Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Michael Lyth

Read What Michael Lyth Is Saying

92 ★★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 42 (of 92 reviews)
1 2 3 >


Poor Man's Nest of Boxes

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 August, 2021)

Poor Man's Nest of BoxesVery very nice reminds me of a Russian nest of dolls effect that appeared in an old copy of ABRA. If each of the inner boxes were also fastened with a ribbon it would mean less fumbling of the removal of the inner boxes and strengthen the illusion. Great idea.


Miraculous Numbers

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 March, 2021)

Miraculous NumbersI have an original booklet still in its signed envelope by Peter Wilker 1994. So just reread it after digging it out of my collection of Magic and related books. I purchased mine probably after reading an Abracadabra Issue. It was good to once again read. So many good card effects work well based on mathematical methods. My interest as a youth was inspired by a copy of 1953 MATHeMAGIC by Bearnard M. L. Ernest, with an effect that I well used after making ''The Magic Block'' which was in the 1932 issue of Ripleys Believe it or not. Back to the notes chapter one starts with an effect devised by David Berglas called AD INFINITUM sourced from an early addition of Pabular Magazine which can be performed close up or stage.


50 New Card Secrets

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 25 May, 2020)

50 New Card SecretsIf you are lucky to own a physical copy you know the content is still adaptable for today's audiences but just need slight alteration to your own style of presentation. I have put this into my wishlist as I get older my eyesight not as good from reading the many great works of magic so when time comes I will enlarge on screen the pdf to suit my eyes and relive some of my old favourite effects. And you never know I might be inspired to create new ideas from them. Just like you can...

Keep safe everyone .......


Magic Tricks For The Visually Impaired Part 1

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 February, 2019)

Magic Tricks For The Visually Impaired Part 1I don't own as yet but what a wonderful way to give something back to a visual impaired person. Without purchase I would still give a five star ratting for practicality


Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 16 May, 2018)

Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)I have a physical original copy in my working library it is is like the masked magician in paper back or a early Patrick Page Big Book of Magic secrets are old but well worth the read for beginners as is the Patrick Page book you just have to adapt to today's market.


Fez Please

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 24 January, 2018)

Fez PleaseQuiz in the picture cover Can you spot two famous magicians who I knew as a friend? A famous meeting place A not so famous magician And a well-known children’s song Just for fun your prize a chance to freely download this booklet


Perfection One-Man Mindreading Act

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 December, 2017)

Perfection One-Man Mindreading ActA great piece of magic history which can be adapted if felt necessary? and used to a large stage audience.Read for the History Part and even better practice to suit own style and perform a classic.Not to be over looked because of its age!!


Killerz!

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 October, 2017)

Killerz!All the other revues cover all the best bits with 100% accuracy, but lets remember 7 effects for a small cost and any one new to the author will not be disappointing.


Cyclops

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 October, 2017)

CyclopsI kept one eye open whilst I read with great interest and practised the routine then performed for a few magician friends. An excellent cups and balls routine for my arsenal.


Dark Corners

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 16 August, 2017)

Dark CornersFrom the seed of growth from this creative thinking Mind I have watched followed to this day with all his works in my own working Lybrary and I would recommend any one with a Interest in mentalism to try one or more of his work's. this one may take some late nights into early morning to read and get your head around but once done give it the practice time in, put your own signature on it and I am sure you will have a vary different stage effect to win your audience over.


Openers and Closers 3

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 25 July, 2017)

Openers and Closers 3Paul Lelekis writes a revue of OPENERS AND CLOSERS 3 on Rick Carruth site magicroadshow.com which Rick reviewed for the Magic Roadshow. I purchase most of my books in PDF format from two main sites this been the main one. So to encourage others to read, follow or just study this authors work all I can say the other revues do this work full justice so all I will say value for Money and usable material. Well done to the author Paul for this contribution to the magic family of magicians.


The Cerebral Approach: Book One

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 April, 2017)

The Cerebral Approach: Book OneExcellent value and very practical material too and beautiful when practised well before performing to any audience


13 Steps to Mind Maintenance for Magicians and Mentalists

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 16 January, 2017)

13 Steps to Mind Maintenance for Magicians and MentalistsJust because something is given to you for free does not mean it is of no value sometimes a author wants you to open your mind and be creative with what you have learnt all information is priceless when use correctly


The Svengali Fooler

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 16 January, 2017)

The Svengali FoolerBuy if not all ready owned two Svengali decks and one matching deck and make two sets up one for each jacket pocket when doing walk around a nice little fooler recommended for fooling magician friends too.

Haven worn out through heavy practice I purchased 2 Bicycle Svengali decks + plus free deck of cards from a well known auction site and I was back up and working, lesson learnt if you like a effect have more than one set.


Marpis

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 January, 2017)

MarpisIn order to help Tommy's friend who lost her work due to a serious health issue (pulmonary hypertension and multiple sclerosis) he decide to help her by raising money through his eBooks and he is offering an insane deal. And that is what it is exactly a insane deal I have only read one so fare and it is quality workable magic. A great deal of work on the ACAAN is not to be missed and Bonus: Michael Kociolek added two of his own eBooks to the bundle and Peter Duffie added four of his eBooks. so what are you waiting for its cold and these collective works will definitely take your mind off the temperature. If you live in warmer climates ? do you want a guest?


Magician's DIY Tips and Tricks

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 January, 2017)

Magician's DIY Tips and TricksI would be surprised if any reader could not find something they could use, improve or create an alternative this i will give pride and place in my working lybrary and return without a kite but in search for inspiration I use the wax found on some cheese. which comes in various colours red I have used for back of bicycle playing cards when attaching thread of the invisible variety. black for for black art boxes for spook shows so read this book and find answers to a problem you may have with a effect also if you collect a large amount of wax of cheese you can roll it into a golf ball size sphere which is good for hand exercises for old stiff fingers we all will have a tip or two why not send it to Chris so this work can expand?


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 December, 2016)

Magic Variety Packexactly what the other revues have said and good to see Rick Carruth of magic news and roadshow fame and not forgetting Magic Tips and Tricks [Book] and also to see /read his revues after recent health problems but for me as is all Paul's past works purchased true value for money and mind stimulating too well done Paul


Pskycards

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 December, 2016)

PskycardsConstructive Criticism is I found it difficult to copy the art work, but not deterred, I did my own, so I could work as soon as I print from art work. Nice effect worth the work.


The Dalton Boys Card Trick

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 December, 2016)

The Dalton Boys Card TrickHad the deck read the instructions practised and practised again happy performed nice effect/routine get that deck out of the draw /cupboard and give your friends a show


Mostly Perfect / Perfectly Possible: Combo

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 December, 2016)

Mostly Perfect / Perfectly Possible: ComboExcellent method and well thought out - recommended.


Understanding and Using Gilbreath Principle

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 29 November, 2016)

Understanding and Using Gilbreath PrincipleGilbreath Principle is always worth reading if you can find a copy of mental card miracles by Nick Trost a Micky Hades Publication find within a routine called Dr Rhine outdone where Gilbreath principle is used. Norman Gilbreath's Principle was first mentioned in the July issue of the Linking Ring 1958. I was born on August the 6th the following year. (Nothing to do with the principle but I do love Maths and the odd birthday card would be truly amazing from any Magician reading this L.O.L ) As to this eBook I would highly recommend for contents and value for money and not to be missed. I would recommend researching all you can find for this principle as I feel it should not be missed by the Magical performer.


Worlds Within Words

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 29 November, 2016)

Worlds Within Wordsstill one of the newest mentalists on the magic seen stimulating and creating new ideas, always worth reading and putting practice and performance time to each of his informative works.only one Question I ask does he ever sleep?


Skullptor

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 November, 2016)

SkullptorI need a quality wallet to hold/store this along with Zodiak Gods, and Pocket Minds by Unknown Mentalist 5 MIND BLOWING EFFECTS. ONE SINGLE CARD. One mans work may stimulate many a old mind but no need to start a cult with this effect just proper presentation after long dedicated practice time as deserved by all magical creations. Present at appropriate moment and wait for the response with these three cards a routine's to suit most occasions can be worked to entertain any vary responsive audience.


Beginnings

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 November, 2016)

BeginningsI strongly encourage to read digest practice take on board the advice and put your own slant on its contents to suit your personal style of presentation well worth the money


Osmosis III

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 01 November, 2016)

Osmosis IIIThis only deserves praise to its author for providing sound workable ideas with not to much jargon and always credit where credit due to past/present performers like the rest of his work practical usable and importantly beneficial to its readers with rewarding results in there performances. I got this before mentioned in the next roadshow magazine by Rick Carruth (Magic Tips and Tricks: Rick Carruth) as he too loves all Paul's work and will give a much better in depth revue I am too busy with stick man fighting dragons


Memory Extraction

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 01 November, 2016)

Memory Extractioncombined with the spring puzzle (old effect but still workable with today's audience) you gain extra spectator response with this excellent idea by the author.

Effect:

A ring is locked onto the padlock with ring on it is locked on a spring. A spectator is asked to remove the ring from the spring, but cannot do so.

Secret:

To remove the padlock from the spring, bring it to the center of the spring. Now twist the ring of the padlock against the two wires on the spring so the padlock turns 180 degrees in the opposite direction past the wires on the spring. You can lift the closed padlock up and easily slide it up and off the spring.

(To lock the ring/padlock back on the spring, simply place it over the middle of the spring and twist 180 degrees against the wires on the spring.) follow with the author's fine routine with fine results


Showcase Magic

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 25 October, 2016)

Showcase MagicOut of this world need i say more my business card is under the glass


Soft Spot: Signed Corner in Glass Bottle

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 25 October, 2016)

Soft Spot: Signed Corner in Glass BottleSoft Spot: Signed Corner in Glass Bottle

Ralf Rudolph (Fairmagic) vary clear instructions for construction of gimmick and performing tips and hits value for money 100% This is one not to be missed as it has endless possibilities only restricted by ones own creative mind.

A thought for a idea is a paper printed butterfly who's wing is damaged ( part of story/patter )the damaged butterfly is placed into the bottle its broken wing signed and is seen to melt through the glass as original authors presentation where it is left to heal. Just a thought in process


Kolossal Kicker

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 24 October, 2016)

Kolossal KickerAll Magic effect's new and old will never ever be suitable to meet every ones taste and skill in the magic/mentalism field of entertainment. What they do which is guaranteed is to stimulate any one’s mind to read practice and adapt to their own style of presentation and most of all. All effects can and do is to stimulate Old and young minds to produce new thoughts and ideas for any performer to bring old and most importantly new effects to entertain and amaze the public and spectators. We as entertainers and writers can never please every one. But what we can is to stimulate the readers open minds I like the writer's work and adapt to my own style ironing out anything that I think does not suit my style or performance all of his works so fare are in my working library Including this one.


Osmosis II

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 18 October, 2016)

Osmosis IIWhat Rick Carruth revue says. But importantly the advice within the work is sound as is the authors handling of the effects to amaze and astound spectators and excellent value for money for any card workers especially affordable for the younger magicians better food for the mind better than junk food attacking the body


The Box Goes-In-Da Box

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 18 October, 2016)

The Box Goes-In-Da Boxhttps://www.lybrary.com/triple-gozinta-boxes-a-23.html In regards to the above Lybrary link I think you have a vision to bring the box up-to modern times and materials and I admire you for you taking on a challenge that although problems at first a day will come and Gozinta boxes will be in use again not lost Lubor Fiedler creative mind gave the magic world a wonderful prop. Card board ones are selling on ebay for £149.50.

So "The Box Goes-In-Da Box" by Peter Prevos was an excellent addition to my library marine ply or balsa wood or perspex may be a choice for me. I hope to see your perseverance with this project.


Thoughtless ACAAN

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Thoughtless ACAANRyan Shaw got my attention with his first of many to come magical works "Thoughtless ACAAN'". As most magicians if not all, should if not already learned at least one card at any number effect that will suit there own style of presentation this young man from Massachusetts should me admired for his first work and encouraged to use his love and enthusiasm of magic effects that pack a punch with any audience also for his words of young wisdom within the work which I will not divulge hear you should already know and implement in your own show If not purchase This Young Gentleman of magic first work shared hear on the Library site maybe this effect will be in your own repertoire soon


Magic Digest

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 October, 2016)

Magic DigestThis George Anderson knew his magic.

He also knew what was enjoyed by audiences I recommend this purchase for the serious interested in magic plus history side. I have a printed original copy in my working library, for a new unused copy you could pay up to £140.00 +£2.80 prices vary from international sellers so $15.00 a wise investment no pages to get drink spilt on or chewed by cat/dog /children and easy on the eyes excellent foundation building block for any new magician or memory jog for the old ones like me

If that is not enough there are two really entertaining bonus sections. One reprints the bizarre tricks of the ancients and the other a runs a cross-section of honestly amazing advertisements for tricks sold by dealers in magic equipment. Most of these items were 'the latest' when the book came out in the early 1960s, but almost all of them are either white hot collectable now or displayed as museum pieces.


Karma Kosmic Kalender

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 October, 2016)

Karma Kosmic KalenderYet again food for thought and stimulation of ones own mind. Presenting through use of Diary in a mentalist capacity.make it a date in your own diary to purchase and gain results


Zodiak Gods

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 25 September, 2016)

Zodiak GodsThis will join my wallet with POCKET MINDS by Unknown Mentalist 5 MIND BLOWING EFFECTS. ONE SINGLE CARD. One mans work may stimulate many a old mind but no need to start a cult with this effect just proper presentation after long dedicated practice time as deserved my all magical creations. Present at appropriate moment and wait for the response


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVTHE KANNIBAL KARDS is the reason for my purchase of this quality work other accompanying effect are practical too well done to the author.


Osmosis

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

OsmosisMy review will not do this work justice but those who have already contributed their thought's example Rick Carruth from magic road show fame and Magic Tips and Tricks which can be purchased from Amazon in paperback and kindle, Rick knows the quality of this author's work which can quite often be found in issues of the road show so don't let the lemon float by give the work some purchase and reading and practice time you will not be sorry.


Thaumatology

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

ThaumatologyI like Jazz Ace routines so a chance to read the authors ideas one of which Michael Skinner - Skinner's Jazz Aces was a reason enough to purchase English born Peter Kane (1938-2004) created many memorable close-up magic effects. He also contributed articles/routines to various magic periodicals. His routine Jazz Aces which is an Ace Assembly card routine done with the aces and only four other cards which was first published in Another Card Session with Peter Kane (1971). Peter also used to perform this effect with 2 jumbo cards. It's a simplification of Seven Card Assembly by Edward Marlo. And excellent reading /recommended research is Jerry Mentzer jazz combo.


Publicity for Magicians

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Publicity for MagiciansWe all needs to learn how to promote ourselves that is productive in outcome of events booked. Excellent/useful read


Eddie Joseph on Cups and Balls

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Eddie Joseph on Cups and BallsA excellent information by past master of the art of cups and balls recommended for anyone starting out plus those interested in the history side.


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceBecause in the UK two pound coins can be found with many different back designs to the queens face side means because of those back designs been different story's are possible example 1611-2011 Two Pound Coin " King James Bible" a christian message is possible, 2015 Great Britain First World War Royal Navy Belfast £2 Two Pound Coin for a military story after all Britain's got talent was won with a war time Magic theme. So basically do not let this method/Idea slip by you.


Mindipulation

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 September, 2016)

MindipulationA practical idea and routine well done as always to the Unknown mentalist for stimulating the old Gray matter

Displaying 1 to 42 (of 92 reviews)
1 2 3 >