Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 2

Reviews: Read What Others Are Saying: page 2

1533 ★★★★★ reviews
169 ★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★★ reviews
77 ★★★★★ reviews
122 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 47 to 71 (of 2021 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...80 >


The Svengali Pitch: The Real Work

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 February, 2024)

The Svengali Pitch: The Real WorkStudy this video, pay attention to Don Driver's tips and advice, and you can make some nice money pitching Svengali decks. It's work, but it is fun, especially when you're counting up the money you made at the end of the day! As Don says, the idea is to get the money, but pitching Svengalis will make you a better magician. The fuzzle pitch and the video of David Walker in action are nice bonuses too.


Forgotten

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 February, 2024)

ForgottenA fun read. There is some useful material here. The more elaborate effects will require fairly good DIY skills, but as is suggested, this is material that has not been overdone.


DJ in my Pocket

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Mark Cristiano (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 February, 2024)

DJ in my PocketI bought DJ In My Pocket years ago....I guess when I purchased it, I wasn't ready for it, it wasn't what I thought it would be, or didn't understand it... I don't know what, but I never really revisited it. So all this time, it was just another magic thing I bought that "went in the (digital) drawer." I know it's not a magic trick but I bought it for a magic show....

.Fast Forward late 2023, I'd decided to actually start putting together a parlor/small stage show. I have never performed a real magic show......I started giving thought to how music could help me in developing my show, but wanted to do it without an extra hand or relying on a music operator.... ..

.I put off trying to figure out how to do it because I knew how it would go.....I would start looking at the music gear sites, then to other online retailers, after that I'd wind up reading message boards night after night and this would go on for weeks......then if I even wanted to try something out, I would spend money on equipment with just the hope something would work.........

One day, I finally sat down to begin the journey.......Ugh........I sat at the computer and had this thought.........I've spent so much time and money on magic and things I don't use, is there anything I have bought that I could take a look at before I start.. Hmm...Hey...! . DJ in My Pocket from Lybrary... ....I should check that out ... .So, I went and found the file and started reading.....

....WAIT......WHAT?!?!?..WOW!!! This is EXACTLY what I was looking for! ....... I LOVE THIS!!!! ..............It was exactly what I was about to spend all that time trying to figure out!!! Thank you!!!! I have over 100 items in my Digital Shelf and this is easy Top 3 for me.


Mr. Bones: Miracle Thought of Card

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by NIKOS VASILEIADIS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 February, 2024)

Mr. Bones: Miracle Thought of CardI loved this trick! And yeah it put a big smile on me as the description said. It's very simple and very devious! I am already thinking of different handlings for a stand-up and a sit-down performance! There is only one move that you should be able to do. One notice though. This is not an impromptu card effect, some preparation of your own deck is needed. Have this in your mind. This is the first effect I bought from Brick Tilley. I will definitely buy tricks from him in the future.


China's Song

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Geoffrey Smith (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 February, 2024)

China's SongA well-kept secret. Highly recommended addition to the world of Betchas and Scams.


Behind the Back Location

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Barrie Segal (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 21 February, 2024)

Behind the Back LocationIncredibly complicated from my point of view.


The Book of Black Magic and of Pacts

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Gregg Webb (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 February, 2024)

The Book of Black Magic and of PactsArthur Waite designed the Tarot deck most people know, and wrote the book most people learn from. Turns out he knows his stuff about demonology too. It looks like all the manuscripts derive from the Keys of Solomon. He has gathered them all and compares and analyzes them all for differences and similarities and he also makes interesting commentaries. The paraphernalia needed for the ceremonies is complicated to make. The wording for the prayers have an unbelievable number of unusual names for god and angels and of course the demons. Names for chemicals in those days were different from what we know today. The artwork is interesting mainly in the sigils and seals needed to control the demons once you call them and again when you put them away. Getting demons to stay away after one is done with them has been a problem as we know from the Faust incident.

Comic book and movie fans may know of Hellboy comics and graphic novels and near the end of this work I found where Mike Mignola may have researched and found some of his ideas and also artwork for seals and sigils is his books, as well as "the Hand of Glory". Really near the end is explained how you can resurrect the dead so that you can ask them questions such as where they buried their treasure. This features in at least one Hellboy story. Also interesting among all of the information provided is the construction and use of The Blasting Rod which can be useful for keeping stubborn demons in line. Lovers of bizarre magic should find many patter possibilities here. If you summon demons to work for you, please put them back where they belong when you are done.


My Best

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Peter Vattimo (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 February, 2024)

My BestWhile it was written years ago, many of the methods and effects are still interesting and effective - and well taught. Well worth the price - items are solid - and there's room for personalization. All sorts of magic ... All sorts of history. One of my favorite books.


Impromptu Mentalism

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Peter Vattimo (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 February, 2024)

Impromptu MentalismVery little of use here ... Much of it is no longer relevant or accurate. From the content list I thought methods might be offered ... Instead, this is essentially a few pages of outdated notes. Overpriced as a historical item, and largely ineffective as notes on useful methods/effects. Sadly, I recommend you look elsewhere.


Jack Hughes World of Magic Volume 1

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Thom Dunlap
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 February, 2024)

Jack Hughes World of Magic Volume 1I only have 1 copy of the original - I bought the download for searching, mark up, and making notes. I try to do this for all of the older "collectable" books that I have. Being able to look through and turn pages without fear of damage is a good thing!!!


Gilbert Chemical Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Thom Dunlap (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 February, 2024)

Gilbert Chemical MagicI have 2 copies of the original - I bought the download for searching and mark up. I try to do this for all of the older "collectable" books that I have. Being able to look through and turn pages without fear of damage is a good thing!!!


Fishing for Mentalism Dollars

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 February, 2024)

Fishing for Mentalism DollarsThis should pay off for anyone willing to do a little legwork to secure the gigs. I imagine this would work well for anyone who does cold reading, horoscopes, tarot, etc. Devin also discusses (but doesn't go into great detail) about how these appearances could spin off into recurring online sales. I'll be giving this plan a fair chance. Recommended.


Novel Card Effects with a Gumball Machine

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 February, 2024)

Novel Card Effects with a Gumball MachineIf you've been hesitant to buy one of those gimmicked gumball machines because they cost $500 or more, this ebook may be of great use to you. Just follow Devin's instructions (which are not difficult), and in short order you'll have your own magic gumball machine for about $35 to $40.

The ebook includes instructions for several strong routines, at least one of which would be suitable for kid shows. I'm looking forward to adding this to my shows. Recommended.


Anatomy of Gaming

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Gregg Webb (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 12 February, 2024)

Anatomy of GamingI am interested in Erdnase and hoped to find some words or passages in this book which would indicate that Erdnase also read it, and I did in a few places. But, all in all Anatomy of Gambling by Nimrod is not an interesting book. Probably written for a magazine at the time, in installments, it is very old British and includes very verbose wordage. While I like Erdnase's use of interesting words, here Nimrod goes overboard. He is basically explaining how bad gambling is for society, what with the loss of wealthy people's entire fortunes and estates, and suicides and duels fought because of losses from it, but he uses every word he can think of rather than get to the point. If one is looking for many many words to construct a simple thought, then this is the book for you.

While Erdnase, and under another pseudonym for himself, Eugene Edwards in the newspaper stories and book Jack Pots, as well as Maskelyne's and Houdin's books on gambling, show how words can be used in an interesting way, I found Nimrod to be overly loquacious and I found myself wondering if he was a lawyer expecting to be paid by the word.

While I'll probably finish it, I wanted to report how tedious a read it is.


ESP Cards with Bicycle Back Marked

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Curtis Foster (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 12 February, 2024)

ESP Cards with Bicycle Back MarkedThese cards are so good. The marks are very easy to read. The quality of the cards is superb. I’m very happy with my purchase.


The Frog Prince

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by James Donaldson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 05 February, 2024)

The Frog PrinceThis trick is Awesome!!! It is great for adults and children both. Michael does a great job in providing a step-by-step guide in how to perform this trick. This trick will become a staple to my repertoire. I am truly surprised I have never seen this trick before. It is well worth its price. Thank you for making it available.


Cold Reading Lecture 2012

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Gregg Webb (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 February, 2024)

Cold Reading Lecture 2012I was actually looking for Herb Dewey books but I found this instead and am very glad I did. It is a wonderful lecture and I learned what I was looking for in my hunt for real info on this subject. If you are interested in readings or mentalism or psychology, I would highly recommend this download.


Flip-M-Out

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Patrick Warsalla (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 02 February, 2024)

Flip-M-OutThis is a great piece of close-up magic. It is not difficult even for a card guy like me! (I have a few coin tricks but definitely still a "beginner" in the move department. I have known Ron for about 4 yrs now, both thru a Zoom magic room and from Abbott's Magic Get Together in Colon, Michigan. Still in touch with him and luckily if need any help with a move or don't understand something, he is always willing to help. He also is a master of invisible thread and all around nice guy.


Calendario Cartomagico

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Salvatore Lazzaro (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 02 February, 2024)

Calendario CartomagicoMolto bello, anzi bellissimo.


The Calostro Mind Reading Act

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Joel Alexandre (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 February, 2024)

The Calostro Mind Reading ActI have received the e-book. I understand the mnemonic system used. I know the Major System and the Dominic O'Brian system and the Andi Bell system. I had a field day. Loved the Book. I give it a 5-star.


Cut The Cards

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Piero Giani (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 February, 2024)

Cut The CardsAbsolutely a great book that made me find exactly what I was looking for, thank you!


The Royal Road to Card Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Alexander Shulyatsky (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 January, 2024)

The Royal Road to Card MagicIt's brilliant! The highest recommendation!


Psycho-Mentisis

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Gregg Webb (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 January, 2024)

Psycho-MentisisSlightly bizarre. Be aware that Al Mann's manuscripts have a very low production value, and the ideas may seem to not be practical at first read, you may find some things of interest after all. There are some items that need to be made and then worked with to get the knack, such as a switching device made of a wallet with a magnet. Paper clips seem to link, and end up really linked, due to a magnetized chain of paper clips switched for paper clips that really are linked. A similar thing with safety pins. He mixes in Jerry Andrus's idea also. A similar thing with nails that bend and some that just seem to bend but are really switched with sleight-of-hand. Then there are some really odd things with bringing bugs back to life. Finally, a dancing doll that is probably workable if you get the required strange magnets...possibly at a hobby store. The real bonus is that Bob McAllister's wonderful levitation Walking On Air, which Bob used to perform everywhere and anywhere, is explained here, except for a few technical improvements and the ability to get all the parts on Canal Street which is where Bob got all his from. All the tricks read as terrible ideas, but if you can figure out what he's actually talking about...you could revive Metal Bending and Bob McAllister's Walking On Air if you study this and read the Ads for Bob's version. Some may dislike the book and a few and far between readers may like it, or parts of it.


Stanley Collins Force

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Jon Bowne (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 26 January, 2024)

Stanley Collins ForceClear, succinct demonstration and teaching of the move. You don't have to be a move monkey to do this force. Recommended.


Annemann's Mental Bargain Effects

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Thomas Jones (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 January, 2024)

Annemann's Mental Bargain EffectsIf you’re a Mentalist (or magician) you want this in your collection. There are a number of great routines in here.

Displaying 47 to 71 (of 2021 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...80 >