QUANTUM MATCH GAME - - QUANTUM ULTIMATE PROHESY - - QUANTUM OUT-TO-LUNCH PHENOMENA - - QUANTUM PRETZEL LOGIC -

Aside from the detailed Introduction.. Paul also included 8 brain-busters at the end of the ebook to either make you feel superior to the rest of us.. or a little inferior! Either way, they're a nice bonus.

I particularly liked Quantum Qptical Triumph, which ends with all the cards face down.. except the four Aces.. which are still face up in the deck. Quantum Numbers finds a spectator's selection using two 'random' cards. Quantum Juice To Silk is a good change of pace from the card work and very visually produces a red silk from a red liquid. Perfect for young and old. Quantum Greatness is a gambler's bet.. except the gambler is bested by the spectator although both have four excellent cards. Quantum Marked Card is a nice transformation effect where a spectator's card changes from a red back to a blue back in a quick and visual way. Quantum Mentalism uses an Invisible Deck to pull off a simplistic, but effective, stunner. Quantum Coins Across is Paul's version of Coins Across for those of you coin guys who feel 'sleighted' by all the card effects. Quantum Card-(H)istry is definitely one of the most complex effects in this ebook, but well worth the extra effort. It's based on a 'History of playing cards' premise with a side of Tarot cards for good measure..

I think these descriptions give you a good idea of the cross section of magic in Quantum Reality. There's something for everyone. For those of you still recovering from social isolation and anxious to 'get to it'.. this is a wonderful way to expand your repertoire and open your mind to new ideas. It has my full recommendation.. for sure.

Rick Carruth - The Magic Roadshow


Quantum Reality

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 July, 2020)

Quantum Reality[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

Quantum Reality by Paul Lelekis is the bargain of summer 2020! Packed with great material that’s enjoyable to perform and sure to please your audience as well. The book features 14 terrific effects plus some very cool little brain-busters that are perfect little attention getters. As with all of Paul’s books, Quantum Reality starts with an introduction that is well worth the price of the book! Here you’ll find some solid tips and advice on using a humble approach to your presentations as a way to keep your spectators relaxed and entertained. Straight-forward suggestions from an experienced professional. The routines within are really terrific and there is lots of variety here too. Demo videos are included to assist with learning the moves and principles. Cards, coins, silk, plus a very nice routine using a common utility device and a routine using a classic mentalism principle. I particularly enjoyed working through Quantum Coins Across and Quantum Ultimate Prophesy. All of the routines are presented in an uncomplicated manner with clean handlings to ensure a smooth presentation for your spectators. Within these effects, you’ll learn no less than 10 very useful moves, principles, controls, forces, shifts, coin vanish, and passes. All of which can of course be utilized into many other effects. It’s so nice to have all these great moves available in one book. A fabulous reference and a great collection of time-tested routines that you will return to many times.


Quantum Reality

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 19 July, 2020)

Quantum Reality[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

This is one of Paul’s best books ever packed full of practical magic & includes training videos. The introduction alone is worth the price & should change psychologically the way you connect & interact with your spectators. It makes them care & connect with you. Follow his experienced, knowledgeable guidance & you will be a better magician & entertainer.


The Emerald Mystery

reviewed by Robert Davison
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 18 July, 2020)

The Emerald MysteryCome on guys - be up front with your descriptions. This trick requires a 13 card setup from a second deck and a 13 card setup from the deck to be used. Way more involved than the description implies. This is why I always hesitate to buy written tricks like this. Also, the trick is only 8 pages, the rest is advertising.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1385 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
© 2020 Lybrary.com