Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 4

Read What Others Are Saying: page 4

1100 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
54 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 81 to 105 (of 1405 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >


Propless ACAAN

reviewed by Ernest Hampson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 June, 2020)

Propless ACAANThis sounded too good to be true. It was. I took a shot. What can I say? Method is pretty obvious to spectator imho. I've gotten some good stuff from Lybrary, so an occasional miss isn't going to turn me off.


PRIC: Propless Remote Instant Cartomancy

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 13 June, 2020)

PRIC: Propless Remote Instant CartomancyTHE UNKNOWN MENTALIST HAS DONE IT AGAIN!!! I believe this is a GREAT effect for anyone interested in creating the illusion of doing a reading. My personal approach since I'm very serious natured is dropping the jokes about dropping the cards etc...however, if you want to make it more lighthearted then use the jokes. I haven't used this yet but I predict that the spectators reactions will be priceless. THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST has created a way to use this basically without memorizing anything and I believe that was unheard of until now. Having said that, I will personally prefer to copying the reading sheet so I can do this one on one with the spectator, hopefully, when we can meet with people after the corona virus is over. Of course, I will have to memorize all the information for the script. The big thing is that this is so versatile on how you want to do this effect you can't loose. The main thing is whether you choose to use this or not...YOU CAN'T LOSE, ESPECIALLY FOR THE VALUE OF THE EFFECT RIGHT NOW! This has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. The UNKNOWN MENTALIST should have charged more for this. Get the effect NOW before it goes up in price.


Psychabulary

reviewed by Giovanni Iuliani (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 10 June, 2020)

PsychabularyWhile it might be useful to someone unimaginative, there are more creative answers in one of Robert Nelson's books. Furthermore, while a few bucks might appear like a cheap price to pay, your manuscript boils down to just about one page. The other 21 pages act like a sponge and drinks-up more ink then one can imagine. Just have the damn thing printed without any background shades of any kind and it will be more user friendly. Meanwhile, I just ran out of toner on this deal.


PRIC: Propless Remote Instant Cartomancy

reviewed by Fred Rosenbaum (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 June, 2020)

PRIC: Propless Remote Instant CartomancyDisclosure: I just bought this and have just skimmed it. It seems to match up with the description and I am happy so far and look forward to spending some time with it. After that I may add or subtract a star or 2.

The reason for writing is to clarify something to make it easier for you. In this book he references "Deckology Vol 1–Mystic Deck" here on Lybrary. Don't search for that, you won't find it. Just search for "Deckology" and you'll find there are 3 volumes. I assumed these would be expensive and the intent was to use PRIC as a loss-leader. Wrong. All are free. So when you buy PRIC save yourself a little time and pick up these 3 volumes at the same time.


Silent Two-Person Codes Revealed

reviewed by S Wade
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 June, 2020)

Silent Two-Person Codes RevealedThe book needs to be proof read before been released, I noticed a few sentences that didn't make sense, until I had read it again and worked out what it should say.

The methods are ok, but I much prefer 'The Touch'.

The Touch is a much better read, easy to learn, and no mistakes in writing (from what I read).


Scripted #16: Zodiac and Mom's Favorite

reviewed by Steven Beckley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 June, 2020)

Scripted #16: Zodiac and Mom's FavoriteVery Nice ideas. I saw this concept used once in a semi close up routine and really liked it a lot. It's just so devious and sneaky! I don't know why but it never occurred to me that this could be "upsized" to play beautifully for a parlor/cabaret setting for a bigger audience. (head slap) The thing I like most is that the first routine can be customized to pretty much any theme or selections that fit your performance style, it's easy to do, and very fooling. You also have the flexibility to play this any way you like.... Prediction, influence, mind reading... whatever floats your psychic boat. I could see this working really well as a good opener to a mentalism set and as we all know good mentalism openers are difficult to find. Well worth the money!


U. F. Grant's Lost Illusion Secrets Revealed

reviewed by David Nethery (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 02 June, 2020)

U. F. Grant's Lost Illusion Secrets RevealedI’m an admirer of the creative genius of U.F. Grant, so I was hoping to get more out of viewing the “Missing Files” of “U. F. Grant's Lost Illusion Secrets Revealed”, but I would have to say this PDF is way over-priced for what it is. $5.00 might be a fair price, but $35.00 is too much. The description of this PDF file says:

“Over the years, Grant sold many manuscripts that just contained one illusion along with building plans in most cases. (Some of these were released by Percy Abbott in his catalog without credit to U. F. Grant.) This compilation is a collection of those plans released by Grant and also in the early Abbott Magic catalogs.

Most of these plans are near impossible to find nowadays and most of the ideas and plans will be new to the majority of magicians. The manuscripts have new typeset, corrected errors and added photos.”

Several of the illusions described have no plans or illustrations at all, most have only a few crude sketches that get the basic idea across, but offer little practical guidance on how you would actually build or perform these illusions. Some do have plans with actual dimensions given, but overall the building directions are sparse.

The description -- “The manuscripts have new typeset, corrected errors and added photos” -- gave me the impression that these various old plans and ideas had been substantially edited and updated with the addition of photo illustrations of the illusions, but the “added photos” are simply a few generic stock photos found on the internet:

- On page 18 a stock photo (with the 123rf.com watermarks still visible ... you're supposed to pay the licensing fee if you use stock images) of a girl with a towel wrapped around her for “The Girl in the Shower” illusion, but this stock photo has nothing specifically to do with the Grant illusion, it’s just a cheesecake photo of a pretty girl with a towel around her.

- On page 112 a stock photo of Santa Claus accompanies the “Santa Claus Arrives” illusion, but again this stock photo has nothing to do with illustrating how the illusion would look or how to build it, it’s simply a stock photo of Santa Claus.

- On page 142 there is a photo of a child’s rubber boot, in connection with the “Farmer and the Witch” illusion where it says: “Some performers who are using this illusion have made cloth ‘boots’ to match the costumes, In the event that the audience should get a glimpse of the feet of the children, the shoes will not give the illusion away. Instead of the cloth boots, you could use the cheap plastic boots which are sold for children in the winter time.”

- On page 143 a stock photo of a surgeon and a nurse in surgical masks is printed at the start of the description for “The Doctor and the Nurse Illusion”.

- On page 165 for “The Bunny-Girl Illusion” a stock photo of a girl in a sort of "Playboy Bunny" type of costume grabbed from a Halloween store website. It has nothing to do with the illusion, except the suggestion that “The girl should, of course, be dressed in the popular bunny costume — bunny ears, white collar and cotton tail.”

- On page 167 a photo of the “Girl on Three Swords Illusion”, but it’s simply a photo of the prop as seen by the audience at the start of the illusion, three swords standing upright on a small platform. There is no description or photo of how to make the gimmick.

None of the 6 stock photos included are of any use in helping someone to build or perform the illusions described, so the mention in the description of “added photos” as a selling point is rather misleading.


Beyond Heaven

reviewed by James Floyd
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 02 June, 2020)

Beyond HeavenIt's not at all good...a simple method...


EZ Prediction

reviewed by Shawn Fast (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 31 May, 2020)

EZ PredictionWell I just purchased this and am disappointed. I was hoping the spectator could name any number and I could then count to the force envelope. This was not the case. A count between 10 and 20 is all you get. Not very impressive. It does say any number could be selected but that was not explained.


3SP

reviewed by Marvin Kaye (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 May, 2020)

3SPThis is excellent mentalism at a bargain price. It takes a little easy preparation and no sleights. The spectator mostly handles the three ESP cards. The climax is impressive and looks totally fair.

Marvin Kaye Author, "The Handbook of Mental Magic"


Streamlined Newspaper Prediction

reviewed by Lothar Vogt
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 May, 2020)

Streamlined Newspaper PredictionIf you want to do this plot, this is the best way! I think, much better than the "Original" from Al Koran! EASY to learn and yes "1" and "16" are also possible.


50 New Card Secrets

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 25 May, 2020)

50 New Card SecretsIf you are lucky to own a physical copy you know the content is still adaptable for today's audiences but just need slight alteration to your own style of presentation. I have put this into my wishlist as I get older my eyesight not as good from reading the many great works of magic so when time comes I will enlarge on screen the pdf to suit my eyes and relive some of my old favourite effects. And you never know I might be inspired to create new ideas from them. Just like you can...

Keep safe everyone .......


Blindfold Bonanza

reviewed by angularjs reactjs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 24 May, 2020)

Blindfold BonanzaThis is a good and practical resource to get you started in blindfold routine and act. Well structured and covered wide range of aspects. But be warn, blindfold is not by any mean self working. This is a perfect guide for those that already do a stage work but need some guide to do blindfold. Patter, Presentation, Practice are key here.


Strange Truths

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 May, 2020)

Strange TruthsGreat gimmick and ideas. This will worth your money because this ebook is well written and provide more than enough photos to help you create this practical effect. B. W. McCarron's work is always top quality with the explanation.


Propless Bank Night

reviewed by Prof Max
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 18 May, 2020)

Propless Bank NightThe Unknown Mentalist graciously sent me Propless Bank Night several weeks ago. I liked it so much that I started performing it over phone once or even twice, almost everyday. Propless Bank Night has several things going for it. A simple process, easy to perform with a nice 'feel good' punch in the end makes it a truly anytime, anywhere over any medium kind of effect. In fact, I started making more calls under the pretext of catching up and then slipping in this routine in the call.

While performing to a stressed student, a worrying employee and a disappointed traveler, especially, I discovered some nice and new subtleties in Propless Bank Night. I have already shared these with the author and he may share it with other readers if he deems fit.This little gem has given me so much satisfaction in performing that I am willing to happily send over a hundred bucks to the author for sharing this.


Remote Propless Prediction

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 May, 2020)

Remote Propless PredictionThis is an effect that Max Maven would be pleased to see! Besides that, it adds a bit of humor to mentalism and will bring smiles to people's faces. Having said that, this is somewhat similar to a popular effect done a few years back but I believe a lot of mentalist's and magicians will be using this. I don't want to say more to spoil anything. I know I will be using it occasionally. I give this my highest recommendation!!! Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST!


Propless Polaris

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 May, 2020)

Propless PolarisWell done UNKNOWN MENTALIST. This effect I really like a lot from the UNKNOWN MENTALIST. Basically it is nothing new for the most part, but I can see it will really drive a spectator crazy. The nice thing about this is the UNKNOWN MENTALIST gives you quite a bit of detail on the scripting etc. for the most part. Of course, you will still need to add a bit of your own scripting also to give it your own personal touch and make it your own. At least that's what I'm planning to do. It's not really difficult to learn but will require a bit of time to give it your own personal touch. I will definitely use it along with Star Signature, Happy Birthday, and The 59 second birthday divination. It's really that good. Besides that it exceeds the $3.00 asked price. I give this my highest recommendation. By the way if you do this by phone you don't have to memorize a thing...just read your printed script in front of you.


Spell Deck

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 May, 2020)

Spell DeckUnMe gifted me this creation and I must gracefully say thank you as I have now something to distract my mind from the ''WORLDS' situation and the many untimely deaths and loss of loved ones by many of us. We must all use positive thoughts to keep strong. Not always easy for me and my many health problems. But back to this work from UnMe I now have one more of his working stack decks to keep my mind and hands creatively busy. I thank you UnMe, and hope all the magicians, mentalists and entertainers remain strong and use the time to learn and practice...


Magic Magazine

reviewed by Dave Arch (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 06 May, 2020)

Magic MagazineWhat a treasure trove of magical history and routines! Thank you, Chris, for making these available in this format. Going through them has become a pandemic passion.


Propless Bank Night

reviewed by Kenneth Athon (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 04 May, 2020)

Propless Bank NightThe blurb states this is a $100 idea .... No. Way. I'm not saying this stinks, I'm saying it's not all that it's hyped up to be. I think $3 - $6 is just about right.


Smiling George Card Revelation

reviewed by Michael Cook (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 May, 2020)

Smiling George Card RevelationEven for $4 I don’t recommend this. Your spectator will see what’s going on.


Mirage

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 01 May, 2020)

Mirage“Mirage” by Paul Lelekis is a collection of three awesome effects that will astonish your audience. Reversal of Thought is a twisting effect with some clever slights and some cool surprises and a shout out or two to Michael Skinner and Eddie Fechter. Pencil Thru Rubber Band is a very visual penetration that will astonish both young and old! Very clean looking and the accompanying video proves to be beneficial in learning the move. Mirage is a wonderful paradox problem effect that totally kills! You’ll love the surprise ending where you end clean as a whistle. It looks absolutely fantastic, you’ll fool yourself! Paul’s clear, easy-to-follow ebook of step-by-step directions, is packed with useful information and tips throughout. Paul combines friendly, concise text and videos that teach the slights and show the subtleties to help you make the best of your performance. As with all of Paul’s books, many difficult moves are streamlined and are actually better than ever and more effective. Great insight and tips on performing are utilized into all of these effects. You can’t go wrong with this collection of three exceptional effects!


Fillers

reviewed by ENRICO VARELLA
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 27 April, 2020)

FillersPaul Lelekis is a prolific writer of real-world performance magic. If we compile his more than 50 e-books, he may have just as much material as Phil Goldstein. This new book 'fills the gap' between his previous books 'Openers & Closers 1,2 & 3'. These three 'fillers' effects are the muscles that attach to the skeleton (structure) of openers and closers. They function to move the audience to varied and wild places of imagination. I applied SENSE OF SMELL firstly, as it is a clever and simple retake of 'Out of This World'. ELEVATOR gives you room to glide rapidly around, with your own strength of patter, and flexibility to move four cards about. 2-WAY MIRACLE is a smart way of allowing the spectator to 'touch their toes' by selecting a four-of-a-kind; you ACAAN do it, I assure you. Have fun with Paul's creations, and lift your performance with these close-up card magic 'heavyweights'.


Mirage

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 27 April, 2020)

MiragePaul Lelekis' MIRAGE is a miracle in a spectator's hand. The effect itself seems totally impossible, yet with a bit of instructions and a clear video, you make the impossible happen. Two red cards, clipped together, are clearly shown. The spectator selects and signs a card from a blue backed deck. After removing one of the clipped red cards and showing it as a Joker.. the other red card is removed and shown to be the SPECTATOR'S signed card! I'm not going to give too much away.. but I'm going to encourage you to purchase MIRAGE, learn it, and fool the heck out of your magic buddies, not to mention your audience. There are two other effects included; a rubber band through pencil effect that is so simple it's criminal.. and another card effect that has the spectator selecting a card, using a wonderful forcing technique that allows the magi to perform a true head-scratcher. This, of over 57 other ebooks by Paul, is easily one of my very favorite. I recommend it to all my friends and Magic Roadshow readers.


Mirage

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 25 April, 2020)

MiragePaul Lelekis is offering here a hidden workers dream. All three effects are practical worker users. However, the Mirage effect is a closer & has so many spin off applications. Their signed card is on the table before the effect starts & it’s back changes color. No wallets, no difficult crafting, easy pocket management. A paperclip in your pocket becomes a magical stunner. Videos included.

Displaying 81 to 105 (of 1405 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... >