Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 7

Read What Others Are Saying: page 7

1241 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 152 to 176 (of 1626 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


The Endless Chain (Know-How Series)

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

The Endless Chain (Know-How Series)This is one of my favorite things in magic that doesn't use cards. Not difficult to do. Instead is mostly about developing a great presentation. I particularly like the Johnny Thompson routine. Packs small and plays big.


Routine in Major D

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Routine in Major DThis is by far the best routine I have ever seen using the mnemonica deck. Take some skill but well worth the effort. Have to be able to do a perfect faro but one of the best reasons I know to take the time to learn that. This is a HUGE winner. Would give it 10 stars if I could but also am glad that it is not a routine a lot of people know about


Cards to Slimfast

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Cards to SlimfastCarl is truly amazing, always original and has routines that most pros are blessed to be able to use. The way he loads the slimcast canister is really amazing and an idea that can be used with so many products. Especially cool if you are doing a corporate event for a company that has a product in a container like the slimfast one.


Personal Touch

reviewed by Alan Haden (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Personal TouchIn the ad-copy for the product it states:

"A crash course in palm reading spiced up with magic."

Reading this made me believe I was going to get a crash course in palm reading, but this was not the case. The video will not teach you anything whatsoever about reading palms - but if you are looking for a mind-reading effect that is suitable for an audience of one, then this short video by Docc Hilford will teach you a sneaky way to peek information whilst examining someone's palms.


Kpyto

reviewed by Michael Cook
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 April, 2022)

KpytoAll I have to say is don’t hesitate to buy this. You will not be disappointed. This is a way to have three cards chosen by three different people while your back is turned. Then without looking you can name all three. Super simple super easy. At $9 it’s a steal.


Memorable Mentalism: Mysteries With the Mnemonic Deck

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 April, 2022)

Memorable Mentalism: Mysteries With the Mnemonic DeckI am a lowly but well-read hobbyist. Memdeck routines with a mentalist presentation is exactly what I was looking for. But I have to say, Varella's Memorable Mentalism was disappointing.

The first half of the book is devoted to background about stacks and with helping you find and memorize a stack. There is a single page about switching in a stacked deck, which I found helpful.

There are four close up tricks offered, and this was the biggest disappointment. Not only are the ideas simple (to the point of simplistic), there are no suggestions about how to present them as mentalism (unless you find this line helpful: 'My patter revolved around intuition, coincidence or pure luck.'). They're tricks, not magic.

There is essentially a single idea for stage or television, and it involves a tiresome cliche as method (with minor variations).

The saving grace of this book is the Bonus Effect, Varella's variation of Elhers's famous routine in Ackerman's Las Vegas Kardma. (Oddly, Varella spends six pages on the previous five tricks, then devotes six pages to this single 'bonus' effect!) I don't expect I'll use any of his ideas, but the ideas are good and thought-provoking.

The book offers many sources as credits. There are better places for a beginner to start with stacks and memdeck work, and they can be found in this bibliography.


Listen and It Will Speak

reviewed by Gary Howard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 April, 2022)

Listen and It Will SpeakI have no idea what this routine is supposed to achieve. If it's just a card reveal then I can think of lots of better ones.


Mental Marvel

reviewed by Edward Goscinski (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 April, 2022)

Mental MarvelThis equivoque effect should be a free download and is not worthy of a $10.00 cost.


Anti Tarot

reviewed by robert farrell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 08 April, 2022)

Anti TarotThe author says it is called anti-tarot because it uses playing cards instead of tarot, but it should be called anti-tarot because the author has a charming idea of discovering the important card from having the spectator explain how their life has been going and showing the ultimate card is the inevitable card for that event etc. It is amusing to note the author's hostility to card readers while simultaneously expecting his spectators to be believers, the plot however charming, has however been explored in many different forms before, knowing the outcome card is hardly new, the method I think is complex for a simple problem, the price I find to be remarkable, well overpriced, I would not recommend purchase.


The Open Billet Box Collection

reviewed by Brian Reaves (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 07 April, 2022)

The Open Billet Box CollectionI love this simple concept. I was able to create this after one quick trip to the store, and using it is foolproof. I did find it wasn't necessary to use tape as described in the first version. The box still worked, and it allowed me to use all the supplies purchased as needed but still throw the necessary stuff together to create the box in seconds. Once you have the concept, you can see how easy it is to adapt it to other boxes. I've seen very expensive billet boxes out there that follow a similar idea but this is the most affordable version out there that allows you to keep the box open the entire time.


Commercial Gems Volume 3

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 3This booklet is the third in the series, and it doesn't disappoint either.

The first item mind reading teapot left me completely cold. It wouldn't fit my style, persona, or personal likes. But it is clever, well-thought out material.

#2 is PUNCH LINES, and it's worth the price of the booklet to a good comedic performer. Technically, it's a yawner, but if you're doing magic to learn techniques, you won't like any of Mr. Mellers' books.

Finally comes YOU READ MY MIND AND I'LL READ YOURS. Technically not that tough, but will require some courage to do. And once you learn it, you'll have an effect that is really solid. And I can't imagine a lay audience unraveling it at all.

It's a good solid book.


Commercial Gems Volume 2

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 2This booklet has one problem. There's so much good thinking in it.

The POCKET POWER is so stupidly clean and clever it almost makes you just blow past it. As I've said before, I read Mr. Mellers' to get ideas on HOW to think, not what. And this trick isn't new. But the premise is, and it makes great sense.

#2 in the booklet is the BREAD KNIFE CARD STAB...and much as it kills me to say this, "WHY DIDN'T I THINK OF THIS!". It's a brilliant idea. A super easy way to do a knife stab. And he gives you an excellent reason to DO the knife stab. His supplied script gives you enough info to see which way to go without giving you a complete script to just copy.

#3 TOSSED OUT DECK - with some clever handling twists, and VERY clever presentational twists that really make this look like a fun trick to do.


Commercial Gems Volume 1

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 1Conflicted on this booklet, since there's not a single item in it that I will do - and there's only 3 items.

But each item is nice. The problem is that I already do a version of the Gypsy Thread, although oddly enough, he and I picked the exact matching premises.

The Six card repeat isn't really my cup of tea, and again...I already have a version. HOWEVER...he does have a cute bit with this trick that could be applied to any other trick with counting, so I'll say this one's a plus.

Finally, the final trick "Scattered" just isn't something I'd do. But I do appreciate the thinking behind the trick, and I'm sure if I actually saw the trick, it would fool me completely.

So why a 5 star? Because I don't necessarily want to learn a new trick, or a new line or script. I think the big value of reading magic books is seeing how the author thinks. And this booklet does that perfectly.


Pickpocket

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

PickpocketFirst off, understand that I love Mel Mellers' work. Not necessarily to learn a NEW trick, but to learn about NEW presentations. New ideas for how to make the tricks entertaining. Different approaches.

This booklet is no different. It's basically a SINGLE trick explained in a decent fashion. But, it's a trick you probably already know at least 1 if not more ways of doing.

Mr. Mellers' method is not new by any means, but the presentational aspects of it are!

It's a clever idea...and that's what I paid for.


Any Card At Any Value

reviewed by CARLOS ALFREDO RODRIGUEZ HERNANDEZ (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 30 March, 2022)

Any Card At Any ValueReally great card trick, easy to do and with an incredible impact.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Steven Broomhead (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 28 March, 2022)

Karma DeckThis has to be one of the best, ingenious ways to “memorize” a deck. So easy to learn and easy to perform. Kudus to Unknown Mentalist.


13 Steps to Mind Maintenance for Magicians and Mentalists

reviewed by Tim Brown (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 19 March, 2022)

13 Steps to Mind Maintenance for Magicians and MentalistsThis product, if it is not known to you, is akin to having a personal coach. And a very good coach at that. I've read it through a few times. And then I refer to it often. It gives you material to make a checklist to tick off everyday in order to exercise your mind. And I've found that although it'd probably be ideal to say, yes, I can always tick off all 13 points, it is still valuable that you have the satisfaction to pursue those that you can. I recommend this to anyone who loves to see their life as full of possibilities and loves to like it like the challenge that our lives are.


Aldo on Trost Volume 7

reviewed by Scott Weilblood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 14 March, 2022)

Aldo on Trost Volume 7Nick Trost was a genius. 3 great effects and some really great principles here.


Miniature Haunted House

reviewed by James Macdonald (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 12 March, 2022)

Miniature Haunted HouseI have no conflicts of interest. I'm a professional who has been doing magic for sixty years; primarily platform and stage magic, concentrating on sleight-of-hand.

I built this item, and have presented it in public on many occasions, mostly Halloween shows. I intend to build a second house, using what I learned from making my first one. It's easily portable and only requires one person (you!) to operate. The audience reception has been quite good.

You should know when building this, that doll-house parts (e.g. windows and doors) are not cheap. Getting the opening door and opening window to function reliably was a matter of trial-and-error. If you don't have access to a table saw and jig-saw, construction won't be easy. Please use the thinnest, best-quality plywood you can get! I have easily sunk a couple of hundred dollars into this effect.

I've modified the tricks that happen in the house to suit my style and wrote my own patter.

Definitely a worth-while routine.


Spook Show Stoppers

reviewed by James Macdonald (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 12 March, 2022)

Spook Show StoppersI have no conflicts of interest concerning this item. I've been doing magic for about sixty years, primarily stage and platform magic, where my greatest love is sleight-of-hand. I am a professional.

To help y'all decide if this is for you, you need to know that the show requires a primary performer plus two secret assistants (and possibly a stooge). It is designed for performance on a full stage with wings. The ability to control house lights is useful but not required. For transport purposes, the largest single piece is a sheet of hardboard, six feet by seven feet.

The spook show runs for about twenty to thirty minutes. There is lots of opportunity for elaboration.

The text is clear and the illustrations are complete and helpful. Although I have not personally performed it, this is a well-thought-out routine. I do intend to have a version whipped into shape for Halloween season.


Magic Tools of the Trade

reviewed by Simon Beck (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 March, 2022)

Magic Tools of the TradeNot my best buy. I bought this when I was trying to master the Elias multiple shift. I can do the Elias multiple shift, but with little help from here. The videos are rushed, unclear and unhelpfully explained, adding little to the terse text.


Investigating the Mene-Tekel Deck: magic's forgotten trick deck

reviewed by Simon Beck (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 March, 2022)

Investigating the Mene-Tekel Deck: magic's forgotten trick deckThis is an extremely useful booklet. Every time I go back to it I marvel once again at the magic you can bring about with the deck that usually sits idle in the card drawer. It is clear, well-written, insightful and engaging. A very good buy.


The Physical Phenomena of Spiritualism: Fraudulent and Genuine

reviewed by bob tong (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 09 March, 2022)

The Physical Phenomena of Spiritualism: Fraudulent and GenuineSimple straightforward and no ambiguity involved in the understanding of Spiritualism and historical backgrounds supported by genuine incidents that occurred pertaining to the area of discussion and information sharing. It is quite astounding that there are still charlatans that desire to disillusion those who may have some level of belief in spiritual matters. It is very objective though at times, subjective to the extent of the spiritual matters concerned. This does open the corridors to differentiate between fraudulent and genuine incidents and issues on spiritualism. Hence, I would give a 5-stars rating for the excellent work done to understand Spiritualism though it does depend on the individual concerned to be able to discern between reality and fantasy.


2020 Vision Fault

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 09 March, 2022)

2020 Vision FaultPerfect large group card trick. Lots of comedy potential.


A Lesson in Card Magic

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 09 March, 2022)

A Lesson in Card MagicA bit dated, but this idea has a lot of potential.

Displaying 152 to 176 (of 1626 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >