Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Rick Carruth

Read What Rick Carruth Is Saying

21 ★★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1 to 20 (of 21 reviews) Pages:  1  2  > 


Even More Of My Favorites

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 03 January, 2019)

Even More Of My FavoritesLike many of Paul's ebooks, this one contains a great cross section of effects. There is something for everyone. All effects are explained in great detail, as Paul walks you through the methods and performances with understanding and thoughtfulness. The Muscle Pass video alone is worth the cost. When Paul says you can learn it in seconds, he's on the up and up. I will be recommending 'Even More of My Favorites' to all my friends and readers. Good stuff...


Pasteboard Revelations

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 October, 2018)

Pasteboard RevelationsPASTEBOARD REVELATIONS is like the big brother of the past several ebooks by Paul Lelekis. Certain books strike me certain ways, and Pasteboard Revelations strikes me as one of my very favorite of Paul's many great ebooks. There is definitely something for everyone. The ebook begins with an effect that, when performed properly, will stand out in the minds of both lay people and magicians alike. Videos are provided to cover a couple of false shuffles and cement the visual aspects. Another two effects use a killer cyclical stack that has fallen from popular grace simply because another cyclical stack 'seems' a tad easier.. although it's not. Mathedology and Nuclear Fusion both use different methods to reveal cards selected by two different spectators. These are ideal for couples. Cardbox Magic uses a simple technique I've used for many years.. and I can attest to its power when performed for lay folks. It's ideal for walk-around and restaurant work, as a table is not needed. Marlo Poker Deal is different. A table IS needed.. but you'll certainly get a ton of bang for your buck.. Paul has simplified this deal from the original to both make it easier and, in my opinion, more visual. I recommend Pasteboard Revelations to anyone who wants several professional effects for near nothing..


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoJanus is the card magic of Kevin Casaretto of Salisbury, South Australia ... as told by Paul Lelekis. Kevin compiled this exceptional collection of original effects through years of hard work and recently contacted Paul with the enviable task of putting everything together into an ebook. There are a total of ten effects and all effects use a simple combination of gaff cards.

Nothing other than double backers, double facers, and red/blue backed cards are used. Nothing is used that you could not create in a minute or two with regular cards and a roll of double backed tape or rub on and/or white children's glue. Of course, you can buy gaffs at most magic shops and online ... and they are very affordable.

I truly appreciate all the time, thought, and effort that went into JANUS ... and I thank Kevin and Paul for their efforts. Well worth your time and money.


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Paul knows what magicians like. They love effects that amaze the public.. and fool fellow magicians. The former is available in many magic books. The latter is available right here. I recommend THAT'S IMPOSSIBLE to my readers and to my magic buddies. You can't beat the cost.. at only two dollars per effect for professionally scripted classics. Get it...


A Journey Through A History of Magic

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 March, 2018)

A Journey Through A History of MagicI am a big fan of David’s book. After publishing a number of his stories in the Magic Roadshow, to the pleasure of many readers, I am glad to get a copy of HOM and read the many stories I’ve missed. I highly recommend A Journey Through The History of Magic..


The Magic of Michael Skinner

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 27 November, 2017)

The Magic of Michael Skinner'Magic of Michael Skinner' MAY be my favorite of all the many ebooks by Paul Lelekis. I'm not ready to make the final call.. yet... but I'm certainly leaning that way. Why? Because I have a profound respect for the magic of Michael Skinner, and an equally profound respect for the writing of Paul Lelekis. There are nine effects.. and each is very different in method and culmination.

Business Card Prediction, Thought Projection Pack, and James's Miracle are all distinctly mental magic with cards. Altman's '7' Location, Mona Lisa Card Trick, and Invasion of The Body Snatchers are all Skinner's handling of card effects that are both original and clever.. in a Michael Skinner way. And if you aren't familiar with Michael's magic, Paul has lead this ebook with a very interesting tretise on the life and magic of Mr. Skinner. In addition, Torn & Restored Paper, Giant Coin, and Fechter's Hanky Force are all very interesting effects and a force in and of themselves. Nothing is simple.. aside from the force, and nothing is overly complicated. Just wonderful magic theater from someone considered highly unique and gifted.


Killerz!

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 September, 2017)

Killerz!You can't keep a good man down.. Even the fury of Irma couldn't keep Paul from publishing another inspiring ebook. This one.. KILLERZ!.. consist of seven well-planned effects, ( six card effects and one excellent coin effect) some inspired by several of the giants of magic. Paul has a unique way of taking an already strong effect and making it stronger with a couple of well-thought-out changes.. sometimes actually simplifying the effect while retaining the original appeal. Look for effects inspired by Alex Elmsley, Michael Skinner, Michael Ammar, Dan Tong and Ned Rutledge.

Paul has included videos and pictures to help explain the finer points. He also references previous works to draw from special sleights that make the effects easier. Two of the effects are partially 'inspired' by the Ambitious Card effect, which in an act of disclosure I have to admit is one of my favorite effects. Anything that gives me a different version or new insight always peaks my interest. And one effect is a take on an Ammar coin effect that can be performed by almost anyone with a little practice. This is all good stuff


Openers and Closers 3

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 24 July, 2017)

Openers and Closers 3Triumphs, invisible thread, invisible decks, change bags, nail writers, and almost impromptu mental magic... it's all in Paul's OPENERS AND CLOSERS 3. This book has a very decidedly mentalism / mental magic flavor.. which was fine with me, as I love to mess with people's minds. Paul has also included videos and an abundance of photos in this edition, which is also fine with me, as I am a very visual guy. I suppose what I'm trying to say is... I thoroughly enjoyed volume 3 of the Openers and Closers series. Paul's writing ranks up there with the best of them, and his explanations ARE the best. The 21 Card ESP Trick alone is worth the price. I am very partial to effects that look like big dollar effects and perform almost automatic. I literally went to bed last night playing this effect over and over in my mind and imagining how my fellow magicians will react. Thanks for another great deal.. Paul.


Openers and Closers 2

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 June, 2017)

Openers and Closers 2Openers and Closers 2 is the perfect follow-up to volume 1. Paul understands the importance of grabbing an audience by the neck at the beginning of your show.. and mesmerizing them with your best at the close of your show. There is nothing 'iffy' here, and that's a very, very good thing when you want to remain true to your readers. I am a big fan of Martin Gardner and am glad to see Paul include two of Martin's effects. Another favorite is a Brainwave based on the Nick Trost effect and featuring handling by Paul and a kicker by the late, but forever great, Daryl. There are three great effects featuring a vanishing card box, ESP, and a special sleight of hand technique created by Paul. A special comedy routine and Paul's top-notch handling of a 'not so Invisible Deck' routine complete Openers and Closers 2.. and make this one of my very favorite of Paul's many ebooks. Highly recommended..


Openers and Closers

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 17 May, 2017)

Openers and ClosersOpeners and Closers is undoubtedly one of my very favorite ebooks by Paul Lelekis. From beginning to end, there is something for every performer. Setting the mood.. and cementing the performance are the two aspects of one's performance you absolutely can't ignore. First impressions.. and last impressions.. are vital, and Paul teaches several of each to give you a nice selection to compliment your style. I particularly liked the matrix, as I'm not a very good coin guy, and I'm always looking for something to make others think I know what I'm doing! Although most of these effects are certainly within range of most performers, I would say they are generally in the intermediate range. Not to worry.. Paul includes a couple of strategic videos to help 'up' your performance and understanding. Very well written and easy to grasp, Openers and Closers will become one of your 'go-to' resources.


The Business of Table Hopping

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 26 March, 2017)

The Business of Table HoppingPublisher Malcolm Forbes got it right when he said, “The biggest mistake people make in life is not trying to make a living at what they enjoy.”

If there is ONE field of magic that has been thoroughly ignored, it’s Table Hopping. I’ve visited hundreds of websites, perused dozens and dozens of magic shops around the country, and explored the catalogs of all the major magic companies looking for good, solid material on working restaurants. Unfortunately, the material simply isn’t there…

At least not until now…

Table Hopping is my type of magic. I’ve performed in a variety of restaurants, all owned by the same corporation, and I consider myself extremely lucky. I’m the exception though… My friend, Paul Lelekis, is the REAL deal – a guy who has performed at EVERY type of restaurant imaginable, under every sort of condition imaginable. And now, after considerable arm twisting, Paul has decided to talk…

Why is this important? Because many of the top magicians in the country make the majority of their money table hopping. These guys produce dozens of DVDs each year explaining the latest card moves, sleights, twists, and theory… but nothing about table hopping. It’s as if they don’t want to share something that might actually make you a working performer. Duh…

This is where Paul’s latest ebook, THE BUSINESS OF TABLE HOPPING, fills this glaring gap. Many of you know Paul as a staple of THE LINKING RING and author of more than a 40 books on magic, as well as many articles on magic and card magic in publications like the Magic Roadshow and Lybrary.com, My Lovely Assistant, The Magician’s Forum, The Linking Ring, The Card Corner, Magic New Zealand, Magicana, The Magic Café, The St. Pete Times, as well as several European Magic Newsletters. I know Paul as a professional restaurant performer with over 28 years of experience…

To quote Paul:

“I never intended to write this e-book, however I have received numerous requests by other magicians to share my “secrets” of table-hopping with the magic community since I have performed for over 28 years in restaurants, often six or seven times a week! Table-hopping is my favorite form of magical entertainment. You may already have a “real job”, however, you can supplement your income with this “side job” that will not only make you a performing professional, but will also lead to many other gigs that will snowball over time!”

The amazing fact about Paul’s book is that, in addition to revealing all the small details that make table hopping profitable, he reveals a number of the actual effects he performs…and not simply the type of effects, but detailed instructions with pictures. How many magicians do you know are willing to reveal their actual repertoire in detail?

Learn how to approach and what to say to the customers. Learn how to deal with the wait staff. Learn how to get your first ‘gig’, and how to keep it. Paul will teach you what to charge, whether to work for tips or salary, and how to dress appropriately for the different type restaurants. No stone is left unturned.

Honestly, I cannot think of a BETTER way to spend Ten bucks. Don’t simply learn a trick you’ll show two or three times and put on a shelf…learn a TRADE that will put money in YOUR pocket, increase your overall bookings ten-fold, and make you a true professional..

The Magic Roadshow gives ‘The Business of Table Hopping’ our highest recommendation…


Magic Medley

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 21 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyThis is typical Paul.. effects that require well-thought-out handling, but explained in a way that make your job easy. I appreciate that most ebooks now include a variety of effects for virtually anyone.. performing any type of magic. There are card effects for those who love to completely fool an audience.. or a table of fellow magicians. And there are effects for those wanting to make an audience laugh and entertain adults or children. Paul has also included videos that bring the coin effect to life. Watching the video is guaranteed to make you want to learn the effect. Reading the descriptions of each effect offers a great overview of Magic Medley, and shows the amount of thought and skill Paul puts into each ebook.. guaranteeing readers far more than the meager cost. Highly recommended..


Magic Variety Pack 2: Curtain Call Encore

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 January, 2017)

Magic Variety Pack 2: Curtain Call EncoreI was excited to see MVP2 so soon after the release of volume 1. I truly enjoyed 1 and I'm glad to say I enjoyed 2 just as much. Although not quite as long as 1, it seemed to have more material I found useful for my particular brand of magic. I'm big on mentalism, and I'm big on cards... so IMAGINE and PSYCHIC DISPLAY were right down my alley. Paul always has great advice, straight from years of actually performing. I would recommend Magic Variety Pack 2 to anyone wanting to get a handful of magic for any occasion. There's always a good selection of card magic, advice, and techniques.. and this ebook has adult effects using props like goldfish, water bottles and balloons. I definitely give it two thumbs up...


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 December, 2016)

Magic Variety PackI can't stress the value of Paul's ebooks. Each is full of magic learned the hard way.. on the street and at the table of customers looking for any reason to call your bluff. Instead, Paul introduces effects that makes the customers become forever fans. That's the mark of a REAL performer, and Magic Variety Pack, with effects from Charlie Miller and Marlo (among others) details precisely how Paul takes classic effects, reduces them to their simplest form, and releases them for the rest of us to enjoy. Magic Variety Pack also includes intimate tips and tricks Paul has learned through years of performances. This is invaluable. I still believe Paul's ebooks, and particularly Magic Variety Pack, is one of the Best Values for ten bucks in all of magic.


Osmosis II

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Osmosis IIOSMOSIS II - Paul A Lelekis' Latest Ebook - A Review It seems as if I just reviewed the first Osmosis. Honestly, Paul writes 'em faster than I can review them. That said, it certainly doesn't mean Osmosis II is lacking in content. I believe there is MORE content in the second edition than in the first.

As I mentioned in the first review, I really liked it, in part because there was such a wide array of effects, helpful tips and information. I like diversity. I like small doses of magic converged with insightful writing. And I like effects I can understand. Those of you who know me from the Magic Roadshow know how I like to create issues full of a little bit of everything. Osmosis II reminds me of a Roadshow - It doesn't matter your skill level.. there's something for everyone, from the beginner to the pro. Paul has the ability to pick effects from some of the giants of magic, add his personal twists, and make it easily performable.. even for a klutz like myself. The first three effects are all good examples. Michael Skinner's version of Marlo's Poker Deal, Comedy Card Mis-call, and Paul's reworking of a Stewart James classic Ace Cutting routine. Now, when I say Paul makes effects 'easily performable', I wasn't necessarily meaning all his effects are easily performable by everyone. These three are all in the intermediate range and take a little practice.. but that's only fair as we aren't talking 'self-working' here. Divided among the three effects, if you can perform nice double-lifts, a false cut, hold a little finger break, perform double undercuts to the bottom or top, and carry out a false count (after explicit directions from Paul).. you can perform all three like a BOSS.. The Ace Cutting routine is the more difficult of the three, but considering the spectator shuffled the deck prior to the reveal, is well worth the extra effort. Paul includes his personal patter, and even a little 'blue' humor if you're so inclined and in the right company, to each effect, along with handling tips that simplify the working and practicality. 'An Example of Comedy Control' takes advantage of crowd psychology and helps gain control of a small group of spectators through comedy, making them super-receptive to your magic -without- the use of curse words, firearms, ancient cutting weapons, obnoxious animals, and alcohol. Just a matter of saying the right thing, and waiting on them to take the bait... 'Osmosis I' featured a brilliant bit of professional misdirection. 'Osmosis II' doubles down with another extremely useful treatise designed to provide ample cover for all those double undercuts, and other similar sleights, you used in conjunction with the first three effects. Nice... Paul included another of his favorite coin routines in Jumbo Coin Production. Anyone who has experienced the look of amazement on a spectator's face when you produce a big-ass coin knows the value of a good giant coin reveal.. I am not a good one to critique coin manipulation.. remember, I'm a klutz, so I'll have to leave the validity of this effect to those of you who are.. 'Take a Break with some Optical Illusions!'.. One of those sneaky little diversions we renaissance men like to toss amongst our genius.. To quote Paul's Table of Content, the next feature is... ' Hand Stuff - Here is an excerpt from Bill Spooner’s JOURNAL of MAGIC RESEARCH by Bill Wysong giving a list of creams, solids and powders for applying to our dry hands for manipulations… especially with cards!'.. I consider this so vital I ran an article in my last Magic Roadshow about properly preparing your hands for a performance. For years I couldn't figure how certain magicians had fingertip control over a deck of cards, able to perform effortless second deals and false counts.. until I discovered it wasn't ALL natural ability.... Welcome to the REAL underground... Color Changing Knives, Torn and Restored Napkins, Coin Transposition, Money Transportation, An Idea and Routine with an Optical Illusion, Paul Curry's Swindle Switch, Clippo, and a very detailed section on the Faro Shuffle converge in a section Paul calls:

"An eclectic collection of ideas and tricks for you to apply, peruse, and/or integrate into your shows.."

They are just that... a collection of magical thoughts and studies that cover a wide array of props. I think I mentioned in my last review that these can be the most valuable of all. As magicians, we are always looking for a useful tip or trick.. and often judge a book or dvd by how many 'tips' we garnered from it. I have so many 'resources', some very expensive, that resulted in absolutely nothing worthwhile, at least as far as my magic is concerned. Osmosis I and II both provided me with several effects/tips I added to my repertoire.. and that is my highest compliment. The last section of Osmosis II turned from magic to magic history. Knowing the history of cards, or in this case, one particular card, the Jack, gives your magic a dose of authenticity and realism. We all think of the face cards as 'Royalty'.. but that's not completely true... Paul says: "The Jack or Knave was NOT a term used to indicate royalty as many think today. These terms were used to indicate a dishonest male, a male servant or a male of humble position in society. These terms are also used to indicate a deceitful male. Jacks or Knaves are also used to describe a thief, murderer, a villain or even a monster! Many will remember the most famous of serial murderers, Jack the Ripper. No one knew who Jack the Ripper was, but the term “Jack” was used to describe him!"... I can honestly say I didn't know that... The complete history of the JACK is described in a way that makes you want to go out an impress someone right now! Paul says, "Girls who wear glasses still can’t see your passes!".. So, to add a definite professionalism to your performances he included videos of his three most-used passes.…the Classic Pass, the Jiggle Pass (my favorite), and Steve Draun’s Midnight Shift. This was a nice way to finish off Osmosis II, with a tutorial of perhaps the most honored of all magic sleights. So many magicians gave up on the pass long ago, and these three videos may be the motivation you need to reevaluate their essential qualities. Who knows.. maybe this time next year you will have mastered the greatest of the most humble of artistic pursuits... the one skill that, once mastered, goes totally unseen. Bummer... But you better believe that other magicians, unlike other artists, both know and appreciate it's perfection. OSMOSIS II is 35 pages in length and available exclusively through Lybrary.com for $10.00 (Instant download) Available October 15th, 2016.. This is Paul's 37th ebook, and in my opinion, one of his very best...

Rick Carruth - The Magic Roadshow


Osmosis

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 August, 2016)

OsmosisOSMOSIS.. A Renaissance Ebook from Paul A. Lelekis

It's funny.. Each month I publish one of Paul's many effects in The Magic Roadshow. Each month I put in the footer " Paul now has 31 ebooks on the Lybrary.com site..". Each month Paul emails me to gently inform me that should be '32' instead of '31'... or '24' instead of '23'... I can't keep up! I am constantly changing the footer to include a new ebook, and Paul is constantly writing a new one.

Well, assuming I can publish this review quick enough, THIS is Paul's latest... and definitely one of my favorites. It reminds me of my favorite magic books - those that include a little of this.. and a little of that. I love diversity, and I am not firmly tied to any one particular form of magic. Every audience is different, and every performance differs based on many factors.. not the least of which is my mood. Paul and I both work restaurants, and believe me, you have to perform for as diverse a crowd as imaginable. What works for one table may fall flat at the next. That's why having an arsenal of 'weapons' is so important.. and why I enjoy this ebook so much..

OSMOSIS begins with two very different effects.. both well within reach of the beginner to intermediate performer.

"2002 Simplicity Aces - Aces jump to ANY packet chosen by spectator." and " Combo Bill Penetration and Bill Switch Routine - A hilarious double-revelation routine with a borrowed bill"

Alex Elmsley created a classic Ace effect called '1002 Aces'. Larry Jennings did him one better with '2002 Aces'. Paul introduces us to his version.. '2002 Simplicity Aces', which is definitely the most simple of the three, but with the same killer ending.

The Combo Bill Penetration & Switch combines comedy and magic to provide the spectators with a complete performance piece, utilizing one of magic's most powerful weapons... the thumb tip. The thumb tip isn't the trick.. but a utility device to allow you to perform the effect with lots of laughs and applause.

"Mindreader - A brilliant Marlo double revelation ESP effect!" OK, I'll tell you straight-up, this is not for the beginner. On the other hand, it doesn't contain and knuckle-busting moves either. It DOES contain a number of moves that, fortunately, are in direct proportion to the number of eyes that pop out of sockets. You'll really like this one...

The next two, "Reaping the Aces" and "Easy 4 Ace Cutting" are both 'cutting the Aces' effects. Reaping the Aces may be my favorite effect in the entire ebook. Originally published by Larry Jennings, this effect allows the spectator to cut to all four Aces. I judge every effect in my repertoire based on the effect it has on a lay audience... and cutting the Aces is far and away one of the most impressive sleights in a magician's arsenal. Reaping the Aces looks so cool you can't help but really, really like it. Even a beginning level magician can do this with a little practice. If you can hold a punky break and slip a card onto the bottom of the deck while taking one off the top.. you can easily do this effect. 'Easy 4 Ace Cutting' again allows the spectator to be the one finding the Aces. Based on the Balducci Cut-Deeper force, this is super easy to perform. It requires a small set-up on top of the deck, but you can false shuffle or shuffle around it to make it look totally impromptu.

The next effect is not an effect... it's a technique to improve your magic. Paul describes it as.. "Professional Misdirection - Read this! Learn a little-known secret about misdirection that will revolutionize your card magic!" Once you know the secret, you'll think back to all the times you've seen top pros do this, but had no idea it was a scripted part of their effect. Nuff said...

"Simplicity Itself" uses a classic effect, combined with Paul's comedy patter, to create one of the centerpiece effects of this ebook. To quote Osmosis.. "The performer shuffles a deck of cards which may be borrowed. A card is freely selected and freely returned to the deck. With a “snap!” a card turns face up…however it’s not the selection! After the performer “explains” why, the face-up card is used to count down to another card…this is the selection!" Paul goes to great length to explain his comedy patter, line by line, and then explains why the patter works. You really can't be prompted more than this..!

"Coin Magic Sleights". Next, Paul includes 5 of his favorite, and most critical, coin sleights. Each sleight includes an array of photos to help you get the proper feel. Remember, sleights practiced badly only produce bad sleights. If you want to learn a good matrix routine, or simply want a convincing vanish, these five sleights will serve you well.

"Some Cool Ideas and Routines From Skinner and Others" cover twelve different ideas and effects. Most are either less-detailed effects or well-explained suggestions. Paul's Comedy Card Mis-Call is classic, and includes, like most of his effects, the comedy patter along with the moves. Others are Skinner's Four Ace Reverse, Harry Lorayne's Invisible Pass, Skinner's Double Triumph, Fetchter's Explain Trick, and Dai Vernon's Fortune Telling.. among others. It would take you years to find all this ' magic stuff' on your own..

Now, I'm not sure how to approach this.. but Paul got a Science bug up his... sleeve, and brought Osmosis to my kind of end.. interesting and off-the-wall. I have a soft spot for things I should have learned in school, had I been a good student, and both science and mathematics often find their way into my writings at a time in my life when one wouldn't expect it. Thanks to Big Bang Theory, science is once again cool, and Paul has concluded OSMOSIS with two science effects.. disguised as bar tricks. The first is called Floating Lemon Slice, and shows you how to 'float' a lemon slice, in mid-air, inside an upside down glass. The second is called Water-Proof Hanky.. and gives you a great excuse to scare the dickens out of a perfectly well-behaved young man who is making your table-hopping a pure pleasure.. (right).

I recommend OSMOSIS to anyone familiar with Paul's enormous volume of work on Lybrary.com, 34 total ebooks at the moment, and to anyone totally unfamiliar with Paul's work. Either way, Osmosis is a great outlet for the magician looking for a really good read. You can do this... You will be teaching your buddies at the next meeting some of the effects in this ebook.. And you will be kicking yourself for some of the high dollar purchases you've made, and garnered not a single thing from its righteous pages. I love a good deal.. and at ten bucks, you absolutely can't beat it.. (This ebook included 35 pages, numerous photos, and a video..) Rick Carruth


Double Matrix

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 01 January, 2016)

Double MatrixI love these two effects. Matrix effects have not been good to me, perhaps because of my lack of quality instructions. Paul's ebook tells me everything I need to know, and using his detailed instructions and photos, I actually look like I know what I'm doing. Kudos and Thanks to Paul.. and my highest recommendation for Double Matrix.


Magic To Thrill

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 26 August, 2015)

Magic To ThrillI was so pleased when I got my hands on Magic To Thrill. I was already familiar with The Clock Trick, and I knew if the other effects were similar, I'd be in for a long weekend. They were... and I was. I particularly liked Paul's handling on the Four Aces Triumph and CONUS, as I'm a big fan of Ace productions. They really work well on the public. I have already put both of these to work in my restaurant rotation. I actually believe I might achieve a second deal... thanks to the video Paul included with the ebook. I'm already moving at a 'fair to middling' speed, which is astounding considering the little time I've had to work on it. I highly recommend Magic to Thrill to anyone interested in card magic. The Clock Trick alone is worth the price of the ebook.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaPaul's "Close-Up Utopia" is a welcome change for those of us who follow his magic and religiously purchase his ebooks. It's not that I don't love the card related material.. I do.. but magic is not made with cards alone. Sometimes we actually have to get out into the real world and make a buck or two with our table hopping or busking. Close-Up Utopia provides great material for both. The Impromptu Mental Epic can be performed with playing cards..but it can be performed equally well with business cards. This is a great way to get your cards out there. The other effects use common items like a straw wrapper, dollar bills, a cigarette pack, a couple of coins, a string and the mesmerising Hot Rods. Everything can be easily carried in a pocket or garnered at tableside.

Paul's last few ebooks have included a bonus section detailing invaluable advice from a veteran performer. Close-Up Utopia includes a very detailed section on audience control and the professional use of sleights. I REALLY enjoy his thoughts and advice, and delving deep into the what's and why's of performing magic suits Paul to a tee. You certainly won't be left wanting if you purchase CLOSE-UP UTOPIA.


Powerhouse Routines

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 May, 2015)

Powerhouse RoutinesI try to keep up with every ebook Paul publishes. He makes it difficult. Not only does he wirte with style and swagger, but he writes faster than I can read! Jeez, it seems I just enjoyed his last ebook and now.. POWERHOUSE ROUTINES. Paul is an expert at both creating world class routines and sleights, and taking routines initiated by others to entirely new heights. PowerHouse Routines contains both. 'Telekinetic Four Ace Reverse' and 'Find Your Own Card' are Marlo ideas transformed to a hyper degree by Paul. Aside from the basic premise, everything about the handling is completely new to me. 'Gravity' and 'Lelekis'Touch Switch' are uniquely Paul. I particularly like the Touch Switch and can think of a half dozen effects I use regularly that will definitely benefit from this utility.

Last but certainly not least.. Paul has composed an intro worthy of the price of the ebook. The advice is sure and true. There are tips and advice here that will improve your performance regardless of your skill level. I read it, read all the effects.. and went back and re-read the intro. The handling tips are important.. but the performing advice is invaluable.

These are worker effects you will add to your repertoire immediately. These are effects that will make you impatient, hardly able to contain yourself until your next magic meeting. If you aren't familiar with the library of work of Paul Lelekis, this is a great place to start.

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 21 reviews) Pages:  1  2  > 
Sunday 16 June, 2019
© 2019 Lybrary.com