Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 10

Read What Others Are Saying: page 10

1103 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 236 to 260 (of 1410 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2

reviewed by Dave Campbell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 August, 2018)

Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2This is a nice packet trick in the theme of Dazzle all that followed. It's fun that the original is as it was in all it's 1970's glory. Ahead of the original there is material including screenshots elaborating on one of the moves used. I was able to quickly make up packets for this from my various open decks, and after a couple tries, it moves quite nicely. Definitely worth the price!


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by Ewen McLachlan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 16 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI agree with Trevor Fletcher's review. The statement 'The cards are then cut by the spectator and shuffled' is a stretch beyond the limit of how it actually appears. Not worth it.


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by trevor fletcher (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 15 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI rarely write a bad review. That being said, this is an awful "prediction" and left such a bad taste in my mouth I had to say something.

It's too convoluted for such little reward. All these "cuts" and counts for a very "blah" ending. With all the other available packet style tricks out there, this one is just too forgettable.


In The Hole

reviewed by Jean-Paul Mercier (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 July, 2018)

In The HoleI just paid $7.50 US for this.... Sad !


XPERT (X Personality Test)

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 July, 2018)

XPERT (X Personality Test)Great and easy to perform if you have the right performing skills which is a must for successful magicians. This fits well in my lybrary of the section marked ''unknown mentalist'' next to 99 more of his works


1415AD

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 06 July, 2018)

1415ADThis is another nice deck stack which has been out for awhile. The UNKNOWN MENTALIST has really done a lot of thinking outside the box with this stack. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I highly recommend this!!!


XPERT (X Personality Test)

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 06 July, 2018)

XPERT (X Personality Test)This is another GREAT effect by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I see myself doing this (When I get the time to simply write words on the business cards) AND PRACTICE IT. The impact of this effect far exceeds the method used. And for ONE DOLLAR it is a worthwhile investment whether you use it or not. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST! I definitely recommend this.


Psilent Library Psychic Librarian

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 June, 2018)

Psilent Library Psychic LibrarianThis is another GREAT effect to perform on lay people. I knew about this effect before but the only thing stopping me from using it was I didn't quite like the original patter with the effect but the methodology used was incredible. Where else can you find an effect for this price and be able to predict the total price of the books selected AND pick up the thoughts of the title of the two books the spectators are thinking of?

Years ago I used to do CASINO ROYALE from LARRY BECKER in some of my shows and CRUISE CONTROL from LEE EARLE in other shows. These are both effects with multiple predictions also and the props look great but the price difference was great also.

All I can say is for 18 dollars you have a very nice effect which you can print up the props yourself.

Also with three different presentations you will definitely find the right presentation for you.

As with 99.9% of THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S material I recommend this highly.


The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorial

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 June, 2018)

The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorialThis book is good. Very good. He gives a clear and thorough explanation of joining cards using dry mount materials. And the method works.

I have not tried everything in his book, as I'm just starting. But I have made double backers and double facers with little effort. A split facer took 1 try.

And because dry mount is used, the cards have the correct feel to them and they coalesce into the deck unlike the rubber cement versions I've built in the past.

I do NOT use his exact method of splitting the cards, nor do I use anyone else's exact method. I think splitting cards is somewhat idiosyncratic, so it might help if you've seen several other tutorials on splitting cards to give you alternative ideas.

But all in all, good book. And if I graduate to the more complicated builds - next up, the Hofzinser card - well, then it's a great book.


P.A.T.H.S.

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 June, 2018)

P.A.T.H.S.This EBOOK is incredible. You also need his ORIGINS EBOOK also! What I really like about this EBOOK is that it gave me a broader understanding of how to construct a BRANCHING Anagram. I am very familiar with PROGRESSIVE Anagrams. I really like all the material in this EBOOK and right now I am thinking mostly of all the material under PATH I, PATH II, ANAGRAM ARCHITECTURE with the ASTROLOGY ANAGRAM and TRIANGULATION 2.0 FEMALE and TRIANGULATION 2.0 MALE.

I think I'm least interested in ALPHAGRAM because it looks like heady stuff to me but I'm sure I could do it after studying it quite a bit.

PATHS IV and V would also take some thinking to do but the TRUTH/LIAR routine looks very interesting.

This material combined with ORIGINS will definitely give you some believable material.

I really don't care how a mentalist performs a BA/PA as long as he really studies all the material out there and focuses on presentation. Also a performer can use any method that he wants. I do multiple methods myself and if questioned on a change of methodology I simply say "Different people think different ways. That is why I pick things up differently."

I have a word list in my wallet for a PA effect. The effect is from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S WORLDS WITHIN WORDS EBOOK. I simply have a spectator choose a word that he can spell in his mind and then take the paper back in place it in my wallet. Then I simply reveal it by using a PA. But now I'm probably going to actually change this to a BA because it is easier in my opinion to use this effect with a BA because you don't have many letters to ask to know the thought of word. But it is a nice extra effect to have with you along with doing other BA/PA'S.

I also am constructing my own word list on a flash drive from various sources so I can make PA lists about anytime that I need to. For example using three different word lists with three different spectators would be amazing.

Again, Matt Mello's thinking on this subject is AMAZING. I recommend his PA EBOOKS very highly!!!

Well done my friend. Please put out more PA/BA EBOOKS in the future.


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Before the Internet age, when our audience exclaimed 'That's Impossible!', it was music to our ears. Indeed, it still is an assuring response, when today's jaded and informed audience (raised on a plethora of magic performances and exposes), utter this simple exclamation. To astonish and amaze the spectator, the classical plots remain, yet, undaunted by time and technology. These are clearly designed effects with a direct route from Method to Effect, with clever integration of built-in Misdirection. Each of these four gemstones in this small book, can help us cast illumination and elucidation on our individual sense of purpose in magic. 'That's Impossible' nudged me to reconsider the in-the-hands impact of a simple translocation. The finish of this trick tempted me to do Francis Carlyle's 'Homing Card' trick. 'Changes' is an 'Interchange' effect, done naturally and deliberately (with neatness and precision) before the big finish. One would be incomplete as a close-up worker without a strong 'red-black' separation in 'Ultimate Oil & Water'. The bonus effect by J.K. Hartman emphasises why acts of impossibility can be distilled into simplicity and boldness of moves. Professional magician and prolific writer, Paul Lelekis has once again written and compiled four powerful card effects from his repertoire. Learn these, rehearse these as scripted and choreographed, and await those lovely words 'That's Impossible!'


Foam Kangaroo Abs

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 26 May, 2018)

Foam Kangaroo AbsI couldn't agree more than what Christian Fisanick has to say about this EBOOK. Also I agree to make sure you buy THE PRODIGAL by ATLAS BROOKINGS first to make sure you get a very good understanding how the BA/PA system works and a detailed understanding of presentation. In my opinion also buy the Matt Mello books and THE UNKNOWN MENTALISTS books on this subject among others. You will have everything from traditional to very unusual approaches. I need to buy one more MATT MELLO EBOOK PATHS to complete my collection!

I'm crazy but imagine doing this: I plan to do this close up. I will use the effects CONTINENTS and MIDWESTERN STATES out of this EBOOK and combine this with COUNTRY CONUNDRUM out of ATLAS BROOKINGS THE PRODIGAL EBOOK. This way I can divine a continent the spectator is thinking of, a country a spectator is thinking of, AND a Midwest state and capital a spectator is thinking of. Also by the way, I have a list of words that I use to test a spectators psychic ability in my wallet based on the PA principle. If the spectator doesn't believe I can walk on water after this I give up.

Of course, If my brain doesn't turn to mush with this I'll even learn more BA'S/PA'S in the future.

I hope all these talented people come up with MORE BA/PA EBOOKS in the future. I can't wait to add them to my library!

Well done my friend. I give this material my highest recommendation. If someone doesn't buy this they lose!!!


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!That’s Impossible!! By Paul Lelekis is another time-tested collection of awesome card tricks that you’ll find both a pleasure to learn and entertaining to your audience. These are old classics that Paul has reworked and updated for the modern audience. Read Pauls’ intro and you’ll learn why it’s so important to know and honor the great magicians and their wonderful effects from the past. It’s like the musician who’s new to jazz. He must learn all about Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, Louie Armstrong and the great tunes they made famous. I loved working on “That’s Impossible” in particular. So cool that you’re set up for a card to pocket trick at the end…very clever! An awesome working of “Oil and Water” a neat transposition effect and an ingenious sandwich effect all together is one handy e-book. The workings are all streamlined and written up in Pauls’ clear, easy to grasp style. Includes three video clips to help you along the way learning some beautiful controls. So what are you waiting for? Get this book, grab a deck of cards and start having fun!


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Paul knows what magicians like. They love effects that amaze the public.. and fool fellow magicians. The former is available in many magic books. The latter is available right here. I recommend THAT'S IMPOSSIBLE to my readers and to my magic buddies. You can't beat the cost.. at only two dollars per effect for professionally scripted classics. Get it...


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 22 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Paul is a full time working magician & knows what plays for the working performer. If you are a lover of card magic, these are some direct magical effects you will use & even fool your magic friends.


Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 16 May, 2018)

Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)I have a physical original copy in my working library it is is like the masked magician in paper back or a early Patrick Page Big Book of Magic secrets are old but well worth the read for beginners as is the Patrick Page book you just have to adapt to today's market.


Arrow Through Bottle and Coin

reviewed by Péter Ágoston
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 May, 2018)

Arrow Through Bottle and CoinThe tutorial is great, covers everything, easy to follow. I think this is a great deal for this price!


Tarot Magic

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 28 April, 2018)

Tarot MagicI happen to be very impressed with this material on Tarot cards.

First of all the book has all sorts of valuable information about aging Tarot cards and extensive notes on other EXTREMELY VALUABLE TAROT CARD BOOKS AND COLD READING.

As far as I'm concerned if you at least try to get the material listed on Tarot Cards and cold reading along with Bascom Jones Magick Manuscript and Lee Earle's Syzygy Manuscript. Some of these may be a bit hard to get your hands on but well worth it if you can.

The only thing I really didn't care about is using marked Tarot cards for a lot of the effects. However, having said that there are some easy forces to use and even Si Stebbins stack using Tarot cards.

My opinion is that if you own this material, and buying other material suggested in the manuscript you will have DYNAMITE Tarot card presentations.

I recommend this very highly.


ESP

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 17 April, 2018)

ESPInteresting idea, kludgy construction. Here's a 15-minute video on the construction of a gimmicked note pad to reveal a prediction. The concept, I believe, goes back to the classic El Numero by Syd Bergson, but the construction is different. (Richard Osterlind demonstrates El Numero on one of his videos. I forget which one. That effect has long been out of production, but it is simple to make.) And I think that the construction here, while workable, is not ideal. You have to worry about distance and lighting. It's not a bad gimmick, but even in its creator's hands, it isn't the smoothest thing in the world. If you get this, I would take the basic method and rework it into something different. I can think of a few ways to do it, but I doubt that I will. El Numero is superior.


The Fairytale Of The Silver Pearl

reviewed by Lawrence Goldstein (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 April, 2018)

The Fairytale Of The Silver PearlThis is a lovely effect. There is no question about it. Unfortunately the video production values don't match the effect.

The performance section of the video is mostly zoomed in on the "pearl" and rarely are you shown Peki from far enough back to see his actual working of the effect. While very pretty, this is less than useful in learning the effect.

In the explanation section of the video, while it does show how to attach the pearl, there is no discussion of the proper size or weight of pearl to use. Does the weight of the pearl matter to the effect? It must, but there are no hints in that regard. Another problem with the routine description is that there is no discussion of the clam shell box and the role that it plays in the effect, at the least, you should be told how heavy the box needs to be to provide a suitable anchor. There also is no discussion of how to get the button into your mouth at the start of the routine nor how to clean-up after the routine is over. That is, the very beginning of the routine, the get-ready part of the performance, is not shown, nor is the putting away of the props. While these should be unimportant parts to your audience, they are not unimportant to you as the performer. How do you focus attention way from these necessary bits of skulduggery while in front of an audience, and just what skulduggery do you do? This is not covered in the video.

Finally the video seems to be a sketchy editing from out of a longer and possibly more comprehensive video. Perhaps the missing information is covered there? Unfortunately it is not here.

While these problems are not insurmountable, they detract from the overall value received.


Storytelling for Magicians

reviewed by Lawrence Goldstein (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 April, 2018)

Storytelling for MagiciansThis would be a good $5 physical manuscript and a good $2 pdf. At $20 it is not worth the paper it isn't printed on. Cara Hamilton writes clearly and concisely, but the pamphlet is only 35 pages long (including cover and introductory material) and has a very few useful ideas or bits of advice. I expected a much longer and more detailed work for a $20 pdf. This was not that. I cannot recommend purchase that that price. If the price comes down to $2 or $3, then go ahead and buy it. You won't be wasting your money. But for $20 ... well it wasn't worth that to me.


A Journey Through A History of Magic

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 March, 2018)

A Journey Through A History of MagicI am a big fan of David’s book. After publishing a number of his stories in the Magic Roadshow, to the pleasure of many readers, I am glad to get a copy of HOM and read the many stories I’ve missed. I highly recommend A Journey Through The History of Magic..


The Magic of Derek Dingle

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 March, 2018)

The Magic of Derek DinglePaul Lelekis pays yet another thoughtful tribute to his friend and one of the great performers in Close-Up Magic. A recurring theme to Lelekis’s work is that he resolutely recognizes the ‘shoulders of giants’ that he sits on. What he has done with his latest book, and exceedingly well, is to simplify the “work’ so that the effect is retained. As a fan of the late-Derek Dingle (who is a class act), I am grateful that his work lives on, to be appreciated by a new generation of audiences. The classical works stay alive when each piece of magic is expressed in unique ways, through the mindful and respectful interpretations of contemporary artists. I toast to both Dingle and Lelekis for their love of friendship, humour and magic.


The Magic of Derek Dingle

reviewed by Mike Powers
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 17 March, 2018)

The Magic of Derek DingleDerek Dingle is one of the greats and Paul has done an excellent job of selecting some classic Dingle and putting his own touches on it. Great job Paul!


The Magic of Derek Dingle

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 17 March, 2018)

The Magic of Derek DingleThe Magic of Derek Dingle by Paul Lelekis Here is another outstanding contribution to card magic from Paul Lelekis. Written in Paul's pleasant and easy to grasp style he pays tribute to the great Derek Dingle. For those who are new to the magic of Derek Dingle, this book is an excellent introduction and highlights some of his best and most entertaining material. Paul starts each explanation by giving some easy to understand and very practical advice that will help you to improve your magic overall. As always his advice and performance suggestions are very solid "down to earth" based on real-life experience from a person who has as we say in the education field, clearly learned by doing! I particularly enjoyed the Fabulous Jumping Card Trick, Too Many Cards and Paul’s own version of a terrific three card routine called Hypnotic Quick 3-Way. The coin material Slot Machine and Silver Quick are both very strong and very entertaining coin routines. The routines are all very approachable by the average magician and as with much of Paul's routines, the impact on the audience far exceeds the technical effort the magician has to put into them. These routines work great and they are comfortable to perform with most of your concentration on the presentation. Take advantage of this opportunity to learn some outstanding fun material and a little about one of card magic’s all-time great performers. Here is another solid winner from Paul Lelekis for all of us to benefit from and enjoy!

Displaying 236 to 260 (of 1410 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >