Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 54

Read What Others Are Saying: page 54

1247 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1333 to 1357 (of 1632 reviews)


My Favorites

reviewed by Doug Byrd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 04 March, 2013)

My FavoritesI bought Paul's book just the other day and man was I impressed. I am so looking forward to performing his Dream Card II. This is a real world worker for the close-up entertainer. If the other items in this book are even one-tenth as good as Dream Card II then this booklet will become a classic I'm sure.

Thanks Paul for sharing these routines with the community.


Eight Plus One

reviewed by Bob Solari
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 March, 2013)

Eight Plus OnePaul's material is Fresh, Entertaining and most of all, Fun to perform - three things that sadly lacking in today's magic! His plot's are well thought out and for the most part, easy to execute. If you're a 'worker' or just a hobbyist Don't pass up the material in "Eight Plus One" or "A Fix on Six", they are both winners in my book!

Bob Solari


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Bob Solari
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 March, 2013)

A Fix on Six!Paul's material is fresh entertaining and most of all fun to perform - three things that are sadly lacking in a lot of today's magic! His plots are well thought out and for the most part, easy to execute. If you are a 'worker' or just a hobbyist, don't pass up the work in "A Fix on Six" and "Eight Plus One". They are both winners in my book!

Bob Solari


Sawing Illusion Secrets

reviewed by Paris Antonopoulos
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 February, 2013)

Sawing Illusion SecretsVery good book with amazing illustrations !!! Reveals with an excelent way all the sawing illusions that you have seen in magic shows performed by big magicians such as David Copperfield and Criss Angel !!! Simple and understandable illustrations !!! One of the best books in the category !!! I really liked it !!! Very good job with illustrations and explanations !!!


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Ronnie Wood
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 February, 2013)

A Fix on Six!When reading the quotes in the forward of this book, from well known names in magic, I thought Mr Lelekis must be a very experienced close up magician. After reading through his ideas and effects! I realised Mr Paul Lelekis IS a very experienced close up magician. You can actually feel the enthusiasm he has for his work while reading.

After working in a restaurant environment for many years, I still learned a few tricks (no pun intended) from the material and the afterthoughts that Paul provides.

The opening effect of the book, Inspector #1953, which Paul says he usually opens his routine with, is a sure fire way to approach a table and get the other tables noticing you. I’m not going to give the effect away but I know it’ll have many readers jumping to their “magic den” to find that prop that we all own but hardly ever use nowadays!

“The Trick That Can’t Be Explained” is an ingenious routine for when someone asks. “Can you teach me something to show my friends?” It’s based on a mathematical principle that, well, “can’t be explained”! I don’t know about an ingenious routine but Paul Lelekis must have an ingenious mind to have came up with this.

My favourite of the book, B-Fly brings back memories of The Biddle Trick, but so much more up to date. The performer NEVER sees the cards! Although a card trick, it seems to the spectators to be more like mind reading, ESP etc. A mind blowing effect that totally blows them away. (I’ve used this effect a few times and my audience are bewildered!)

I’m not going to comment on every effect. (There are three more. Devilish Miracle II, CAAN TU and Triple Revelation. I’ll leave those privileges for the reader to find!) But just add, when I buy a book nowadays and get one, maybe two usable effects, I am happy! Every effect in this book is workable and entertaining. And isn’t that what we do? Entertain!

The effects in this book and the notes that Paul Lelekis provide have shown me that there is so much more to learn in the art of table hopping! And I learned so much more here.


Impossible

reviewed by Khuldrin Blackphlame
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 January, 2013)

ImpossibleI have combined this effect with another effect I have been doing for years. I understood just how well they worked together when I shared it at the local brick and mortar shop... It has to be good when those in the know look at you like deer in headlights and exclaim @#*% YOU! I carry this with me everywhere.


20 Years a Fakir

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 14 January, 2013)

20 Years a FakirA clever little book, by all accounts. Personally, though, I found it to be a bit more of a biography than a usable "How To" (in the modern sense, at least). The cost is reasonable and it's a pleasant little read. Can't exactly say I'll take many of his "tips" out onto the street tomorrow as a pitch man, but I've just always loved reading about how low-brow entertainers manage to scrape by (mostly on their wits!) The language is quaint and antiquated, but it manages to get its point across, even for a 21st century reader. Recommended......so long as you clearly understand what you're buying.


Ten Mysteries

reviewed by Gerard Zitta (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 29 December, 2012)

Ten MysteriesThis is exactly the kind of Mentalism I like. Fun to perform, simple, practical and direct. It is also the kind of booklets that "open doors" as the effects use simple and old principles you can apply to your own presentation and style. Even though some effects are described for stage or parlour, they can be modified for close up. Highly recommended! Gerard


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Mcaig
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 28 December, 2012)

A Fix on Six!The notes are an interesting read. The presentations given may or may not suit you, but the tricks themselves are solid. The great highlight for me was B-Fly, which is a streamlined and very easy to follow use of the particular move. A very good trick.


Jinx

reviewed by Paul Hallas
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 24 December, 2012)

JinxWell worth having, Annemann's Practical Mental Effects was culled from these pages as was his card magic book. I actually own the hardcover versions rather than this e-edition book, but truthfully, anyone interested in mentalism or card magic should have The Jinx to refer to and at $15 it may be one of the best purchases you'll make all year.


The Dark Waltz

reviewed by Bobby Emeraldi
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 22 December, 2012)

The Dark WaltzI've been performing magic for over forty years. I have read thousands of magic manuscripts in that time. Almost every one of them claim to be the best. Hardly ever would that claim hold true.

For a beginning student, just starting out in this wonderous art, I would give them two textbooks. One would be "Mark Wilson's Complete Course In Magic" for a well rounded understanding of all the basic concepts in magic. The other would be this book, "The Dark Waltz" by Michael J Fraughton, for a solid understanding of how to apply those concepts.

Somewhere within the glamor and glitz of the Las Vegas type stages, the fundamental ideas of magic got lost. Tuxedos, flashy boxes, and scantily clad women took the essence out of what we are supposed to be, the keepers of a mystic realm. This book gives us back the mystic powers of a true magician while still providing entertainment values that are second to none.

It is not just a manuscript for Bizarrist, but captures the beating heart of magic itself. No longer will you be just some shmo providing cute little puzzles for your audience to figure out. You will be able to perform magic that touches an audience so deeply, so emotionally, that they won't care how you did it. They will just know that real magic exists and that they were lucky enough to experience it.

Reading "The Dark Waltz" was a rare pleasure, and got my magic back to where it was supposed to be. In fact, and I do not say these words lightly. it is THE absolute best book on magic I have ever read.


Nick Trost's Trick Kards

reviewed by Paul Hallas
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 22 December, 2012)

Nick Trost's Trick KardsThis is one of Nick Trost's best packet effects, wringing the maximum from what is now almost a standard twisting sequence. Can the cards be examined afterwards? No, but then, you've been telling people the cards are trick cards all along. Well thought out routine with more changes than most and an ending they don't see coming. It's a fun routine, better than some later variants.


The Instant Memory System

reviewed by Ku Tseri
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 December, 2012)

The Instant Memory SystemI bought this a while ago and to be honest was very disapointed this is actualy a marketing gimick for his other memory program which at the end of this after you been shown how to remember 20 items then you are adviced to buy is other program with many features.

For $10 you can buy a proper memory book by which will teach you many methods and how to apply them all thats in this book to sum it all up just google the peg and link system you will probably get better stuff from free web resources.


Card College Lightest

reviewed by Arif Ali
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 19 December, 2012)

Card College LightestWhy are greater books sold for less? Card College Lightest may be a fine read but no digital file is worth $26.


Mind Control

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 19 December, 2012)

Mind ControlGood But! Overall this is a good booklet - but for the price I was a little disappointed. There are some good points but the explanations are a little light in substance and the author tends to contradict himself. I am glad to have it on my shelf but you definately need other resources and that is the rub - there is very little information - I would recommend Max Maven's "Voice Control". This would have been a great book at half the price. Also the watch routine is good but you need to have a gimmick watch that is no longer available. But he does use the routine as an example of the magician's force. If you like the routine it can be duplicated with other methods.


Parallax: a topological miracle

reviewed by Paul Hallas
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 18 December, 2012)

Parallax: a topological miracleThis is a great effect and was recommended in my book "Magic From The Overground" in the chapter on strolling magic and table hopping where I shared my patter for it. It has been in my repertoire on and off for decades. In later years someone released something similar with a dollar bill. It plays better for adults than children. Well worth $7 .


Die Schnapszahl-Methode

reviewed by Felix Schellenberg
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 18 December, 2012)

Die Schnapszahl-MethodeA new (and I mean: really new) method for determining the day of the week with ease and speed. This is cleverly designed and as simple as it gets - the sheet does most the work for you. I'm truly impressed...


Nothing but the Truth

reviewed by Paul Hallas
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 15 December, 2012)

Nothing but the TruthI've always thought the lie detector plot (from experience using it) was a commercial plot, because it allows fun interaction from the spectator and seems inexplicable because of their own input. This is one of several packet trick versions of the plot available and I really like it and have used it. One day I'll make myself up a jumbo set. If there is a downside to this version it would be the lack of variety with the selection, but I doubt that will stop you using it, it didn't me. This is a direct solution to the plot you'll have fun using. Worth every penny.


The Best of Alchemy Card Magic

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 13 December, 2012)

The Best of Alchemy Card MagicEasy to do very effective and very clever card magic for close-up and cabaret magicians. Few of the tricks are 'semi-automatic' so you can concentrate on the performance. Paul and all the contributors have made a very good job. Highly recommended for everybody from beginners to professionals.


Equirock

reviewed by Gerard Zitta (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 13 December, 2012)

EquirockVery good idea and ebook. I like it and recommend it. Gerard Zitta


Swami and Mantra

reviewed by Phil Reda
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 December, 2012)

Swami and MantraThis is a steal at this price. I own the hard cover edition. There is so much usable material between the covers. I am amazed at the contributors - they were the movers and shakers of that time period. I am on my third read through and each time I am coming across new ideas for plots or something that can be updated. A little imagination and some updating and you a treasure trove of material. For example There is a numerology effect on page 34 that if performed today would blow people away - it is just begging for a good presentation. The mathematical principle is so well hidden I smiled as I read through the effect and method. Also on page 30 there is an improved Brainwave deck - this deck can be fanned and shown front and back before you start - any card thought of and it appears face up in a face down deck and again the deck can be fanned and shown front and back with the reversed card. Full instructions are given on how to make the deck. Those are just two effects. I also enjoy reading the Indian Faker routines - though I would never attempt them - like eating glass or razor blades - but they are very interesting. When you first see the layout it looks rough and Richard Kaufman in the publishers note of the hard cover edition even states that this was a low budget newsletter and the intent was to preserve it's originality . I highly recommend this combined set and should be on any serious students reference shelf - again this is low price to pay for the wealth of material between the covers


Into Thin Air

reviewed by Audencio Alanis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 December, 2012)

Into Thin AirExellent routine one of the best 3 coin routines. The video definetely helps. Thank you.


Outta Sight

reviewed by Lee Boyd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 07 December, 2012)

Outta SightIt needs to be pointed out that you need a gimmick deck to perform this which is not pointed out at the offset. In addition, you need additional materials as well. Whilst the method used is acceptable, I do not feel that the deck could be fully examined as it suggests..... Which to all in tense and purposes is the reason I purchased it only to be feeling mislead. It indicates that it differs and is unlike other effects of the same vibe, I totally disagree.

The non gimmicked version, in my opinion is also a cop out.... It is a very condescending method which if I was a spectator, the magician would have no end of problems as it relies on audience management. The title notes advertised for the non gimmicked version, I feel are somewhat misleading. This method would have been better if he had kept it a secret as I feel it is unethical.

Lee Boyd BoydiniMagic


Envelopology Part 1

reviewed by Ewen Wilson
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 04 December, 2012)

Envelopology Part 1Hot on the heels of "My Q&A" comes "Envelopology" another wee gem from Scott, these are some of Scott's ideas for taking some classic 20th Century envelope gimmicks and kicking them into the 21st Century. I cant say too much without the risk of exposing Scott's thinking but the changes he has made result, in improved handling in several areas, even more innocent looking props and in one case he has taken a very clever effect from Anneman's Practical Mental Magic that required the use of index cards and a gimmicked box and updated it using envelopes I'm really looking forward to giving this a try. As with "My Q&A" I would strongly suggest that you get to your nearest stationery store and pick up some envelopes as soon as possible and then re read the book with envelopes in hand.

If you like to use billets, index cards and envelopes in your act then this is a great buy at £9.37p I'm looking forward to the release of Envelopology 2


Lecture 2012

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 November, 2012)

Lecture 2012For the price this is a nice package - lecture notes as well as a Video of the lecture ( about an hour). As stated the Video is a no frills production - shot from the audience and hard to see some of the close up shots but the performance and explanations are good and with a little knowledge of basic slights not a problem. The chair test was my favorite and felt I got my money worth. The spoon and coin bending had several nice touches that can be added to any bend routine you may be performing. Kill scene was good and has a great emotional plot- simple to perform.

Displaying 1333 to 1357 (of 1632 reviews)
< ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... >