Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 3

Read What Others Are Saying: page 3

1185 ★★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★ reviews
76 ★★★★★ reviews
56 ★★★★★ reviews
83 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 71 to 95 (of 1520 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


Ring and Silk Progression

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 February, 2022)

Ring and Silk ProgressionThis is at best a mediocre trick. The author spends most of the book trying to convince us how presentation makes the trick into a minor miracle. It doesn't in this case. His theories on what makes a trick an experience of magic is very long-winded and tedious.


Swami and Mantra

reviewed by Dan Sherer (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 23 February, 2022)

Swami and MantraThis is a wonderful resource, full of many excellent tricks and some fun thinking on all sorts of topics. For the price, it's hard to beat.


Standout

reviewed by Ronald Melvin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 22 February, 2022)

StandoutSimple yet powerful. Great for walk around.


Calling all Cards

reviewed by Dan Sherer (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 20 February, 2022)

Calling all CardsAn interesting routine, and probably worked as written when it came out. However, in order to work it now, you would need to rethink a few of the cards as they either look radically different or just aren't really in use. As to method, well, you probably know what it is if you read the description of the effect, and I will say that unfortunately there aren't any particular insights on the method at least as far as playing cards are concerned. I think it was probably excellent when it came out, but you would need to do a lot of work if you wanted to do it now.


Trinity Force

reviewed by Paul Young (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 18 February, 2022)

Trinity ForceThis force is not at all what I expected. It feels contrived and difficult to motivate for your audience in the first place, and for all that work you get not one “clean” and precise force but three (hence the moniker “trinity”—I admit, I should have seen that coming) that you then must manage. I’m sure that much more skilled people than I could use this force nicely, but for a rank amateur like myself, it’s not a useful tool.


The Gravity Deck: a self-working killer effect

reviewed by Doug Baltes (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 13 February, 2022)

The Gravity Deck: a self-working killer effectGraham Hey provides an outstanding "find a card gimmick" for you to construct. This is perfect for Parlor or walk-around. I plan on using it on stage combined with a comedy escape routine where I find a chosen card from the beginning of the show in a mail bag - perhaps mixed with a few other decks of cards! Easy construction and simple no-fail instructions. Five stars!


Abbott Magic Catalog #18 1969

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 12 February, 2022)

Abbott Magic Catalog #18 1969This PDF brought back a lot of great memories of perusing the hard copies when I worked at a Earl Edwards's Magic shop in Norfolk, Virginia. It's great to have it in PDF now.


Potter & Potter #28

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 12 February, 2022)

Potter & Potter #28I enjoy paging through this catalog over and over--reading about a few of the items that are also in my own collection, and wishing I had some of the items that are not in my collection.


Thought Swiper

reviewed by Michael Critchley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 February, 2022)

Thought SwiperThis is a phenomenal method and builds further on the shoulders of giants who are also credited. As a collector and performer of many different Thought of Card routines. I am already brimming with ideas for this. It can play very well with the Invisible Deck, however you can take this much further. I am considering using this with John Bannon's Paint it Blank and I also have a further idea for a Mystery card routine with an implied transposition. I am also considering using this a predicted thought of card effect that I perform by Max Maven, that includes divining the thought of card and then proving that you predicted the card that would be thought of ahead of time.

The method is very direct and fast to establish the thought of card, no excessive procedure - which is important for me and my performing style. so this works very well for me.

It's very well thought out in its method and even comes with a very nice presentation idea to justify the method.

Delighted with this and its something that you will definitely use.


Aldo on Trost Volume 6

reviewed by Scott Weilblood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 06 February, 2022)

Aldo on Trost Volume 6Excellent. There are 3 great effects on here that I'm going to adapt and start using. Great value. Trost was a genius.


Magic that Gives an Upward Lift

reviewed by Jose Aviles (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 05 February, 2022)

Magic that Gives an Upward LiftLove his work. I'm glad there's magic that I can use to use in my Church.


Dare to be BOLD

reviewed by jonathon allwood
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 01 February, 2022)

Dare to be BOLDThis is an amazing body of good quality knowledge fantastic beautiful effect that can change your next generation of leaders within the art of mind-reading! The effect within the pages will open your eyes to new delightful fun the booktest is worth more than you think! You can go wrong with it Peter Turner work has information and key strengths that some people may not understand at 1st but in time they will think alike Peter is a great choice for his efforts will open your eyes! To what if?


Let's Get Small

reviewed by Paul Wayman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 31 January, 2022)

Let's Get SmallGood effects. The links to the demos however do not work.


Mondriaan Painting Trick

reviewed by bernardo rodriguez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 30 January, 2022)

Mondriaan Painting TrickI've been waiting for this trick since I had the pleasure of witnessing this over zoom. Excellent work! The method is just way too clever! hahah


The Sphinx Volume 35 (Mar 1936 - Feb 1937)

reviewed by Tim King (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 30 January, 2022)

The Sphinx Volume 35 (Mar 1936 - Feb 1937)The Lybrary is an absolutely essential component of any magic researcher or fan. Very easy to use, highly accurate, very fairly priced. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.


Everybody's Fooled

reviewed by Tony Arthur
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 28 January, 2022)

Everybody's FooledI’ve bought a few of Joseph B.’s effects now, and they are all good, usable, not very complicated tricks. The videos explain the methods used very well and you can be up running with them in a few minutes. This one is no exception. It will fool pretty much anyone who’s watching it ....

... except perhaps for people who have bought one of his earlier tricks, because my criticism – and the reason I can only give it 3 stars – is that it’s basically an improvement on the method used in one of his earlier tricks that I’ve already bought. That’s not itself a problem, people improve existing methods and remarket them all the time, but I take issue with the fact that he calls it “revolutionary”, because although I would even describe it as a really big improvement, in my opinion, it isn’t revolutionary.

If I hadn’t already bought that earlier trick, I would have been extremely impressed and would have given it 5 stars. It is a fooler, it’s well explained, and it will impress any audience. It fooled me, even though I had the earlier trick!

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this if it’s your first Joseph B. trick – just be aware that you might also be slightly disappointed if you already have the trick I bought!


Miniature Haunted House

reviewed by Gary Fischer (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 26 January, 2022)

Miniature Haunted HouseGreat product and a wonderful trick!


Colombini Magic Farewell Tour Lecture Part 2

reviewed by Bryan Hall (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 25 January, 2022)

Colombini Magic Farewell Tour Lecture Part 2This is the second half of the lecture filmed November 1, 2010, three weeks before Rachel's open heart surgery. Her participation is somewhat limited, and to help her rest Aldo covers one of the tricks in this lecture (Nick Trost's "Three Way Miracle Prediction") that Rachel would normally have performed and explained.

As with the first half, the overall production quality isn't particularly good. It's a single camera (camcorder?) positioned at audience center, slightly elevated, with a single microphone at the same location. The performances and explanations are generally clear enough, though you can't make out specific cards when they are on a table. The audio is a bit distant and audience noises drown out parts of the performance at times.

If you'd like a lecture from Rachel and Aldo with far better video and audio quality, try their Penguin Live lecture, which I believe was filmed in February of 2012. Most of the tricks in both parts of this lecture were also covered in that later lecture.

Here are the effects that are covered in Part 2 of this lecture:

Cutting A Rope In Three - from Rope Confection

Ring From Rope - from Rope Confection

Three Way Miracle Prediction - from Card Carnival

Restless Colors

Animal Capers - from Card Capers

A Mental Effect - from Stand-Up Cards

Jumbo Prediction - from Card Carnival

Cone-tact (PDF)

Animal Capers and Cone-tact were not in the Penguin lecture, making them automatic highlights for this video.

Animal Capers is performed and taught by Aldo, and then Rachel gives another presentation using Paul Curry's "switchless switch" technique. Aldo's presentation uses two spectators, making it an improved performance over the one in "Card Capers" (where he mentions that he usually uses two spectators rather than just showing it to Rachel and the camera), and Rachel's extra presentation isn't covered in "Card Capers" at all.

Cone-tact is Aldo's presentation of Dai Vernon's classic "Ball, Cone and Handkerchief" routine. The Colombinis had a DVD version of Cone-tact on their website, but it is long out of production and difficult to find. The PDF is available, but this lecture might be the only video available to see Aldo performing it for an audience. He doesn't teach the full routine in detail, but he covers what he calls the key move (repeated as needed) that would enable you to perform a good portion of the routine.

I'd say the other highlights from this half of the lecture are Three Way Miracle Prediction and A Mental Effect. (The "Stand-Up Cards" video lists the trick as "A Mental Effect", while the Farewell Tour lecture notes PDF calls it "A Mental Trick".) Both are easy to perform and potentially very strong effects.

Aldo noted that Restless Colors was a brand new product for them and that this was the very first time he had performed it in a lecture. It wasn't included in the lecture notes they offered at the time (this was actually before the Farewell Tour, and the notes offered then were different from the later Farewell Tour notes). Unfortunately, the instruction was a bit rushed, otherwise Restless Colors would be THE highlight trick of this video.

(The trick is similar to Alex Elmsley's "Dazzle", but without gaff cards. Along the same lines, John Bannon's "Sizzle" works with a smaller initial packet, and you can assemble your own set of cards if necessary from just five different decks where eight decks are needed to assemble the packet for "Restless Colors".) The rope effects are covered in much greater detail (and with better video and audio) in the Penguin lecture, which also adds another ring/rope effect.

Jumbo Prediction requires a gimmick that is difficult to find. But if you do purchase a jumbo deck to make your own gimmicks (most likely by simply pasting jumbo cards together), you can make many of them based on different cards to have a broad selection of cards to use whenever you perform the effect.

If you are trying to choose between the two parts of this lecture and the Penguin lecture, go for the Penguin lecture first. It has a few items not covered here (Contact Colors, the extra ring/rope effect) and has better instruction with better audio and video for several of the other tricks. If you find you still want more, each half of this lecture has two tricks not covered in that one, plus additional stories and other humor from the Colombinis. And of course, the humor and entertainment were what Rachel and Aldo were all about. Thanks for the memories, and rest in peace.

Running time 59:23.


Il Genio di Grant

reviewed by Simone Scaravella (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 25 January, 2022)

Il Genio di GrantOttimo volume in Italiano, ben Fatto ed effetti stupendi.


Annemann's Complete One Man Mental and Psychic Routine

reviewed by Jon Bowne (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 23 January, 2022)

Annemann's Complete One Man Mental and Psychic RoutineThis is a gold mine. There are effects almost 100 years old in here that you can easily adapt to today. If you can do a billet switch (it's taught in here), you can do the mentalism in this book. I watched a talented peer do the bonus material "Master Mind" almost exactly as written and he killed. It is a complete 20-minute act. At $3.50, this is a steal.


Colombini Magic Farewell Tour Lecture Part 1

reviewed by Bryan Hall (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 23 January, 2022)

Colombini Magic Farewell Tour Lecture Part 1Let's get the negative points out of the way. First, the description is somewhat misleading. This isn't their last filmed lecture. This one was filmed on November 1, 2010, three weeks before Rachel had her open heart surgery.

More importantly, the filming is NOT high quality. It's a single camera, fixed position at audience center. You can see the performance clearly enough to learn the tricks and hear most of the jokes, but the camera position isn't high enough to make out specific cards when they're on a table. Audience (in particular one of the host's children in the earlier parts of the lecture) and other noises sometimes drown out bits of the performance.

If you want a later lecture from them with FAR better production quality, try their Penguin Live lecture, which I believe was filmed in February 2012. Most of the tricks taught are the same between the two lectures. The explanations are usually clear enough in this one, but the better camera work and better audio in the other one helps.

The host had asked Aldo to open with roughly a 10-minute performance, so a few of the early tricks are performance-only. Part 1 includes:

Vanishing thumbtip (gag, not really a trick) - included on Gagbuster

Six Card Repeat, which Aldo jokingly calls "How To Kill A Classic" (Performance only at first, but later in the lecture he notes that it's Senator Crandall's handling and gives a basic explanation including the one key move needed to perform his version. He also said that a DVD with that version was put out by Teddy Langsford, but I can't find any references to it.)

Rope In (not taught - perfomance only) - available on Roped In.

Fireworks (not taught - performance only) - available on Fireworks 12 Card Revelation Routine.

Zodiac code - included on A Host Of Surprises.

discussion/brief explanation of the earlier Six Card Repeat

Comedy Six Card Repeat - included on Gagbuster.

Five Card Mystery

Punch His Match - this lecture is the only video source I know of for it, but it's available on several PDFs:

news brief gag - included on Gagbuster

Baffling Book - included on Wild About Harry.

Tri-Color Cups And Balls

Even if you already have the Penguin lecture, this is worth the extra $10 for Punch His Match and the Crandall version of the Six Card Repeat. I do not know of any other video sources with Aldo performing either of these tricks. (The explanation of Punch his Match also has some performance tips, including some interesting ideas from audience members.) I'd say the video earns four stars for these two tricks alone.

Beyond those two items, I'd say Rachel's three performed tricks (Zodiac Code, Baffling Book, Tri-Color Cups And Balls) are the highlights of this half of the lecture, though all three are also covered with better audio and video in the Penguin lecture. This also has a few extra stories if you want more of their humor - and of course the humor was half the fun of any Colombini performance.

Running time 74:55.


Victory Cartons

reviewed by Diego Lasserre (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 23 January, 2022)

Victory CartonsBeautiful illusion... the beauty of the Simple.


The Kolophon Revisited

reviewed by Matthew Overd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 January, 2022)

The Kolophon RevisitedThe Obvious thing to say here is the ad copy is 100% accurate. However, I don't think this truly gives it justice. After reading this it feels even better then how it's described. As far as missing well I feel like most mentalists are generally ok with this level of missing and this gets better with practice, to the point I feel like misses would become that rare it wouldn't matter anyway. To be cliche "I hope no one buys this" to be honest it would be a shame if this became too common. Honestly, if it sounds like something you may like, just buy, you will like it.


Souvenirs d'Italie

reviewed by Tony Arthur (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 11 January, 2022)

Souvenirs d'ItalieUnfortunately, I am very disappointed with this effect.

While it is based on an interesting mathematical principle, the attempt to turn it into a magic trick is in my opinion terrible, and nothing that could be used in any kind of real environment. It is far too procedural to be entertaining, and in my opinion, would never produce anything like the audience reaction that the advert suggests.

More than that, without giving away the method, the combination of the names on the postcards, the way the postcards are arranged beforehand, the nature of the instructions, and the precise and exact manner in which they are delivered would make any audience scream "mathematical principle in play here".

If that weren't enough, the instructions are so exact and have to be followed while your back is turned, which means that the spectator could very easily make a mistake. Since you would have no way of knowing they'd got something wrong, there would be no way for you to recover and your big reveal would be totally wrong.

I therefore recommend against getting this effect.

I do however strongly recommend continuing to use this site, as I wrote a more detailed version (including my observations on the method) of this review to Chris Wasshuber after I bought the effect, and as part of his reply he said "I would also like to ask you to share your opinion in a review of the product. This would help others better understand if this is the right product for them or not. Also star-rating your purchases would be a great way to help weed out the good from the bad." This would suggest that Chris is a trustworthy seller who is concerned to make sure that his customers buy things that are right for them, rather than just wanting to sell things to us, and that's a rare thing in this internet world!


Keeping Control

reviewed by Christian Mach (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 11 January, 2022)

Keeping ControlI'm a serious amateur intermediate magician. I already did some shows and close-up. From my experience, I must say that all that Mark Leveridge wrote, is true. He thought about all the details and gives practical advice. I recommend this booklet at least to all the hobbyist magicians, but I think it can also be useful to some professional magicians. I think that even you are a hobbyist, you must put on your magic as a professional, and for that, this booklet will help you. I'm sure of that.

Displaying 71 to 95 (of 1520 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >