Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 17

Read What Others Are Saying: page 17

1103 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 411 to 435 (of 1410 reviews)


Marpis

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 January, 2017)

MarpisIn order to help Tommy's friend who lost her work due to a serious health issue (pulmonary hypertension and multiple sclerosis) he decide to help her by raising money through his eBooks and he is offering an insane deal. And that is what it is exactly a insane deal I have only read one so fare and it is quality workable magic. A great deal of work on the ACAAN is not to be missed and Bonus: Michael Kociolek added two of his own eBooks to the bundle and Peter Duffie added four of his eBooks. so what are you waiting for its cold and these collective works will definitely take your mind off the temperature. If you live in warmer climates ? do you want a guest?


Magician's DIY Tips and Tricks

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 January, 2017)

Magician's DIY Tips and TricksI would be surprised if any reader could not find something they could use, improve or create an alternative this i will give pride and place in my working lybrary and return without a kite but in search for inspiration I use the wax found on some cheese. which comes in various colours red I have used for back of bicycle playing cards when attaching thread of the invisible variety. black for for black art boxes for spook shows so read this book and find answers to a problem you may have with a effect also if you collect a large amount of wax of cheese you can roll it into a golf ball size sphere which is good for hand exercises for old stiff fingers we all will have a tip or two why not send it to Chris so this work can expand?


The Decksterity Code

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 December, 2016)

The Decksterity CodeI was able to remember and master the code from the first watching without having to go back or take notes. OK, maybe I am an exception. If you have a good memory, you can learn this system from one viewing, although you may want to watch it several times. I will teach this to my girlfriend in a few minutes (the basic system) and then we will practice and practice the code. This will be in my spring mentalism shows. Highly recommended!


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Marc DeSouza
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 28 December, 2016)

Magic Variety PackHere is another terrific collection of mostly close-up magic for the performers. Many of these are classic and neo-classic routines that have been created or used by others, but Paul gives us his personalized handlings that are obviously from the repertoire of a worker. Paul begins with some tips that offer some very sage advice for those who wish to perform for laymen. First up is EZ Cards Across, a very aptly named routine. I use Cards Across a lot, but mine requires several palms and holding out cards. Not so here; this version relies on subtleties and a very simple move. Close Up Color Changing Silk is next and this is a fun commercial routine well within the capabilities of most. Two Coins is a multi-phased routine with lots of action and a kicker finish. Nice thinking here. His EZ Torn and Restored Card is a very direct version of this currently popular trick. Despite the simplicity, it will get the job done and will fool laymen., His Wine Bottle Production is a nice opener for the stand-up performer. This would be a great way to lead in to a Coin in Bottle routine. Paul offers a very in depth tutorial on The Biddle Trick and it is a real winner...a worthy addition to anyone's close up repertoire. Under the heading Quickies, he offers many suggestions for both the technique and effects using The Top Change and Double/Triple Turnovers. In addition, there are several more card techniques and effects discussed. This is a bargain for anyone looking to add some new material to their tool box, as well as get some great insight into magic from a real pro.


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 December, 2016)

Magic Variety PackFor ten bucks you get real world worker tested material from full-time pro Paul Lelekis. Everything that Paul offers is always the real deal! Nice mixture of mental, coin, silk, & card magic. Use any one of the magical affects offered and you will reap your modest investment ten fold.


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 December, 2016)

Magic Variety Packexactly what the other revues have said and good to see Rick Carruth of magic news and roadshow fame and not forgetting Magic Tips and Tricks [Book] and also to see /read his revues after recent health problems but for me as is all Paul's past works purchased true value for money and mind stimulating too well done Paul


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 27 December, 2016)

Magic Variety PackRead Paul Lelekis’s Magic Variety Pack from the beginning. Never gloss over his Introduction(s). That is the gemstone of this multi-faceted ring. I can easily echo his wise sentence: ‘Be the one in command of your arena!’ under ‘Professional Tips’. In his 39th book, Paul focuses still on entertaining your audience with hard-hitting magic. An oldie can become a ‘golden goodie’ with a potentially-jaded 21st Century audience. I am reminded strongly of Jamy Ian Swiss’s essay ‘The Last Layman’, about how rare an appreciative magic audience is these days. Having the ability to earn the audience’s admiration and respect for magic is priceless. There is ‘a little bit of country and a little rock & roll’ in Paul’s new offering. I cannot single out which is the best in a Greatest Hits Collection, but urge you to give each piece an opportunity to ‘shine’. Despite its wide variety, this collection still packs a punch. Ensure you have your deck of cards and coins with you as you study each piece of performance potential. You should definitely read his ‘Quickies’ section – albeit slowly, as it has performance tips we can seriously consider. Although Paul is not a big fan of the Top Change, he offers his approach to doing it well. I enjoyed his explanation on executing Multiple Lifts, and apply these to your revelations. His gift to us magicians is that he can explain magic clearly and with clear intentions. Being one of the most prolific creators in magic, he is truly the go-to guy for research and assurance in a variety of magic topics. Enjoy!


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 December, 2016)

Magic Variety PackI can't stress the value of Paul's ebooks. Each is full of magic learned the hard way.. on the street and at the table of customers looking for any reason to call your bluff. Instead, Paul introduces effects that makes the customers become forever fans. That's the mark of a REAL performer, and Magic Variety Pack, with effects from Charlie Miller and Marlo (among others) details precisely how Paul takes classic effects, reduces them to their simplest form, and releases them for the rest of us to enjoy. Magic Variety Pack also includes intimate tips and tricks Paul has learned through years of performances. This is invaluable. I still believe Paul's ebooks, and particularly Magic Variety Pack, is one of the Best Values for ten bucks in all of magic.


The Best Short Change Scam Ever

reviewed by Andres Fajardo
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 December, 2016)

The Best Short Change Scam EverRecently came across Devin Knight's book about the short change scam. Being interested in this author's previous releases, this new one deals more with the area of deception, scams, cons and cheats. The book is short and quickly gets to the point. There is a lot of information out there on how to prevent the scam from happening, but most of it doesn't explain well enough. Devin not only breaks down the scam step by step, but also provide additional tips on how to protect yourself, as well as gives you an exercise to learn to spot it and prevent it from happening. If you - or know someone who - work/s at a shop, mall or related places, they need to know this information. The best way to counter the scam is to prevent it from happening and that's what this book is all about. Overall I would say it's pretty much worth reading and for only $7 picking this up is a no-brainer.


Magic Variety Pack

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 December, 2016)

Magic Variety PackThe new ebook "Magic Variety Pack" is another fantastic bargain offered to the magic community by Paul Lelekis. This ebook IS packed with lots of great magic, innovative ideas, real world performance tips and a treasure trove of useful professional advice. Written in Paul's relaxed easy to follow style, this book is conducive to reading while having the cards, coins or other props right in your hands. To me, this is not only fun to do but the best way to learn. A quick look at the Table of Contents will tell you that there is something here for everybody. All time tested effects that work great in a number of performance situations. As with all of Paul's publications he gives very clear explanations and finds ways to simplify difficult moves without taking anything away from the all-important effect. Excellent patter and tips are always included right in the text as you read along. The card effects are all very clean and direct, easy for the spectators to follow and understand. Nothing complicated here, just terrific magic! I particularly like Paul’s professional advice on entertainment and involving the spectators that is present in every effect presented here. I had lots of fun with two of the non-card effects, the Two Coins routine and the Close Up Color Change Silks. The Quickies are like an added bonus! Great advice and tips on the Top Change, Switches, Double and Triple Turnovers, Snap-Over Change and Other Revelations. As if the whole book isn't a bargain, the Quickies are like getting another whole book for free! You'll love it!


Osmosis

reviewed by William Martin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 December, 2016)

OsmosisOutstanding material, wisdom, and simple, simple, simple effects. So much advice...So affordable! Paul L. is amazing! Really something for everyone. "Simplicity Itself" is so clever, clean, Easy and worth $20 by itself. And the gag section will not disappoint. Thank you Lybrary.com -The Wonderment Conjurer, Billy Jamez.


Pskycards

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 December, 2016)

PskycardsConstructive Criticism is I found it difficult to copy the art work, but not deterred, I did my own, so I could work as soon as I print from art work. Nice effect worth the work.


Empty Multiple Out Envelope

reviewed by Larry Brodahl
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 December, 2016)

Empty Multiple Out EnvelopeWell, I purchased this thinking it might work...and it might fit a routine I had. It not only fits the routine, this is really really practical and usable. It takes about 1 minute or so to do the necessary work, and I'm not a DIY type guy. The handling is so simple and so natural, that it literally takes about 30 seconds to learn.

I did have one small problem with this, and I contacted the author. Mr. Creasey responded quickly and fixed me right up. If you want an envelope that does EXACTLY what the demo shows, this is a really good buy!

Well done!


Alle Zauber-Briefe Nr. 1-151

reviewed by Georg Walter (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 17 December, 2016)

Alle Zauber-Briefe Nr. 1-151Unbedingt anschauen. Hier sieht man nicht nur, wieviel Arbeit sich Eckhard Böttcher in 30 Jahren gemacht hat, es ist auch eine riesige Fundgrube an Zaubertricks für Sammler.


Emoticon: An Emotional Design Duplication

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 December, 2016)

Emoticon: An Emotional Design DuplicationFirst, let's get this out of the way: Emoticon uses an old, old method. TC says that it is from Annemann, and without pulling out my copies of Practical Mental Magic or The Jinx to check, I don't doubt that. The method also forms the basis of Richard Osterlind's ODD, Osterlind's Design Duplication System. And essentially this same method is used in Feel by Peter Nardi and Marc Spelmann on their Unpexpected DVD set. Not to mention, you could do a design dupe like this using Anton James's Mentalism Symbol Pack. So if you are familiar with any one of these, you'll know immediately how Emoticon works. Now here's what's different: TC has adapted the routine for two spectator duplications. He also shows you how to use a clever crib in plain sight. (There's no doubt that you can get away with this. If you don't like the idea, you can always use memorization or a more discrete crib like the one Mark Elsdon demonstrated in his first Penguin Live lecture, where you fiddle with the greyscale settings of the font in Microsoft Word.) But most significantly--and definitely pretty darned cool--is that TC uses emoticons for the design items, and the pdf gives them to you in two different sizes for ease of duplication in manufacturing your own cards. This is a great idea since just about everyone today who has a cell phone is familiar with them. And since they represent facial emotions, what better way to lead into a cold reading.

So while the method is nothing new, for your ten spot, you get reproducible cards; a crib idea; and a neat, new routine. I'd say that Emoticon is well worth the download even if you are already doing a similar routine.


The Dalton Boys Card Trick

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 December, 2016)

The Dalton Boys Card TrickHad the deck read the instructions practised and practised again happy performed nice effect/routine get that deck out of the draw /cupboard and give your friends a show


Mostly Perfect / Perfectly Possible: Combo

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 December, 2016)

Mostly Perfect / Perfectly Possible: ComboExcellent method and well thought out - recommended.


Worlds Within Words

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 December, 2016)

Worlds Within WordsThis is a brilliant, unusual approach to PA's from a brilliant, gifted mentalist. Once the principles are fully understood you can make a PA of about anything you can imagine. The sky's the limit. If you have this ebook and THE PRODIGAL you definitely have DYNAMITE EFFECTS in your hands. I'll give this a 25+ rating. Well done my friend.


Karma Deck Psyclical

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 December, 2016)

Karma Deck PsyclicalWhat can I say, This is an ebook worth having along with all the other Karma Deck material. This is a simple way to know the suit and value of any card in the deck. I give the UNKNOWN MENTALIST another 20+ rating with this!!! Well done my friend. One more round of applause to the UNKNOWN MENTALIST!


ZIP: zodiac prediction

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 December, 2016)

ZIP: zodiac predictionI really did like the Month ID way more than Zodiac Prediction. I guessed the method used before I purchased this. I'm NOT saying that this is a bad effect but I'm just not big on the method. Month ID makes up for the bundle but who can argue at the price this is. I'm sure this will work for a lot of people though.


Month ID

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 December, 2016)

Month IDI recommend this effect highly. With the bonus fake article you can simply read the article out loud and have the spectator participate and know their month of birth WITHOUT ANY MEMORY WORK!!! By the way, I printed the article on cardstock...it looks like a real old (2003) article.

At this point I will ask the spectator to concentrate on their month of birth and I will reveal it. Now I will ask the spectator for their Zodiac digit, then start a memorized cold reading (ALA Larry Becker's Stunners Plus Graphology effect) as follows:

People born during the month of (MONTH) with a Zodiac Number of (ZODIAC NUMBER) then cold reading statements. Again I highly recommend this. The article takes away some of the memory work and I can use my memory work on the cold reading statements.

For price and the effect itself I give this a 20+. Please note that I am collecting all sorts of Star Sign based revelations so I am just saying this is an unusual approach that will work for me when the conditions are right.


Pirate Torture Illusion

reviewed by Christian Mach (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 08 December, 2016)

Pirate Torture IllusionPros : Several presentation ideas, well expounded. The improved method used. Cons : I had to read several times the explanations to understand the instructions, because the figures are not drawn neatly, and there is an action not very clear. I hope there will be another version of this booklet with more precise figures, with different colors for the rope 1, the rope 2, the board, the spectator. It would be also good to put a picture of the action of the performer when he does his action with his right fingers between the loops and to explain with which part of the script this action is associated and justified. But, in spite of these comments, I recommend this booklet. New version to come?


Final Edition

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 06 December, 2016)

Final EditionI am only giving this 3 stars because there is NOTHING new here. This is just a variation on a U F Grant idea that he put out in the 50s for fifty cents. It was called Fool-zum Newspaper Tear. The basic method and the pocket ditching is the same as in Final Edition. The only thing that Fox did was add the visible restoration idea, which is actually a Gene Anderson idea described in his Newspaper Magic. If you are familiar with Grant's Fool-zum Newspaper Tear, then you know the method. If not, this is worth buying because the secret is good even though Fox did not give either Grant or Anderson credit for using their ideas.


The Guide

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 05 December, 2016)

The GuideThe Guide contains an extremely intriguing principle to determine which of a binary choice a spectator has made. (It doesn't use MOs or a force either, which is what I had originally suspected.) Apparently, this is something that Zitta came up with years ago that he originally named "Janus," after the two-faced Roman god. I like that this short ebook gives a lot potential uses of the principle under different scenarios using a variety of objects such as business cards, pens, cigarettes, coins, straws, etc. and even includes color photos illustrating the method. While some of the possible routines seem contrived and artificial, there is one with the spectator's picking up a lighter to imagine lighting his way in the dark and turning left or right that I am definitely going to try. It seems well motivated and organic.

There is a lot of food for thought here so if you like this almost-propless concept, you should give this a go.


Thought Control

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 December, 2016)

Thought ControlFirst off, I use and love a lot of Matt's stuff. While he may not be as well known as some of the big boys, I really like him because he consistently gives you stuff that's not only outside the box but down the road to the bar on the next block. He's very creative. And if you use or see his stuff like Invisible Ball, Imaginary Object, or Energy Coins, you'll know what I mean. He also loves DR. Here he combines that with one of the oldest mentalism concepts around to have one spectator transmit two thoughts to another spectator. It's completely propless, and it's basically an old routine but with nothing written down. When I first read it, I went, "Huh? That's weird. Will that actually work?" Then I read it again, and I thought that if you were careful with your script and used a time disconnect well, there's no doubt that you could pull this off. And people won't go, "Huh?" They will say "That was amazing." Mentalists will ask, "How did you do that? Does it use electronics, pre-show, or stooges?" Actually, it doesn't use anything except a good performance. If there's one small negative to Thought Control, Matt gives you a force to use that I didn't particularly like it. This might be that rare context for this type of routine where a simple card force would be perfect. (Where's my Psychomatic Deck?)

Displaying 411 to 435 (of 1410 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >