Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 58

Read What Others Are Saying: page 58

1241 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1427 to 1451 (of 1626 reviews)


Google Effect: for iPhones

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 01 November, 2011)

Google Effect: for iPhonesThis is a great magic trick that has an odd logic too it. Google is always being refined and having new features added, so why shouldn't it be able to do magic tricks?

Very easy to use interface and the convincer is that your volunteer types the question into the search box. Since real Google search results are brought up, this should be a real baffler.

A minor quibble is that the fake Google screen doesn't quite resemble the current iPhone version; hopefully, Alan will update that soon. But I don't think it's a deal breaker, since your volunteer will be focused on typing the question. You should be careful about doing this for kids, since some of the search results may not be kid-friendly. At least make sure a kid doesn't click on an inappropriate link!

While I do use my iPhone in professional performances, I think this trick is best suited for informal situations. But think of the fun you can have, and the wonder you can create, when you tell your friends about the latest enhancement to Google! Great job, Alan!


Building a Tip

reviewed by Makoto Halver
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 October, 2011)

Building a TipI spent my first month and a half busking having little to no clue as to how to gather a crowd and start my show. A good 25% of every hour I spent standing around trying to get people's attention. Among the vast amount of study material I bought with my earnings on the street, I purchased this video. It looked too simple. Don just... gets a crowd. A big crowd. Just like that. I wrote down notes from Zachary Strange's excellent analysis on how the bally is constructed and modified it to fit my personality. The first day I went out after studying this video, I made $45 more than I usually do. I spent a minute to get people to stop and watch before getting my show started. This video more than paid for itself the first time I used the concepts taught. A must buy for any street performer.


Wave Trio

reviewed by Matthew Jackson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 October, 2011)

Wave TrioGreat tricks which were written and explained very well. His easy to follow instructions make all the tricks quick to learn. I found myself performing all 3 tricks within around half an hour!


Midnight Side of the Mind

reviewed by Dek El
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 15 October, 2011)

Midnight Side of the MindI've enjoyed reading Voodini's books in the past, and this is decidedly one of his greatest works. It allows you to take any mentalism performance to unforseen depths. Midnight Side of the Mind allows your spectators to visit worlds in their minds that are too awe inspiring to put into words. They will meet people they meet in 19th century England, they will use remote viewing to see inside of the room of another spectator, they can see past versions of themselves in perfect 3 dimensional clarity, as if they were walking in the past. I've never read anything like it and doubt I will again. With no gimmicks, Paul allows you to weave visions for your spectators that they will accept as reality and never forget, he allows you to landscape dreams that your spectators experience first hand. These ideas (and there are many) are some of the most pure and beautiful demonstrations of our art that I have ever read.


2 Can Play At This Game

reviewed by Matthew Jackson
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 October, 2011)

2 Can Play At This GameI love this book. I do though believe that Gelasi and MacNeill make different types of magic and I don't think they should be combined in the book. Not to say that MacNeill's magic is bad, but I prefer Gelasi's as it is more simple but I understand that many may prefer MacNeill's. I just don't think the two different types of magic should be mixed as I found myself only being attracted to Gelasi's stuff as they are nearly all easy setups whereas MacNeill's seem to be gimmicked or needs duplicates etc. Overall, the book is great despite my opinions.


The Color Change: the arcane art of transfiguration with playing cards

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 August, 2011)

The Color Change: the arcane art of transfiguration with playing cardsThis is to color changes (a misnomer) as the Big Book of Rising Cards is to the Rising Card theme. There is simply no better book or video, and the scope of the book is fantastic.


Rupert Howard Magic Course

reviewed by Arthur Tuffee
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 14 July, 2011)

Rupert Howard Magic CourseI have used these books for many years. They were purchased by my father in the 30's. They are excellent training material on most aspects of conjuring.


The Little Green Lecture

reviewed by Madison Hagler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 July, 2011)

The Little Green LectureWow what a book! I love any and all of Pit Hartling's material. He is a true genius. He comes up with amazingly clever methods ranging from easy to difficult. But thats not the main reason I love Pit. I love Pit because he isnt just creative with the methods, he is also very creative with the presentation. This man can take some of the most illogical, outragous, drawn out tricks and make them look like a true miracle and you are entertained the whole time. With that being said, Mr. Hartling has done a great job with this book. Its a very easy and fun read. And the tricks in this book are to die for. They are instantly going into my act.....especially triathlon. All the tricks have that moment of awe in them. Great job Mr. Hartling, I was entirely impressed.

P. S. ADD TO YOUR CART RIGHT NOW AND GET TO READING THIS WONDERFUL BOOK!!

~Madison


Be

reviewed by Feras A. Alkharboush
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 14 June, 2011)

BeAfter reading/watching lots of books/dvds, its not unusual to use only one item from a book I just read or get inspired to work out my own ideas. "Be", by Kyle MacnNeil, is a rare case for me: with the exception of 2 items that I didn't really care about, the other 6 I did end up either use or play a lot with, refine then later, use. that's the majority of the ebook, and its been awhile since this happened to me.

Lets get rid of the technicalities: Its all card magic. Some effects use blank cards though you can easily just use the jokers instead. No gaffs. The descriptions are very clear and to the point. In contrast with his other Kyle ebooks I have ( Hands Hof! and Wild at Heart ) this one is very well edited and has a very elegant design. He did spend some time on this issue. There are few pictures though they're more than enough to understand the explanations. There's a video of one of the tricks which is always nice.

The ebook starts off with an essay on creating magic that stimulates different reactions. Don't expect Eugene Burger for the author isn't old enough to grow a beard, but it is indeed a nice read. And you thought Kids today aren't smart. ( feels odd saying this and I'm only 25 )

After reading some of Kyle's material I have to say that I'm impressed. Some plots are indeed off-beat and the methods are so simple you'll end up hitting the wall for not coming up with them. For me, this seems to be Kyle's strength: Simple methods leading to good ( and sometimes big ) results.

The first trick,Cheddar + Chutney, is a very neat sandwich plot. A card vanishes from a sandwich then you do the opposite, the card becomes the sandwich! You use this card to find the cards sandwiching the 2nd selection. This is inspired by Dave Forrest trick ‘Piccalilli’ which I'm not familiar, so I'm not sure of the originality of this. I loved The first two phases are killer and indeed a nice twist to sandwiches.

Box + Deck is a routine I ended up using as written. Its a multi-transposition routine with signatures on the backs, or you can change that and go with the very slick presentation. The highlight for me was Kyle's clever use of one of my favorite sleights: He uses it to visually have a card penetrate the box AND to set up a clean vanish of a signature. Very clever.

I'm a big fan of Everywhere and Nowhere and perform different versions of it, Everywhere Prediction is a version that I will use. Its a great opener that can be done with any deck. This is the first E&Nowhere routine I've read that adds a prediction and it actually makes sense. With the playful presentation that fits my character, This is a decent twist on Everywhere and Nowhere that fans of the plot should check out.

Blank You Very Much is a very interesting principle. The effect sounds like a miracle: Spectator places a freely thought of card in his pocket, you show a joker/blank card and place it in your pocket. With a snap, you name the freely thought of card, and you take it from your pocket. The spectator himself reaches to his pocket and pulls out the card: its the blank. That's exactly how the effect plays out.

This is simply genius if you make it work ( picking the right spectator and careful audience management are key ) and is only 1-on-1. This is something I heavily played with just thinking of different ways to apply it. Its not a magicians fooler but its simply brilliant. If you like having laymen doing sleights for you ( Las Vegas Leaper? ) you'll want to check this out.

Sandwich Triumph is a Triumph mixed with a sandwich with a climax of finding the mates of the selection. The plot isn't new though the method here is very direct and to the point. Some setup is needed though you can work around it( if you own Card College ). There's a weird sandwich load that's credited to Cameron Francis, I didn't think it'll fool laymen though it did in my test performances. Anyways this is a trick I ended up not using, the magic world is full of Triumphs and while this is simple, it wont make you switch from the method you're already using.

Cricket is a version of Paul Harris's Grasshopper. This is something that needed a bit streamlining to become a great worker and indeed this is a version that I now use in a larger routine. The highlights here are the sandwich reveal and the one handed Fandango move ( the original sleight is Ben Harris's ). Both are good, REAL good, and ridiculously simple. Both of them are explained in a separate section, followed by a video performance for the trick which does help to show off the moves.

Instant Repeat Collectors is a very neat idea that allows you to do a clean repeat phase to almost any collectors routine in existence. This is something that I also ended up playing with a lot, very simple and clever. The explanations could be cleaner and a video would've been helpful.

==================================

There you have it. I'm pleasantly surprised at the quality of the material and the amount I ended up playing with and use.

In a nutshell, get this if: - Want simple card magic, with easy and particularly simple methods. - Interested in a nice transposition with 2 signed backs. - Interested in mixing Everywhere and Nowhere with a prediction. - Interested in ways to make laymen do sleights for you ( as in Blank You Very Much ) - Want to learn a neat sandwich reveal and and one handed Fandango.

Don't get this if: - Interested in more creative methods than creative plots. - You're a move monkey. - Feel sad to find out a kid is almost as smart if not smarter than you.

For 10$, highly recommended.


Pabular

reviewed by Howard Port
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 13 June, 2011)

PabularThis is a fantastic resource for the close-up magician. At almost 1400 pages, there is a wealth of information and effects here. I've had it for a year and don't think I have yet plumbed its depths. Here are just a few names I recognized as I leafed through the pages (and I edited this list down from double the number): Ross Bertram, Alex Elmsley, Andrew Galloway, Roberto Giobbi, Phil Goldstein, Larry Jennings, Simon Lovell, Juan Tamariz, Roy Walton. Here you'll find the original text of Tony Corinda's "The Powers of Darkness". Here are several Barrie Richardson effects with his extensive attention to detail. I can heartily recommend Fred Robinson's detailed write-up on the Faro shuffle: after years of being able to complete it only haphazardly, I can now do it perfectly (albeit still slowly) every time. I recommend this as one of the best bargains in magic.


Hands Hof!

reviewed by Feras A. Alkharboush
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 June, 2011)

Hands Hof!I was sent a review copy of this so I'll be thorough. I don't know Kyle personally so this is unbiased. This is the kind of trick that can be exposed easily by a detailed review, I'll my best to avoid that.

Its always difficult to write a review about an effect that its either a love-or-hate. The main effect, "Hands Hof!", a version of Hofzinser's Aces performed completely with the spectator(s) handling everything, has a lot of things going for it, and other things that don’t.

Lets get things out of the way first: The ebook isn’t made by Ben Harris so don’t expect high design quality. There are no illustrations/pictures though you won't need them. The author is very young so don’t expect him to be a great writer. The editing ( at the time of this writing ) can be improved though you will understand the description perfectly. There's a link to a performance in case you get lost. The crediting, however, is phenomenal, this is not an encyclopedia of Hofzinser's Lost Aces Problem though its definitely very informative. If you're new to the plot or interested in it, this is an extremely good place to start looking up information.

How good the trick is? The method is extremely simple and you'll hit yourself for not thinking of it. The effect itself is very good and did get very good reactions in my test performances, particularly since you really don't touch the deck at any point and the magic happens completely in their hands. If that sounds like a pipe-dream, keep in mind these limitations: - Its YOUR deck, with a small setup. - You have to introduce an ace-packet that you setup in advance ( takes less than 5 seconds if you have the needed ungaffed cards, put it in your wallet/pocket and you're set ). You can't use the aces from the deck.

If you decide to carry the ace-packet( in your wallet/pocket ), the setup in the deck itself is so minimal it can be achieved quickly. The effect itself is a variation of the Hofzinser plot, I don’t think I can go through it since its can be backtracked easily by magicians even by description alone. Yes, its far from a magician fooler though it plays very well for laymen. A nice thing about it is you won't have any problems doing it strolling. Only one common sleight is needed. You do end a liiiiiittle bit dirty though you don’t need to worry about. There is a clean up idea offered that adds a second phase ( discussed later ) though I'd ignore it. Its worth mentioning that if you manage to recollect the original contents of the ace-packet nonchalantly after the trick and place it in your pocket, you're clean AND you're reset for another table, leaving you with a clean normal deck ready for your next trick. You can't repeat the effect to the same spectators. The method is very simple and VERY economical, you get a very big effect for SO little effort, and that's where "Hands Hof!" really shine.

That’s it for the main trick. Now for the other ideas.

David Gemmell offers 2 variations. Both minimize the cards needed for the initial setup of the ace-packet though each at a cost. The first variation has a convoluted selection procedure. In the second the final effect is different: the ace ( say hearts ) changes places with the mate of the selection (a diamond ).

A 2nd phase idea by Ray Noble let you finish clean up and change the selection back to the ace. Its not good with no justified actions, and you only end clean if you prepare the ace packet from the deck you're performing with, otherwise you're going to end up with 4 aces ( which you're supposed to to put back in your wallet ) and a deck with 3 aces only. Its obvious he didn't work it, Skip it.

You also get 2 bonus Hofzinser variations taken from Kyle's other ebooks, both of them use 3 selections instead of one. Both are different and somewhat offbeat in terms of plot variation, and while the patter isn’t for everyone I do find them interesting. Both have a climax that I think doesn’t flow with the plot (though the cheesy patter somewhat justifies it): a back changes color or a card to box. Some people might like it especially if they managed to streamline the handling.

In a nutshell-

Get this if: - You don’t mind carrying a packet of 4 cards in your wallet/pocket. - Want a very good, extremely easy hands off version of Hofzinser's Aces. - Appreciate extremely simple methods leading to huge outcomes. - Have no problems knocking your head on the wall for not thinking of it. - Open minded to variations in the plot.

Don't get this if: - You're obsessed with good editing. - Want to do a version with the aces in your working deck ( e.g. producing them beforehand) - Don’t want to spend the pocket space of carrying a packet. - Want to fool magicians

Oh, and its just 5 bucks. 4 stars.


Scripting and Storytelling for Paranormal Entertainers

reviewed by Freddie Valentine
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 May, 2011)

Scripting and Storytelling for Paranormal EntertainersA fantastic book which put across the importance of storytelling and adding meaning to your performances. Steven writes clearly and dispenses little gems of advice that have quite clearly come from a veteran working performer.


Tapping Into Your Creative Flow

reviewed by Brian Richards
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 14 May, 2011)

Tapping Into Your Creative FlowBrian,

I love your book. A refreshing work on creativity. I hope every magician reads it. I am more than happy to offer this through my website.

Best, Chris....


Fan Pass

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 10 May, 2011)

Fan PassA simple, nice little subtetly to use right after you've performed a pass. Very smooth, very casual. ....and, Peter Duffie is a genius (heck, everyone knows that!!)

Not a "flashy" video by any means, but you'll get what you purchased!


Jiminy Cricket Count

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 18 April, 2011)

Jiminy Cricket CountThis is an extremely clever little count....it really is. My complaint isn't really with the count itself, but it's how so many of these Ackerman segments have been sliced up here at the Lybrary. Granted, you can buy a big ole' video here if you want to spend the $$.....but these little segments are so brief it creates a disjointed experience. Just when you start to get "into" the video....it's over! Again, they're cheap..........and you can "buy" a whole bunch of them in tiny slices, or a big one for a pretty healthy chunk of change or just one if that's all you want.....but I just don't think I'm going to buy any video here again that runs for less than about 3 minutes in total....it's just a mental thing, that's all.


Mind Index

reviewed by Bill Dekel
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 06 April, 2011)

Mind IndexMind Index is probably the most practical and comprehensive eBook on billets (short of SwitchCraft) that I have ever read. I have no other words to say other then pick this up if you don't already have it.


The First Eleven

reviewed by Mark Williams
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 March, 2011)

The First ElevenThis Ebook contains nine different effects and two utility items. Most of the magic centers around cards, coins and ESP symbols. John does a fantastic job of describing each effect and then teaching the workings. Mr. Holt has taken the time to properly credit the effects contained within The First Eleven. Each of the magic effects you learn, will spark your creative juices to make these routines fit your own unique style. The First Eleven is for students that have intermediate skills and can help you add some magnificent magic to your repertoire. I can honestly say, that I am looking forward to future releases from John. I give John's Ebook my highest recommendation.

Best Magical Regards,

Mark Williams


PK Sense

reviewed by Bill Dekel (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 14 February, 2011)

PK SenseWhile this is not a single effect that encompasses all senses as I had originally thought, this is still a worthy collection of useful effects. Some of the principles include things that I've known about, but never seen applied to mentalism before. I'm quite sure that I will be incorporating at least some of these into an act soon.


Self-Working Packet Tricks

reviewed by Michel Wermelinger (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 31 January, 2011)

Self-Working Packet TricksI bought this video not because of the tricks, but to see how a professional magician would present them, what patter he would use to make such tricks -- which often are obviously self-working and not too exciting due to the counting, spelling, and back and forth dealing involved -- more entertaining and less obvious.

Unfortunately, Mr. Colombini just explains the tricks, he doesn't perform them. In some cases the trick is so simple and automatic that he basically just goes through it twice, saying in words what his hands are doing. A bit redundant. He says at the start that this DVD is a visual book. But given that self-working tricks are not hard to follow from the written page, there is not much added value in having them filmed. I was expecting to watch what is usually not written in self-working trick books: the script.

On hindsight, I should have bought instead Mr. Colombini's Simply Impromp2 book: not only does it contain 10 times (!) more tricks for the same price, it also includes 5 of the tricks shown in this video.


Mes(s)merize

reviewed by Ray Doetjes
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 30 January, 2011)

Mes(s)merizeEvery now and then there's a truly wonderful ebook for sale and this is one of them.

I had an idea how the effect was done but when reading it I saw that another known method was applied and I had an: "Why haven't I thought of that before!" moment; having been in my act in another shape before. This is definitely something that I will add to an act at some point in a different shape.


A.C.E. Anytime Card Extraction

reviewed by Andrew Loh
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 27 January, 2011)

A.C.E. Anytime Card ExtractionThis is an awesome piece of card magic! I really like the overall idea and its construction which is beautifully thought out! This is immediately added into my current working repertoire. Highly recommended!


The New Conjurors' Magazine: Volume 1 (Feb 1945 - Jan 1946)

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 14 December, 2010)

The New Conjurors' Magazine: Volume 1 (Feb 1945 - Jan 1946)The greatest writers in magic got together and appeared in one magazine - and this is it! One cannot begin to list and describe the advice, the history, and the effects that Gibson showcased within this magazine in just one year. From the controversial Houdini attack on Robert-Houdin to secrets and advice of and from Hardeen, Blackstone, Cardini, and others of whom you just might have heard. 703 pages of the best in magic, reviews of magic, reviews of books and performances, history (including history-as-it-was-happening), and much - MUCH more! As soon as I finish reading and using all this material, I'm getting the next volume. And the next!


Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhones

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 05 December, 2010)

Dracula Ebook Test: for iPhonesVery nice idea for a magic app; a nice change of pace from all the card trick apps. And timely too, with vampires being all the rage!


The Big Book of Rising Cards

reviewed by Chet Cox
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 November, 2010)

The Big Book of Rising CardsAs said, this is one beautiful book! Delightsome for browsing, meticulous research, or for finding that one specific way to perform the Rising Card(s) under specific conditions. The detail is remarkable and if it seems repetitive at times, it's because there are so MANY methods discussed. Highly recommended!

*jeep! --Grandpa Chet


The Art of Deception

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 November, 2010)

The Art of DeceptionWhat a beautiful book! I could (and have) spend/spent an evening just looking at the wonderful posters, woodcuts, and drawings. The text isn't as in-depth as I would like, but there's enough to encourage the reader to research deeper. Like a great magic act, this book leaves its audience wanting more - and I would be very excited if there were a sequel, or something which expands at least two of the chapters. (The chapters on posters and comics.)

*jeep! --Grandpa Chet

Displaying 1427 to 1451 (of 1626 reviews)
< ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... >