Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1196 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


A Close Up Show

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 05 November, 2017)

A Close Up ShowA full close-up show in one book! You cannot get better a deal than this. Your audience will come a little closer to you, enjoy interacting with you, and respect your space at the same time. In his inimitable and generous style, Paul does not hold anything back with his teaching. As a active performer and Teacher-At-Heart, he delivers a 3-piece act complete with a strong Beginning, Middle and End. I learnt 'stronger magic' with his one-coin, Triple Threat Coin routine (this went straight to my impromptu routine), integrated with strong misdirection. I loved 'Cheek To Cheek' which gives a variation (albeit stronger) to Triumph. I found his Bonus sleight to be practical, and boldly effective. The three routines flow, seamlessly, with meaningful misdirection built into each routine. Above all, Paul attributes and pays tribute to the originators of these effects that have inspired him. Get a little closer, and enjoy a strong close-up show!


Accans Family

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 31 October, 2017)

Accans FamilyTwo great tricks using Howard Adam's clever principle. You can perform the tricks one after another.


A Close Up Show

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 31 October, 2017)

A Close Up ShowPaul is an in the trenches worker. You can make a living with just these beautiful magical routines. Every nuance is field tested & smoothly designed. The price is a gift to lovers of real world magic.


A Close Up Show

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 30 October, 2017)

A Close Up ShowThis new EBook,” A Close Up Show!” from Paul Lelekis is a really cool idea! Three wonderful routines that flow together perfectly or they could be easily performed independently. What a great idea! The opening routine “Pastboard Prison” is a killer! Here you’ll learn a fantastic control of three selections that you’ll use in many other routines, plus Pauls’ rendition of this classic effect is by far the smoothest and most direct handling you’ll find. As usual, Paul streamlines the moves so your concentration can and should be on presentation! “Triple Threat Coin” is a fun and interactive routine that features a marvelous vanish/transposition that is well supported by some great audience control, fun patter and timely misdirection. Again, this is a fun and entertaining routine to perform and you’ll find many uses for the coin steal slight presented here. The Closer of the three routines offered here is “Cheek to Cheek”. Another classic that Paul has taken to a whole new level by adding a signed card to the effect! Not to mention a deck switch that really works itself and some very practical refinements that make the effect more engaging for your spectators. I love the Bonus! “Selection Produced from a Fan of Cards” is one of those great little moves that you’ll do over and over again in front of a mirror and you’ll laugh every time because it looks so cool! I love to fool myself! Thanks Paul, you did it again!


Al Mann on Mentalism

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 28 October, 2017)

Al Mann on MentalismI'm not as effusive as the preceding reviewer. While this is an interesting enough listen--and you get a couple of great ideas for headline predictions and Q&A--the problem I have is that Mann is pretty insufferable. I lost count how many times he mentioned that he had written 93 things on mentalism. I'm not alone in my opinion. Richard Osterlind, who always comes across as a real gentleman, mentioned on one of his DVD or books, I forget, that he got the idea that Mann didn't like him and also that if you showed Mann something, he thought that it was now his to call his own. So there you have it--good for one listen and a couple of ideas. A marginal recommendation.


Evil Twin

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 28 October, 2017)

Evil TwinThere are many business card peek wallets and cases on the market. The are generally nice and cost money. There are also a number of gimmicked business card stacks like Paul Carnazzo's PacStac, Looch's Hollow, and Luca Vulpe's Emotional Drawing. They are great, cost next to nothing, but take time to make. And then there's J. Prager's Evil Twin, a stack that costs pennies and will take you five minutes to construct. Like one other reviewer said, I laughed out loud when I saw where the construction was going. The method is genius, pure and simple. And better yet, unlike the other DIY stacks, if Evil Twin wears out and gets raggedy, get some new business cards, glue stick, and tape, and you'll have another one in under five minutes. Watch the video once, and you'll never have to watch it again. It's that easy.

This is my new business stack peak. Highest recommendation.


Day For Any Date for the Million

reviewed by Chris Fisanick
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 25 October, 2017)

Day For Any Date for the MillionFormulas exist to calculate what day of the week a certain date falls on. If you are good at mental math, learn one, and you're set. (There was an old judge whom I tried cases before, who believed that he had invented the formula. Anytime during a hearing when someone gave a date, he would immediately interrupt the proceedings with the day of the week--"I direct your attention to August 25, 2017." "That was a THURSDAY!" It was pretty impressive, yet annoying in context. LOL) Fortunately, if you don't want to tax your brain, this little monograph gives you a method where you don't have to do a lot of memory work. Oh, there's some--you'll have to remember a little--but you mostly rely on a crib. It's an excellent method, and you also get a simple, yet devious, way to hide your crib from the audience, as well as a little history and more complicated ways to do this stunt that don't rely on a crib.

If you like the idea of doing this as an example of your superior mental abilities, then his is probably the easiest method that I've seen. I'm fairly decent at mental math, so I had the workings of the method down in about three minutes. It's that easy. For $8, how can you go wrong?


Zauberbutike Routinensammlung Komplett

reviewed by Georg Walter (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 24 October, 2017)

Zauberbutike Routinensammlung KomplettAuch wenn der Preis auf den ersten Blick sehr hoch erscheint, kann ich diese Sammlung jedem nur empfehlen. Das sind aus allen Sparten der Zauberkunst ungezählte Routinen und Trickbeschreibungen. Auf über 3500 Seiten im Format Din A4 findet jeder mehr als 1 brauchbares Kunststück für sich. In deutscher Sprache habe ich so etwas noch nicht gesehen. Masse ja - aber auch Klasse!!! Georg Walter


Birthday Calender

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 21 October, 2017)

Birthday CalenderThis is another nice effect from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST. First of all, the business cards are very nice quality laminated business cards. The nice thing about this effect is that you can do it in so many different ways. In my personal opinion, this is a close up version of ELEMENTAL. Having said that, I prefer having BIRTHDAY CALENDAR over ELEMENTAL as I believe that the gimmicks on the cards are better hidden and the cards are more professional looking (That is why I bought two more sets of cards). I believe to still get a better understanding of everything you need to have this, ELEMENTAL and ELEMENTAL 2. In my opinion if you have HAPPY BIRTHDAY STRANGER, BIRTHDAY CALENDAR, MIND SPARK 1, SIGNATURE and STAR SIGNATURE, you will have some very powerful star sign divinations. (Check out SUPER STAR BUNDLE ALSO!)

I recommend getting BIRTHDAY CALENDAR NOW while the cards are still available AND the effect is at this price!

Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST!


KardKutter: card cutter for poker sized cards

reviewed by William Cruz (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 14 October, 2017)

KardKutter: card cutter for poker sized cardsIncredible machine!!! I was very cautious at first due to my previous experience with cutters and dies. But The KardKutter is extremely precise and takes away the struggle of the tradition way of making cards (box cutter, exacto knife or guillotine). My previous methods were extremely time consuming and painful to do over the course of several hours. I took up the hobby of printing and making cards 2 years ago! The KardKutter is worth the hefty price tag and will in time pay for itself! I'm really glad I was able to pick one up and I would highly suggest you do. There really isn't anything like this available anywhere else I been searching for a long time. Shipping is and I got the item in a reasonable timeframe, support is good when I had a question! The machine also came with some paper and a template to use for image software just need to scan it into the computer. Overall my experience with the KardKutter has been a positive one and can't wait to make more cards with it!


Dark Corners

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 14 October, 2017)

Dark CornersThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again. This is an EXCELLENT effect that I am doing to DEFINITELY USE! This will definitely take some practice but once it is in your head it will be very easy. If you like THE GROW DEVILS PRINCIPLE and WORLDS WITHIN WORDS you will definitely like this. What I like about this is you don't need ANY prompter sheets hidden in notepads AND the spectator is NOT calling out any letters...NO PA'S...yet the mentalist correctly divines the word out of over 200 words. This has my highest recommendation!

Well done UNKNOWN (AMAZING) MENTALIST!


Killerz!

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 09 October, 2017)

Killerz!All the other revues cover all the best bits with 100% accuracy, but lets remember 7 effects for a small cost and any one new to the author will not be disappointing.


Cyclops

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 09 October, 2017)

CyclopsI kept one eye open whilst I read with great interest and practised the routine then performed for a few magician friends. An excellent cups and balls routine for my arsenal.


Two Card Stand

reviewed by Dr. J.
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 03 October, 2017)

Two Card StandThis is a very well-made product and is exactly as described in the ad copy. It works perfectly for the Aronson effect, and it also holds pay envelopes as well as invitation style envelopes, which can be displayed with predictions inside.

The sizing is very accurate and the whole unit is very light so if you wish to travel with this for use, it will not contribute any significant weight if you pack it in luggage.

Great quality product - thanks for making this available, Chris!


Killerz!

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 29 September, 2017)

Killerz!Killerz! by Paul Lelekis is a terrific collection of effects that you’ll enjoy performing and they will entertain your audience. As with all of Paul’s publications, don’t overlook the Introduction. Here is a wealth of information on performance and magic etiquette that alone is worth the price of the book. Paul explores topics such as the importance of practice, patter, presentation and putting it all together. He reminds us that how you make the spectator feel is of primary importance. Throughout this book Paul has streamlined moves to enable you to concentrate on presentation and interaction with your audience. The moves are all very clearly explained and Killerz! Includes three video attachments to help with learning some of the moves that you might not be so familiar with. I particularly enjoyed working through “Another Point of Departure”, “The Phantom Card”, and “The Queens Have Risen”. I’m sure you’ll enjoy these as well as the other effects in this collection too. The Bonus Coin effect is a terrific study in the importance of great story telling patter. You’ll love it. Thanks Paul for another winner!


Killerz!

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 28 September, 2017)

Killerz!Paul Lelekis is a thinking man's, full-time close up worker who makes his living entertaining in the real world. His knowledge & insight into creating magical moments is based upon his thinking & knowledge of entertaining magic for paying audiences. Always money well spent!


Killerz!

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 27 September, 2017)

Killerz!Paul’s new book KILLERZ does just that: Slay your audiences with many moments of ‘Wow’! He has a knack for choosing effects that hit between the eyes, and where audiences may enjoy a good whack on the side of their heads. His effects can fool both laypeople and magicians. The reader will realize how to reset their sights, aim high, lock on, load, and shoot to thrill: Aim for the magical moments that matter – through the magician’s ability to amaze and wow his audience. Paul makes mild creative shifts to well-known effects, whilst allowing us to carve our personal marks on each plot. That is, to make our audiences feel good about our magic. As a fan of Alex Elmsley, I enjoyed ‘Another Point of Departure’ with Paul’s ‘Push Off Switch’ (accompanying video). Also, I enjoyed the simplicity and interactivity of ‘The Queens Have Risen’. Do read his Introduction – as always a nugget of performance wisdom.


Killerz!

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 26 September, 2017)

Killerz!You can't keep a good man down.. Even the fury of Irma couldn't keep Paul from publishing another inspiring ebook. This one.. KILLERZ!.. consist of seven well-planned effects, ( six card effects and one excellent coin effect) some inspired by several of the giants of magic. Paul has a unique way of taking an already strong effect and making it stronger with a couple of well-thought-out changes.. sometimes actually simplifying the effect while retaining the original appeal. Look for effects inspired by Alex Elmsley, Michael Skinner, Michael Ammar, Dan Tong and Ned Rutledge.

Paul has included videos and pictures to help explain the finer points. He also references previous works to draw from special sleights that make the effects easier. Two of the effects are partially 'inspired' by the Ambitious Card effect, which in an act of disclosure I have to admit is one of my favorite effects. Anything that gives me a different version or new insight always peaks my interest. And one effect is a take on an Ammar coin effect that can be performed by almost anyone with a little practice. This is all good stuff


Paz

reviewed by Reza Mikhaeil
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 25 September, 2017)

PazThis is absolutely one of the best and most streamlined star sign divinations on the planet, no reason that people should not gravitate towards this. It has some memory work involved but minimal. Use flashcards and you will have it down first nature within a week (probably a few days).


Comedy Paper Bag Blindfold Card Routine

reviewed by John Teo
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 25 September, 2017)

Comedy Paper Bag Blindfold Card RoutineWolfgang Riebe is a successful international magician, having performed over 150 countries and in cruise ships, and has his own TV shows. He specialises in comedy magic, and the “Comedy Paper Bag Blindfold Card Routine” is one of his favourite effects. To be selected as one of his favourites speaks volumes of the impact that this effect has on his audience. This is truly an uniquely hilarious trick.

A spectator is invited on stage to help the performer with a card trick. To ensure that the performer does not get to see what card is being chosen, he volunteers to blindfold himself. After some contemplation, he suggests the spectator also be blindfolded so that he cannot see the cards and his choice would be a truly random one. Instead of using cloth blindfolds which the performer claims is non-hygienic (this is true), he brings out brand new large sized paper bags to put over their heads. The sight of a paper bag over the head of anyone is funny enough to make the audience laugh. Here, both the performer and the spectator each has a paper bag put over their heads.

Now comes the hilarious part where the performer tries to shuffle the cards and the spectator tries to select a card, and both of them cannot see what they are doing! Eventually, one card is selected and shuffled back into the deck, amidst more laughter from the audience.

The performer brings out a small knife and says he will ask the spectator to throw the entire deck into the air – while blindfolded, he will lunge the knife into the cascading cards and hopes to stab the one selected card. Now comes another hilarious part where the blindfolded spectator throws the deck into the air and tries to get out of the way of the performer’s knife. The performer lunges the knife but fails to pierce any card. He “blames” the spectator for not carrying out his instructions properly. The audience can see everything and knows that neither the performer nor the spectator is to be blamed. Disappointed, the performer brings out his insurance policy he purchased against things that can go wrong in his performance. After more laughter from the “insurance policy”, the selected card is finally found, amidst great laughter from the audience!

You receive a link to an online instruction video. The 35 minutes video comprises an introduction, 2 live performances, discussion on how to obtain the props, and a full explanation of the complete routine by Wolfgang Riebe.

This routine is inspired by Mark Kornhauser’s blindfold act in which he uses a card-sword. Wolfgang has re-thought through the entire presentation and uses paper bags instead of blindfolds and an ordinary kitchen knife instead of the card-sword. The blindfold and the card-sword suggest they are magician’s props. For Wolfgang’s routine, both the paper bags and the knife are un-gimmicked. This means the effect can be performed at any venue by just carrying the “insurance policy”, as both the paper bags, knife and playing cards can be obtained almost anywhere.

As mentioned previously, the sight of a paper bag over someone’s head is already a cause for much laughter. Wolfgang shows you how to include some hilarious patter that lifts this routine to the next level. However, he cautions against using his personal patter so that you will not end up to be another Wolfgang when you perform this routine. He explains the psychology behind the premise of this routine and shows you how you can customise the presentation as well as your own patter to suit your performing persona. He also discusses his preference for the size of the playing cards to be used on stage, and how to select the proper spectator so as not to offend them as they have to don the paper bag over their head.

This is a laugh-a-minute comedy routine that runs for about 5 minutes. It packs small yet plays big. It uses props that are easily and cheaply replaceable, except for the insurance policy. You get a pdf file to print and make your own insurance policy. If you are into comedy magic, you will not want to miss out this routine.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1196 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
11/19/2017
© 2017 Lybrary.com