Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 18

Read What Others Are Saying: page 18

1101 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
54 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 432 to 456 (of 1406 reviews)


The Elimination Principle

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 December, 2016)

The Elimination PrincipleAh, TC Tahoe, the working magician's magician. He has some of the best, most practical, and usable stuff around, and once again, he hits a homer for the low price of a ten spot. The Elimination Principle is TC's way of doing a completely ungimmicked version of Bank Night. Now contrary to some, I like Bank Night and can execute it nicely about a half-dozen different ways. TC's version uses a simplification of a ruse developed by Max Maven. When I saw how he used it, I thought, "Absolutely. It will work in a half-dozen different settings. Why didn't I think of it?" Anyway, the ungimmicked version of Bank Night is 100% examinable. One move--and it's easy and not dodgy at all--and you end absolutely clean. If that weren't enough, TC gives you a bunch of those different settings. They are all wonderful ideas.

Alakazam has been selling out of late on Steve Cook's brand new Volition, a commercial version of an ungimmicked Bank Night. Folks are going nuts over it, and I have to admit, it's either the slickest or stupidest thing that I've ever seen. Maybe both simultaneously. But now that I've seen TC's Elimination Principle, I'm not sure you need to buy the much more expensive Volition, which, while clever, uses a knacky procedure. Summary: TC keeps his batting average high. Highly recommended.


Chair'z

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 December, 2016)

Chair'zThis is a nice and easy three-person chair test, based on an idea by Max Maven. I really like it and am going to expand on the concept to add another climax similar to what folks like Marc Spelmann do--put another correct prediction under/on the back of each chair. Gerry's ideas are always straightforward and excellent, and this is no exception. And this effect lends itself both to stage and more intimate settings. You could do it with folks sitting on bar stools.

But there's more. Even if you choose not to use the chair test, there are a few wonderful ideas on MOs here, including one using paper folded into the shape of an H that I had never seen before. For a little more than the price of a Quarter Pounder with Cheese combo meal at McDonald's, you get a terrific routine and some great mentalism utility ideas. Get this. Highly recommended.


The Hunt For Erdnase: and the Path to Edward Gallaway

reviewed by Hans-Christian Dr. Solka (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 30 November, 2016)

The Hunt For Erdnase: and the Path to Edward GallawayFascinating! Thrilling! Chris Wasshuber solved a more then 100 years old mystery. The search for Erdnase has been going on for decades. But at now the magic community may be pretty sure Edward Gallaway will be generally accepted as S.W. Erdnase. Chris Wasshuber can even explain the name S. W. Erdnase. Erdnase actually comes from the German words Erd (earth or soil) and Nase (nose). Chris Wasshuber explores Gallaway's opportunity, motive and means to prove his theory. Gallaway must be S.W. Erdnase!


The Hunt For Erdnase: and the Path to Edward Gallaway

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 30 November, 2016)

The Hunt For Erdnase: and the Path to Edward GallawayThe description is wrong in one place, right at the end. Dr Chris' Hunt for Erdnase began a LOT earlier than 2015. Why 2015 became the year that a full "scientific detective" search was truly possible, is the start of this story.

The evidence is compelling. There are no conclusions based on "this cannot be coincidence." Perhaps it needed the sort of training of a scientist with no agenda. The way the data came together, and the pathways taken, including the fascinating dead ends, makes this the detective mystery of the year. Or, if you are a magician, of any year.


Powerful Poker Routines

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 30 November, 2016)

Powerful Poker RoutinesAnother "deal" from Paul Lelekis. People love gambling schemes. Paul gives you seven of them, plus instructional videos, plus comedy deck cuts to make people laugh. It's a great "deal!" Here is stuff I will use!


Understanding and Using Gilbreath Principle

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 29 November, 2016)

Understanding and Using Gilbreath PrincipleGilbreath Principle is always worth reading if you can find a copy of mental card miracles by Nick Trost a Micky Hades Publication find within a routine called Dr Rhine outdone where Gilbreath principle is used. Norman Gilbreath's Principle was first mentioned in the July issue of the Linking Ring 1958. I was born on August the 6th the following year. (Nothing to do with the principle but I do love Maths and the odd birthday card would be truly amazing from any Magician reading this L.O.L ) As to this eBook I would highly recommend for contents and value for money and not to be missed. I would recommend researching all you can find for this principle as I feel it should not be missed by the Magical performer.


Worlds Within Words

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 29 November, 2016)

Worlds Within Wordsstill one of the newest mentalists on the magic seen stimulating and creating new ideas, always worth reading and putting practice and performance time to each of his informative works.only one Question I ask does he ever sleep?


First Date Revelation

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 28 November, 2016)

First Date RevelationHere's another clever routine from Devin Knight. He gives you two different methods. The first is Al Mann's Kolophon Principle, so if you have that ebook, you'll know exactly how it works. The second similar method is better, I think, and one that I'd never seen before. It's pretty ingenious when you get right down to it. The full revelation, which involves folding the six slips with the names on them, is, in my opinion, too much hands on activity for the mentalist. There are much better ways to accomplish the same thing with the spectator's doing the work of folding the billets and mixing them before you find the "first date" billet. In any event, this is well worth the $10.


Worlds Within Words

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 28 November, 2016)

Worlds Within WordsThe UM is back with another progressive anagram utility. This one can best be described as a simplification or limiting procedure. It can save a lot of steps when doing a complicated anagram, such as one with names of super heroes. As usual, he's come up with a smart piece to use in presentation. He should collect his writings on anagrams in a book.


Oops. Now What?

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 28 November, 2016)

Oops. Now What?Vital information that should be read by any magician who does public shows. S**t happens and this shows you how to deal with it.


Skullptor

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 November, 2016)

SkullptorI need a quality wallet to hold/store this along with Zodiak Gods, and Pocket Minds by Unknown Mentalist 5 MIND BLOWING EFFECTS. ONE SINGLE CARD. One mans work may stimulate many a old mind but no need to start a cult with this effect just proper presentation after long dedicated practice time as deserved by all magical creations. Present at appropriate moment and wait for the response with these three cards a routine's to suit most occasions can be worked to entertain any vary responsive audience.


Beginnings

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 November, 2016)

BeginningsI strongly encourage to read digest practice take on board the advice and put your own slant on its contents to suit your personal style of presentation well worth the money


U.F. Grant's Impossible Bill in Lemon

reviewed by Gary Cordingley
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 22 November, 2016)

U.F. Grant's Impossible Bill in LemonI am an amateur magician who is very pleased with this product. I performed it for a social group of 50-60 people and it played very well, allowing for much entertaining interaction with two volunteers. There are no true sleights -- just some simple handling that was well within my amateur skills. I look forward to performing it again!


Abbott Compendium 2016

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 21 November, 2016)

Abbott Compendium 2016The greatest MAGIC story ever told! Abbott's changed the history of magic and it is all explained in this book. If you haven't read this from cover to cover, then you don't know your magic history.


Understanding and Using Gilbreath Principle

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 18 November, 2016)

Understanding and Using Gilbreath PrincipleSo you don't know what the Gilbreath Principle (or Gilbreath Permutation) is, and Perci Diakonis and Ron Graham's incredibly detailed book Mathematical Magic scares the hell out of you because you weren't good at math in school. Never fear. For the price of a coffee (or cheap domestic beer) and I would say about half an hour of your time, you will be blown away. It boils down to this: There are mathematical oddities in the world that seem completely impossible (Benford's Law concerning the relative frequencies of the first digit in data sets comes to mind. It applies to election votes, lengths of rivers, street addresses, and all kinds of crazy things.) Anyway, the Gilbreath Principle basically says that randomly mixing (in a certain way) two ordered data sets will give you a different data set, but that data set will also be ordered. In other words, mix two halves of a deck that alternates red and black suits, and you'll get a deck that has groups that... Well, you are just going have to read this ebook. Author Daniel does a super job of making you understand this without any math notation. Follow along, and you will be convinced. And then he gives you two killer routines. Did I mention that this is $4? Cardicians and mentalists will find a lot to love here if you've never used this principle before. This is one of these principles that apart from mathematicians and magicians, very few people know because it's counterintuitive: Randomly mixing a nicely ordered deck will give you a randomly ordered deck, right? Nope. Laypeople will have no idea how you predict/know things about a fairly riffle shuffled deck. It seems impossible. But it isn't. It's easy to work miracles once you know this, one of the greatest weird math principles of all time. And there are no formulas, difficult counting, or memory work involved. Highly recommended.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Dr. Munawar Pasha (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 17 November, 2016)

Karma Deckwhat should i say about his one, already many people have reviewed it. I am the guy who hardly write any reviews, but this ebook forced me to write a few things because its an excellent and well worth book to have in your collection. the simplicity kills!. truly you will be amazed to memories the deck in less the 5 minutes. this book promises what it says. I would highly recommend this.


Seeing Signs

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 15 November, 2016)

Seeing SignsI recommend this effect highly. It does seem impossible that this effect could be done as is written but that is EXACTLY what happens.

I give this effect a 20+ rating in my opinion.

I am so amazed with zodiac sign divinations and variations that I'm going to collect as many as possible!

I will definitely buy more material from Fraser Parker.

Well done my friend.


The Center Tear Papers

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 15 November, 2016)

The Center Tear PapersThis is a wonderful ebook that answers the age-old mentalism question, "Why the heck would you have someone write something down on a slip of paper only to have you tear it up a minute later?" I know that a lot of great mentalists such as Richard Osterlind can pull off a center-tear routine without any motivation for what is happening. I'm not Richard Osterlind. Plus, I feel like any time you tear something up or do anything remotely fishy, there should be a reason; for example, Bob Cassidy's Name and Place routine justifies destroying the one billet brilliantly. I feel comfortable doing it because of the motivation. Everything that I've read from TC Tahoe, a true journeyman in the art, has been extremely practical. This is no different. Sure, it's a small ebook with that "mentalism MSRP standard" of $30, but the approach TC takes and the jewels that he gives you, well, impressed the heck out of me. And I'm almost to the point in my study of mentalism where I've seen it all, done most. You can tell that TC has had years of experience doing this stuff successfully because he's scripted the material beautifully, and he gives you some cool graphics too. Summary: If you do any kind of center-tear routine, then this is required reading. In fact, if I were teaching the center tear in a course on the fundamentals of mentalism, this would be one of the texts that I would use. Highest recommendation.


Mental Epic Compendium

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 15 November, 2016)

Mental Epic CompendiumMental Epic Compendium contains almost 400 pages of routines, variations, and subtleties on the classic routine Mental Epic. If you do Mental Epic or any one-ahead routine and don't have this compendium, shame on you. While I know that the term "masterpiece" is overused, this ebook really is one. Just look at the list of contributors: Banachek, Cassidy, Knepper, Dyne, Cushman, Shaxon, Tahoe... the best of the best. Need I say more? And while it may not be the completely definitive encyclopedia on Mental Epic--Richard Osterlind has a killer close-up routine with two small pads of paper that he has demonstrated on a couple of his DVDs, and Neil Tobin shows you on his Xpert DVD how to do one using his Xpert utility, for example--this is about as much material as you are ever likely to see. Paul Ramhany, a New Zealander who never disappoints in his creations, gets my highest respect for the brilliant job of compiling this material--and his routines are great too. (Cue the enthusiastic standing-on-my-chair applause.) I can guarantee that you will (1) learn some new things; (2) use at least one of these routines; and (3) have food for thought in devising your own effects. Brilliant. I can't get enough of this stuff. (And don't be a cheapskate and say, "But it's $45." It's hundreds of pages of stuff. A couple of the concepts alone would be worth that price.) Highest recommendation.


Psychic Money Sense

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 08 November, 2016)

Psychic Money SenseI have to say that this is easy to do, without slights, and it can be done as soon as you have the proper coins and envelopes. This is a good one that will not end up in a drawer.


Psychic Money Sense

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 07 November, 2016)

Psychic Money SenseMoney Sense allows you to show that the spectator has paranormal powers in relation to money. To prove this, the magician presents the spectator with a test where the spectator needs to put certain coins into specific envelopes. There is a correct arrangement, and the single prediction put on the table when it is read at the end, foretells the arrangement that the spectator made, and proves that he has psychic powers. This is actually a good put-in-your-pocket trick, because you could do it anywhere. While the spectator is arranging coins and envelopes, there is a lot of suspense before the prediction is read.


Psychic Money Sense

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 07 November, 2016)

Psychic Money SenseThis is a quickie trick that's kind of a throwaway, so much so that even Knight suggests it as a prelude to one of his Blind Sight effects. It's about as self-working as they come, and you really only need to remember one thing. It reminds me of something that would be one of eight or nine tricks in a Conversation as Mentalism volume by Mark Elsdon. In other words, you might do this in a bar or as "B" filler material for close-up. There are only two ways this trick can end: Two out of three times, you'll get a certain outcome and the third time a different one. (It will be strikingly obvious how this plays out once you read the instructions.) The principle involved is actually better than the trick, I think. So if you want to spend your Starbuck's money today on a little mentalism, you could do worse.


How To Move A Mountain

reviewed by Ronald M Levy (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 07 November, 2016)

How To Move A MountainUnderstanding how this effect is accomplished will add to your cleverness as a magician. This is clearly written and is a good read.


Kolossal Kisser

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 06 November, 2016)

Kolossal KisserThis is another GREAT effect by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST.

I like the Ouija Board routine with the playing cards and also the number routine.

In the playing card effect I printed the playing card grid on one side and the Ouija Board on the other on a 5 x 7 setting on the computer. I also made my prediction on card stock on a 5 x 7 setting. I plan on laminating both the grid and the prediction. This way I can just have the spectator look at the Ouija side until I have them turn to the grid side to find their card. This way I can use the props for a long time until I make another set up.

I simply printed and will also print the number grid and also the prediction 5 x 7 and laminate them also.

Sometimes it takes me a while to think the effect over in my mind as I'm familiar with the original KK effect but I believe this effect will be well worth it. I'm still pondering over the second KK effect and will definitely buy the last one.


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by V D (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 06 November, 2016)

Golf Ball in GlassGenius at work! I will be attentive towards everything me.Rudolph releases. The videos are home-made quality, there are no flashy credits with special effects and fancy music on the background. You are purchasing a solid content, and all bs that you see in *all* magic product presentations these days aimed at making things more attractive to the buyer - all of them are narrowed to zero. The good news is that the mr. rudolph's releases stand on their own. At least, this is my experience with his downloads. No monkey circus, only straight-to-the-point creative thinking. I'm a big fan.

Displaying 432 to 456 (of 1406 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >