Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 10

Read What Others Are Saying: page 10

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 233 to 257 (of 1407 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


Camouflage

reviewed by Christian Mach
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 17 October, 2018)

CamouflageI did not know the specific thing that you have in a deck of cards such the Bicycle cards. I'm very pleased that Gerard Zitta reveals this secret, because it is an interesting thing that you can use in some of your own routines. But I thing the price of this booklet is a little too high.


1089 Refreshed and Reloaded

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 14 October, 2018)

1089 Refreshed and ReloadedI was a little skeptical about buying this because the force is so old. But after having said that THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST HAS DONE IT AGAIN!!! THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST has definitely breathed new life into this force. By combining different principles I believe that most mentalists / magician's and definitely lay people will be fooled by this. I recommend this very highly!


Watch Me Closely

reviewed by Angela X (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 13 October, 2018)

Watch Me CloselyI found some gems in here. I'll be using at least 3 routines and that's a steal for just $6. And the best part is the principles involved make you think and that is good for me, I guess. The little bio of the author at the end of the book, though brief, was informative, although it was sad to read the tragic end.


1089 Refreshed and Reloaded

reviewed by Dan Beach
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 07 October, 2018)

1089 Refreshed and Reloaded(I don't own the book; the rating is for the trick) Don't let the age of a trick keep you from making it your own, and doing it in a fresh new way. I think it is remarkable someone wrote a book about this old standby. I actually opened a show with this one, in a retirement center. My take on it was, after I had my volunteer do all the math, (first of all, do whatever you need to do to avoid using the phrase "three-digit number" as you start introducing the trick) I pretend to fail to be able to reveal the number by myself, after some effort. So I get more volunteers who draw "random" cards from a "shuffled" deck. They don't even look at the cards, they're just holding them. (If they don't know the value of the cards, how could the magician?) Then yet another volunteer with another pad writes the numerical value of each of the cards as they are read off, then they turn their pad around, to show their number; the first volunteer turns their pad around, and bingo-bango the numbers match! To my delight, this got attention! I never read this or anything, but it sure worked. I don't know if this is in the book or not, but you are more than welcome to it if you can use it.


Perfectly Possible

reviewed by Chris Aguilar (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 October, 2018)

Perfectly PossibleWithin a day or two of reading (and practicing with the including testing webpage) this "Math Challenged" guy is able to quick generate the magic squares in less than a minute. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn a very easy, effective way of creating 4x4 magic squares.


The Red Hot Coin Revealed

reviewed by James Perry (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 September, 2018)

The Red Hot Coin RevealedLove this trick! It is wonderful to take long forgotten effects and perform them for those who have never seen them. You will have a one of a kind show just by adding tricks like this to it. No one will ever guess how the heck you make the coin too hot to hold.


Victory Carton Illusions

reviewed by James Perry
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 September, 2018)

Victory Carton IllusionsI own the hardcopy of this book. I bought it when I was a kid in the 80's, and it is my favorite illusion book of all time. Just looking at the easy to make illusions let me dream of the Copperfield type show I could someday put on. The best illusion book for any beginner in magic you will find.


SharPen

reviewed by Fred Rosenbaum (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 13 September, 2018)

SharPenThis is a cute little effect, definitely close up, probably 1 on 1 is best. It will take some arts and crafts, finding the right pen and finding the correct 'thing' to use in the construction. But once it is made it should last a long time. You can't write with the pen and you can't hand it out. My guess is that very few people will actually do the work to construct it, but you really should. And you can't beat the price so check it out.


IGG Instant Gig Getter

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 02 September, 2018)

IGG Instant Gig GetterThis is an effect that I mentioned in an email to THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST that I wasn't particularly fond of because of the methodology.

HOWEVER, after buying the eBook and receiving the cards in the mail and seeing THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S thoughts behind this all I can say is I WAS WRONG.

I haven't really tried this effect yet but the spectator thinking that you thought of the card he selected AND the word will drive them crazy.

THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S thinking on this effect is SUPERB along with the price right now.

You owe it to yourself to get this GREAT, SIMPLE EFFECT, and try it on the spectator and see their reaction.

I suggest using THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S handling of this effect where he writes something down instead of using a playing card for the prediction. I also suggest using performance tip number 3 in the eBook.

I recommend this very highly for the spectator's surprise for the card and word reveal.

Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 31 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoThe cover of ‘Janus’ alludes to a hidden message: a lesser-used method/principle in card magic. This two-faced gaff acts as a portal, forwards and backwards, to create a direct pathway between method and effect. The 10 routines featured in these 35 pages are simple to perform, yet they pack a punch on entertainment value – this should appeal to the bold-faced strolling magician. I boldly predict that Kevin Casaretto’s broad body of work on the use of these dubious faces, should receive far more attention through the authorship of Paul Lelekis (with 52 ebooks to his writing credit). I enjoyed the various applications of these tools, especially ‘Magazine Mental Test’, ‘Five Colour Twist’ and ‘Signed, Sealed & Delivered.’ Do buy this book, and ‘ring in the fooler’. I back up this book with a very high recommendation.


Chapeaugraphy Act

reviewed by Greg Phillips (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 August, 2018)

Chapeaugraphy ActNothing new in this publication. He mentions "plastic" to make the brims but is more likely speaking of thin foam. Save you $5.


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 25 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoIf you have never used double back or double face cards before you are truly missing out on some truly magical affects. The diabolical concept of these gaffed cards is something that is not in the psychological realm of laymen. They have nowhere to go. The resulting magic visual & stunning. These "little helpers" streamline and elevate the magical impact well beyond that which even advanced, difficult sleight-of-hand can accomplish. There are some great routines here once you try, you will smile and use.


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoJANUS: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto compiled and written by Paul A. Lelekis is a very welcome addition to the card magicians’ library. All the effects require the use of gimmicked cards that I’m sure most card magicians already have or can easily acquire. These brilliant effects are well written and have really no very complicated moves. They are streamlined and straightforward and they will have maximum impact on your spectators. I really enjoyed working through these effects. They proved to me that with the use of just a few gimmicked cards it can really kick up the overall effect to a whole new level of Wow Factor for your audience. Well worth the effort of having just a few extra cards on hand! I learned some fun new handlings along the way particularly in the effects JANUS, Magazine Mental Test, Turn Over Cards and Card to Wallet. The 2-Card Monte move is awesome; you’ll be fooling yourself in no time. Overall, these are real workers effects that again are not complicated or confusing. The book includes two videos by Paul Lelekis to help you learn two of the moves. Kevin Casaretto has offered effects that are fun to perform and amazing to your audience. I think you’ll find JANUS to be refreshing and well worth finding a few of those cool little gimmick cards. You’ll be happy you did!


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoJanus is the card magic of Kevin Casaretto of Salisbury, South Australia ... as told by Paul Lelekis. Kevin compiled this exceptional collection of original effects through years of hard work and recently contacted Paul with the enviable task of putting everything together into an ebook. There are a total of ten effects and all effects use a simple combination of gaff cards.

Nothing other than double backers, double facers, and red/blue backed cards are used. Nothing is used that you could not create in a minute or two with regular cards and a roll of double backed tape or rub on and/or white children's glue. Of course, you can buy gaffs at most magic shops and online ... and they are very affordable.

I truly appreciate all the time, thought, and effort that went into JANUS ... and I thank Kevin and Paul for their efforts. Well worth your time and money.


Coins by Roy Volume 1 (download DVD)

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Coins by Roy Volume 1 (download DVD)I have known Roy for quite a while and his coin magic is exquisite! When he came to my house a few months ago, there was non-stop magic! I was fooled over and over again! Not only will you learn beautiful moves and routines - but also HOW to execute them flawlessly. Roy Eidem makes coin magic very easy to learn. In my many years of performing, I always noticed the big smiles that coin magic puts on everyone's faces...but when Roy Eidem performs his brand of coin magic, he makes everyone's' jaws DROP! Coin magic should be in every magician's repertoire, and Roy Eidem is the man to learn from. Roy Eidem is THE 21st Century coin magician's, coin magician!


Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2

reviewed by Dave Campbell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 August, 2018)

Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2This is a nice packet trick in the theme of Dazzle all that followed. It's fun that the original is as it was in all it's 1970's glory. Ahead of the original there is material including screenshots elaborating on one of the moves used. I was able to quickly make up packets for this from my various open decks, and after a couple tries, it moves quite nicely. Definitely worth the price!


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by Ewen McLachlan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 16 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI agree with Trevor Fletcher's review. The statement 'The cards are then cut by the spectator and shuffled' is a stretch beyond the limit of how it actually appears. Not worth it.


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by Trevor Fletcher (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 15 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI rarely write a bad review. That being said, this is an awful "prediction" and left such a bad taste in my mouth I had to say something.

It's too convoluted for such little reward. All these "cuts" and counts for a very "blah" ending. With all the other available packet style tricks out there, this one is just too forgettable.


In The Hole

reviewed by Jean-Paul Mercier (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 July, 2018)

In The HoleI just paid $7.50 US for this.... Sad !


1415AD

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 06 July, 2018)

1415ADThis is another nice deck stack which has been out for awhile. The UNKNOWN MENTALIST has really done a lot of thinking outside the box with this stack. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I highly recommend this!!!


Psilent Library Psychic Librarian

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 June, 2018)

Psilent Library Psychic LibrarianThis is another GREAT effect to perform on lay people. I knew about this effect before but the only thing stopping me from using it was I didn't quite like the original patter with the effect but the methodology used was incredible. Where else can you find an effect for this price and be able to predict the total price of the books selected AND pick up the thoughts of the title of the two books the spectators are thinking of?

Years ago I used to do CASINO ROYALE from LARRY BECKER in some of my shows and CRUISE CONTROL from LEE EARLE in other shows. These are both effects with multiple predictions also and the props look great but the price difference was great also.

All I can say is for 18 dollars you have a very nice effect which you can print up the props yourself.

Also with three different presentations you will definitely find the right presentation for you.

As with 99.9% of THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S material I recommend this highly.


The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorial

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 June, 2018)

The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorialThis book is good. Very good. He gives a clear and thorough explanation of joining cards using dry mount materials. And the method works.

I have not tried everything in his book, as I'm just starting. But I have made double backers and double facers with little effort. A split facer took 1 try.

And because dry mount is used, the cards have the correct feel to them and they coalesce into the deck unlike the rubber cement versions I've built in the past.

I do NOT use his exact method of splitting the cards, nor do I use anyone else's exact method. I think splitting cards is somewhat idiosyncratic, so it might help if you've seen several other tutorials on splitting cards to give you alternative ideas.

But all in all, good book. And if I graduate to the more complicated builds - next up, the Hofzinser card - well, then it's a great book.


P.A.T.H.S.

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 June, 2018)

P.A.T.H.S.This EBOOK is incredible. You also need his ORIGINS EBOOK also! What I really like about this EBOOK is that it gave me a broader understanding of how to construct a BRANCHING Anagram. I am very familiar with PROGRESSIVE Anagrams. I really like all the material in this EBOOK and right now I am thinking mostly of all the material under PATH I, PATH II, ANAGRAM ARCHITECTURE with the ASTROLOGY ANAGRAM and TRIANGULATION 2.0 FEMALE and TRIANGULATION 2.0 MALE.

I think I'm least interested in ALPHAGRAM because it looks like heady stuff to me but I'm sure I could do it after studying it quite a bit.

PATHS IV and V would also take some thinking to do but the TRUTH/LIAR routine looks very interesting.

This material combined with ORIGINS will definitely give you some believable material.

I really don't care how a mentalist performs a BA/PA as long as he really studies all the material out there and focuses on presentation. Also a performer can use any method that he wants. I do multiple methods myself and if questioned on a change of methodology I simply say "Different people think different ways. That is why I pick things up differently."

I have a word list in my wallet for a PA effect. The effect is from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S WORLDS WITHIN WORDS EBOOK. I simply have a spectator choose a word that he can spell in his mind and then take the paper back in place it in my wallet. Then I simply reveal it by using a PA. But now I'm probably going to actually change this to a BA because it is easier in my opinion to use this effect with a BA because you don't have many letters to ask to know the thought of word. But it is a nice extra effect to have with you along with doing other BA/PA'S.

I also am constructing my own word list on a flash drive from various sources so I can make PA lists about anytime that I need to. For example using three different word lists with three different spectators would be amazing.

Again, Matt Mello's thinking on this subject is AMAZING. I recommend his PA EBOOKS very highly!!!

Well done my friend. Please put out more PA/BA EBOOKS in the future.


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Before the Internet age, when our audience exclaimed 'That's Impossible!', it was music to our ears. Indeed, it still is an assuring response, when today's jaded and informed audience (raised on a plethora of magic performances and exposes), utter this simple exclamation. To astonish and amaze the spectator, the classical plots remain, yet, undaunted by time and technology. These are clearly designed effects with a direct route from Method to Effect, with clever integration of built-in Misdirection. Each of these four gemstones in this small book, can help us cast illumination and elucidation on our individual sense of purpose in magic. 'That's Impossible' nudged me to reconsider the in-the-hands impact of a simple translocation. The finish of this trick tempted me to do Francis Carlyle's 'Homing Card' trick. 'Changes' is an 'Interchange' effect, done naturally and deliberately (with neatness and precision) before the big finish. One would be incomplete as a close-up worker without a strong 'red-black' separation in 'Ultimate Oil & Water'. The bonus effect by J.K. Hartman emphasises why acts of impossibility can be distilled into simplicity and boldness of moves. Professional magician and prolific writer, Paul Lelekis has once again written and compiled four powerful card effects from his repertoire. Learn these, rehearse these as scripted and choreographed, and await those lovely words 'That's Impossible!'


Foam Kangaroo Abs

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 26 May, 2018)

Foam Kangaroo AbsI couldn't agree more than what Christian Fisanick has to say about this EBOOK. Also I agree to make sure you buy THE PRODIGAL by ATLAS BROOKINGS first to make sure you get a very good understanding how the BA/PA system works and a detailed understanding of presentation. In my opinion also buy the Matt Mello books and THE UNKNOWN MENTALISTS books on this subject among others. You will have everything from traditional to very unusual approaches. I need to buy one more MATT MELLO EBOOK PATHS to complete my collection!

I'm crazy but imagine doing this: I plan to do this close up. I will use the effects CONTINENTS and MIDWESTERN STATES out of this EBOOK and combine this with COUNTRY CONUNDRUM out of ATLAS BROOKINGS THE PRODIGAL EBOOK. This way I can divine a continent the spectator is thinking of, a country a spectator is thinking of, AND a Midwest state and capital a spectator is thinking of. Also by the way, I have a list of words that I use to test a spectators psychic ability in my wallet based on the PA principle. If the spectator doesn't believe I can walk on water after this I give up.

Of course, If my brain doesn't turn to mush with this I'll even learn more BA'S/PA'S in the future.

I hope all these talented people come up with MORE BA/PA EBOOKS in the future. I can't wait to add them to my library!

Well done my friend. I give this material my highest recommendation. If someone doesn't buy this they lose!!!

Displaying 233 to 257 (of 1407 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >