Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1241 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 27 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Before the Internet age, when our audience exclaimed 'That's Impossible!', it was music to our ears. Indeed, it still is an assuring response, when today's jaded and informed audience (raised on a plethora of magic performances and exposes), utter this simple exclamation. To astonish and amaze the spectator, the classical plots remain, yet, undaunted by time and technology. These are clearly designed effects with a direct route from Method to Effect, with clever integration of built-in Misdirection. Each of these four gemstones in this small book, can help us cast illumination and elucidation on our individual sense of purpose in magic. 'That's Impossible' nudged me to reconsider the in-the-hands impact of a simple translocation. The finish of this trick tempted me to do Francis Carlyle's 'Homing Card' trick. 'Changes' is an 'Interchange' effect, done naturally and deliberately (with neatness and precision) before the big finish. One would be incomplete as a close-up worker without a strong 'red-black' separation in 'Ultimate Oil & Water'. The bonus effect by J.K. Hartman emphasises why acts of impossibility can be distilled into simplicity and boldness of moves. Professional magician and prolific writer, Paul Lelekis has once again written and compiled four powerful card effects from his repertoire. Learn these, rehearse these as scripted and choreographed, and await those lovely words 'That's Impossible!'


Foam Kangaroo Abs

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 26 May, 2018)

Foam Kangaroo AbsI couldn't agree more than what Christian Fisanick has to say about this EBOOK. Also I agree to make sure you buy THE PRODIGAL by ATLAS BROOKINGS first to make sure you get a very good understanding how the BA/PA system works and a detailed understanding of presentation. In my opinion also buy the Matt Mello books and THE UNKNOWN MENTALISTS books on this subject among others. You will have everything from traditional to very unusual approaches. I need to buy one more MATT MELLO EBOOK PATHS to complete my collection!

I'm crazy but imagine doing this: I plan to do this close up. I will use the effects CONTINENTS and MIDWESTERN STATES out of this EBOOK and combine this with COUNTRY CONUNDRUM out of ATLAS BROOKINGS THE PRODIGAL EBOOK. This way I can divine a continent the spectator is thinking of, a country a spectator is thinking of, AND a Midwest state and capital a spectator is thinking of. Also by the way, I have a list of words that I use to test a spectators psychic ability in my wallet based on the PA principle. If the spectator doesn't believe I can walk on water after this I give up.

Of course, If my brain doesn't turn to mush with this I'll even learn more BA'S/PA'S in the future.

I hope all these talented people come up with MORE BA/PA EBOOKS in the future. I can't wait to add them to my library!

Well done my friend. I give this material my highest recommendation. If someone doesn't buy this they lose!!!


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 24 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!That’s Impossible!! By Paul Lelekis is another time-tested collection of awesome card tricks that you’ll find both a pleasure to learn and entertaining to your audience. These are old classics that Paul has reworked and updated for the modern audience. Read Pauls’ intro and you’ll learn why it’s so important to know and honor the great magicians and their wonderful effects from the past. It’s like the musician who’s new to jazz. He must learn all about Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, Louie Armstrong and the great tunes they made famous. I loved working on “That’s Impossible” in particular. So cool that you’re set up for a card to pocket trick at the end…very clever! An awesome working of “Oil and Water” a neat transposition effect and an ingenious sandwich effect all together is one handy e-book. The workings are all streamlined and written up in Pauls’ clear, easy to grasp style. Includes three video clips to help you along the way learning some beautiful controls. So what are you waiting for? Get this book, grab a deck of cards and start having fun!


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 24 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Paul knows what magicians like. They love effects that amaze the public.. and fool fellow magicians. The former is available in many magic books. The latter is available right here. I recommend THAT'S IMPOSSIBLE to my readers and to my magic buddies. You can't beat the cost.. at only two dollars per effect for professionally scripted classics. Get it...


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 22 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Paul is a full time working magician & knows what plays for the working performer. If you are a lover of card magic, these are some direct magical effects you will use & even fool your magic friends.


Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 16 May, 2018)

Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)I have a physical original copy in my working library it is is like the masked magician in paper back or a early Patrick Page Big Book of Magic secrets are old but well worth the read for beginners as is the Patrick Page book you just have to adapt to today's market.


Arrow Through Bottle and Coin

reviewed by Péter Ágoston
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 11 May, 2018)

Arrow Through Bottle and CoinThe tutorial is great, covers everything, easy to follow. I think this is a great deal for this price!


Tarot Magic

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 28 April, 2018)

Tarot MagicI happen to be very impressed with this material on Tarot cards.

First of all the book has all sorts of valuable information about aging Tarot cards and extensive notes on other EXTREMELY VALUABLE TAROT CARD BOOKS AND COLD READING.

As far as I'm concerned if you at least try to get the material listed on Tarot Cards and cold reading along with Bascom Jones Magick Manuscript and Lee Earle's Syzygy Manuscript. Some of these may be a bit hard to get your hands on but well worth it if you can.

The only thing I really didn't care about is using marked Tarot cards for a lot of the effects. However, having said that there are some easy forces to use and even Si Stebbins stack using Tarot cards.

My opinion is that if you own this material, and buying other material suggested in the manuscript you will have DYNAMITE Tarot card presentations.

I recommend this very highly.


ESP

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Tuesday 17 April, 2018)

ESPInteresting idea, kludgy construction. Here's a 15-minute video on the construction of a gimmicked note pad to reveal a prediction. The concept, I believe, goes back to the classic El Numero by Syd Bergson, but the construction is different. (Richard Osterlind demonstrates El Numero on one of his videos. I forget which one. That effect has long been out of production, but it is simple to make.) And I think that the construction here, while workable, is not ideal. You have to worry about distance and lighting. It's not a bad gimmick, but even in its creator's hands, it isn't the smoothest thing in the world. If you get this, I would take the basic method and rework it into something different. I can think of a few ways to do it, but I doubt that I will. El Numero is superior.


The Fairytale Of The Silver Pearl

reviewed by Lawrence Goldstein (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars! [3 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 12 April, 2018)

The Fairytale Of The Silver PearlThis is a lovely effect. There is no question about it. Unfortunately the video production values don't match the effect.

The performance section of the video is mostly zoomed in on the "pearl" and rarely are you shown Peki from far enough back to see his actual working of the effect. While very pretty, this is less than useful in learning the effect.

In the explanation section of the video, while it does show how to attach the pearl, there is no discussion of the proper size or weight of pearl to use. Does the weight of the pearl matter to the effect? It must, but there are no hints in that regard. Another problem with the routine description is that there is no discussion of the clam shell box and the role that it plays in the effect, at the least, you should be told how heavy the box needs to be to provide a suitable anchor. There also is no discussion of how to get the button into your mouth at the start of the routine nor how to clean-up after the routine is over. That is, the very beginning of the routine, the get-ready part of the performance, is not shown, nor is the putting away of the props. While these should be unimportant parts to your audience, they are not unimportant to you as the performer. How do you focus attention way from these necessary bits of skulduggery while in front of an audience, and just what skulduggery do you do? This is not covered in the video.

Finally the video seems to be a sketchy editing from out of a longer and possibly more comprehensive video. Perhaps the missing information is covered there? Unfortunately it is not here.

While these problems are not insurmountable, they detract from the overall value received.


Storytelling for Magicians

reviewed by Lawrence Goldstein (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 11 April, 2018)

Storytelling for MagiciansThis would be a good $5 physical manuscript and a good $2 pdf. At $20 it is not worth the paper it isn't printed on. Cara Hamilton writes clearly and concisely, but the pamphlet is only 35 pages long (including cover and introductory material) and has a very few useful ideas or bits of advice. I expected a much longer and more detailed work for a $20 pdf. This was not that. I cannot recommend purchase that that price. If the price comes down to $2 or $3, then go ahead and buy it. You won't be wasting your money. But for $20 ... well it wasn't worth that to me.


A Journey Through A History of Magic

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 29 March, 2018)

A Journey Through A History of MagicI am a big fan of David’s book. After publishing a number of his stories in the Magic Roadshow, to the pleasure of many readers, I am glad to get a copy of HOM and read the many stories I’ve missed. I highly recommend A Journey Through The History of Magic..


Corner Rounder: 1/8" (3 mm), 3/16" (5 mm), 5/16" (8 mm)

reviewed by Craig Plain (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 28 March, 2018)

Corner Rounder: 1/8" (3 mm), 3/16" (5 mm), 5/16" (8 mm)I love this product. Had long been looking for a reasonably priced card rounder. They were either obscenely expensive, or risky-dinky pieces of plastic. This has got three dimensions to use, is sturdy, a great value, and I got mine 2 days after I placed my order. If you’re looking for a card rounder I recommend this!


The Magic of Derek Dingle

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Monday 19 March, 2018)

The Magic of Derek DinglePaul Lelekis pays yet another thoughtful tribute to his friend and one of the great performers in Close-Up Magic. A recurring theme to Lelekis’s work is that he resolutely recognizes the ‘shoulders of giants’ that he sits on. What he has done with his latest book, and exceedingly well, is to simplify the “work’ so that the effect is retained. As a fan of the late-Derek Dingle (who is a class act), I am grateful that his work lives on, to be appreciated by a new generation of audiences. The classical works stay alive when each piece of magic is expressed in unique ways, through the mindful and respectful interpretations of contemporary artists. I toast to both Dingle and Lelekis for their love of friendship, humour and magic.


The Magic of Derek Dingle

reviewed by Mike Powers
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 17 March, 2018)

The Magic of Derek DingleDerek Dingle is one of the greats and Paul has done an excellent job of selecting some classic Dingle and putting his own touches on it. Great job Paul!


The Magic of Derek Dingle

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 17 March, 2018)

The Magic of Derek DingleThe Magic of Derek Dingle by Paul Lelekis Here is another outstanding contribution to card magic from Paul Lelekis. Written in Paul's pleasant and easy to grasp style he pays tribute to the great Derek Dingle. For those who are new to the magic of Derek Dingle, this book is an excellent introduction and highlights some of his best and most entertaining material. Paul starts each explanation by giving some easy to understand and very practical advice that will help you to improve your magic overall. As always his advice and performance suggestions are very solid "down to earth" based on real-life experience from a person who has as we say in the education field, clearly learned by doing! I particularly enjoyed the Fabulous Jumping Card Trick, Too Many Cards and Paul’s own version of a terrific three card routine called Hypnotic Quick 3-Way. The coin material Slot Machine and Silver Quick are both very strong and very entertaining coin routines. The routines are all very approachable by the average magician and as with much of Paul's routines, the impact on the audience far exceeds the technical effort the magician has to put into them. These routines work great and they are comfortable to perform with most of your concentration on the presentation. Take advantage of this opportunity to learn some outstanding fun material and a little about one of card magic’s all-time great performers. Here is another solid winner from Paul Lelekis for all of us to benefit from and enjoy!


The Magic of Derek Dingle

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 16 March, 2018)

The Magic of Derek DingleDerek Dingle was one of the finest sleight of hand artist I studied in my early years. His material, although sometimes technically difficult, never failed to evoke mystery & magic. Paul has taken some of his favorite entertaining workers & without sacrifice of the magical effects, streamlined the handlings to put them into reach. In addition, video links are included to demonstrate by Paul the streamlined sleights. Replete with worker material.


Lager Switch

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 04 March, 2018)

Lager SwitchLike everything Mr. DeCova does, this is simple and clever and clean. It looks as good as it is.


The Wandering Queens

reviewed by Fabio Lombardi
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 24 February, 2018)

The Wandering QueensReally nice trick for parlour or stage shows. It is easy to do, no gimmicks and I think for $3 is a good purchase.


Lucky Deck

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 21 February, 2018)

Lucky DeckBecause of health reasons preventing from working I had to miss the opportunity to purchase at introductory offer due to funds been extremely tight but after scrimping and saving I purchased at full price!! because I know that this authors works are mind stimulating and very very practical if willing to put the hours practice before performing I also purchased his other two latest books but haven't read them yet So well done to the author who is nearly reaching his 100 written work on here at the Lybrary...

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1241 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
05/27/2018
© 2018 Lybrary.com