Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 51

Read What Others Are Saying: page 51

1241 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1252 to 1276 (of 1626 reviews)


Coffee Break Mental Magic #1: 3 Invisible Keys of Wonder

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 January, 2014)

Coffee Break Mental Magic #1: 3 Invisible Keys of WonderI have several e-books by Voodini, and have never been disappointed. His 'self-working' routines are particularly good. Not for the methods. Methods are almost afterthoughts. Voodini's strength is in creating an atmosphere, drawing people in with a good story. That's what you get here: three good stories. The Coffee Break concept is a good one, and this is a brilliant way to begin the series.


The Dr's Billet Tear

reviewed by Craig Browning
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 30 December, 2013)

The Dr's Billet TearBill has always been an amazing source of ideas but this Tear technique is pure genius; I've officially dropped the other techniques that I've used over the years (with exception to AN) for this one, it is simply the best! It's cleaner and less suspicious than any other tear out there. It's bloody simple! Why so many missed this for so many years is beyond me, but Bill found it and was gracious enough to share it with us all.


Edward George Brown: a magical life

reviewed by Peter Byers
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 30 December, 2013)

Edward George Brown: a magical lifeAm loving the story of E. G Brown coz his magic is awesome. I got a rare copy of the Hall book and Brown's magic shines. This memoir is nice, but it's the magic that's great. Love the contributions. Well done.


Explorations

reviewed by Stan Glassman
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 30 December, 2013)

ExplorationsI just wrote a positive review about Paul Gordon's Carbon Footprints and my thoughts about Explorations are even more positive. I saw Mr. G slay top magicians at 4Fs (Fechter's) with material from this. I immediately bought it and am now pleased to have it on my tab. Recommended. Stan


Carbon Footprints

reviewed by Stan Glassman
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 30 December, 2013)

Carbon FootprintsCarbon Footprints is a great concept. Easy but packs a punch. If you like clever concepts - ones you can use - you will like this. Stan


Marlo in the United Kingdom

reviewed by Dan Schwartz
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 December, 2013)

Marlo in the United KingdomGot the softback years ago just to fill my Marlo collection. Just about to get this ebook because I STILL use two tricks from it when gigging. Marlo was genius as depicted here. It's a getter. Danny


Edward George Brown: a magical life

reviewed by Dan Schwartz
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 December, 2013)

Edward George Brown: a magical lifeIt's a lovely book. Lovely story and great magic. Wes James at his best. Yeah, go for it. Danny


Small Silicone Chess Board (10" x 10")

reviewed by Dan Bulleit
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 16 December, 2013)

Small Silicone Chess Board (10" x 10")This would be great if the squares were 1.5", Green and included the notation. I'm not sure why this wasn't included. It would be a great analysis set with the notation for learning and studying on the go. You would be the only source then.


Carbon Footprints

reviewed by Pete Barnyard
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 15 December, 2013)

Carbon FootprintsIt was the great Roger Crosthwaite who urged me to check this book out. Roger is known for heavy sleight of hand but is also a sneaky one who fries magicians with easy-but-strong magic. He fried me and many others at The Magic Circle in London with Paul's great concept. F-R-I-E-D badly! It's a getter.


Carbon Footprints

reviewed by Peter Simonson
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 December, 2013)

Carbon FootprintsAgain, Paul Gordon (with Jon Racherbaumber and Joe Rindfleisch) has released a wonderful concept. It's maths based but it's all worker magic. I'm a professional out of Boston and I use this at my bar. Go get it. It's eye popping.


Explorations

reviewed by Peter Simonson
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 December, 2013)

ExplorationsI'm a big fan of Marlo's automatic principle and Paul Gordon's Eight of Diamonds trick in Explorations is worth more than the price of the entire book. Harry Lorayne liked it so much he put it in BOF. But, there is much more in Explorations to enjoy. A favorite book of mine.


Super Memory List: print and perform 1

reviewed by Jim Saylor (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 December, 2013)

Super Memory List: print and perform 1I have rated this with five stars because it is a very good effect. However, if you own Ted Annemann's book "Practical Mental Effects" you can pass this by as it is in that book (which can also be purchased here). It can be found in the chapter Mentalism with Cards under the title "Mental Numbers" by Vincent Dalban. I have used this effect as a unique way for passing out business cards as suggested in "Practical Mental Magic" but had not thought of using it as a parlor or stage item (a nice idea).


Time Out

reviewed by Alfonso Bartolacci (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 December, 2013)

Time OutNo please, there are tons of time forcing, sure and safety, and here we find the worse !!!!! Oh my God, but where this persons lives ????


Carbon Footprints

reviewed by Tom Tyler
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 December, 2013)

Carbon FootprintsI thought I'd post comments because although I don't yet have the pdf, I do have the original booklet. I still use three of the tricks in Carbon Footprints; one from Jon Racherbaumber and two from Mr. Gordon. It's simply powerful workable material. Easy to do, but strong on impact. If you liked Aronson's shuffleboard, you will LOVE this. Highly recommended. TT


Explorations

reviewed by Tom Tyler
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 December, 2013)

ExplorationsExplorations contains some really clever thinking and startling tricks. Paul Gordon creates material you can use. These maths based card are wonderful and what with contributions from Peter Duffie, you can't go wrong. Highly recommended. TT


100 Tips and Gags

reviewed by Cristian Vidrascu (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 08 December, 2013)

100 Tips and GagsVery disappointing, I would not see myself using any of these. Many are mean-spirited and not so funny. Generally I love anything U.F. Grant, I think he is brilliant, and have fooled many magicians with some of his ideas. However, in this particular case, I would not recommend this booklet.


La Fanciulla in Sogno

reviewed by Pawel
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 08 December, 2013)

La Fanciulla in SognoIt is not new concept but old trick.


Across the Void

reviewed by Eric Fry (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 December, 2013)

Across the VoidExceptional review of Cards Across, complete with historical information. Very stimulating discussion. It's a pity there aren't many other affordable booklets about card classics.


Popcorn Routine

reviewed by Devin Knight
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 01 December, 2013)

Popcorn RoutineI just watched this video and it was entertaining with bits from the Simpson's mixed in. Dave has taken Ramsey's Four Bean routine published in 1952 and updated it. I am very familiar with Ramsey's method. Ramsey had you putting beans into your ears and eyes and spitting them out of your mouth. Dave has changed this a bit and has you putting popcorn kernels into your nose and one of them comes out of your eye during the routine. If you like GEEK magic, this is sure to freak out your audience. Although, there is nothing original in the methods, the video is worthwhile if you are into this kind of magic.

Eddie Joseph put in print probably the most detailed information on putting stuff into your eyes and removing it, but the printed description was hard to understand. On the video Dave gives you details, actually showing how to put the popcorn into your eye. This was very informative. He also gives you invaluable tips to avoid red and watery eyes.

As he points out in his video, you can do the whole routine or parts of it. His video comes out at the right time. On one of Criss Angels recent episodes of Believe, he does the bit where a popcorn kernel comes out of his eye. Magicians have complained that the stuff that Angel does on TV can't be done in real life (well, most of it). Here is an exception. Get Dave's video and when people comment about the Criss Angel Popcorn trick. You can do it for them.

If you have any interest in inserting stuff into your eyes for later removal then this video is a must have. Frankly, I am not into geek magic and would never do this, it is not my style, but for those who want to do this, you will find this video invaluable.

I now have a better understanding of how the eye trick works. Trying to follow Joseph's directions is something I would never have done. After seeing Dave show how it is done, I may someday try this.

Once you learn the technique you can do the thread from eye as done by both Blaine and Angel.

For those into this kind of stuff, then I recommend this.


La Magie Blanche Dévoilée

reviewed by Wilhelm Eberhard
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 22 November, 2013)

La Magie Blanche DévoiléeIl est impossible de trouver ce livre au site web de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France et, bien que $20 est, peut-être, un petit peu cher, il faut considérer le travail de produire cette version digitale (que très peu de personnes vont acheter), or... Considérant tout ceci, c'est un très bon affaire! Voici d'autres bouquins intéressants que l'ont peut trouver à Gallica: finalement, il suffit de chercher "Robert Houdin" à Gallica pour trouver tous ses livres (en plus de La Prestidigitation sans appareils). Mais l'on ne peut pas trouver ce livre ailleurs qu'ici!


Magicseen: one year subscription

reviewed by Fred Larochelle
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 08 November, 2013)

Magicseen: one year subscriptionWorth the money. I use the one year subscription to stay up to date on all things magic. Is very well written and comprehensive. Worth subscribing.


The Working Pro's Bill in Lemon

reviewed by Kevin Sentell
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 06 November, 2013)

The Working Pro's Bill in LemonI had been looking for a really good BIL routine & Scott's sounded good plus was affordable. He even offered to refund the first $1 if I didn't like it. His uses a sanada gimmick which I already had and I was ready to go. However, during practice, I was NOT very smooth with the sanada so I had to make a couple of changes. I make the $$$ switch in easier way for me & am never questioned about it. But Scott's lines & routine remain the same. It has raised my act to a higher, more "Magical" performance. Thanks Scott !!!!


Number 5

reviewed by Dan Dent (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 04 November, 2013)

Number 5Quite simply, this is a fantastic routine. The combination of 3 different oracle systems and the climatic 'magic' ending (actually this is made doubly more hard hitting by the fact that it appears to be a very genuine display of the performer's psychic intuition and not some incongruous bit of magical 'ta-da' stuck on the end) make for a very powerful routine. It's completely impromptu, using only a couple of business cards (yours or borrowed) and a pen, and perfect for many performing environments, requiring no reset (in fact, there is no set up involved at all). Though Scott does give a few keywords for the Numerology numbers and Tarot Major Arcana used in the routine, having a good working knowledge of these oracles (and/ or Cold Reading) really helps bring it to life.

Very highly recommended and worth far more than the small asking price.


Showcase Magic

reviewed by Roy Eidem (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 November, 2013)

Showcase MagicThis is a steal for the money and all you get - it's loaded. True "Worker's" material in the real world of entertaining performance -- stand up, close up, surrounded. Paul has hammered these out for you over hundreds of performances. The introductory advise of how to get gigs and perform at different venues is direct and priceless if you are thinking about taking your magic out to the world. But then you get videos too. My favorites are Stickman!, his handling of Out of this World, and if you have never done Card Under Glass, this is a workers delight.


Card Caprice

reviewed by Matteo Filippini (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 22 October, 2013)

Card CapriceI think that JACK's LINE-UP is a mentalism gem...One of the most powerful yet simple mentalism number perfect for platform and stage! Great stuff!

Displaying 1252 to 1276 (of 1626 reviews)
< ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... >