Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 30

Read What Others Are Saying: page 30

1103 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 736 to 760 (of 1410 reviews)


Coin'cidence

reviewed by Loki Jedi (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 January, 2016)

Coin'cidenceI found this a highly creative routine. Real pleasure to perform. Fantastic reactions.

Both the main routine and bonus routine are true workers. Especially the bonus is a big leap forward from the Positive/Negative premise. The climax peaks excellently. Very much recommended.


Tricks with Magnets

reviewed by Angela X (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 January, 2016)

Tricks with MagnetsThere is some clever thinking with magnets here. Even if some of the routines are outdated, the principles can be applied to modern routines. Great buy.


Coin'cidence

reviewed by Cortez Magicus (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 January, 2016)

Coin'cidenceWOW ! Absolutely killer. Simple great idea, but very powerful. Anytime, fully impromtu. 5 times in 5 hours, successful performance. Works in any language.


Heads I Win - Positively

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 January, 2016)

Heads I Win - Positivelyfirst time read of this author's works must say impressed and worth the purchase


The NTE Principle

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 January, 2016)

The NTE Principlea very practical routine not to be missed an excellent way to promote through the media


Coin'cidence

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 January, 2016)

Coin'cidenceAt the rate, this creative thinker MENTALIST turns out well thought out ideas for the magic fraternity we will all be bankrupt and ways of leaving your business card as part of a memento of the moment is always worth the effect I use a variation of out to lunch with mine


13mm of Si Stebbins

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 24 January, 2016)

13mm of Si StebbinsAs far as 13 mm of si stebbins, I think you have another winner. So far I like your card stacks in the following order: SLOKA DECK, KARMA DECK, 13 MM (with the random stack ideas toward the end of your ebook), and YOGIK DECK. Each of these are winners in my opinion and I can't wait to see your other stacks. They are great with some mental routines that I use the decks for.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Prof Max
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 24 January, 2016)

Karma DeckRight now my excitement is sort of overflowing.

The author shared with me a mega routine with Karma Deck which uses over 200 different playing cards.

I got a chance to perform this recently at my college annual day celebrations (I teach undergrads).

And what a devastating impact it created !!! Thank you, U n Me, for giving the Karma Deck to the community.

For me, Karma Deck is 'THE' benchmark of stack magic in the past half century, at least.


13mm of Si Stebbins

reviewed by Doc Harris (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 22 January, 2016)

13mm of Si StebbinsOf course, this is more of a 'discovery' rather than a new invention. But what an amazing discovery it is. In one shot, this elevates SS stack many notches. SS is now an instant memorized stack. On top of that it combines with the cool random suit method and finally comes out as a killer professional stack. And the best part is even a kid can now learn this in no time at all.


13mm of Si Stebbins

reviewed by Hans-Christian Solka (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 21 January, 2016)

13mm of Si StebbinsI read your book with great interest.

IMHO the 13mm approach is completely new for Si Stebbins. The approach is an elegant one. Easy to do and easy to remember. Thank you very much for sharing the idea with the magic community.


Practical Magic

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 21 January, 2016)

Practical MagicAt first, I thought the price is a misprint. Then I just grabbed it. What a bargain for the huge content.


13mm of Si Stebbins

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 21 January, 2016)

13mm of Si StebbinsI am surprised nobody has thought this up so far. Its a masterstroke.

Makes the ancient Stebbins stack many times more powerful.

The suit system offered is fantastic. For me, just this one take away is worth much more than the price of this book.


13mm of Si Stebbins

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 January, 2016)

13mm of Si Stebbinsthis author works hard to work on and produce his quality ideas which he gives everyone a chance to be able to afford with introductory offers not to be missed at full price either


Magician's Guide to Making and Using Lockpicks

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 January, 2016)

Magician's Guide to Making and Using LockpicksA little book to get those who are interested to use, with escapology I can also recommend books by my late friend David De-Val and a locksmith clear lock for practicing on or just read a the book for the history part


The Universal Card

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 January, 2016)

The Universal CardI have not been able to find a printed copy of the author whose work and quality is well established so this will work well in my library and in time, I will put the practice into doing the effects justice


The Book of Book Tests

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 14 January, 2016)

The Book of Book TestsI'm always torn about book tests. While I often admire a clever principle behind a test, book tests to me come off as kind of impersonal mentalism. Here's this book. We get this page. I give you the word. That said, there are hundreds of different tests, mostly falling into three categories: those that use a gimmicked book or books, a mathematical force, or just outright bold and brazen deception. (David Hoy's book test and Marc Paul's Triple A book test immediately come to mind and make me chuckle. It's amazing what you can get away with using a good performance. For some performers and performances, either one of those is good enough. They take skill but cost nothing in terms of gimmicks, cribs, and mental challenge.) Anyway, this is a great collection of 20 different book tests using different techniques. You won't use all or most of them. Personally, I'm not a fan of longwinded calculations that get you to a page and word because they always come off as what they really are, that is, using a forcing formula, but you'll definitely find something to like here. (I think that the test using the loaded die is quite clever and something that I'd never thought about before.) And for $10--50 cents per test--the book is a bargain.


Emily v2

reviewed by Cagri Akyurt (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 14 January, 2016)

Emily v2Emily v2 is a very sad story and Mark Piazza did a great job turning it into a show. Though it feels like storytelling, instead of a seancé. From the start to the end, we try to contact Emily, do some tests to see if we're on the right track and than suddenly, we reach to the end of the story, without the feeling of an actual contact.

Besides that, instead of explaining the effects thoroughly, Mr. Piazza decided to direct the reader to other sources (usually paid sources), which makes this piece a little bit hard to understand for beginners.

Still, a very good story and I recommend it.


Sensory Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by Prof Max (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 January, 2016)

Sensory Brain KnewmerologyFrom a math puzzle by Martin Gardner to a killer mentalism effect by Unknown Mentalist, I think this terrific routine had a very interesting journey so far.

This is a gem of a mind reading act.

The methods are well disguised. The triple impact/payoff idea is fantastic.

The list by itself and its built in self working nature are truly mind boggling. Highly recommended.


Sensory Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by Mind Legend (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 January, 2016)

Sensory Brain KnewmerologyBrain Knewmerology was fantastic as a remote killer. Advanced Brain Knewmerology was great for small groups or close up. And now this is so well made for stage. The triple audience participation is a huge plus. The ‘smart list’ is a master stroke. Now this series is my ‘go to’ routine for doing impromptu, propless effects.

Another advantage, which I realized now, is the relative anonymity of this author on you tube and magic forums. This keeps his great releases mostly underground and is an advantage for workers.


Practical Telepathy

reviewed by Michael Lyth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 January, 2016)

Practical TelepathyA copy can sometimes go at a price of £989.99 hardback modern facsimile reprint of the original and paperback £10.61 now available to enjoy at $10.00 approx £6.93 depending on currency exchange rate.

Silk creations / by Joseph Ovette. Advanced magic / by Magical Ovette. Bargain magic / by Magical Ovette. The gambler's paradise / by Joseph Ovette ; edited ... by Lloyd E. Jones. Ovette's tricks and illusionettes / by the Great Ovette, being a collection of easily built tricks and small illusions ; illustrated by Thomas M. Libonati

are just some of Joseph Ovette's work I have in my collection if I could recommend, a past magicians, work this would be one of many for the history magician's among us.


Sensory Brain Knewmerology

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 January, 2016)

Sensory Brain KnewmerologyMake this year a time to change not just around you but the world as a whole this creative work is like, All that the author has brought to us before more than worth its price


Practical Magic

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 January, 2016)

Practical MagicPlease do not diss miss this work for its age as your creative mind can unlock new ideas from old or even present as originally written for their creators created the foundation for today's and tomorrow's magicians


The Value of a Dollar

reviewed by Patrick Coffin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 January, 2016)

The Value of a DollarDisgruntled sigh. I really wish the description tells you there are additional purchases of items (a gimmick, and a small list of other things) without which you can't perform VOD -- not to mention a more-than-usual amount of prep work. I don't mind having to get more things than the actual effect/method contains, and I happen to enjoy more DIY effects -- but neglecting to tell the customer what is really required is bad form. Scott Guinn is a very clear teacher, he gives ample alternative methods along the way, and I love his light-hearted style of entertaining patter. I'm disappointed by sin of omission in the description.

Patrick Coffin


Mentallica: Heavy Mental Magic

reviewed by Nestor D (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 January, 2016)

Mentallica: Heavy Mental MagicA method that is very context dependant, some little presentational twists and a card effect. I found this release to be overpriced (and it is not even expensive).


Ungimmicked Linking Ropes

reviewed by Scott Starkey (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 January, 2016)

Ungimmicked Linking RopesThis is a fantastic value for the price; in fact, one could argue that this is way under-priced. It may be my best purchase on Lybrary to date. The advertising text is spot-on. I've played with this several dozen times, and it almost seems like real magic in my hands. It's quite fun seeing the impossible come to life in my own hands. The "moves" are well covered by natural actions, and not very complicated.

My only minor quibble is I think a couple of the illustrations should have an "exposed" view. Some of the illustrations are very clear, and a couple were not as great. Part of the model's thumb gets in the way of some of the stuff I was wanting to see. However, I was able to piece it together with the very clear text and the other illustrations.

Finally. There seemed to be a bit of a knack with making it work for me, at first. Keep working it! After a couple of dozen times of going through the procedure, I was able to make it work 100% of the time. It's certainly not complicated, but like anything, it takes practice to get the "feel" and "smoothness" right! If you perform the rather simple and natural "moves" on the off-beat, you will hide even the slightest hint of funny business. The end result - three linked ropes previously tied separately - is a miracle ready to happen. The only way to undo it afterwards is to untie the knots!

Displaying 736 to 760 (of 1410 reviews)
< ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ... >