Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 20

Read What Others Are Saying: page 20

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
111 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 484 to 508 (of 1408 reviews)


Karma Kosmic Kalender

reviewed by Balasubramanian Chandran (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 19 October, 2016)

Karma Kosmic KalenderI like this. Already prepared my diary - took about 45 mins. Packs multiple punches. What I like most is flexibility - great for both stage n close up. For stage a multi phase act with about 7-8 audience members is given. Builds up nicely to a big climax. And close up also can be done for 2 or 3 persons. Best part is there is only one diary and that too fully examinable (not that anyone would want to examine). Although knowing any stack can be an advantage from presentation angle, an easy method included even if you don't know any stack. In fact, after a first read, a found that a stack is not needed at all and any random sequence of cards can be used.

Any type of diary/date book can be used. The combo of methods is clean and self working, well almost.

Importantly, the presentation and theme given is interesting, clever and novel - blends well for the routine and methods. Like my earlier purchases of this author, happy with this one too.


Osmosis II

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 18 October, 2016)

Osmosis IIWhat Rick Carruth revue says. But importantly the advice within the work is sound as is the authors handling of the effects to amaze and astound spectators and excellent value for money for any card workers especially affordable for the younger magicians better food for the mind better than junk food attacking the body


The Box Goes-In-Da Box

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 18 October, 2016)

The Box Goes-In-Da Boxhttps://www.lybrary.com/triple-gozinta-boxes-a-23.html In regards to the above Lybrary link I think you have a vision to bring the box up-to modern times and materials and I admire you for you taking on a challenge that although problems at first a day will come and Gozinta boxes will be in use again not lost Lubor Fiedler creative mind gave the magic world a wonderful prop. Card board ones are selling on ebay for £149.50.

So "The Box Goes-In-Da Box" by Peter Prevos was an excellent addition to my library marine ply or balsa wood or perspex may be a choice for me. I hope to see your perseverance with this project.


Osmosis II

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Osmosis IIOSMOSIS II - Paul A Lelekis' Latest Ebook - A Review It seems as if I just reviewed the first Osmosis. Honestly, Paul writes 'em faster than I can review them. That said, it certainly doesn't mean Osmosis II is lacking in content. I believe there is MORE content in the second edition than in the first.

As I mentioned in the first review, I really liked it, in part because there was such a wide array of effects, helpful tips and information. I like diversity. I like small doses of magic converged with insightful writing. And I like effects I can understand. Those of you who know me from the Magic Roadshow know how I like to create issues full of a little bit of everything. Osmosis II reminds me of a Roadshow - It doesn't matter your skill level.. there's something for everyone, from the beginner to the pro. Paul has the ability to pick effects from some of the giants of magic, add his personal twists, and make it easily performable.. even for a klutz like myself. The first three effects are all good examples. Michael Skinner's version of Marlo's Poker Deal, Comedy Card Mis-call, and Paul's reworking of a Stewart James classic Ace Cutting routine. Now, when I say Paul makes effects 'easily performable', I wasn't necessarily meaning all his effects are easily performable by everyone. These three are all in the intermediate range and take a little practice.. but that's only fair as we aren't talking 'self-working' here. Divided among the three effects, if you can perform nice double-lifts, a false cut, hold a little finger break, perform double undercuts to the bottom or top, and carry out a false count (after explicit directions from Paul).. you can perform all three like a BOSS.. The Ace Cutting routine is the more difficult of the three, but considering the spectator shuffled the deck prior to the reveal, is well worth the extra effort. Paul includes his personal patter, and even a little 'blue' humor if you're so inclined and in the right company, to each effect, along with handling tips that simplify the working and practicality. 'An Example of Comedy Control' takes advantage of crowd psychology and helps gain control of a small group of spectators through comedy, making them super-receptive to your magic -without- the use of curse words, firearms, ancient cutting weapons, obnoxious animals, and alcohol. Just a matter of saying the right thing, and waiting on them to take the bait... 'Osmosis I' featured a brilliant bit of professional misdirection. 'Osmosis II' doubles down with another extremely useful treatise designed to provide ample cover for all those double undercuts, and other similar sleights, you used in conjunction with the first three effects. Nice... Paul included another of his favorite coin routines in Jumbo Coin Production. Anyone who has experienced the look of amazement on a spectator's face when you produce a big-ass coin knows the value of a good giant coin reveal.. I am not a good one to critique coin manipulation.. remember, I'm a klutz, so I'll have to leave the validity of this effect to those of you who are.. 'Take a Break with some Optical Illusions!'.. One of those sneaky little diversions we renaissance men like to toss amongst our genius.. To quote Paul's Table of Content, the next feature is... ' Hand Stuff - Here is an excerpt from Bill Spooner’s JOURNAL of MAGIC RESEARCH by Bill Wysong giving a list of creams, solids and powders for applying to our dry hands for manipulations… especially with cards!'.. I consider this so vital I ran an article in my last Magic Roadshow about properly preparing your hands for a performance. For years I couldn't figure how certain magicians had fingertip control over a deck of cards, able to perform effortless second deals and false counts.. until I discovered it wasn't ALL natural ability.... Welcome to the REAL underground... Color Changing Knives, Torn and Restored Napkins, Coin Transposition, Money Transportation, An Idea and Routine with an Optical Illusion, Paul Curry's Swindle Switch, Clippo, and a very detailed section on the Faro Shuffle converge in a section Paul calls:

"An eclectic collection of ideas and tricks for you to apply, peruse, and/or integrate into your shows.."

They are just that... a collection of magical thoughts and studies that cover a wide array of props. I think I mentioned in my last review that these can be the most valuable of all. As magicians, we are always looking for a useful tip or trick.. and often judge a book or dvd by how many 'tips' we garnered from it. I have so many 'resources', some very expensive, that resulted in absolutely nothing worthwhile, at least as far as my magic is concerned. Osmosis I and II both provided me with several effects/tips I added to my repertoire.. and that is my highest compliment. The last section of Osmosis II turned from magic to magic history. Knowing the history of cards, or in this case, one particular card, the Jack, gives your magic a dose of authenticity and realism. We all think of the face cards as 'Royalty'.. but that's not completely true... Paul says: "The Jack or Knave was NOT a term used to indicate royalty as many think today. These terms were used to indicate a dishonest male, a male servant or a male of humble position in society. These terms are also used to indicate a deceitful male. Jacks or Knaves are also used to describe a thief, murderer, a villain or even a monster! Many will remember the most famous of serial murderers, Jack the Ripper. No one knew who Jack the Ripper was, but the term “Jack” was used to describe him!"... I can honestly say I didn't know that... The complete history of the JACK is described in a way that makes you want to go out an impress someone right now! Paul says, "Girls who wear glasses still can’t see your passes!".. So, to add a definite professionalism to your performances he included videos of his three most-used passes.…the Classic Pass, the Jiggle Pass (my favorite), and Steve Draun’s Midnight Shift. This was a nice way to finish off Osmosis II, with a tutorial of perhaps the most honored of all magic sleights. So many magicians gave up on the pass long ago, and these three videos may be the motivation you need to reevaluate their essential qualities. Who knows.. maybe this time next year you will have mastered the greatest of the most humble of artistic pursuits... the one skill that, once mastered, goes totally unseen. Bummer... But you better believe that other magicians, unlike other artists, both know and appreciate it's perfection. OSMOSIS II is 35 pages in length and available exclusively through Lybrary.com for $10.00 (Instant download) Available October 15th, 2016.. This is Paul's 37th ebook, and in my opinion, one of his very best...

Rick Carruth - The Magic Roadshow


Modern Mentalism

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Modern MentalismI was just recently asking myself the question, why isn't there a book of fundamental mentalism concepts, a la an updated version of Corinda, to take into account modern topics such as which hand, propless mentalism, electronics, dual reality, cell phone effects, etc.? Sure, there are some wonderful fundamental DVDs, such as Richard Osterlind's own 13 Steps or Dan Harlan's stuff out of Tarbell, but for those of us who like to read in addition to watch, a new book would be great. And then this import, purporting to be just that, arrived. Modern Mentalism, a translation of an original Italian edition, promises itself as a primer on all things mentalism--multiple outs, Svengali Deck, Invisible Deck, hypnosis, psi touches, nail writer, predictions, the Berglas Effect..a veritable encyclopedia of technique. But does it succeed? No. While these and other topics are discussed, they are glossed over and treated in almost cursory fashion. If you have absolutely no knowledge of any mentalism effects, then this book may have some value to you, just to get an overview of the subject matter. But if you have any experience at all, this way overpriced work will leave you cold. It's just so disappointing, from the trivialization of important topics (no real discussion of peeks, center tears, or billets that I could see) to the meager explanations (You need to force a card. Here, this is exactly one card force method. There you go.). And the translation has lots of mistakes. (It's "treatise," guys, not "treaty." Oh wait, you actually did get that correct once at the end of the book.)

In the end, you have a poor value for your money with this ebook. For half the price, Corinda still reigns supreme as the timeless fundamentals book. Maybe someday someone will update it. Heck, someone could just annotate it in the margins with some modern methods and notations of things that are archaic. Heck, maybe I'll do that myself one day after I retire. But until then, read Corinda and treasure it. It's the one primer that you need, not Modern Mentalism.


Osmosis II

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Osmosis IIOsmosis II by Paul Lelekis is another superb collection of great tricks and tons of useful tips and information to make you a better performer. For starters, Paul teaches some very practical handling of classic effects like the Marlo Poker Deal and the James Ace Cutting/Production routine. As always the moves are economical, clean and direct and designed to avoid all suspicion. An original Comedy Card Quickie, a wonderful Jumbo Coin production idea, and some real world Comedy Control advice round out the main chapters and will help you bring your performances up to a new level. Paul’s books go way beyond just teaching some tricks. This one is no exception. The chapters on Professional Misdirection and on Hand Care (much overlooked but very important!) alone are worth the price of the book. I really enjoyed the additional chapters on fun stuff like some really cool Optical Illusions, the History of the Jacks, and a Collection of neat little Quick Tricks that are perfect ice breakers or attention getters. And if that’s not enough, Paul includes some great work on Passes and the Faro Shuffle. His treatments and Attitude/Philosophy of these useful moves help you take the fear out of performing them. There is a ton of material here. All very clearly laid out and designed to make you a better Performer/Entertainer. I don’t know how Paul keeps coming up with all this great stuff, but I’m sure glad he does. If you have Osmosis I, you’ll know that Osmosis II is a must have!


Osmosis II

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Osmosis IIOsmosis 1 received its due recognition, and I am glad. That Osmosis 2 is a sequel to that, I am grateful for. When a busily, working, professional-magician tips the mitt on his ‘Workers’ and approach to Audience Management – you respond by running fast. You have not run fast enough, until you have applied at least one piece out of this large collection of tested-and-proven routines. In this new volume (his 37th eBook), I enjoyed many new pieces of card magic, however I enjoyed the chapters on Comedy Control, Professional Misdirection, Jumbo Coin Production, doing the Passes, and the story behind the Jacks in a deck. Read it, test it out, and Lelekis’s ideas may transfer to you by osmosis –through that thin membrane that separates your trick from your magic.


Osmosis II

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Osmosis II"Osmosis II" is a little gem from a man who exclusively makes his living performing & entertaining real people with magic. His work & multiple videos included with the book are wonderful lessons for any student of magic. He has hammered out real magic to play strong in the real world. I especially like & now use his tips on misdirection. Money well spent.


Thoughtless ACAAN

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 16 October, 2016)

Thoughtless ACAANRyan Shaw got my attention with his first of many to come magical works "Thoughtless ACAAN'". As most magicians if not all, should if not already learned at least one card at any number effect that will suit there own style of presentation this young man from Massachusetts should me admired for his first work and encouraged to use his love and enthusiasm of magic effects that pack a punch with any audience also for his words of young wisdom within the work which I will not divulge hear you should already know and implement in your own show If not purchase This Young Gentleman of magic first work shared hear on the Library site maybe this effect will be in your own repertoire soon


Magic Digest

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 October, 2016)

Magic DigestThis George Anderson knew his magic.

He also knew what was enjoyed by audiences I recommend this purchase for the serious interested in magic plus history side. I have a printed original copy in my working library, for a new unused copy you could pay up to £140.00 +£2.80 prices vary from international sellers so $15.00 a wise investment no pages to get drink spilt on or chewed by cat/dog /children and easy on the eyes excellent foundation building block for any new magician or memory jog for the old ones like me

If that is not enough there are two really entertaining bonus sections. One reprints the bizarre tricks of the ancients and the other a runs a cross-section of honestly amazing advertisements for tricks sold by dealers in magic equipment. Most of these items were 'the latest' when the book came out in the early 1960s, but almost all of them are either white hot collectable now or displayed as museum pieces.


Karma Kosmic Kalender

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 October, 2016)

Karma Kosmic KalenderFor many many years now (after performing it over a 100 times), I had always held Bob Cassidy's chronologue as a benchmark in diary effects - and for good reason.

But now for me Karma Kosmic Kalendar will be the new benchmark in diary effects. That's saying a lot. Because it is that good. This will now replace Chronologue both in my jacket pocket and in my act - both stage n close up. Need I say anything more? That pretty much sums up my review, I guess.


Massive Fire Bowl Production

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 October, 2016)

Massive Fire Bowl ProductionDevin Knight has made available to us a captivating collection of three effects which share aspects of their methods. There is "U.F. Grant's Massive Fire Bowl Production," which is absolutely spectacular. It is presented with a version of this Trick that produces "A Goblet of Fire," which is themed from "Harry Potter," and also a delightful trick for the Halloween "Trick or Treats" which first produces a candy container, and then offers the child a treat. This is entertaining, charming, and mysterious magic with fire that will surely grab the attention of your audiences.


Phantom Mindreader

reviewed by Dr. Munawar Pasha (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 October, 2016)

Phantom MindreaderWell, I must say the idea is not new. But materials are really hard to find to make this gimmick. Also describtion is a little misleading. I did not learn anything new as I was already using this on a book test. Also another product so kind of disappointed. So I get nothing new. Also building the gimmick is much of a pain.


Karma Kosmic Kalender

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 October, 2016)

Karma Kosmic KalenderYet again food for thought and stimulation of ones own mind. Presenting through use of Diary in a mentalist capacity.make it a date in your own diary to purchase and gain results


Zodiak Gods

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 04 October, 2016)

Zodiak GodsThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST and LYBRARY.COM has done it again.

First of all this effect is one at the top of my list from the UNKNOWN MENTALIST.

This is an excellent way to get information about the spectators ZODIAC SIGN, ZODIAC GODS, and any other information you care to give regarding their sign.

The amount of information you give will depend on the amount of information you want to memorize...Lucky Numbers, Colors, etc.

You can also give some cold reading info with the spectators sign AND/OR information that you look up on line regarding the spectators sign.

In my opinion I give this a 20+ rating and I PREDICT that this effect will be used for a very long time.

I also want to give Chris credit for this at Lybrary.COM. The cards mailed to you are excellent quality and I will probably buy more on rare occasions even after this effect goes up in price. The cards will last a long time.

Again, Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST


Defective Cups and Balls

reviewed by Mark Dilliway (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 September, 2016)

Defective Cups and BallsYet another winner by Mr. Lelekis. Dust off your cups and balls and get ready to perform this classic effect with a difference. The premise and patter for this routine is just second to none, plus the B'Wave Oil & Water bonus is also brilliant. As with everything that Paul produces, you can put them straight into your repertoire to get great reactions, laughter, and to give a truly magical performance. Thanks for sharing this with us Paul.


Thaumatology

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 28 September, 2016)

Thaumatology‘Thaumathurgy’ means ‘works of miracle’, and if THAUMATOLOGY is inspired by that, then these ‘Workers’ can inspire magic, works of marvels, and miracles. One of my favourite effects is Marlo’s THE COLOUR CHANGING DECK. Ring in only one stranger-card and there is so much return on your investment. And, so is a book of matches in MATCH BURNS TWICE…MAYBE THRICE? The simple but effective reveal of a card in VOODOO ASHES may lead you to review this old effect. There are several more in this collection of eight effects, yet they promise one thing – designed to inflict maximum impact because they have been raised to a higher realm. One example is Mike Skinner’s treatment on Peter Kane’s ‘Jazz Aces’ in SKINNER’S JAZZ ACES. I actually started with the last two mentalism effects (‘art mathematical’) involving dice and a writing-pad. The principles are so simple, yet we tend to overlook them. Simplicity and clarity of effect are the trademarks of Paul Lelekis’s creations and choice of saintly effects. Buy it. Go forth and be a wonder-worker!


UF Grant's Lost Card Secrets

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 September, 2016)

UF Grant's Lost Card SecretsThe amount of careful research and scholarship Devin Knight has applied to this excellent group of surprising card spelling effects, together with a stunning card transposition, presents the legendary magic of UF Grant so that there are valuable secrets here that are of use by the magician of today. Grant speaks to us once again through the dedication of Devin Knight.


The Magic of Magic

reviewed by Gerard Zitta (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 September, 2016)

The Magic of MagicVery nice examples of what Magic should be indeed. Thanks for sharing.


Zodiak Gods

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 25 September, 2016)

Zodiak GodsThis will join my wallet with POCKET MINDS by Unknown Mentalist 5 MIND BLOWING EFFECTS. ONE SINGLE CARD. One mans work may stimulate many a old mind but no need to start a cult with this effect just proper presentation after long dedicated practice time as deserved my all magical creations. Present at appropriate moment and wait for the response


My Favorites

reviewed by Mark Dilliway (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 22 September, 2016)

My FavoritesThere are lots of kids publishing lots of card effects. But if you want quality effects by a true professional, then look no further than Mr. Lelekis! This man earns his Buckolas' by performing and creating TOP QUALITY material. The sort of material that will leave your audience's jaws all agog! This book is no different, his version of the Dream Card is literally the very best card effect I have ever learned / read. Top notch thinking with a truly amazing climax. This guy knows his onions, there's no silly hype which proves to be hot air. These are effects to get excited about. If you haven't already indulged in any of his works, now is a great time to start, and I guarantee that you won't be disappointed. At the end of the day, if you want to perform truly outstanding effects that WILL please your spectators, then learn from the man that does this day in, day out. Yes, I am a fan, but why wouldn't I be. This is true working material. Two words 'BUY NOW'.


Kommando Kard

reviewed by Robin Gillett (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 21 September, 2016)

Kommando KardI love the Karma Deck, but it only allows casual examination by the spectators. The Kommando Kard allows you to perform many of the effects that require a stacked deck, but (1) WITHOUT a deck of cards AND (2) it will withstand examination by the audience. Like the old American Express commercial. "Don't leave home without it!"


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVTHE KANNIBAL KARDS is the reason for my purchase of this quality work other accompanying effect are practical too well done to the author.


Osmosis

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

OsmosisMy review will not do this work justice but those who have already contributed their thought's example Rick Carruth from magic road show fame and Magic Tips and Tricks which can be purchased from Amazon in paperback and kindle, Rick knows the quality of this author's work which can quite often be found in issues of the road show so don't let the lemon float by give the work some purchase and reading and practice time you will not be sorry.


Thaumatology

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 September, 2016)

ThaumatologyI like Jazz Ace routines so a chance to read the authors ideas one of which Michael Skinner - Skinner's Jazz Aces was a reason enough to purchase English born Peter Kane (1938-2004) created many memorable close-up magic effects. He also contributed articles/routines to various magic periodicals. His routine Jazz Aces which is an Ace Assembly card routine done with the aces and only four other cards which was first published in Another Card Session with Peter Kane (1971). Peter also used to perform this effect with 2 jumbo cards. It's a simplification of Seven Card Assembly by Edward Marlo. And excellent reading /recommended research is Jerry Mentzer jazz combo.

Displaying 484 to 508 (of 1408 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >