Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 19

Reviews: Read What Others Are Saying: page 19

1549 ★★★★★ reviews
170 ★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★★ reviews
78 ★★★★★ reviews
122 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 465 to 489 (of 2039 reviews)


Two Vernon Classics & Revisiting the Overhand Lift Shuffle

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Frederick Straub (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 19 June, 2022)

Two Vernon Classics & Revisiting the Overhand Lift ShuffleFirstly, allow me a brief introduction: I am by no means a performance quality sleight of hand magician; I am a retired attorney which makes me a performance quality sleight of mind magician! I recommend this read quite highly! Gerald Edmundson simplifies the method for constructing these masterful tricks to produce Dai Vernon's ultimate effects. I find it refreshing when a real professional opens the vault to allow this novice to learn more simple approaches. The reading required me to research Dai Vernon and his construction, but it urged me to do so unforced and eagerly. The KISS method the author uses and more respectfully calls "Sleight-of-Hand for the Real World," removes a large barrier that has prevented this old, disabled barrister from pursuing magic as both a pastime and part-time profession. Thanks for a great read!


The Peek Project

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by William OConnell
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 June, 2022)

The Peek ProjectI was delighted with the fresh thinking of The Peek Project. In it, Mark Stone teaches you two delightful, full business card peeks. Very clever and original ideas that are practical. You will use these peeks. The instructions are clear, photo-illustrated, and easy to follow. Highly recommended.


Fun with a Banana

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Joshua Ray (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 June, 2022)

Fun with a BananaThis "book" is really just a collection of very old and outdated gags. No offence to Edwin and Ian who are both respected magicians, but at $4 it is outrageously overpriced! I say, just get a banana, hang out with a friend, and jam on banana gags and related "business," and you will probably come up with better material.


13mm of Si Stebbins

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Geoffrey West (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 04 June, 2022)

13mm of Si StebbinsAn excellent, easy-to-remember and use cyclical stack, with some very good ideas. Well worth the cost.


Walking Through a Woman Illusion

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Don Jarrard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 June, 2022)

Walking Through a Woman IllusionWith Bodies in Orbit and 6 Modern Levitations costing about $6 also - I think this is a fair price for a trick most people can actually pull off. I'm 45 now and reading a lot about illusions, this could be done for $30 at the most. Rubber body parts can be bought on eBay. Walmart sells cheap tables and chairs & beach towels. You probably already have some of that. I thought I knew the method & was 99% right. I just couldn't figure out her secret move. Use light-colored chairs with dark tables. The tables look smaller and chairs look bigger. That way she doesn't look stretched taller. Actually, a ruffled shower curtain sold online would benefit. It would look more like melting through. Don't ask why. It just does.


Do-It-Yourself Book

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Christian Mach (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 June, 2022)

Do-It-Yourself BookMany tricks with accessories. The manufacture of all the accessories is explained but is sometimes difficult to understand because there are not enough illustrations. You will find some good ideas and advice.


Romark

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Pat Kuffs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 31 May, 2022)

RomarkDespite his highly controversial nature, Romark remains an inspiration of sorts for his exploits and performances. Thanks to lybrary.com for giving us the opportunity to see some rare video archives. If, like me, you are a fan of performers who are so unique in their artistic vision that they become legends in their own way, you will appreciate this little forgotten part of our history.


The Best of Slydini ... and more (Text & Photos)

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Christian Beer (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2022)

The Best of Slydini ... and more (Text & Photos)I'm very glad Lybrary offers the opportunity to still get hands on this marvellous piece of insight on how to perform great magic by the amazing Slydini. Slydini is one of the best resources on how to direct attention of an audience and I'm looking forward to apply some of the learnings offered in this book. Great shout out to Lybrary for making it possible!


Max Andrews' Magic Magazine: Volume 5 (Apr 1956 - Sep 1956)

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Tony Noon (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2022)

Max Andrews' Magic Magazine: Volume 5 (Apr 1956 - Sep 1956)This magazine contains invaluable information relating to the formation and first few months of the U.K.s Northern Magic Circle. I was researching an article for the society's sixty-fifth anniversary last year.


And His Last Name Was ... Houdini

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Mike Gulish
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 18 May, 2022)

And His Last Name Was ... HoudiniI purchased this book directly from Roy several years ago and it is one of the best purchases I have made. I have this with me all the time and it plays well for all ages. Because it's easy to learn, and do, your effort can be on the presentation and it has always gotten a great reaction when I've performed it. This one is definitely one of my EDC effects!


33 Rope Ties and Chain Releases

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Scott Voshell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 18 May, 2022)

33 Rope Ties and Chain ReleasesOne of the best books on this subject - a real classic.


Roy's Rattle Ruse

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 16 May, 2022)

Roy's Rattle RuseI love the Shell & Pea effect...but I would have never thought of this brilliant variation! It just seems impossible!! Thanks for sharing your effect with the world of magic Roy!


Mysterious Cross of India

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Dunlap (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 13 May, 2022)

Mysterious Cross of IndiaThis is one of the most baffling pieces of coin magic that you will ever perform and one of the easiest. I did this for the local magic club and everyone was just floored. No one could figure out what I was doing. They all thought I was using shells or flipper coins. Get the video. It is the best money you’ll have spent all year.


What's Up Deck?

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by David Dunlap (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 13 May, 2022)

What's Up Deck?I have owned the hardback copy of this for years. I bought it from Aldo at one of his lectures. I bought the PDF version so I could take it with me on trips. It is one of my most favorite magic books. Incredible magic. The hardback version is out of print, so I would definitely recommend buying this PDF version. You will have hours of fun with it.


The Magic of Rachel Colombini

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Dunlap (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 13 May, 2022)

The Magic of Rachel ColombiniI always loved Rachel’s magic. This book has got some great magic in it and is very easy to do. I actually bought this book to get her “Elimination” effect. Great little piece of mentalism.


Fred Kaps' Currency

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by David Dunlap (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 13 May, 2022)

Fred Kaps' CurrencyThis is an amazing effect. I performed this for a magic variety show and it was the hit of the entire show. Definitely worth getting and learning. I first saw Trevor Lewis perform this years ago at a magic convention. In fact, he did it to me. I didn’t know how the heck he was doing this. I bought his lecture notes on how to perform this but they were very unclear. He left out some of the descriptions for the sleights. I had been looking for years for the original transcript by Fred Kaps when I finally found it on Lybrary.com.


Visions of Tomorrow

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Heather Johnson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 May, 2022)

Visions of TomorrowAs a performer with impaired vision sometimes a peek is a difficult thing for me to do the methods and ideas outline in this book are very easy and though the experience I have had performing this for audiences over the last year is VERY deceptive. The book was compiled well, this is an abridged version of the original from Robert A. Nelson but I feel this abridged version is nice and contains all the right information. Once again for the money... you're probably not getting a cleaner Q&A.


5 Ways to Stop Your Pulse

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Heather Johnson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 May, 2022)

5 Ways to Stop Your PulseThis book was pretty well written. Much like a lot of the little gems I find here on Lybrary this book was a quick and easy read. Some of these methods, seem a little bold BUT surprisingly enough I used each of these methods in the real world with impressive results, especially considering how basic and impromptu they are.


Balls

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Heather Johnson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 10 May, 2022)

BallsThis is just such a remarkably deceptive concept that after I read, very quickly I may add, I immediately put this into my act. For the money, I can't think of a better way to perform the master prediction. The book was easy to read, clear to understand, and overall of good quality.


Das Wunderbuch der Zauberkunst

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2022)

Das Wunderbuch der ZauberkunstI had read the English translation of this book when I first got started in magic, and I always wondered how the original book compared with the translation. The text is printed in an old style typeface called Fraktur which would be difficult for some people to read, but I had learned to read Fraktur when I was a high school German student.


Corporate Presentations

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2022)

Corporate PresentationsA fascinating book - especially for the BINGO effect!


Cards to Card Case

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2022)

Cards to Card CaseLike all of Tommy Wonder's work, this video was amazing!


Card Fanning

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2022)

Card FanningCard fanning has been one of my primary interests ever since I started studying the art. Although Lewis Ganson's book and Goodlette Dodson's book are more detailed, this book fascinated me as a historical document.


A Comparison of the Gravatt and Hugard Encyclopedias of Card Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Amado Narvaez (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2022)

A Comparison of the Gravatt and Hugard Encyclopedias of Card MagicI have always been curious about the two editions of Glenn Gravatt's book, and this treatise satisfied that curiosity completely.


#AD532 Dust and Shadow

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Leta Womack (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 May, 2022)

#AD532 Dust and ShadowI love Dailey's photos of the horses, but I was trying to find one that didn't include humans/manmade structures. The photo was too small for me to notice the house in the background when I bought it, and now I'm disappointed that it didn't reflect what I was trying to find - horses in nature/natural surroundings.

Displaying 465 to 489 (of 2039 reviews)
< 1... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21... ...81 >