Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 2

Read What Others Are Saying: page 2

1241 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 27 to 51 (of 1626 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


Envelopology Part 1

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 31 August, 2022)

Envelopology Part 1Nice. It takes concentration reading it to see exactly what is happening as the book is long. Reading on a phone is not good. I think a peek envelope is better than a switching envelope. He does teach the double back window envelope excellent for a full surface peek. Highly recommend. Mark Leveridge envelope dvd would be the only next step. After that give up on envelopes. Really. Why spend $500 to learn all envelope gimmicks if you only use 3 or 4. Maybe 2 peek methods, and 2 switching methods and 2 ways to secretly remove the contents. That is all you need. This book is recommended mainly for the peek.


Manosutra

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 31 August, 2022)

ManosutraA force I was not familiar with. I prefer not using last letters. The 3 force cards could be marked and a label cue list put under a hinged lid of a case to hold the cards. There are a lot of options. At $6 introductory price it is good. I do not think $12 would be since Annemann's book 202 Methods of forcing is about $8 in print form. The 3/5 force Max Maven is obsessed with also uses the same number of cards and only has a 2-way out. Not 3 outcomes. But a professional mentalist could use it. They probably already know it. Recommended but not strongly.


Shared Secrets

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 August, 2022)

Shared SecretsLast 2 are well known to magicians. But the number force is brilliant. Even works with newspapers but the number is only 2 digits. Most teen magazines apply. You can do the old pin-up posters vanishing from an envelope and the chosen celebrity appears in a picture frame. The forced number can use a list of people. I highly recommend the force alone for $6.


Balls

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 August, 2022)

BallsMethod has been used since the 1950's. It was even in a Linking Ring magazine back then. But magicians usually don't use published methods. However, it is easy and can really work well. Sometimes we have to buy tricks separate to realize the potential. It is a stage trick. You need a tray and hanging box. That is weird in a home. Schools, churches, night clubs. Easy and cheap to put together. Recommended.


Manosutra

reviewed by Sean Hoade (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 26 August, 2022)

ManosutraI really like The Unknown Mentalist's stuff and must have purchased and performed a half-dozen of his effects, but this one is going to the "369” force one too many times. It's getting a bit stale, to be honest, after some of the nice effects based on it in his earlier work.

Also, there are just two many math steps the spectator has to perform -- adding, counting, and other operations which certainly aren't difficult in themselves, but one slip-up on their part and the whole effect falls apart.


From Nothing

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 August, 2022)

From NothingIngenious. Most magicians have that gimmick. Nothing to make. Highly recommended.


Bolivian Brain Bafflers

reviewed by Michael Nowak (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 August, 2022)

Bolivian Brain BafflersThis has proved to be a particularly difficult piece of literature to obtain and therefore I am delighted to have found it at the Lybrary here, and at such a reasonable price.


Impossible Motorcycle Appearance

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 August, 2022)

Impossible Motorcycle AppearanceLike a Rand Woodbury idea. No tips like using veneer sheets so paint don't need to be sanded off between shows. Type of wood used or how to mount the cycle so it can't fall over and break a leg. Even how to move it unseen. May work for professional magicians who know about this. Andrew Mayne has more workable ideas. I give 3 stars just because it is usable to some degree. He needs 1 whole page detailing the construction of the blocks like wheels and the nesting idea. The screen needs more detail too.


Bottle in Bottle

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 August, 2022)

Bottle in BottleNice idea. Almost impromptu. I would rather buy a bottle cutter at Hobby Lobby for $20 and glass glue to really put a bottle in a bottle. Then fill the larger bottle with coke. It will hide the reality and sound. Use a latex coke bottle for vanish. I can use this for friends but my idea is t.v. special strong. Recommended for those looking for something new and a little weird.


"Almost" Impromptu Vanishing Car

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 August, 2022)

"Almost" Impromptu Vanishing CarVery similar to the trick where the magician vanishes from a borrowed cellphone picture. It could work. I did some tricks using a device that sends TV images to other TVs to use pre-recorded images on a TV. Easily worth the price.


The Great Apple Heist

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

The Great Apple HeistNow, this is definitely highly recommended. This is one of Devin's better books. The Apple and candy versions are great. l love the gift bag idea for the kids as it makes it easy to see who has the same amount of candy. The magician does not hide anything. It is an odd and even math trick that goes back to the 1700s that I know of. Like The Problem in Gotham or multiplying card trick or Paul Harris paperclip paradox where they disappear. Those work themselves. Not this. You must give instructions. But so easy. I do recommend leaving a cue card nearby to help when first learning who goes next.


The Aura Effect

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

The Aura EffectNice little ideas. I do not do spiritual-type mentalism so I cannot say I can pull it off. All I can say is to try it out.


The Mysteries of the Seance

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

The Mysteries of the SeanceMost of the stuff I already knew. But very educational. The chemical writing and spirit photos are the best. Yes - some chemicals can still be ordered from online markets. Recommended especially if you want something for newspaper publicity.


Dark Matter Secrets: 80 Years of Spooky Magic

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

Dark Matter Secrets: 80 Years of Spooky MagicCould have left out the magic mummy ideas. It's a cheap toy. Otherwise, with over 400 pages there will be at least a dozen tricks I guarantee you will do. Thurston's spirit cabinet, knit picker, rising broom, Sorcar's flying carpet, impromptu devil Hank, devil production box, knife thru thumb, Grant's magic mirror and spirit knot tying, and It floats are the most creative ideas inside and besides the flying carpet using black art and fake legs. Everyone I named I will do. It does not need a creepy feel if you do not like that. Highly recommended.


Annotated Secret Professional Pseudo-Hypnotic Methods

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

Annotated Secret Professional Pseudo-Hypnotic MethodsGood stunts. Some use stooge. The flower trick uses a chemical not available to anyone but surgeons. That is why I gave it 3 stars. If he had other chemical methods. Same with animal hypnosis.


Zenith Spirit Manifestation

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

Zenith Spirit ManifestationIt is only $3 for a reason. Nobody will do this stunt. It's like sneaking drugs into a jail. There are better chemical tricks.


The Unknown Silence

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

The Unknown SilenceTook forever to get the page on my phone. Great idea. Too confused as to why so many letters or words are used for the changing effect. I do not understand it. This should be a video download. But the effect sounds good. How many people have candles out anyway? Should I carry small candles to give away? A lighter is easier. That is the main reason I could not give a higher rating. The red and black letters don't even show up on my phone easy. I do not have a computer or WI-Fi in my area. So I am extremely limited in what I can explore. Why I prefer actual books. They don't freeze up or disappear when my signal goes out. I never get more than 2 bars.


Unbroken

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

UnbrokenLong routine. Flash paper and friction pen are needed. Other than that-5 common methods are explained. Great for Halloween or home shows. Professionals can use it. Recommended.


The Uncanny Rising and Floating Iron Bar

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

The Uncanny Rising and Floating Iron BarAnother trick where something actually happens. Not all his books are dumb. This could be a real winner at a real show. Do not carry a 4-foot pipe for street magic.


Soumya's Brainstorm

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

Soumya's BrainstormThe lady appearance is great. The mindreading tricks are ingenious. Highly recommend for amateurs or even professionals who can afford at least this price.


Secrets of Floating Mediums

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

Secrets of Floating MediumsI do not recommend it. Mostly a complaint about fake psychics. The only real trick uses a stooge which is not explained enough. My friends would mess the trick up.


Psychic Seed Growth

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

Psychic Seed GrowthOne of his better ideas. Easy to pull off. May even build your reputation if you can youtube or Twitter it. Highly recommended.


Magic Annual 1937 (Hugard's Annual of Magic)

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 August, 2022)

Magic Annual 1937 (Hugard's Annual of Magic)Great ideas. Walking through beads was my favorite. The card force is little known. Good book for the price.


Le Banconote di Fred Kaps

reviewed by Pietro Scarsi (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 August, 2022)

Le Banconote di Fred KapsMolto interessante, chiaro e di grande effetto.


Exclusive Magical Secrets

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 August, 2022)

Exclusive Magical SecretsAs an amateur close-up magician, I just seriously got more into illusions. Most books before 1970 had a lot of build-it-yourself tricks. Illusions were expensive and complicated. There are a few using fake legs or some simple sneaky moves. You might find more close-up tricks useful. Maybe 2 illusions at the most. They are no worse than the Osborne illusions or Rand Woodbury books. A lot cheaper really. The history here is the best lesson.

Displaying 27 to 51 (of 1626 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >