Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 29

Read What Others Are Saying: page 29

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
111 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 709 to 733 (of 1408 reviews)


Classic Card Magic I

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 17 March, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IFinally, a book that addresses a strong appreciation of the classics! The Classics are known as that because they are timeless, distinct plots, and your audience reactions will be buoyant and boisterous. Five effects that you can review or learn immediately, with updated patter to meet the contemporary need of today's sophisticated audiences. This is the first of a series of such much-needed books. I am a fan of Paul Lelekis (reviewer for The Linking Ring) and his 27th book followings his inimitable style of Wow! As a regular worker, his approach is practical, pragmatic, direct, well thought through, and impactful. I believe that you will use at least one of his effects immediately upon your practice. His approach to exciting the Inner Universe of magical entertainment is his trademark, as his clear writing style. Three effects went straight to my repertoire: Red Hot Tarpon Opener, Homing Card, and the bonus - Any Even Black Spade. And there is even an ACAAN effect, plus his 6-Card Repeat. Everything in it, is a winner. I give 'Classic Card Magic 1' my highest recommendation. I await the remainder of his series. Enjoy!


Elemental

reviewed by Loki Jedi (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 16 March, 2016)

ElementalNever ever in over 10 years as magician got this much value for money. Both the design of props and the routines are unbelievably top notch. A definite 'must buy'. The one emotion I feel right now for Mr.UnMe is - gratitude n admiration ! He has taken an old method and turned it into a pulsating power horse.


Unbroken

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 14 March, 2016)

UnbrokenFor the first time, I came across what may be called as 'disguised equivoque'. This is a mind blowingly clever twist to the standard equivoque. That and a couple of classic methods are crafted together into a chilling and spooky routine. Fantastic theme and presentation. Very unconventional thinking this. Commendable. You could really start a cult, if you wanted to. Not only numerical thinking, which I enjoyed in one of his stacked decks (13MM of Stebbins) but this author's emotional thinking is also terrific.


Labyrinth Illusion

reviewed by
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 12 March, 2016)

Labyrinth IllusionIt's a very good illusion - in my opinion - but here are some problems: 1 - I'ts like sleight of hand, HAND WASHING, where you do these complicated moves, a million times, and it is NOT NATURAL. For example: You see the same old fan productions, with the usual back palming, a million times, and thinking that the audience will not catch on. But it should be obvious to anyone watching.

MY POINT--KEEP IT SIMPLE!!! CUT OUT THE CLUTTER(FILLER)!!! Not too many sleights, color changes, etc.!!!

2: You must ENTERTAIN--NOT SHOWING OFF!!!

THE BOTTOM LINE::--Labyrinth Illusion COULD BE a better illusion, by making the Act shorter and less complicated. I MEAN--You basically have the magician assistant, doing a lot of secret stuff, and at the same time--the magician is also doing several secret stuff. Plus the audience, see lots of stuff happening, and it's hard to grasp what's going on, because you have so many effects --going on, at the same time. BUT IT IS A GREAT ROUTINE--IF YOU DON'T CLUTTER IT UP--WITH TO MANY EFFECTS!!!

If I may, I like to recommend 2--RAND WOODBURY BOOKS--THE BASE BOOK & DIVERSIONS. The books will give you a better perspective, and understanding of the LABYRINTH ILLUSION.


Making Mondo Magic: a tale of three routines

reviewed by Bernard Sim
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 08 March, 2016)

Making Mondo Magic: a tale of three routinesI have known Enrico for a very long time and I have seen the live performance of the routines in the book many times. I like the coin routine as it is a full routine and can be done standing. It is not difficult to do. At $8, this is a steal.


5 Ways to Stop Your Pulse

reviewed by Art Vanderlay
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 07 March, 2016)

5 Ways to Stop Your PulseJust finished reading this, as someone who has performed pulse stops, I was excited to see what techniques Devin has used. I am familiar with the well-known method which utilities a small gimmick; however, the alternative version of that particular pulse stop and the bonus effects and the one using a chair, I was not familiar with. For someone who wants to learn the secrets of stopping your pulse, then this is the perfect start for you. The propless versions are fantastic and I will be using these methods in my own working set. Highly recommended.


Jinx

reviewed by Matteo Filippini (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 04 March, 2016)

JinxOne of the very best investments that a serious student of Magic could do...and for 15 bucks it's really a bargain!


Wallet Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by Prof Max (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 03 March, 2016)

Wallet Brain KnewmerologyWallet BK is yet another example of creative innovation. This series has seen an extremely thorough and practical treatment of a simple math principle - which now looks like a multi-purpose Swiss army knife. I heartily commend the author on building an edifice out of practically nothing. This and Coin'cidence will now be the top 2 effects out of my wallet.


Absolute and Ultimate Coin'cidence

reviewed by Cortez Magicus (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 01 March, 2016)

Absolute and Ultimate Coin'cidenceThis is very bigger than Coincidence. 20 different routines with 20 different idea. Very amazing. All powerful stuff. Any language no bar (except 3-4 ideas). Enjoyable price !


Making Mondo Magic: a tale of three routines

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 February, 2016)

Making Mondo Magic: a tale of three routinesI have known Enrico for a number of years, and even though we live on different sides of the Globe, I am privileged to call him my friend. He is a world-class runner and a world-class magician. These three routines are superb and will find a "home" in any magician's repertoire. Buy it now...you'll be glad you did!


Wallet Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by Mind Legend (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 February, 2016)

Wallet Brain KnewmerologyI am loving this series. Each release adding to the whole with synergy. I never imagined there could be so much 'juice' in just one single principle. Now this wallet/pocket version packs a punch. Very much suits the phrase 'packs small, plays big'. Coming to think of it, this entire series qualifies to match that phrase. Very useful worker material, well done.


The Stack and System Maigret

reviewed by stan bialowas (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 23 February, 2016)

The Stack and System MaigretVery interesting system to memorize a stack and highly recommended! great thinking


Requiem: Two Innovative Approaches to the "Memorized" Deck

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 23 February, 2016)

Requiem: Two Innovative Approaches to the "Memorized" DeckAt first I was just intrigued after reading a write up on the magic cafe but on purchase impressed to give it pride and place amongst my working library of magic and related arts Well done Drew Backenstoss


Wallet Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 February, 2016)

Wallet Brain Knewmerologystill playing around with art work for suitable back ground for the cards but even if done just as the author presents it, It is a great practical pocket effect always ready to perform


6 Special Stebbins Stacks in 60 Startling Seconds

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 February, 2016)

6 Special Stebbins Stacks in 60 Startling SecondsDon't let the learning part put you off as some one of mature age it first took me longer than 60 seconds but with the time set aside I can get it down I Reckon providing the cat gets of my key board


6 Special Stebbins Stacks in 60 Startling Seconds

reviewed by Balasubramanian Chandran (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 16 February, 2016)

6 Special Stebbins Stacks in 60 Startling SecondsThis is almost revolutionary. It changes everything about the good old stebbins stack. The age old theory that professionals avoid si stebbins due to its inherent weaknesses, now goes for a big toss. This 8-in-1 discovery is a game changer. I can now intuitively SEE all 8 stacks, yes it is 8 and not just 6. And after seeing this terrific suit system and how it plays for all the stacks, you will never go back to the red/black pattern of chased or shocked etc.


The Unswami

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 16 February, 2016)

The UnswamiHow on earth can anyone come up with absolute stunners like these? Only a devious mind can create these unheard of usage of old classic tools. I heartily appreciate the author for his highly inspired thinking. A bigger name tag would have priced this at least 3 times higher. A big thumbs up!


Shuffle The Spectators

reviewed by Sanjay Subramanyam (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 14 February, 2016)

Shuffle The SpectatorsThis is a pretty neat routine. I guess the biggest takeaway here would be the concept of shuffling the spectators instead of the cards. This is interesting and routines could be built around it. The mechanics of the routine are very simple and nearly automatic. It is also easy to customize some parts of the routine... you will know when you read it. All in all, I am happy with the purchase and I think you would be too...


Calling Cards

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 10 February, 2016)

Calling CardsThis work is quality produced clear photos straight to the point and love the personal side of the author who is very much in love with his faith, wife, and child. I only have his close up cups and balls until now maybe I should invest more and you too.


Mindreading for the Masses

reviewed by Bill Montana
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 05 February, 2016)

Mindreading for the MassesWhen I tell you just stop what your doing and click the buy button - that should tell you everything you need to know about this work. I do not say that very often maybe only twice before.

The work is only 11 pages and only contains a couple of effects. No questions Asked with the Jason Micheal's Refinements is worth many times the price of this work which is only $15 by the way. Should be $50 or more in my opinion and would still be cheap at that price for what is he teaching the reader. Why are you still reading what I am saying? When you should be reading and studying Mindreading for the Masses!

This is the real world worker stuff I have been looking for for a very long time. Reminiscent of the best works from Jason Micheal's - Al Mann - Bob Mason. I say Bob Mason because I learned from him early on and Devin studied with Al Mann and this effect reminded me of some other things Bob taught me way back when - many years ago. I am telling you that this effect with cards is one of those rare gems that you can use over and over anywhere once you understand its diabolical nature. It looks like real mind reading.

The second effect in the work is a TV only effect that is everything that I have wanted to see published from Jason Micheal's simple - direct and effective. As this is the stuff he personally used way back then to become a known force within the psychic entertainment world.

Both of the effects are in Mindreading for the Masses the new work from Devin Knight that was just released on February 4th. Both are real worker stuff.

Just simply killer mentalism!


Easy Card Magic

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 02 February, 2016)

Easy Card MagicGood and useful material. The price is a bargain. However the writing style is not very explicit, but manageable if you are not reading a magic book for the first time.


The Unswami

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 02 February, 2016)

The UnswamiThis is top notch stuff. Amazing ideas. Killer routines. Eagerly looking forward to performing them.

Some great thinking this. No wonder Marc Salem and Richard Osterlind are so impressed. Yet very much in the range of basic skill level.

And man, the special price is a real deal !!!


Karma Deck

reviewed by Kumar BNS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 February, 2016)

Karma DeckHave been actually using the Karma Deck for over 6 months now.

Well, the basic idea of Karma Deck is pure genius, of course.

On the top of that, it is so versatile. The main principle can give you 6 different stacks.

And then it's solid power. I discovered in Amazers with Karma Deck. Many hidden patterns, which are totally invisible to the audience eyes.

Yet, so flexible. Multiple suit systems can be combined with the stack seamlessly.

The stage routine Deckcelence with the Karma Deck is a sheer delight to perform. A reputation maker.

Even when I did not use the stack for over 3 weeks, it was UNFORGETTABLE.

After using 8 Kings and Si Stebbins for over 15 years, I can say that Karma Deck is the best stack that happened to me, which will stay with me.


The Unswami

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 February, 2016)

The UnswamiAs it says in the advertisement This special introductory price for this author's 30th release will go up to $36 from 29th February 2016. You will also get 3 more ebooks FREE Luck Maker, Dream Seal and Swamirakle with this. so why, would you wait till they go up in price grab the authors four works together if you love any if not all of the past masters of mentalism these four works should stimulate any sleepy mind into awakening their creative minds


The Unswami

reviewed by Doc Harris
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 February, 2016)

The UnswamiThe author sent me this 4 ebook bundle (The Unswami, Luck Maker, Dream Seal & Swamirakle) for review. And I tried to do a fairly detailed review.

The basic concepts and tools are nothing new. However, the treatment and applications are quite revolutionary. The Unswami Principle (as the author calls it) is an old almost forgotten concept which has now been brought into the lime light with this release. Although I myself have been using the swami gimmick for over a decade now, I was very much fascinated to know about the Unswami in this manuscript and felt that I missed something so powerful all these years. Unswami opens up a completely novel path.

Luck Maker is a fantastic prediction routine using the Unswami Principle. This seems to be the author's take on Kenton's Kolossal Killer principle. But here KK is put on steriods, no wait, something more powerful, say rocket fuel. Luck Maker totally zapped me. There are 3 versions of Luck Maker here - 2 with the Unswami and 1 with the regular Swami. Quite clever and very practical.

Dream Seal is an interesting and refreshing routine which resembles an acaan plot though not strictly acaan. Good scope for audience participation. Builds up a stunning climax. It uses a stacked deck in combo with the Unswami principle. Very ingenious thinking and routining here. And the best part is the performer need not know the stack. Although many variations and bonus routines are provided my favorite is the special bonus routine along with the main one - true powerhorses.

Swamirakle is a little collection of ideas, not full routines. But some clever ideas which the performer can build on in different ways. These ideas apply to the regular Swami gimmick as much as the Unswami.

Overall, there is so much new, unconventional and yet extremely practical, usable thinking that went in here. It stimulated my mind into many new ideas and directions. A 'must have' for any mentalist - amateur or pro.

Displaying 709 to 733 (of 1408 reviews)
< ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ... >