Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 11

Read What Others Are Saying: page 11

1241 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 252 to 276 (of 1626 reviews)


Thought Swiper

reviewed by Paul Romhany
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 November, 2021)

Thought SwiperPatrik Kuffs has created a remarkable system that enables you to know a thought-of card without any questions or fishing. This is a download that comes with written instructions and a PDF card you can print off. This double-sided card can be printed on any size card from a business card to a larger card. I would highly recommend laminating this because it is something you can take with you anywhere and will definitely want to use. What makes this so good is how easy it is to use and the presentation ideas he offers. Patrik even suggests printing this out and putting it on a playing card box. This is so smart because now you can do this anytime you bring out your deck.

There is really nothing to memorize as any of the necessary secret is built into the card so he's thought of everything. As soon as you read the instructions you can follow along with a card and will be impressed at how it works.

He includes a great routine where he combines The Invisible Deck with Thought Swiper. You introduce the deck and the Thought Swiper Card. By combining this you can now have them mentally think of any card and without even having them name their card you can take out the deck and show the only card in there is the one they were thinking of. Just one of the many ways you can use this killer little tool. If you print this on a sticker, as suggested, then you can have it on the box for The Invisible Deck and now it makes total sense saying the Thought Transmitter knows your card.

I'm actually going to print this out and stick it on the deck I use for Richard Sander's Any Card deck. It takes the trick to a higher level simply because at no time do they reveal their card - only at the very end prior to you showing the thought-of cards.

If you've ever wanted a method to find out a thought of card without electronic gimmicks and is 100% sure fire this is an incredible way to do it. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!


Giant Balloon Reindeer

reviewed by Dave Sickelsmith (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 November, 2021)

Giant Balloon ReindeerThis was a BIG disappointment. It only gets one star because I can't get it to not highlight the last one. When I do a review I will give my honest opinion. I hope this helps in your decision to buy or not. Looks nothing like a reindeer. Doesn't even look like a dog. Save your money.


Sponsored Shows

reviewed by V D (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 21 October, 2021)

Sponsored ShowsUnfortunately this must have been one of the most disappointing downloads for me, ever. Poorly written, wordy, repetitive, and outdated. The premise - a discussion on the sponsorship for the shows - is barely touched upon. You do learn how to hang flyers to the billboard, how to write a scheduled date into your calendar, and other items that have little to do with what you want to learn from this book. Lots of filler. The information that does concern sponsoring of shows could have been written in maximum one paragraph, no more. I also didn't appreciate the fact that the book description makes reference to the pandemic, with the obvious implication that the information provided is the most up-to-date. It's not at all. There is no mention of the internet at all as if it did not exist. The sponsoring party will sponsor your magic because that's a cheaper alternative to paying for a TV ad, and that's true. But what about other means for companies to market their products? For example, SOCIAL MEDIA?!? No mention of it at all. It really felt to me that the booklet was written 20-30 years ago, with a few "modern" words squeezed in last minute - such as "pandemic", "YouTube", "mobile phone". Heavily overpriced in my opinion.


The Linker

reviewed by jonathon allwood
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 October, 2021)

The LinkerThis is an automatically generated classic that you can at any time you like to ensure that your family and friends and clients will go mad about this new generation take on a card link to a card! It is super easy super cool to do on the spot and on the stage you can not go wrong Alan think behind this up to date effect will open your mind and may help you and new effect that you too can wow magician! 2 rings create will be together but some time in a relationship they end up not being linked to each other! Go on learn it for your self you will love this effect because it is so clear and clean!


The Four Card Mystery Presents: Remote Viewing

reviewed by Renzo Grosso (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 18 October, 2021)

The Four Card Mystery Presents: Remote ViewingAbsolutely brilliant! I studied it thoroughly and immediately proposed it several times in close up with such amazing results that I am planning to put it in a stage show. I think the results will be outstanding!


52 Standard American Card Faces

reviewed by Lyle Broughton (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 06 October, 2021)

52 Standard American Card FacesThank you so much!! Looking at the files now, and I'm blown away. Seriously. No idea how these were made with so much detail, but clearly a TON of time went into this, unbelievable work. I can't even put into words how impressed I am. Thank you!


Pentertain

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 06 October, 2021)

PentertainWhen I saw this series from Ken de Courcy, I didn't know what to think. Books of mathematical tricks using pen and paper? But with the impulse purchase, I found out. Pentertain, the first book in the trilogy, has six tricks: the old "life force," a matrix trick, two entertaining ways to multiple two two-digit numbers, a telephone number trick that has a method that I'd previously seen for currency serial numbers, and a goofy mathematical oddity that Devin Knight put out as a separate manuscript. The second book, Son of Pentertain, has six more things, five of which I don't think are very good and a variation on the old Martin Gardner tic-tac-toe gambit that folks like Richard Osterlind and Johnny Thompson have used. Mistress of Pentertain, the third and longest book, has 25 tricks and gags that are a real mixed bag with a lot of junk. I'd give Pentertain 3/5, Son of Pentertain 2/5, and Mistress of Pentertain 2.5 out of 5. There are things of interest amidst the dross, but be forewarned: de Courcy wrote these books in a different time--almost 50 years ago--so there is a lot of offensive and blue material. If you're going to use some of these things, you're going to have to rework the patter. Otherwise, you'll never pentertain--or entertain--in public again.


Out of My Mind

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 06 October, 2021)

Out of My MindAdam Hudson may not be a well-known mentalism, but he should be. And that glowing quote from Derren Brown isn't just fluffy praise for a colleague: This book is excellent. There are so many different things in here using classic mentalism techniques that you're sure to find something of value, from psychological forces to mathematical tricks, a la Marc Paul. Star Trik, a horoscope revelation, is brilliant, worth the $20 by itself. When you see how Adam rethinks an ancient method, you'll be gobsmacked. No one will ever be able to backtrack the method. It looks impossible, like real mind reading. This is my favorite mentalism book of the year so far.


The Complete The Mentalist

reviewed by Michael Breggar
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 15 September, 2021)

The Complete The MentalistWhile this review certainly covers THE MENTALIST publication, I felt it necessary to comment about Chris and Lybrary. Mentalism and magic aficionados world-wide owe a debt of gratitude to Chris Wasshuber. I'm not certain this publication, like many others, would have resurfaced if not for Chris' diligence and wonderful digitizing skills. It's a long story, but Chris was able to exhume THE MENTALIST, reach out to those currently "watching over" this publication and bring it to us. Kudos, many times over, Mr. W!!

I had very fond memories of this publication. One of the first things I purchased at Kanter's Magic Shop in Philly in the mid-1960's. The names of the contributors meant little to me at the time, but now it reads like a who's who of mentalism at the time. Don Tanner edited the first year, Jack Dean a couple of subsequent years before the magazine folded. I always felt Bascom Jones "Magick" picked up the baton in the 1970's.

The effects are your typical newsletter mixture of great but impractical to just plain great! The writing is very much of its time: terse, but to the point. Things are well explained. The important thing is to read this with an open mind. First picture yourself performing the effects as written, then ask would this work with today's audiences and my performance style. Revise as necessary; the ideas and thinking are what is important here.

Nostalgia can be a funny thing. Reading through the magazine again, I can picture myself very clearly where I was reading through this material the first time around!

I loved THE MENTALIST then. I love it now!


Delightful

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 10 September, 2021)

DelightfulI've explored many methods made for Curry's Open Prediction premise (that is, the methods I have access to), and I've been frustrated by how convoluted some of them are (double facers, rough-smooth). I'd come to the conclusion that the version in Card College was the cleanest, most direct method. But I struggle with palming, so I've still been looking. This version is now my favorite. The sleights are easier (at least for me) and the effect is still clean and direct. Highly recommended.


Expert Card Mysteries

reviewed by Phillip Dennis (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 10 September, 2021)

Expert Card MysteriesThis book refers back to Sharpe's previous book, Expert Card Conjuring several times. Purchasing that eBook first or along with "Mysteries" will help you to get the most from "Expert Card Mysteries." There are many nice effects in this book. If you are an intermediate-level card magician be prepared to learn some great new sleights as you advance toward "expert!"


793.8: Where is The Magic?

reviewed by Chet Cox
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 08 September, 2021)

793.8: Where is The Magic?Not often enough do we see a book which includes a little history, a little biography, a lot of thought, and a LOT of magic - both "tricks" and performance technique.

Interlude: Jeffro is a good friend whom I've met exactly once and I've even given him money. If you knew how good his material is, you would throw money at him too! This is as close to the beginning of my review that I'll put my Statement of Conflicts of Interest, just because I'm contrary.

You may wonder why you should throw $29.95 at him for a book without a color cover or even paper. The answer is in the title, which is a question - maybe THE question for anyone who would pursue this vocation and hobby. Jeff asks - and answers - that question with every effect, with every musing, and on every page. He makes you wonder about it, and shows you the wonder of it. The magic is good. Really good. Read the listing of effects up there in the description (pause, as you scroll upward and re-read the description) and tell me that you aren't intrigued. This guy finds magic in everyday life - I now carry a receipt from Wal-Mart which almost reads minds because of Jeff. I've carried a Topit most of my life and didn't even know it. Because of this book, I look at everyday boring things and see the magic inherent in them. Even in relationships.

First he makes you wonder "Where is the Magic" - then he guides you to see the wonder of magic. As Walt Disney said, sometimes it's fun to do the impossible. This book will help your brain get used to thinking that way.


Propless Vaccine

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 04 September, 2021)

Propless VaccineThis eBook is something I wish I picked up sooner. I like the method very well. If you like this you might as well buy Propless Signtist as well because they both use similar methodology. WELL DONE UNKNOWN MENTALIST!!!


Thayer's Life Span Reading

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 04 September, 2021)

Thayer's Life Span ReadingThis is a MUST for History Buffs and collectors from past Thayer Catalog Buffs, and Robert Nelson Buffs. I basically feel the material is a bit outdated but I don't mean that I would not use it for a person who is 40, 50 or more years old. The reading is very descriptive and a mature person would relate very well to this.


Basic Training

reviewed by Robert Gethner (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 29 August, 2021)

Basic TrainingI love the way Kendall breaks down sleights so that you can learn them easily. His book isn't unique in that respect, but certainly unusual. He might, for instance, have you start with fewer cards than are required, then master a tiny piece of the move, and so on, until eventually, when he teaches you how to put the pieces together, the move isn't so hard to learn. He's in good company -- Michael Close, Aaron Fisher, and Carl Irwin do similar things in their teaching.

Kendall is opinionated but in a good way. He explains different ways to do a part of a trick or sleight and explains why he prefers one such way.


Poor Man's Nest of Boxes

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 August, 2021)

Poor Man's Nest of BoxesVery very nice reminds me of a Russian nest of dolls effect that appeared in an old copy of ABRA. If each of the inner boxes were also fastened with a ribbon it would mean less fumbling of the removal of the inner boxes and strengthen the illusion. Great idea.


Twiddle

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 05 August, 2021)

TwiddleLooks as if it is introducing a useful mechanic. However, I find there to be a poor choice of verbs and adverbs. No drawings. Some discussion at Magic Cafe is not revealing and what is on YouTube is garnish. Leaves me feeling like a virgin (after 50 years of a sleight life).


The Drawing Room

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 August, 2021)

The Drawing Room[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

Get this book by Paul Lelekis! Learn these card routines, and head confidently into your nearest drawing room for entertaining deceptions. He draws on his deep knowledge and performing experiences, and returns with six strong effects. They are not hard to do, and you get to practise a cache of sleights, and review a few principles in magic. In one sitting, with my cards in hand and curtains drawn in my living-room, I learnt all six routines and I had fun doing so. 'Leave Those Jacks Alone' is, probably, the most demanding by way of sleights used - yet it is worth it. Video-instruction accompany these sleights, so you are all covered. Most of these card effects will go into my performing repertoire because of the cleverness of construction, clarity of effect, and simplicity of delivery. Plus, there is enough audience interaction you can infuse into these effects. Draw your audience a little closer!


The Drawing Room

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 01 August, 2021)

The Drawing Room[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

Paul Lelekis has finally published another ebook. This pandemic thing has slowed us all down, and I have patiently waited on Paul to write another of his highly entertaining card magic works. It's obvious he put a great deal of thought into THE DRAWING ROOM, as it contains six highly original effects designed to stretch your repertoire. The first effect, Leave Those Jacks Alone!, probably rivals anything I've seen Paul publish in the past ten years. It's a complex and very telling card concert that rivals anything I've read in a very long time. He also includes four videos to help you fully understand the moves, although many of Paul's fans will already know these fine points. Strike Three? is less complex, but again entertains for several minutes. The 7/8 Coincidence & An Even Lazier Lazy Man both use a partially stacked deck to achieve a result not possible with a regular deck. Cutting Deep is based on an effect originated by Bro. John Hamman that uses a Balducci Force to produce four Aces in a very surprising manner. And No Way... Way is a nice mentalism type effect that lets the magic happen under the spectator's control. This is ALL strong magic for the card aficionado. Good stuff!!


The Drawing Room

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 31 July, 2021)

The Drawing Room[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

The Drawing Room by Paul Lelekis conjures up a vision of a beautiful room and filled with the best of fine art, furniture, textiles, and upholstery. The drawing-room was for receiving visitors, entertainment, and the service of tea and coffee following a meal. Who doesn’t love going to a dinner party and being surprised by the entertainment ideas of the host? Choosing something surprising for the entertainment will make the evening all the more memorable, interactive, and fun for your guests. The six effects here will do just that and are perfect for this scenario. Entertain in a delightful manner in a beautiful setting. The moves are all very clearly explained and the book includes video attachments to help with learning some of the moves that you might not be so familiar with. One of Paul’s trademarks is to design moves that are streamlined and that will enhance the effect and make for stress-free performance. This is evident here in all of the effects. I enjoyed working through “Strike Three?”, “An Even Lazier Lazy Man” and “No Way…Way” in particular. All of the effects have great patter possibilities and plenty of audience participation and interaction. Learn some great moves and effects, get world-class professional tips and advice, delight and entertain your audience. That’s hard to beat!


The Drawing Room

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 31 July, 2021)

The Drawing Room[I am a colleague of Paul and have received this ebook free of charge.]

Paul is a card man's card man. He has studied under and studied the masters for decades. He has dozens of offerings which exemplify practical, streamlined handlings. Many a "one trick pony" on the market cost more. Tutorial videos are also a bonus included for moves one can use in so many other routines. Try one, I think you'll come back for more.


Headline Hunter

reviewed by Brian Reaves (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 22 July, 2021)

Headline HunterConsidering there are a lot of variations of this out there at much higher prices, this is a bargain for what you're getting. There is a setup you'll need to do before the show to create the gimmick you will need. I wish I could say it was a one-time thing, but the problem with doing newspaper reads like this is the fact that you'll have to create a new gimmick about every month or so because of the way newspapers age. That being said, it would not be difficult to adapt this particular method to magazines, which would allow you to keep a gimmick for much longer, although the cost per show of ripping up a magazine is considerably more than a newspaper, and the cost of your setup would be considerably higher.

The explanation for this is very easy to understand. You truly can use random newspapers, and you can even have the venue supply the papers to "up the impossibility" of the situation. It is not impromptu, but after you do the setup you are ready to go for at least a couple of shows if you play it right.


My Best

reviewed by Phillip Dennis (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 16 July, 2021)

My BestI bought this as one of my first lybrary purchases four years ago when I rekindled my interest in magic. This book is a bargain and a bonanza of excellent effects. I had soon joined the local magic fellowship and for my first trick for the group was "Here's Your Card" by Herb Rungie. Perfect for a nervous debut. The reaction of the group was great. They exclaimed "That's a GOOD trick!"

If you don't own this book, buy it!


Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)

reviewed by Lynn Fox
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 02 July, 2021)

Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)I have enjoyed magic for many years now, but my first love interest has always been things mechanical. Perhaps it is from my dad having magazines like these from science and mechanics, Popular mechanics, mechanics illustrated, etc. So to find this special magic addition several years ago was quite special. As I review it again now I am impressed with the scope of the magic effects shown. It even includes the Million dollar mystery. A pretty big effect! Interestingly the introduction notes that you don’t have to dress like a magician. This was in 1967 no less. Doug Henning and his hippie look had not even hit the stage! A great collector item and a great resource.


Watch Winder: noise maker

reviewed by Mike Gulish (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 26 June, 2021)

Watch Winder: noise makerThis is a great, well-made unit. I use it while doing Quentin Reynolds' 5 minutes with a pocket-handkerchief. I could never get any of the other watch winder noisemakers to work properly, or consistently, but this one is perfect! As someone who uses it often, I can highly recommend it. It is worth more than the price as it works and works well!

Displaying 252 to 276 (of 1626 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >