Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 21

Read What Others Are Saying: page 21

1103 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 511 to 535 (of 1410 reviews)


Astro Gems

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 17 September, 2016)

Astro GemsI LOVE mentalism effects which are simple, and have printable props that are interesting.

This is an effect I would definitely give a 10+ rating and I will use it along with my other printable props.

Well done !!!


Dark Horizon

reviewed by Michael Critchley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 16 September, 2016)

Dark HorizonA Very Clever piece of Mentalism and Very Clever Thinking.

Multiple Phases and Different Routines are possible with the methods covering both Prediction and Divination.

The plot and premise of Lost Languages is very unusual and makes for a very interesting and engaging presentation.

Something different and Highly Recommended.


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceThis is a short and direct way to force any one of six coins or other objects by a selection/elimination process. It takes a little bit of thought and practice, but it's good and certainly much better than the artificial looking "hot rod" force which involves counting or spelling. Add it to your arsenal of forces such as equivoque, PATEO, Quinta, and psi forces. It's a worker.


Publicity for Magicians

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Publicity for MagiciansWe all needs to learn how to promote ourselves that is productive in outcome of events booked. Excellent/useful read


Suit Order Systems 4

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Suit Order Systems 4suit order systems/stacks are a must be learned by any card worker serious about there art


Eddie Joseph on Cups and Balls

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 September, 2016)

Eddie Joseph on Cups and BallsA excellent information by past master of the art of cups and balls recommended for anyone starting out plus those interested in the history side.


The Ultimate Page Force

reviewed by Leigh Beadon (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 September, 2016)

The Ultimate Page ForceI have been struggling for a while with how to make a book riffle force look natural - I simply couldn't get a clear picture in my head of how to make it look natural, to the point that I'd almost given up. But after 10 minutes of reading this, I have a newfound confidence that it can be done seamlessly and beautifully and am starting my practice anew with this technique. A riffle page force is such a useful tool; if you don't have one in your arsenal, I think this is the one to learn. If you already have one that you use happily and confidently, you probably don't need this - but if you check it out, it might end up replacing your current standard.


Ungimmicked Linking Ropes

reviewed by Bruce Peck (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 06 September, 2016)

Ungimmicked Linking RopesI would like to stress what the ad copy does not make clear: You are buying instructions for just a single move only, not a rope routine, and the move in question is not even original to the author.

Is the move clever? Sure. But for $8 I was expecting more. And something more original. There are any number of PDFs on this site that teach entire routines for the same price. Buyer beware.


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceBecause in the UK two pound coins can be found with many different back designs to the queens face side means because of those back designs been different story's are possible example 1611-2011 Two Pound Coin " King James Bible" a christian message is possible, 2015 Great Britain First World War Royal Navy Belfast £2 Two Pound Coin for a military story after all Britain's got talent was won with a war time Magic theme. So basically do not let this method/Idea slip by you.


Osmosis

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 04 September, 2016)

OsmosisWith tricks based on the works of Marlo, Skinner, Elmsley, Jennings, Vernon, Fechter, Altman and Lorayne, Lelekis can do no wrong with his choices of ‘star’ material. With his extensive years of performing ‘in the trenches’, Paul has acquired his impeccable skills of sleight of hand, masterful spectator control, application of contemporary and relevant patter – each one a Worker and he passes it on to you in his penetrating style of writing!

This being his 35th book – the body of Lelekis's professional restaurant and close-up magic shows no loss in momentum. Enjoy the transfer of his knowledge to you with a wide range of effects, media and audience. The Bernard Billis Switch and Bro. John Hamman’s Count Switch can be assessed by video download from this ebook. You can appreciate how Paul clearly teaches these sleights in his assuring style.

I like ‘Combo Bill Penetration & Bill Switch Routine’, which explains the Koslowski Switch (with Roger Klause handling), and final ditch/switch. Also, ‘Reaping the Aces’ (where the spectator cuts to four piles), and, interestingly ‘Water-proof Hanky’. The chapter on ‘Professional Misdirection’ should be read first. I also enjoyed the additional ideas on card handling, and revision of properly–executed coin sleights. Enjoy OSMOSIS!


Ekcentrick Force

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

Ekcentrick ForceThis is a nice effect for coins. I recommend this highly in conjunction with the PATEO force.


Mindipulation

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

MindipulationI REALLY REALLY like this unusual routine. I will DEFINITELY use it and highly recommend it!!! I give it a 12+ rating.


Hexagnosis

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

HexagnosisThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again!!! This will blend in very well with COINCIDENCE. In fact, if you like COINCIDENCE you'll love HEXAGNOSIS!!! This in my opinion is a very easy (which still takes some practice) way to predict any one of six outs. This is another effect I will use. In fact, I like so many effects from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST it will be difficult to decide what to use. I guess I have a lifetime supply of effects!!!


Silent Words

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

Silent WordsThis is another nice effect that I plan to use. However phase 2 uses a principle that I would not normally use. However, having said that, the ebook gives a nice way for it's justification. Like I said, this effect is well worth your consideration. You can't go wrong for the price. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST!!!


Unusual Clue

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 September, 2016)

Unusual ClueThis is a great Psychic Detective effect. It is a bit humorous but a GREAT way to solve a murder mystery. I highly recommend this. What a great and amazing thinker which thinks outside the box. Hats off to The Unknown Mentalist


Osmosis

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 September, 2016)

OsmosisPaul’s new ebook “Osmosis” is one of those books that if you wanted to pick up just one book this year, this is the one you want! This ambitious collection of very practical effects has lots to offer for everyone. Cards, Paper Money (I loved the Bill Penetration ideas), Coins, Mental, Funny Gags, Cool Trick Ideas (a book in itself), Science Tricks and even a terrific chapter on useful Professional Misdirection ideas. You can’t go wrong with this book. Paul’s take on some of the very best tricks from some of the greatest minds in magic written in his easy to understand hands on manner. Paul does the work of streamlining these effects for you by elimination many of the difficult moves yet the effects are not diminished in the least. Brilliantly written and all moves very clearly explained, and in many cases illustrated as well. For those new to coin magic, the chapter “Coin Magic Sleights” is worth the price of the book in itself. Throughout the book Paul gives great advice and presentation ideas that will really help bring your magic up to a new level. Focus is always on making the magic look relaxed and real! Do yourself a favor and get this one today!


Mindipulation

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 September, 2016)

MindipulationA practical idea and routine well done as always to the Unknown mentalist for stimulating the old Gray matter


Osmosis

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 August, 2016)

OsmosisPaul is a worker's performer. This is real world, entertaining magic he does to astonish & entertain his clients & customers. Some great variety of magic with color photos & a video included. The streamlined simplicity of his work is the real magic.


Scripted #6: Lie Detector with 4 Objects

reviewed by Ferry Gerats (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 August, 2016)

Scripted #6: Lie Detector with 4 ObjectsIf you love hearing your audience laugh you sure will enjoy this presentation of the lie-detectors plot.


Osmosis

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 August, 2016)

OsmosisOSMOSIS.. A Renaissance Ebook from Paul A. Lelekis

It's funny.. Each month I publish one of Paul's many effects in The Magic Roadshow. Each month I put in the footer " Paul now has 31 ebooks on the Lybrary.com site..". Each month Paul emails me to gently inform me that should be '32' instead of '31'... or '24' instead of '23'... I can't keep up! I am constantly changing the footer to include a new ebook, and Paul is constantly writing a new one.

Well, assuming I can publish this review quick enough, THIS is Paul's latest... and definitely one of my favorites. It reminds me of my favorite magic books - those that include a little of this.. and a little of that. I love diversity, and I am not firmly tied to any one particular form of magic. Every audience is different, and every performance differs based on many factors.. not the least of which is my mood. Paul and I both work restaurants, and believe me, you have to perform for as diverse a crowd as imaginable. What works for one table may fall flat at the next. That's why having an arsenal of 'weapons' is so important.. and why I enjoy this ebook so much..

OSMOSIS begins with two very different effects.. both well within reach of the beginner to intermediate performer.

"2002 Simplicity Aces - Aces jump to ANY packet chosen by spectator." and " Combo Bill Penetration and Bill Switch Routine - A hilarious double-revelation routine with a borrowed bill"

Alex Elmsley created a classic Ace effect called '1002 Aces'. Larry Jennings did him one better with '2002 Aces'. Paul introduces us to his version.. '2002 Simplicity Aces', which is definitely the most simple of the three, but with the same killer ending.

The Combo Bill Penetration & Switch combines comedy and magic to provide the spectators with a complete performance piece, utilizing one of magic's most powerful weapons... the thumb tip. The thumb tip isn't the trick.. but a utility device to allow you to perform the effect with lots of laughs and applause.

"Mindreader - A brilliant Marlo double revelation ESP effect!" OK, I'll tell you straight-up, this is not for the beginner. On the other hand, it doesn't contain and knuckle-busting moves either. It DOES contain a number of moves that, fortunately, are in direct proportion to the number of eyes that pop out of sockets. You'll really like this one...

The next two, "Reaping the Aces" and "Easy 4 Ace Cutting" are both 'cutting the Aces' effects. Reaping the Aces may be my favorite effect in the entire ebook. Originally published by Larry Jennings, this effect allows the spectator to cut to all four Aces. I judge every effect in my repertoire based on the effect it has on a lay audience... and cutting the Aces is far and away one of the most impressive sleights in a magician's arsenal. Reaping the Aces looks so cool you can't help but really, really like it. Even a beginning level magician can do this with a little practice. If you can hold a punky break and slip a card onto the bottom of the deck while taking one off the top.. you can easily do this effect. 'Easy 4 Ace Cutting' again allows the spectator to be the one finding the Aces. Based on the Balducci Cut-Deeper force, this is super easy to perform. It requires a small set-up on top of the deck, but you can false shuffle or shuffle around it to make it look totally impromptu.

The next effect is not an effect... it's a technique to improve your magic. Paul describes it as.. "Professional Misdirection - Read this! Learn a little-known secret about misdirection that will revolutionize your card magic!" Once you know the secret, you'll think back to all the times you've seen top pros do this, but had no idea it was a scripted part of their effect. Nuff said...

"Simplicity Itself" uses a classic effect, combined with Paul's comedy patter, to create one of the centerpiece effects of this ebook. To quote Osmosis.. "The performer shuffles a deck of cards which may be borrowed. A card is freely selected and freely returned to the deck. With a “snap!” a card turns face up…however it’s not the selection! After the performer “explains” why, the face-up card is used to count down to another card…this is the selection!" Paul goes to great length to explain his comedy patter, line by line, and then explains why the patter works. You really can't be prompted more than this..!

"Coin Magic Sleights". Next, Paul includes 5 of his favorite, and most critical, coin sleights. Each sleight includes an array of photos to help you get the proper feel. Remember, sleights practiced badly only produce bad sleights. If you want to learn a good matrix routine, or simply want a convincing vanish, these five sleights will serve you well.

"Some Cool Ideas and Routines From Skinner and Others" cover twelve different ideas and effects. Most are either less-detailed effects or well-explained suggestions. Paul's Comedy Card Mis-Call is classic, and includes, like most of his effects, the comedy patter along with the moves. Others are Skinner's Four Ace Reverse, Harry Lorayne's Invisible Pass, Skinner's Double Triumph, Fetchter's Explain Trick, and Dai Vernon's Fortune Telling.. among others. It would take you years to find all this ' magic stuff' on your own..

Now, I'm not sure how to approach this.. but Paul got a Science bug up his... sleeve, and brought Osmosis to my kind of end.. interesting and off-the-wall. I have a soft spot for things I should have learned in school, had I been a good student, and both science and mathematics often find their way into my writings at a time in my life when one wouldn't expect it. Thanks to Big Bang Theory, science is once again cool, and Paul has concluded OSMOSIS with two science effects.. disguised as bar tricks. The first is called Floating Lemon Slice, and shows you how to 'float' a lemon slice, in mid-air, inside an upside down glass. The second is called Water-Proof Hanky.. and gives you a great excuse to scare the dickens out of a perfectly well-behaved young man who is making your table-hopping a pure pleasure.. (right).

I recommend OSMOSIS to anyone familiar with Paul's enormous volume of work on Lybrary.com, 34 total ebooks at the moment, and to anyone totally unfamiliar with Paul's work. Either way, Osmosis is a great outlet for the magician looking for a really good read. You can do this... You will be teaching your buddies at the next meeting some of the effects in this ebook.. And you will be kicking yourself for some of the high dollar purchases you've made, and garnered not a single thing from its righteous pages. I love a good deal.. and at ten bucks, you absolutely can't beat it.. (This ebook included 35 pages, numerous photos, and a video..) Rick Carruth


Hexagnosis

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 August, 2016)

HexagnosisExtremely clever idea. Amazing prediction method for any 1 in 6 routine. Its simplicity simply kills. A great companion to the 1 in 5 method of Coin'cidence and 1 in 7 method of Absolute & Ultimate Coin'cidence. Together they are a fantastic threesome and you are ready all the time for any impromptu performance. Just a few business cards is all you need to have on you. Very flexible addition to my tool box. Hexagnosis is a lovely new principle. When I read it, I got the 'why didn't I think of this myself' feeling. Easy, simple, clever, powerful, flexible. And yet leaves enough space for me to put my own'performance stamp' on it. Definitely recommended.


The Great Apple Heist

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 17 August, 2016)

The Great Apple HeistThis is Devin Knight's brilliant elaboration and original adaptation of an old coin trick into a hilarious and entertaining attempt by a couple from the audience to work together to make an apple pie, and in addition, Devin has also created two ingenious children's magic show tricks that work in a similar way with candy bars instead of apples. What makes these three tricks different from many other effects is that they do not revolve around a central magical appearance or disappearance, and each of the three effects have suspense, excitement, and offer an entertaining good time.


Triple Play

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 16 August, 2016)

Triple PlayIn his 33rd ebook, ‘Triple Play: The Professional Card Magic of Paul A. Lelekis’ is a collection of three effects. His credibility of regularly working in the trenches is well-established, so these ‘Workers’ have been refined for your immediate practice and rehearsal.

‘King Pen’ and ‘Parallel Universe’ are the two main interactive effects in this inexpensive book. His ‘third’ effect is the bonus sleight explanation of his deceptive Bluff Pass, and it is accompanied by a downloadable video. Paul’s handling of this card control warrants your consideration. He has worked out the usual kinks, by conditioning the audience’s mind, with a standard card selection move. With a dozen mirror-practices, you would be able to do it confidently.

Buy it, and perform these CLEAR, SIMPLE and STRONG effects – the ‘Triple’ approaches which are always in play in Paul’s magic creations.


Silent Words

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 15 August, 2016)

Silent WordsA Mind stimulating idea with many possible presentation possibilities limited only by your own creative mind. After reading I made the effect up straight away to practice. Whats sleep?


The Funniest Three Card Monte in the World

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 15 August, 2016)

The Funniest Three Card Monte in the WorldWhat a cute, clever trick. The handling is easy-peasy, the jokes and set ups are clever, and it resets so quickly. Even the concepts and presentational ideas are transferable to other routines.

I like it!

Definitely a good purchase.

Displaying 511 to 535 (of 1410 reviews)
< ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ... >