Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 15

Read What Others Are Saying: page 15

1181 ★★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★ reviews
76 ★★★★★ reviews
56 ★★★★★ reviews
83 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 367 to 391 (of 1516 reviews)


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 31 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoThe cover of ‘Janus’ alludes to a hidden message: a lesser-used method/principle in card magic. This two-faced gaff acts as a portal, forwards and backwards, to create a direct pathway between method and effect. The 10 routines featured in these 35 pages are simple to perform, yet they pack a punch on entertainment value – this should appeal to the bold-faced strolling magician. I boldly predict that Kevin Casaretto’s broad body of work on the use of these dubious faces, should receive far more attention through the authorship of Paul Lelekis (with 52 ebooks to his writing credit). I enjoyed the various applications of these tools, especially ‘Magazine Mental Test’, ‘Five Colour Twist’ and ‘Signed, Sealed & Delivered.’ Do buy this book, and ‘ring in the fooler’. I back up this book with a very high recommendation.


Chapeaugraphy Act

reviewed by Greg Phillips (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 August, 2018)

Chapeaugraphy ActNothing new in this publication. He mentions "plastic" to make the brims but is more likely speaking of thin foam. Save you $5.


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 25 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoIf you have never used double back or double face cards before you are truly missing out on some truly magical affects. The diabolical concept of these gaffed cards is something that is not in the psychological realm of laymen. They have nowhere to go. The resulting magic visual & stunning. These "little helpers" streamline and elevate the magical impact well beyond that which even advanced, difficult sleight-of-hand can accomplish. There are some great routines here once you try, you will smile and use.


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoJANUS: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto compiled and written by Paul A. Lelekis is a very welcome addition to the card magicians’ library. All the effects require the use of gimmicked cards that I’m sure most card magicians already have or can easily acquire. These brilliant effects are well written and have really no very complicated moves. They are streamlined and straightforward and they will have maximum impact on your spectators. I really enjoyed working through these effects. They proved to me that with the use of just a few gimmicked cards it can really kick up the overall effect to a whole new level of Wow Factor for your audience. Well worth the effort of having just a few extra cards on hand! I learned some fun new handlings along the way particularly in the effects JANUS, Magazine Mental Test, Turn Over Cards and Card to Wallet. The 2-Card Monte move is awesome; you’ll be fooling yourself in no time. Overall, these are real workers effects that again are not complicated or confusing. The book includes two videos by Paul Lelekis to help you learn two of the moves. Kevin Casaretto has offered effects that are fun to perform and amazing to your audience. I think you’ll find JANUS to be refreshing and well worth finding a few of those cool little gimmick cards. You’ll be happy you did!


Janus: The Magic of Kevin Casaretto

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Janus: The Magic of Kevin CasarettoJanus is the card magic of Kevin Casaretto of Salisbury, South Australia ... as told by Paul Lelekis. Kevin compiled this exceptional collection of original effects through years of hard work and recently contacted Paul with the enviable task of putting everything together into an ebook. There are a total of ten effects and all effects use a simple combination of gaff cards.

Nothing other than double backers, double facers, and red/blue backed cards are used. Nothing is used that you could not create in a minute or two with regular cards and a roll of double backed tape or rub on and/or white children's glue. Of course, you can buy gaffs at most magic shops and online ... and they are very affordable.

I truly appreciate all the time, thought, and effort that went into JANUS ... and I thank Kevin and Paul for their efforts. Well worth your time and money.


Coins by Roy Volume 1 (download DVD)

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 August, 2018)

Coins by Roy Volume 1 (download DVD)I have known Roy for quite a while and his coin magic is exquisite! When he came to my house a few months ago, there was non-stop magic! I was fooled over and over again! Not only will you learn beautiful moves and routines - but also HOW to execute them flawlessly. Roy Eidem makes coin magic very easy to learn. In my many years of performing, I always noticed the big smiles that coin magic puts on everyone's faces...but when Roy Eidem performs his brand of coin magic, he makes everyone's' jaws DROP! Coin magic should be in every magician's repertoire, and Roy Eidem is the man to learn from. Roy Eidem is THE 21st Century coin magician's, coin magician!


Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2

reviewed by Dave Campbell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 August, 2018)

Bad Influence: Before Computers Series 2This is a nice packet trick in the theme of Dazzle all that followed. It's fun that the original is as it was in all it's 1970's glory. Ahead of the original there is material including screenshots elaborating on one of the moves used. I was able to quickly make up packets for this from my various open decks, and after a couple tries, it moves quite nicely. Definitely worth the price!


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by Ewen McLachlan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 16 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI agree with Trevor Fletcher's review. The statement 'The cards are then cut by the spectator and shuffled' is a stretch beyond the limit of how it actually appears. Not worth it.


9-2-1 Prediction

reviewed by Trevor Fletcher (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 15 August, 2018)

9-2-1 PredictionI rarely write a bad review. That being said, this is an awful "prediction" and left such a bad taste in my mouth I had to say something.

It's too convoluted for such little reward. All these "cuts" and counts for a very "blah" ending. With all the other available packet style tricks out there, this one is just too forgettable.


In The Hole

reviewed by Jean-Paul Mercier (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 July, 2018)

In The HoleI just paid $7.50 US for this.... Sad !


1415AD

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 06 July, 2018)

1415ADThis is another nice deck stack which has been out for awhile. The UNKNOWN MENTALIST has really done a lot of thinking outside the box with this stack. Well done UNKNOWN MENTALIST. I highly recommend this!!!


Psilent Library Psychic Librarian

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 June, 2018)

Psilent Library Psychic LibrarianThis is another GREAT effect to perform on lay people. I knew about this effect before but the only thing stopping me from using it was I didn't quite like the original patter with the effect but the methodology used was incredible. Where else can you find an effect for this price and be able to predict the total price of the books selected AND pick up the thoughts of the title of the two books the spectators are thinking of?

Years ago I used to do CASINO ROYALE from LARRY BECKER in some of my shows and CRUISE CONTROL from LEE EARLE in other shows. These are both effects with multiple predictions also and the props look great but the price difference was great also.

All I can say is for 18 dollars you have a very nice effect which you can print up the props yourself.

Also with three different presentations you will definitely find the right presentation for you.

As with 99.9% of THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S material I recommend this highly.


The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorial

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 June, 2018)

The Gaff Factory: A comprehensive dry-mounting tutorialThis book is good. Very good. He gives a clear and thorough explanation of joining cards using dry mount materials. And the method works.

I have not tried everything in his book, as I'm just starting. But I have made double backers and double facers with little effort. A split facer took 1 try.

And because dry mount is used, the cards have the correct feel to them and they coalesce into the deck unlike the rubber cement versions I've built in the past.

I do NOT use his exact method of splitting the cards, nor do I use anyone else's exact method. I think splitting cards is somewhat idiosyncratic, so it might help if you've seen several other tutorials on splitting cards to give you alternative ideas.

But all in all, good book. And if I graduate to the more complicated builds - next up, the Hofzinser card - well, then it's a great book.


P.A.T.H.S.

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 June, 2018)

P.A.T.H.S.This EBOOK is incredible. You also need his ORIGINS EBOOK also! What I really like about this EBOOK is that it gave me a broader understanding of how to construct a BRANCHING Anagram. I am very familiar with PROGRESSIVE Anagrams. I really like all the material in this EBOOK and right now I am thinking mostly of all the material under PATH I, PATH II, ANAGRAM ARCHITECTURE with the ASTROLOGY ANAGRAM and TRIANGULATION 2.0 FEMALE and TRIANGULATION 2.0 MALE.

I think I'm least interested in ALPHAGRAM because it looks like heady stuff to me but I'm sure I could do it after studying it quite a bit.

PATHS IV and V would also take some thinking to do but the TRUTH/LIAR routine looks very interesting.

This material combined with ORIGINS will definitely give you some believable material.

I really don't care how a mentalist performs a BA/PA as long as he really studies all the material out there and focuses on presentation. Also a performer can use any method that he wants. I do multiple methods myself and if questioned on a change of methodology I simply say "Different people think different ways. That is why I pick things up differently."

I have a word list in my wallet for a PA effect. The effect is from THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST'S WORLDS WITHIN WORDS EBOOK. I simply have a spectator choose a word that he can spell in his mind and then take the paper back in place it in my wallet. Then I simply reveal it by using a PA. But now I'm probably going to actually change this to a BA because it is easier in my opinion to use this effect with a BA because you don't have many letters to ask to know the thought of word. But it is a nice extra effect to have with you along with doing other BA/PA'S.

I also am constructing my own word list on a flash drive from various sources so I can make PA lists about anytime that I need to. For example using three different word lists with three different spectators would be amazing.

Again, Matt Mello's thinking on this subject is AMAZING. I recommend his PA EBOOKS very highly!!!

Well done my friend. Please put out more PA/BA EBOOKS in the future.


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 27 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Before the Internet age, when our audience exclaimed 'That's Impossible!', it was music to our ears. Indeed, it still is an assuring response, when today's jaded and informed audience (raised on a plethora of magic performances and exposes), utter this simple exclamation. To astonish and amaze the spectator, the classical plots remain, yet, undaunted by time and technology. These are clearly designed effects with a direct route from Method to Effect, with clever integration of built-in Misdirection. Each of these four gemstones in this small book, can help us cast illumination and elucidation on our individual sense of purpose in magic. 'That's Impossible' nudged me to reconsider the in-the-hands impact of a simple translocation. The finish of this trick tempted me to do Francis Carlyle's 'Homing Card' trick. 'Changes' is an 'Interchange' effect, done naturally and deliberately (with neatness and precision) before the big finish. One would be incomplete as a close-up worker without a strong 'red-black' separation in 'Ultimate Oil & Water'. The bonus effect by J.K. Hartman emphasises why acts of impossibility can be distilled into simplicity and boldness of moves. Professional magician and prolific writer, Paul Lelekis has once again written and compiled four powerful card effects from his repertoire. Learn these, rehearse these as scripted and choreographed, and await those lovely words 'That's Impossible!'


Foam Kangaroo Abs

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 26 May, 2018)

Foam Kangaroo AbsI couldn't agree more than what Christian Fisanick has to say about this EBOOK. Also I agree to make sure you buy THE PRODIGAL by ATLAS BROOKINGS first to make sure you get a very good understanding how the BA/PA system works and a detailed understanding of presentation. In my opinion also buy the Matt Mello books and THE UNKNOWN MENTALISTS books on this subject among others. You will have everything from traditional to very unusual approaches. I need to buy one more MATT MELLO EBOOK PATHS to complete my collection!

I'm crazy but imagine doing this: I plan to do this close up. I will use the effects CONTINENTS and MIDWESTERN STATES out of this EBOOK and combine this with COUNTRY CONUNDRUM out of ATLAS BROOKINGS THE PRODIGAL EBOOK. This way I can divine a continent the spectator is thinking of, a country a spectator is thinking of, AND a Midwest state and capital a spectator is thinking of. Also by the way, I have a list of words that I use to test a spectators psychic ability in my wallet based on the PA principle. If the spectator doesn't believe I can walk on water after this I give up.

Of course, If my brain doesn't turn to mush with this I'll even learn more BA'S/PA'S in the future.

I hope all these talented people come up with MORE BA/PA EBOOKS in the future. I can't wait to add them to my library!

Well done my friend. I give this material my highest recommendation. If someone doesn't buy this they lose!!!


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!That’s Impossible!! By Paul Lelekis is another time-tested collection of awesome card tricks that you’ll find both a pleasure to learn and entertaining to your audience. These are old classics that Paul has reworked and updated for the modern audience. Read Pauls’ intro and you’ll learn why it’s so important to know and honor the great magicians and their wonderful effects from the past. It’s like the musician who’s new to jazz. He must learn all about Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, Louie Armstrong and the great tunes they made famous. I loved working on “That’s Impossible” in particular. So cool that you’re set up for a card to pocket trick at the end…very clever! An awesome working of “Oil and Water” a neat transposition effect and an ingenious sandwich effect all together is one handy e-book. The workings are all streamlined and written up in Pauls’ clear, easy to grasp style. Includes three video clips to help you along the way learning some beautiful controls. So what are you waiting for? Get this book, grab a deck of cards and start having fun!


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Paul knows what magicians like. They love effects that amaze the public.. and fool fellow magicians. The former is available in many magic books. The latter is available right here. I recommend THAT'S IMPOSSIBLE to my readers and to my magic buddies. You can't beat the cost.. at only two dollars per effect for professionally scripted classics. Get it...


That's Impossible!

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 22 May, 2018)

That's Impossible!Paul is a full time working magician & knows what plays for the working performer. If you are a lover of card magic, these are some direct magical effects you will use & even fool your magic friends.


Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 16 May, 2018)

Magic Handbook (Science and Mechanics)I have a physical original copy in my working library it is is like the masked magician in paper back or a early Patrick Page Big Book of Magic secrets are old but well worth the read for beginners as is the Patrick Page book you just have to adapt to today's market.


Arrow Through Bottle and Coin

reviewed by Péter Ágoston
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 May, 2018)

Arrow Through Bottle and CoinThe tutorial is great, covers everything, easy to follow. I think this is a great deal for this price!


Tarot Magic

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 28 April, 2018)

Tarot MagicI happen to be very impressed with this material on Tarot cards.

First of all the book has all sorts of valuable information about aging Tarot cards and extensive notes on other EXTREMELY VALUABLE TAROT CARD BOOKS AND COLD READING.

As far as I'm concerned if you at least try to get the material listed on Tarot Cards and cold reading along with Bascom Jones Magick Manuscript and Lee Earle's Syzygy Manuscript. Some of these may be a bit hard to get your hands on but well worth it if you can.

The only thing I really didn't care about is using marked Tarot cards for a lot of the effects. However, having said that there are some easy forces to use and even Si Stebbins stack using Tarot cards.

My opinion is that if you own this material, and buying other material suggested in the manuscript you will have DYNAMITE Tarot card presentations.

I recommend this very highly.


ESP

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 17 April, 2018)

ESPInteresting idea, kludgy construction. Here's a 15-minute video on the construction of a gimmicked note pad to reveal a prediction. The concept, I believe, goes back to the classic El Numero by Syd Bergson, but the construction is different. (Richard Osterlind demonstrates El Numero on one of his videos. I forget which one. That effect has long been out of production, but it is simple to make.) And I think that the construction here, while workable, is not ideal. You have to worry about distance and lighting. It's not a bad gimmick, but even in its creator's hands, it isn't the smoothest thing in the world. If you get this, I would take the basic method and rework it into something different. I can think of a few ways to do it, but I doubt that I will. El Numero is superior.


The Fairytale Of The Silver Pearl

reviewed by Lawrence Goldstein (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 April, 2018)

The Fairytale Of The Silver PearlThis is a lovely effect. There is no question about it. Unfortunately the video production values don't match the effect.

The performance section of the video is mostly zoomed in on the "pearl" and rarely are you shown Peki from far enough back to see his actual working of the effect. While very pretty, this is less than useful in learning the effect.

In the explanation section of the video, while it does show how to attach the pearl, there is no discussion of the proper size or weight of pearl to use. Does the weight of the pearl matter to the effect? It must, but there are no hints in that regard. Another problem with the routine description is that there is no discussion of the clam shell box and the role that it plays in the effect, at the least, you should be told how heavy the box needs to be to provide a suitable anchor. There also is no discussion of how to get the button into your mouth at the start of the routine nor how to clean-up after the routine is over. That is, the very beginning of the routine, the get-ready part of the performance, is not shown, nor is the putting away of the props. While these should be unimportant parts to your audience, they are not unimportant to you as the performer. How do you focus attention way from these necessary bits of skulduggery while in front of an audience, and just what skulduggery do you do? This is not covered in the video.

Finally the video seems to be a sketchy editing from out of a longer and possibly more comprehensive video. Perhaps the missing information is covered there? Unfortunately it is not here.

While these problems are not insurmountable, they detract from the overall value received.


Storytelling for Magicians

reviewed by Lawrence Goldstein (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 April, 2018)

Storytelling for MagiciansThis would be a good $5 physical manuscript and a good $2 pdf. At $20 it is not worth the paper it isn't printed on. Cara Hamilton writes clearly and concisely, but the pamphlet is only 35 pages long (including cover and introductory material) and has a very few useful ideas or bits of advice. I expected a much longer and more detailed work for a $20 pdf. This was not that. I cannot recommend purchase that that price. If the price comes down to $2 or $3, then go ahead and buy it. You won't be wasting your money. But for $20 ... well it wasn't worth that to me.

Displaying 367 to 391 (of 1516 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >