Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 20

Reviews: Read What Others Are Saying: page 20

1545 ★★★★★ reviews
170 ★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★★ reviews
78 ★★★★★ reviews
122 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 486 to 510 (of 2035 reviews)


The Magic 36

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Timothy Arends (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 05 May, 2022)

The Magic 36Got a physical copy of this book on eBay as part of a lot. Unfortunately, four pages had been torn out, and they happened to be one of the most interesting sections--that on ditching the thumb tip. This ebook edition allowed me to replace the missing pages. I find it to be an accurate reproduction of the original.


Sensational Spirit Cabinet Act

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Don Bursell
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 May, 2022)

Sensational Spirit Cabinet ActI like the method of tying in this short manuscript. It is easy to perform the "manifestations" yet still appear to remain tied. I will admit that I have never performed this spirit cabinet routine, but have helped others perform this method in their own shows. This covers enough "effects" that you can choose to use some or all of them, and still have a good, full routine.


Jack Hughes World of Magic Volumes 1, 2 and 3

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Andy Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2022)

Jack Hughes World of Magic Volumes 1, 2 and 3The legendary British Inventor, Craftsman, and Dealer, Jack Hughes, invented many staples in magic that we take for granted today including TV Card Frame (1936), Coins in Glass (1939, before Copenetro), Attaboy (early 1930s), Clatter Box (1951) and many more. They are all detailed fully in these books, with history and other details. You won't find a more thorough detail of Jack Hughes' amazing magic and legacy. (To see more information about some of these tricks see https://www.martinsmagic.com/product-tag/jack-hughes/.)


Genii: The Conjurors' Magazine: Volumes 1 - 75 (1936 - 2012)

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Andy Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2022)

Genii: The Conjurors' Magazine: Volumes 1 - 75 (1936 - 2012)80+ years and still going strong – wow what an achievement! And Chris Wasshuber with the assistance of Richard Kaufman, of course, provides such easy access to it all. Hard to put into words how useful and amazing having all of these back issues available at the touch of a button is. If you are looking for articles, trick effects, reviews, history, stage craft, opinion, gossip, and everything in between it is all here. The most useful resource to me when working on the History Project (https://www.martinsmagic.com/the-history-project/) is this magazine.


Card Tricks Without Skill

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Andy Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2022)

Card Tricks Without SkillThis is a wonderful book on card effects without skill of sleight of hand. Contains the classic effect by Paul Curry: Out of This World, and many other wonderful routines. This was one of the very first books on magic I ever purchased and it certainly changed my world!


Best Tricks with Invisible Thread

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by James "Gaddy" Gadbois (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 01 May, 2022)

Best Tricks with Invisible ThreadVery nice old book. Everything in it is still usable today. Due to the sub-standard materials of the day they had to work with, everything in here is essentially "bulletproof" with today's miraculous IT resources. The co-author, T.A. Whitney has added new material to supplement UFG's mid-twentieth century text.


The Business of Table Hopping

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Lee Eyler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 April, 2022)

The Business of Table HoppingAs someone who has made an income through table-hopping, I find this publication very informative. Wish I had this information when I got started. With a rating system of one to ten, I give this publication a ten! It gives a good base knowledge on all the various subjects one faces when doing table hopping. Anything else will be learned by going out and doing it for yourself and this is important to understand, as each regional area is different and times change as well.


The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd Edition

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Kevin Anderson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 April, 2022)

The Fine Art of Magic, 2nd EditionGreat book! Love the History and effects in this book!


Ultimate Secrets of Card Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Jeff Chandler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 April, 2022)

Ultimate Secrets of Card MagicI haven't had a chance to thoroughly explore this book, but having owned the previous 2 volumes I am confident I will not be disappointed in this book. Buy it with confidence. You can't go wrong with this series of books by Dai Vernon and Lewis Ganson.


Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the Stage

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Alexander Wolf (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 April, 2022)

Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the StageThis PDF inspired me and I got new ideas from it. But that is not all. I got an idea what it means to deal with an audience in the right way so that they feel important. Get this PDF and get inspired too so that what you do will carry meaning. There is a deeper message behind this effect.


Kpyto

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Peter Vattimo (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 April, 2022)

KpytoSneaky ... yes. Pricey ... yes. Practical ... not for me. Many factors must be just right ... Can't give details, but definitely one of those items that can be done only some of the time. There are better ways to accomplish the effect. Have purchased other items by this author and been satisfied, but not this time. He is selling his work as individual purchases ... Would have been much better as a collection in a longer book/video.


22 Thumb Tip Handling Positions

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 14 April, 2022)

22 Thumb Tip Handling PositionsI only THOUGHT I knew thumb tips.

I didn't know how to practice and rehearse while walking with my walker. I didn't know I COULD practice while using my walker, much less do it invisibly. I didn't know I could rehearse while riding in a bumpy bus or crowded car. I didn't know I could paint a thumb tip bright blue and it would still be invisible.

I didn't know how to make sure several thumb and finger tips could be pocketed and be loaded without sight and always load properly aligned with my real fingers.

I didn't know things could be done with tips far beyond vanishing and producing cloths, sponges, and things which fit into the tip.

I do now, thanks to the clear, clean instruction via text AND video by Hal McClamma. And I plan to know more and do more.

Sometimes, it's not what you don't know. It's what you don't know you don't know.


Improved Invisible Deck

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Improved Invisible DeckOne of the best-gaffed decks because the routine with this deck is something the spectator will remember. Also, this PDF teaches not only how to improve the deck over the ones that can be bought. This is a real winner.


Dai Vernon's More Inner Secrets of Card Magic

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Dai Vernon's More Inner Secrets of Card MagicA well-known classic by one of the truly great masters. Anyone interested in card magic will find treasures here, and if you aren't into cards if you study this book then you will be.


The Endless Chain (Know-How Series)

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

The Endless Chain (Know-How Series)This is one of my favorite things in magic that doesn't use cards. Not difficult to do. Instead is mostly about developing a great presentation. I particularly like the Johnny Thompson routine. Packs small and plays big.


Routine in Major D

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Routine in Major DThis is by far the best routine I have ever seen using the mnemonica deck. Take some skill but well worth the effort. Have to be able to do a perfect faro but one of the best reasons I know to take the time to learn that. This is a HUGE winner. Would give it 10 stars if I could but also am glad that it is not a routine a lot of people know about


Cards to Slimfast

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by Tony Kent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Cards to SlimfastCarl is truly amazing, always original and has routines that most pros are blessed to be able to use. The way he loads the slimcast canister is really amazing and an idea that can be used with so many products. Especially cool if you are doing a corporate event for a company that has a product in a container like the slimfast one.


Personal Touch

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Alan Haden (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 April, 2022)

Personal TouchIn the ad-copy for the product it states:

"A crash course in palm reading spiced up with magic."

Reading this made me believe I was going to get a crash course in palm reading, but this was not the case. The video will not teach you anything whatsoever about reading palms - but if you are looking for a mind-reading effect that is suitable for an audience of one, then this short video by Docc Hilford will teach you a sneaky way to peek information whilst examining someone's palms.


Kpyto

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Michael Cook
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 April, 2022)

KpytoAll I have to say is don’t hesitate to buy this. You will not be disappointed. This is a way to have three cards chosen by three different people while your back is turned. Then without looking you can name all three. Super simple super easy. At $9 it’s a steal.


Memorable Mentalism: Mysteries With the Mnemonic Deck

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 April, 2022)

Memorable Mentalism: Mysteries With the Mnemonic DeckI am a lowly but well-read hobbyist. Memdeck routines with a mentalist presentation is exactly what I was looking for. But I have to say, Varella's Memorable Mentalism was disappointing.

The first half of the book is devoted to background about stacks and with helping you find and memorize a stack. There is a single page about switching in a stacked deck, which I found helpful.

There are four close up tricks offered, and this was the biggest disappointment. Not only are the ideas simple (to the point of simplistic), there are no suggestions about how to present them as mentalism (unless you find this line helpful: 'My patter revolved around intuition, coincidence or pure luck.'). They're tricks, not magic.

There is essentially a single idea for stage or television, and it involves a tiresome cliche as method (with minor variations).

The saving grace of this book is the Bonus Effect, Varella's variation of Elhers's famous routine in Ackerman's Las Vegas Kardma. (Oddly, Varella spends six pages on the previous five tricks, then devotes six pages to this single 'bonus' effect!) I don't expect I'll use any of his ideas, but the ideas are good and thought-provoking.

The book offers many sources as credits. There are better places for a beginner to start with stacks and memdeck work, and they can be found in this bibliography.


Listen and It Will Speak

Overall customer rating: ★★★

reviewed by Gary Howard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 April, 2022)

Listen and It Will SpeakI have no idea what this routine is supposed to achieve. If it's just a card reveal then I can think of lots of better ones.


Mental Marvel

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Edward Goscinski (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 April, 2022)

Mental MarvelThis equivoque effect should be a free download and is not worthy of a $10.00 cost.


Anti Tarot

Overall customer rating: ★★★★★

reviewed by robert farrell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 08 April, 2022)

Anti TarotThe author says it is called anti-tarot because it uses playing cards instead of tarot, but it should be called anti-tarot because the author has a charming idea of discovering the important card from having the spectator explain how their life has been going and showing the ultimate card is the inevitable card for that event etc. It is amusing to note the author's hostility to card readers while simultaneously expecting his spectators to be believers, the plot however charming, has however been explored in many different forms before, knowing the outcome card is hardly new, the method I think is complex for a simple problem, the price I find to be remarkable, well overpriced, I would not recommend purchase.


Commercial Gems Volume 3

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 3This booklet is the third in the series, and it doesn't disappoint either.

The first item mind reading teapot left me completely cold. It wouldn't fit my style, persona, or personal likes. But it is clever, well-thought out material.

#2 is PUNCH LINES, and it's worth the price of the booklet to a good comedic performer. Technically, it's a yawner, but if you're doing magic to learn techniques, you won't like any of Mr. Mellers' books.

Finally comes YOU READ MY MIND AND I'LL READ YOURS. Technically not that tough, but will require some courage to do. And once you learn it, you'll have an effect that is really solid. And I can't imagine a lay audience unraveling it at all.

It's a good solid book.


Commercial Gems Volume 2

Overall customer rating: ★★★★

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 April, 2022)

Commercial Gems Volume 2This booklet has one problem. There's so much good thinking in it.

The POCKET POWER is so stupidly clean and clever it almost makes you just blow past it. As I've said before, I read Mr. Mellers' to get ideas on HOW to think, not what. And this trick isn't new. But the premise is, and it makes great sense.

#2 in the booklet is the BREAD KNIFE CARD STAB...and much as it kills me to say this, "WHY DIDN'T I THINK OF THIS!". It's a brilliant idea. A super easy way to do a knife stab. And he gives you an excellent reason to DO the knife stab. His supplied script gives you enough info to see which way to go without giving you a complete script to just copy.

#3 TOSSED OUT DECK - with some clever handling twists, and VERY clever presentational twists that really make this look like a fun trick to do.

Displaying 486 to 510 (of 2035 reviews)
< 1... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21... ...81 >