Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 26

Read What Others Are Saying: page 26

1103 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 636 to 660 (of 1410 reviews)


Sure Stats

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 May, 2016)

Sure StatsWhat is it? I don't know how to describe Sure Stats. It's not a stand-alone routine. It's more of icing on the cake--you thought the effect was done, but here's one last, unexpected climax. I've added it as a finisher to a baffling double prediction routine by Dave Forrest. Maybe three climaxes is too much, but I surely like it. What I also like is the information given on how to modify the fake news articles to suit your own utility purposes. You'll have to tinker a little bit, and no, they won't look perfect, but they'll work well enough. I wasn't sure what I was getting when I purchased this, but I'm glad that I spent the small price. It's an example of some really good, out-of-the-box thinking by a smart French mentalist.


Equirock

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 May, 2016)

EquirockThis is a clever, nearly self-working way to force one of three objects (or more, using the material given to extend the principle) under the guise of playing rock-paper-scissors. There are no sleights, equivoque, marked cards, psychological subtleties, or complicated moves involved; you just have to understand the principles, which are a snap and will take about five minutes. It plays quite naturally, and you'll be able to figure out quite a few uses for this utility routine. For example, it is the perfect substitute for the initial equivoque if you are doing a positive/negative routine where you need to force a coin. The author is a real theoritician when it comes to describing mentalism processes so the ebook is well written. For $10, you can't go wrong adding this to an arsenal of equivoque, PATEO, and Quinta.


Life Force Triangle

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 May, 2016)

Life Force TriangleThis is a completely foolproof impromptu effect that is terrific. It's really good because even if as a mentalist you try to reverse engineer it, it will take some time to figure it out. Lay people will just be baffled. The trouble is, the instructional video was done so long ago--back in the 90s--that the effect will not work if you follow Lee's instructions. You have to modify one part of the mathematical process, which if you closely follow how the trick is done, shouldn't be a problem. You'll figure it out. If not, here's a hint: 116.


Russian Roulette with Cans

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 May, 2016)

Russian Roulette with CansThis is a cheap, easy, and fun routine which, altough not as scary as using a firearm or nail gun, will entertain audiences. It relies on an old goof-off stunt and a misperception held by probably 99.4% of the population. And therein lies why I marked it down a notch. The misperception, which is the fundamental basis of the trick, is glossed over so fast in the instructional video that I had to replay it a couple of times and then try it out to convince myself that what I thought I had heard was right. It was. With that caveat, this will make for a great closing routine.


The Sticky Head Game

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 26 May, 2016)

The Sticky Head GameNot impressed. The description of what happens does not even come close to what you have to do. I'm not saying it's horrible, just not what was represented. Of course, if what "really" happens was described at all, pretty much everyone would know the method.

Cute plot.....lousy handling.


Karma Deck Psyclical

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 May, 2016)

Karma Deck PsyclicalI am amazed and speechless! With Psyclical, I think Karma Deck becomes the ONLY stack which can be used both as a memorized deck as well as a cyclical stack and still maintains random values and suits - that too with 7 different stacks. IMHO, this is absolutely unbeatable. No other stack can offer so much - I'm pretty sure. All this without any memory work. There is no problem even if I do not perform stack magic regularly. Truly ideal benefits. Planning to pick up Deckcelence & Amazers soon. The routines in Psyclical as well as Karma Deck Pro are fab and solid. This whole set along with some of my own routines should give me a lifetime of stack magic. Incredible!


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 24 May, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVI love this series of card magic! I would definitely recommend new card-workers to focus on these classics. What Paul has done in this instalment, in his signature style, is re-boot them slightly to meet contemporary audiences: simplified handling, sensible patter, and relevant use of sleights. Of these six effects, Kannibal Kards went straight into my performing repertoire! It is almost a card act in itself, with a fascinating story and 'twist'. It is hard to single out 'classics' as each creator designed it with a specific 'plot' in mind, so the performer would benefit from learning them all, and integrating them all in your show. You will know each originator/creator intimately by the end of your practice: Searles, Marlo, Steinmeyer (9-Card Principle), Gardner, Trost, and of course, Lelekis. Paul breathes new life and enthusiasm into each of these 'classics', and I assure you that you will likely and rightly perform these strong, time-tested, routines - which Paul has already done for us. Each of the four 'classes' in the Classic Card Magic series is a 'class act' in itself. Buy them, study them, and apply them, and enjoy your applause.


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Doug Lippert (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 24 May, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVI'm so glad Paul has decided to share more of his expert card technique with the magical fraternity. Paul is one of the top card magicians in the world and it shows when he tips his professional routining of such famous card effects such Lin Searles's "The Kannibal Kards," Nick Trost's "Brain Wave," Martin Gardner's "Spectator Cuts the Aces," and Steinmeyer's "9 Card Principle." But Paul really shines when he tips his own card magic. Lelekis's "Psychotic Bluff Aces" is not to be missed. The big Ace reveal at the end will floor them!

Paul's handlings are superb. But, what really stands out is his attention to detail to deliver maximum impact. These routines are not the work of a fly by night 12 year old card mechanic. Paul is a pro and you'll know it by reading his card handling tips. Paul's advice on how to perform the Ascanio Spread and the Olram Subtlety are worth the price of admission by themselves. The book is professionally produced and proof-read. An excellent addition to my magic library.


Dark Horizon

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2016)

Dark HorizonThis is another great effect with a minimum of props. I use it very frequently and it leaves the spectator stunned.

David Burmeister


Con-spy-ring

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2016)

Con-spy-ringThe CENTURY of COINCIDENCE in my opinion is a must have effect. It is easy to do and has a strong effect on the spectator.

David Burmeister


Karma Deck Psyclical

reviewed by Kumar BNS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 May, 2016)

Karma Deck PsyclicalTo me the Karma Deck system seems like a deep diamond mine - the more you dig the more gems seem to come out. I have them all - Karma Deck, Pro, Kommando Kard, Deckcelence, Amazers - and what a great investment this has been. The 'Psyclical' idea is fantastic - simple and effective and more importantly - very easy. The 3 routines included are superb - again very simple with high impact. I am really enjoying this 'Karma Deck' journey.


Classic Card Magic IV

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Classic Card Magic IVPaul is serious full-time pro with decades of experience whose audience tested routines entertain people in the real world.


Kommando Kard

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Kommando KardThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again. I would recommend buying the KARMA DECK and KARMA DECK PRO first, and then you might as well buy this.

What you get is a dynamite card you can print off to do various mentalism and super memory stunts. Of course if you don't buy it you'll only have yourself to blame and I'll be glad to use these effects for myself.

David W. Burmeister


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProI just ordered and read KARMA DECK PRO.

I am amazed with this ebook. It is a very thorough explanation of various KARMA deck stacks. One thing for sure, the Unknown Mentalist knows his deck stacks along with various other mentalism routines. I'm proud to have him for a friend.

In my opinion you HAVE to get anything to do with the KARMA deck, SLOKA deck, SI STEBBINS, and YOGIK decks. Not to mention the SUIT ORDER SYSTEMS.

I have used and like stacked decks for over 30 years but this author really opened my eyes and amazed me with his ideas.

I am all the better with this and you will be too!

David W. Burmeister


Angel Card Rise Plus

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Angel Card Rise PlusA good book(let). It gives you a completely practical method to make a card rise that will fool people. The material he recommends using can probably be replaced with more modern "stuff", but the handling, etc. is top-notch.

It gave me a ton of ideas to play with.


Karma Deck Psyclical

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

Karma Deck PsyclicalThe Deck That simply continues to grow in size with more routines from it creative thinker and creator The Unknown Mentalist. Who is still one of the newest writers I follow with great interest and pride.


Businessassins

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

BusinessassinsWhen someone like Paul Hallas gives a great review, there will be nothing more for me to add except that I too love these unusual ideas and routines. I got this a few weeks back and could perform each of the 3 routines over a dozen times, so far and got great reactions. My favs are Telepathy Test and Lucky Fingerprint, although I feel Digital Destiny is an absolutely new principle and holds a lot of potential. The best part of the routine construction here is that the 'effect' happens many hours or even days after I hand over my business card and many times it happened remotely over phone. That's a killer feature. Looking forward to getting Businessassins 2 as soon as possible. This is a great buy, highly recommended.


Elemental

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2016)

ElementalThe original fantastic classic principle was unfortunately reduced to a toy. But in Elemental it gets resurrected as a powerful mind reading tool. The author has given a clever new direction to the way this can be performed. The attention to detail is very deep. An enormous load of highly useful information is made available. The ideas behind the printable props are marvellous. I got this a while ago and could perform this many times so far. Easy to carry, very easy to perform and always gets stunned reactions. Apart from the main trick, there are couple of other tricks like day for date and magic square etc which are really cool. I am enjoying performing this. Strongly recommended.


Dark Horizon

reviewed by Paul Hallas (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 May, 2016)

Dark HorizonI loved this one. A truly wonderful theme and presentation. So far I've only used it in close up situations, but at some point I know it will graduate to larger performances.


Businessassins

reviewed by Paul Hallas
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 May, 2016)

BusinessassinsBusinessassins 1 and 2 Review by Paul Hallas.

It makes sense to me to review these e-booklets together. The introduction to both books is identical as the theme of each booklet is the same: routines with business cards for the mentalist (though some magicians may be interested too). There are three detailed routines in each booklet with variations on some of them included and material to print out so you can get them printed on your business cards or print on stickers to add to your business cards while you experiment with the routines. If you like the first book, you’ll want the second.

There have been booklets on routines with business cards before (I wrote one myself decades ago) but these are aimed more for those who lean towards mentalism. The mentalist might write a prediction on a business card before leaving it with someone or do a ‘flash’ magic square a la Roy Johnson or Doug Dyment but the routines in these booklets are meant to be more interactive and in some cases done over the phone later. The idea is that the person you give the business card to prompts the demonstration by asking about what he sees on your card.

Just as there are some mentalists that don’t like to use playing cards I’ve come across some that don’t like to use printed lists so if you’re one of those then walk right on by. For the most part the routines use mathematical principles and clever forces so the mere mention of math has lost some more readers unless you’ve previously read anything by The Unknown Mentalist in which case you might stick around.

The first routine in the first booklet is called Telepathy Test. On the back of the business card is what looks like a word search puzzle and a list of words. After the performers introductory patter the participant chooses a word and looks for it in the puzzle. The performer is able to reveal the word he is looking at.

Routine two is called Digital Destiny. Apart from information on the business card (a list of words) another small card is used with different years on in three different colors. One side of the card has dates from the past and the other the future. In the simplest version of the routine as soon as someone picks a color you know which word they will eventually end up with.

Other versions of the routine are given where the color is never used. If I were to make this up I’d eliminate the first line on the future dates side of the card as they are years that have already gone. Also you’d pick younger people to do this with, if someone my age picked some of the later dates they’d be dead before the date arrived so the final word arrived at would not be significant in any way. A very unusual limiting force is used with this routine involving digital numbers and whilst I found it interesting, I thought it too many hoops to jump through to reveal a word. Maybe it will open the door to people giving readings based on the digital segments in someone’s date of birth?

The third routine is a humorous one, the spectator’s fingerprint apparently appears on your business card. It’s taken as a bit of a joke but eventually an ESP symbol he is concentrating on appears in the fingerprint. No mathematics in this one, but you need a Frixion pen. And if you have one, there’s also a killer use for it in the second booklet.

Universal Answer is the first routine in Businessassins 2. I found this one amusing as the spectator finds the answer to the meaning of life. A 25 square grid full of words is on the back of your business card. An alternative grid with symbols/pictures could also be used and while that does look better, the word grid is far more practical if you were going to do this over the phone, as pictures can be described by people in different ways, and in the end the participant has to use words for the images anyway. At first I thought the use of ‘traffic light’ seemed out of place as a choice and something else could be substituted, but then realized it doesn’t matter as the climax shows this is not to be taken too seriously (which is not to say the person won’t be baffled).

This is an unusual application of an old force and whilst the author mentions in passing that some of the routines in the booklet with a little thought could be sized up for bigger audiences it made me think of some of Martin Gardner’s bigger prediction squares and using words perhaps for those (see The Magic Magazine, February 1975 or Martin Gardner Presents p.141) but I know I never will.

The second routine in book 2 is Zodiac Zap. A mixture of principles here, one is the use of a Friction pen but I can imagine this having quite an impact as everything written on the back of the business card disappears except for the date you met and the participants zodiac sign which you could not possibly have known.

The final routine in this booklet, Fast Forecast is another routine with a list of words on the back of your business cards. These forty five words represent positive development for the subject at different times. Under the guise of a numerological experiment the participant is guided through a series of calculations with information the mentalist could not know and the resultant number leads to a word on the list which the performer is able to slowly reveal. All the possible words can be milked for a positive future forecast.

If you get just one routine from these booklets that you are going to use a lot, then it’s a good investment. The principles, thinking and presentations described may very well spark your own imagination.


Rupert Howard Magic Course: Lesson 09: Handkerchief Magic

reviewed by KEITH FALER (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 May, 2016)

Rupert Howard Magic Course: Lesson 09: Handkerchief MagicI just owned 7-out of 25 lessons, and I will just give a general review, for those lessons.They're a great start for the beginner, but limited in scope and depth of material. The black & white photos are not close up, so it can be hard to see small objects. They have some drawings, as well. They are a good supplement to any magic library, but not a complete course, by itself.


Magicseen No. 68 (May 2016)

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 19 May, 2016)

Magicseen No. 68 (May 2016)To my shame I have not subscribed to Magicseen as no shelf space left for real books. The article by the magazine editor Mark Leveridge is easy reading on the passing of the late Paul Daniels and if I did subscribe to a paper issue I would get a PDFs copy free, now if I can convince my better half Gillian to let me put a book shelf up? I was totally surprised by the quality of contents of this magazine could not fault it.


Scarne on Card Tricks

reviewed by Daniel Horn
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 18 May, 2016)

Scarne on Card TricksThis is a great book on card magic. Period. There are lots of great effects contributed by great magicians.

Forget the comments about non-sleight-of-hand that are always attached to this book.

Yes, it was written so that, for example, card forces are always replaced with something much simpler (the "10-20" force).

If you are new to card magic, then you may want to learn the tricks as written. Otherwise, you should read the book with the idea of keeping the effect but putting back in sleights that make the effects stronger (e.g., eliminate counting procedures such as the above-mentioned force).


The Assistant Test

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2016)

The Assistant TestThis is a very clever performance piece that strongly attracts and holds the interest of spectators through the brilliant application of the experienced magician’s ability to direct and manipulate a spectator’s attention. Devin Knight shares with all of us this distillation of his performer’s experience. Although math facts, and also the calendar are utilized, this entertaining piece pivots on the magician’s knowledge of what people will typically notice, and what they usually don’t take notice of. The math facts and calendar facts are treated as everyday life without snobbery, and this is a handy performance piece that can occupy those moments in the performer’s act that do not need him to do an effect. Like tying your shoes, you will have numerous uses for this. Well written and illustrated, Devin Knight has given us a gem.


The Professional Touch

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2016)

The Professional TouchProbably the best book ever written on the presentation of magic! Chris has done the magic world a great service by making this available again. I remember reading this as a teenager and it changed the way I looked at magic FOREVER. If you wonder how I become so clever, well this book was the starting point. This should be required reading for anyone doing magic! My highest recommendations.

Displaying 636 to 660 (of 1410 reviews)
< ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ... >