Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos Search All  Title  Author 
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1266 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


SharPen

reviewed by Fred Rosenbaum (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 4 of 5 Stars! [4 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 13 September, 2018)

SharPenThis is a cute little effect, definitely close up, probably 1 on 1 is best. It will take some arts and crafts, finding the right pen and finding the correct 'thing' to use in the construction. But once it is made it should last a long time. You can't write with the pen and you can't hand it out. My guess is that very few people will actually do the work to construct it, but you really should. And you can't beat the price so check it out.


IGG Instant Gig Getter

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 02 September, 2018)

IGG Instant Gig GetterThis is an effect that I mentioned in an email to THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST that I wasn't particularly fond of because of the methodology.

HOWEVER, after buying the eBook and receiving the cards in the mail and seeing THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S thoughts behind this all I can say is I WAS WRONG.

I haven't really tried this effect yet but the spectator thinking that you thought of the card he selected AND the word will drive them crazy.

THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S thinking on this effect is SUPERB along with the price right now.

You owe it to yourself to get this GREAT, SIMPLE EFFECT, and try it on the spectator and see their reaction.

I suggest using THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S handling of this effect where he writes something down instead of using a playing card for the prediction. I also suggest using performance tip number 3 in the eBook.

I recommend this very highly for the spectator's surprise for the card and word reveal.

Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST


The 59 Second Birthday Divination

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 02 September, 2018)

The 59 Second Birthday DivinationThis is another GREAT effect by THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST. You can definitely divine any birthdate with this effect. You can use the prompter on the card to get the birthdate but I prefer memorizing the information and hardly ever touching the card. I think it was Lee Earle who said in one of his SYZYGY volumes said that a prompter list is fine but memorization is better! It is because the mentalist doesn't have to hardly touch the card and still have all the information needed. I thought about putting the card in a small Manilla envelope and taking it out and handing it to the spectator and leaving the envelope near the spectator and stepping back away from them. Then after I get the information I need have the spectator place the card back in the envelope and hand it to me. Then I immediately place the envelope away and then reveal all the information back to them.

By the way here's a tip for you. If you place any of the cards in a baseball protector sleeve, (clear acrylic plastic sleeve) the card will last longer, the only thing it may make the card a bit bigger because of the sleeve and then won't fit in your wallet but you can still place it in your pocket or small case etc.

In my opinion this is another winner from THE AMAZING UNKNOWN MENTALIST along with HAPPY BIRTHDAY STRANGER, SIGNATURE and STAR SIGNATURE.

I give this my highest recommendation. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST.


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 31 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoThe cover of ‘Janus’ alludes to a hidden message: a lesser-used method/principle in card magic. This two-faced gaff acts as a portal, forwards and backwards, to create a direct pathway between method and effect. The 10 routines featured in these 35 pages are simple to perform, yet they pack a punch on entertainment value – this should appeal to the bold-faced strolling magician. I boldly predict that Kevin Casaretto’s broad body of work on the use of these dubious faces, should receive far more attention through the authorship of Paul Lelekis (with 52 ebooks to his writing credit). I enjoyed the various applications of these tools, especially ‘Magazine Mental Test’, ‘Five Colour Twist’ and ‘Signed, Sealed & Delivered.’ Do buy this book, and ‘ring in the fooler’. I back up this book with a very high recommendation.


Chapeaugraphy Act

reviewed by Greg Phillips (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 30 August, 2018)

Chapeaugraphy ActNothing new in this publication. He mentions "plastic" to make the brims but is more likely speaking of thin foam. Save you $5.


Corner Rounder: 1/8" (3 mm), 3/16" (5 mm), 5/16" (8 mm)

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Sunday 26 August, 2018)

Corner Rounder: 1/8" (3 mm), 3/16" (5 mm), 5/16" (8 mm)This thing does EXACTLY what it promises. Nice corners with no fuss or muss. I actually had a Svengali deck that had simply been cut without any corner rounding - which meant it was basically useless. 10 minutes later, I have a usable Svengali.


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Saturday 25 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoIf you have never used double back or double face cards before you are truly missing out on some truly magical affects. The diabolical concept of these gaffed cards is something that is not in the psychological realm of laymen. They have nowhere to go. The resulting magic visual & stunning. These "little helpers" streamline and elevate the magical impact well beyond that which even advanced, difficult sleight-of-hand can accomplish. There are some great routines here once you try, you will smile and use.


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoJANUS: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto compiled and written by Paul A. Lelekis is a very welcome addition to the card magicians’ library. All the effects require the use of gimmicked cards that I’m sure most card magicians already have or can easily acquire. These brilliant effects are well written and have really no very complicated moves. They are streamlined and straightforward and they will have maximum impact on your spectators. I really enjoyed working through these effects. They proved to me that with the use of just a few gimmicked cards it can really kick up the overall effect to a whole new level of Wow Factor for your audience. Well worth the effort of having just a few extra cards on hand! I learned some fun new handlings along the way particularly in the effects JANUS, Magazine Mental Test, Turn Over Cards and Card to Wallet. The 2-Card Monte move is awesome; you’ll be fooling yourself in no time. Overall, these are real workers effects that again are not complicated or confusing. The book includes two videos by Paul Lelekis to help you learn two of the moves. Kevin Casaretto has offered effects that are fun to perform and amazing to your audience. I think you’ll find JANUS to be refreshing and well worth finding a few of those cool little gimmick cards. You’ll be happy you did!


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoJanus is the card magic of Kevin Casaretto of Salisbury, South Australia ... as told by Paul Lelekis. Kevin compiled this exceptional collection of original effects through years of hard work and recently contacted Paul with the enviable task of putting everything together into an ebook. There are a total of ten effects and all effects use a simple combination of gaff cards.

Nothing other than double backers, double facers, and red/blue backed cards are used. Nothing is used that you could not create in a minute or two with regular cards and a roll of double backed tape or rub on and/or white children's glue. Of course, you can buy gaffs at most magic shops and online ... and they are very affordable.

I truly appreciate all the time, thought, and effort that went into JANUS ... and I thank Kevin and Paul for their efforts. Well worth your time and money.


Coins by Roy Volume 1 (download DVD)

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Coins by Roy Volume 1 (download DVD)I have known Roy for quite a while and his coin magic is exquisite! When he came to my house a few months ago, there was non-stop magic! I was fooled over and over again! Not only will you learn beautiful moves and routines - but also HOW to execute them flawlessly. Roy Eidem makes coin magic very easy to learn. In my many years of performing, I always noticed the big smiles that coin magic puts on everyone's faces...but when Roy Eidem performs his brand of coin magic, he makes everyone's' jaws DROP! Coin magic should be in every magician's repertoire, and Roy Eidem is the man to learn from. Roy Eidem is THE 21st Century coin magician's, coin magician!


Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2

reviewed by Dave Campbell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 17 August, 2018)

Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2This is a nice packet trick in the theme of Dazzle all that followed. It's fun that the original is as it was in all it's 1970's glory. Ahead of the original there is material including screenshots elaborating on one of the moves used. I was able to quickly make up packets for this from my various open decks, and after a couple tries, it moves quite nicely. Definitely worth the price!


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by Ewen McLachlan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 16 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI agree with Trevor Fletcher's review. The statement 'The cards are then cut by the spectator and shuffled' is a stretch beyond the limit of how it actually appears. Not worth it.


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by trevor fletcher (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 2 of 5 Stars! [2 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 15 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI rarely write a bad review. That being said, this is an awful "prediction" and left such a bad taste in my mouth I had to say something.

It's too convoluted for such little reward. All these "cuts" and counts for a very "blah" ending. With all the other available packet style tricks out there, this one is just too forgettable.


In The Hole

reviewed by Jean-Paul Mercier (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Wednesday 25 July, 2018)

In The HoleI just paid $7.50 US for this.... Sad !


The 59 Second Birthday Divination

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 12 July, 2018)

The 59 Second Birthday DivinationCarry in your wallet for this on the move working effect guaranteed to amaze.


XPERT (X Personality Test)

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Thursday 12 July, 2018)

XPERT (X Personality Test)Great and easy to perform if you have the right performing skills which is a must for successful magicians. This fits well in my lybrary of the section marked ''unknown mentalist'' next to 99 more of his works


1415AD

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 06 July, 2018)

1415ADThis is another nice deck stack which has been out for awhile. The UNKNOWN MENTALIST has really done a lot of thinking outside the box with this stack. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I highly recommend this!!!


Fun Stacks

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 06 July, 2018)

Fun StacksI have known about this type of stack for quite awhile and it is excellent for anyone interested in learning easy stacks which appear to be in a very random order and are easy to learn. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST!


XPERT (X Personality Test)

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 5 of 5 Stars! [5 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 06 July, 2018)

XPERT (X Personality Test)This is another GREAT effect by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I see myself doing this (When I get the time to simply write words on the business cards) AND PRACTICE IT. The impact of this effect far exceeds the method used. And for ONE DOLLAR it is a worthwhile investment whether you use it or not. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST! I definitely recommend this.


Optik Deck

reviewed by Simon George (confirmed purchase)
Rating: 1 of 5 Stars! [1 of 5 Stars!] (Date Added: Friday 29 June, 2018)

Optik DeckThe idea, in theory, is great. This is an easy way to memorize the number cards in a deck. However, the description is very misleading.

First, when someone looks at the deck, most of the cards are clumped together with their matching four mates. While there is no \"pattern,\" it\'s obvious and very suspicious looking. In other words, the deck looks like the cards are placed in a specific order and not random at all. The basic Si Stebbins looks more random than this. Even a quick glance at the cards and they just look wrong. I can\'t even ribbon spread through the deck in portions because most of the cards are clumped together. In other words, spreading through any six or seven cards will almost always show a four of a kind at any given part of the deck.

Second, there is no \"optic\" way of memorizing the court cards. The only method is brute memorization. The way he words it in the book is even misleading.

In most cases, the whole point of a memorized deck is for the cards to look like they are in no particular order. If I can\'t show the faces of a deck, I might as well just use new deck order because that\'s easier than trying to use this system.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 1266 reviews) Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
09/20/2018
© 2018 Lybrary.com