Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 53

Read What Others Are Saying: page 53

1251 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1312 to 1336 (of 1636 reviews)


The Amateur Magician's Handbook

reviewed by Cristian Vidrascu
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 12 July, 2013)

The Amateur Magician's HandbookOne of the best books on magic, the only issue I have is with the title: the target audience is not limited to amateurs. If I were dictator of the universe, I would make it required reading for any type of entertainer, especially magicians and mentalists.

Covered within are sleight of hand magic versus "head magic" (where ingenious methods not involving sleight of hand are used). There is emphasis on cards, coins, the usual, but what differentiates this from other books on magic is how clearly the psychology of magic is explained. You could tell the author was very sharp, his thought process was very thorough, and his writing style was extremely clear and to the point.


Gems of Mental Magic

reviewed by e c
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 July, 2013)

Gems of Mental MagicThe majority of effects in this book are for 2 people working together. The rest use gimmicks/apparatus that are very outdated. I would not recommend it at all, even for it's cheap price.


Blindsight: the original

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 09 July, 2013)

Blindsight: the originalThis is an improved version of Poker Tells. I love the handling and all the details that Mr Knight provides. If own Poker Tells I would still recommend this especialy for the price. This is a greatly improved handling and very well thought out.


Catch 33: Three Card Monte

reviewed by David Bilan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 July, 2013)

Catch 33: Three Card MonteLee Asher with three cards. One black card and two red. Pick the black card and you win. A classic con. How much effort could it take to teach a routine? If you want a great routine, it takes input from twenty of the most talented people in magic. Add 48 high quality close-up photos and and mix to create a straight-forward, well written routine that ends with a kick.

I enjoy learning from books/printed media, but watching the moves in action make learning the routine much simpler. Lee gives me the best of both worlds, providing a link to video showing the routine from start to finish.

Do you get the idea that I really like this routine? Like the TV commercials say, "But wait... there's more!"

Throughout the document, Lee credits the various moves, tosses in some great quotes (not necessary to learn the magic, but great reading) and ends with a link to a Bibliography giving you more than 150 years worth of writing about 3-Card Monte.

Is it good for a newbie? It can be. This is a classic lesson in misdirection, audience management and putting together the moves with a script. The moves aren't knuckle-busters, but they will take practice. If you are willing to invest the time, Lee Asher offers a classic with a new twist that will leave people will an impossible ending.


Catch 33: Three Card Monte

reviewed by Roger Isberg
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 July, 2013)

Catch 33: Three Card MonteFor anyone who is serious about 3 card monte. Fresh ending. Lots of reference material. You can also go to video clip and a big bibliography. Everything with quality takes time so take some time and study Catch 33 carefully.

Roger Isberg


Dai Vernon: L'Uomo Che Inganno' Houdini

reviewed by Simone Scaravella (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 25 June, 2013)

Dai Vernon: L'Uomo Che Inganno' HoudiniOttimo libro sulla biografia di Dai Vernon,assolutamente da comprare !!!!!


Rank Your Act on Google's First Page in 24 Hours

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 June, 2013)

Rank Your Act on Google's First Page in 24 HoursThis is excellent and easy to understand for anyone serious about learning about Google's SEO. The section on utilizing YouTube to get on page one of search results is worth more than the price of the book. Highly recommended! And while I still need to do some fine tuning, you can put these terms into Google as proof of the video SEO and other SEO techniques in action:

San Antonio Comedy Magician San Antonio Party Ventriloquist San Antonio Family Entertainer


The Memorized and not so Memorized Decks

reviewed by Tor Ravengael (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 05 June, 2013)

The Memorized and not so Memorized DecksIn my view, these stacks are most useful for memorized deck routines in which the magician/mentalist is able to read off an apparently random stack of cards in sequence. In my opinion, it would be useful to know that they are not something one would want to use as a stack in which, for example, a card is chosen from the middle of the stack and the magician/mentalist would then be able to name it, as a result of the properties inherent in the stack. I think that may prove to be difficult. Also, although little actual strict "memorization" is involved, one does need to keep track of patterns/and or math, which may or may not be easy depending performers skill at doing that sort of thing under performing conditions. In my opinion, although these stacks are very useful for their particular purpose, the price is a bit steep - considering one can find less expensive, equally deceptive, and easy to use stacks that have a wider range of applications. Interesting and useful, by in my view, just not $28.00 worth of interesting and useful.


Get Gigs Right Now

reviewed by Terry Smith
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 03 June, 2013)

Get Gigs Right NowSorry, But what a load of crap for the money. The first 6 pages are fluff. The next couple deal with booking a show. After that, well, it's nothing that the very average preformer already knows.

If I could, I'd ask to get my money back for this product.

Terry G. Smith Mentalist


First Impression(s)

reviewed by Etienne Lorenceau (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 May, 2013)

First Impression(s)The idea of the author is fundamentally brilliant and it works. Patrons will show the card to several people and may even try and use it for a while for their own profit. Now it seems to me that the author is pushing his great idea in the wishful thinking zone when he suggests not to mention the Tel number to lead the prospects into getting into the performer's website. This shows, in my opinion, that he doesn't fully knows how people rich enough to hire a magician, operate in their daily life. A wealthy patron receives many cards almost daily and gives it to his assistant to enter in his computer. If the phone number is not on there, he will not spend the time to look for it in the website. He'll ask his assistant to look for the number but will resent having had to do this. Driving the patron to look into the website is a good idea in itself but it should be done differently and during the time that the prospect is still under the charm of "first impression" (and that will not last for ever: at best a couple of days). Therefore I would suggest that the tel number should be on the card but that some of the questions raised by the card get their "detailed personal answers' on to the website. If the prospect has to enter his email to access the website, then it's simple to have the website automatically directing him to some right brain left brain cold reading pages -and have a random selection of several pages for each brain side so that if he shows the site to a friend after showing him the business card, they don't get the same description (keeping a tag however for the same person always getting the same comment). Detailed cold reading description can be copied from books on the subject. Now this positive criticism shouldn't deter smart magicians from purchasing the book as the fundamental idea remains totally proper and valid. It can be just used as such or open many cold reading possibilities like Kenton Knepper's "Completely Cold" which, by the way could easily be programmed on a web site instead of pre-entering cold reading pages. Now the First Impression commercial aim could be completed by including a justified exchange of business card and asking the patron's birthday (or wedding day) to be written on his card. Then the magician gets an info where HE can call the patron a few week in advance from his birthday, referring to his own First Impression business card, and suggest a gig

A fantastic commercial and magical idea that should be pushed further either by the author or by the reader.

A book definitely worth purchasing


Brain Busters

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 22 May, 2013)

Brain BustersI have always been a fan of UF Grant. This little manuscript is a steal for the price. There are some good ideas looking to be updated and fine tuned. All four routines are good but my favorites are the watch routine and the bill divination.


Packing Crate Escape or Sub-Trunk Illusions Plan

reviewed by Matt Adams
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 14 May, 2013)

Packing Crate Escape or Sub-Trunk Illusions PlanWell, you get what you pay for...and maybe a little more in this case. When I bought this ebook I had NO idea what I was doing in regards to woodworking. There are multiple errors in the book regarding dimensions, but I figured it out well enough. The BEST part is that he tells you pretty much everything you could possibly need for building this box. THAT is super helpful to the newbie who doesn't know anything! So in short - I was ACTUALLY able to build the box from these plans!!

However, the thing weighs a TON and using 3/4 inch plywood probably wasn't the best choice. I've since learned some new building techniques and would definitely do things very differently if I did it again. But hey...I was able to build my first illusion. I never used it...but I did it. ;)

It now sits in my garage, the lid taken apart and used for other things (since my gimmick wasn't very good...I'd need to remake it anyway) and the four walls and base are assembled and used as storage at the moment. :) But all I would need to do is recut the lid and voila...My trunk is ready to go again. (The lid will definitely be the toughest part)

I didn't like the lid design and it didn't give much room to move about when the gimmick was open. I'd try something different my next go-around. But all in all...not horrible, but certainly not going to be a trunk you'll want to sell to a friend!


The Gimmick MagiZette: Volume 2, Issue 5 (Apr - Jun 2013)

reviewed by Tor Ravengael (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 13 May, 2013)

The Gimmick MagiZette: Volume 2, Issue 5 (Apr - Jun 2013)The Gimmick MagiZette is an amazing bargain. Not only is there some great magic to be learned in every issue, it also provides a fascinating peek into the world of magic in India, both currently and historically. It also is quite entertaining, sometimes unintentionally so due to difficulties in translation. (I'm actually hoping the translation doesn't improve - the peculiar word choices are half the fun!) You wont be dissapointed. A great value.


Get Gigs Right Now

reviewed by Doug Kevilus
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 April, 2013)

Get Gigs Right NowAs a performer that's always looking for ways to gain more exposure to potential clients, I decided to pick up Robert Marsi's book to see what I could learn. I figured if it even helped me land one gig, then it's paid for itself. It's not a system where you can expect to make a ton of money right at the start. But it truly is a system that will get you immediate gigs in front of potential planners that are looking for someone just like you. In fact, using the resources he provides in the book I sent out about three dozen email inquiries to different groups. In two days, I booked two different speaking gigs were they were in fact practically begging me to come talk. Nice thing about these gigs is that they are middle of the day events when I typically don't have any performances going on. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to build up a potential client base and get yourself known, especially among those people to have a high potential to need you again later.


Get Gigs Right Now

reviewed by Doug Kevilus
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 18 April, 2013)

Get Gigs Right NowDecided to take a chance on this e-book and see what I could learn. Very easy formula for getting yourself in the public eye of those people that do have the ability to hire you, no matter what level you currently are at. From the very new performer, to the experienced we can all use more exposure. This book gives you the steps and the resources to find those individuals that are looking for you. After reading the material and doing as it instructs I sent out a few dozen emails, two days later I had two gigs booked when the planners called me back.

If you're looking for ways to get noticed and get yourself out there to more potential clients I would recommend this e-book.


Coinman's Packet

reviewed by Unsatisfied Customer
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 18 April, 2013)

Coinman's PacketIt's not magic at all: it's just a book about bar bets with coins...

The description of this item is completely wrong!


Number 5

reviewed by David Lees
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 10 April, 2013)

Number 5The Number Five.

Thank you so much for sharing this. I am going to be very honest here. I genuinely think that this is brilliant. I love it, and if you do not mind I will most certainly use it. To be honest, in my opinion it is the best thing I have read in years.

This is so up my street that it is unbelievable.


What's Up Deck?

reviewed by Don Bursell
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 April, 2013)

What's Up Deck?I purchased this as a hardcover book when it was first released, after seeing Aldo perform two Oil & Water routines from it.

I really like this book for two reasons: First, nothing is left out. If a routine calls for a move or sleight, it is taught, and never leaves you running to other resources to learn it. If you look at the table of contents listed here on Lybrary.com, you will see how "full" this book is with sleights and variations. Second, the routines taught in here are not difficult at all, but have a strong impact from a visual and "astonishment" perspective.

The two O&W routines I refer to are "Nice Salad" and "Italian Dressing". One uses just 8 cards, and is very visual. The second uses a 9th (hidden) card, but allows even more visual astonishment.

$10.00 is a steal of a price for the amount of material contained in this book.

So, oddly enough, two of my favorite books on card magic have bright yellow covers: "What's Up Deck?" by Aldo Colombini, and Richard Kaufman's book on Bro. John Hamman's card work.

Don Bursell Mora, MN


Free Choice: a mental effect

reviewed by Joel Kaplan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 05 April, 2013)

Free Choice: a mental effectI took the description below to mean that there is no counting.

I was wrong.

"Logical sequence (or do you find it logical when the spectator says "six" and the magician answers: "six", OK good, let's spell s-i-x and every letter is a card...)"

Since counting can be involved, depending on the spectator's free choice, I don't recommend this e-book. The method is not new and is very basic. Save your $6.00.

Joel K.


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Douglas Lippert
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 March, 2013)

A Fix on Six!If you want to perform close-up magic for a living, these six routines would be a great start! These routines come straight out of the working repertoire of a real magician's magician. Paul has won the Howard Bamman trophy for a good reason. This set of works is well, thought out, magical, and most importantly, entertaining! The presentations provided are excellent. Be sure to modify them to fit your personality though.

“Inspector #1953” - is Paul's entertaining routine for the classic thumb through shirt effect that's been performed on national television in Europe. He provides excellent advice in using this routine as an “in” for performing at restaurants. The method is simple but devious. Highly recommended. “The Trick That Can't Be Explained!” - is one of my favorite card effects from Paul's. If a layman asks you to show them a trick you'll be prepared. Even when they know how it's done it will still be magic! The best part about this effect is that it is totally impromptu and self-working. There are just a few procedures to memorize and then you're all set. “B-Fly” - is a very magical version of the Biddle trick involving an invisible card that gets some good laughs from your spectators. There aren't any tough moves to learn here and Paul describes a great feint by Paul Cummins. This routine is very practical and plays very well. This will get you the money in a professional setting. “A Devilish Miracle II” - This is a solid card effect that gets great reactions and multiple moments of magic. This effect is definitely one of the harder card effects in his notes and is for the experienced card magician. Paul expects the reader to know several card moves that are not explained. Paul makes use of several card sleights for maximum deception. Also, a great card sleight of Harry Lorayne's is explained. Another one of my favorite card effects from Paul!

“CAAN TU” - Card At Any Number has been all the rage among magician's for the last couple years. Paul's take on J.K. Hartman's CAAN is a beauty. I like how the double revelation catches the spectator's off guard. There's a lot of humor in Paul's routine which will help guide you in the right direction towards making it your own. There's a move involved in the routine that if you own JK Hartman's “CAAN Craft” you'll have no problem doing. In the “Post Note” of CAAN TU there's an excellent piece of advice for when a spectator names any card! Don't skip over this!

“Triple Revelation” - This is a great variation on Al Baker's “The Mind Reading Trick” with minimal props that fit in your pockets. I especially liked Paul's variation on the classic playing card force by Balducci. It breaks up the action to make it harder for a spectator to reconstruct the effect!


The Ramsay Legend

reviewed by Scotty Magic
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 28 March, 2013)

The Ramsay LegendConsider your $15 an investment if you buy this classic! Study, absorb and apply the content and consider your money well spent.


My Favorites

reviewed by Laurence Hookway
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 24 March, 2013)

My FavoritesA friend of mine burned me badly with 'Dream Card' and pointed me to Paul's eBook.

Paul puts his own spin on some of these classic effects and what you have is a brilliant collection of working card routines.

He's obviously worked these for years demonstrated by all the little nuances and tips he drops in here and there. Paul's crediting is full and to be applauded.

You could spend $30 on a DVD and be lucky if you end up with one working effect. For $10 I guarantee you'll get at least 3 or 4 workers to add to your repertoire.

To be honest if I had paid $20 for this I'd still consider it a bargain.

Regards,

Laurence.


A Lightning Rod to the Spirits

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 March, 2013)

A Lightning Rod to the SpiritsJust finished reading this manuscript.   I am  a huge fan of Paul's work and this is another excellent example of his creative out put.  There are four effects.  My favorite is the Nurses Watch followed by the Child  Coloring  Book.  Both in my mind are worth the price of the booklet.  The frying pan routine is one that I will put on the shelf for now as it does require a confident and strong presentation.  Finally the Vampire Salt routine shows how you can take the simplest trick and make it into a spooky story.  This booklet is more of a pathway to get you thinking about all the magical effects that can be re-framed  to this genre of performing. Also what you are getting is story for each effect with some performance comments.  The secret is reveled but you have to already be  familiar with the workings.  All basic stuff.


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Chris Ostrowski
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 March, 2013)

A Fix on Six!Reading this material for the first time, it is a wealth of usable close up for performing in close up magic and or parlor. Not only does the author show he has experience but you can feel the passion and energy in his descriptions. Besides the 6 effects offered here, he also gives great words of wisdom to anyone starting out in the realm of restaurant performing. That alone is worth the price of the e-book. These effects are pricless, most is card work, with great homage to the card master of yesteryear. Paul putting his original handling on the effects. I have performed for the past 20 years doing magic in all types of venues, out of all I must say my favorite is restaurants. It allows you to do great feats of magic in short burst and perfect your patter and handling of your chosen effects. If this sounds like you, then buy this e-book. I would highly recommend it.


Twins

reviewed by Alfonso Bartolacci (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 March, 2013)

TwinsThis man is a genius and the gratest hypnotist of the world . People write review on his books, talking about routines the do not exist on the Nefesch book ( or should I speak of "psychic mafia ? ) Surfing on the web, on magic cafè forum the review are theese : Nefesch do the effect via skype : boy, this is fantastic, than when you read the book you understand how !! Nefesch do this routine in his drawing room ( when in bath room or toilette ? ) , with strange person taken you do not know where !! Nefesch say on the magic cafè forum that on this book are 5 systems ( before publishing the final book ) , and that 4 are 100% sure fire and 1 99,99 .....boy where are theese routine on the book ? The book is full of material only useful on one on one routine or in front of many but in informal setting , with strategies taken from Ormond Mc Gills etcetera , recycled material that a pro cannot use on stage ( in fact performances are in drawing room, strange and lost places, corridors, skype etc ) Ok man, please remember : when you talk about publishing SOLID ROUTINE, that means that the routine is tested, really tested in front of paying audience , narrowed from hundreds of performances , and with a UNIC METHODOLY that work and some nuances, NOT 11 methods with no rotuine and nuances only ! Hey boy , you are realy kidding, this man is really a fake, whit a terribile standing kind of persona !! And now I will buy immediatly "linked", I am really curious on his fantastic edition of Cordinda material !! This is really a wonderful world Alfonso Bartolacci NLP Trainer Mentalist Author

Displaying 1312 to 1336 (of 1636 reviews)
< ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... >