Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 3

Reviews: Read What Others Are Saying: page 3

1560 ★★★★★ reviews
171 ★★★★ reviews
121 ★★★★★ reviews
78 ★★★★★ reviews
122 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 53 to 77 (of 2052 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...82 >


Levitation Secrets

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 April, 2024)

Levitation SecretsNot too bad little compilation list to have in your repertoire, just to remind you all the possibilities you have in terms of levitations. However, I was disappointed to see how poor the texts and drawings are! Ok, the very low price partially compensates for the lack of any details and explanations. This booklet certainly won't help you to know how to build illusions yourself, but it is a good little notebook to serve as a decision maker, to choose what method you want before investigating yourself to find out how to build it yourself or where to buy it... Worth your 3$, but not a penny more!


Illusions Illusions

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 April, 2024)

Illusions IllusionsA great compilation of Abbott's illusions plans that is a must for every professional illusionist. The instructions are easy to understand and the plans are clear and precise. The only downside is that many illusions in that book are marked as Abbott's property and creation, with absolutely no mention to the real creator: U. F. Grant. Many of them are even taken directly, without any changes, from Grant's books! Would it be possible for Abbott to correct that and to finally give credit to the creator?


Power of Persuasion

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Bill Irwin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 April, 2024)

Power of PersuasionDated for material, but an interesting read and useful for background reference.


Glass of Water Production Routine

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Bill Irwin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 April, 2024)

Glass of Water Production RoutineGreat for the streets and fun to do. This is a nice documentary of the effect.


Modern Levitations

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 April, 2024)

Modern LevitationsI give it only 3 stars, because I was expecting more effective levitation effects. In this book, I only found two. Super X levitation is a classic and here you will find a way to build it for a few bucks. Best Yet Levitation is a way of doing a levitation almost impromptu, without specialized equipment. There is also a floating table effect that is somewhat interesting, but other than those 3 effects, all the rest published in this book, which means the Parlor Ashra and the Miracle Suspension, is pure junk, or to stay polite, rather useless material!


Grant's Illusion Secrets

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 02 April, 2024)

Grant's Illusion SecretsA good little illusion book by a great Illusion creator, for a very cheap price! Highly recommended to produce a big scale show with a tight budget. However, if you are going to buy the Devon Knight's compilation called Grant's Lost Secrets, you don't have to buy this one, as most of the illusions of this book are in the other one.


U. F. Grant's Lost Illusion Secrets Revealed

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 02 April, 2024)

U. F. Grant's Lost Illusion Secrets RevealedVery interesting compilation of illusions and documents written by U.F. Grant. Dozens of great illusions ideas and principles that can be adapted to fit your own show. This is a historical book, so you have to know in advance that some principles are outdated for today's reality. Also, a few illustrations are missing, mostly in the last section. However, you have to read it to get your own imagination stimulated to create your own stuff, and most of the illusions that don't have illustrations, you can figure out what it's supposed to look like. But still, many of the illusions in this book can be used as is, and they are near perfect as is! Even if you only use one of them in your show, it's gotta easily repay the price of the book. Talking about the price, it seems a little too pricy to me, compared to other books of that age, and of public domain. $20 or $25 would have been more appropriate. But that being said, I don't regret my purchase and I would buy it again knowing what I know now...


Four Told 2: Modern Symbol Edition

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 30 March, 2024)

Four Told 2: Modern Symbol EditionThe psychology behind this mental feat is ingenuous and explained in great detail like Devin Knight is always doing well. The downsides are :

1. The relative complexity of all the techniques you have to remember and adjust, depending on the different possible situations are not for the beginner. You have to think fast and be alert and concentrated to do that kind of effect. If you are easily distracted and you have difficulties following a logical deduction reasoning, this is not for you.

2. This kind of effect is extremely difficult to practice in advance until you perform it on a real audience.

3. Someone wise could probably catch the method used rather easily. You are not asking questions, but telling people to do this or that depending on their choice may be perceived by many as tips for knowing who's thinking about what.

4. Limited choices to only 5 items, making less impressive than a book test or other, more diversified choice's mentalism number.

But despite those downfalls, it is as close to pure mentalism as you could get for starting a show, if you are experienced. It could be presented as a test to check who's good to transmit thoughts before going deeper into mentalism.

Overall, I highly recommend it to anyone fast minded who wants a pure-looking mentalism effect to start his show or for any performer who wants to improve his concentration in mentalism.


China's Song

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Richard Southall (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 March, 2024)

China's SongI love Bunco effects and I am familiar with many different ones but I had never come across this effect. Like three card monte and shells and pea you have to find one of three objects and it is never where you think it is. Brick explains the moves well and the accompanying videos clearly explain how to do all the moves. Also because this effect has, inexplicably, received so little attention from magicians I believe it has a lot of potential for further development. If you are into Bunco effects you should absolutely get this.


Victory Carton Illusions

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 March, 2024)

Victory Carton IllusionsThis book is a must for any amateur or professional magician or illusionist. It shows us how illusions don't have to be expensive to be impressive! These simple but effective illusions can be built in minutes, they cost a few bucks to build and they play as big as any $5000 illusions! Cardboard boxes look like usual stuff that people know and use in their everyday life, so they are more susceptible of being impressed if you can do something extraordinary with them than if you use fancy, suspicious boxes and specially built props that mean nothing to them. Cardboard boxes seem less possible to be tricked and I am sure that the impact on the audience could be better than many professionally built illusion props. Of course, if you want to have highly durable boxes, you can replace the cardboard with cheap plastic sheets with gaffer tape. I highly recommend this book!


Walking Through a Woman Illusion

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Frederic Clement (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 28 March, 2024)

Walking Through a Woman IllusionNot too bad for the price. To me, the use of tables to hide the body looks a little fishy and too much hiding, but at the same time, this is what makes it feasible anywhere any time without any preparation, with chairs, foldable card tables and tablecloth or sheet that you can find almost anywhere.


The Ghost Manuscript

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by John Kauth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 March, 2024)

The Ghost ManuscriptI enjoy reading these manuscripts from the early 20th century. This one has a lot of chalk and slate work that a mentalist could adapt to create some interesting effects today. The photos are clear, and the book has been retyped, so there is no problem reading the text. The editor, Marko, has done a great job identifying the photos; if the instructions are unclear, he inserts a note. Following the slate work, the book explains the techniques used by the mediums in the 1920s. The technique descriptions are a little vague, but they will be useful for those curious about the methods or for re-creating a seance today. There are good instructions for constructing a spirit cabinet to use some of the methods previously described in the book. For those curious about this stuff, the price is reasonable. There is an appendix written by Marko that offers additional explanations.


Food For Thought

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 24 March, 2024)

Food For ThoughtI have a vague memory that Devin's IMPOSSIBLE DEVINATION came in for some criticism because the method, while very clever, didn't seem logical.

In any case, Devin resolved any perceived shortcomings with FOOD FOR THOUGHT. The method makes perfect sense for the restaurant theme and routine. The necessary props cost just pennies; eventually, they will have to be replaced, but you can use them over and over again. The menu card included in the PDF is plain black text, but it's easy to read, which is more important than being "pretty."

It'll take a little practice just to get the hang of it, but I will be adding FOOD FOR THOUGHT to my repertoire. It should be a winner in almost any magic or mental act.


Mes(s)merize

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Brian Reaves (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 21 March, 2024)

Mes(s)merizeWhat I love about this is the apparent impossibility of the ending, along with the overwhelming fairness of the audience's involvement in the process. If you are doing a parlor show, this is a fantastic way of beginning things. People can truly write down whatever thoughts they want, and you are working a miracle in the process. The props are indeed "pack small play big" and the one-time setup won't take that long. You'll need at least 20 people involved in this for safety's sake, but other than that there aren't really that many limitations. You can have just about any word as the reveal at the end, so bookend it to something else in your act.


Behind the Back Divination

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by brian draven
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 March, 2024)

Behind the Back DivinationThe owner was kind enough to share the workings of this with me over a recent video session. I own his effect Behind the Back Location which is similar in theme, and I quite like that effect. This one is better IMHO as divinations have a certain presentational hook to them that locations just don’t. My spectators have been enjoying this effect ever since I began to perform it.

It has my highest recommendation. Quick & easy reset and very hard-hitting magic. The demo video is accurate!


A Proven Junior Magician's Curriculum

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by James Capobianco (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 March, 2024)

A Proven Junior Magician's CurriculumThis book is fabulous! IBM Ring 6 meets at the Community Arts Center (CAC) in Wallingford (a suburb of Philadelphia) PA. Each year, the CAC hosts a Summer Camp for children. Students from kindergarten through high school attend; the classes are divided according to age brackets. The curriculum includes dance, music, sculpting, painting, acting, etc. Basically, the various art forms are taught. Last year, the CAC hired our Ring to teach magic as part of the course offerings. It was a huge success, and we have been invited back again this Summer. This book will be invaluable in structuring a curriculum for our upcoming Summer Camp.

Thanks so much to Lybrary and the author for making this available for free. This book will prove most beneficial as we pass on our beloved art form to the future generations of magicians. If just one child out of the many whom we taught takes up the art and goes on to become a good magician, then our effort was worthwhile.


Magical Gospel Lessons

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Ronda Bishop
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 18 March, 2024)

Magical Gospel LessonsIgnore the posting below. He didn’t know Reverend Burden like I did. He was a great preacher and a great magician. I also happened to know he loved his family and he has helped a lot of people in his time…Reverend Lawrence Burden knew the Bible inside and out. I would read anything from Reverend Lawrence Burden before I would another author…


Marlo's Chameleon Aces

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Howard Port (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 14 March, 2024)

Marlo's Chameleon AcesWell-written review of the history and variations of Marlo's Chameleon Aces routine in which four red-back aces interchange with four blue-back aces one at a time. I would have given this a four but about 2/3 of the photos are missing from the pdf.


Take Five

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Sanket Mahapatra
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 March, 2024)

Take FiveI am a big fan of Michael's work; many of his earlier books and almost all of his Automagic Columns in The Linking Rings magazine. Take Five is a great read. Loved each and every effect. BR-ACAAN is great and really well constructed. Order in the cortex is a great variation of Mental Rescue by L. Vosburgh Lyons. In the end, Michael explains a variation of Jay Ose's cut which looks very chaotic, and deceptive. It is very useful for small packets of cards, Zener deck etc. All effects are Semi-automatic in nature, fun to perform. I highly recommend it.


Drink Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Todd E Nice (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 March, 2024)

Drink MagicLooks to have been produced in ~80s. As a result, several of the presented tricks use outdated formats for cans, which renders many of the suggested solutions highly difficult to pull off. "small sized" cans do not come in the same format today (2024). Also, the teaching is very short and very lacking, not much better than you would get from a pamphlet format, but this is presented in video. Some decent ideas here overall, but for me this was below average, when compared to the generally great value and teaching I find here at Lybrary.


Craft Store Conjuring

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Winton Gibbons (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 March, 2024)

Craft Store ConjuringSooo…disappointing. Mostly just feels like a walk though Hobby Lobby or Michael’s. I don’t need this book to do that and see all the potential. What I would like is how to go beyond these initial thoughts I’m self would have to fully fleshed out tricks. This book does not provide this, despite a long list of potential. I would have given it one star, but sometimes the author does make a real suggestion. However, that is rare and nothing special.


Just Five!

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 04 March, 2024)

Just Five!Not just a book with five very workable and adaptable to suit personal style of effects with an informal video presentation for each one. Put to in one free collection to stimulate any young or old mind but a great read for those who don't sleep well and always love reading new magical jems of magic. Many grateful thanks to Bob for sharing freely.


The Collected Card Magic of Mark Leveridge Volume 4

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Christian Mach (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 03 March, 2024)

The Collected Card Magic of Mark Leveridge Volume 4A few very good tricks. All the tricks are very well explained. There are some DIY and/or some setup and/or the use of some specific cards for all the tricks, so these tricks are not for everybody. But the DIY is easy and needs items you can find easily, and the specific cards are cards you can find also easily.


Card in Envelope

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by NIKOS VASILEIADIS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 March, 2024)

Card in EnvelopeSimple and effective. The sneaky idea of making the envelope look sealed is a great touch!


Impossible

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by NIKOS VASILEIADIS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 01 March, 2024)

ImpossibleThis is a wonderful effect, and very unusual. It's like ACCAN but done with a newspaper and the spectators' signature. Although there is no challenging sleight of hand, PRACTISE. You have to make sure that you are very focused while you tear the newspaper because there are some very specific things that you should have in your mind during the tearing procedure. I am very satisfied with this purchase! Brick Tilley has some very interesting lost gems in his list!

Displaying 53 to 77 (of 2052 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...82 >