Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 7

Reviews: Read What Others Are Saying: page 7

1507 ★★★★★ reviews
164 ★★★★ reviews
112 ★★★★★ reviews
76 ★★★★★ reviews
119 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 154 to 178 (of 1978 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...79 >


Palm'r Clip: Magic More Series

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Leslie Warren (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 23 July, 2023)

Palm'r Clip:  Magic More SeriesI learned classic palm and various finger palms of coins. I am sure I can get used to this "palm." There are good explanations and pictures. I am sure a video would be very useful too.


Practical Mental Effects

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Robert Herdman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 22 July, 2023)

Practical Mental EffectsAmazing book. So much information and as I am new to mentalism this is a perfect start.


Cherokee's Red Moon

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Simon Bate (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 July, 2023)

Cherokee's Red MoonThe instructions are a little confusing. It would have been better with a demo DVD.


Joe Karson Compilation

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Christopher M. Reynolds (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 17 July, 2023)

Joe Karson CompilationMagic historians may know that Joe Karson invented the Zombie Floating Ball, but few magicians associate his name with it. When Karson first advertised Zombie in 1943, it was a sensation.

However, due to alcoholism, he slipped into obscurity and disappeared from the magic community, dying in 1980 at age 67.

The Joe Karson Compilation is a collection of books, magazines, and instruction sheets created by magician Joe Karson. Author and magician Michael E. Rose has compiled these long-lost materials to introduce modern performers to this forgotten icon and his creations.

Joseph Alexander Chrzanowski, also known as Joe Karson, was born on November 12th, 1912, in Providence, Rhode Island. As a child, he became interested in magic after seeing a local magician, and by the age of sixteen was working behind the counter at a magic shop in Springfield, Massachusetts, and performing his Asian-themed magic act around New England.

During the 1930s and 1940s, Karson became a popular comedic performer, frequently stealing the show at magic conventions.

He made a name for himself as a magic dealer by founding the Magic Dealers' Association, inventing and building much of the illusions he sold in his Springfield, Massachusetts shop named Karson's Xclusives.

Karson's Xclusives published booklets on various types of magic, including Illusion Magic in 1943, featuring "The Rubberneck Illusion." This gadget, now known as the Head Twister, is still used in many Las Vegas comedy magic acts.

Get all of Joe Karson's publications in one PDF for only $24.00. Discover the secrets behind his original card tricks, hypnotism, stage illusions, and more in 268 pages.

Most of Karson's published tricks lack patter, but his signature effect, The World's Fastest Card Trick, is explained in an eight-page pamphlet, including the scripting and subtleties that Karson used. The trick is simple, but it can become a comedy masterpiece with the right performer.

Two-person codes are always a winner with me, and the Karson Kard Kode is an easy, practical addition to any telepathy act.

Other highlights include a two-part work on hypnotrix, which are pseudo-scientific body tricks made to resemble genuine hypnotism.

My favorite thing about the Karson collection is his disregard for safety, as he published the secret methods for performing a dangerous bullet catch and the controversial pseudo-hypnosis trick, "The Subject Sleeps in One Minute." This "trick" involves applying pressure to a spectator's neck that can cause the subject to blackout or even die.

A 1934 booklet called "Sensational Poison Swallowing Act" teaches how to perform an entire act, making the audience believe the performer resists poisons.

Please don't try this one at home (or at all!)

Another favorite but less dangerous trick is a simple levitation using only a sheet and an assistant, reducing a typically cumbersome stage illusion to the bare bones.

As a magic book collector, I found the Joe Karson compilation to be a glimpse into the mind of a creative and prolific writer. Still, there's plenty of material that modern performers can use.

About the author:

Michael Rose has been a professional magician since he was young, starting his interest in magic at the age of eight when he received an Adams magic set. He has performed his comedy magic all over the United States and Canada in various settings, including dinner theaters, corporate events, street performing, and even at a Presidential Inauguration. He is a member of the International Brotherhood of Magicians, the Society of American Magicians, and the Magic Collectors' Association.


ARCAANS

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Darren Purshall
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 July, 2023)

ARCAANSAnother very clever effect from Biagio! This “Any Card At Any Number” pays Homage to the great Ramón Riobóo with a little bit of Barrie Richardson, Diego Allegri and last but not least Woody Aragon. With its semi-automatic method you will even fool yourself. It does involve an ingenious one time setup which is hidden when counting down to the chosen card, making it possible to show some of the cards face up. There’s no slight of hand involved which is good for me, depending on the number created from a clever idea by Ramón Riobóo, it may involve one move which will flow by the Spectators while observing the array of mixed face up cards dealt to the table. The beauty of this routine is that the onlooker can name any value card with a freely created number to count down to. If you’re an A.C.A.A.N. lover like me, you will need to add this one to your collection. I have purchased a few effects from Biagio Fasano and I’m very impressed with his ingenious methods. He gave me a review copy of this effect which I think is going to be a winner. Treat yourself to this great fooler and impress your friends and family, Great for close up, parlour and stage. Darren Purshall A.K.A Trinity


ARCAANS (Italian)

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Darren Purshall
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 July, 2023)

ARCAANS (Italian)Un altro effetto molto intelligente di Biagio! Questo "Any Card At Any Number" rende omaggio al grande Ramón Riobóo con un pizzico di Barrie Richardson, Diego Allegri e, non ultimo, Woody Aragon. Con il suo metodo semi-automatico, potrete ingannare anche voi stessi. Si tratta di un ingegnoso setup una tantum che viene nascosto durante il conteggio alla ricerca della carta prescelta, consentendo di mostrare alcune carte a faccia in su. Non é richiesta nessuna manipolazione o tecnica, il che è un bene per me, perché a seconda del numero, creato per mezzo di un'idea intelligente di Ramón Riobóo, può comportare solo una semplice mossa che verrà eseguita mentre gli spettatori osservano la serie di carte mescolate e scoperte distribuite sul tavolo. Il bello di questa routine è che lo spettatore può nominare qualsiasi carta e un numero verrà liberamente creato per il conto alla rovescia. Se siete amanti dell'A.C.A.A.N. come me, dovrete aggiungerlo alla vostra collezione. Ho acquistato alcuni effetti da Biagio Fasano e sono molto colpito dai suoi metodi ingegnosi. Mi ha dato una copia recensione di questo effetto che credo sarà un successo. Regalatevi questo grande fooler e stupite i vostri amici e familiari, ottimo per il close up, il salotto e il palcoscenico. Darren Purshall A.K.A. Trinity


Anthology of Card Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Christopher Reynolds (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 15 July, 2023)

Anthology of Card MagicIf you like Jean Hugard's Encyclopedia of Card Tricks, you'll love The Anthology of Card Magic by Gordon Miller.

As a reader, I love card trick anthologies because they provide an inexpensive way to experiment with many different styles of tricks, techniques, and presentations. Additionally, they introduce you to a wide range of talent.

And the talent on display in The Anthology of Card Magic is impressive. It's a smorgasbord of vintage card tricks from classic names like John Scarne and Ted Annemann to lesser-known contributors such as Bob Hummer and Joe Karson.

Gordon Miller, a 30-year staff member at Abbott Magic, compiled a collection of over 300 effects from the archives. Each was featured in one of Abbott Magic Company's retail catalogs, including titles previously out-of-print or forgotten, such as Amazing Card Miracles, Card System Deluxe, and Klever Kard Kodes.

In his introduction, he writes, "No apology should be afforded for the quantity or quality of the material provided."

Regarding quality in some magic compilations, there is a redundant amount of B- level tricks. However, in this case, Miller has collected abundant A-plus material covering everything from sleight-of-hand to pre-arranged packs, short cards, and more.

One trick I found especially interesting was the Fortune Telling Card Trick, a mind-boggling effect combining fortune telling, mind reading, and "pick-a-card" type magic.

Using two packs of cards, the magician demonstrates their fortune-telling skills, revealing to the spectator their age, how many siblings they have, whom they are expecting a letter from, the month of their birth, the year something important happened in their lives, and other interesting facts.

Klever Kard Kodes was the highlight of the anthology. It is a twenty-page treatise on two-person telepathy using playing cards, highlighting dozens of sneaky silent and verbal codes mentalists and confederates can use.

Whether you're a professional performer looking for new material or an amateur like me who enjoys browsing compilations and trying new tricks, this eBook is a goldmine.

At the low price of $12.95, it's more than a bargain. It's a steal. If you love card magic, buy this now.


Novel Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Brett McCarron
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 15 July, 2023)

Novel Magic(Note: I am affiliated with Magic World Publishers; however, the following reviews were not written by me.)

Some comments from the magic press regarding this book:

"Twenty-seven effects for professional and amateur magicians. There is a cigar band stunt that can be used in bars or parlors which is exceptionally good. Under the heading 'Matches of Jinx', Lu Brent has about as cute an effect as any amateur would want. For the stage and night club magician, he has a non-mechanical 'Glass Through Hat' which he terms 'My Pet Trick'. You will like it." (Walter B. Gibson in "Conjuror's")

"First class material. Mr. Brent uses a number of the tricks described in his own act. 'Novel Magic' is smart magic." (J. G. Thompson, Jr. in "The Linking Ring")

"Lu Brent has put his best in this book and you must have it for your library." (Joe Berg in "The Linking Ring")

"Some of the cleverest and most entertaining effects seen in a long time." (Mitch Kanter in "Genii")

"Crammed full of clever club effects and routines. If you do club or nite club work, you must have this book." (Elray in "The Linking Ring")


My Personal Stack

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Sam Thirouin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 July, 2023)

My Personal StackThe DaOrtiz stack is exactly what I have been looking for. It’s deceptive (unlike the Si Stebbins), yet easy to get the hang of (unlike Mnemonica), and so many built-in properties to create otherworldly effects. Well worth the $12 and then some.


Modern Magic Manual

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Chris Johnson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 July, 2023)

Modern Magic ManualI love it.

This book formed part of the foundation of my magical training when I borrowed it from one of my oldest friends.

Now that I have it in digital form, so many years since my friend passed, I can remember him again and the days we often spent yakking about magic.

The material inside is first-class too. Although some things may have dated, a lot of the props necessary are still accessible in today's age -- apart from Australia where we no longer use paper money -- it's all the polymer stuff.

So this book means a lot to me.


In The Play of Shadows: The Tarot Effect

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Fredrick Matzner (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 01 July, 2023)

In The Play of Shadows: The Tarot EffectWonderful to be able to use the Tarot in magic tricks. One of my favorites.


Cellini: The Royal Touch

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Eric Arnall (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 June, 2023)

Cellini: The Royal TouchI Love it! So much insight!


Magicians' Tricks

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Christopher Reynolds (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 21 June, 2023)

Magicians' TricksIf you want to learn about classic magic tricks and their execution, "Magicians Tricks and How They Are Done" is an excellent book to explore. In 1910, Hatton and Plate, two skilled magicians, wrote a book that provided solutions to previously unsolvable illusions. Their book, Magicians' Tricks, is a classic in the world of magic, and it is essential for both amateur and professional magicians today.

This how-to manual is a must-have whether you are new to magic or have experience. It teaches you to perform 140 tricks using everyday items such as cards, coins, balls, eggs, and handkerchiefs. The manual also includes 194 black-and-white illustrations to guide you through the process.

This book has a detailed section on card magic that covers a wide range of techniques such as passes, palms, forces, changes, false shuffles, a second deal, and various effects like Making a Card Disappear from a Glass and Tearing a Pack of Cards in Two.

Aspiring magicians can learn how to perform tricks using coins like the Penetrating Coin, Passing a Coin Through a Hat, and The Disappearing Coin.

They'll also learn how to create unique effects with billiard balls, make handkerchiefs disappear, tear and restore paper strips, produce something from nothing, and more.

Many tricks come with suggested stage "patter" to engage or distract the audience.

This book is an excellent guide if you're interested in learning magic. Its well-drawn illustrations clarify movements, detailing finger and hand positions. The instructions for each trick are easy to follow and understand, and the author's years of experience and practice make them reliable, making it a complete resource for individuals interested in the art of magic.

About the authors:

Adrian Plate, born in Utrecht, Holland, on June 10, 1844, served as an officer in the Dutch army before moving to New York in 1877. For over 35 years, he worked as an accountant for a railroad company while pursuing his passion for magic as a famous society magician. Plate was particularly adept at card manipulation, mentalism, and memory feats.

Dr. Ellison, a renowned magic collector, amateur magician, and magic journalist John Northern Hilliard acknowledged Plate's sleight of hand card work as unparalleled and superior to any they had ever witnessed.

In 1902, he became one of the first members of the Society of American Magicians (S.A.M. # 25).

Plate was passionate about collecting books on magic and the occult, and his collection included rare English translations of necromancy. His apartment in Upper New York was a popular destination for visiting magicians. In addition to the extensive book collection, he kept scrapbooks filled with pictures and handbills of past magicians.

After Adrian Plate passed away, Harry Houdini obtained his vast library, currently housed at the Library of Congress.

In August Roterberg's book, "New Era Card Tricks," Plate's unique sleight, the Excelsior exchange, was featured. He also co-wrote a book called "Magicians Tricks and How They Are Done" with Henry Hatton, considered one of the top ten books on magic by historian and collector H. Adrian Smith.

On February 24, 1919, he passed away at 74.

Henry Hatton was a magician and writer who taught himself everything he knew. He was born Patrick Henry Cannon in New York City on December 16, 1837, but later changed his name to Henry Hatton. After being inspired by seeing the great John Henry Anderson, he became a professional touring magician in 1867. Henry also wrote a series called "Lessons in Magic" for the children's magazine "Our Young Folks" from 1865 to 1867.

He joined S.A.M. in 1902 as Member #21 and later became the President of S.A.M. from 1912 to 1914.

Hatton coauthored the book "Magicians' Tricks" in 1910 with Adrian Plate. This book is considered a classic in the field of magic and was even referred to as the "first American general textbook" by Henry Hay (also known as Barrows Mussey).

On December 24, 1922, at 85, he passed away on Christmas Eve.


Get Gigs Right Now

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Greg Youngs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 June, 2023)

Get Gigs Right NowThis ebook is fine. The ideas in it are good. But the concept is a simple one that could easily be laid out in a few pages. So, while it is good information, it is VERY overpriced. This is a $9.95 product. The stars are based on value for money. The price makes you feel taken advantage of.


E-Z Square 1

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Frydman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 June, 2023)

E-Z Square 1I have used only the simpler approach. And it is a very easy magic square to remember and fun to do.


Balloon Shows

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by David Frydman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 June, 2023)

Balloon ShowsThere is a large difference between making balloon animals and making a show with them. This book fills that gap.


Below the Threshold

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Leslie Warren (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 11 June, 2023)

Below the ThresholdI haven't tried the method. It is bold, simple and may work. I am going to use the word "misdirection." The spectator writes on a card. The spectator also writes on a slate which helps the performer secretly get the information.


Learn the Secrets of Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by kataro chintaro
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 09 June, 2023)

Learn the Secrets of MagicGreat!! beautiful! Good!! Nice!


Unsign

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by William Abbott (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 08 June, 2023)

UnsignA good idea in theory... Starts with a math/maths procedure to get to a "random" number, even then you might have to do some fishing to get the correct zodiac sign. With some practice, it looks good, but sometimes it seems a bit long-winded.


Listen and It Will Speak

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 07 June, 2023)

Listen and It Will SpeakThis is primarily a script, a story, that ends with a card revelation as a natural outcome. The success of the routine will depend on your ability as a storyteller, and how well you can connect with a person, rather than manual dexterity. The story is good so the only question is whether it's worth the price ...


The Coin Board Book

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Kevin Anderson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 June, 2023)

The Coin Board BookVery good material.


The Gyp Artist

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Gary Parkin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 June, 2023)

The Gyp ArtistI pondered this purchase for some time. $12 felt like a lot (it still does) and despite the long blurb, I felt it didn't really tell me what I wanted to know. So I thought I'd leave the review I wish someone else had left in the hope that it helps other future purchasers. The book does not contain the bunco games I wanted. The blurb lists some old cons/swindles and in fact this is exactly what you get. The lecture is good and is slightly updated with mentions of the internet and smartphones. But just because the cons are old, don't think they are not still being used. The lecture tries to present these swindles in an entertaining manner with some, but not all, demonstrated using standard magic props. Obviously, I've not presented this lecture, so my opinion is based entirely on reading it. But it sounds OK. Presented for the right group, it could go down well. But what you really get from this booklet, (over 45 pages) is a great example of how re-framing your usual repertoire can affect the presentation and performance. Mr. Larsen, for example, uses Out of This World to illustrate how a tax swindle might work. It's quite inspired. So while I don't think I'd ever present the lecture as is, I will certainly be using Mr. Larsen's ideas for re-framing tricks. And I shall certainly be using parts of the lecture as filler material as well as looking up similar items in other books on cons, swindle and bunco.


The Mind Reader

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Nicholson
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 31 May, 2023)

The Mind ReaderTry this ....you made an error and the trick is awesome. I have looked into this and the previous reviewer can be forgiven for his original comment as the way the effect is written can be misinterpreted and garner the wrong results! You need to reread the final Working comment from the narrator which can be summarised as starting the count from the number alongside their mentally selected card.... So if they have chosen for example card number 7 and that is Right if hearts then that's the number that begins the count all the way through to your predicted number. It works perfectly.....make sure you arrange the cards as stated as well!

Thanks Dave


One Glass One Card One Box

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Todd E Nice (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 May, 2023)

One Glass One Card One BoxSo, the method here is fine, but I wish there were more details about one aspect of the "gimmick" and additional notes on handling. The "move" is not described in detail at all, and a recommendation on misdirection/other motivation would be helpful. It is worth the $5, but you will have to put some thought into the two things mentioned to get a useable effect.


Glass Act: Magic Beyond Series

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by DARRIN COOK (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 May, 2023)

Glass Act: Magic Beyond SeriesUnfortunately, everything Pascal says in his review is accurate. For all the money being asked, there are no photographs or illustrations. Rather than give step-by-step instructions, the manuscript meanders, is overly wordy, and jumps from subject to subject. I don't know that I spent two hours, but I eventually gave up on trying to figure it out.

Displaying 154 to 178 (of 1978 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...79 >