Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 17

Read What Others Are Saying: page 17

1251 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 412 to 436 (of 1636 reviews)


Memory Catcher

reviewed by Sarin Suriyakoon (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 January, 2020)

Memory CatcherThis is worse than gimmick method and completely misleading.

The method is not new and not even really "no gimmick". Look at Luke Jermay or Marc Paul's work is a better way to go and worth more money.

THIS IS NOT PRACTICAL. I REPEAT THIS IS NOT PRACTICAL.


Coin Games

reviewed by Steve Forster (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 08 January, 2020)

Coin GamesWarning: This is not repeatable...for the same audience or for anyone witnessing the performance. This weakens the effect to the extent that it is completely worthless. With this type of effect it is necessary to perform it more than once for it to have any "credibility". For what it is, it is way over priced for what, to me, is essentially a trick based more on semantics and is no more than a gag. Like all of us, I've bought a lot of useless, worthless crap but this is the first time I'm writing to give anyone a heads up. My suggestion is to spend your hard-earned money (or however you've earned it) on something more worthwhile--maybe some X-ray glasses or a gizmo which allows you to throw your voice.


Bouncer: Two Card Monte

reviewed by Donald Lehn (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 07 January, 2020)

Bouncer: Two Card MonteI am a loyal Lybrary follower, and not, by nature, very critical, but ... The idea contained in this brief text isn't a bad idea. But that's all there is - one idea that isn't bad, but that isn't earth shattering either. Simply explained, with no additional help on the rest of the handling of the two cards, or suggestions of a presentation, or ideas about the "effect" created, it seems like a very poor offering for $10.00.


McDonald's Aces and Freak Out

reviewed by Roy Eidem (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 05 January, 2020)

McDonald's Aces and Freak OutPaul is a gifted magic writer. Here is a venerable Classic of magic that is worthy of study & performance. The tutorial videos alone include sleights which alone are worth the price. If you want to learn a magic classic & potentially new sleights & not a u-tube one trick pony, this is easily money well spent.


McDonald's Aces and Freak Out

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 04 January, 2020)

McDonald's Aces and Freak OutTwo awesome effects for one low price! It’s the bargain of the year and it’s only January! Paul’s clear and clean handling of the classic McDonald’s Aces is sensational. This beautiful presentation is well worth studying and absorbing so you’ll always have a blockbuster effect ready to go. The effect flows along brilliantly and makes perfect sense. A concise history of McDonald’s Aces is included as well as a very interesting short essay on the History of the Jacks that could provide some great patter and presentation material for you. You’ll learn a number of effective moves along the way that you can utilize with countless other card illusions in your repertoire. Don’t skip the Preface and Introductions! Here as with all of Paul’s books he gives a ton of real-world advice on presentation, entertainment, audience management, and humor. Well worth the price of the book right there! You’ll be reminded of the power of entertainment in all art forms! Freak Out! is a Knockout ESP experiment that you will have a lot of fun performing. Easy set-up and a very puzzling effect with a very strong amazement factor! There are lots of excellent presentational ideas and patter here as well as a few more nice moves that can be used with other effects. Here’s some stuff you’ll use for sure.


Nelmar's Spirit and Hypnotic Tricks

reviewed by B. W. McCarron
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 31 December, 2019)

Nelmar's Spirit and Hypnotic TricksReview by Lloyd E. Jones, published in the Feb. 1934 issue of The Diebox.

"A collection of stunts apparently performed by hypnotic power. I wish that some of the hypnotists I have seen would get this material and use it. The first purpose of any entertainer is to entertain. The stunts in this book are good . . . you will use them if you do mental, hypnotic or related effects."


The Annotated Royal Road to Card Magic

reviewed by Barrie Segal (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 December, 2019)

The Annotated Royal Road to Card MagicThis is an absolutely marvelous update to this classic book. The annotations and added photographs are incredibly helpful. Mark Lewis has created a classic book for all magicians.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Kevin Peshick
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 December, 2019)

Karma DeckWhile the thinking behind this is brilliant, I didn't find the advantages were sufficient for the added complexity, when compared against a standard Si Stebbins set up. I decided to go the extra mile and memorize a deck.


Secrets of Mental Magic

reviewed by Brett McCarron
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 December, 2019)

Secrets of Mental MagicPartial review from Burling Hull in "The G-D D--n Truth About Magic" Vol. 2:

"THORNTON'S SECRETS OF MENTAL MAGIC

"At last here is a really top value and PRACTICAL series of effects and routines that work by Dr. Thornton (medical doctor) who plainly PERFORMS mentalism feats. The best publication of practical effects in five years in my judgment."


Nu Way Out Of This World

reviewed by Peter Nordstrand (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 December, 2019)

Nu Way Out Of This WorldGreat effect!


Tips

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 November, 2019)

TipsIt's a dated book for sure, but still have a couple of ideas that I like. And any idea I can get is almost priceless.

If you are a DIY guy or gal, it's not a bad book. Some good ideas.


TC Tahoe Re-Thinks Vol. 3: Salt Pour

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 November, 2019)

TC Tahoe Re-Thinks Vol. 3: Salt PourTotally misleading copy for this. Although, if I'd have been paying attention, the PAGE COUNT information might have saved me some $.

The copy reads "two different routines". In only 4 pages of text - AFTER teaching me about making the gimmick?

Yeah, there is the briefest of mentions of a routine(s), but no teaching. No "here's the props needed, here's how you steal the gaff, etc". Just a very brief mention of a theme to use.

However, this will prevent me from buying any of the other items in this series.


Birthdate Magic Square

reviewed by Dave Campbell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 November, 2019)

Birthdate Magic SquareI've not delved into Magic Squares before, but the topic intrigued me. This is awesome! -- such a great idea and great explanation. You won't be disappointed.


Impuzzibles

reviewed by Nicolas Pepin
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 18 October, 2019)

ImpuzziblesMmm not sure about this one...I am a little disappointed but maybe it's just me.

* Fork in card: The very first idea that came to my mind is the solution at the end. A spectator will probably think the same thing and we don't want to lie right ? I was expecting a more clever solution.

* Spider link: I didn't really care for it when I bought this. But it is nice, more on topological side. Difficult to handle because very thin. I prefer topological object with card.

* The needle: Didn't care for it either. And I saw this in ooold book. Might be of interest for some.

* Checker board: This is the biggest disappointment. I was expecting some special fold like the braided bill. Not at all. In the hand of spectator, he will quickly find out how it is done. Though this might be interesting to real topological purist as a puzzle/challenge.

But production is good with clear view/camera. I prefer the topological card series and inside out banknotes. But thank you fairmagic sharing your knowledge about impossible/topological objects. Still keeping an eye on your topological series.

Nicolas


The Gig Avalanche

reviewed by Andrea Antonuccio (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 17 October, 2019)

The Gig AvalancheThe "method" that you'll find here could work in the USA, but it's totally impractical in my country (Italy). The product description should be different, with a big warning: not useful outside U.S.! That happens (sadly) with a lot of Knight's marketing manuscripts ... I feel very disappointed!


Diception

reviewed by Courtland LaVallee (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 09 October, 2019)

DiceptionGreat trick, easy to put together in about 10 mins. Currently a hot release for 3 times the price!


The Jastrow Illusion in Magic

reviewed by Don Bursell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 28 September, 2019)

The Jastrow Illusion in MagicReview title: Not enough information.

I’ve always liked the Jastrow illusion, and even use it in my walk around performing. So I bought this booklet, hoping to expand my knowledge of the illusion, and possibly be inspired by other designs I was not aware of.

It’s good, but doesn’t really go any further than what I already knew of. It shows about 6 or 7 different versions, all of which I’m aware of or own. It talks about the history of the illusion, but I felt it could have covered a whole lot more versions of it that have been released over the years. (I did a search of this in Google and found 100s of historical examples.)

Overall, it was good, but not enough information, I felt, to warrant a $10 price tag.


All you wanted to know about Change Bags and 101 Tricks you can do with them

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 September, 2019)

All you wanted to know about Change Bags and 101 Tricks you can do with themThis book is LOADED with great ideas!! Ideas for: standard change bags, repeat change bags, clear change bags......some bits I had NEVER even considered.....and I've owned a change bag for eons! For the price, this is a MUST BUY!


The Complete Oracle

reviewed by Peter Nordstrand (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 September, 2019)

The Complete OracleThis is a treasure trove! Inspiring and wonderful. I strongly recommend this!


Fate, Free Will and Influence: Chair Test

reviewed by Don Bursell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 September, 2019)

Fate, Free Will and Influence: Chair TestExcellent! This is the type of purchase I’m really glad I made.

Steve takes a technique by another mentalist, and simplifies it down in a way that makes real sense to the participants and audience.

Also, the reveals come in layers, all concealing the previous reveals in the methodology.

I have used this routine, and have enjoyed the response it receives.

Worth every penny!


Paper Folding Giveaways For Magicians

reviewed by Don Bursell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 September, 2019)

Paper Folding Giveaways For MagiciansI was hoping for more modern, updated ideas than the original book had. Not much new at all.

I usually am intrigued by Knight’s ideas and additions, but not in this case. Disappointing purchase.


Introduction to Card Magic

reviewed by EndersGame Reviewer
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 September, 2019)

Introduction to Card MagicThis book is my top choice for beginners in card magic to start with. Mr Giobbi is arguably the best teacher in magic today, because he has a real gift in analyzing and explaining, and covers all the essentials systematically and in depth. This book originated as an introductory course in card magic, and covers all the fundamentals of card handling, plus it includes half a dozen good card tricks to get you going. There are ample illustrations, photos, and even built-in links to video clips on youtube that show the moves being taught. It consists of 150 pages of goodness that are truly outstanding in every way, and a must-have for everyone starting in card magic. Even those who have been doing card magic for years will learn a lot by working through this book systematically. It is a fantastic resource that I highly recommend getting.


Emesqua on PK

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 September, 2019)

Emesqua on PKVery disappointed. I am sure Mr Emesgua has great success with his material. First the material is just OK in my humble opinion. Second the booklet is poorly written. There is better material out there on metal bending - save your money.


Slam - and other pet peeves about the Chop Cup

reviewed by Tom Yates (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 30 August, 2019)

Slam - and other pet peeves about the Chop CupI am sorry to say that this was a disappointment for the money. I don't mind paying for a magician's notes when they offer something substantive about his spin on an effect. I was rather hopeful that the "pet peeves" here would be instructive, but they don't offer much that anyone who has performed the Chop Cup has wondered about--and perhaps already changed himself. The routine the author performs is presented in good detail, but there isn't much new about it. A major disappointment in the routine he offers is the initial premise of the chop cup process being a "con". I already do the Three Shell Game; I have a con routine. The Chop Cup needs to get away from the contest/challenge idea, even when the challenge is benign, as in John Mendoza's famous routine.

I also find it slightly ironic that the author dislikes the "slam", and yet uses a Don Alan cup. Don was the master of the loud slam, especially at the end of his routine with the final loads--not to take away from the quality production of the cup itself, of course.

Note: the 28-page pdf contains a number of inserted blank pages.


Forget Your Mom

reviewed by Michael Cook (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 August, 2019)

Forget Your MomThis is a terrible effect. It's a kids party trick. The description is very misleading. Avoid at all costs.

Displaying 412 to 436 (of 1636 reviews)
< ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 ... >