Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 50

Read What Others Are Saying: page 50

1101 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
54 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1232 to 1256 (of 1406 reviews)


Magic in the Modern Manner

reviewed by Grandpa Chet Cox
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 August, 2010)

Magic in the Modern MannerOne of the Lost Classics - we have to thank Chris for saving this! Meyer is all but forgotten, but his work is literally immortal. This includes what is probably the ULTIMATE bullet catch -- chilling and terrifying in all aspects, for performer as well as audience and shooter.

I could go through this book, throw a dart, and hit a classic. This man, who helped make the Jinx's and Annemann's reputation, deserves to be well-known to any mentalist or wannabe mentalist.


Al Mann on Mentalism

reviewed by Grandpa Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 August, 2010)

Al Mann on MentalismFor thirty bucks, you get detailed descriptions of one of the most impossible headline prediction effects (which, by itself, sold for more than $30 a couple of years ago), plus other prediction methods, PLUS other mentalism effects which were and are ahead of their time.

And that's not even the best part of these audio files!

Al had so much to say, so MUCH good advice for the performer and creator, that it's amazing it didn't take the entire day to relate. His conversational style makes this a pleasant listen, and you WILL want to listen more than once -- at least once, you'll want to take copious notes.

This is VERY underpriced.


200 More Tricks You Can Do

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 August, 2010)

200 More Tricks You Can DoThis is the review I wrote for the first volume (200 Tricks You Can Do); it applies just as much to this sequel. The one improvement for which I would hope, would for these two books to be translated to PDF so I could carry them in my Kindle-for-iPod.

(ahem! the aforementioned review)--

Don't dismiss this as "just for beginners," though it is very good for beginners. Don't be surprised if you find many effects which are being performed by the big stars, or which are being sold as "new" magic today! I gave up counting the number of these effects which I use in public speaking and home teaching. That's not even counting the card magic or cigarette tricks!

Be sure to pick up the companion volume!


200 Tricks You Can Do

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 August, 2010)

200 Tricks You Can DoDon't dismiss this as "just for beginners," though it is very good for beginners. Don't be surprised if you find many effects which are being performed by the big stars, or which are being sold as "new" magic today! I gave up counting the number of these effects which I use in public speaking and home teaching. That's not even counting the card magic or cigarette tricks!

Be sure to pick up the companion volume!


23:23

reviewed by Carlos La Borde
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 July, 2010)

23:23Turnover 23 is probably one of the most powerful effects I know of. Its better than KK or Bang On, and can literally be performed impromptu, with a a borrowed deck.

I mean, imagine borrowing a deck, placing your prediction card on the table, having your spectator name a card, and then flipping over your prediction to reveal the very card they thought of... Pure Power.


Hofzinser's Card Conjuring

reviewed by Tim Conger (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 29 June, 2010)

Hofzinser's Card ConjuringThis book is legendary for reasons I think are well-deserved, if only because Harry Houdini once had a copy of this book and then sold it and was sorry that he couldn't replace it. He was a very big fan, as evidenced in the biography in Houdini On Magic.

Hofzinser's use of stacked, perarranged, and special decks doesn't suit me right now, but who knows what the future may bring? In any case, maybe I can master one of the sleights Hofzinser invented and use it in a trick of my own invention. Reading Hofzinser really expands my magical imagination. Plus, his patter is hilarious--sort of a cross between a 19th Century psychologist and a pirate. One of his mock decks, for example, he calls "the divine." At another point, he says his deck only has four Aces so he will have to "employ his satanic powers to cause these to multiply. Now try getting away with saying that nowadays! Anyway, the important word of warning is the sleights are really really hard even for unusually dextrous people so you have to really be determined if you want to learn to do a Hofzinser trick. Treat it as an adventure and a keepsakes.


Teleshock 2.0

reviewed by Pablo Amira
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 21 June, 2010)

Teleshock 2.0This is powerful. With your mind you change the unplugged TV to a thought channel! OUT of BOX thinking at the best. Just enjoy this document and experience for yourself this miracle.


Light and Easy

reviewed by Pablo Amira
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 21 June, 2010)

Light and EasyThis ebook is a bargain. 2 great effects that can build a great reputation.

CAN is a effect where you apparently take weight from the participant. As a symbolism, your participant can stand in a normal aluminium can. Powerful effect.

NEWS is a thought reading effect where a free selected page in any page on a newspaper is revealed.

Take your bucks and support the mind of Nefesch.


The Mental Magick of Basil Horwitz Volume 2

reviewed by Toruga Toruga Magic
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 19 June, 2010)

The Mental Magick of Basil Horwitz Volume 2Very nice/interesting presentations with simple workings. Very nice angle and patter.. Thumbs up!


Encyclopedia of Card Tricks

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 11 June, 2010)

Encyclopedia of Card TricksA truly DEEP book. You could peruse this book quickly....and you'd spend 4 nights doing just that! I'd been looking for some effects using double-backers and this was just what the doctor ordered!!

Loads and mounds and piles of beautiful ideas and effects in this one! A new "top shelf" title in my personal magic library.


The Jack the Ripper Seance

reviewed by Mark Piazza (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 03 June, 2010)

The Jack the Ripper SeanceI must have been one of the first to purchase this and, after printing it out, I devoured it! I couldn't put it down!

Paul, I think it's fantastic!

I plan on using the close-up routine 'FROM HELL' from my very own Shuddershadow Mansion ebook and/or the 'FROM HELL' parlor/stage version in my Memories, Mayhem and Mephistopholes ebook to create interest and upsell the Jack the Ripper seance.

My routines are simple but atmosphere-based and that's what I love about Paul's seance - the ATMOSPHERE he suggests creating.

I have my own Jack the Ripper seance scripted but I probably will abandon it and go with Paul's. Why? Because Paul's is 'cleaner'! (I will be substituting the phase with the glass becasue I need to employ one of my ideas here which would work better for me.)

Overall, this ebook is EXCELLENT! I can't wait to start reading it again!


The Extended Tossed Out Deck

reviewed by Chris Stolz (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 16 April, 2010)

The Extended Tossed Out DeckI printed out the PDF last night and read this on the Toronto subway while trying not to have a giant grin on my face for the entire ride. What a well structured routine! A lot of thought and research has clearly gone into this and it has certainly paid off. As each phase progresses it cleverly cancels out method possibilities from the previous phase. This means that by the time you finish the routine with the tossed out deck, you've eleminated any conceivable methods from the minds of your audience. THAT is what I call intellegent magic thinking.

Thank you to Luke and Chris at Lybrary for putting this out. I'll definitely be using this....OFTEN!


Shuddershadow Mansion

reviewed by Ray Haddad (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 April, 2010)

Shuddershadow MansionThis is an exceptional book by Mr Piazza as far as routine development goes but lacks in the method descriptions. In half of the effects presented, the method is described as the means found in another effect in another book. I do understand the need to credit originators with their creations but if the effect was included in the book, it should be fully described with the permission of the originator.

I cannot in good conscience recommend this book for a novice magician no matter how his/her thoughts may run to the bizarre or supernatural. There is just too much missing which only a seasoned professional could possibly fill in without extensive additional material. The magician with encyclopedic knowledge will find this book to be crammed with great stuff.

There are even a few effects that describe methods from sources that are long out of print and probably not available. I would advise Mr Piazza to rewrite this otherwise worthy book and make it more complete.

These flaws are the reason for an otherwise 5 star book to receive only 3 stars from me.


Silent Running

reviewed by Jamie Daws
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 March, 2010)

Silent RunningSilent Running by Ben Harris

So, what could possibly be next from Ben Harris. Crossroads was an absolute show stopper and would be very hard to follow up. So with silent running were promised that the spectator thinks of a number which they never say out loud. True. They then think of a suit which they never say out loud. True. They then marry the number and suit up to make a card which they still don’t say out loud. True. Nothing is written down. True. Despite all this, you can instantly reveal their card to them seconds after they have thought of their card. True. 100% true. Practical. True. Commercial. True. Something you will use often. Most defiantly True..... Can you see what happening here? What sounds like false advertising is 100% true.

You can tell this is going to be one of the most talked about methods in mentalism this year purely by the list of names commenting on it. Banachek, Marc Paul, Nathan Kranzo, Peter Duffie, Marc Spelman, Devin Knight, Dee Christopher and the list continues! So, the review.

It’s easy to see how this effect has progressed from the legend of an effect that is crossroads. Again, the usual Ben Harris quality. Instantly thrusted into the Foreword by Looch. He takes us through his stories of using Silent Running and gets you motivated to keep on reading. Onto Ben’s introduction. Introduce “Duffies Dodge”. What on earth? Ben really gets you thinking. Apparently silent running, born from crossroads and utilizing a hidden tool from Peter Duffie. Lets move on quickly and get to whatever this Dodgy Duffie Dodge could be!

Much like the support act at a heavy metal gig hypes up the audience, Ben still holds back the secret as he explains why where and when the trick came around. Explaining the extent to which this trick will fry an audience. Then finally, after i’ve been thrown about in the mosh pit of Ben Harris’ mind, we delve into the method. Might I say, Wow, What a method it is. I’ve used countless methods for a deck-less method for learning a spectators card. One that was practical and looked like real mind reading. I must admit, some methods came close but non came close to Silent Running. Ben goes into stunning in depth explanations of the processes you need to go through to get to the stage in which your ready to reveal the card. The best part about Ben’s method is, it looks and feels like real mind reading. Mad, I know but unbelievably true. To know that what I had to ask the spectator to do was think of a number from 1-10 then think of a suit and lastly keep that card in their mind.. and STILL have a 100% hit rate was an indescribable feeling. For those who think there is something missing for what i’m saying or am trying to cover an extra little part of the process, i’m not. The selection process might throw up one slight issue for some magicians but, when thought about logically, here are VERY simple ways to abolish the subtlety that Ben has placed in. After performing the effect, I LOVE Ben’s subtlety and think it means that everything will go perfectly every time but realize, in all honesty, some may wish to walter it slightly.

Ben get’s us to the stage in which we are ready to reveal the selected card. Enter: The Routines. Ben begins with a version of his much loved Crossroads effect. So now, those of you with Crossroads will already have the deck ready to go. Those without, Ben still explains what you need. Imagine, having a card THOUGHT of. The deck is opened and without them saying a word, it is the ONLY card in the deck missing. Then it’s produced form wherever you so wish. Sounds to crazy to be true right? Well yeas it does sound to crazy to be true, but it is. I loved Crossroads so much and it’s become a stable part of my card act, now, ill use it even more often. Every deck I won will be a crossroads deck so that i’m always ready set go for Silent Running if I need it!

Second we have Ben’s direct mind reading approach. His brilliant system for revealing the card without any props. This is a fanatically thought out piece of script. Seriously cool. Everything seems fair and you have a 100% hit rate every time. Alternatively, Ben shows you a fantastic way to adapt it to a pad. Giving you another way to reveal everything in a fair and clean way.

Ben’s last routine is a brilliant take on the cards on table stab. This allows you to spread a genuinely normal deck on the table. Place some news paper on the spread cards and then plunge a knife into the paper, thus impaling a card on the knife on the other side of the paper. The paper is removed, the card is shown to be the thought of card. Again, Clean. Ben’s method is sublime and incredibly practical. I’ve never performed this kind of effect before, but with Silent Running, I have no reason not to perform it. Everything is brilliantly explained in depth and with clear photos.

End Routines. Enter Appendix. This section of the book teaches you how to make a Crossroads deck that works with Silent Running. As well as this, all templates and diagrams that are mentioned in the book are added here. Again, brilliant detail and the original Duffie Dodge is explained here in depth!

Last section of the book are the contributions from other magicians. Good times indeed.

The highlights of this section are Bob Cassidy’ suggestion of performing it for two spectators. This makes it even simpler and even more direct. Not to mention, more magical. It’s a small thing that makes a huge impact.

Paolo Cavalli’ Court Card illusion is another simple but brilliant idea that will make everything seem just that bit more amazing.

Devin Knight offers some brilliant work on a popular method in mentalism. It is genuinely priceless information that will put those people who are uncomfortable with it completely at ease. Another invaluable piece of advice that can be used for so much more then the original Silent Running effect.

Steve Shufftons work with Silent Running and a deck is also gold. A brilliant way to end the book.

The reason i’ve not gone into depth with the Bonus section is I believe that this method is so versatile that so many magicians will be coming up with their own interpretations with it. I myself have already come up with countless ideas with it and I know Ben has hundreds more. This method will soon transcend that of just cards and move onto other forms of mentalism. This really is one of the best methods for a thought of card that will have nearly any mentalists buzzing with joy. It’s a practical, workable and truly remarkable method. The products quality is amazing and those who complain that the book or PDF is of a high value for just one effect, it’s not necessarily about the singular effect but the sheers amount of idea’s and effects you can add it to. If you use this trick more then 5 times, the book has paid for itself. The book is quality and I’m more then proud to have it in my collection. Ben has excelled himself with Silent Running and i’m certain we’ll be hearing lots more about it.

“Ben Harris’ Silent Running is by far some of his best work and a new method that the mentalism world will cherish for many years to come. Ben has excelled himself with this project and the evidence is there in printed and digital format. I love it and i’m certain you will too!”

********** 10 Star Rating

Released 30th March 2010

Ebook Price: $39.95 (£26.67) Printed Price: $39.95 (£26.67)

Reviewed by Jamie Daws.


S.C-A.R-E.D

reviewed by Kyle MacNeill (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 13 March, 2010)

S.C-A.R-E.DSo practical! I absoloutely love it! Simple, effective, clever and it fools me every time I perform it to myself! Great :)!


Comedy Mind Reading Act

reviewed by Carlos Negron (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 March, 2010)

Comedy Mind Reading ActMind provoking act that could provide ideas for your own act. Some may already know the gags used in this act but for me it was mind provoking and provided ideas for my own act. For $10.00 it is worth the price.


Controlled Miracles

reviewed by Hal Barlow
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 05 March, 2010)

Controlled MiraclesThis is a nice little booklet for $5.00. The "Silk and 10 Fingers" manipulative routine was a high light.


Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhones

reviewed by David Harkey
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 March, 2010)

Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhonesActually is not bad but it would be better to enhance the effect by having a few different sets of page.


Right Now

reviewed by Carlos Laborde
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 15 February, 2010)

Right NowFantastic collection of effects, particularly the Pure Thing. Any card thought of, never named, can be transferred between minds silently and invisibly in under a minute.


Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhones

reviewed by Fred Rosenbaum (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 February, 2010)

Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhonesI purchased and loaded this on my iPhone, it is exactly as stated in the description. While it works flawlessly, I would prefer to see some modifications to make this a truly useful performance piece.

1) It always forces the same page. It would be nice to have 3 different pages that could be forced, with the selection either in a settings screen or depending where on the screen you touch to enter the book. You could then repeat this immediately, which is often asked for in small settings.

2) The force brings you to the start of a new chapter. How much better it would be if it took you to a pure page of text, with the top line half cut-off as if the screen was scrolling randomly.

For $4.50 I can't complain, but with these modifications it would be a much better effect.

Fred


Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhones

reviewed by Tony Miller
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 February, 2010)

Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhonesI purchased the Dracual Ebook Test from Lybrary.com today. I received an e-mail advertising new stuff in the store and this was one of the items. I have seen it on Alan's site before but have hesistated because I tend not to trust iPhone apps that don't come from the actual App Store. After reading the promotional material a few times I decided to get it. For $4.50 you will have a great book test ready to go.

First, the description:

You show the spectator an ebook on your phone and run through how it works (scrolling etc,) for them... You let them see that every single page is different before you have a page randomly selected. You hold the phone face down so no one can see and invite them to scroll though the pages as much as they would like. When they stop you hold the phone screen up to them and ask them to remember the first line on the page. They do so and then they close the app down or scroll past the page themselfs.

You have never seen where they have stopped and they can stop where ever they choose. With this all in mind you can still devine down to the exact letter where they stopped. A true mind reading miracle in your pocket. Ready to go at all times.

Accurcacy: 100% The effect performs exactly as it reads.

Difficulty: Beginner You can perform this within 5 minutes of opening it. I did and got a great reaction.

Repeatability: 0% Once you have shown this to somebody you will not want to repeat it for them again. This isn't like an ambitious routine where you can floor the same audience over and over with it.

Venue: Anywhere This can be done from the stage and it can be done one on one in a intimate setting. Your choice.

Where will you most likely use this: In an intimate setting. Although this will play from the stage you will find yourself performing this when somebody says "Show me something." If you have an iPhone you have a book test with you. Hear somebody discussing an upcoming event? Did they mention they need to find entertainment? You have a quick and effective routine reday to go.

My impression: Positive This is worth the money and you will be satisfied with your purchase. I like that Alan hasn't abandoned it after releasing it. He has provided an update for it and the current version for sale has the update applied. I really like that this doesn't look like an iPhone magic trick.

Hopes: More updates. I hope that in future updates Alan gives us the ability to perform for the same audience again. I don't recommend back to back repeats but if you see similar faces in the crowd at a later date it would be nice to change it up some.

Future thought: This will play well on the new iPad when it comes out.


Magigram

reviewed by Derek Renfro
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 03 January, 2010)

MagigramNOTE: While I have only purchased the first five volumes of the Magigram so far, I am writing this review for the complete file as I am sure that I will feel the same about each volume.

I never read the Magicgram when it was in print. I had no idea what I was missing. But now that I have the first five volumes, I can honestly say that it is a gold mine and will get the entire run. I paid fifteen dollars for the first five volume (three dollars each) and I have found items worth ten times that price in just the first volume alone.

I imagine that by the time I finish buying and reading all 27 volumes I will have more than I could ever use in a lifetime (which I do anyway!). Honestly, if you don't find this pays for itself ten times over, you are either not a serious magician or you have a serious case of anhedonia!!


Little Noise for Double Lift

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 January, 2010)

Little Noise for Double LiftWell, um, gee.....what can I say? Before ordering, please note that this video is only 42 seconds in length....so please don't expect "Gone With the Wind" or anything. This is merely Allan teaching a tiny little subtlety......that's all. Now, it certainly wouldn't be right for me to release the "secret" contained within any video......no siree.......but, suffice it to say that I bet you've accidentally made this noise while executing a double before. If you can't surmise what that noise is/how to do it, then I guess you could toss out a buck-fifty for this little item. It doesn't deserve a "bad" rating because it delivered what it promised and was shot/edited professionally.....no issues there. With the above noted, purchase as thou will.


Later Magic

reviewed by Alok Lahad
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 17 December, 2009)

Later MagicThis is a classic. Every Magician should read it specially the young ones and above all Val Valentino to see how old the tricks we still use today are so very old and tricks remain tricks if their secrets are preserved. This book contains a wealth of information which would be useful for both beginners and advanced readers. This book is also good for inventors who would get a lot of ideas to invent and recycle. Having said that, I would like to mention am not happy with the html e-book offered here as firstly it is not a pdf version but an html. Somehow in the version the page from the original book has been divided into various html pages and you have to keep pressing the next button to keep reading. Though the cover shown on the catalogue has the old look, the charm of an old book is not only its content but also the layout and antique look. I was expecting to see that but that has unfortunately not been preserved in this version.


The Key to Your Card

reviewed by John Fells
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 12 December, 2009)

The Key to Your CardI would be reluctant to describe the choice of card and number as fair. I think that those familiar with the ACAAN plot would find that the effect here is not close enough to consider it as such. There are better methods available which make use of more direct methods to produce an effect closer to the classic ACAAN. I would describe this as another round the houses attempt. On the positive side, I like exploring alternatives, so I enjoyed reading it.

Displaying 1232 to 1256 (of 1406 reviews)
< ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 ... >