Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 21

Read What Others Are Saying: page 21

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
111 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 509 to 533 (of 1408 reviews)


Thaumatology

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

Thaumatology“Thaumatology” by Paul Lelekis is an awesome, fun book. The title definition is perfect: Study of the performing of miracles. I love the great mix of material in this new book by Paul. Each one of these effects is indeed a little, or a big miracle. The non-card tricks are the kind of effects that are the perfect little trick to perform at a moment’s notice when asked to do a trick for someone. You will likely recognize many of these effects as they have been around for a while. Paul gives them new life in his fun and entertaining approach to each one of them. I particularly enjoyed revisiting “Match Burns Twice”, “Voodoo Ashes”, Marble Matrix” and “Math Magic”. These are terrific, ageless little miracles that are just so much fun to perform for people. Fantastic icebreakers that will get people talking! The card effects presented here are all killers that stand alone. “Jazz Aces”, “27 Card Trick”, “Color Changing Deck” (Marlo) are classics in their own right. As always, Paul’s style is very clear, easy to understand and to the point. His teaching is easy to follow as he illustrates the important points and finds just the right techniques to use so all unnecessary moves are eliminated. The emphasis is always on entertainment. Just reading through these effects really put a smile on my face. I know they will do the same for you.


Thaumatology

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

ThaumatologyPaul has done it again. Pure worker material to delight the paying public. Marbles, matches, math, & of course cards. Drop the dime, you will use this material to delight your friends & audiences.


The Amazing Memory Test

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

The Amazing Memory TestThis is Luke Jermay's take on Corinda's Step 3 Amazing Memory Test. While anything Luke Jermay says is worth reading, I'm not sure this is worth $25. First, Jermay has some ideas on adapting Corinda's objects to make them more personal and vivid. This is the kind of memory stuff that you can find elsewhere and was not of much use to me since long ago I'd committed Corinda's system to memory without change. Jermay's discussion of how to do a memory routine was useful, however, as was his idea to link it with a backward alphabet recitation. (Though I disagree with him on how to do that parlor trick. Get Devin Knight's fantastic, inexpensive book with great mnemonics from Lybrary, and you'll be able to recite the alphabet backward in under an hour of study. No kidding.)

I liked the material here, especially for someone who hasn't studied the Corinda step. (But why haven't you?) But it's just not worth the price.


The Best Short Change Scam Ever

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

The Best Short Change Scam EverIf you've ever seen the movie The Grifters, you will see John Cusack do a version of the short change scam. As Devin reminds us, this ebook is for educational purposes only because if you pull this routine on a shopkeeper, you are stealing, plain and simple. I've seen it used exactly one time in my life, many years ago, so I'm sure that there still are some practitioners of this out there. This ebook should probably be required reading for anyone who works in retail or at charity events. The short change is an insidious flim-flam.


How Psychics Locate Missing People

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

How Psychics Locate Missing PeopleFor $10 and 12 pages, I was intrigued, so I bit. And five minutes later, after finishing this ebook, all I could do was shake my head at a scam so ingenious, yet so diabolical, that I'd never have come up with it on my own in 10 lifetimes. Of course, I'm not a con artist. Anyway, you are getting a really obscure--and dangerous--phony psychic scam, one that if you do it, you will be committing a serious federal crime. It's an interesting read, but you have been warned. (Devin warns you too.)


Phenomental!

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 19 September, 2016)

Phenomental!It's almost de rigueur in the mentalism field to put out a book, usually with nine effects, and slap a price tag of $30 on it. And the old adage goes that if you find at least one thing that you'll use, it was a good purchase. I have mixed feelings about Phenomental. First, you get eight effects, but it's more like five effects and three forces/subtleties, not full routines. I'm going to have to try out Vaporize even though I'm not a fan of dual reality. The Up Force is intriguing, like something that should be in Banachek's next volume of Psychological Subtleties. I think Influenza is the strongest routine here, though truth be told, it's a variation on an old Annemann idea, one that Looch and now Alexander Marsh have also gussied up. (And the video performance of it, in front of what appears to be a women's lavatory at a park, is completely underwhelming, especially since it edits out the move that you need to do.) The other stuff, like yet another handling of Out of this World and the WatchStop Principle, which is hardly original, really didn't do anything for me. I will say though that I was impressed that a few things actually used sleights, something that you don't see much of in mentalism, and that's good.

Overall, is it worth the 30 clams? Probably not quite for me. I had kind of the same tepid feeling with the author's Hand Which, where I liked a couple of his ideas, didn't like one in particular at all, and wasn't blown away. Influenza by itself might be worth about $15, Vaporize $9.95, and the Up Force belongs in a larger collection of psi-forces. I think the tipping point for purchase might be if you want another handling of OOTW. If not, Phenomental is probably a pass.


Underground Bottom Tear (UBT)

reviewed by Christian Fisanick
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 September, 2016)

Underground Bottom Tear (UBT)I've posted a review of UBT on another site, but I like it so much that I am going to tell you here that if you are new to mentalism and don't have a good billet peek, or you are not comfortable with the one that you are using, then you must give this a try. Once you work on it--and it's not that hard to do--you'll use it forever. As I said in my other review, it is a tear of the "instant/real-time peek" variety, unlike a traditional center tear. Bob Cassidy would question why one would use a technique where you take the peek when the audience is burning your hands as you rip up the billet instead of being more traditional and taking the peek on an offbeat or after a logical disconnect. That you have to answer for yourself. Whatever accomplishes the result deceptively is what you should use.

If you use another peek such as a classic center tear, Osterlind's Perfected Center Tear, etc., and it serves you well, you might not need this. Then again, for me, this is a real thing of beauty. It's quick, clean, and straightforward. Highest recommendation.


Perpetual Calendar for your iPod/iPhone/PDA/cell-phone

reviewed by Ferry Gerats (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 September, 2016)

Perpetual Calendar for your iPod/iPhone/PDA/cell-phoneHow wonderful to make this available. Thank you Scott Cram!


Advanced Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 17 September, 2016)

Advanced Brain KnewmerologyI thought I had better write a review on this. This in my opinion is ONE OF THE BEST EFFECTS OF THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I give it a 20+ rating. If you like this make sure you also check out ELEMENTAL, and his STAR SIGN DIVINATION effects also. THEY ARE GREAT!!! Not from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST, you might check out ASTRO GEMS which is a STAR SIGN divination and a different type of mental effect called FARMACOLOGY also. In my opinion they are also good mental effects and are sold by lybrary.com


Farmacology

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 17 September, 2016)

FarmacologyI don't know why I didn't get this sooner. It is another GREAT printable prop that can be used for close up mentalism. This effect may take a bit of practice and memorization to pull off effectively. I give it a 10+ rating. Again, don't let the price make you think of passing this by. In my opinion BUY IT NOW!!!


Astro Gems

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 17 September, 2016)

Astro GemsI LOVE mentalism effects which are simple, and have printable props that are interesting.

This is an effect I would definitely give a 10+ rating and I will use it along with my other printable props.

Well done !!!


Dark Horizon

reviewed by Michael Critchley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 16 September, 2016)

Dark HorizonA Very Clever piece of Mentalism and Very Clever Thinking.

Multiple Phases and Different Routines are possible with the methods covering both Prediction and Divination.

The plot and premise of Lost Languages is very unusual and makes for a very interesting and engaging presentation.

Something different and Highly Recommended.


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceThis is a short and direct way to force any one of six coins or other objects by a selection/elimination process. It takes a little bit of thought and practice, but it's good and certainly much better than the artificial looking "hot rod" force which involves counting or spelling. Add it to your arsenal of forces such as equivoque, PATEO, Quinta, and psi forces. It's a worker.


Publicity for Magicians

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Publicity for MagiciansWe all needs to learn how to promote ourselves that is productive in outcome of events booked. Excellent/useful read


Eddie Joseph on Cups and Balls

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Eddie Joseph on Cups and BallsA excellent information by past master of the art of cups and balls recommended for anyone starting out plus those interested in the history side.


The Ultimate Page Force

reviewed by Leigh Beadon (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 September, 2016)

The Ultimate Page ForceI have been struggling for a while with how to make a book riffle force look natural - I simply couldn't get a clear picture in my head of how to make it look natural, to the point that I'd almost given up. But after 10 minutes of reading this, I have a newfound confidence that it can be done seamlessly and beautifully and am starting my practice anew with this technique. A riffle page force is such a useful tool; if you don't have one in your arsenal, I think this is the one to learn. If you already have one that you use happily and confidently, you probably don't need this - but if you check it out, it might end up replacing your current standard.


Ungimmicked Linking Ropes

reviewed by Bruce Peck (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 06 September, 2016)

Ungimmicked Linking RopesI would like to stress what the ad copy does not make clear: You are buying instructions for just a single move only, not a rope routine, and the move in question is not even original to the author.

Is the move clever? Sure. But for $8 I was expecting more. And something more original. There are any number of PDFs on this site that teach entire routines for the same price. Buyer beware.


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceBecause in the UK two pound coins can be found with many different back designs to the queens face side means because of those back designs been different story's are possible example 1611-2011 Two Pound Coin " King James Bible" a christian message is possible, 2015 Great Britain First World War Royal Navy Belfast £2 Two Pound Coin for a military story after all Britain's got talent was won with a war time Magic theme. So basically do not let this method/Idea slip by you.


Osmosis

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 September, 2016)

OsmosisWith tricks based on the works of Marlo, Skinner, Elmsley, Jennings, Vernon, Fechter, Altman and Lorayne, Lelekis can do no wrong with his choices of ‘star’ material. With his extensive years of performing ‘in the trenches’, Paul has acquired his impeccable skills of sleight of hand, masterful spectator control, application of contemporary and relevant patter – each one a Worker and he passes it on to you in his penetrating style of writing!

This being his 35th book – the body of Lelekis's professional restaurant and close-up magic shows no loss in momentum. Enjoy the transfer of his knowledge to you with a wide range of effects, media and audience. The Bernard Billis Switch and Bro. John Hamman’s Count Switch can be assessed by video download from this ebook. You can appreciate how Paul clearly teaches these sleights in his assuring style.

I like ‘Combo Bill Penetration & Bill Switch Routine’, which explains the Koslowski Switch (with Roger Klause handling), and final ditch/switch. Also, ‘Reaping the Aces’ (where the spectator cuts to four piles), and, interestingly ‘Water-proof Hanky’. The chapter on ‘Professional Misdirection’ should be read first. I also enjoyed the additional ideas on card handling, and revision of properly–executed coin sleights. Enjoy OSMOSIS!


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceThis is a nice effect for coins. I recommend this highly in conjunction with the PATEO force.


Mindipulation

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

MindipulationI REALLY REALLY like this unusual routine. I will DEFINITELY use it and highly recommend it!!! I give it a 12+ rating.


Silent Words

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

Silent WordsThis is another nice effect that I plan to use. However phase 2 uses a principle that I would not normally use. However, having said that, the ebook gives a nice way for it's justification. Like I said, this effect is well worth your consideration. You can't go wrong for the price. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST!!!


Unusual Clue

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

Unusual ClueThis is a great Psychic Detective effect. It is a bit humorous but a GREAT way to solve a murder mystery. I highly recommend this. What a great and amazing thinker which thinks outside the box. Hats off to The Unknown Mentalist


Osmosis

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 September, 2016)

OsmosisPaul’s new ebook “Osmosis” is one of those books that if you wanted to pick up just one book this year, this is the one you want! This ambitious collection of very practical effects has lots to offer for everyone. Cards, Paper Money (I loved the Bill Penetration ideas), Coins, Mental, Funny Gags, Cool Trick Ideas (a book in itself), Science Tricks and even a terrific chapter on useful Professional Misdirection ideas. You can’t go wrong with this book. Paul’s take on some of the very best tricks from some of the greatest minds in magic written in his easy to understand hands on manner. Paul does the work of streamlining these effects for you by elimination many of the difficult moves yet the effects are not diminished in the least. Brilliantly written and all moves very clearly explained, and in many cases illustrated as well. For those new to coin magic, the chapter “Coin Magic Sleights” is worth the price of the book in itself. Throughout the book Paul gives great advice and presentation ideas that will really help bring your magic up to a new level. Focus is always on making the magic look relaxed and real! Do yourself a favor and get this one today!


Mindipulation

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 September, 2016)

MindipulationA practical idea and routine well done as always to the Unknown mentalist for stimulating the old Gray matter

Displaying 509 to 533 (of 1408 reviews)
< ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ... >