Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 5

Reviews: Read What Others Are Saying: page 5

1560 ★★★★★ reviews
171 ★★★★ reviews
121 ★★★★★ reviews
78 ★★★★★ reviews
122 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 103 to 127 (of 2052 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...82 >


202 Methods of Forcing

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Thomas Jones (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 January, 2024)

202 Methods of ForcingThis is a classic. Many good number forces in here. Some are outdated but can be tweaked for a modern audience.


China's Song

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Daniel Terelmes (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 24 January, 2024)

China's SongIt's a quick hustle. Something that you can win a bet with. I think with some work you can craft a nice routine with this. The instructions describe two ways to work the con. Is it worth $10? For me, yes. I haven't seen this before and will use it. For the merely curious, probably not. Which makes it even more worth the $10.


Calendario Cartomagico

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Alessandro Marino
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 24 January, 2024)

Calendario CartomagicoAl mio avviso il calendario è stato fatto con i piedi ci sono errori gravissimi che saltano nell'occhio, ci sono alcune carte in tutti i mesi che nello stesso mese si ripetono, sono carte che non fanno parte della routine e si ripetono più volte, faccio alcuni esempi nel mese di gennaio giorno 2e13 gennaio si ripete la carta 3 di picche, un altro esempio nel mese di dicembre abbiamo nei giorni 1,12 e 28 si ripete la carta il 3 di cuori. questi sono alcuni esempi ma in tutti i mesi ci sono questi errori gravissimi, va bene che le carte sono 52 ed i giorni sono 365, 366, quindi per logica nei vari mesi si ripetono ma avere la stessa carta che si ripete nello stesso mese come negli esempi che ho citato fa capire che non è stato costruito con precisione, c'è stata troppa leggerezza. Con un calendario così dopo che uno spettatore nota questa cosa,(perchè salta parecchio nel occhio) come dovrei giustificare una cosa del genere? Quindi non solo che ho pagato soldi per l'acquisto, ma con fatica ho dovuto sistemarlo. Poi per quanto riguarda le routine conoscendo la grandezza di Aldo Colombini sinceramente mi aspettavo meglio su 8 routine quelle che sono state diciamo di mio gradimento sono solo 3, fortunatamente con la scusante che ho risistemato il calendario ho aggiunto 2 routine che sono state considerate migliori...


The Gig Avalanche

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Cristian Vidrascu (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 January, 2024)

The Gig AvalancheI like many of Devin Knight's ideas. This idea for increasing gigs may not be the most stellar, but it is something I had not thought about and should definitely work, in the short run. It is easy to do even for introverted people, and doesn't involve creepy sales pitches. As we become more and more virtual, and move away from life as we knew it, it may not work as well in the future as it did in the past. I have not tried it but may do so. In any case, I doubt many people have thought of this marketing approach, and recommend the ebook at this price point. It may not work in every jurisdiction, however. In most locations, it should work, though.


My Favorite Easy Mental Card Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Christopher M. Reynolds (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 January, 2024)

My Favorite Easy Mental Card MagicI need another book on card tricks like JFK needs another hole in his head. They're my wife, my lover, my lady, my obsession, especially the mentalism variety.

With ten dollars burning a hole in my pocket, MY FAVORITE EASY MENTAL CARD MAGIC by George G. Anderson satisfied my craving for all things pasteboard.

While not a household name, George G. Anderson worked as a mentalist after a long career in newspaper and radio. He earned the trust of famous performers, including Howard Thurston and Blackstone Sr., and published several books on magic.

Clocking in at a hair over twenty-one pages, Anderson walks the reader (in detail) through eleven of his favorite mind-reading effects, using straightforward techniques like the Si Stebbins set-up or sneaky gimmicks like Wite-Out or paraffin wax.

Simple while not simplistic, the tricks included in MY FAVORITE EASY MENTAL CARD MAGIC are a refreshing change of pace from practicing technically complicated sleight-of-hand (and failing miserably).

Will you learn anything new or revelatory? Probably not. Although this is not a MUST-HAVE ebook, it gave me hours of pleasure while sitting at home on a rainy afternoon playing around with my cards.

This pamphlet is for you if that's your idea of a good time (like I do).


Subliminal Influence

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Jesse Hittle (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 January, 2024)

Subliminal InfluenceIf you’re a fan of ACAAN you will really enjoy this! There are also other effects that all work very well into a routine.


Card Sharping Exposed

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Gregg Webb (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 January, 2024)

Card Sharping ExposedBecause of my interest in Erdnase, I read the earlier books on card sharping that I could find. I found one in German, Mysterien des Kartenspiel, and feel it is a blueprint for other works, but then I read Maskelyne's book Sharps and Flats, which I felt was very well written. Next, I read this one, by Houdin and translated by Prof. Hoffman, which I now feel came before the Maskelyne book, and which is even more well written. It starts with some storytelling about the world of the crooked gamblers and swindlers, and then tells some info I never read before about details on thimble rigging.

But then, it segues into the telling of the life story of the man who served as Houdin's source of information about cheating at cards. The entire subculture of the gangs of crooked gamblers is explored in great detail. A whole event is set up with crooks acting out the roles of other players, police, foreign dignitaries, ladies who watch and kibitz on the games and people who mingle and give signals, all to wipe out one sitting duck by what would be seen as a play put on in real life. This is very interestingly written about. Many examples of variations on the theme of setting up a patsy are described. This could be considered what is probably the best explanation of what happens long before the actual game begins that I have read. Again, a whole crew with costumes and roles to play are involved.

Then, the second main part of the book goes into technical details of cheating techniques and "moves" as well as marked cards, and crimps and trimmed cards such as strippers are described. Various shuffles and palming methods and passes are described.

A comparison could be made that Erdnase is better technically at describing cheating methods. Houdin's is better at the storytelling nature of the cheater subculture of that time in France. If you believe that Erdnase also wrote Jack Pots under a different pseudonym, that book could be compared to the first part of the Houdin book and is made up of stories about and the life of traveling gamblers in America.

It should be pointed out that poker was not played in France at the time of Houdin.

All in all this book goes deeper into how all the people at a gambling venue may be involved in the scam, and how they coordinate. Remember the line, "If you don't know who is the patsy in a poker game, YOU are the patsy" but applied to whist, piquet, Baccarat, etc. I enjoyed the read.


Artifact

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Abhinav Bothra (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 21 January, 2024)

ArtifactI kind of knew what I was getting into. Not disappointed!! The method here is simpler than the one in my head. Took me just 5 minutes to build. For best visuals use borderless cards like the BEE cards. If you can install it on some kind of rotating base (I've a battery-operated base from a broken showpiece). It'll be incredible. Most suspensions are non-inspectable, the same in this case. Since this is small and meant to be kept on a table or cupboard, people will come closer, touch it, and inspect it. They will appreciate the procedure employed but the wonder part will be gone.


Suit Order Systems 1

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

Suit Order Systems 1Buy all the Suit Order Systems along with the Unknown Mentalist's stacked decks. They serve me well. I give them a five-star rating.


Stunners! Plus! Two Decades of Mental Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

Stunners! Plus! Two Decades of Mental MagicWhat can I say? Larry Becker's material speaks for itself. I bought most of his books during the 80's and a LOT of material from Larry and Lee Earle not to mention SYZYGY Manuscript which I still have copies of the original manuscripts. All I can say is anything from them is easy to do and well worth the money. I even bought all of Larry Becker's ebooks. I give ALL their material a FIVE STAR rating.


Magic with an ESP Deck

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

Magic with an ESP DeckI have this from the 80's. It is well worth your money. Some of the effects in it like ONE in 14,400 will make a spectator appear extremely psychic. It has my highest rating.


David's ESP Routine

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

David's ESP RoutineI have used this effect quite a few times close-up. It shocks lay people to death. You can use this effect as it says in the ebook but I prefer using regular ESP cards in a Himber Wallet so nothing appears gimmicked with the ESP cards. This has my highest rating.


Bernstein on Number Predictions

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

Bernstein on Number PredictionsI bought this from Magic Inc. I believe in the 80's. It is the perfect ebook to have along with the credit card ebooks from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST. It has my highest rating.


Amazers with Karma Deck

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

Amazers with Karma DeckThis is a beautiful stacked deck which if you don't know by now, works great with the karma deck and other stacks, and is simple to use. I recommend it highly.


Children's Showtime

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

Children's ShowtimeI have a physical copy and I must say its contents helped me greatly when I started full-time children's and adult entertainer. So to now see in PDF it is going to help so many readers in the art of performing for many young adults a must for the working magician bookshelf/computer.


Tricks and Treats

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Peter Bernard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 20 January, 2024)

Tricks and Treats$10 for 10 tricks taught by the late great Aldo Colombini - such a fantastic deal.


Artifact

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Peter Vattimo (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 January, 2024)

ArtifactNOT useful in real life. On video is the only way this is at all interesting. Substantial effort for a non-effect. In real life, all is clearly visible. Disappointing.


ESP Card Magic Vol. 20

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Francesco Nicolo (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 January, 2024)

ESP Card Magic Vol. 20Probably one of the best DVDs of this series. I liked it a lot. Highly recommended.


Famous Magic Secrets

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 18 January, 2024)

Famous Magic SecretsI first read this book in the 1960's when I found it at my local public library under the title "Everybody's Book of Magic". It whet my appetite for more magic books that focused on the history of magic as a performing art rather than teaching magic tricks. I read and re-read it and was very happy to find this pdf version.


Ideas with the Invisible Deck

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Christian Mach (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 17 January, 2024)

Ideas with the Invisible DeckVery good thoughts and great ideas.


Shadow Sequeira Stack

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Larry Finley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 14 January, 2024)

Shadow Sequeira StackEasiest to learn of the tetradistic stacks that are better looking than a Si Stebbins. The stack is both a positional calculator stack and a cyclical "next card" calculation stack (cyclical sequential stack). Highly recommended.


Clockwork Magician

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by hal barlow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 13 January, 2024)

Clockwork MagicianI really like this! It uses an old principle that you already know, in a very commercial way. I have to say I didn't recognize it at first, due to the presentation. I think this is a real worker!


The Real Work of Cold Reading

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Gregg Webb (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 January, 2024)

The Real Work of Cold ReadingBob Cassidy, who stands for no malarky, writes exactly what he thinks in a field where some are trying to be deceptive and some just don't know what they are talking about. And, yet, in real life, when he was alive, he was very pleasant to talk to. He has read everything on the subjects he writes about. When he explains something, I "get it" when with others I don't, often. He even goes so far as to print what some known authority has said about a particular issue and then goes on to correct or clarify about what they got wrong or were off by "a miss is as good as a mile". In this field of cold reading, and you get the impression that he did readings a lot, besides his shows and demonstrations, he ties in how this can augment Tarot reading or palm readings, or astrology.

He mentions his friend Herb Dewey who gave us so much info that we use today, and what he thought about certain aspects of this field. After mastering this, you'll not need trickery, although he does go into ways to use it to show something more spectacular yet near the end of a reading. Finally he gives some valuable info in the Appendix. I feel this is the best book I have ever read on a field which always left me somewhat confused.


52 Standard American Card Faces

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Bill Palmer (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 10 January, 2024)

52 Standard American Card FacesAn excellent source for clean card face designs to use for constructing gaffed cards. I've been a full-time pro for several decades. I have a lot of experience in close-up/corporate magic and have often constructed gaffed cards using a scanner and a printer. These prepared card faces take a lot of the hard work out of the process for you.

The images are in .eps (encapsulated postscript) form and .svg (scalable vector graphics) form.

Bill Palmer, M.I.M.C.


How To Supercharge Your Entertainment Business With Facebook

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Cliff Gerstman (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 10 January, 2024)

How To Supercharge Your Entertainment Business With FacebookThis is an excellent book written by someone who clearly has experience in the field. The only downside could be the book's age. It is ten years old and I don't know how much the subject matter may have changed in all that time. Otherwise, it is a great book with easy-to-apply instructions and easy-to-track results.

Displaying 103 to 127 (of 2052 reviews)
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11... ...82 >