Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 23

Read What Others Are Saying: page 23

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
111 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 559 to 583 (of 1408 reviews)


Mind Matricks

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 July, 2016)

Mind MatricksThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again. This is an old effect that is modernized. I would recommend buying this immediately. It is a great effect with a great theme.

David W. Burmeister


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

Golf Ball in GlassDevin Knight has covered all that is important use items that spectators would not expect or have seen used in a magic effect routine with amazed responce. Following the instructions I have successfully put a golf ball into a jar myself.


52.13 ACAAN

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

52.13 ACAANI purposely wont give a revue on this work instead I recommend purchase, learn, perfect, practice and perform for your self and you too will soon like this writers creative thinking mind. You wont be sorry for your small investment it will also inspire your own mind too


The Milky Way

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 July, 2016)

The Milky WayThese three entertaining effects with real drinkable milk ( Yes: real fresh cold milk! ) - in a real glass - have been revived and modernized from a lost U.F. Grant description. They can be performed for adults and children, and two of them are made for using at least two participants at a magic show. They are baffling. Devin explains how to inexpensively make the props yourself, and has figured out how to always keep the milk fresh and cold. His instructions for performance are clear and well written. This really is a lost and unattainable manuscript, and you will enjoy performing Devin’s updated versions of these three effects. Don’t pass this up. These effects could be the hit of your magic show.


Untraceable

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 19 July, 2016)

UntraceableNice applications of an old principle. Especially like the first effect, it is very clever.


Golf Ball in Glass

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 July, 2016)

Golf Ball in GlassThe golf ball in glass was used on the Penn & Teller Fool Us TV show. The magician used a force to have an item chosen from a list. It was a golf ball. He showed a duplicate empty jar which was secretly switched. A golf ball appeared inside the jar; he showed it could not be removed, proving it must have materialized inside. (Otherwise, how else did it get inside the jar?) This was a clever use of this idea, showing how this impossible object can be applied to magic routines and not just as a novelty to look at. A clever idea worth knowing.


Advanced Card Control Volume 2: False Deals

reviewed by Keith Faler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 13 July, 2016)

Advanced Card Control Volume 2: False DealsGreat video, highly recocommend it. I have 17 video clips of this series, also. I don't like the zip download format though. You'r paying $29 for the video, which is expensive, so why not watch it, several times?? Instead of just watching clips that suit your particular needs. I like to watch the video, several times, just to get the general overview, and a better perspective, of what's being taught.Then after that, I will then pick out several clips, that I can use, for my own card manipulations. You can't get that from books. Books are very limited, not enough illustrations, and a waste of time to go through. With videos, you can eliminate the guessing games, you'll get, in reading books.

This is in response to the product description.


Let's Take A Breather

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 July, 2016)

Let's Take A BreatherHere is another outstanding contribution to card magic from Paul Lelekis. Written in Paul's pleasant and easy to grasp style he explores some practical uses for the Breather Crimp. For those new to the Breather Crimp, Paul fully explains this secret device used as a tool to locate cards and aid in the execution of some amazing card magic. The making of the crimp is clearly illustrated and very easy to construct. Paul starts by giving some easy to understand and very practical advice that will help you incorporate the Breather Crimp into your own routines and generally improve your magic overall. As always his advice and performance suggestions are very solid "down to earth" based on real life experience from a person who has as we say in the education field, clearly learned by doing! The routines are all very approachable by the average magician and as with much of Paul's material the impact on the audience far exceeds the technical effort the magician has to put into them. These routines work great and they are comfortable to perform with most of your concentration on the presentation. Take advantage of this opportunity to learn all about this amazing card utility. Here is another solid winner from Paul Lelekis for all of us to benefit from and enjoy!


Winnebago: an experiment in remote viewing

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 12 July, 2016)

Winnebago: an experiment in remote viewingWinnebago is essentially "Calling the Cards"--or in this case, card--with the twist of having the spectator as mentalist. (Watch Richard Osterlind's version of Calling the Cards on a few of his DVDs with the spectator's having three cards in his pocket. It is fantastic.) The routine, played as remote viewing, is OK; it will definitely work if you have a standard mentalism technique down cold; and although I haven't performed it yet, I am fairly certain that I could get a nice reaction out of it. But it's just not worth $15, more like $8 or $5--or maybe even less as one of nine effects in a version of Mark Elsdon's classic Conversation as Mentalism booklets that go for $30 each. Anyway, I hate to be negative to sincere, hardworking mentalists who put out material, but my rating reflects a good effect that is way overpriced.


The Best Short Change Scam Ever

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 July, 2016)

The Best Short Change Scam EverThis is really very well done. Devin first explains this scam in a way that that he plays the part of a scammer, and Devin’s writing fooled me and several other people - we would have lost money. Then he gives a clear unambiguous explanation of how the scam works, and Devin, in addition, gives good instruction on how to defend yourself from the scam by detecting that someone is attempting to pull it on you. This is necessary because several former storekeepers told me that they were once swindled by it, and that it is still practiced by scammers today. Good reading, and worth knowing.


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Alfred Dowaliby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickToday I acquired "Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick. As a professional magician for over 20 years who believes that patter (aka script) and presentation are the most important component of selling a routine to the audience, I was delighted. Mr. Brodahl has combined and incorporated elements of deception, psychology, comedy, and what Dai Vernon called an "emotional hook," into this very cleverly devised routine. The 21 Card Trick is a very old trick and quite likely the first card trick learned by the overwhelming majority of people who try their hand at doing a card trick. In its original incarnation, it is still a baffling effect: After all, when asked in an interview how he got into magic, Ed Marlo said [paraphrased], "I saw the 21 Card trick and that was it; I never turned back."

Mr. Brodahl has cleverly camouflaged the fact that, in essence, the trick is the 21 Card Trick. The hook is a test of the spectator's psychic abilities which from the outset, diverts the focus upon it being a hackneyed mechanical/mathematical card trick. I am sure that, at least laymen, will not recognize it as the trick they themselves learned. Without the necessity for difficult or complex sleights, there are a number of ruses and deviations from the classic handling that create impermeable layers of disguise that will not be seen through by any but perhaps the most ingenious of observers - and that's what this script and routine created by Larry is: ingenious.

Postscript: Despite my many years in magic, I had never come across the Jay Ose false cut, which is utilized to great advantage in the routine. It is amazing and ironic to me that if the cards were cut into three piles (as in the initial part of the cut) and then reassembled "fairly," i.e., in a manner that would result in the cards being truly cut, it would look like a false cut, whereas when the procedure of the Jay Ose false cut is followed in the reassembly of the three piles, it looks like a real cut. I will be definitely using the cut in my card magic.


Just Think

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Just ThinkThis one goes way back. I got Just Think because I was curious. I had an idea of how it worked--and I was right. And for those of you who get this, you will immediately note that this effect uses the same principle as a famous item that has been on the market since the 1950s, though this version is 100% pure and uses no gimmicks whatsoever. I like Devin's use of this effect as after-show individual future telling and also his performance hints. I don't think that you can effectively use it for a main act unless, of course, you are a real fortune teller because to quote Rick Maue, "TERASABOS." Pros will know what I mean and could make some use of this. Mentalism neophytes, despite your skepticism, this kind of stuff really does work. But it takes chutzpah, audience management, personality, and experience.


Ask Pythagoras

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 10 July, 2016)

Ask PythagorasThis is a great effect and Robin Gillett is another nice mentalist that I consider a friend.

This might scare some of you at the beginning because of the mathematical equations are shown. The mathematical equations just show you how this mathematical puzzle started. It even has a crib sheet so you can literally read the reading to the spectator.

But don't be afraid...This is Great!

If you can add and subtract YOU can do this.

Plus THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST has a routine that I know a lot of us will be doing also.

I now have four different effects I can do with the illusion of numerology and all really boggle spectators.

I definitely give this a 5+ star rating

David W. Burmeister


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Ferry Gerats (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 July, 2016)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickVery good publication. Amazing that it is free. Mr. Brodahl shows you how to turn the old hackneyed 21 cardtrick into entertainment. At the same time the given presentation obscures the fact that a mathematical procedure is the modus operandi for locating the chosen card. On top of that Mr. Brodahl also gives you an insight how the presentation came about. So if you want to acquire the skill to make your own presentations there is a wonderful lesson to be learned here!


Scripted #4: The 21 Card Trick

reviewed by Dave Arch (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 July, 2016)

Scripted #4: The 21 Card TrickWho can make the 21 Card Trick entertaining? Larry Brodahl and does in his Scripted #4 manuscript. In addition, I found several of his script ideas immediately applicable to other routines I currently perform. The greatest mystery of all is why it's free. Some very fresh thinking.


Elemental 2

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 July, 2016)

Elemental 2Again I want to compliment THE UNKNOWN MENTALIST about doing a great job with ELEMENTAL 2 and ELEMENTAL.

I do want to say that this requires a lot more memory work than SIGNATURE and STAR SIGNATURE but is well worth it.

Imagine revealing pretty much everything regarding the zodiac sign etc as these routines describe.

I'm proud to have this effect in my STAR SIGN collection from the UNKNOWN MENTALIST.

David W. Burmeister


Star Signature

reviewed by David Burmeister (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 09 July, 2016)

Star SignatureThe UNKNOWN MENTALIST has done it again!

This STAR SIGN revelation is great no matter what caliber of mentalist you are!

I personally believe this is perfect to use for spectators not knowing their STAR SIGN as the prop has the dates and STAR SIGNS on it so the spectator doesn't have to spell anything in their head without looking at it.

I personally like THE ZERO QUESTIONS METHOD in this ebook.

Two effects that I will definitely use are SIGNATURE for impromptu use without props and STAR SIGNATURE with props.

I give BOTH of these effects a 10 STAR rating.

Again a job well done by a great mentalist and personal friend!!!


Self-Publishing: Immortality on a Budget

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 07 July, 2016)

Self-Publishing: Immortality on a BudgetGood book. Slightly dated, but still very usable. I've used these methods quite a few times, and am very pleased.


Just Think

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 07 July, 2016)

Just ThinkThis is one of the most spectacular descriptions of a method of performing mentalism I have ever read because the participant only thinks of their question, and does not write anything down, and the mentalist has no gimmicks at all. The mentalist writes answers to questions on an ungimmicked pad. Devin Knight has experience performing this act, and offers very worthwhile guidance. This act is a piece of magic history, having been created by a now forgotten mentalist, Walter G. Magnuson, and Devin has revived Magnuson's writing to bring us the present work. To succeed with this act requires a strong personality and audience management experience, although Devin has made it possible, by the work he has put in on reviving this manuscript, for all mentalists to enjoy and learn from this now remembered master of the craft.


Star Signature

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 July, 2016)

Star SignatureWow...a big step forward for zodiac guessing methods. As it is, I was quite impressed with 'Signature' and now totally a fan of powergram system and other methods in here. Absolutely love the 'single question' version - totally fooling and great concept. Building in the Coincidence trick (which is another great effect) is very thoughtful. The zodiac card design and theme are superb. Good range, clever methods, built in flexibility, great value for money - what more do I need?


Star Signature

reviewed by Loki Jedi (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 04 July, 2016)

Star SignatureSome new and refreshing thinking here. Long anagrams of earlier days tended to be boring. The methods here are quick and impressive. Beautiful deception disguises the real methods. Powergram principle looks truly powerful. The idea for 8 people together can be a great showpiece. Built in coincidence routine is a terrific bonus. My zodiac revelation tool kit looks so strong and versatile now. Looking to start using this right away.


Oracle

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 03 July, 2016)

OracleSome good ideas can be picked up. Few routines seem dated - need to be reworked for modern times. The illustrations are hand drawn and not very clear. Some of the chemical magic explained looks good even today. A couple of main props suggested do not exist now and are not relevant. Overall a mixed bag.


THE: The Hand Experiments

reviewed by Chris Cross (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 03 July, 2016)

THE: The Hand ExperimentsSome cool quickies in here. The principle of 'Enhanced Multiple Outs' holds tremendous potential can be applied in multiple tricks. I fell in love with the 'third finger' routine - great thinking - alone worth more than asking price. A simple premise treated with clever handlings. So the whole is much bigger than the parts add up. Bills, coins, business cards is all you need. A range of themes - from spec as mind reader to predictions. Very much recommended.


Scarne on Card Tricks

reviewed by Cortez Magicus (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 01 July, 2016)

Scarne on Card TricksSo many good tricks. Low easy price. Magician always benefit. Very good book.


Signature

reviewed by Cortez Magicus (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 01 July, 2016)

SignatureVery good principle. Perfect in English. Other language application easy. A little changes. That's all. Easy work & big surprise reaction of spectator.

Displaying 559 to 583 (of 1408 reviews)
< ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 ... >