Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 14

Read What Others Are Saying: page 14

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
111 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 334 to 358 (of 1408 reviews)


Openers and Closers 2

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 June, 2017)

Openers and Closers 2Openers & Closers 2 by Paul Lelekis is another terrific collection of effects that really work and you will use for sure. As with all of Paul's publications the tips and advice in the Introduction are worth the price of the book alone. Don't overlook these valuable recommendations. Here Paul shares words of wisdom on First Impressions, Final Impressions, Audience Control, Relieving Tension (for both your audience and yourself), and Confidence Building. You will see how Paul's suggestions in the Introduction fit perfectly into the effects that follow. The effects all work great as openers and or closers. These effects are straight forward, and easy for your audience to follow. Paul has done the work for you by searching through dozens of books and hundreds of tricks to find the very best effects with maximum impact for you to make use of. The perfect way to "open the door" to the rest of your performance material. The Vanishing Card Box is just one example of a perfect opener. It's easy to make up and you'll find it's as good if not better than many similar commercially available gimmicks. Again, it's an effect that smoothly and naturally leads onto your next effect. Check out Paul's two clever renditions of the Martin Gardner 4 Ace Trick (great as an opener or closer), and the Nick Trost 8-Card Brainwave which utilizes Daryl's addition that takes the heat off the cards for final display. These are two ready to go, easy to do effects that are marvelous ice breakers. Paul's Invisible Deck will have you rethinking possibilities of the Invisible Deck for sure! Some really cool ideas here. You'll love all these effects and Paul’s little improvements and nuances make them all the better. Pick it up; you'll be very happy you did.


Mentalism Masterclass 9: astrological/zodiac based mindreading

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 June, 2017)

Mentalism Masterclass 9: astrological/zodiac based mindreadingThis ebook contains excellent material that ANY MENTALIST can use. It has DYNAMITE MATERIAL from the beginning to the end!!! After reading it, I think my head is going to explode. I will need to reread and practice several of the routines. I believe this is worth many times the asking price. Well done Peter Turner.


Why A Magic Square Should Not Be A Magic Square

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 June, 2017)

Why A Magic Square Should Not Be A Magic SquareAnother GREAT EBOOK by THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I personally like the idea for THE CIRCLE OF LIFE. If you use a peek wallet (Or any other information stealing device) and also your own way of calculating the magic square (Pardon me saying the magic square) you have it made. You can have the spectator secretly write down a two or three digit number and place it in your peek wallet. Now the performer can sense some numbers to place on THE CIRCLE OF LIFE. Now the performer can give a reading for the spectator (COLD READING) based on the spectator selecting one horizontal and vertical row only. At the end the performer can say based on your choices your AURA NUMBER is ____ (The same number that the spectator thought of in his mind and was placed in the peek wallet.) The spectator can be given the business card in the wallet at the end of the reading if he so wishes or just THE CIRCLE OF LIFE. Again, well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST


Mind Spark 2: Mental Logs Unlogged

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 June, 2017)

Mind Spark 2: Mental Logs UnloggedAnother GREAT EFFECT by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I've never owned MENTAL LOGS but am familiar with plenty of ADD A NUMBER type effects both with gimmicked and ungimmacked props. I've used this type of effect for both mental effects and for memory type effects. This truth Liar effect that THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST has put out would completely drive me crazy if I seen it done in a show. It seems that hardly any information is given to the mentalist, yet in the first part of the effect the mentalist comes up with the total of four unknown pin numbers. In the second effect the spectator does truths/lies about the total of four unknown pin numbers and the mentalist not only reveals the four pin numbers but also when added up by another spectator, it matches the total of the first spectator. I would recommend to definitely buy this...at 6 dollars you have a steal while it lasts. Also another great mathematical truth /liar effect is REVERSAL PLUS by MICHAEL DANIELS. They are both GREAT. I recommend knowing both.


The Best Short Change Scam Ever

reviewed by Eric Haddix (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 June, 2017)

The Best Short Change Scam EverNot really worth the money in my opinion. This is a well-known and well documented scam. A simple search for short change scams will turn this one up as the first hits.


Stebbins Surprise Stack

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 June, 2017)

Stebbins Surprise StackThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST should be named THE UNKNOWN AMAZING MENTALIST!!! This is another GREAT EBOOK! It is one of the most simple yet DECEPTIVE Stebbins stacks I have ever seen. Naturally it will take me a bit to master this. In my opinion every mentalist needs ALL of the UNKNOWN MENTALISTS card stack systems in their libraries. I'm very amazed with this and will learn the simple math that goes with this. WELL DONE UNKNOWN MENTALIST!


6 Special Stebbins Stacks in 60 Startling Seconds

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 June, 2017)

6 Special Stebbins Stacks in 60 Startling SecondsEven though I prefer THE SLOKA DECK STACK and THE KARMA DECK STACK I really like this EBOOK. This is very thought provoking material that will take me a bit of time to get down but I will use it. I am very familiar with deck stacks. I'm just really amazed with this and didn't know really how versatile the stebbins stack is. Like many mentalists, I've always assumed that the Stebbins was basically just for beginners. I was wrong. Everyone needs to buy this. It will open your eyes to this stack. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST!


Mind Spark 1: Propless Sign Divination

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 28 May, 2017)

Mind Spark 1: Propless Sign DivinationMore high praise for the UNKNOWN MENTALIST. This is another GREAT star sign divination. If you want to go entirely prop less with a number of spectators, do this effect followed by SIGNATURE and then WORLDS WITHIN WORDS STAR SIGN ROUTINE. OR if you want a few props use this followed by ZODIAK GODS or HAPPY BIRTHDAY STRANGER or STAR SIGNATURE. Either way you can't go wrong. Once again, well done my friend. You are definitely an asset to the mentalism community. I recommend this very highly!!! What a great approach to unusual mentalism procedures.


The Dr's Billet Tear

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 May, 2017)

The Dr's Billet TearHere is another instant peak center tear technique for business cards. Whether you need another one of these in your arsenal is up to you, but this one is fairly straightforward and easy to learn. There's one caveat: The spectator has to write or draw with the card in profile rather than landscape orientation. This seems weird to me as the natural inclination is to allow someone to use the larger landscape area on the card. But if this doesn't bother you, give this a whirl. Compared to a couple of other techniques that I use--the Osterlind Perfected Center Tear and Ran Pink's Think Pink--this one is probably easier and will take less practice. But in my opinion, the UBT (Underground Bottom Tear) is still the easiest, most reliable center tear for business cards, with Think Pink being the best one for index cards, and the PCT for random scraps of thin paper.


Openers and Closers

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 24 May, 2017)

Openers and ClosersWonderful mix of strong card & coin magic. Paul works daily in the real word of performers. Great tricks & sound advise on how to connect with your audience maximizing entertainment & magical impact.


Openers and Closers

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 17 May, 2017)

Openers and ClosersOpeners and Closers is undoubtedly one of my very favorite ebooks by Paul Lelekis. From beginning to end, there is something for every performer. Setting the mood.. and cementing the performance are the two aspects of one's performance you absolutely can't ignore. First impressions.. and last impressions.. are vital, and Paul teaches several of each to give you a nice selection to compliment your style. I particularly liked the matrix, as I'm not a very good coin guy, and I'm always looking for something to make others think I know what I'm doing! Although most of these effects are certainly within range of most performers, I would say they are generally in the intermediate range. Not to worry.. Paul includes a couple of strategic videos to help 'up' your performance and understanding. Very well written and easy to grasp, Openers and Closers will become one of your 'go-to' resources.


Openers and Closers

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 15 May, 2017)

Openers and ClosersOpeners & Closers by Paul Lelekis is just what you are looking for to find a super strong knockout routine to put your close-up performance over the top. Here there are seven top notch effects plus to great articles packed with useful information and advice on presenting your opening and closing effect. Paul’s brilliant take on these time honored effects brings new live to some classics of magic. As always Paul gives you the real scoop on performance and entertainment that you can apply to all of your magical performances. Paul’s clear and precise writing makes these routines a pleasure to learn with cards or coins right in your hands. He always finds a way to make more difficult moves easier and more economical while at the same time strengthens the overall effect! These are all winners for sure. I particularly enjoyed his work on the coin routines, "Matrix" and the "New Copper/Silver/Brass". The ESP card effect "Shock" is a killer that you will really use! Openers & Closers is a fantastic bargain that you should not pass up. Take advantage of the opportunity and pick it up today!


Paz

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 13 May, 2017)

PazI definitely recommend this. This and seeing signs ARE worth having!


Ode to Ekman: A Seamless Psychological Illusion

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 May, 2017)

Ode to Ekman: A Seamless Psychological IllusionThis is a pro routine in several phases. As previously mentioned, there are no new methods, but I like the reading-body-language aspect of the performance a lot, though the last phase requiring some pre-show is not really for me. The ebook is extremely well written with performance patter, side-bar tips, and variations. It's everything you'd ever want about performing this effectively. (Other authors could use this ebook as a style model.) I realize that the price is to scare away amateurs, but on an objective basis comparing it to similar routines, this is overpriced.


My Best

reviewed by Angela X (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 07 May, 2017)

My BestReally enjoyed this rare collection. And a huge one - by some of the smartest magic brains.

There are many gems to be discovered. Actually this is double bonanza - the section on routines is one and the bio sketches of so many performers is the other.

The price is a steal.


Kalendar Clairvoyance

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 06 May, 2017)

Kalendar ClairvoyanceAnother GREAT EFFECT by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST, my favorites in this material are ROMAN ENIGMA and BLIND DATE 1. In fact I printed three copies of ROMAN ENIGMA on cardstock, then I performed the effect on my wife and blew her away with it. It's that good and very easy to do. All the material here is GREAT no matter what you choose to. I think I'll start carrying around ADVANCED BRAIN KNEWMEROLOGY, ROMAN ENIGMA, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY STRANGER along with a few other effects that I have. WHAT A CLOSE UP PRESENTATION. This has my highest recommendation!


The Gerats Principle

reviewed by Mark Beecham
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 05 May, 2017)

The Gerats PrincipleIf you like Mem Deck work this is an interesting new tool to play with. It feels like a topic that is only having the surface scratched. This ebook is definitely one for the thinking magician who loves exploring concepts and principles. The most obvious use for principle would be a strong phase in an incredible memory feat. For my tastes some of the effects could be quite long for laymen with a lot of dealing however while not covered to a great degree in the eBook the maths can be applied to any size of packet of cards. This can be used to create quite commercial and practical effects such as matches not only with playing cards but with related pairs such as movies and film stars, famous couples, songs and bands for example. So even if math based effects aren't your thing don't dismiss this ebook. The book is well written in a pleasant conversational style and was a interesting read. I would recommend it.


Routines for the Bendix Bombshell Wallet

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 May, 2017)

Routines for the Bendix Bombshell WalletHaving picked up an original Bendix Bombshell Wallet about 25 years (at an auction for about $10 - the leather is a bit stiff) it is wonderful to finally have the full book of routines (and to find out from the wallet's website that a new one retails for about $96 USD).


Blistr

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 May, 2017)

BlistrThis thing is ingenious. It looks as if it should be fragile until one realizes it is of one piece and there is nothing to fall apart. The blister it leaves is innocuous but quite visible/feelable. It is small enough for the pocket so as to be used for impromptu miracles or those with a borrowed deck. However, a downside is that in order to hit the same spot, some external sizer will need to be made/jerry-rigged. These exactly placed blisters are nice for, say, Bee Club Special, or Erdnase (Conjuring Arts) backs with criss-cross patterns. Raising one of the diagonals with a blister leaves a broken or non-straight line to be seen, rather than a more obvious blister. The Pinpoint Pegger with a blunted pin may do a better job (or at least be easier) because of the ability to lock in 3D coordinates.


Card Punch

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 May, 2017)

Card PunchThis card punch is surprisingly compact, light and solid. It leaves a nice prick, visible to eye and finger as it were. This could have utility with an impromptu or borrowed deck situation. Compared to the Pinpoint Pegger it is less expensive and more stable but lacks the settings to duplicate positioning. Still, I think this is something all magicians should get to throw into their kit for that time when they have need of a miracle.


The Cerebral Approach: Book One

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 April, 2017)

The Cerebral Approach: Book OneExcellent value and very practical material too and beautiful when practised well before performing to any audience


The Business of Table Hopping

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 26 March, 2017)

The Business of Table HoppingPublisher Malcolm Forbes got it right when he said, “The biggest mistake people make in life is not trying to make a living at what they enjoy.”

If there is ONE field of magic that has been thoroughly ignored, it’s Table Hopping. I’ve visited hundreds of websites, perused dozens and dozens of magic shops around the country, and explored the catalogs of all the major magic companies looking for good, solid material on working restaurants. Unfortunately, the material simply isn’t there…

At least not until now…

Table Hopping is my type of magic. I’ve performed in a variety of restaurants, all owned by the same corporation, and I consider myself extremely lucky. I’m the exception though… My friend, Paul Lelekis, is the REAL deal – a guy who has performed at EVERY type of restaurant imaginable, under every sort of condition imaginable. And now, after considerable arm twisting, Paul has decided to talk…

Why is this important? Because many of the top magicians in the country make the majority of their money table hopping. These guys produce dozens of DVDs each year explaining the latest card moves, sleights, twists, and theory… but nothing about table hopping. It’s as if they don’t want to share something that might actually make you a working performer. Duh…

This is where Paul’s latest ebook, THE BUSINESS OF TABLE HOPPING, fills this glaring gap. Many of you know Paul as a staple of THE LINKING RING and author of more than a 40 books on magic, as well as many articles on magic and card magic in publications like the Magic Roadshow and Lybrary.com, My Lovely Assistant, The Magician’s Forum, The Linking Ring, The Card Corner, Magic New Zealand, Magicana, The Magic Café, The St. Pete Times, as well as several European Magic Newsletters. I know Paul as a professional restaurant performer with over 28 years of experience…

To quote Paul:

“I never intended to write this e-book, however I have received numerous requests by other magicians to share my “secrets” of table-hopping with the magic community since I have performed for over 28 years in restaurants, often six or seven times a week! Table-hopping is my favorite form of magical entertainment. You may already have a “real job”, however, you can supplement your income with this “side job” that will not only make you a performing professional, but will also lead to many other gigs that will snowball over time!”

The amazing fact about Paul’s book is that, in addition to revealing all the small details that make table hopping profitable, he reveals a number of the actual effects he performs…and not simply the type of effects, but detailed instructions with pictures. How many magicians do you know are willing to reveal their actual repertoire in detail?

Learn how to approach and what to say to the customers. Learn how to deal with the wait staff. Learn how to get your first ‘gig’, and how to keep it. Paul will teach you what to charge, whether to work for tips or salary, and how to dress appropriately for the different type restaurants. No stone is left unturned.

Honestly, I cannot think of a BETTER way to spend Ten bucks. Don’t simply learn a trick you’ll show two or three times and put on a shelf…learn a TRADE that will put money in YOUR pocket, increase your overall bookings ten-fold, and make you a true professional..

The Magic Roadshow gives ‘The Business of Table Hopping’ our highest recommendation…


Mindipulation

reviewed by William Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 March, 2017)

MindipulationDone impromptu....this super fries and books gigs...plain and simple...Hope this secret is not exposed on YouTube...it makes me money! Can be customized too, this is a must have. Keep it secret damn you...


Magic Medley

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 21 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyThis is typical Paul.. effects that require well-thought-out handling, but explained in a way that make your job easy. I appreciate that most ebooks now include a variety of effects for virtually anyone.. performing any type of magic. There are card effects for those who love to completely fool an audience.. or a table of fellow magicians. And there are effects for those wanting to make an audience laugh and entertain adults or children. Paul has also included videos that bring the coin effect to life. Watching the video is guaranteed to make you want to learn the effect. Reading the descriptions of each effect offers a great overview of Magic Medley, and shows the amount of thought and skill Paul puts into each ebook.. guaranteeing readers far more than the meager cost. Highly recommended..


Magic Medley

reviewed by Marc DeSouza
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMagic Medley is Paul Lelekis' latest manuscript of, primarily, close-up magic. This well written booklet is 28 pages of very commercial magic. The skill level is from novice to intermediate. Paul begins with an excellent essay on taking control of your audience. This is simple yet important advice that all should strive to adhere to. The material that follows are mostly Paul's variations and personal handlings of some terrific magic created by others. Some are known, but most are hidden in the recesses of rarely referred to texts. There are four card routines (Miracle Sandwich is especially good, although a little challenging), three coin routines, a very strong Ring on Wand handling, a comedy silk vanish (spoiler alert, this involves exposure of a magic secret to your audience) and even a Blendo routine based on a Milbourne Christopher effect. Although these are not original effects, Paul always provides good crediting and helps rescue some great magic that might otherwise be forgotten. This is really good value for money, since you are likely to find something here to add to your own repertoire.

Displaying 334 to 358 (of 1408 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >