Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 14

Read What Others Are Saying: page 14

1103 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 336 to 360 (of 1410 reviews)


Paz

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 13 May, 2017)

PazI definitely recommend this. This and seeing signs ARE worth having!


Ode to Ekman: A Seamless Psychological Illusion

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 May, 2017)

Ode to Ekman: A Seamless Psychological IllusionThis is a pro routine in several phases. As previously mentioned, there are no new methods, but I like the reading-body-language aspect of the performance a lot, though the last phase requiring some pre-show is not really for me. The ebook is extremely well written with performance patter, side-bar tips, and variations. It's everything you'd ever want about performing this effectively. (Other authors could use this ebook as a style model.) I realize that the price is to scare away amateurs, but on an objective basis comparing it to similar routines, this is overpriced.


My Best

reviewed by Angela X (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 07 May, 2017)

My BestReally enjoyed this rare collection. And a huge one - by some of the smartest magic brains.

There are many gems to be discovered. Actually this is double bonanza - the section on routines is one and the bio sketches of so many performers is the other.

The price is a steal.


Kalendar Clairvoyance

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 06 May, 2017)

Kalendar ClairvoyanceAnother GREAT EFFECT by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST, my favorites in this material are ROMAN ENIGMA and BLIND DATE 1. In fact I printed three copies of ROMAN ENIGMA on cardstock, then I performed the effect on my wife and blew her away with it. It's that good and very easy to do. All the material here is GREAT no matter what you choose to. I think I'll start carrying around ADVANCED BRAIN KNEWMEROLOGY, ROMAN ENIGMA, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY STRANGER along with a few other effects that I have. WHAT A CLOSE UP PRESENTATION. This has my highest recommendation!


The Gerats Principle

reviewed by Mark Beecham
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 05 May, 2017)

The Gerats PrincipleIf you like Mem Deck work this is an interesting new tool to play with. It feels like a topic that is only having the surface scratched. This ebook is definitely one for the thinking magician who loves exploring concepts and principles. The most obvious use for principle would be a strong phase in an incredible memory feat. For my tastes some of the effects could be quite long for laymen with a lot of dealing however while not covered to a great degree in the eBook the maths can be applied to any size of packet of cards. This can be used to create quite commercial and practical effects such as matches not only with playing cards but with related pairs such as movies and film stars, famous couples, songs and bands for example. So even if math based effects aren't your thing don't dismiss this ebook. The book is well written in a pleasant conversational style and was a interesting read. I would recommend it.


Routines for the Bendix Bombshell Wallet

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 May, 2017)

Routines for the Bendix Bombshell WalletHaving picked up an original Bendix Bombshell Wallet about 25 years (at an auction for about $10 - the leather is a bit stiff) it is wonderful to finally have the full book of routines (and to find out from the wallet's website that a new one retails for about $96 USD).


Blistr

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 May, 2017)

BlistrThis thing is ingenious. It looks as if it should be fragile until one realizes it is of one piece and there is nothing to fall apart. The blister it leaves is innocuous but quite visible/feelable. It is small enough for the pocket so as to be used for impromptu miracles or those with a borrowed deck. However, a downside is that in order to hit the same spot, some external sizer will need to be made/jerry-rigged. These exactly placed blisters are nice for, say, Bee Club Special, or Erdnase (Conjuring Arts) backs with criss-cross patterns. Raising one of the diagonals with a blister leaves a broken or non-straight line to be seen, rather than a more obvious blister. The Pinpoint Pegger with a blunted pin may do a better job (or at least be easier) because of the ability to lock in 3D coordinates.


Card Punch

reviewed by John Scialli (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 May, 2017)

Card PunchThis card punch is surprisingly compact, light and solid. It leaves a nice prick, visible to eye and finger as it were. This could have utility with an impromptu or borrowed deck situation. Compared to the Pinpoint Pegger it is less expensive and more stable but lacks the settings to duplicate positioning. Still, I think this is something all magicians should get to throw into their kit for that time when they have need of a miracle.


The Cerebral Approach: Book One

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 April, 2017)

The Cerebral Approach: Book OneExcellent value and very practical material too and beautiful when practised well before performing to any audience


Psycherotika

reviewed by William Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 06 April, 2017)

PsycherotikaNot practical...Feels set up...Looks like a trick...Not an easy sell...Not an easy follow for spectators. Too many moving parts. This one is a pass. All his other stuff rocks. This is a misfire...


The Business of Table Hopping

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 26 March, 2017)

The Business of Table HoppingPublisher Malcolm Forbes got it right when he said, “The biggest mistake people make in life is not trying to make a living at what they enjoy.”

If there is ONE field of magic that has been thoroughly ignored, it’s Table Hopping. I’ve visited hundreds of websites, perused dozens and dozens of magic shops around the country, and explored the catalogs of all the major magic companies looking for good, solid material on working restaurants. Unfortunately, the material simply isn’t there…

At least not until now…

Table Hopping is my type of magic. I’ve performed in a variety of restaurants, all owned by the same corporation, and I consider myself extremely lucky. I’m the exception though… My friend, Paul Lelekis, is the REAL deal – a guy who has performed at EVERY type of restaurant imaginable, under every sort of condition imaginable. And now, after considerable arm twisting, Paul has decided to talk…

Why is this important? Because many of the top magicians in the country make the majority of their money table hopping. These guys produce dozens of DVDs each year explaining the latest card moves, sleights, twists, and theory… but nothing about table hopping. It’s as if they don’t want to share something that might actually make you a working performer. Duh…

This is where Paul’s latest ebook, THE BUSINESS OF TABLE HOPPING, fills this glaring gap. Many of you know Paul as a staple of THE LINKING RING and author of more than a 40 books on magic, as well as many articles on magic and card magic in publications like the Magic Roadshow and Lybrary.com, My Lovely Assistant, The Magician’s Forum, The Linking Ring, The Card Corner, Magic New Zealand, Magicana, The Magic Café, The St. Pete Times, as well as several European Magic Newsletters. I know Paul as a professional restaurant performer with over 28 years of experience…

To quote Paul:

“I never intended to write this e-book, however I have received numerous requests by other magicians to share my “secrets” of table-hopping with the magic community since I have performed for over 28 years in restaurants, often six or seven times a week! Table-hopping is my favorite form of magical entertainment. You may already have a “real job”, however, you can supplement your income with this “side job” that will not only make you a performing professional, but will also lead to many other gigs that will snowball over time!”

The amazing fact about Paul’s book is that, in addition to revealing all the small details that make table hopping profitable, he reveals a number of the actual effects he performs…and not simply the type of effects, but detailed instructions with pictures. How many magicians do you know are willing to reveal their actual repertoire in detail?

Learn how to approach and what to say to the customers. Learn how to deal with the wait staff. Learn how to get your first ‘gig’, and how to keep it. Paul will teach you what to charge, whether to work for tips or salary, and how to dress appropriately for the different type restaurants. No stone is left unturned.

Honestly, I cannot think of a BETTER way to spend Ten bucks. Don’t simply learn a trick you’ll show two or three times and put on a shelf…learn a TRADE that will put money in YOUR pocket, increase your overall bookings ten-fold, and make you a true professional..

The Magic Roadshow gives ‘The Business of Table Hopping’ our highest recommendation…


Mindipulation

reviewed by William Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 March, 2017)

MindipulationDone impromptu....this super fries and books gigs...plain and simple...Hope this secret is not exposed on YouTube...it makes me money! Can be customized too, this is a must have. Keep it secret damn you...


Psycherotika

reviewed by Jack McCoy (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 23 March, 2017)

PsycherotikaHere's the lowdown on this interesting creation by The Unknown Mentalist. I'm not an expert by any means when it comes to mentalism creations, though I'm not unfamiliar with it either. I'm 54 and been involved in magic my whole life, and have thousands of performances under my belt. Historically, I've never seen this structure before. It's very clever, and to most laypeople will be shocking or at least in-explainable. There may be an exception or 2 due to the structured procedure the spectator has to go through. The routine the Unknown Mentalist created for Psycherotika is well thought out however, and creates a nice and convincing excuse for it being done this way. It's presented as a certain aspect of mind-reading, an exercise-of-sorts. I made a set and tested it twice with my usual guinea pig immediate family members and got the desired reactions. 1 family member fell for it, hook, line, and sinker. Magician's brains will churn with delight, trying to figure it out. All in all, it's a very clever trick.

Effect: A card is handed to the spectator. A decent number of words are written on it. He/she looks them over and chooses one. Now another card is handed to them. On both sides are many individual words. The spectator looks over both sides over and decides on a word that starts with the same letter as his / her secret word (from the 1st card). Now, he / she travels through the words by, noting the last letter in their current word and selecting another word that starts with that letter. They do this as many times as the birth month (numerically). They finally concentrate on that final word and the mentalist reveals not only it, but the word they began on as well!

After reading that, you may be going "Ah,,,,,,,hmmmm, interesting.", but don't bother figuring it out. You won't, and for the reasonable price, don't bother trying.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 21 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyThis is typical Paul.. effects that require well-thought-out handling, but explained in a way that make your job easy. I appreciate that most ebooks now include a variety of effects for virtually anyone.. performing any type of magic. There are card effects for those who love to completely fool an audience.. or a table of fellow magicians. And there are effects for those wanting to make an audience laugh and entertain adults or children. Paul has also included videos that bring the coin effect to life. Watching the video is guaranteed to make you want to learn the effect. Reading the descriptions of each effect offers a great overview of Magic Medley, and shows the amount of thought and skill Paul puts into each ebook.. guaranteeing readers far more than the meager cost. Highly recommended..


Magic Medley

reviewed by Marc DeSouza
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMagic Medley is Paul Lelekis' latest manuscript of, primarily, close-up magic. This well written booklet is 28 pages of very commercial magic. The skill level is from novice to intermediate. Paul begins with an excellent essay on taking control of your audience. This is simple yet important advice that all should strive to adhere to. The material that follows are mostly Paul's variations and personal handlings of some terrific magic created by others. Some are known, but most are hidden in the recesses of rarely referred to texts. There are four card routines (Miracle Sandwich is especially good, although a little challenging), three coin routines, a very strong Ring on Wand handling, a comedy silk vanish (spoiler alert, this involves exposure of a magic secret to your audience) and even a Blendo routine based on a Milbourne Christopher effect. Although these are not original effects, Paul always provides good crediting and helps rescue some great magic that might otherwise be forgotten. This is really good value for money, since you are likely to find something here to add to your own repertoire.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMAGIC MEDLEY is analogous to the tough pool event that incorporates four major swim strokes. With the ability to swim different strokes (sleights and techniques), you have more versatility in how you achieve your results (performance impact). In this case, Paul presents his working repertoire with a medley of cards, coins, silks and mentalism. Although simplicity is the key here, Paul’s effects are not always simple and require some degree of skillfulness. Presenting yourself is a key to success in performing magic. He demonstrates his chops with coins in the accompanying two videos for ‘Coin(s) Production’. A much easier version of his coin-work (but no less spectacular) is ‘Coin Gone’. As always, I urge you to read his essay ‘Taking Control’ that is laced with his tacit wisdom and experience for the working professional and dedicated performer. Enjoy this book, as I did.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 18 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyCards, coins, silks, rings, ESP & more. The strength of Paul's work is in its simplicity in achieving direct, commercial/real world magical entertainment. Advise from a pro is priceless. I found subtle, practice nuances here I will immediately use too in my day to day handlings.


Magic Medley

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 18 March, 2017)

Magic MedleyMagic Medley by Paul Lelekis has something great for everyone. Here is a wide variety of well thought out effects, any one of which will enhance your close up performance. Cards, Coins, Silks, Rings and even a little ESP. As with all of Paul’s books, there is plenty of great advice and professional tips given with each effect throughout the book. Two chapters, “Taking Control” and “In Conclusion” are dedicated exclusively to sound professional advice learned from years of experience as a professional entertainer. The effects and methods presented here are all very practical and entertaining. Check out “Comedy Vanishing Silk” for sure if you want a good laugh! Some outstanding utility moves presented throughout like some very useful coin production and vanishes, and I particularly enjoyed the advice and methods on the “Tilt” move in both “Miracle Sandwich” and “Jackwich”. A perfect example of learning a new move or a nuance that will enhance and likely make stronger effects that you already perform! Paul has a fantastic way of finding just the right way of simplifying difficult moves without having anything taken away from the effect. In most cases, the effect has even more of an impact on your audience and is stronger overall! Even if you are using a different method for a similar effect you will likely find yourself substituting some of Paul’s moves into your effect to make it easier with a better flow to it. For example, I’m now sold on using Paul’s method presented in “Miracle Sandwich”. I have been performing a Collectors (Sandwich) effect that had many more moves including some palming and in “Miracle Sandwich” I discovered a method that has less moves and has eliminated the palming and leaves the effect as strong as ever! Sold! Magic Medley shows you ways you can take control, improve your presentation and performance, and have loads of fun at the same time!


S.P.I.T: Secretly Peeked Information Technique

reviewed by angularjs reactjs (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 14 March, 2017)

S.P.I.T: Secretly Peeked Information TechniqueVery Deceptive, Very Easy

You can do it with a few business cards/index cards or the whole stack.

Method 1, Impromptu.

Method 2, Require set up which is really 3 seconds to make, few minutes to tune. Improve method 1 with more safe option. In my opinion it is more reliable than method 1.

Method 3, Variation of method 2


Three Cheers for the Underrated

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 10 March, 2017)

Three Cheers for the UnderratedThree routines for $95! I understand Jermay's thinking about price: If it's high, then it will keep curious amateurs away. I like all three routines. Are they worth $95 together? Probably not. But I didn't feel burned or buyer's remorse from my purchase.

Taking a look at the routines, the first one, Three Questions, is my favorite because it puts three insanely clever propless mentalism gambits together so that you can name somebody's Zodiac sign in three questions, without using a progressive anagram. Actually, it's better than that. The three questions are basically just phony cover. As an added bonus to this effect, Jermay gives you a cool principle to apply to a progressive anagram for phobias. (OK, so it's an unadvertised four routines for $95.)

Next up is the Ultimate Add-a-Number. I love the classic Add-a-Number effects because they play big to crowds, and you can do them either with gimmicks or with basically nothing. (In other words, you can use a leather-bound Basil Horowitz locking pad, a gimmicked calculator, Dan Harlan's small pad of PostIt Notes, or Banachek's two 3x5 cards glued together. It's up to you.) Jermay leaves it to you to choose your favorite way of doing the add-a-number method itself, but he adds a DR element and an obscure Ed Hess principle (which reminds me of, which I'd never seen before. This one is very cool. Batting average so far: two for two.

Finally, there is Strength, a light-heavy effect, using playing cards and a card box. It, too, is good and a worker, but of the three, probably the one routine that would ordinarily be a $9.95 download at Penguin magic.

If you are a pro, you will definitely add one or more of these routines to your show if you spend the money. If you are an amateur, ask Santa to put the ebook in your stocking for Christmas.


Diagonal Peek Wallet

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 10 March, 2017)

Diagonal Peek WalletI have an addiction to tricked-out wallets because I am fascinated by the ingenuity that goes into the various features. (I have a drawer filled with them.) The most fundamental thing that a wallet can do is give you a peek. There are several different ways to do that, but generally you either get the peek by placing the billet into the wallet and opening it a second time (making sure that you have a good justification to do so) like the Stealth Assassin or Infinity wallets, or you glimpse it immediately after closing it, as in the many iterations of Mark Strivings SUC. For a small amount of money, you can build your own no-reopen peek wallet. The plans here cost a fiver--and you will have to look around for a particular style of wallet and one other special item--but this is a great DIY wallet, one that you can use for mentalism and carry around as your everyday wallet. (If you are familiar with Acidus Novus, then you'll immediately recognize how it works.)

If you like easy DIY projects and want the pride of making your own cool peek wallet for about $20 total, this one's for you. For further research, Pablo Amira's Free Wallet works on a different principle--and the ebook is a bit more expensive--but you also get your own DIY peek wallet. And if you can find the long out-of-print Mind2Mind DVD by Marc Paul, he shows you how to make a peek wallet using the Diagonal Peek Wallet principle for absolutely nothing but your existing wallet and one item that you'll already have. I recommend these in addition to the cheap, but highly useful, Diagonal Peek Wallet.


Mind Index

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 March, 2017)

Mind IndexYou might think to yourself after reading the description of Mental Index by Dr. Bill that it is overpriced by about $10--eight effects for $40. But I'm here to tell you that it's not. In addition to those eight clever routines using only index or business cards, you get a reprint of the original instructions for Acidus Novus written by Millard Longman as well as a very short video of Longman himself showing you the move. Now any mentalist should know how to do Acidus Novus because it allows for some good impromptu routines. I know and use the move, but Longman's instructions taught me a few small nuances. In addition, there is a fairly clever one-ahead Mental Epic routine as well as a one-behind one too. Overall, this is a well written little manual on a universally applicable utility technique. I liked it a lot.


Snip-Snip Want Ad Test

reviewed by trevor fletcher (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 08 March, 2017)

Snip-Snip Want Ad TestI thought I was getting a new idea with this purchase. Maybe I should have read the 'fine print'. I have known this method since before I started getting into the performing side of mentalism/magic. If you know a method for this effect that can be done impromptu, this is probably the same one.

However, if this effect is new to you, then by all means, grab this one right now, it IS a great method for a nice effect. I just expected a new/different method is all.


Word Sight

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 March, 2017)

Word SightDevin has another winner here with a dictionary book test. Once I saw how it worked, I slapped my head, and said, "Of course. Leo Boudreau would just chuckle and get a big kick out of this." (Bourdreau is one of my idols. His legendary stuff is so original and baffling that it looks exactly like real mindreading. No shit...ake mushrooms!") Anyway, while it is technically a restricted range book test--you'll be able to divine two out of a couple of hundred different words--it's totally baffling. You simply have one or two spectators choose a couple of words off of a "word enrichment" list, look them up in the dictionary, and concentrate on them. The spectators say absolutely nothing. You then can immediately tell them the two words. That's it. There is no force, no peek, no progressive anagram, no impression pad, no MOABT gimmicked book, no need to know the page number... You just need to get a dictionary and type up some word lists. in other words, while this is an Al Mann concept, it is exactly the kind of thing Boudreau has in his lybrary ebooks like Psimatrika. If you love book tests--and who doesn't?--try this one. For $18 and the price of a cheap paperback dictionary, you have a mentalism miracle in your pocket. Highest recommendation.


Far Sight

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 March, 2017)

Far SightDon't get me wrong. This is an ingenious method to suss out a card from 15 to 20 feet away. (Devin claims that his outer limit is 30 feet. Wow!) That's amazing. If you pay close attention to the working of the trick--and I'm not going to give you that and spoil it--you'll figure out how it's done. And for $5, this is a real corker of an effect. (You can go down the hall and predict what card the spectator has selected. Just awesome!) The downside is that you are going to have to spend some money to make this one work. If you don't have everything that you need lying around--and I didn't--be prepared to spend up to $40-$50. But once you've done that, you are set for life with this showstopper. Two other points aren't necessarily negatives, but you should be aware of them: (1) this really can be the only mentalism-with-cards routine in your show; and (2) you need some audience management--the spectator has to follow your directions exactly--because the cards cannot be inspected. If you are still interested, your fiver plus will be well spent. Recommended.

Displaying 336 to 360 (of 1410 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >