Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 4

Read What Others Are Saying: page 4

1185 ★★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★ reviews
76 ★★★★★ reviews
56 ★★★★★ reviews
83 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 96 to 120 (of 1520 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


Interactive Matrix Formula

reviewed by samuel thielman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 January, 2022)

Interactive Matrix FormulaNice trick, but there's no formula. Just a set of directions to be used to move around the matrix during the trick. I bought this looking for an actual explanation of how the trick works.


Genii Volume 17 (Sep 1952 - Aug 1953)

reviewed by John Lynch (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 January, 2022)

Genii Volume 17 (Sep 1952 - Aug 1953)Obviously magic from the past influences the effects and illusions we see today. These archived magazines, which provide a view of the past methods are invaluable.


More Magic

reviewed by John Lynch (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 January, 2022)

More MagicFinding the book, available digital, has complemented receiving "Modern Magic", a gift from my son. Since many of Prof. Hoffman's books are scarce and highly priced, finding them on Lybrary.com is a big deal for me.


The Dai Vernon Book of Magic

reviewed by Samuel Kugler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 January, 2022)

The Dai Vernon Book of MagicOne of the best magic books out there - for only 20$. You get one of the best coin routines (Chinese Classic, a Coins through table effect), a great card stab (which you can perform standing or sitting) by the great Nate Leipzig, the best C&B routine (in my opinion) and many more. And the chapter 'Vernon Touch' is probably worth the 20$ alone. Even if you don't perform one single effect from this book (but seriously, why would you do this?), to read the thoughts of the great Professor is inspiring and fascinating. He was a true artist! So don't read this comment written in bad English - buy this book by the great Professor!


Shank Shuffle

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 January, 2022)

Shank ShuffleThere are two demo videos, totaling 20 seconds. The explanation is one exposed view video, totaling 23 seconds. The pdf contains two pages of basic instructions. If you're looking for tips and subtleties - as I was - you won't find any.


Everybody's Fooled

reviewed by Harry Damareck (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 06 January, 2022)

Everybody's FooledAs a hobbyist not a professional I always look for new things to entertain my friends and family. This is a perfect trick for that. They have no clue. I always borrow a deck because if I use my own it looks like an obviously marked deck trick.


Deluxe Three Card Monte

reviewed by Robert McGee (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 December, 2021)

Deluxe Three Card MonteI have been studying card and close-up magic since 1962. I have bought several things over the past few years from Lybrary.com and been very satisfied. Unfortunately, I must give a very negative review to this purchase. It is one page describing a very basic routine and a couple of standard endings. This is the only time I bought something from Lybrary.com and felt ripped off. If I could rate it zero stars that would be too high.


Victory Bouquet

reviewed by David Nethery
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 December, 2021)

Victory BouquetAn essential reference for making spring flowers. This booklet covers Martineau's method of making a large bouquet (complete with long stems) of spring flowers, but this book would also be enormously useful to anyone wanting to make individual spring flowers for the traditional Flowers from Paper Cone production. Martineau gives you precise instructions, with very clear illustrations, on how to make the flowers. If you know Martineau's illustrations from the Rice Encyclopedia of Silk Magic then you will know how precise his drawings are.

Spring Flowers have really become a do-it-yourself project for anyone who wants decent-looking blooms that halfway resemble real flowers (from a distance). These are not difficult to make once you understand the proportions and the steps for constructing them, but they are very time consuming to produce (and to make a decent looking production you need at least 50) so the days of purchasing good looking pre-made spring flowers from a magic dealer have passed. You'll have to rely on your own craftiness and the investment of your own time. Almost all of the pre-made spring flowers you can obtain from a magic supplier these days are made cheaply in India and they don't look very good, most don't even attempt to look like real flowers (the worst offenders being the "flowers" that are made from metallic-looking mylar. What those are intended to resemble I have no idea, but they sure don't look like flowers.) By combining the construction techniques that Martineau covers (either for individual blooms or a whole bouquet with long stems) along with adding some tasteful stippling on the inner part of the flowers and stippling along the outer edges of the flowers using colored Sharpie markers, or PrismaColor or Copic Markers, you can increase the resemblance of the blooms to real flowers (you can also brush on colored dye with a slightly wet watercolor brush on the edges of the blooms which can yield some interesting color bleed gradients --- experiment!) Another good option is to obtain some of the artificial flowers made from thin fabric at a craft store and use those to construct your spring flowers, instead of using the traditional tissue paper. The fabric flowers will tend to be a bit thicker than the paper flowers so that's something to consider in terms of the size of the load, but the fabric flowers (and green leaves) look realistic from a very short distance.

One bit of advice that is often forgotten when using spring flowers is the ratio of green leaves to colored blooms: it should be a ratio of 50 - 50, or some say 60 - 40 (that is for every 4 colored blossoms you would include 6 all green, or at least for every 5 colored blooms include 5 all green). Also, it tends to look better to have each bouquet or batch of spring flowers produced to be all one color, for example, all-white blooms, or all pink, or all red, all yellow, instead of mixing in multiple colors like red, yellow, purple, orange, blue, white, green. Or vary it by having mostly white blooms, but a few pink dropped in the mix. (again, keeping the proportion of all green leaves higher than the number of colored blooms) If you want to see how good this can look search out a video of French magician Dani Lary performing his act "The Magical Gardener".


Bending Minds 1

reviewed by Paul Critelli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 December, 2021)

Bending Minds 1The instruction booklet is for me, in a word, terrible. The translation is often quite poor, and the continuity and explanation of even the basic system and then what the "example" is supposed to be showing are misleading, confusing, and left me wondering how anyone without some basic knowledge of the binary system could ever follow this. Although I would never claim to be able to do anything that the authors may be able to accomplish on their lunch breaks, the binary system is not difficult even for me to grasp. However, their explanation and use of it boggles the mind of someone who does have a Ph.D. in psychology, who has read and performed Magic for 40 years, and who owns 7000 books on Magic. Maybe it was the time of the year - month - week - day, but several readings of that first chapter (which I did not think I would need to do) still left me quite confused and wondering if parts had been left out. I suspect there were no readings and "screenings" by people who did not have an extensive history with several - perhaps all - of the topics the authors are trying (so it is assumed . . . ?) to teach. Certainly, there was no "native speaker" that did go over the translation, and following the hodgepodge of partial effect and methods and expectations left me quite unamused. I did get volumes 1 and 2, but the adoption of 3 is in serious jeopardy. I will take yet another (my fifth) stab at trying to understand the words on the page, and I do NOT expect any sort of "push button" easy-peasy Magic, but I do expect clear and direct communication. This is - definitely not astrophysics, but the authors could definitely take some lessons from Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson in communicating . . . anything.


Impossible Memory

reviewed by Alton Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 15 December, 2021)

Impossible MemoryVery easy to do, extremely clever. Uses a borrowed deck that can be shuffled by the spectator. Kudos Joseph B!


Balloon Shows

reviewed by Christian Kies (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 15 December, 2021)

Balloon ShowsDeeply disappointed. You will not learn much about a balloon show but how to teach the kids how they can make a balloon dog.


Victory Cartons

reviewed by Jose Luis Perandones Colino (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 10 December, 2021)

Victory CartonsA great cardboard illusion. 7-page ebook with manufacturing and production drawings, very clear and simple. Easy to carry, easy to assemble, easy to perform, a great illusion, and free, what more could you ask for.


The Expert MC Toolkit & Resource Manual

reviewed by paul nightingale (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 December, 2021)

The Expert MC Toolkit & Resource ManualGreat, condensed reference for Master of ceremonies. It has a wonderful balance of information and direct layout.


Irresistible Close-Up Magic

reviewed by Bill Palmer (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 05 December, 2021)

Irresistible Close-Up MagicI've done close-up magic for more than 60 years, under every working condition imaginable, and for audiences of every level of social standing, from drunk rednecks to English royalty. This is the kind of magic that will make you a more versatile performer.


MORE: Multiple Outs Reimagined

reviewed by Christian Mach (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 03 December, 2021)

MORE: Multiple Outs ReimaginedNot a new idea (or perhaps new with blank business cards). The suggested applications are too mathematical and not very interesting for me.


Circlet

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 December, 2021)

CircletExcellent teaching video. Looks like the trailer here. Other sites have slightly different trailers which have different color scheme. Actual video is with a black shirt against yellow background. The teaching is text only; large, kept on view for a good while. All steps are repeated, some action is stopped. Requires band type ring about 1 size too big and some PRYM. Minimal DIY. Sleight is slight, requiring as much dexterity as you need to use with a break-away wand (although no mechanics in common). Highly recommended!


Deluxe Three Card Monte

reviewed by Colin Massey (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 December, 2021)

Deluxe Three Card MonteExcellent routine and explained very well.


The Sphinx Volume 49 (Mar 1950 - Feb 1951)

reviewed by Brad Morgan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 November, 2021)

The Sphinx Volume 49 (Mar 1950 - Feb 1951)So many tricks and articles here it's hard to beat this deal. It's an awesome old magic magazine that's hard to find. For reference purposes, this is the way to go. Great Quality and easy to find what you are looking for. I was researching for a specific mention of a trick and needed this resource to complete my findings. It was an easy transaction at a great price. The pages are clear and easy to navigate.


The Gen Volume 18 (1962)

reviewed by Brad Morgan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 November, 2021)

The Gen Volume 18 (1962)It's an awesome old magic magazine that's hard to find. For reference purposes, this is the way to go. Great Quality and easy to find what you are looking for. I was researching for a specific mention of a trick and needed this resource to complete my findings. It was an easy transaction at a great price. The pages are clear and easy to navigate.


The Magic Wand Volume 38 (1949)

reviewed by Brad Morgan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 November, 2021)

The Magic Wand Volume 38 (1949)Great Quality and easy to find what you are looking for. I was researching for a specific mention of a trick and needed this resource to complete my findings. It was an easy transaction at a great price. The pages are clear and easy to navigate.


Centermental

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

CentermentalAnything by J.G.Thompson is worth a read. In this manuscript, he has some very clever ideas (from credited sources) on ways to read the center tear, some nice presentational ideas. Just good stuff.


Big Ring on String

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

Big Ring on StringFairly standard set of moves described competently. The one thing I do like is that there are not any of the thread/unthread/twisty moves that don't actually look magical.


Best Tricks with Slates

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

Best Tricks with SlatesInteresting read and has several methods of getting writing on a slate without flaps or gimmicks.


A Boon For All Seasons

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

A Boon For All SeasonsThis manuscript is interesting...perhaps a little overpriced though. It takes you through a short history of the BOON, different ways to use it, including a truly bizarre thought using a wristwatch and another with a tie. Both very clever thoughts.

The wristwatch idea would be an insane way to do a variant of Karrel Fox's LITTLE RED TABLE.

Good read.


4 Most

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 November, 2021)

4 MostI like Peter Duffie's material. He's fairly clean in handling and avoids knuckle busters. In this particular collection, I really like GHOST BUSTER. It's cute, simple, odd, and lends itself to many different scripts.

Displaying 96 to 120 (of 1520 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >