Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 27

Read What Others Are Saying: page 27

1181 ★★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★ reviews
76 ★★★★★ reviews
56 ★★★★★ reviews
83 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 667 to 691 (of 1516 reviews)


Triple Play

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 03 August, 2016)

Triple PlayIt is as always great to see new items from Paul Lelekis. The Triple Play does not disappoint! You'll learn something new about card conjuring and ways to improve your presentation as well. These three effects are fun to learn and as with all of Paul's card magic they are clearly explained and are very direct and straight forward. The slights Paul teaches are all very economical. No unnecessary moves so there can be more concentration on the provided patter, presentation material and the overall flow of the effect. My personal favorite is "Parallel Universe". This is a cool paradox effect that lends itself to inspire you to come up with some fun presentation ideas of your own. Have some fun with it! Paul's work on "The Bluff Pass" is outstanding and alone worth the price of this ebook. Finally a clear explanation that in addition teaches several great nuances that will eliminate any fears you have of performing this great utility move and enable you to perform it with 100% confidence. Triple Play hits a Home Run!


DIY I-Pad: Do It Yourself Impression Pad

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 August, 2016)

DIY I-Pad: Do It Yourself Impression PadExcellent, excellent, excellent. That's all I really need to say about Scott Creasey's video instructions for making your own imp pad. All you need to do is get a bunch of cheap pads and a three-piece set of one special thing that you can buy on Amazon for about $12.50, but it's enough to make you at least a half-dozen DIY I-Pads. I currently use Mark Elsdon's commercially manufactured Spy Pad, which is very similar in concept. It costs $40, as I recall, and while refills are about half that, you have to use a refill after about 50 uses. With Scott's DIY I-Pad, once you buy your special thing pack for $12.50, you are pretty much set for years. All you have to do is buy up some cheap pads that cost a couple of bucks at OfficeMax. As soon as my Amazon order arrives and I use up my current Spy Pad, I'm a convert. This is the best impression device for the money.


The Single White Dwarf

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 August, 2016)

The Single White DwarfScott Creasey outdoes himself with the latest of his DIY gimmicked-envelope videos. If you have any of Scott's other ebooks and videos from lybrary, you already know that he (1) really knows his stuff; (2) has brilliantly creative ideas for gimmicked envelopes; and (3) produces excellent instructional videos with good production values. Expanding upon and refining a Bob Cassidy envelope concept, he shows you how to make--in about five minutes--a peek envelope. We're not talking window envelope, Shaxon envelope, or one using a tricky impression gimmick. It's a single opaque mailing envelope, plain and simple. And it's exceedingly clean and clever. In addition to the construction instructions--easy enough for a pre-schooler with round-nosed scissors and a glue stick to follow--he gives you three routines. Two are classic Cassidy routines--Name and Place and 4th Dimensional Telepathy--that once you see how the envelope works, you'll wonder why you've been doing the original versions with all the "moves" and "subtleties" all these years. Switch to the Single White Dwarf envelope, and you don't have to do much of anything to accomplish these mental miracles. The third is Scott's own routine which makes the spectator the psychic. If you build up the patter as he does, it's a cute and mysterious routine I like it.

Now truth be told, I know of an even lazier version of a Single White Dwarf envelope that takes no construction whatsoever, but let's just say it's a little touchy and not as clean. Scott's envelope, while ever-so-slightly more complicated, is better. Once you see how it works, you'll go, "Of course it logically works that way. Why didn't I come up with that? That's terrific!" This is highly recommended because you are going to want a few of these in your mentalism bag at all times. They are worth their weight in gold.


Triple Play

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 August, 2016)

Triple PlayPaul is a Card Guy's Card Guy. You will entertain with these magical gems. The work on the Bluff Pass alone is worth the paltry price.


The Ultimate Page Force

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 August, 2016)

The Ultimate Page ForceI have always wanted to learn a way to force a page from an ordinary book by riffling the pages and having the participant call: “Stop!” All of the methods I had tried either looked contrived, or were not what a real mindreader would do, like throw dice to get a page number. Then I read Devin Knight’s “The Ultimate Page Force “ and finally found what I had been searching for. This is easy, (although like good magic, practice in front of a mirror is needed), and it looks natural, does not appear contrived, and looks like what a real mindreader would do. The excellent photographs that illustrate the step-by-step performance of the method are priceless, and complement the clarity of his explanation. Devin Knight has given a true Utility that opens the door to the performance of many baffling and entertaining effects.


Production from Any Ungimmicked Magazine

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 August, 2016)

Production from Any Ungimmicked MagazineHow often have you watched magicians amaze you by producing something substantial, seemingly out of empty space. Devin Knight explains how you can produce a glass of spring flowers or silks from what is shown to the audience as a flat everyday magazine. The magazine is unprepared and there are no body loads. Merely tear off the back cover, forming it into a tube, and right there on your hand you can raise the tube and amazingly produce a variety of items. This is well written and clearly explained with Devin’s helpful diagrams. The audience will be amazed that so much could be mysteriously tucked somehow in a flat ordinary magazine.


Ostrakinda

reviewed by Gerard Zitta
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 July, 2016)

OstrakindaThanks for your review. What you are reviewing is the first effect ("OSTRA"). The last effect ("OSTRAKINDA") has nothing to do with TH. It is more similar to "CHEAT HAND". Thanks for pointing this out to me. I have now added a summary of OSTRAKINDA and hopefully clearer explanations... PS: I don't know how to rate my comment (-: so I am instead rating yours!


Ostrakinda

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 July, 2016)

Ostrakinda"Which hand" routines are popular these days. Even the great Derren Brown does a which-hand performance Probably the best known--at least best selling--version is Mark Elsdon's Tequila Hustler. One way of doing which hand is heavily process driven, and Elsdon seems to have come up with an excellent way of hiding the process so that it doesn't look like something that you'd easily suspect. Ostrakinda really is Elsdon's approach as applied to Max Maven's positive/negative. In other words, you use Elsdon's process to determine whether the coin is heads or tails.

Being sort of an afficiando of all these which hand and positive/negative routines, I knew almost immediately that this is basically nothing more than substituting some verbiage in Elsdon's routine. But admittedly, I didn't think of it first, and it works perfectly. Is it worth $12 instead of Tequila Huster? (It is indeed less expensive.) Probably not. I think this might have been better as a variant included at the end of the Tequila Hustler book. If you don't have Tequilla Hustler, buy that ebook because it has a lot of theory, variants, and performance tips for this type of process. If you do have Tequilla Hustler and want to apply it to positive/negative, then Ostrakinda will do the trick. But after you read it, you'll probably agree with me that this would have been better as a variant rather than a stand-alone effect.


Why A Magic Square Should Not Be A Magic Square

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 July, 2016)

Why A Magic Square Should Not Be A Magic SquareThe Unknown Mentalist gives some excellent, practical advice on how to camouflage a magic square so that it doesn't look like a magic square or the dreaded mathe-magic. It's all in the presentation, of course, and he supplies you with a really good, straightforward, pure magic square routine that looks simply like adding random numbers, not necessarily selected as numbers. (Get the ebook, and you'll find out what I mean.)

Audiences are more sophisticated these days, and what was once astonishing in the gas-light era is just ho-hum in the Internet age. It's nice to read this thoughtful ebook. We need more writing like this to help us tweak classic performance tools for the 21st Century. I'm sure Martin Gardner would have been proud.


Why A Magic Square Should Not Be A Magic Square

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 July, 2016)

Why A Magic Square Should Not Be A Magic SquareDo not be square learn to present the square with the authors creative look on this much under used item. As in the advertising words states ''This is not about construction of a magic square. This is about presenting and representing a magic square in such a manner that the audience cannot uncover your secrets by doing a simple search on the internet, which is what is happening to most of the magic square routines these days.'' Not just magic square routines but other magic effects presented to spectators should be given the same train of thought. Back to this work on squares it is vary easy reading and well thought out as is all the authors works in my increasingly growing collection of his mathematics based creative ideas. As a lover of the late Martin Gardner's works I find his ideas Must have some how influenced the unknown mentalist ? or some over mathematicians work. I would also recommend visiting markfarrar.co.uk and to study his Magic Square resource page it will stimulate like this work by the Unknown Mentalist's your brain too.


The Psychic Tarot

reviewed by James Sadler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 25 July, 2016)

The Psychic TarotI've been looking for a book with a concise, no nonsense approach to learning the cards. I couldn't be happier with Bob Cassidy's The Psychic Tarot.


Heart Matricks

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 July, 2016)

Heart MatricksI had to read this a couple of times but it is another GREAT effect by the UNKNOWN MENTALIST. While MIND MATRICKS cannot be beat for entertainment value this is a great companion value. The effect CAN be done both humorously and seriously/emotionally. I'm glad to have purchased MIND MATRICKS, HEART MATRICKS, and TRIALOGUE from a great friend!!!

By the way, if you like the principle found in MIND MATRICKS and HEART MATRICKS, you might also want to purchase the ebook by Sam Dalal called 'Magic with an ESP Deck'. (Sold by Lybrary.com) The effect is called 'One in 14,400'. I have used it for quite a few years as it is very effective for the spectators as it makes THEM look psychic.

Thanks for updating this principle!

Again, my compliments to the Unknown Mentalist.

David W. Burmeister


Mind Matricks

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 July, 2016)

Mind MatricksThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again. This is an old effect that is modernized. I would recommend buying this immediately. It is a great effect with a great theme.

David W. Burmeister


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

Golf Ball in GlassDevin Knight has covered all that is important use items that spectators would not expect or have seen used in a magic effect routine with amazed responce. Following the instructions I have successfully put a golf ball into a jar myself.


52.13 ACAAN

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

52.13 ACAANI purposely wont give a revue on this work instead I recommend purchase, learn, perfect, practice and perform for your self and you too will soon like this writers creative thinking mind. You wont be sorry for your small investment it will also inspire your own mind too


The Milky Way

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

The Milky WayThese three entertaining effects with real drinkable milk ( Yes: real fresh cold milk! ) - in a real glass - have been revived and modernized from a lost U.F. Grant description. They can be performed for adults and children, and two of them are made for using at least two participants at a magic show. They are baffling. Devin explains how to inexpensively make the props yourself, and has figured out how to always keep the milk fresh and cold. His instructions for performance are clear and well written. This really is a lost and unattainable manuscript, and you will enjoy performing Devin’s updated versions of these three effects. Don’t pass this up. These effects could be the hit of your magic show.


Untraceable

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 July, 2016)

UntraceableNice applications of an old principle. Especially like the first effect, it is very clever.


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 July, 2016)

Golf Ball in GlassThe golf ball in glass was used on the Penn & Teller Fool Us TV show. The magician used a force to have an item chosen from a list. It was a golf ball. He showed a duplicate empty jar which was secretly switched. A golf ball appeared inside the jar; he showed it could not be removed, proving it must have materialized inside. (Otherwise, how else did it get inside the jar?) This was a clever use of this idea, showing how this impossible object can be applied to magic routines and not just as a novelty to look at. A clever idea worth knowing.


Advanced Card Control Volume 2: False Deals

reviewed by Keith Faler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 July, 2016)

Advanced Card Control Volume 2: False DealsGreat video, highly recocommend it. I have 17 video clips of this series, also. I don't like the zip download format though. You'r paying $29 for the video, which is expensive, so why not watch it, several times?? Instead of just watching clips that suit your particular needs. I like to watch the video, several times, just to get the general overview, and a better perspective, of what's being taught.Then after that, I will then pick out several clips, that I can use, for my own card manipulations. You can't get that from books. Books are very limited, not enough illustrations, and a waste of time to go through. With videos, you can eliminate the guessing games, you'll get, in reading books.

This is in response to the product description.


Let's Take A Breather

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 July, 2016)

Let's Take A BreatherHere is another outstanding contribution to card magic from Paul Lelekis. Written in Paul's pleasant and easy to grasp style he explores some practical uses for the Breather Crimp. For those new to the Breather Crimp, Paul fully explains this secret device used as a tool to locate cards and aid in the execution of some amazing card magic. The making of the crimp is clearly illustrated and very easy to construct. Paul starts by giving some easy to understand and very practical advice that will help you incorporate the Breather Crimp into your own routines and generally improve your magic overall. As always his advice and performance suggestions are very solid "down to earth" based on real life experience from a person who has as we say in the education field, clearly learned by doing! The routines are all very approachable by the average magician and as with much of Paul's material the impact on the audience far exceeds the technical effort the magician has to put into them. These routines work great and they are comfortable to perform with most of your concentration on the presentation. Take advantage of this opportunity to learn all about this amazing card utility. Here is another solid winner from Paul Lelekis for all of us to benefit from and enjoy!


Winnebago: an experiment in remote viewing

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 July, 2016)

Winnebago: an experiment in remote viewingWinnebago is essentially "Calling the Cards"--or in this case, card--with the twist of having the spectator as mentalist. (Watch Richard Osterlind's version of Calling the Cards on a few of his DVDs with the spectator's having three cards in his pocket. It is fantastic.) The routine, played as remote viewing, is OK; it will definitely work if you have a standard mentalism technique down cold; and although I haven't performed it yet, I am fairly certain that I could get a nice reaction out of it. But it's just not worth $15, more like $8 or $5--or maybe even less as one of nine effects in a version of Mark Elsdon's classic Conversation as Mentalism booklets that go for $30 each. Anyway, I hate to be negative to sincere, hardworking mentalists who put out material, but my rating reflects a good effect that is way overpriced.


The Best Short Change Scam Ever

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 July, 2016)

The Best Short Change Scam EverThis is really very well done. Devin first explains this scam in a way that that he plays the part of a scammer, and Devin’s writing fooled me and several other people - we would have lost money. Then he gives a clear unambiguous explanation of how the scam works, and Devin, in addition, gives good instruction on how to defend yourself from the scam by detecting that someone is attempting to pull it on you. This is necessary because several former storekeepers told me that they were once swindled by it, and that it is still practiced by scammers today. Good reading, and worth knowing.


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Alfred Dowaliby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickToday I acquired "Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick. As a professional magician for over 20 years who believes that patter (aka script) and presentation are the most important component of selling a routine to the audience, I was delighted. Mr. Brodahl has combined and incorporated elements of deception, psychology, comedy, and what Dai Vernon called an "emotional hook," into this very cleverly devised routine. The 21 Card Trick is a very old trick and quite likely the first card trick learned by the overwhelming majority of people who try their hand at doing a card trick. In its original incarnation, it is still a baffling effect: After all, when asked in an interview how he got into magic, Ed Marlo said [paraphrased], "I saw the 21 Card trick and that was it; I never turned back."

Mr. Brodahl has cleverly camouflaged the fact that, in essence, the trick is the 21 Card Trick. The hook is a test of the spectator's psychic abilities which from the outset, diverts the focus upon it being a hackneyed mechanical/mathematical card trick. I am sure that, at least laymen, will not recognize it as the trick they themselves learned. Without the necessity for difficult or complex sleights, there are a number of ruses and deviations from the classic handling that create impermeable layers of disguise that will not be seen through by any but perhaps the most ingenious of observers - and that's what this script and routine created by Larry is: ingenious.

Postscript: Despite my many years in magic, I had never come across the Jay Ose false cut, which is utilized to great advantage in the routine. It is amazing and ironic to me that if the cards were cut into three piles (as in the initial part of the cut) and then reassembled "fairly," i.e., in a manner that would result in the cards being truly cut, it would look like a false cut, whereas when the procedure of the Jay Ose false cut is followed in the reassembly of the three piles, it looks like a real cut. I will be definitely using the cut in my card magic.


Just Think

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Just ThinkThis one goes way back. I got Just Think because I was curious. I had an idea of how it worked--and I was right. And for those of you who get this, you will immediately note that this effect uses the same principle as a famous item that has been on the market since the 1950s, though this version is 100% pure and uses no gimmicks whatsoever. I like Devin's use of this effect as after-show individual future telling and also his performance hints. I don't think that you can effectively use it for a main act unless, of course, you are a real fortune teller because to quote Rick Maue, "TERASABOS." Pros will know what I mean and could make some use of this. Mentalism neophytes, despite your skepticism, this kind of stuff really does work. But it takes chutzpah, audience management, personality, and experience.


Ask Pythagoras

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Ask PythagorasThis is a great effect and Robin Gillett is another nice mentalist that I consider a friend.

This might scare some of you at the beginning because of the mathematical equations are shown. The mathematical equations just show you how this mathematical puzzle started. It even has a crib sheet so you can literally read the reading to the spectator.

But don't be afraid...This is Great!

If you can add and subtract YOU can do this.

Plus THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST has a routine that I know a lot of us will be doing also.

I now have four different effects I can do with the illusion of numerology and all really boggle spectators.

I definitely give this a 5+ star rating

David W. Burmeister

Displaying 667 to 691 (of 1516 reviews)
< ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ... >