Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

1065 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
65 ★★★★★ reviews
51 ★★★★★ reviews
71 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1361 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Gaukelwerk with Cards

reviewed by Tony Bianco (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 06 July, 2020)

Gaukelwerk with CardsI have only read the first chapter so far and already I would say get this. Worth much more than the asking price. If you always wanted to learn how to clock a deck, this is the book for you. Get this and you won't be disappointed. Like I said I have only read the first chapter and I would recommend this highly. Can't wait to read the rest of what's inside.


The True Secret of Mind Reading as Performed by the Zancigs

reviewed by Giovanni Iuliani (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 03 July, 2020)

The True Secret of Mind Reading as Performed by the ZancigsThe system is based on knowing your A-B-C. Lacking is the phraseology that supports each cue. As an example, I don't think that the person holding an item retrieved from a spectator, would say: "Here tell ..." Five dollars. There is a hint on page 13 concerning a nickel.

Here, please, what is this? - Nickel.

This means that the one who asks the questions must compose a phrase in which he incorporates the secret word(s). Consequently, a complete transcript of a performance would reveal much more then just a basic code for communicating between two person.


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

reviewed by Marc DeSouza (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 26 June, 2020)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionThis review was first published in MUM July 2020:

The Fine Art of Magic is a true classic among magic books. Originally published by Fleming Books in 1948, it has remained a seminal text for generations of magicians. Although Jean Hugard is credited as editor of the first edition, he truly was the author, putting Kaplan's work to print. So many magicians have been inspired by this book, no less than Juan Tamariz, who penned the preface to this new edition.

I was pleased to take this opportunity to reread this book and was amazed to see how many now-classic effects are taught within. I also looked at the original side by side with this new edition to see what has changed. My friend Warren Kaps has done yeoman service in not only bringing the original back into print, but in adding much in the way of new and updated information. Many will long for the look of the original, but Lybrary has done a fine job of producing a very clear and clean layout that is easy to read. In addition, a bolder, clearer font is used. The original Frances Rigney illustrations are still here, but are augmented by additional illustrations by Tony Dunn that capture the same feel of the originals.

Reading Kaps' forward to the Second Edition lays out not only his goals, but much about the original edition. Rather than focusing on each chapter's contents and revisions, let me make an overall statement that applies to everything in this book. By using Chapter One on the corner short as an example, one can see how much has been added or revised for modern day techniques and advancements. The new title is "Corner-Short and Breather," making the case for the new editor's preference for what was really arcane knowledge of the day of the first edition, but is now a well-known tool. Kaps gives an analysis of why he prefers the newer technique. Throughout the book there are additional credits and references to newer sources for additional information on the effects and subjects noted. There are several new effects and added commentary, along with newer, better handlings for previous entries. I might add that these references are by no means voluminous and are generally acknowledging a limited grouping of more well known published works of recent vintage.

There is also a new chapter added titled "Amusement Area" that contains a number of stunts and bar bet type novelties. In Chapter Twelve, "Concluding Observations," Kaps appends a number of his own to Kaplan’s original entries. I would have preferred that he notate which were his comments versus the originals, but that is a small criticism. All in all, both of these gentlemen have provided excellent commentary.

I would be remiss if I did not at least provide a list of some of my favorites from the book. Will O' The Wisp is a fine Cards Through Newspaper assembly, later popularized by Albert Goshman. The Stop Fan Discovery is a superb forcing tool that is still in use by many. The Giant Trio Flight is a stand-up version of Cards Across using jumbo cards and envelopes that might enjoy renewed interest, along with a great handling for Card in Balloon. The Spirit Slates and Magazine Test is a favorite of Tamariz that also deserves more consideration. The Stack of Quarters has a great handling and one I use frequently. There is a superb copper/ silver handling of Sympathetic Coins. Kaplan’s routine for the Brema Bill Tube may well have you scouring your drawer for your set. For anyone considering The Bill in Lemon, you should certainly read and absorb the wonderful details provided in this book. Finally, my favorite of this tome is certainly The Gypsy Thread. Despite numerous variations, this remains the seminal work on this effect and there are details provided here that have been forgotten. It has been a constant in my own performing repertoire for over forty years.

This book has been out of print for many years and has commanded high prices on the secondary market. This is not just for its collectible nature, but that it is a wonderful resource on great, performable magic. The fact that it has been reprinted would be beneficial enough, but Warren Kaps and Lybrary.com have gone far beyond that goal. This edition deserves to stand right next to the original on its own as a new classic. Highly recommended.


Juncture: business card marking system

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 26 June, 2020)

Juncture: business card marking systemI will use this. Its a great idea. Simple and undetectable. Its right in the open and yet totally hidden. I love simple things and this is beautiful.


The Jastrow Illusion in Magic

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 26 June, 2020)

The Jastrow Illusion in MagicA pretty good read. Has a lot of history and research that I didn't know about the 'boomerangs'.


It Must Be Mindreading

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

It Must Be MindreadingThis is a very very interesting read. Amazingly good ideas. The thinking of George B. Anderson is interesting. This book I will read often.


Artful Mentalism: Three Secrets

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Artful Mentalism: Three SecretsI love to listen to Weber and Cassidy. And if you think you only get three secrets.... you get very much more than that. Just Enjoy.


Laboratory Conditions

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Laboratory ConditionsI love this method. Its so good. I don't want anyone to buy this because its so great.


The Mastermind Papers

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

The Mastermind PapersBillet Work, impromptu mentalism, and behind this is the mind of Bob Cassidy. I don't have to say much more.


Behind the Scenes with the Mediums

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Behind the Scenes with the MediumsHere you can learn much about the true works of the mediums. Very interesting and amazing book.


Psycho Gizmo

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Psycho GizmoThis is great. I really enjoy to read this. There are great ideas you can use. The important part is that you use your imagination how you could do the things written yourself. Sometimes we read these old magazines and books and right away discard it. Just use your imagination. I found so many things that where very interesting.


Mind and Magic Magazine

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Mind and Magic MagazineThis is very worth having. It is practical and interesting. A magazine without much card work.


Mentalism Masterclass 4: billets

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Mentalism Masterclass 4: billetsIts an okay read. I feel that there are better books on Billet Work. But you find interesting bits in here like psychology and good thinking on the way to reveal information.


Stunners! Plus! Two Decades of Mental Magic

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Stunners! Plus! Two Decades of Mental MagicThis is creative thinking plus. A beautiful written book about this man's life and his way of thinking. Every Mentalist should read this.


The Bold and Subtle Miracles of Dr. Faust

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

The Bold and Subtle Miracles of Dr. FaustAs a Mentalist I feel that you must read this. Its David Hoy. His book test is originally written up here. Find out about him and the way he thinks and why his book test is so great.


Jinx

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

JinxThis is full of great ideas. I love it.


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by William Freeman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 June, 2020)

Golf Ball in GlassI can’t get consistent enough. 1 success in 5 attempts. The technique is undoubtedly valid but I can’t master it. I make impossible bottles and hoped to add this. I’m a wedding Celebrant and toastmaster and these would make a unique gift to golfing couples. I’ll look to buy instead. Pity.


Propless ACAAN

reviewed by Ernest Hampson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 June, 2020)

Propless ACAANThis sounded too good to be true. It was. I took a shot. What can I say? Method is pretty obvious to spectator imho. I've gotten some good stuff from Lybrary, so an occasional miss isn't going to turn me off.


PRIC: Propless Remote Instant Cartomancy

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 13 June, 2020)

PRIC: Propless Remote Instant CartomancyTHE UNKNOWN MENTALIST HAS DONE IT AGAIN!!! I believe this is a GREAT effect for anyone interested in creating the illusion of doing a reading. My personal approach since I'm very serious natured is dropping the jokes about dropping the cards etc...however, if you want to make it more lighthearted then use the jokes. I haven't used this yet but I predict that the spectators reactions will be priceless. THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST has created a way to use this basically without memorizing anything and I believe that was unheard of until now. Having said that, I will personally prefer to copying the reading sheet so I can do this one on one with the spectator, hopefully, when we can meet with people after the corona virus is over. Of course, I will have to memorize all the information for the script. The big thing is that this is so versatile on how you want to do this effect you can't loose. The main thing is whether you choose to use this or not...YOU CAN'T LOSE, ESPECIALLY FOR THE VALUE OF THE EFFECT RIGHT NOW! This has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. The UNKNOWN MENTALIST should have charged more for this. Get the effect NOW before it goes up in price.


Psychabulary

reviewed by Giovanni Iuliani (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 10 June, 2020)

PsychabularyWhile it might be useful to someone unimaginative, there are more creative answers in one of Robert Nelson's books. Furthermore, while a few bucks might appear like a cheap price to pay, your manuscript boils down to just about one page. The other 21 pages act like a sponge and drinks-up more ink then one can imagine. Just have the damn thing printed without any background shades of any kind and it will be more user friendly. Meanwhile, I just ran out of toner on this deal.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1361 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
© 2020 Lybrary.com