Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews

Read What Others Are Saying

1090 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
52 ★★★★★ reviews
74 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 81 to 100 (of 1392 reviews) Pages: <   1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 


Fillers

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 April, 2020)

FillersPaul is a true pro, full time, real world worker. What he shares here with both text & companion tutorial videos are his tested, entertaining card routines, & the psychology of how & why to present them for maximum spectator involvement & enjoyment. Great price for tested, worker card magic.


Fillers

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 19 April, 2020)

Fillers"Fillers", a new ebook by Paul Lelekis. Three solid effects to be used in conjunction with a great opener and closer. As with all of Paul's ebooks, the Introduction alone is worth the price of the book. Here you get Paul's excellent insight and thought-provoking perspective on many things including advice on audience involvement and control. All good solid truthful real-world recommendations that can be used in multiple performance situations. The great thing about this book is that it doesn’t just teach you moves, but how to actually use these moves in tricks. So, you’ll receive training on the different shuffles, cuts, controls, and a very cool no-lap card switch, plus how to use them which can be applied to many different tricks. You also get instructional videos and links to other instructional videos with this ebook which is another plus. One of the big problems people have with magic trick books is that sometimes the text instructions just don’t cut it. It can be really hard to visualize what is meant to be going on, but that is solved with the addition of the videos and links with this book. Plenty of fun patter suggestions throughout these three effects. "2-Way Miracle" alone could end up opening up lots of fun audience interplay and laughs. You can't go wrong with this ebook, good solid teaching and three entertaining effects that you will use!


Rings and Things

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 12 April, 2020)

Rings and ThingsNice idea about ring tricks but there is no full routine here. I give it four stars because even though the trick is not very strong but the explanation is in detail.


Standing Room Only (download DVD)

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 12 April, 2020)

Standing Room Only (download DVD)Worker material for a walk around with variety of props. There is one really good mentalism material in there.


Roped In

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 12 April, 2020)

Roped InI love this download. The teaching and routine are easy to follow. 3 solid routines which are Rope In, Professor Math, Tighter Rope. The mechanic is not complicated but you need to work on your own patter because Aldo has a unique one.


Spell Deck

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 11 April, 2020)

Spell DeckThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again. First of YOU CAN'T GET A BETTER VALUED E BOOK THAN THIS FOR YOUR MONEY. It contains QUITE a number of stack variations AND a couple of other stacks inside. Not to mention quite a few SOS suit order variations. I'm glad to have the UNKNOWN MENTALIST as a friend and I like 99.9% of his deck stacks and other material. I would give this a 10 star rating if I could. Please be aware this may not be the KARMA DECK but it HAS TO BE at least in my personal library with my other playing card stacks. Most people would be charging you four times the amount of what the UNKNOWN MENTALIST is asking. By the way, if you are interested in the 59 SECOND BIRTHDAY DIVINATION order it quickly. I purchased 2 more of them 2 weeks ago and understand there may only be ONE left in stock. WELL DONE UNKNOWN MENTALIST!!!


Himber Happening

reviewed by Dave Campbell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 April, 2020)

Himber HappeningI have a couple Himber wallets -- and have a couple tricks I like to do with them, but THIS one is a welcome addition, and for 4 bucks, if you've got a wallet, don't pass it by.

If you don't have a Himber wallet yet, you won't need an expensive one to do this.

Well written, and a cool idea!!


Day One

reviewed by Geoffrey Smith
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 April, 2020)

Day OneA fantastic product at a fantastic price ... unbelievable. I can do this in my head with no problem, now.

A real worker. Everything is made so simple and easy to learn. Great fun.

I wish Scott had a solution to turn the revealed day of the week into the appropriate Astrological Zodiac sign.


Unbelievable

reviewed by R Marc Davison (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 03 April, 2020)

UnbelievableTrick has long complex set-up. This should have been disclosed in initial description. Definitely not impromptu.


EZ Prediction

reviewed by Harry alexander (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 31 March, 2020)

EZ PredictionNot my cup of tea, second video shows better out come of number selection for the count. Prediction can't be handled in effect number one, unless you use a gimmicked envelope etc.


Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the Stage

reviewed by Max Y
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 15 March, 2020)

Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the StageDisclaimer: I didn't purchase this item from Lybrary but rather directly from Paul some years ago.

Recently Jermay released his "Tarot Psychometry" routine (end of 2019) and there was a reference to this item as well.

First of all let me tell you the review below by "Greg" is unfair - this manuscript details the entire "script" or presentation of this routine in front of an audience. The idea in itself (even without the script) is novel and worth knowing in itself.

Of course you need to provide your own readings; this manuscript is the script and outline on how to present this routine.

If you are interested in the idea, then I believe you will like this inexpensive ebook.

On the other hand, Jermay does not credit Paul, and probably he should.


Scripted #19: Sidewalk Shuffle

reviewed by James Wood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 05 March, 2020)

Scripted #19: Sidewalk ShuffleLarry Brodahl's presentation of how to perform the Sidewalk Shuffle is very helpful. He has made two innovations. First, he has changed the script so that the magician, rather than the spectator, is the naive victim who gets fooled by the Three-Card Monte. In my opinion, this is a genuine improvement because it removes any "sting" in the presentation and makes the routine even more humorous than the original. Second, Larry explains how to perform the slights while keeping the cards vertical at all times. This is also an improvement over the original version where the cards are held horizontally for some of the shuffling/mixing. I slightly modified Larry's script and presented it to a group of about 100 retired people. It went over extremely well. It's very fooling and very humorous. Larry's routine is now a regular part of my adult act. I recommend it highly.


25 Methods For Switching Decks

reviewed by Maximiliano Sanchez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 14 February, 2020)

25 Methods For Switching DecksAn awesome & devious book! LOL Love this read. PRACTICAL!


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

reviewed by Ricky Smith (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 February, 2020)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionHello! I love the Fine Art of Magic and was very excited that a new edition was coming out, especially one with an introduction by Juan Tamariz. I feel like the hardbound version that I received wasn't a great value for the price. Fleming did such a lovely job with their printing, so I was sad that the new version is just a print on demand level job...especially with the high price.


Telling Tales

reviewed by Peter Nordstrand (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 February, 2020)

Telling TalesThe second effect will not work, for one simple reason: Google search results are individualized, not universal. So even if you and I search for the same exact words, the search results are likely to be different.

I do find the document inspiring, but be advised that you’ll only be able to perform the first of the two effects.


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

reviewed by William Rugh (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 31 January, 2020)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionThis is a large book with 371 pages that should be in every serious magician's bookcase (or computer as a PDF). While almost 73% of the book deals with cards, a wide variety of other props are also covered. George G. Kaplan wrote (with Jean Hugard) the first edition in 1948. In 2019 Warren J. Kaps (who served as National President of S.A.M. during 2001-2002) created this second edition by updating some of the methods and adding some of his own effects. Really the best praise for this book comes from the Parent Assembly of the S.A.M. in 1995:

"His book, The Fine Art of Magic, is now considered one of the most important books on magic ever published. Like its author, it relies on effective presentation, subtleties, and clarity to create miracles. The entire world of magic is grateful to George for his contributions to its literature."


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 January, 2020)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionWe’d heard about George Kaplan and about his Fine Art of Magic* for a very long time. Never thought we’d see a copy we could afford, and I wasn’t sure it deserved its reputation. So few things do. This is one of those happy exceptions - It actually exceeds my expectations. Frankly, I find it as fun to read as Greater Magic - maybe more so. You ever try to run a search on that humongous book? Not so easy when it’s not digitized.

Kaplan seems unduly modest in his Foreword, not seeming to realize how this isn’t just another magic trick book, but a well-written book about how to perform magic. The whole project starts out on the right foot with this opening: “A good trick, properly executed, is as individual a work of art as a fine painting, and, like every work of art, is a reflection of the skills of the artist. Gone is the day when magicians sought merely to ‘fool’ their audiences. The present-day performer aims both to mystify and entertain.”

That last sentence may have been true in 1948, but a casual walk today at a magic convention or through You(too?)Tube belies the statement. Or worse, the guy performing to the public who ruins, ruins, ruins the reputation of magicians and ensures that THAT particular customer will never ever hire a magician again. Because we desperately need a lot of new magicians, real magicians, who know how to perform and entertain, who know that humans have a sense of wonder and want that itch scratched.

Yes, we need more books (BOOKS!) such as Kaplan’s Fine Art of Magic, Tarbell’s lessons, and the Amateur Magician’s Handbook**. And not only do we have them in our libraries (and in our Lybrary) but in a second edition which has been gently and respectfully seconded editionated by Warren Kaps. It’s not that the original text was wanting - it was, after all, edited and evidently written, by Jean Hugard from the work, research, and drafts of Kaplan. So there are no egos to bruise here, but there are tender feelings of the living generations of magicians and authors who want to see credits, historical origins, and possible methods which just didn’t exist in the 1940s.

See how many of today’s hot new tricks (many available as download videos for more than the price of this PDF) you find within this book. The immortal Denny Haney and I once went through his showroom and tried to find something which didn’t come out of Tarbell. We could have done much the same with this book. Because, I do not tire of repeating this, you have a choice of learning methods of tricks or learning how to perform magic.

Buy this book. Study. Practice. Your audiences will thank you.

-------------

* Please excuse me for “fixing” the title. As past librarians and editors know, leaving the article “the” at the front of a title absolutely wrecks the ability to alphabetize anything with a title.

** Yes, here’s an exception to the aforementioned rule. Thank goodness I don’t need to alphabetize herein.


Memory Catcher

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 January, 2020)

Memory CatcherThis is worse than gimmick method and completely misleading.

The method is not new and not even really "no gimmick". Look at Luke Jermay or Marc Paul's work is a better way to go and worth more money.

THIS IS NOT PRACTICAL. I REPEAT THIS IS NOT PRACTICAL.


Coin Games

reviewed by Steve Forster (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 08 January, 2020)

Coin GamesWarning: This is not repeatable...for the same audience or for anyone witnessing the performance. This weakens the effect to the extent that it is completely worthless. With this type of effect it is necessary to perform it more than once for it to have any "credibility". For what it is, it is way over priced for what, to me, is essentially a trick based more on semantics and is no more than a gag. Like all of us, I've bought a lot of useless, worthless crap but this is the first time I'm writing to give anyone a heads up. My suggestion is to spend your hard-earned money (or however you've earned it) on something more worthwhile--maybe some X-ray glasses or a gizmo which allows you to throw your voice.


Bouncer: Two Card Monte

reviewed by Donald Lehn (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 07 January, 2020)

Bouncer: Two Card MonteI am a loyal Lybrary follower, and not, by nature, very critical, but ... The idea contained in this brief text isn't a bad idea. But that's all there is - one idea that isn't bad, but that isn't earth shattering either. Simply explained, with no additional help on the rest of the handling of the two cards, or suggestions of a presentation, or ideas about the "effect" created, it seems like a very poor offering for $10.00.

Displaying 81 to 100 (of 1392 reviews) Pages: <   1  2  3  4  5 ...  > 
© 2020 Lybrary.com