Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 64

Reviews: Read What Others Are Saying: page 64

1551 ★★★★★ reviews
170 ★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★★ reviews
78 ★★★★★ reviews
122 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1592 to 1616 (of 2041 reviews)


Bookworm: The Ultimate Impromptu Book Test Act

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Ewen Wilson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 12 September, 2014)

Bookworm: The Ultimate Impromptu Book Test ActThis book test is everything that David says it is in the advertisement. He has taken two separate book tests and very cleverly routined them to create a third. This is truly a blow away piece of mentalism when performed to lay people and would fool the vast majority of magicians also. The structuring is terrific and the test is suitable for private performances at a party in someone's house, on the radio or on stage or any stand up set. I tend to agree with David that it is strongest when performed impromptu I don't think there is a snowballs chance in hell of your participants or spectators being able to backtrack the method. I've performed the original two tests on many occasions over the years and when I read David's eBook it was one of those "Why didn't I think of that" moments! A fellow mentalist saw me performing this a couple of years ago and immediately bought it. To this day it is the only book test he is interested in performing. The reason I'm posting this review is that a couple of days ago a young mentalist I am friendly with contacted me to say that he had performed one of the tests in this effect at a birthday party the night before to very strong effect. I decided to recommend Bookworm to him and I was just checking for any reviews that had been published since I purchased it a couple of years ago. I discovered that Jeff Stone had posted a very positive review on You Tube.I had one issue with Jeff's review he mentioned that there is a one time preparation that you have to do that would take a few hours. In my opinion this is completely inaccurate, it is a very short memorisation that Jeff is referring to that should take no more than five to fifteen minutes even for someone who has no knowledge of memory techniques. At the price this an absolute cracker and I know for a fact that when I've performed it, it was talked about for sometime afterwards. I don't know David I've only ever been in contact with him once to leave feedback on how it played out in performance. I would highly recommend this book test.


The Invisible Gun

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Madison Hagler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 September, 2014)

The Invisible GunI really really really like this release. If you see it as just an effect to perform, it's not that great. But used in conjunction with a routine, this could be a very effective gag/addition. I am trying to come up with a routine to use it with in my kid shows. The bang you get is pretty loud. I think it could easily be heard from the back of a small theater. It doesn't use any chemicals or fire things of any kind. The method is VERY simple., but I am a big believer that simplicity isn't always bad. In this case, I think this method is the perfect solution to this desired effect. I bought a supply of gimmicks that will last for years for only $5 at my local walmart. This is definitely worth getting. Great work, Devin!


Contact

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 September, 2014)

ContactVery detailed as is all of Devlin's material that I have purchased. I realy like the overall effect and thinking behind the routine. He does not include a script just the workings of the effect. You will need a little something that is difficult to find. He does provide a source. If you elect not to purchase this little device he does give two alternative handlings - though not as strong as the original. After reading the manuscript it did get me thinking of other options as well as other methods. I would recommend for purchase


Paul Gordon Bundle 2

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Peter Pritchard
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 31 August, 2014)

Paul Gordon Bundle 2The Unexpected Card Book and Explorations are the highlights here. The tricks are all easy to semi advanced...which means I can do them. I saw Harry Lorayne do a couple of them in New York and he said they were that good they were going to be in his (then) new book, Best Of Friends 3. Anyway...I highly recommend this bundle. Thank you Mr. Gordon.


Paul Gordon Bundle 1

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Peter Pritchard
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 31 August, 2014)

Paul Gordon Bundle 1What a bargain. Tom Craven showed us some stuff from the 16th Card Books and The Keeper book whilst at 4F's in Batavia. We were all blown away. I bought this bundle and have been foolin' everyone since. Great value. Great magic.


Holistic Hamman

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 30 August, 2014)

Holistic HammanThis synergistic routine is par excellence!

If you, the reader, have never been introduced to Bro. John Hamman; then get ready to learn some great Hamman effects that you will perform every chance you get. If you're like me and own The Secrets of Brother John Hamman and The Card Magic of Brother John Hamman; don't think for a second that this manuscript won't benefit you as well. Even the Hamman enthusiast will be inspired to see how these effects are blended together to create a VERY STRONG synergistic routine that will leave your audiences stunned!

What starts out as a simple game with four queens turns into a whirlwind of stunning card magic. Cards vanish, transpose, and transform with no apparent manipulation. What a fantastic homage to Bro. John Hamman!


Brain Bracking

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Gregory Fleming
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 August, 2014)

Brain BrackingAstonishing that someone could think it appropriate to release this as a stand alone effect. It is neither original nor good. Anyone with even the slightest interest in mentalism is already aware of the use of the D*******r P*** as a technique to gain access to a thought of word. If it is not layered with other methods and presentation it is as good as useless. Like this pdf.


Brain Bracking

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by 7i7ier dupre
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 14 August, 2014)

Brain BrackingEffect...good Solution...no good Nice day 7i7ier


Verbal Amnesia

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Fred Calandrino (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 August, 2014)

Verbal AmnesiaNot convinced this would play out successfully in performance. Tried it on family members as a test and they were easily able to think of and say appropriate words, per the instructions. Maybe additional guidance on choosing a good subject for this type of effect would help.


Out Cold

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Ken Buscho (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 August, 2014)

Out ColdThis title was a disappointment, I've seen much better produced, more informative and more professionally done items for free on YouTube. Absolutely nothing new here, I would be embarrassed to put out something this sloppy. I really believe in helping new folks get a start, but this title deserves to die. Whoever approved this for sale online much have been drunk, or owe this guy a favor. Don't waste your money.


The Vampire Effect: how to cast no reflection

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Christian Taylor (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 August, 2014)

The Vampire Effect: how to cast no reflectionHorribly exaggerated "effect." No content whatsoever, not what it seems. Don't buy it and save your money.


Terry LaGerould's Pasteboard Presentations II

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Paul Hallas (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 06 August, 2014)

Terry LaGerould's Pasteboard Presentations IIIf you love entertaining card magic you’d be far better served purchasing this e-book than the latest card magic books and DVD’s coming onto the market. The read and then perform ratio will be far higher than most magic books. The first Pasteboard Presentations is out of print and if found swaps hands for high prices on the internet, if you missed that, don’t miss this. You’ll easily find a new complete set for your close up performances.

Familiar ‘effects’ may be covered, like assemblies and triumphs and there may be cleverer versions out there method wise but the important thing about the routines is their presentations. Of course you’ll change some to suit your style, but at least you’ll have an entertaining starting point.

You’ll no doubt have your own favorites, but those that went straight into my repertoire were: Royal Victory, a reasonably simple effect where five randomly selected cards apparently change into a royal flush.

Instantane e ace-ly. A great four of a kind production thanks to a patter everyone can identify with. With a little thought you can use four queens and instantly follow up with...

The Illusive Cocktail Gals. A simple assembly routine great for bars etc. Tip, don’t have the spectator put a beer glass on the pile as the condensation will wet your cards. A stemmed glass is fine, but occasionally I’ve suggested they use their imaginations to imagine the card box is a large heavy tray of drinks rather than use a glass.

Up The Down Staircase. This is an easy triumph routine involving four queens and could also be used as a lead in to the latter effect.

Cardboard Sobriety Test. This plays far better than it might read. Terry took an old self worker, added a sleight, a couple of other things and a clever presentation and knocked it out of the ball park. I know how good it is I’ve used it.

Jewel Thief—This is another simplistic thing I didn’t think would play well but it did. I’m not a big fan of spectators holding cards under the table but it’s worth it just to watch the spectator switch out his own card.

Okay, those are just the ones I’ve actually used out in the real world. I started to play with Ace Shuttle but stopped when I realized I already had in my repertoire a far simpler version of the same effect (Aldo Colombini’s “Jumbo” in print in one of his books and on his DVD “Stand Up Card Magic”).

At some point I’m sure I’ll go back and work more on “Unforgettable” a three phase routine where a spectators thought of card vanishes from five cards twice, then all the cards but the thought of card disappear. There are other routines in the book, but for me these were the ones that stood out.


Cerebral Connection

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Nicholas Wanstall (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 01 August, 2014)

Cerebral ConnectionI have to say, I really like this! For $4.00, it is totally worth it. Get this now!


Easy Lift: no get ready double lift

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Ronald Wood
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 26 July, 2014)

Easy Lift: no get ready double liftAfter an accident years back, my fingers don't work too good, and my Double Lift paid big time for it. I had to pretend I was squaring the pack, thumb count and lift two cards at the inner end, and secure a pinkie break before attempting a Double Turnover. Easy Lift has solved this! Within minutes of downloading this, I was performing doubles and trebles as naturally as flipping the top card over! Brilliant! Thank you for sharing this Mr Knight.


The Holy Dixie Cup

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Alex Silva
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 22 July, 2014)

The Holy Dixie Cupbad quality, not recommend


Catch 33: Three Card Monte

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Jeffrey Ashkettle
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 16 July, 2014)

Catch 33: Three Card MonteLee Asher has a magical mind that never stops at "that's it" he always seems to be thinking "how can I go 1 step better?" Catch 33 is a great example. Not an everyday, run of the mill monte, but a well thought out and expertly taught routine. Lee has a gift for not being "just another". His DVDs are like short films with tricks instead of a set of hands and a close up mat with a musical track and voice over in the background. He really thinks it out (one step better). He has released several effects in E-Book format seeing this is where technology is taking us and this Catch 33 is a gem among monte routines. I have a passion for 3 card monte and its history. It has fascinated me for years and I have seen many effects used for "real" and for "magic". This one will not let you down.


Theta Waves

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Matteo Filippini (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 05 July, 2014)

Theta WavesVery clever idea! And the two platform/stage routines included are just...brilliant! I'm gonna use it for sure in my next platform show... I'm sure that this clever concept can be expanded..


The Holy Dixie Cup

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Ewen McLachlan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 04 July, 2014)

The Holy Dixie CupThe text implies a much more 'hands off' flow to this trick than is the case. In fact, it does require a sleight that you are likely to have to 'man up' to master. I have no objection to tricks based on such mechanics, but to my mind, that's not what the description suggested, albeit the reviews now do.

Which raises a different question - if you want to learn this trick but will have to learn a sleight to do it, is it worth your time to learn it? Possibly so, in fairness it is something you could also use quite organically to manipulate cards either for other tricks, or as a backup means of getting yourself out of a hole. Personally, however, there are other sleights I'd rather spend the time on.


The Holy Dixie Cup

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Larry Becker (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 03 July, 2014)

The Holy Dixie CupIf you're familiar with my card effects you'll know I'll go to hell and back to simplify the working and eliminate any difficult sleight of hand. David's handling of the Holy Dixie Cup includes a card switch you SHOULD learn if you don't already know one. Man up and spend the time necessary to get it down pat. This is the first DH effect I've purchased and I'm glad that I did. Keep up the good work David. Warmest regards - Larry Becker


The Holy Dixie Cup

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Devlin
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 July, 2014)

The Holy Dixie CupHi folks...Just to clarify...there is no "false deal". There is a switch that is similar to a "bottom deal"; however the sleight would never be used as a false deal as in a gambling routine, and especially in "fast company". Again, it is a very slick switch. Sorry for the misconception.


The Holy Dixie Cup

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Xavier Serra (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 July, 2014)

The Holy Dixie CupI am sorry to say that, opposite to the claim in the product description, there is a huge false deal. I think it is important for any potential buyer to know in order not to be mislead.


Theta Waves

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Ronald Wood
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 June, 2014)

Theta WavesAfter reading the preview of this ebook earlier today, I looked up “8 Card Brainwave” as I couldn’t remember the handling! On revising the Nick Trost effect, I spent most of the day trying to work out how David Devlin could give the cards away as souvenirs at the finish! I could not work THAT part out! Tonight I bought Theta Waves. It was only on buying it that I noticed it came with two presentations. After reading the introduction, the basic effect and then the method, I stopped reading! I didn’t get to the presentations! I was too busy getting 7 blue and 1 red card to practise! This is a very workable routine that WILL be going into my act. I finally read the presentations David also gives. Both are brilliant entertaining routines. This is one of those effects that will have you smiling to yourself when you perform it.


Heads, I Win. Tails, You Lose!

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Didier Dupré (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 08 June, 2014)

Heads, I Win. Tails, You Lose!hello,

Simple and easy ... I find the style I like.

Nb: the cover is beautiful

Nice day.

7i7ier


Trapped

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Didier Dupré (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 08 June, 2014)

TrappedHello, Shame ... I like your ideas ... and ... I have a feeling of deja view. Good day

7i7ier


Count Down

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Jack McCoy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 June, 2014)

Count Down'Count Down' is a great trick and well worth the small price. The routine is simplicity in itself, you'll never forget it and the method for the most part is self working. The deck can be borrowed, providing it's a full deck.

Displaying 1592 to 1616 (of 2041 reviews)
< 1... ...60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71... ...81 >