Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 2

Read What Others Are Saying: page 2

1290 ★★★★★ reviews
145 ★★★★ reviews
97 ★★★★★ reviews
65 ★★★★★ reviews
96 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 44 to 68 (of 1693 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


The Travelling Trickster

reviewed by Dave Arch (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 November, 2022)

The Travelling TricksterIf you enjoyed Karrell Fox’s concepts and routine ideas, I believe you’ll enjoy this ebook. I found little to no overlap with the content on Mel’s DVD’s.

In fact on his DVD’s as enjoyable and entertaining as his routines are, I found their success to be highly dependent on his own very unique performing persona. Not so much with these writings.

Highly recommended.


Magical Mentalism Tour

reviewed by Dave Arch (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 November, 2022)

Magical Mentalism TourSince Karrell Fox, I have not seen an author deliver such consistently practical ideas. Mel does.


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Kakas Etterem (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 November, 2022)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickFunny variation of this standard routine!


Inner Secrets of Crooked Card Players

reviewed by Thomas Irving (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 10 November, 2022)

Inner Secrets of Crooked Card PlayersLove the book, Site makes it easy to download.


Semi-Automatic Card Miracles

reviewed by Howard Port (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 03 November, 2022)

Semi-Automatic Card MiraclesI got a lot out of this book. I have been reading lately in several places (Mike Close, Dani DaOrtiz) about introducing more "chaos" into your magical procedures. Maximiliano describes 5 effects (one with a variation) all of which demonstrate how to use "chaos". One of the effects, My Green Goes Red, takes a commonly used procedure and improves it immensely by introducing some "chaotic" elements. Maximiliano explains all clearly and even includes a few words about audience management. I also appreciated his words about how to milk more out the climax of each effect. Crediting is adequate though not as extensive as it could be. (I will be looking at some of his references.) The effects have few if any slights (nothing more difficult than a HaLo cut) and any suspicious handling is always done on the offbeat. Highly recommended.


Jack Kodell

reviewed by Joel Howlett (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 November, 2022)

Jack KodellAmazing and rare opportunity to hear Jack Kodell speak about his years in show business, his unique bird act and even performing on ICE! The interview recording is very clear / great quality. It's wonderful we have this record of magic history available. Highly recommended.


Harold Taylor: The Angle of a Pro

reviewed by Joel Howlett (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 November, 2022)

Harold Taylor: The Angle of a ProThis is a very entertaining Audio. Harold has so much charm and great advice to share including; how to make the egg on fan fake, dressing properly, being humble and more. I found the "live show" parts of the recording a little hard to hear and understand at times. But still highly recommend this audio.


SHIELD

reviewed by Darren Purshall
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 30 October, 2022)

SHIELDWow! this is an absolute winner for those of you who like self-working impromptu card effects with a borrowed shuffled deck. All of these four card effects are complete workers which will leave your audience completely baffled and stunned at the out come. My favourite is "Say My Name" which I would add to my repertoire but you could easily entertain your audience with a magic show using all four of these effects. Biagio is a very clever thinker and all his routines are very well thought out and if you don't understand anything in the pdf just shoot him an email and he will gladly help as he did with me. Don't delay downloading this gem now you won't be disappointed.


Limitless

reviewed by Sean Hoade (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 27 October, 2022)

LimitlessThis is one of those effects where, once you see how it's done, you're like, "Why didn't *I* think of that?!?" Also fun to read just to feel the enthusiasm of the creator! Highly recommended for a quick bit of astonishment.


Annemann's Card Magic

reviewed by Christopher Reynolds (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 27 October, 2022)

Annemann's Card MagicWhile visiting Disneyland in the early 1980s, I bought the Dover Books edition of Annemann's Card Magic at the Main Street magic shop. It was one of the first "grown-up" books of card tricks I had ever purchased.

I've had this copy on my bookshelf for almost four decades, and it's been a constant source of inspiration. I've read it so often that the pages are held together with Scotch Tape and staples.

When I saw it available on lybrary.com, I decided to put my physical copy out to pasture and purchased the ebook version.

That's how great this book is; it's good enough for me to purchase twice.

There's no preface, foreword, or general discussion about performing magic, just step-by-step instructions for over 100 brilliant, easy-to-manage effects. The roster of tricks included in this book is culled from The Jinx magazine's files. It contains two separate publications: Ted Annemann's Full Deck of Impromptu Card Tricks and Annemann's Miracles of Card Magic.

The book is bursting at the seams with a wealth of first-rate material that magicians will revere for generations, including contributions from some of the most recognized names in conjuring literature: Dai Vernon, Dr. Daley, Jean Hugard, Al Baker, Audley Walsh, Stewart Judah, and others.

Annemann, who gained notoriety as a mentalist (and tenor singer), was also a gifted card man, relying on his mastery of subtlety and misdirection to make up for his lack of sleight-of-hand chops, which he never felt comfortable performing in public.

The late comedy magician Harry Anderson was a rabid fan of Annemann's act. In his book, Wise Guy, magician and Anderson biographer Mike Caveney writes, "What Harry appreciated most about Annemann's magic was that it cut right to the bone. Everything unnecessary was stripped away, and the simplest methods carried you straight to the effect."

Sleight-of-hand is one way of performing magic, but it's not the only way. That's why most of the tricks in this collection don't require any tricky moves, substituting shrewdness for skill.

The successful presentation of the many brilliant feats on these pages depends upon the card magician's hidden allies: short cards, double-faced cards, stranger cards, duplicates, simple prearrangements, and other ingenious methods that provide the means for creating otherwise elusive miracles.

Annemann's Card Magic contains illustrations by artist Nelson Hahne that didn't appear in the original versions of The Jinx and help add clarity to the text. Also included are two complete, original routines performed by Ted Annemann. These alone are worth the entire price of this volume.

The search is now over if you've been looking for a few simple (yet not simplistic), easy-to-master effects. Whether you're seeking card tricks for close-up work or stage presentations, you'll find a whole array of solid performance pieces here that won't disappoint.

Annemann's Card Magic is a classic book every magician should add to their library. I highly recommend it.


The Art of the Grafter: a pitchman guide to selling

reviewed by Christopher Reynolds (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 22 October, 2022)

The Art of the Grafter: a pitchman guide to sellingDo you want to make OBSCENE amounts of money, up to ONE-THOUSAND DOLLARS ... per day ... after only 1 hour of training?

You can earn over $300,000 annually; it's fast, easy, and fun! And it's so simple that even a child could do it.

"How?" you ask.

By selling the most MIRACULOUS, INCREDIBLE, and FANTASTIC pack of playing cards, the world has ever seen:

THE SVENGALI DECK!

Have I gotten your attention? Good. If you read this pitch and your eyes lighted up with flashing neon dollar signs, you just fell for a get-rich-quick scheme.

From "double-your-money" scams to advertisements promising untold wealth by stuffing envelopes at home, get-rich-quick scams are lurking around every corner.

If you're the type of person who wants to get rich quickly, then don't buy The Art of the Grafter*. Born in 1943, the author, Walt Lees, was a British magician and magic writer. From 1968-1977 he traveled around England, earning an honorary degree from the school of hard knocks while working as a Svengali pitchman.

The book is an adaptation of his two successful audio cassettes released some time ago. He felt their material was so valuable to those looking to make money in magic that he transcribed and rewrote the text you now have in front of you.

Lees doesn't sugarcoat anything, giving you the skinny on the traps, pitfalls, and ultimate rewards of the grafter business in plain English.

You'll discover the truth behind pitching magic tricks in this book: "The first quality that a good pitchman needs is the desire to make money at all costs." Salesmanship and showmanship are essential in making an object appear of good value. Being a top-flight magician has nothing to do with pitching your product line.

"In show business, the more laughter and applause you can get, the more money you earn. In pitch selling, the opposite is the case. You cannot pay your mortgage with applause! "

Grafting isn't a game for the lazy and unmotivated. It's all about persistence. "A person who gives up when the going gets tough will never succeed. Most pitchmen are tough because pitching is a tough game."

Lees knows firsthand how tough things can get. From exhausting 80-hour work weeks, erratic employment, angry customers, and abusive hecklers, he's seen it all. He even advises the reader about dealing with gangs of teenage bullies and pushy prostitutes trying to muscle in on your territory.

Step by step, he gives you the inside scoop on pulling large crowds, building up interest, and paving the way for the most crucial part of the pitch: making the sale and collecting the money. Here he'll teach you the art of luring in the punters, enticing them to buy, buy, buy!

According to Lees: "If you want to be in the top league of money earners, then do not pitch magic. On the other hand, magic is fairly easy to sell and can be relied upon to produce a steady income. Obviously, there is a peak at Christmas, but by and large, there is a reasonable income to be made all of the time."

A good grafter with an excellent trick to sell can make lots of money, but pitching magic won't bring in the same amount of dough that pitching household items would.

Joe Ades was a New York City sidewalk pitchman. At the time of his death in 2009, he had sold enough combination carrot/potato peelers in downtown Times Square to purchase a Park Avenue penthouse apartment and a closet full of $1,000 custom-made suits.

Overall, The Art of the Grafter was a fast and informative read, giving me insight into a branch of magic I knew nothing about. Most important to me was that the book quickly extinguished any notion I had about making my first million dollars selling packs of gaffed cards.

I guess I won't be quitting my day job anytime soon.

*Grafters (along with Punch & Judy performers and Hurdy-Gurdy men) seem to be a strictly British phenomenon. Here in America, our version is the fast-talking television infomercial pitchman like Billy Mays, who made his fortune hawking pretty much anything that sliced, diced, and julienned vegetables.


Routine Mentale Impromptu (Italian)

reviewed by Vittorio Polto (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 October, 2022)

Routine Mentale Impromptu (Italian)In the "Thought Caught" one step is missing. I could do the magic because I have seen some videos on youtube. I think also in the last one something is missing. I cannot replicate the effect because I cannot find any information.


Coin Games

reviewed by Claude Shaffer (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 October, 2022)

Coin GamesAfter reading the 1 star review, I decided to share my thoughts on Coin Games ... I do agree that this is not repeatable, yet many things we demonstrate are not. Coin Games should not be overlooked. I have been using this since I purchased it in 2013 and I find it to be a great lead into other things and also as a stand-alone demonstration.


10 Myths About Magic Exposed

reviewed by Mohd Amin Abdul Rahman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 08 October, 2022)

10 Myths About Magic ExposedGeneral Knowledge which I enjoyed.


Unseen

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 04 October, 2022)

UnseenPaul Lelekis has given me a copy of his new ebook "Unseen" for me to share my opinion. I have had an interest in magic for over 50 years and I enjoy close-up magic as my primary interest. I am not a professional performer by any means. I consider myself an amateur/hobbyist with a solid overall knowledge of close-up magic and magicians. Most of the performing that I have done has been for fun social events for friends and family and I frequently did little performances for my music students throughout my career as a public school music teacher.

Unseen by Paul Lelekis is a terrific collection of four ESP card tricks that you will be delighted to perform. These effects are designed to be used as ESP effects, or if you prefer, they work just as well as regular card tricks. Paul enhances this exceptional collection of ESP card effects with many practical ideas and nuances plus some presentational tips that will be sure to enhance your performances. His advice on ESP tricks in general taking a “less is more” type approach and focusing on making the spectator feel that they have the “special” power is well worth the price of this e-book. The effects and slights within are all clearly presented, uncluttered, and easy to follow. I particularly enjoyed “Unseen” where you will learn Paul’s Full Deck False Shuffle (video included), and “The Woman of Power” where the very cool “Veeser Move” is taught. These slights not only work beautifully with the effects presented here; they can of course be incorporated into many other effects of your own liking. If you are looking for some great ESP card effects that will help you hone your presentation skills, look no further, here they are!


The Grind: How to Make Sideshow Gaffs

reviewed by Elliot Gorton (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 01 October, 2022)

The Grind: How to Make Sideshow GaffsThis is a beautiful book. Great job.


Fishing for Mentalism Dollars

reviewed by Elliot Gorton (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 01 October, 2022)

Fishing for Mentalism DollarsCool little pdf with nice tips and techniques for making some extra dough!


The Svengali Pitch: The Real Work

reviewed by Elliot Gorton (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 01 October, 2022)

The Svengali Pitch: The Real WorkWorth every penny to the resourceful professional.


Show Stoppers with Cards

reviewed by Christopher Reynolds (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 30 September, 2022)

Show Stoppers with CardsJean Hugard and Frederick Braue are two legendary card trick writers; Individually, both are excellent. But when these two talents collaborate the whole becomes greater than the sum of its parts.

Published in 1940, their first literary team-up, Expert Card Technique, was an influential manual on sophisticated state-of-the-art card magic. To keep the book's final draft a manageable length, Hugard and Braue edited out a lot of quality material, including lost chapters contributed by Dai Vernon and Dr. Daley.

Show Stoppers With Cards isn't just another collection of card tricks. In putting together this 33-page pamphlet, the pair sifted through piles of unedited manuscript pages from Expert Card Technique, compiling these eleven effects.

The small size of this booklet makes the material's quality and scope impressive. It's aimed toward intermediate to advanced magicians, but the necessary sleights are real-world and practical enough for hobbyists like me to add new effects to their repertoire.

The first few pages discuss the Braue Double lift. The moves are natural, and anyone with card handling experience can learn them in a short time.

Along with several Braue routines, the booklet features contributions from some of his magic community peers. It's a virtual who's-who of 1940s-era magicians like Bert Allerton, Stewart James, Bert Fenn, Neal Elias, and Bob Madison.

This collection has two stand-out tricks: The first is Bert Allerton's Amazing Aces*, which piles one surprise on top of the last, building up to a chorus of laughter at the twist ending.

The second exceptional effect in the book is Fred Braue's The Homing Cards. This card trick has an exciting history behind it.

It was one of the signature effects of award-winning Dutch magician Fred Kaps. In the fall of 1964, he performed it live on the Ed Sullivan Show, a popular television variety program.

According to magician Mike Caveney in the book MAGIC:1400s-1950s, magicians were getting less air time on television in the 1960s as rock n roll took front and center:

"The symbolic passing of the baton from variety acts to rock n roll occurred February 9, 1964, when 73 million viewers tuned into the Ed Sullivan Show to see the Beatles. Minutes before he welcomed the fab four to America, Sullivan introduced what many experts considered to be the greatest all-around magician of his generation: Fred Kaps. This brilliant Dutchman's routine and the last remnants of vaudeville were buried under the tidal wave of screams and applause that greeted the Beatles onstage."

Show Stoppers With Cards is a must-have for any Hugard & Braue fans. I recommend it. $4.00 is a low price for quality card tricks of such historical value.

*Burt Allerton was a former oil executive turned close-up magician. He performed in some of the finest hotels on the east and west coast.


Unseen

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 28 September, 2022)

UnseenFirst.. I am a reviewer and editor who's frequently asked to review the work of others. My standard policy is... I review what I like, and I will not review items I don't like. I know... folks like to read a hatchet job sometimes, but I don't like to write 'em. Paul asked me to give his latest ebook a read.. I did.. and I'm glad to review it.

I am a big fan of mentalism and mental magic. Actually, it is probably my favorite form of magic. Mental magic with cards is not easy, as the lines between mental magic and card magic are often blurred. Much is dependent on the presentation, as the way you approach the reveal and the patter up to that point is, in my opinion, the key.

UNSEEN is a collection of four effects with cards. The first effect, and my favorite, uses a partial stack to help you know the identity of a selected card without looking through the cards. This is idea mental magic with cards. Paul provides a video of his false shuffle to make the handling more convincing. This is Paul's description.. and an accurate description.. "A card is noted by the spectator in a completely fair manner from a shuffled deck that has been displayed as ordinary. The packet is shuffled and the performer reads the mind of the spectator and names her thought-of card…the mentalist having never once even looked at any of the cards.."

The LADY FINDS IT! is the second effect, and is the test of a woman's ESP power. Paul describes it like this... EFFECT: "The cards are shuffled and a Peek is performed and the spectator memorizes it. The deck is then shuffled. A male spectator makes a guess of 5 to 25 to locate her selection – but, naturally, he fails. However after the female concentrates on the selection, she then takes the deck and counts the same bank of cards out for herself - and the last card she has counted is her selection.." I might be more inclined to describe this one as a card effect, but it can go either way. Easy to perform, using only a Peek and an undercut, the average guy can perform this one with a minimum of preparation..

The third effect is THE POWER OF WOMAN. Paul likes to select women to assist with his effects.. and he offers his reasoning throughout the PDF.. EFFECT: "A card is peeked and remembered. Deck is shuffled and a male spectator cuts the deck into two piles. The performer displays the top four cards of the bottom half, but none are the selection. These four cards are placed into the deck, face-up, and the other half of the deck is placed on top. The female “wills” her selection to move to the middle of the face-up packet…and when she spreads the deck, the selection has teleported there!" This effect uses one of simplest principles in all card magic. But, like many effects, the simplicity can be a total fooler with the right handling and patter. Paul stresses the mental factor throughout and makes it work. Beginners can perform this, although there are a number of ways to perform it, depending on your skill level. Make it as complicated or a simple as you want..

REPEATER is the last effect in the PDF.. and definitely the most bold. Paul says he used to make up decks to use in this effect when he demo'd in magic shops. You will have to set up a deck using a bank of cards, but it's not a complicated setup. From there, Paul describes the effect as: EFFECT: A deck of cards is shuffled, and then the performer deals out cards, face-up, at a fairly rapid pace, until the spectator says “Stop!” The very next card is given to the spectator, still face-down, and the performer then uses his ESP to announce the name of that card!" After reading the instructions, you might realize you could perform this effect with a deck set up in Si Stebbens, or something similar. But, if your hope is to fool other magicians, as is often the case, use Paul's method. I like the boldness of this effect..

Overall, I think the average magician will enjoy performing the effects in UNSEEN. There's nothing that's a stretch for the average performer, and you will likely learn a new move or two going forward. I appreciate that Paul never overcharges for his work. Everything is priced to be affordable and magicians appreciate it ! If you want to stick your foot in the mental magic pool, without having to spend hundreds for specialized props and equipment, this is the ideal place to start.


The Master Book of Magic

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 28 September, 2022)

The Master Book of MagicVintage book in my collection all the material can be adapted and still used today just depends on the readers performing skills and patter.


Rub the Lamp

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 28 September, 2022)

Rub the LampI have the original soft cover book which served me well when starting out full-time performing for young adults. Must read for any performer.


Unseen

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 September, 2022)

UnseenI was gifted a copy of this book "Unseen" without having to review it, and I have no financial interest in this book. I enjoy sharing my book reviews as a semi-professional performer, and I am a fan of Paul Lelekis's work over several years, as I have been reading (studying) his regular column in "The Linking Ring" magazine. I adore mentalism, however, most books on this topic can be over-priced and complex in methods, and seldom deliver as promised. For this book, I enjoyed the simplicity of the four mental effects, and they are not difficult to do. I suggest that you have your cards in hand as you read each effect through. You just need intermediate levels of card skills, for there is a video on the author's False Shuffle that accompanies this book. He will teach you his easy Peek, and how he controls cards in real-world performing conditions. "Unseen" has gone into my repertoire of close-up mentalism effects. I like the first effect "Unseen' as it sums up the author's approach and methodology. Key points: 1) I enjoy Lelekis's approach to performance, which is to allow the spectator to do most of the work. in effect, let the miracle happen in their hands and let them enjoy their "magical moment". 2) Unseen here also means "looking away from the audience during the procedure". A hands-off, eyes-off (turning your head away), approach can disarm your audience. 3) Be respectfully in control, be bold, and have fun performing for your esteemed audience. Unseen, yet in control.


Turning the Tarot

reviewed by Brett McCarron (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 September, 2022)

Turning the TarotShort and sweet. This is something that I'll have in my back pocket just in case I'm called upon to show something when I'm otherwise unprepared. Priced right, too. Thank you, Dave! It's appreciated.


Sneak

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 September, 2022)

SneakI've got this compilation from Raphael, and I am glad that I learned a new use of an old principle (using it as a control instead of a force). Easy to do great tricks based on the same principle. I am sure, you will use some of the tricks if you buy this e-book.

Displaying 44 to 68 (of 1693 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >