Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 59

Read What Others Are Saying: page 59

1289 ★★★★★ reviews
145 ★★★★ reviews
96 ★★★★★ reviews
64 ★★★★★ reviews
96 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1466 to 1490 (of 1690 reviews)


Card Shark Issue 5

reviewed by Feras Kharboush
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 02 March, 2012)

Card Shark Issue 5The issue opens with a trick by Alex Hui which to me was the trick I liked the most though I know others won't share my view. from a shuffled deck a named card disappears from the pack only to appear in between the tabled 2 kings which never touched the deck once they're tabled. Its a nice idea but has problematic aspects. I wished for a better vanish of a named card in the pack but I didn't mind the method here because I already use it. The real problem is the final revelation; you'll do 2 moves after revealing the facedown card in the sandwich. The first is fine since the heat will be somewhere else, while the 2nd is done right where the heat is. Some people won't like it, some people might even think the construction is ridiculous. I think its interesting.

The next trick debuts Scottish magician Andrew Hillcoat. Always nice to learn tricks from new names and this one is alright. Its a gimmickless packet trick where the blue backs of the 2 black kings each change color after being sandwiched in between the red backed red kings, the red kings' backs then change to blue as a climax. If you like the plot the method is quite straightforward. You'll table a double two times during the trick. As a packet trick with almost no counts, I think its fine but I cant see myself doing it.

Kyle MacNeill contributes a version of cannibal cards which, quite frankly ( and sorry Kyle ), doesn't make any sense. The jokers are out & 2 selections are returned, spectator names a number between 1-52 and deals that number of cards on the table. The jokers are placed on that packet and vanish, only to come again with a card in between, the 1st selection. The card vanishes, you say their named number is quite special, since the top card of the tabled packet is shown to be the 2nd selection.

So you got a card that appears in a sandwich then disappears, and the 2nd card appearing at their named number as a "climax". I find quite confusing. Also, The method wont be really deceptive if a very low number is named. You'll also be doing an Erndase color change with a packet which, depending on their named number, can be quite difficult to do. I know it is for me.

John Carey's trick is a winner. A routine based on Allan Ackerman's Quick Coincidence. Spectator uses an ace to find another ace, an indifferent card changes to an ace, then the deck is up and down, all cards then face the same way except the final ace. Easily the best and the most practical trick in the magazine, taken from his DVD set 24/7.

Then There's Roy Walton's trick.

Its a self-working trick with only a-4-card-setup. I didn't try it out but I think it can fool a quite a few magicians. I don't know about laymen but if you're familiar with Roy Walton's style of self-working tricks, this is no exception. I think its pretty good, though I don't think many will perform it regularly to lay audiences.

Quite a long review for an ebook that's less than 3$. I'd say buy it.


Holes

reviewed by Paul Nightingale (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 28 February, 2012)

HolesThe effect "on holemeal" is worth the cost of your last dvd purchse. Its easy to get in and out of and very visual! Great effect!


Fade Away

reviewed by James Colonna (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 22 February, 2012)

Fade AwayI'm new to this review business but I thought I'd start making some.

Fade Away is definitely an interesting ebook. First, you can see demos of both routines on Youtube. Just search "Fade away" and "Trio", by Stephen Tucker. If you like what you see from the demos then you won't be disappointed with the book.

Now my thoughts. In my opinion if you want to do Fade Away, you might as well do the trick "The trick that Fooled Houidin" instead. I just think that there will be less heat on the deck if you do it this way. In Fade Away I think that spec's will want to see the cards, and well you can hand the cards out after. But then the lay people will be handling gimmicked cards. But that's my opinion.

Trio: Is a nice three card trick, and if you like what you see in the demo then you won't be dissapointed.

My one negative is that in Fade Away and Trio, you're not really left "clean" in my opinion. So if like examinable tricks, then I wouldn't recommend it. But if you don't mind ending dirty then I recommend it.

Thanks, James Colonna


Maxi Twisto ReTwisted

reviewed by Aaro Sorva (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 10 February, 2012)

Maxi Twisto ReTwistedFirst, sorry my bad english. I've to say, this is really good packet trick. Only five cards used and this is really stunning. Also this is really easy to learn, so I highly recommend this to everyone. Resets easily when casually showing the cards and when you put the packet away. Aaro Sorva


Mind Blasters USA

reviewed by Stephen Jones
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 February, 2012)

Mind Blasters USAAs a Welshman resident in Dubai, who has a minor contribution included as an addendum to one of the routines, I may have a somewhat unusual perspective as a reviewer. At 358 pages and with 33 contributors and numerous photographs this has to be worth your consideration.

The material covers a wide spectrum of presentations, effects, and props. There is a lot of crediting—in many cases to little known sources—and some may find it frustrating to track these down, but at least you will know what you are trying to find. Inevitably a number of the effects are offshoots or variations of earlier work by other authors, and in some cases the full working details are therefore not revealed. In most cases, if you are interested in such materials you will already have the necessary knowledge.

Although after a quick read I was able to identify several effects I know I will use, what impressed me much more was how much practical experience and know-how was being shared. One advantage of ebooks is there are no printing costs, so editors do not have to prune quite so hard. This allows a more discursive approach with more emphasis on presentational details, or patter and how effects originated or pointers to other direction to follow. Mentalists tend to be more patter and procedure-heavy because they are generally telling a story rather than demonstrating an effect, but that does not mean the presentations are dull or dry — there is plenty of humour here.

Some write ups may seem over long, others may seem unfinished. Professionals know there is only one best way to do the effect, and through numerous performances, have polished off all the rough edges and doubts. Creators and inventors may perform less and be reluctant to stop the creative process and spin off endless possible variations. This book includes examples of both, and overall is the better for it. There is just so much useful background information that you may use for many different effects than those presented. You will find creative uses of objects like bottles and caps, predictions, mind reading, spectator control, a magic cross instead of a magic square, how to create ghostly voices, spirit messages, tricks with droodles, psychometry, astrology, mobile phones, recorders, haunted blocks, sugar packets, Zener cards, Multi-sensory, psychokinesis, coin bending, divination, cold reading, bank nite, balloons, book tests, matches, money and even a smattering of card tricks. So many useful patter lines and tips on audience management; so many different ways of creating emotional hooks that even in the unlikely event you find no tricks of interest you will still value the concepts, ideas, advice and information.

For me, on an initial skim through, Chuck Hickok’s two short pieces were enough reason to know this book was worth buying and I was not even halfway through.


Word Sight

reviewed by Robert M.
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 February, 2012)

Word SightThis book test is so good that I floored 350 people at a business convention. The secret is just purely super-simple and the effect on an audience is priceless. Highly recommended!


#AD001 Horses at Sunup

reviewed by Merlue Davies
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 03 February, 2012)

#AD001 Horses at SunupI have a number of photographs of "Pete" Dailey as I recall his name at Eaton's Guest Ranch, Wolf Wyoming. I am formerly John Irwin's wife, and my father-in-law and mother-in-law were Leon and Lummie Irwin of New Orleans. There are so many fond memories of being at Eaton's Ranch and risdimg with "Pete" and others as well as the many evening get togethers. He was such a wonderful, kind, humorous man. I feel so fortunate to have a number of his one-of-kind works...in my possession since the 60s. They are priceless in my estimation, and bring back nothing but happy memories. I do have Horses at Sunup, Dust and Shadows, Kicking Up The Dust, etc. I have Horses At Sunup, where it won a gold medal at the Boston Art Museum, 1968.


Full: Three self-working full deck effects

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 February, 2012)

Full: Three self-working full deck effectsThis is a great ebook, actually providing what its subtitle says. There are three 'self-working' effects that allow you to work on presentation, rather than fancy moves. I immediately loved Over the Top, which, while it won't wow your magician friends, WILL entertain your audiences. The other two effects are good as well, which are also easy but allow you plenty of room to assert your own persona. One of my favorite e-purchases from Lybrary.


Losing Control

reviewed by Caroline Lisbano
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 February, 2012)

Losing Controlsuperb magic videos


Howard Thurston's Card Tricks

reviewed by Wilhelm Eberhard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 January, 2012)

Howard Thurston's Card TricksThis is probably one of first books describing stage card manipulations, specially productions from the back palm.

Later books, such as Buckley's Card Control, tend to assume that the reader had studied Thurston's book and knew the basic methods explained therein.

Although you can find these methods (practically the same as described by Thurston) in lesson 35 of the Tarbell Course on Magic, explained in a more clear and detailed manner, if you are interested in stage manipulations, this book is a must.

You will also find an interesting section about the Si Stebbins stack, which the author calls "The "Thurston" System of Expert Card Manipulation".


The Psychology of Magic

reviewed by Peter Prevos (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 January, 2012)

The Psychology of MagicEvery magician should listen to this tape. Bill Nagler provides an excellent explanation HOW to ensure that audiences do not see you as a simple trickster, but as an entertainer.


Contact Colors

reviewed by David Kay (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 19 January, 2012)

Contact ColorsThis is an amazing, almost self working card trick. There is minimal setup, but enough that you couldn't do this impromptu, however the resulting effect is worth it. The dirty work, which is next to nothing if you have any experience with cards, is done at the very beginning, and allows you to focus your attention on giving a good performance. It is a magician fooler too, as I couldnt see anyone reverse engineering this. A MUST BUY!


Encore: three easy effects

reviewed by Danny B.
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 16 January, 2012)

Encore: three easy effectsI can not believe that this kid is 16 years old, his material is solid and very clever! Support him and buy this, you will not be disappointed! Give him a few years to see him grow all over the magic market!


Card Shark Issue 3

reviewed by Skott Hughes (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 January, 2012)

Card Shark Issue 3After getting this yesterday and performing EDGY last night all I can say is : Kevin Schallers Edgy is my new favorite worker. This 1 effect killed my supporters last night at my show. At this price how could you not "give it a try". I did, and will now be buying all of these pdf gems. All of the effects are well thought out. Mike Gelasi has several w/ video links to YouTube for the actual performance. Skott Hughes


Magigram Volume 11 (Sep 1978 - Aug 1979)

reviewed by Henri
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 01 January, 2012)

Magigram Volume 11 (Sep 1978 - Aug 1979)This is by far the best way to spend three dollars in magic I have seen so far. Not just this particular issue (Or 12 issues) but the magigram in general. Everybody (Absolutely everybody) will find something they like in this magazine. Magigram 11 is almost one thousand pages long. There is every kind of magic you can think of. I loved this PDF and I guarantee that you will be pleased, if you like silk magic, rope magic, mentalism, dove magic, children's magic, stage, parlour, or almost any other kind of magic. Except maybe escape magic, though I haven't even finished the 1000 pages and there might even be some of that. And only three dollars! This is the best three dollars I have spent in magic so far.


Casus

reviewed by Radoslaw Makar (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 20 December, 2011)

CasusThis is one of my personal favourites :) Mike told me about it some time ago but I wasn't that impressed at the beginning - it's a well known plot after all and there is a lot of different variations of it on the market. I wasn't impressed until I saw the final outcome! You can be sure this one is a real worker and it will get you great reactions! Trust me - Mike knows his craft and he made this one stand out from the crowd of other effects. It's $7.99 well spent.

PS. Have a look at other ebooks Mike offers!


Who's Who In Magic

reviewed by Don Rataj
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 16 December, 2011)

Who's Who In MagicGreat book and resource of magicians.


Eastern Moves: Video Vol. 1

reviewed by Skott Hughes (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 08 December, 2011)

Eastern Moves: Video Vol. 1This is a fantastic download..were for $2 are you gonna get this? Radek is a great coin worker with a very creative mind. Do your hands some justice order this now! Skott Hughes


Snap: A Treatise on Drawing Duplications

reviewed by Aire Allegro
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 07 December, 2011)

Snap: A Treatise on Drawing DuplicationsI own both 'Devious Realities' and 'Dare to be Bold' and these are by far some of the best drawing duplications (in my opinion) I have ever read about. I have used mind plant live several times; including in front of other performers and it fooled everyone I have ever performed it on! This book will really open your eyes to the clever way Turner's mind works and I could not recommend it enough.

Would rate more than 5 star if I could.


Michael Close Signature Effects: Workers & Power of Palming

reviewed by Skott Hughes
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 December, 2011)

Michael Close Signature Effects: Workers & Power of PalmingThis is a real nice 2 on 1 dvd from former Magic Magazine product and trick reviewer Michael Close. This is as he say's in the Workers dvd time tested effects that will leave them scratching their heads. Of great note is the Dancers at the end of Time and the Origami Frog Prince is worth the price alone. Then there is the Power of Palming portion as a Bonus. Very in depth look at well The Power of Palming. All in all a very nice but dated (shot in the early 90's) dvd. I still will give it 4/5 stars and worth checking it out.


Into Thin Air

reviewed by Skott Hughes (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 01 December, 2011)

Into Thin AirThis has some really smooth moves involved in this routine. Radek is very clever and offers a very stunning update to the classic assembly of 3 coins. Don't wait, get this today, It'll be the best $5.00 investment you can make. I was very pleased with the clear instruction and over the shoulder camera angle.


Practical Mental Effects

reviewed by Peter Turner
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 26 November, 2011)

Practical Mental EffectsThis book is a fantastic resource for anyone in the mentalism industry, I have been performing proffessionally for several years and a huge part of the way I perform is down to this book. I always reference this book everytime I think about creating a new effect, after what seems like a million times of reading the book I still find something new and interesting in here!

The material is often slated as being out of date, but take it from me when I say the material and principles are only a stones throw away from being rejuvinated and turning into clean mental miracles!

If you don't already have this in your collection, you need purchase it, lock yourself away into a room d study it and get out and try it!

Peter Turner


The Magician's Dream: a practical solution for any card at any number

reviewed by Paul Philavong (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 21 November, 2011)

The Magician's Dream: a practical solution for any card at any numberThere are eight tricks in this booklet and neither of of them is a full hands off "ACAAN" as the original Berglas effect.

The cards are being too much "handled" as in a self-working mentalism card trick by either the spectator or magician in the process to make the trick work. For example:

Trick #1 - Random ACCAN - This involves 2 sprectators: spec #1 think of a card, spec #2 think of a number. So far so good, but then the deck is introduced and spec #1 deal the cards down and when he sees his card he is asked to remember the number where his card falls and cut the deck a certain way. Then spec #2 is given the deck and count down to the number he was thinking of and remember the card that fall in that position, blah-blah-blah and etc.... In short convoluted, boring and definitely not close to the Berglas ACAAN.

Trick #2 - ACAAN on Demand - Cards are not shown from the get go, ask spec to think of a card, then get a deck of card and have a number chosen.

Trick #3 - Perfect ACAAN on Demand - Cards are not shown from the get go, then they come out of magician's pocket uncased.

Trick #4 - Mixed Revelation - After thinking of a card and a number, spec is asked to do something with a certain card and then guided to do a shuffle.

Trick #5 - Final Cut Version #1 - Memorization is needed, cards are not shown from get go, when they are shown the magician touched it too long.

Trick #6 - Final Cut Version #2 - No memorization needed, cards are not shown from the get go and a set pattern and some calculation need to be done to get the trick to work.

Trick #7 - Dream - Make use of the "Oops I made a mistake let's do over" excuse and use sleight of hands to get the card to the desired position and bet that the spec will stay with the same card in the do-over phase - silly.

Trick #8 - Lucifer - Make use of a different trick to get the card to the desired position and then suggest to spec, let's do try and ACAAN trick - as silly as the one above.

Overall review: very disappointed.


Attacking ACAAN

reviewed by Paul Philavong (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 21 November, 2011)

Attacking ACAANThere are 4 Tricks in this booklet, neither one of them will give you the satisfaction that you came very close to the Berglas Effect.

Trick #1 - Psychometry Cards - Not ACAAN by a long shot but has a good potential to be a classic of magic.

Trick #2 - T Minus 1 - It is an ACAAN but at the end you, the magician, will never get the full satifaction of feeling like being the "hero" of the show.

Trick #3 - ACAAN OCD - Not an ACAAN because the cards are not shown from the get go, and when they finally make their appearance, they are uncased and it involves sleight of hands.

Trick #4 - Almost ACAAN - The world "Almost" in the title should give you a hint. This method involves additional props.

My last word on this booklet: if you are seriously seeking for something close to the "original and acclaimed" Berglas effect, you will be disappointed. I was.


42 Amazing Tricks and Stunts with Rope

reviewed by Don Bursell
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 17 November, 2011)

42 Amazing Tricks and Stunts with RopeAs an owner of the actual printed copy of this book, I have to say that it is really good. The basics are covered, all the way up to a decent handling of Professor's Nightmare.

Whenever I teach magic classes, this is one of the best resources, and also to have for sale afterward. The actual printed copy sells for $3.00 also, and can be found via quite a few magic shops.

This is a great book for someone beginning to explore rope magic. And it is very well illustrated.

Displaying 1466 to 1490 (of 1690 reviews)
< ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... >